DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 29 April 2025 of Applicants’ amendments in which claims 1, 2, and 20 are amended and claim 3 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US20220130761A1) in view of Chou (US20200395273A1) and Gudala et al. (US20180342460A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches in Fig. 1 a system for routing connections to a logic circuit, the system comprising:
a first wafer (10) having a backside and a frontside opposite the backside {¶0030};
a power conductor (one of 44 connected to 17) at the backside of the first wafer (10) {¶0047};
a core (CEL) at the frontside of the first wafer (10) {¶0037};
a power via (one of 12 connecting 44 to 17) having a first width (implicit), and being electrically connected to the power conductor (one of 44 connected to 17) and to the core (CEL) {¶0036, 0047};
a signal pad (pad 58 above 60 connected to 30) at the backside of the first wafer (10) {¶0047};
a first frontside signal-routing metal (one of 30 connected to one of 60) at the frontside of the first wafer (10) {¶0043}; and
a signal via (combination of 12 & 28 connecting one of 60 connected to 30) having a second width (implicit), and being connected (directly/indirectly) to the signal pad (pad 58 above 60 connected to 30) and the first frontside signal-routing metal (one of 30 connected to one of 60) {¶0042}.
Kim does not teach the signal via having a second width greater than the first width of the power via.
In an analogous art, Chou teaches in Fig. 4 and paragraph [0042] a second width (336) of a second via (330) is greater than a first width (346) of a first via (340). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s system based on the teachings of Chou – such that Kim’s signal via has a second width greater than the first width of Kim’s power via – so resistance is lowered in the signal via. Gudala ¶0032.
Moreover, Gudala teaches in paragraphs [0030] and [0031] that the width of a via is a result-effective variable for optimizing the resistance of the via. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to discover the optimal or workable ranges of via resistance for each of Kim’s power via and signal via – such that Kim’s signal via has a second width greater than the first width of Kim’s power via – because where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP §2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified by Chou and Gudala teaches the system of claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein a height of the signal via (combination of 12 & 28 connecting one of 60 connected to 30) is larger than a height of the power via (one of 12 connecting 44 to 17) {Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 4, Kim as modified by Chou and Gudala teaches the system of claim 1, and Kim further teaches further comprising a second wafer (SBL2) at the frontside of the first wafer (10), and located above the core (CEL) {¶0042}.
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches in Fig. 1 an integrated circuit, comprising:
a first wafer (10) having a backside and a frontside {¶0030};
a core (CEL) at the frontside of the first wafer (10) {¶0037};
a power distribution network (PDN) at the backside of the first wafer (10), and connected to the core (CEL) through a power via (one of 12 connecting 44 to 17) having a first width (implicit) {¶0047};
a frontside signal-routing metal (WIL) at the frontside of the first wafer (10) {¶0043}; and
a signal pad (pad 58 above 60 connected to 30) at the backside of the first wafer (10), and connected to the frontside signal-routing metal (WIL) through a signal via (combination of 12 & 28 connecting one of 60 connected to 30) having a second width (implicit) that is greater than the first width {¶0047}.
Kim does not teach the signal via having a second width greater than the first width of the power via.
In an analogous art, Chou teaches in Fig. 4 and paragraph [0042] a second width (336) of a second via (330) is greater than a first width (346) of a first via (340). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s system based on the teachings of Chou – such that Kim’s signal via has a second width greater than the first width of Kim’s power via – so resistance is lowered in the signal via. Gudala ¶0032.
Moreover, Gudala teaches in paragraphs [0030] and [0031] that the width of a via is a result-effective variable for optimizing the resistance of the via. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to discover the optimal or workable ranges of via resistance for each of Kim’s power via and signal via – such that Kim’s signal via has a second width greater than the first width of Kim’s power via – because where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP §2144.05(II)(A).
Claim(s) 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Chou and Gudala as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US20220020665A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified by Chou and Gudala teaches the system of claim 1, but Kim does not teach further comprising a package at the backside of the first wafer.
In an analogous art, Li teaches in Fig. 4 a package (455) at the backside of the first wafer (420). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s system as modified by Chou and Gudala based on the teachings of Li – such that a package is disposed at the backside of the first wafer – for the purposes of: (1) providing mechanical support for the system and (2) interconnecting signal/power leads within the package to corresponding signal/power pads of the system so that signals and power may be conveyed among multiple interconnected systems by the package.
Moreover, the modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because all the claimed elements (e.g., package, wafer) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Li) with no change in their respective functions and with the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified by as modified by Chou, Gudala, and Li teaches the system of claim 5, and Kim further teaches further comprising a pad area (area of 58s directly above 60s) at the backside of the first wafer (10) {Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified by as modified by Chou, Gudala, and Li teaches the system of claim 6, and Kim further teaches wherein the pad area (area directly above 60s) comprises:
a first pad area comprising a supply voltage pad and a first signal pad {see annotated copy of Kim’s Fig. 1 below}; and
a second pad area comprising a second signal pad {see annotated copy of Kim’s Fig. 1 below}.
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified by as modified by Chou, Gudala, and Li teaches the system of claim 7, and Kim further teaches further comprising:
a power distribution network (PDN) at the backside of the first wafer (10), and comprising the power conductor (one of 44 connected to 17) {¶0047}; and
a conductive path configured to route a supply voltage:
from the package (see modification discussed in claim 5) to the supply voltage pad (supply voltage pad) {¶0048; see annotated copy of Kim’s Fig. 1 below};
from the supply voltage pad (supply voltage pad) to the power distribution network (PDN) {¶0048}; and
from the power distribution network (PDN) to the core (10) {¶0047, PDN may include lower multi-layer interconnect layers 44, 48, 54, 58, and 59 connected to the rail [17a, 17b] through via 12 and lower vias 46, 50, 52, and 56 connecting the lower multi-layer interconnect layers 44, 48, 54, 58, and 59 to each other}.
Regarding claim 9, Kim as modified by as modified by Chou, Gudala, and Li teaches the system of claim 7, and Kim further teaches further comprising a conductive path configured to route a signal {“configured to route a signal” is an intended use limitation}:
from the package (see modification discussed in claim 5) to the first signal pad (first signal pad) {through external connection terminal 60};
from the first signal pad (first signal pad) to the first frontside signal-routing metal (one of 30 connected to one of 60) {see annotated copy of Kim’s Fig. 1 below}; and
from the first frontside signal-routing metal (one of 30 connected to one of 60) to the core (CEL) {¶0059, the source and drain regions SD1 and SD2 [of transistors within the cell portion CEL] may be connected to the upper multi-layer interconnect layers 26, 30, and 34 (FIG. 1) via the local interconnect 22}.
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified by as modified by Chou, Gudala, and Li teaches the system of claim 7, and Kim further teaches further comprising a conductive path configured to route a signal {“configured to route a signal” is an intended use limitation}:
from the core (CEL) to a second frontside signal-routing metal (another one of 30 connected to one of 60) {¶0059, the source and drain regions SD1 and SD2 [of transistors within the cell portion CEL] may be connected to the upper multi-layer interconnect layers 26, 30, and 34 (FIG. 1) via the local interconnect 22};
from the second frontside signal-routing metal (other one of 30 connected to one of 60) to the second signal pad (second signal pad); and
from the second signal pad (second signal pad) to the package (see modification discussed in claim 5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891