DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 22-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valavala(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2021/0125897, hereinafter Valavala) in view of Chan Arguedas (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2020/0373220, hereinafter Chan Arguedas).
Re claim 1 Valavala discloses in Fig 1 a die package comprising: a substrate(102) comprising a first face(first/second face) and an opposing second face(first/second face); a first semiconductor die(110/111) coupled to the first face(first/second face) of the substrate(102); a second semiconductor die(110/111) coupled to the first face(first/second face) of the substrate(102); and a heat spreader(120) over a side of the first semiconductor die and the second semiconductor die(110/111) opposite the substrate, wherein; a first thermal interface material(left140/right140) is between the first semiconductor die and the heat spreader; a second thermal interface material(left140/right140) the first thermal interface material(left140/right140) has a first composition[0022] the second thermal interface material(left140/right140) has a second composition[0022], different than the first composition[0022].
Valavala does not disclose, but not the first thermal interface material(left140/right140), is between the second semiconductor die(110/111) and the heat spreader; the second thermal interface material(left140/right140) has a second composition[0022], different than the first composition[0022], and a first softening temperature of the first composition[0022] is lower than a second softening temperature of the second composition[0022][0023].
Chan Arguedas discloses the second thermal interface material(104B)[0023] has a second composition[0022], different than the first composition[0022], and a first softening temperature of the first composition[0022] is lower than a second softening temperature of the second composition[0022][0023].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Chan Arguedas to the teachings of Valavala in order to enable the transfer of heat away from heat-sensitive elements in these devices [0001, Chan Arguedas]. In doing so, but not the first thermal interface material (104A)[0023 of Chan Arguedas], is between the second semiconductor die(110/111) and the heat spreader;
Re claim 2 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the die package of claim 1, wherein the first composition[0022] has a lower elastic modulus than the second composition[0022] under a first condition or conditions.
Re claim 3 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the die package of claim 1, wherein the first softening temperature[0023] is at least about 5 0C lower than the second softening temperature[0023].
Re claim 4 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the die package of claim 1, wherein a first compressibility of the first thermal interface material(left140/right140) at first condition or conditions is higher than a second compressibility of the second thermal interface material(left140/right140) at the first condition or conditions
Re claim 5 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the die package of claim 1, wherein a first height of the first semiconductor die(110/111) relative to the first face(first/second face) of the substrate(102) is less than a second height of the second semiconductor die(110/111) relative to the first face(first/second face) of the substrate(102) and a difference in thickness between the first thermal interface material(left140/right140) and the second thermal interface material accommodates a difference in spacing between the first and second semiconductor die(110/111) and a surface of the heat spreader, the difference in spacing being associated with the difference between the first and second heights of the semiconductor die.
Re claim 6 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the die package of claim 1, wherein the first thermal interface material(left140/right140) has a first composition[0022]comprising in and the second thermal interface material(left140/right140) has a second composition[0022] comprising in that is different from the first composition[0022].
Re claim 7 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the die package of claim 1, wherein the first and second semiconductor die(110/111)s are each one of a memory device, a computer processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit[0014] (GPU), or a processor.
Re claim 8 Valavala discloses in Fig 1 an electronic device comprising: a circuit board[0052]; and a die package coupled to the circuit board[0052] with one or more solder joints(543/243), wherein the die package comprises: a package substrate(102) comprising a first face(first/second face) and an opposing second face(first/second face);a first semiconductor die(110/111); and a heat spreader(120), a first thermal interface material(left140/right140) is thermally connected to the heat spreader(120) by a second thermal interface material(left140/right140); a second semiconductor die(110/111) coupled to the first face(first/second face) of the substrate(102);a heat spreader over a side of the first semiconductor die and the second semiconductor die(110/111) opposite the substrate,
Valavala does not disclose but not the first thermal interface material(left140/right140), is between the second semiconductor die(110/111) and the heat spreader;
wherein the first thermal interface material(left140/right140) comprises a first composition[0022] and the second thermal interface material(left140/right140) comprises a second composition[0022] different than the first composition[0022], wherein a first softening temperature of the first composition[0022] is lower than a second softening temperature of the second composition[0022][0023]; wherein the first composition comprises a different amount of one or more of Sn, Ag, Ni, Au, or Bi than the second composition.
