DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-9 and 13-21 are pending, claims 10-12 having been cancelled and claims 16-20 having been withdrawn.
Claims 1-9, 13-15 and 21 will be examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 13-15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2017/0049288 to Knutson et al. in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2014/0102476 to Hall et al. and U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 20013/0092190 to Yoon et al.
As to claim 1, Knutson discloses a method of controlling a robotic cleaning machine for cleaning a floor, the method comprising: sensing, by a sensor on the robotic cleaning machine, a first object within a sensed filed (see Knutson Fig. 4A, ref.#12A, 12B, 14A, 14B, 10, 100, 98 and paragraph [0070] disclosing that distance and optical sensors allow the cleaning machine to locate objects such as walls); determining, by a safety controller, that the first object is an immovable object (see Knutson Figs. 4A and 5, ref.#12A, 12B, 14A, 14B, 10, 100, 98 and paragraph [0070] disclosing that the control panel may be configured to identify permanent/stationary objects); and deploying a cleaning element to clean the floor (see Knutson Figs. 2-5, ref.#10, 38, 41, 22, 30, 32 and paragraphs [0029]-[0033] disclosing various cleaning elements mounted to the cleaning machine). Knutson further discloses providing a controller (read as safety controller) including a storage medium, the storage medium storing numerous known search patterns, the known search patterns having footprints of immovable objects (see Knutson paragraphs [0024]-[0025]) wherein that the step of determining that the first object is an immovable object further comprises: comparing the sensed field with a known search pattern that includes a footprint of a similarly configured immovable object wherein the comparison between the sensed field and the known search pattern is performed by the safety controller (see Knutson paragraphs [0024]-[0025], [0070] disclosing that the control panel may generate a map of locations the machine had visited and is capable of identifying the machine’s location within the mapped field based on information from optical and distance sensors and using said information to determine when an obstacle is permanent/immovable and as such is understood that the control panel must make some sort of comparison between the data received from the sensors and the stored map; see particularly paragraph [0070] disclosing that the control panel can be programmed to recognize the same objects or type of object repeatedly recognized as being in a cleaning area or in the cleaning path and that the control panel can learn where permanent objects such as walls or semi-permanent objects, such as vending machines, are located vs. where movable objects, such as chairs, are located as well as adjust the cleaning program based on whether the objects are movable or not).
While Knutson discloses a scrubber/cleaning element located at the side of the robotic cleaner (see Knutson Fig. 1, ref.#30, paragraphs [0019]-[0022]), Knutson does not explicitly disclose that the cleaning element is an extendable cleaning element wherein deploying the extendable cleaning element comprises moving the extendable cleaning element laterally outward such that the extendable cleaning element is positioned at least partially outside a cleaning width of a cleaning deck of the robotic cleaning machine. Hall discloses a similar floor cleaning machine with a scrub deck extension and retraction apparatus wherein the scrub brushes are located at the sides of the machine and are configured to extend and retract by a pivot arm and retraction mechanism/gas spring relative to a pivot point. Thus the scrubber moves laterally with respect to the scrub deck of the cleaning machine (see Hall Figs. 3, 7A, 7B, ref.#56A, 56B, 80, 70, 78; paragraphs [0002], [0009]-[0010], [0032]-[0040], [0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Knutson such that the scrubber/cleaning element could extend and retract laterally as disclosed by Hall in order to allow cleaning a variety of areas and navigate around walls, curbs and obstacles as well as to allow for easier storage and transport (see Hall paragraph [0036]).
Regarding the recitation of deploying the extendable cleaning element to clean the floor “based on the determination that the first object is an immovable object,” as discussed above, Knutson discloses sensing and identifying immovable objects, such as walls (see Knutson paragraph [0070]). Yoon discloses a similar cleaning robot that automatically extends and retracts the cleaning element such as when adjacent a wall (read as immovable object) (see, e.g., Yoon paragraphs [0091]-[0096]). Furthermore, Yoon discloses that the similar robot cleaning method with extendable and retractable cleaning elements has the extension and retraction of the cleaning elements are automatically controlled such that the cleaning elements are retracted in order to avoid contact with an obstacle (read as movable object) while driving the robot (see, e.g., Yoon paragraphs [0091]-[0119]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Knutson/Hall such that the cleaning element is automatically extendable to clean alongside a wall and then to automatically retract the cleaning element when away from the wall as well as when approaching an obstacle in order to avoid striking the obstacle while optimizing cleaning efficiency of the cleaning robot since the wall cleaning is completed as disclosed by Yoon and the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art in order to efficiently clean against a wall (see Yoon paragraph [0006] and [0170]). It is noted that the claim does not recite how to determine an immovable object or how to distinguish between an immovable object and a movable object. Since the combination of Knutson, Hall and Yoon discloses that the extendable cleaning element can be deployed based on being adjacent to a wall, the claim recitation “based on the determination that the first object is an immovable object” is met.
