DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 7/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (CN 110752159, hereinafter all citations to this document are made to the attached machine translation) in view of Evans et al. (US 9287148).
With regard to claim 1, Long teaches an optical heating method comprising: a process (a) in which an object to be treated containing a wide band gap semiconductor is irradiated with ultraviolet light having a peak wavelength in a range of 175 nm to 370 nm to heat the object to be treated (page 5, Example 4, paragraphs 12-15 of the page).
Long does not explicitly teach that the light is emitted from a UV-LED light source through a window member.
Evans teaches, in Fig 5, that the light (shown, but unlabeled as emitting from 520) is emitted from a UV-LED light source (520) through a window member (530), “for dynamically heating portions of the workpiece during workpiece processing that allowed the desired amount of temperature and spatial control,” (column 1, lines 40-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the effective filing date to combine the method of Long with the light source configuration of Evans to allow for the desired amount of temperature and spatial control.
With regard to claim 3, Long teaches that the ultraviolet light has a peak wavelength in a range of 190 nm to 370 nm (page 5, Example 4, paragraphs 12-15 of the page).
With regard to claim 5, Long teaches that the wide band gap semiconductor is made of Ga2O3 and the ultraviolet light has a peak wavelength of 300 nm or less (page 5, Example 4, paragraphs 12-15 of the page).
Claim(s) 2, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (CN 110752159, hereinafter all citations to this document are made to the attached machine translation) in view of Evans et al. (US 9287148) and JP-H04247637 (hereinafter all citations to this document are made to the attached machine translation, this document is referred to as ‘637 hereinafter).
With regard to claim 2, Long/Evans teaches most of the limitations of this claim, as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Long/Evans do not explicitly teach a process (b) in which a radiation thermometer having a sensitivity wavelength range in a predetermined wavelength range of 0.5 μm to 5 μm measures a temperature of the object to be treated by receiving light emitted from the object to be treated during execution of the process (a).
‘637 teaches a process (b) in which a radiation thermometer having a sensitivity wavelength range in a predetermined wavelength range of 0.5 μm to 5 μm measures a temperature of the object to be treated by receiving light emitted from the object to be treated during execution of the process (a) ([0030]) to, “detects temperature,” ([0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of the effective filing date to combine the method of Long/Evans with the radiation thermometer of ‘637 to detect temperature.
With regard to claim 4, Long teaches that the ultraviolet light has a peak wavelength in a range of 190 nm to 370 nm (page 5, Example 4, paragraphs 12-15 of the page).
With regard to claim 6, Long teaches that the wide band gap semiconductor is made of Ga2O3 and the ultraviolet light has a peak wavelength of 300 nm or less (page 5, Example 4, paragraphs 12-15 of the page).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (CN 110752159, hereinafter all citations to this document are made to the attached machine translation) in view of Evans et al. (US 9287148) and Iguchi et al. (US 2020/0066528).
With regard to claim 7, Long/Evans teaches most of the limitations of this claim, as set forth above with regard to claim 3.
Long/Evans does not explicitly teach that the wide band gap semiconductor is made of GaN or SiC and the ultraviolet light has a peak wavelength of 360 nm or less.
Iguchi teaches, in Fig 3B, that the wide band gap semiconductor is made of GaN or SiC and the ultraviolet light has a peak wavelength of 360 nm or less ([0047]), “to keep the high-temperature heat treatment process confined,” ([0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of the effective filing date to combine the method of Long/Evans with the conditions of Iguchi to keep the high-temperature heat treatment process confined.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (CN 110752159, hereinafter all citations to this document are made to the attached machine translation) in view of Evans et al. (US 9287148), JP-H04247637 (hereinafter all citations to this document are made to the attached machine translation, this document is referred to as ‘637 hereinafter), and Iguchi et al. (US 2020/0066528).
With regard to claim 8, Long/Evans/’637 teaches most of the limitations of this claim, as set forth above with regard to claim 4.
Long/Evans/’637 does not explicitly teach that the wide band gap semiconductor is made of GaN or SiC and the ultraviolet light has a peak wavelength of 360 nm or less.
Iguchi teaches, in Fig 3B, that the wide band gap semiconductor is made of GaN or SiC and the ultraviolet light has a peak wavelength of 360 nm or less ([0047]), “to keep the high-temperature heat treatment process confined,” ([0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of the effective filing date to combine the method of Long/Evans/’637 with the conditions of Iguchi to keep the high-temperature heat treatment process confined.
Conclusion
/RAJ R GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893