DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims may be addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markowitz (US 20200077992 A1) in view of Srinagesh (research publication: Biomarkers in acute graft-versus-host disease).
For claim(s) 1, Markowitz teaches A method for collecting a biological sample in a patient, [entire disclosure – see at least abstract] the method comprising:
identifying a location within a gastrointestinal tract; positioning, at the identified location, a device provided with a collection portion having a first axial end portion and a second axial end portion; axially moving the second axial end portion, relative to the first axial end portion, from a collapsed position within the first axial end portion into an expanded position; and collecting the biological sample with the second axial end portion in the expanded position. [¶¶41-42 Fig(s). 2 then Fig(s). 1]
For claim(s) 1 and 13, Although Markowitz generally contemplates biological sampling of the esophagus and at least some form of analysis in ¶42, Markowitz fails to teach identifying a specific GVHD location within the GI tract.
Srinagesh Teaches an esophageal method of identifying a GVHD sampling location and detecting GVHD. [abstract, introduction, The Map and GI GVHD biology]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Markowitz to incorporate the esophageal GVHD location sampling and detection of Srinagesh in order to determine whether GVHD is present in the esophageal pathology. As motivated by Markowitz ¶3, Srinagesh abstract, introduction, and GI GVHD biology.
For claim 2, Markowitz teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising axially moving the second axial end portion into the first axial end portion from the expanded position into the collapsed position to protect the biological sample. [¶42]
For claim 4, Markowitz teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the step of axially moving the second axial end portion from the collapsed position into the expanded position includes moving the second axial end portion from a concave shape to a convex shape, or wherein the step of axially moving the second axial end portion from the expanded position into the collapsed position includes moving the second axial end portion from a convex shape to a concave shape. [Fig(s). 1-3]
For claim 7, Markowitz teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the step of positioning the collection portion of the device at the identified location includes swallowing the collection portion. [¶41]
For claim 11, Markowitz teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising performing at least one of pathological analysis, diagnostic analysis, and cell analysis on the biological sample including esophageal cells. [washing and collecting at end of ¶42 constitute(s), under BRI, at least some form of analysis]
For claim 12, Markowitz teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising removing the device from the gastrointestinal tract of the patient. [¶42]
Claim(s) 15, 16, 18, 21, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markowitz in view of Telakis (research publication: Debilitating Chronic Diarrhea Caused by Generalized Gastrointestinal Cytomegalovirus Infection in an Immunocompetent Adult).
For claim(s) 15, Markowitz teaches A method for collecting a biological sample in a patient, [entire disclosure – see at least abstract] the method comprising:
identifying a location within a gastrointestinal tract; positioning, at the identified location, a device provided with a collection portion having a first axial end portion and a second axial end portion; axially moving the second axial end portion, relative to the first axial end portion, from a collapsed position within the first axial end portion into an expanded position; and collecting the biological sample with the second axial end portion in the expanded position. [¶¶41-42 Fig(s). 2 then Fig(s). 1]
For claim(s) 15 and 27, Although Markowitz generally contemplates biological sampling of the esophagus and at least some form of analysis in ¶42, Markowitz fails to teach identifying a specific CMV location within the esophagus.
Telakis teaches an esophageal method of detecting CMV. [abstract, introduction, throughout p. 2]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Markowitz to incorporate the esophageal CMV detection of Telakis in order to determine whether additional treatment and/or steps are necessary to ensure the health of the patient. As motivated by Telakis abstract, discussion.
For claim 16, Markowitz teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising axially moving the second axial end portion into the first axial end portion from the expanded position into the collapsed position to protect the biological sample. [¶42]
For claim 18, Markowitz teaches the method of claim 15,
wherein the step of axially moving the second axial end portion from the collapsed position into the expanded position includes moving the second axial end portion from a concave shape to a convex shape, or wherein the step of axially moving the second axial end portion from the expanded position into the collapsed position includes moving the second axial end portion from a convex shape to a concave shape. [Fig(s). 1-3]
For claim 21, Markowitz teaches the method of claim 15,
wherein the step of positioning the collection portion of the device at the identified location includes swallowing the collection portion. [¶41]
For claim 25, Markowitz teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising performing at least one of pathological analysis, diagnostic analysis, and cell analysis on the biological sample including esophageal cells. [washing and collecting at end of ¶42 constitute(s), under BRI, at least some form of analysis]
For claim 26, Markowitz teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising removing the device from the esophagus of the patient. [¶42]
Claim(s) 29-32, 35, 39-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markowitz in view of Pease (US 20150057517 A1).
For claim(s) 29, Markowitz teaches A method for collecting a biological sample in a patient, [entire disclosure – see at least abstract] the method comprising:
identifying a location within a gastrointestinal tract; positioning, at the identified location, a device provided with a collection portion having a first axial end portion and a second axial end portion; axially moving the second axial end portion, relative to the first axial end portion, from a collapsed position within the first axial end portion into an expanded position; and collecting the biological sample with the second axial end portion in the expanded position. [¶¶41-42 Fig(s). 2 then Fig(s). 1]
For claim(s) 29 and 41, Although Markowitz generally contemplates biological sampling of the esophagus and at least some form of analysis in ¶42, Markowitz fails to teach detecting Candidiasis.
Pease teaches an esophageal method of detecting Candidiasis. [¶154]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Markowitz to incorporate the esophageal Candidiasis detection of Pease in order to determine whether Candidiasis is present in the esophageal pathology. As motivated by Markowitz ¶3, Pease ¶154.
For claim(s) 31, Markowitz teaches
wherein the biological sample includes buccal cells, squamous cells, vaginal cells, and/or Candida cells. [¶42]
For claim(s) 35, Markowitz teaches
wherein the step of positioning the collection portion of the device into the gastrointestinal tract includes swallowing the collection portion. [¶41]
For claim(s) 39, Markowitz teaches
further comprising performing at least one of pathological analysis, diagnostic analysis, and cell analysis on the biological
sample including esophageal cells. [washing and collecting at end of ¶42 constitute(s), under BRI, at least some form of analysis]
For claim(s) 40, Markowitz teaches
further comprising removing the device from the patient. [¶42]
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 11-13 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 16, 30, 44, 59-64, 66-68, and 71-77 of copending Application No. 17855515 in view of Srinagesh.
The pending claim(s) are substantially anticipated by the copending claim(s) but for the claim language encompassing identifying a specific location of GVHD. Srinagesh teaches such features with clear motivation to combine as detailed in the § 103 rejection(s) above. As such, the pending claim(s) are obvious in scope over the copending claim(s).
Claim(s) 15, 16, 18, 21, and 25-27 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 16, 30, 44, 59-64, 66-68, and 71-77 of copending Application No. 17855515 in view of Telakis.
The pending claim(s) are substantially anticipated by the copending claim(s) but for the claim language encompassing identifying a specific location of CMV. Telakis teaches such features with clear motivation to combine as detailed in the § 103 rejection(s) above. As such, the pending claim(s) are obvious in scope over the copending claim(s).
Claim(s) 29-32, 35, and 39-41 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 16, 30, 44, 59-64, 66-68, and 71-77 of copending Application No. 17855515 in view of Pease.
The pending claim(s) are substantially anticipated by the copending claim(s) but for the claim laguage encompassing identifying a specific location of Candidiasis. Pease teaches such features with clear motivation to combine as detailed in the § 103 rejection(s) above. As such, the pending claim(s) are obvious in scope over the copending claim(s).
The above are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN S MELHUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791