DETAILED ACTION
Office action sent 8/12/2025 withdrawn and new rejection recited below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 12-13, 16, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-10, 14-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alcoe (US 2004/0238970).
With regard to claim 1, figs. 3-3A of Alcoe discloses an integrated circuit (IC) package support 11”, comprising: a conductive structure 15A having an aperture 16; and a conductive via 19” at least partially nested in the aperture 16 in the conductive structure 15A; and a conductive bridge (“portion of the layer 15A coupled to via 19” ”, par [0037]) spanning between and in contact with the conductive structure 15A and the conductive via 19”, wherein the conductive bridge (“portion of the layer 15A coupled to via 19” ”, par [0037]) connects to the conductive structure 15a at an angle that is greater than 90 degrees (180 degrees).
With regard to claim 2, figs. 3-3A of Alcoe discloses that the conductive structure 15A is a conductive pad or a conductive plane 15A.
With regard to claim 4, figs. 3-3A of Alcoe discloses that the conductive structure 15A, the conductive via 19”, and the conductive bridge (“portion of the layer 15A coupled to via 19””, par [0037]) are in a layer of dielectric material (“organic laminate”, par [0032]).
With regard to claim 5, figs. 3-3A of Alcoe discloses that the dielectric material (“organic laminate”, par [0032]) includes an organic material (“organic laminate”, par [0032]).
With regard to claim 6, figs. 3-3A of Alcoe discloses that the conductive structure 15A and the conductive via 19” include copper (“copper”, par [0032]).
With regard to claim 9, figs. 3-3A of Alcoe discloses a cross-section of the conductive via 19” is circular (conductive via 19” is circle shaped in fig. 3), rectangular, triangular, oval, elliptical, or oblong.
With regard to claim 10, figs. 3-3A of Alcoe discloses an electronic assembly, comprising: an integrated circuit (IC) package support 11”, including a conductive via 19” at least partially nested in an aperture 16 in a conductive plane 15A; and a conductive bridge (“portion of the layer 15A coupled to via 19””, par [0037]) spanning between and in contact with the conductive plane 15A and the conductive via 19”, wherein the conductive bridge (“portion of the layer 15A coupled to via 19” ”, par [0037]) connects to the conductive structure 15a at an angle that is greater than 90 degrees (180 degrees).
With regard to claims 14 and 20, figs. 3-3A and 9 of Alcoe discloses that the IC package support 11’ further includes conductive contacts 21’ and the electronic assembly 51 further includes one or more dies (“semiconductor chip 65”, par [0046]) coupled to the conductive contacts (“corresponding conductive elements on a receiving substrate”, par [0046]).
With regard to claim 15, figs. 3-3A and 9 of Alcoe discloses that the IC package support 11’ is included in an IC package 11’, the electronic assembly 51 further includes a circuit board 63, and the IC package 11’ is coupled to the circuit board 63.
With regard to claim 16, figs. 3-3A of Alcoe discloses an electronic assembly, comprising: an integrated circuit (IC) package support 11”, including a conductive via 16” at least partially nested in an aperture 16 in a conductive pad 15A, wherein the conductive via 19” is separated from the conductive pad 15A by a gap (separation in space between 19” and 16); and a conductive bridge (“portion of the layer 15A coupled to via 19””, par [0037]) spanning the gap (separation in space between 19” and 16) and connecting the conductive pad 15A and the conductive via 19”, wherein the conductive bridge (“portion of the layer 15A coupled to via 19” ”, par [0037]) connects to the conductive structure 15a at an angle that is greater than 90 degrees (180 degrees)..
With regard to claim 18, figs. 3-3A of Alcoe discloses that the conductive pad 15A, the conductive via 19”, and the conductive bridge (“portion of the layer 15A coupled to via 19””, par [0037]) are in a layer of dielectric material (“organic laminate”, par [0032]).
Claims 7-8, 12-13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Topacio et al. (US 2015/0279794) (“Topacio”).
With regard to claim 7, figs. 10-11 of Topacio discloses an integrated circuit (IC) package support 60, comprising: a conductive structure 75 having an aperture (185, 190, 195, 180); and a conductive via 100 at least partially nested in the aperture (185, 190, 195, 180) in the conductive structure 175; and a conductive bridge 115 spanning between and in contact with the conductive structure 75 and the conductive via 100, wherein the conductive bridge 115 is one of a plurality of conductive bridges (120, 115, 110, 105) spanning between and in contact with the conductive structure 75 and the conductive via 100.
With regard to claim 8, figs. 1 and 10-11 of Topacio discloses an integrated circuit (IC) package support 60, comprising: a conductive structure 75 having an aperture (185, 190, 195, 180); and a conductive via 100 at least partially nested in the aperture (185, 190, 195, 180) in the conductive structure 75; and a conductive bridge 115 spanning between and in contact with the conductive structure 75 and the conductive via 100, wherein the aperture (185, 190, 195, 180) in the conductive structure 75 is a first aperture ((185, 190, 195, 180) for 35), the conductive via 100 is a first conductive via (100 for 35), and the conductive bridge 115 is a first conductive bridge (115 of 35), and the IC package support further comprising: a second conductive via (100 for 40) at least partially nested in a second aperture ((185, 190, 195, 180) for 40) in the conductive structure 75; and a second conductive bridge (115 of 40) spanning between and in contact with the conductive structure 75 and the second conductive via (100 of 40).
With regard to claim 12, figs. 10-11 of Topacio discloses an electronic assembly 15 comprising: an integrated circuit (IC) package support 60, comprising: a conductive structure 75 having an aperture (185, 190, 195, 180); and a conductive via 100 at least partially nested in the aperture (185, 190, 195, 180) in the conductive structure 175; and a conductive bridge 115 spanning between and in contact with the conductive structure 75 and the conductive via 100, wherein the conductive bridge 115 is one of a plurality of conductive bridges (120, 115, 110, 105) spanning between and in contact with the conductive structure 75 and the conductive via 100.
With regard to claim 13, figs. 1 and 10-11 of Topacio discloses a an electronic assembly 15, comprising: an integrated circuit (IC) package support 60, comprising: a conductive structure 75 having an aperture (185, 190, 195, 180); and a conductive via 100 at least partially nested in the aperture (185, 190, 195, 180) in the conductive structure 75; and a conductive bridge 115 spanning between and in contact with the conductive structure 75 and the conductive via 100, wherein the aperture (185, 190, 195, 180) in the conductive structure 75 is a first aperture ((185, 190, 195, 180) for 35), the conductive via 100 is a first conductive via (100 for 35), and the conductive bridge 115 is a first conductive bridge (115 of 35), and the IC package support further comprising: a second conductive via (100 for 40) at least partially nested in a second aperture ((185, 190, 195, 180) for 40) in the conductive structure 75; and a second conductive bridge (115 of 40) spanning between and in contact with the conductive structure 75 and the second conductive via (100 of 40).
With regard to claim 19, figs. 1 and 10-11 of Topacio discloses an electronic assembly 15, comprising: an integrated circuit (IC) package support 60, including a conductive via 100 at least partially nested in an aperture (185, 190, 195, 180) in a conductive pad 75, wherein the conductive via 100 is separated from the conductive pad 75 by a gap (185, 190, 195, 180); and a conductive bridge 115 spanning the gap (185, 190, 195, 180) and connecting the conductive pad 75 and the conductive via 100, wherein the conductive bridge 115 is one of a plurality of conductive bridges (115, 120, 105, 110) spanning the gap (185, 190, 195, 180) and connecting the conductive pad 75 and the conductive via 100.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN TZU-HUNG LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893