DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 02/04/2026, in which: claims 1, 13, and 15 are amended; new claims 21-22 are added; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1-22 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et. al (US Publication 20180182832) in view of Choi et al. (US Publication 20140353611).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lee teaches an organic light emitting display apparatus (fig. 1) comprising:
a substrate (fig. 2, 101) having a display area (fig. 1, AA) and a non-display area (NA) adjacent to the display area, the display area including a plurality of pixels (paragraph 0047);
a thin-film transistor (fig. 2, 150) disposed in the display area of the substrate;
a first planarization layer (124) disposed over the thin-film transistor;
a pixel connection electrode (168) penetrating through the first planarization layer and electrically connected with the thin-film transistor (fig. 2);
a second planarization layer (128) disposed over the pixel connection electrode;
a first electrode (132) disposed on the second planarization layer, and a first portion of the first electrode (area inside 120) penetrating the second planarization layer to be in contact with the pixel connection electrode (fig. 2);
a bank (138) disposed over the first electrode and defining a first opening (area occupied by 134) for exposing a second portion of the first electrode;
a light emitting stack (134) disposed over the first electrode and in the first opening;
a second electrode (136) disposed over the light emitting stack;
wherein the thin-film transistor comprises:
a gate electrode (152) disposed over the substrate;
a gate insulating film (112) disposed over the gate electrode;
a semiconductor layer (154) disposed on the gate insulating film;
a source electrode (160S) in contact with a first side of the semiconductor layer; and
a drain electrode (160D) in contact with a second side of the semiconductor layer and in contact with the pixel connection electrode (fig. 2).
Lee does not teach a metal formation inhibiting layer disposed over the second electrode and having a second opening for exposing a portion of the second electrode at a location above the bank; and an auxiliary electrode disposed above the bank, wherein the auxiliary electrode is electrically connected to the second electrode, wherein the auxiliary electrode has a same width as the second opening on the bank and is formed only at a position overlapping the second opening, wherein a portion of the bank is located in between adjacent separated portions of the first electrode, and wherein the gate electrode is overlapped by the portion of the bank that is located in between the adjacent separated portions of the first electrode such that the gate electrode is not overlapped by the first electrode.
Choi teaches a metal formation inhibiting layer (fig. 3, 140) disposed over the second electrode (122) and having a second opening (area occupied by 130) for exposing a portion of the second electrode at a location above the bank (fig. 3); and
an auxiliary electrode (130) disposed above the bank, wherein the auxiliary electrode is electrically connected to the second electrode (paragraph 0093),
wherein the auxiliary electrode has a same width as the second opening on the bank and is formed only at a position overlapping the second opening (fig. 3),
wherein an upper surface of the second electrode, exposed through the second opening, and an entire lower surface of the auxiliary electrode are in direct contact with each other (fig. 3).
Jeon teaches wherein a portion of the bank (fig. 4, 153) is located in between adjacent separated portions of the first electrode (150), and
wherein the gate electrode is overlapped by the portion of the bank that is located in between the adjacent separated portions of the first electrode such that the gate electrode is not overlapped by the first electrode (fig. 5, 213 not overlapped by 150).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee, the metal formation inhibition layer and auxiliary electrode of Choi, and the bank/gate electrode arrangements of Jeon in order to prevent generation of a large voltage drop (Choi paragraph 0092-0093) and expose the center portion of the first electrode (Jeon paragraph 0050).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Choi further teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary electrode is arranged to have a stripe structure or a mesh structure (fig. 11, paragraph 0130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the auxiliary electrode shape of Choi per reasons stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Choi further teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary electrode is disposed in the second opening of the metal formation inhibiting layer (fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the auxiliary electrode of Choi per the reasons stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Choi further teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary electrode is in contact with a side face (fig. 3, 140a) of the metal formation inhibiting layer exposed by the second opening of the metal formation inhibiting layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the metal formation inhibition layer and auxiliary electrode of Choi per the reasons stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Choi further teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of pixels include a light-emitting area (fig. 3, R1), and the bank covers a third portion of the first electrode to define the light-emitting area (fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the light-emitting area of Choi per the reasons stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Choi further teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the auxiliary electrode overlaps the bank (fig. 3, 130 overlaps 119).