Chan Arguedas discloses wherein the first thermal interface material(104A)[0023] comprises a first composition[0022] and the second thermal interface material(104B)[0023] comprises a second composition[0022] different than the first composition[0022], wherein a first softening temperature of the first composition[0022] is lower than a second softening temperature of the second composition[0022][0023]; wherein the first composition comprises a different amount of one or more of Sn, Ag, Ni, Au, or Bi than the second composition[0023].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Chan Arguedas to the teachings of Valavala in order to enable the transfer of heat away from heat-sensitive elements in these devices [0001, Chan Arguedas]. In doing so, but not the first thermal interface material (104A)[0023 of Chan Arguedas], is between the second semiconductor die(110/111) and the heat spreader;
Re claim 9 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the first composition[0022] has a lower elastic modulus than the second composition[0022] under a first specified condition or conditions.
Re claim 10 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the first softening temperature[0023] is at least about 5 °C lower than the second softening temperature[0023].
Re claim 11 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the circuit board[0052] comprises a mother board.
Re claim 12 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the electronic device of claim 8, further comprising an antenna coupled to the circuit board[0052].
Re claim 13 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the electronic device of claim 8, wherein further comprising an antenna coupled to the circuit board[0052].
Re claim 22 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the die package of claim 5, wherein:the first thermal interface material(left140/right140) is in direct contact with both a surface of the heat spreader and the first semiconductor die; andthe second thermal interface material is in contact with both the surface of the heat spreader and the second semiconductor die(110/111).
Re claim 23 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the die package of claim 22, wherein the surface of the heat spreader is planar and a difference in thickness between the first thermal interface material(left140/right140) and the second thermal interface material is equal to a difference in spacing between the first and second semiconductor die(110/111) and the planar surface of the heat spreader.
Re claim 24 Valavala discloses in Fig 1 an apparatus, comprising: a package substrate(102); a first integrated circuit (IC) die(110/111) coupled to the package substrate(102); a second IC die(110/111) adjacent to the first IC die(110/111) and also coupled to the package substrate(102); and a heat spreader(120) over a side of the first and the second IC die(110/111) opposite the substrate, wherein:a first thermal interface material(left140/right140) is between the first IC die(110/111) and the heat spreader(120);a second thermal interface material is between the second IC die(110/111) and the heat spreader(120);
Valavala does not disclose the first thermal interface material(left140/right140) is absent from between the second IC die(110/111) and the heat spreader(120);the first thermal interface material(left140/right140) is a first composition comprising In;the second thermal interface material is a second composition comprising In,different than the first composition; andthe first composition comprises a different amount of one or more of Sn, Ag, Ni,Au, or Bi than the second composition.
Chan Arguedas disclose the first thermal interface material (104A)[0023] is a first composition comprising In;the second thermal interface material (104B)[0023] is a second composition comprising In,different than the first composition [0023]; andthe first composition comprises a different amount of one or more of Sn, Ag, Ni,Au, or Bi than the second composition [0023].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Chan Arguedas to the teachings of Valavala in order to enable the transfer of heat away from heat-sensitive elements in these devices [0001, Chan Arguedas]. In doing so, the first thermal interface material (104A)[0023 of Chan Arguedas] is absent from between the second IC die(110/111) and the heat spreader(120);
Re claim 25 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the apparatus of claim 24, wherein a first softening temperature of the first composition is at least 5 °C lower than a second softening temperature of the second composition.
Re claim 26 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the apparatus of claim 24, wherein:the first thermal interface material(left140/right140) is in direct contact with both a surface of the heat spreader(120) and the first IC die(110/111);the second thermal interface material is in contact with both the surface of the heat spreader(120) and the second IC die(110/111).
Re claim 27 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the apparatus of claim 26, wherein:a first height of the first IC die(110/111) relative to a surface of the substrate is different from a second height of the second IC die(110/111) relative to the surface of the substrate; anda difference in thickness between the first thermal interface material(left140/right140) and the second thermal interface material accommodates a difference in spacing between the first and second semiconductor die(110/111) and a surface of the heat spreader(120).
Re claim 28 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the apparatus of claim 27, wherein:the first height of the first IC die(110/111) is less than the second height of the second IC die(110/111); andthe first thermal interface material(left140/right140) has a greater thickness than the second thermal interface material.
Re claim 29 Valavala and Chan Arguedas disclose the apparatus of claim 24, wherein the second thermal interface material is absent from between the first IC die(110/111) and the heat spreader(120)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13, 22-29 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references and new interpretation of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812