DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 09/30/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan Arguedas(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2020/0373220, hereinafter Chan Arguedas) in view of Choudhury (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2017/0186665, hereinafter Choudhury).
Re claim 1 Chan Arguedas discloses in Fig 1 a die package comprising: a substrate(102) comprising a first face(first/second face) and an opposing second face(first/second face); a first semiconductor die(106) coupled to the first face(first/second face) of the substrate(102); and a heat spreader(110), wherein the first semiconductor die(106) is thermally connected to the heat spreader(110) by a first thermal interface material(104A)[0023] is thermally connected to the heat spreader(110) by a second thermal interface material(104B)[0023] the first thermal interface material(104A)[0023] comprises a first composition[0022] and the second thermal interface material(104B)[0023] comprises a second composition[0022], different than the first composition[0022], and wherein a first softening temperature of the first composition[0022] is lower than a second softening temperature of the second composition[0022][0023].
Chan Arguedas does not disclose a second semiconductor die coupled to the first face(first/second face) of the substrate(102);
Choudhury disclose a second semiconductor die(203/204) coupled to the first face(first/second face) of the substrate(201);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Choudhury to the teachings of Chan Arguedas in order to avoid negative effects on the performance capabilities of the MCP by increasing unwanted heat production [0003, Choudhury].
Re claim 2 Chan Arguedas and Choudhury disclose the die package of claim 1, wherein the first composition[0022] has a lower elastic modulus than the second composition[0022] under a first specified condition or conditions.
Re claim 3 Chan Arguedas and Choudhury disclose the die package of claim 2, wherein the first softening temperature[0023] is at least about 5 0C lower than the second softening temperature[0023].
Re claim 4 Chan Arguedas and Choudhury disclose the die package of claim 2, wherein a first compressibility of the first composition[0022] of the first thermal interface material(104A)[0023] at the first specified condition or conditions is higher than a second compressibility of the second composition[0022] of the second thermal interface material(104B)[0023].
Re claim 5 Chan Arguedas and Choudhury disclose the die package of claim 1, wherein a first height of the first semiconductor die(106) relative to the first face(first/second face) of the substrate(102) is different from a second height of the second semiconductor die relative to the first face(first/second face) of the substrate(102).
Re claim 6 Chan Arguedas and Choudhury disclose the die package of claim 1, wherein the first thermal interface material(104A)[0023] comprises a first solder composition[0022] and the second thermal interface material(104B)[0023] comprises a second solder composition[0022] that is different from the first solder composition[0022].
Re claim 7 Chan Arguedas and Choudhury disclose the die package of claim 1, wherein the first and second semiconductor dies are each one of a memory device, a computer processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit[0014] (GPU), or a processor.
Re claim 8 Chan Arguedas discloses in Fig 1 an electronic device comprising: a circuit board[0016]; and a die package coupled to the circuit board[0016] with one or more solder joints(122), wherein the die package comprises: a package substrate(102) comprising a first face(first/second face) and an opposing second face(first/second face);a first semiconductor die(106); and a heat spreader(110), wherein the first semiconductor die(106) is thermally connected to the heat spreader(110) by a first thermal interface material(104A)[0023] is thermally connected to the heat spreader(110) by a second thermal interface material(104B)[0023];wherein the first thermal interface material(104A)[0023] comprises a first composition[0022] and the second thermal interface material(104B)[0023] comprises a second composition[0022] different than the first composition[0022], wherein a first softening temperature of the first composition[0022] is lower than a second softening temperature of the second composition[0022][0023].
Chan Arguedas does not disclose a second semiconductor die coupled to the first face(first/second face) of the substrate(102);
Choudhury disclose a second semiconductor die(203/204) coupled to the first face(first/second face) of the substrate(201);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Choudhury to the teachings of Chan Arguedas in order to avoid negative effects on the performance capabilities of the MCP by increasing unwanted heat production [0003, Choudhury].
Re claim 9 Chan Arguedas and Choudhury disclose the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the first composition[0022] has a lower elastic modulus than the second composition[0022] under a first specified condition or conditions.
Re claim 10 Chan Arguedas and Choudhury disclose the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the first softening temperature[0023] is at least about 5 °C lower than the second softening temperature[0023].
Re claim 11 Chan Arguedas and Choudhury disclose the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the circuit board[0016] comprises a mother board.
Re claim 12 Chan Arguedas and Choudhury disclose the electronic device of claim 8, further comprising an antenna coupled to the circuit board[0016].
Re claim 13 Chan Arguedas and Choudhury disclose the electronic device of claim 8, wherein further comprising an antenna coupled to the circuit board[0016].
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812