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the auxiliary electrode of Choi per the reasons stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Choi further teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 4, wherein a thickness of the auxiliary electrode (fig. 4, 130) is greater than a thickness of the metal formation inhibiting layer (140) or a thickness of the second electrode (122, paragraph 0099).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the auxiliary electrode thickness of Choi per the reasons stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Choi further teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 1, wherein a width of the auxiliary electrode is smaller than a width of the bank (fig. 3, see figure below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the auxiliary electrode width of Choi per the reasons stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Choi further teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary electrode is made of an opaque metal (paragraph 0093).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the auxiliary electrode material of Choi per reasons stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Choi further teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the metal formation inhibiting layer is deposited using a fine metal mask (per MPEP 2213, interpreted as a layer extending to cover the light-emitting area as claimed, see also paragraph 0026) and extends to cover a light-emitting area (fig. 3, R1) of the plurality of pixels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the auxiliary electrode material of Choi per reasons stated above in claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 12, Choi further teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the metal formation inhibiting layer contains an organic material (paragraph 0102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the metal formation inhibiting layer material of Choi per reasons stated above in claim 1.
Regarding independent claim 13, Lee teaches an organic light emitting display apparatus (fig. 1) comprising:
a substrate (fig. 2, 101) having a display area (fig. 1, AA) configured to display images;
a thin-film transistor (fig. 2, 150) disposed in the display area;
a first planarization layer (124) disposed over the thin-film transistor and including a first pixel contact hole (162D);
a pixel connection electrode (168) disposed in the first pixel contact hole and electrically connected with the thin-film transistor;
a second planarization layer (128) disposed over the pixel connection electrode;
a second pixel contact hole (120) disposed through the second planarization layer;
a light emitting device (130) disposed over the second planarization layer, and including a light emitting layer (134) defining a first opening;
a bank (138) disposed in the first opening;
wherein the thin-film transistor comprises:
a gate electrode (152) disposed over the substrate;
a gate insulating film (112) disposed over the gate electrode;
a semiconductor layer (154) disposed on the gate insulating film;
a source electrode (160S) in contact with a first side of the semiconductor layer; and
a drain electrode (160D) in contact with a second side of the semiconductor layer and in contact with the pixel connection electrode (fig. 2).
Lee does not teach a metal formation inhibiting layer disposed over the light emitting device, and defining a second opening; and an auxiliary electrode disposed above the bank and in the second opening, wherein the auxiliary electrode has a same width as the second opening on the bank and is formed only at a position overlapping the second opening, a second electrode, exposed through the second opening, and an entire lower surface of the auxiliary electrode are in direct contact with each other, wherein a portion of the bank is located in between adjacent separated portions of a first electrode, and wherein the gate electrode is overlapped by the portion of the bank that is located in between the adjacent separated portions of the first electrode such that the gate electrode is not overlapped by the first electrode.
Choi teaches a metal formation inhibiting layer (fig. 3, 140) disposed over the light emitting device (EL), and defining a second opening (area occupied by 130); and
an auxiliary electrode (130) disposed above the bank and in the second opening,
wherein the auxiliary electrode has a same width as the second opening on the bank and is formed only at a position overlapping the second opening (fig. 3),
wherein an upper surface of a second electrode (122), exposed through the second opening, and an entire lower surface of the auxiliary electrode are in direct contact with each other (fig. 3).
Jeon teaches wherein a portion of the bank (fig. 4, 153) is located in between adjacent separated portions of the first electrode (150), and
wherein the gate electrode is overlapped by the portion of the bank that is located in between the adjacent separated portions of the first electrode such that the gate electrode is not overlapped by the first electrode (fig. 5, 213 not overlapped by 150).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee, the metal formation inhibition layer and auxiliary electrode of Choi, and the bank/gate electrode arrangements of Jeon in order to prevent generation of a large voltage drop (Choi paragraph 0092-0093) and expose the center portion of the first electrode (Jeon paragraph 0050).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Lee further teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 13, further comprising:
a pad area (see figure below) disposed adjacent to the display area.
