DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16, 44, 59-64, 66-68, 71-75, and 77 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markowitz (US 20200077992 A1) in view of Bhardwaj (research publication Barrett's Esophagus: Emerging Knowledge and Management Strategies).
For claim(s) 1, 16, 44, 59, 71-73, 75, and 77 Markowitz teaches
A method for collecting a biological sample in a patient, [entire disclosure – see at least abstract] the method comprising:
identifying a location within an esophagus of the patient associated with Squamous Cell Carcinoma (SCC) and/or Squamous Dysplasia (SD); [¶¶41-42]
positioning, at the identified location within the esophagus, a device provided with a collection portion having a first axial end portion and a second axial end portion; [¶¶41-42]
axially moving the second axial end portion, relative to the first axial end portion, from a collapsed position within the first axial end portion into an expanded position; [Fig. 2 to Fig. 1, ¶¶41-42]
and collecting the biological sample with the second axial end portion in the expanded position, within the esophagus. [¶42]
For claim(s) 1, 16, 44, 59, 71-73, 75, and 77 Although Markowitz generally contemplates biological sampling of the esophagus and at least some form of analysis in ¶42, Markowitz fails to teach identifying a specific location within the esophagus associated with SCC, SD, EAC, GD, GERD, and/or BE and analyzing a biomarker thereof.
Bhardwaj teaches a method for analyzing patient cell samples [abstract] including identifying a location within an esophagus associated with SCC, SD, GERD, EAC, GD, and BE and analyzing biomarkers thereof. [p. 2 l. col. ¶2 detailing biopsy of particular areas of esophagus for squamous epithelium (where SCC and/or SD would be present); entirety of disclosure is regarding BE, EAC, GERD, and GD — see esp. p. 4-6; p. 13 § 15 – future directions]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Markowitz to incorporate the location specifying of sampling and subsequent analyses within the esophagus as taught by Bhardwaj in order to aid in more effectively diagnosing the subject to ensure proper treatment. As motivated by Bhardwaj p. 1-2.
For claim 60, Markowitz teaches The method of claim 59,
further comprising axially moving the second axial end portion into the first axial end portion from the expanded position into the collapsed position to protect the biological sample. [¶42]
For claim 61, Markowitz teaches The method of claim 59,
wherein the biological sample includes esophageal cells. [¶¶41-42]
For claim 62, Markowitz teaches The method of claim 59,
wherein the step of axially moving the second axial end portion from the collapsed position into the expanded position includes moving the second axial end portion from a concave shape to a convex shape. [Figs. 1-3]
For claim 63, Markowitz teaches The method of claim 59,
wherein the step of axially moving the second axial end portion from the expanded position into the collapsed position includes moving the second axial end portion from a convex shape to a concave shape. [Figs. 1-3]
For claim 64, Markowitz teaches The method of claim 59,
wherein the step of axially moving the second axial end portion from the expanded position into the collapsed position includes causing an outer surface of the second axial end portion facing radially outwardly when the second axial end portion is in the expanded position to face radially inwardly when the second axial end portion is in the collapsed position. [Figs. 1-3]
For claim 66, Markowitz teaches The method of claim 59,
further comprising providing the second axial end portion with a plurality of tissue collecting projections designed to capture the biological sample including esophageal cells. [Figs. 1-3]
For claim 67, Markowitz teaches The method of claim 59,
wherein the step of removing the device from the esophagus includes preventing the second axial end portion of the collection portion from engaging the esophagus at an area different from the location in the esophagus. [¶42]
For claim 68, Markowitz teaches The method of claim 59,
wherein the step of axially moving the second axial end portion from the collapsed position into the expanded position includes applying pressurized air to the second axial end portion and the step of axially moving the second axial end portion from the expanded position into the collapsed position includes applying a vacuum to the collection portion. [¶41]
For claim 74, Markowitz teaches The method of claim 1,
wherein, in the collecting step, the second axial end portion includes projections [40] designed for the collection of squamous cells.
Claim(s) 30 and 76 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markowitz in view of Furuzawa (research publication: Achalasia—An Autoimmune Inflammatory Disease: A Cross-Sectional Study).
For claim(s) 30 and 76, Markowitz teaches A method for collecting a biological sample in a patient, the method comprising:
identifying a location within an esophagus; positioning, at the identified location within the esophagus, a device provided with a collection portion having a first axial end portion and a second axial end portion; axially moving the second axial end portion, relative to the first axial end portion, from a collapsed position within the first axial end portion into an expanded position; and collecting the biological sample with the second axial end portion in the expanded position, at the identified location within the esophagus. [Fig(s). 2 to Fig(s). 1 and ¶¶41-42]
For claim(s) 30 and 76, Although Markowitz generally contemplates biological sampling of the esophagus and at least some form of analysis in ¶42, Markowitz fails to teach identifying a specific location within the esophagus associated with HSV.
Furuzawa teaches a method of evaluating and sampling a subject [abstract] comprising identifying a specific location within an esophagus of a subject associated with HSV [abstract, p. 2 r. col.] as well as detecting HSV in the esophageal sample. [entire disclosure – see at least abstract]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Markowitz to incorporate the HSV sampling location and HSV detection of Furuzawa in order to aid in assessing the subject’s esophagus for common esophageal disorders. As motivated by Furuzawa p. 1.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 16, 44, 59-64, 66-68, 71-75, 77 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 25-27, 29-32, 35, 39-41 of copending Application No. 17855530 in view of Bhardwaj.
The pending claim(s) are substantially anticipated by the copending claim(s) but for the claim language encompassing identifying a location of SCC, SD, EAC, GD, GERD, and/or BE. Bhardwaj teaches such features with clear motivation to combine as detailed in the § 103 rejection(s) above. As such, the pending claim(s) are obvious in scope over the copending claim(s).
Claim(s) 30, 76 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 25-27, 29-32, 35, 39-41 of copending Application No. 17855530 in view of Furuzawa.
The pending claim(s) are substantially anticipated by the copending claim(s) but for the claim language encompassing identifying a specific location of HSV. Furuzawa teaches such features with clear motivation to combine as detailed in the § 103 rejection(s) above. As such, the pending claim(s) are obvious in scope over the copending claim(s).
The above are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN S MELHUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791