As to claims 2 and 3, the combination of Knutson, Hall and Yoon disclose that the extendable cleaning element is deployed such that the extendable cleaning element is in contact with and cleans the floor up to an edge of the immovable object and driving the robotic cleaning machine along the immovable object such that the extendable cleaning element remains in contact with and cleans the floor along an edge of the immovable object (see Hall paragraphs [0021], [0026] where the cleaning element can be retracted upon application of force, such as with a wall or other fixed object, and so will clean along the edge of the immovable object).
As to claim 4, the combination of Knutson and Hall does not explicitly disclose maintaining the extendable cleaning element in a deployed position while the robotic cleaning machine is adjacent the wall; sensing by the sensor, the wall within the sensed field at regular intervals and automatically retracting the extendable cleaning element when the safety controller determines that the robotic cleaning machine is no longer adjacent the wall. Yoon discloses a similar cleaning robot that automatically extends and retracts the cleaning element (see, e.g., Yoon paragraphs [0091]-[0096]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Knutson/Hall such that the cleaning element is automatically extendable to clean alongside a wall and then to automatically retract the cleaning element when away from the wall since the wall cleaning is completed as disclosed by Yoon and the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art in order to efficiently clean against a wall (see Yoon paragraph [0006]).
As to claim 5, the combination of Knutson, Hall and Yoon disclose that the immovable object can be a wall (see Knutson paragraph [0070] disclosing that the control panel may be configured to identify permanent/stationary objects such as walls; see also Yoon paragraphs [0091]-[0096]).
As to claim 6, the combination of Knutson, Hall and Yoon discloses that the extendable cleaning element can be a squeegee, scrubbing pad or vacuum motor (see Knutson paragraphs [0031]-[0033]).
As to claims 7 and 8, the combination of Knutson and Hall discloses sensing, by the sensor, a second object within a sensed field; determining, by the safety controller, that the second object is a movable object (see Knutson paragraph [0070] disclosing that the control panel may be configured to identify movable objects, such as chairs, and to avoid them). The combination of Knutson and Hall does not explicitly disclose preventing the extendable cleaning element from extending such that the robotic cleaning machine does not contact the movable object. Yoon discloses a similar cleaning object and automatically controlling the extension and retraction of the cleaning element as well as preventing the extendable cleaning element from extending such that the robotic cleaning machine does not contact the movable object by retracting the extendable cleaning element when the robotic cleaning machine is no closer to the movable object than a distance the extendable cleaning element extends away from a body of the robotic cleaning machine such that the extendable cleaning element does not contact the movable object (see, e.g., Yoon paragraphs [0091]-[0119]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Knutson/Hall to automatically retract the extension element as disclosed by Yoon in order to avoid striking an obstacle while optimizing cleaning.
As to claim 9, the combination of Knutson, Hall and Yoon discloses that the cleaning element is extended if there is no obstacle within the sensed field (see Hall paragraphs [0021], [0026] where the cleaning element can be retracted upon application of force, such as with a wall or other fixed object, and so will be extended when there is no obstacle within the sensed field).
As to claim 13, Knutson discloses the generation of a map of the cleaning area as explained in the rejection of claim 10 above. Knutson further discloses that the cleaning machine uses the optical and distance sensors to place the machine within the mapped area in real time and as such discloses that the control panel and navigation system will prevent the cleaning machine from impacting sensed obstacles (see Knutson paragraphs [0024]-[0025]). The combination of Knutson and Hall does not explicitly disclose preventing the extendable cleaning element from deploying if the sensed field does not match the sensed field to the known search pattern that includes the footprint of a similarly configured immovable object. Yoon discloses a similar robotic cleaning machine that discloses automatically extending and retracting the cleaning elements based on whether an obstacle is detected (see Yoon paragraphs [0091]-[0119]). Since Knutson already discloses the use of a map to navigate the robot and Yoon discloses the extendable/retractable cleaning section, the combination results in a machine which controls the cleaning sections based on the information from the map and sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Knutson/Hall to automatically retract the extension element as disclosed by Yoon in order to avoid striking an obstacle while optimizing cleaning.
As to claim 14, the combination of Knutson, Hall and Yoon discloses optimizing a cleaning route for the robotic floor cleaning machine to clean the floor up to an edge of the immovable object and cleaning the floor along the immovable object up to the edge of the immovable object (see Hall paragraphs [0021], [0026] where the cleaning element can be retracted upon application of force, such as with a wall or other fixed object, and so will clean along the edge of the immovable object).