Choi further teaches an encapsulation layer (fig. 2, 192) covering the entire display area, but not the pad area (can be configured to not cover pad area of Lee per MPEP 2144.04).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the encapsulation layer of Choi per the reasons stated above in claim 13.
Regarding dependent claim 15, Lee further teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 13, wherein the is on the second planarization layer, and the second electrode is on the light emitting layer (fig. 2),
wherein the first electrode is electrically connected to the thin-film transistor through the second pixel contact hole (fig. 2).
Choi further teaches and wherein the auxiliary electrode (fig. 3, 130) contacts the second electrode (122) through the second opening (fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the auxiliary electrode of Choi per the reasons stated above in claim 13.
Regarding dependent claim 17, Choi further teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 15, wherein a thickness of the auxiliary electrode is greater than at least one of a thickness of the metal formation inhibiting layer (fig. 4) and a thickness of the second electrode (paragraph 0099).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the auxiliary electrode thickness of Choi per the reasons stated in claim 13 above.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Choi teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 13, wherein the auxiliary electrode has a stripe shape and extends in one direction (fig. 13, paragraph 0132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the auxiliary electrode shape of Choi per the reasons stated above in claim 13.
Regarding dependent claim 19, Choi further teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 13, wherein the auxiliary electrode has a grid shape and extends in two directions that are perpendicular to each other (fig. 11, paragraph 0130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the auxiliary electrode shape of Choi per the reasons stated above in claim 13.
Regarding dependent claim 20, Lee further teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 13, wherein the bank is disposed above the second pixel contact hole (fig. 2, 138 sits above 120).
Choi further teaches and the auxiliary electrode is made of an opaque metal (paragraph 0103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee and the auxiliary electrode material of Choi per the reasons stated above in claim 13.
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Choi as applied to claims 1 and 15 above respectively, and further in view of Lee, herein referred to as Lee 398 (US Publication 20150008398).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Lee in view of Choi teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 1.
Lee in view of Choi does not teach wherein the second electrode and the auxiliary electrode are connected to a common voltage line.
Lee 398 teaches wherein the second electrode (fig. 2, C) and the auxiliary electrode (CB) are connected to a common voltage line (see figure below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the organic light emitting display device of Lee in view of Choi by forming a connection between the second and auxiliary electrode using a common voltage line described by Lee 398 as a means to improve the flow of electricity within the display apparatus (Lee 398, paragraph 0042).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Lee in view of Choi teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus of claim 15.
Lee in view of Choi does not teach wherein the second electrode and the auxiliary electrode are connected to a common voltage line disposed in a non-display area adjacent to the display area.
Lee 398 teaches wherein the second electrode (fig. 2 C) and the auxiliary electrode (CB) are connected to a common voltage line (partially) disposed in a non-display area adjacent to the display area (see figure below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the organic light emitting display device of Lee in view of Choi by forming a connection between the second and auxiliary electrode using a common voltage line described by Lee 398 as a means to improve the flow of electricity within the display apparatus (Lee 398, paragraph 0042).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Choi and Yeo et al. (US Publication 20170005150).
Regarding independent claims 21 and 22, Lee teaches an organic light emitting display apparatus (fig. 1) comprising:
a substrate (fig. 2, 101) having a display area (fig. 1, AA) and a non-display area (NA) adjacent to the display area, the display area including a plurality of pixels (paragraph 0047);
a thin-film transistor (fig. 2, 150) disposed in the display area of the substrate;
a first planarization layer (124) disposed over the thin-film transistor;
a pixel connection electrode (168) penetrating through the first planarization layer and electrically connected with the thin-film transistor (fig. 2);
a second planarization layer (128) disposed over the pixel connection electrode;
a first electrode (132) disposed on the second planarization layer, and a first portion of the first electrode (area inside 120) penetrating the second planarization layer to be in contact with the pixel connection electrode (fig. 2);
a bank (138) disposed over the first electrode and defining a first opening (area occupied by 134) for exposing a second portion of the first electrode;
a light emitting stack (134) disposed over the first electrode and in the first opening;
a second electrode (136) disposed over the light emitting stack;
wherein the thin-film transistor comprises:
a gate electrode (152) disposed over the substrate;
a gate insulating film (112) disposed over the gate electrode;
a semiconductor layer (154) disposed on the gate insulating film;
a source electrode (160S) in contact with a first side of the semiconductor layer; and
a drain electrode (160D) in contact with a second side of the semiconductor layer and in contact with the pixel connection electrode (fig. 2).
