DETAILED ACTION
AIA Status
Election/Restriction
Applicants’ 27 OCT 2025 election (REM page 7) without traverse of Invention I, Species II, embodiment shown in FIGS. 7A to 7C and described in claims 1-8 and 10-19, is acknowledged.
Claims 9 (Species I, see FIG. 6C) and 20-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. See 3 SEP 2025 Requirement for Restriction/Election.
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statements (IDS) does not exist.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because of the following reason(s):
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Claim 2: “a burned region is provided at the edges of the first layer, the second layer and the third layer”; claim 3: “the burned region is a composite material that includes atoms of one or more of the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer”; and claim 4: “the edge of the core extends past an edge of the burned region.”
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Applicant is advised to employ services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. PTO no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Typographical errors exist in the following claim language:
claim 15, line 2, replace “and metal” with “and a metal”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 14-16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by UMEMURA et al. (US 20210351094; below, “UMEMURA”).
RE 1, UMEMURA, in FIGS. 1 to 3(d) and related text, e.g., Abstract, paragraphs [0] to [0], discloses a package substrate (100), comprising:
a core (11, e.g., [0041]);
a first layer (31, e.g., [0044]) over the core (11), wherein the first layer (31) comprises a metal;
a second layer (21, e.g., [0041]) over the first layer (31), wherein the second layer (21) comprises an electrical insulator; and
a third layer (21 further above 11) over the second layer (21), wherein the third layer comprises a dielectric material, and wherein an edge (110) of the core (11) extends past edges (FIG.2) of the first layer (31), the second layer (21), and the third layer (21 further above 11).
Thus, UMEMURA anticipates this claim.
RE 5, UMEMURA discloses the package substrate of claim 1, wherein the first layer (31) comprises a seed layer and metal layer over the seed layer (e.g., [0103]).
RE 6, UMEMURA discloses the package substrate of claim 5, wherein the seed layer (e.g., [0103]) comprises titanium, and wherein the metal layer comprises copper (e.g., [0050]).
RE 8, UMEMURA discloses the package substrate of claim 1, wherein the third layer (21 further above 11) comprises a buildup material (e.g., [0052], “epoxy resin”).
RE 10, UMEMURA discloses the package substrate of claim 1, further comprising:
a fourth layer (31 interfaces 11’s backside) under the core (11), wherein the fourth layer comprises a metal (e.g., [0050]);
a fifth layer (21) under the fourth layer (31 interfaces 11’s backside), wherein the fifth layer comprises an electrical insulator (e.g., [0052]); and
a sixth layer (21 further under 11) under the fifth layer (21), wherein the sixth layer comprises a dielectric material, and wherein the edge (110) of the core (11) extends past edges (FIG.2) of the fourth layer (31 interfaces 11’s backside), the fifth layer (21), and the sixth layer (21 further under 11).
RE 11, UMEMURA, in FIGS. 1 to 3(d) and related text, e.g., Abstract, paragraphs [0] to [0], discloses a package substrate, comprising:
a core (11, e.g., [0041]);
a first layer (31) over the core (11), wherein the first layer (31) comprises a metal (e.g., [0050]);
a second layer (21, e.g., [0041]) over the first layer (31), wherein the second layer (21) comprises an electrical insulator, and wherein an edge (22) of the second layer (21) is sloped (FIG.2); and
a third layer (21 further above 11) over the second layer (21), wherein the third layer comprises a dielectric material (e.g., [0052]).
Thus, UMEMURA anticipates this claim.
RE 14, UMEMURA discloses the package substrate of claim 12, wherein the first edge, the second edge, and the edge (22) of the second layer (21) are set back from a third edge (FIG.2) of the core (11).
RE 15, UMEMURA discloses the package substrate of claim 11, wherein the first layer (31) comprises a seed layer (e.g., [0103]) and metal layer (e.g., [0050]).
RE 16, UMEMURA discloses the package substrate of claim 15, wherein the seed layer (e.g., [0103]) comprises titanium, and wherein the metal layer (31) comprises copper (e.g., [0050]).
RE 18, UMEMURA discloses the package substrate of claim 11, wherein the third layer (21 further above 11) comprises a buildup material (e.g., [0052], “epoxy resin”).
RE 19, UMEMURA discloses the package substrate of claim 11, wherein a top surface of the core (11) is exposed (FIG.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over UMEMURA. At least “combining prior art elements”, “simple substitution”, “obvious to try”, and “applying a known technique to a known device” rationales support a conclusion of obviousness. MPEP § 2143(A)-(G).
RE 12, UMEMURA is silent regarding the package substrate of claim 11, wherein the first layer (31) has a first edge, wherein the third layer (21 further above 11) has a second edge, and wherein the second edge is set back from the first edge.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the device of UMEMURA such that the second edge is set back from the first edge, as such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). As evidence, see paragraphs [0114] and [0116] of UMEMURA.
RE 13, UMEMURA is silent regarding the package substrate of claim 12, wherein a top of the edge of the second layer (21) is in contact with the second edge and a bottom of the edge of the second layer (21) is in contact with the first edge.
It would have been obvious … to modify the device of UMEMURA such that a top of the edge of the second layer is in contact with the second edge and a bottom of the edge of the second layer is in contact with the first edge, as such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration … is obvious, …. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). As evidence, see paragraphs [0114] and [0116] of UMEMURA.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over UMEMURA with evidence from or in view of Meyer et al. (US 20160304405; below, “Meyer”). MPEP § 2143(A)-(G).
RE 2, UMEMURA is silent regarding the package substrate of claim 1, wherein a burned region {NOT SHOWN} is provided at the edges of the first layer (31), the second layer (21) and the third layer (21 further above 11).
Meyer, in Figures 2, 3, and related text, e.g., paragraphs [0018] to [0056] teaches laser welding at edges of layers.
UMEMURA and Meyer are analogous art from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify UMEMURA as taught by Meyer because: 1. delamination is prevented by a strong bond with minimal heat damage; and 2. all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
RE 3, modified UMEMURA teaches the package substrate of claim 2, wherein the burned region {NOT SHOWN} is a composite material that includes atoms of one or more of the first layer (31), the second layer (21), and the third layer (21 further above 11). Regarding the underlined portion of claim 3, since the prior art references Umemura and Meyer recite the same steps as in the applicants’ claim, there references are seen by the examiner as having the same results.
RE 4, modified UMEMURA teaches the package substrate of claim 2, wherein the edge (110) of the core (11) extends past an edge of the burned region {NOT SHOWN}.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over UMEMURA with evidence from or in view of SOWWAN et al. (US 20230187222; below, “SOWWAN”). MPEP § 2143(A)-(G).
RE 7, UMEMURA discloses the package substrate of claim 1, wherein the second layer (21) comprises silicon and nitrogen (e.g., [0052], “filler”). As evidence, see SOWWAN’s paragraph [0027].
RE 17, UMEMURA discloses the package substrate of claim 11, wherein the second layer (21) comprises silicon and nitrogen (e.g., [0052], “filler”). As evidence, see SOWWAN’s paragraph [0027].
Claims 1-8 and 10-19 are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, CHOI (US 20210118790), is considered pertinent to applicants’ disclosure. CHOI does not teach, inter alia, a third layer (718) over the second layer (716), wherein the third layer (718) comprises a dielectric material, and wherein an edge (711) of the core (710) extends past edges (715, 717, 719) of the first layer (712+714), the second layer (716), and the third layer (718).
/WALTER H SWANSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815