As to claim 15, the combination of Knutson and Hall does not explicitly disclose adjusting, by an autonomy module, a speed of the robotic cleaning machine to be a safety constraining speed when the robotic cleaning machine is adjacent the immovable object. Yoon discloses that it is known in the art to control the speed of a cleaning robot when near an immovable object (see Yoon paragraph [0155]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to control the speed of the robot when near an immovable object as disclosed by Yoon in order to optimize the cleaning effect of the robot (see Yoon paragraph [0155] and claim 17).
As to claim 21, the combination of Knutson and Hall discloses driving the cleaning machine in a first direction with the extendable cleaning element deployed to a deployed position in which the extendable cleaning element is at least partially outside a cleaning width of the cleaning deck to define an extended cleaning width (see Hall paragraphs [0021], [0026] where the cleaning element can be retracted upon application of force, such as with a wall or other fixed object, and so will clean in the extended position while no wall or other fixed object is present) as well as sensing objects within the sensed field at an object location spaced beyond a current position of the robotic cleaning machine in the first direction such that the robotic cleaning machine is approaching but has not yet reached the object location and determining that the object is a movable object (see Knutson paragraph [0070]).
The combination of Knutson and Hall does not explicitly disclose determining that with further movement of the robotic cleaning machine in the first direction, the second object would be within the extended cleaning width; with continued driven movement of the robotic cleaning machine in the first direction, automatically retracting the extendable cleaning element from the deployed position to a retracted position prior to the robotic cleaning machine arriving at the object location and continuing driving the robotic cleaning machine in the first direction to an then beyond the object location with the extendable cleaning element in the retracted position such that the extendable cleaning element does not contact the second object. Yoon discloses a similar robot cleaning method with extendable and retractable cleaning elements wherein the extension and retraction of the cleaning elements are automatically controlled such that the cleaning elements are retracted in order to avoid contact with an obstacle while driving the robot (see, e.g., Yoon paragraphs [0091]-[0119]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Knutson/Hall to automatically retract the cleaning elements when approaching an obstacle in order to avoid striking the obstacle while optimizing cleaning efficiency (see Yoon paragraph [0170]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not disclose storing known search patterns that has footprints of immovable objects or disclose the proactive distinguishing of movable/immovable binary classification of objects that the present application discloses. Knutson discloses that the control panel can be programmed to generate mapping locations that the machine has visited, add new places to the map and continuously refine the mapping of existing places (see Knutson paragraphs [0024]-[0025]). Knutson further discloses that the control panel may generate a map of locations the machine had visited and is capable of identifying the machine’s location within the mapped field based on information from optical and distance sensors and using said information to determine when an obstacle is permanent/immovable and as such is understood that the control panel must make some sort of comparison between the data received from the sensors and the stored map, and that the control panel can be programmed to recognize the same objects or type of object repeatedly recognized as being in a cleaning area or in the cleaning path and that the control panel can learn where permanent objects such as walls or semi-permanent objects, such as vending machines, are located vs. where movable objects, such as chairs, are located as well as adjust the cleaning program based on whether the objects are movable or not (see Knutson paragraph [0070]). Furthermore, as discussed above, Knutson discloses sensing and identifying immovable objects, such as walls (see Knutson paragraph [0070]). Yoon discloses a similar cleaning robot that automatically extends and retracts the cleaning element such as when adjacent a wall (read as immovable object) (see, e.g., Yoon paragraphs [0091]-[0096]). Furthermore, Yoon discloses that the similar robot cleaning method with extendable and retractable cleaning elements has the extension and retraction of the cleaning elements are automatically controlled such that the cleaning elements are retracted in order to avoid contact with an obstacle (read as movable object) while driving the robot (see, e.g., Yoon paragraphs [0091]-[0119]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Knutson/Hall such that the cleaning element is automatically extendable to clean alongside a wall and then to automatically retract the cleaning element when away from the wall as well as when approaching an obstacle in order to avoid striking the obstacle while optimizing cleaning efficiency of the cleaning robot since the wall cleaning is completed as disclosed by Yoon and the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art in order to efficiently clean against a wall (see Yoon paragraph [0006] and [0170]). It is noted that the claim does not recite how to determine an immovable object or how to distinguish between an immovable object and a movable object. Since the combination of Knutson, Hall and Yoon discloses that the extendable cleaning element can be deployed based on being adjacent to a wall, the claim recitation “based on the determination that the first object is an immovable object” is met.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714