Lee does not teach a metal formation inhibiting layer disposed over the second electrode and having a second opening for exposing a portion of the second electrode at a location above the bank; and an auxiliary electrode disposed above the bank, wherein the auxiliary electrode is electrically connected to the second electrode, wherein the auxiliary electrode has a same width as the second opening on the bank and is formed only at a position overlapping the second opening, wherein an upper surface of the second electrode, exposed through the second opening, and an entire lower surface of the auxiliary electrode are in direct contact with each other, and wherein the entire light emitting stack is disposed within the first opening of the bank so that the light emitting stack is not disposed on a top surface of the bank/and wherein the auxiliary electrode overlaps the entire gate electrode.
Choi teaches a metal formation inhibiting layer (fig. 3, 140) disposed over the second electrode (122) and having a second opening (area occupied by 130) for exposing a portion of the second electrode at a location above the bank (fig. 3); and
an auxiliary electrode (130) disposed above the bank, wherein the auxiliary electrode is electrically connected to the second electrode (paragraph 0093),
wherein the auxiliary electrode has a same width as the second opening on the bank and is formed only at a position overlapping the second opening (fig. 3),
wherein an upper surface of the second electrode, exposed through the second opening, and an entire lower surface of the auxiliary electrode are in direct contact with each other (fig. 3).
Yeo teaches and wherein the entire light emitting stack (fig. 3, 175) is disposed within the first opening (area occupied by E) of the bank (172) so that the light emitting stack is not disposed on a top surface of the bank (fig. 3).
Yeo does not explicitly teach and wherein the auxiliary electrode overlaps the entire gate electrode, but figure 3 of Yeo discloses the auxiliary electrode 150 to overlap a portion of gate electrode 125.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the auxiliary electrode to overlap the entire gate electrode, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the organic light emitting display device of Lee, the metal formation inhibition layer and auxiliary electrode of Choi, and the bank/gate electrode arrangements of Jeon in order to prevent generation of a large voltage drop (Choi paragraph 0092-0093) and expose the center portion of the first electrode (Jeon paragraph 0050).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-22 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection (Amendments).
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/04/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 12-14 of the instant Remarks: “Specifically, as shown in Figure 5 of Lee, the entire gate electrode 152 is overlapped by the anode 132. Also, Lee does not teach that the anode 132 is split into more than one section such that the bank 138 is located between different sections of the anode 132. In other words, Lee is silent regarding a portion of the bank 138 being located between adjacent portions of the anode 132, and the portion of the bank 138 being located above the gate electrode 152 such that the gate electrode 152 is not overlapped by the anode 132. Accordingly, Lee is silent regarding the claimed features. Additionally, Choi also fails to teach or suggest the claimed features. Choi teaches a first electrode 121 and a gate electrode 105 (see paragraph [0081] of Choi). However, Choi teaches that the gate electrode 105 is entirely overlapped by the first electrode 121 (see also Figure 3 of Choi). Therefore, Choi is also silent regarding the claimed features. Furthermore, the other reference is also silent regarding the claimed features. Therefore, the references, taken alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest a configuration that corresponds to the current application.”
However, as stated above, Jeon teaches wherein a portion of the bank (fig. 4, 153) is located in between adjacent separated portions of the first electrode (150), and wherein the gate electrode is overlapped by the portion of the bank that is located in between the adjacent separated portions of the first electrode such that the gate electrode is not overlapped by the first electrode (fig. 5, 213 not overlapped by 150). Therefore, the references, taken alone or in combination, teach or suggest a configuration corresponding to the current application.
Conclusion
/GRACE CHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897