Attorney Docket Number: AE1622-US
Filling Date: AE1622-US
Inventor: Haratipour et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Fig. 2H, claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 10/27/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 21-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by More et al (US 2018/0174913 A1).
Regarding claim 1, More discloses a semiconductor die (Figs. 16 and 21), comprising: a substrate 50 (Para. 22); a channel layer 56 (Para. 19) on the substrate 50; a gate structure 94 (Para. 53) over the channel layer 56; a source region 82 (left, Para. 30) and a drain region 82 (right), the source region 82 (left) coupled to the channel layer 56 on a first side of the gate structure 94 and the drain region 82 (right) coupled to the channel layer 56 on a second side of the gate structure 94, the source region 82 (left) and the drain region 82 (right) comprising silicon and germanium (Para. 30); a first cap layer 84 (Para. 33, 30, B-doped SiGe, left) on at least one of the source region 82 (left) or the drain region, the first cap layer comprising germanium and boron 84 (elements 84 can be formed same as 82 which is B-doped SiGe, Paras, 30, 33); and a second cap layer (liner, Para. 45) on the first cap layer 84 and above at least one of the source region 82 or the drain region 82, the second cap layer comprising a refractory metal (Para. 45, tantalum).
Regarding claim 2, More discloses the semiconductor die of Claim 1, wherein the refractory metal comprises molybdenum, niobium, rhenium, tantalum (Para. 45, liner), or tungsten.
Regarding claim 3, More discloses the semiconductor die of Claim 1, wherein: the first cap layer 84 is on the source region 82 (left) and the drain region 82 (right), wherein the first cap layer includes a first source cap 84 (Paras. 30, 33, left) and a first drain cap 84 (right), wherein the first source cap 84 (left) is on the source region 82 (left) and the first drain cap 84 (right) is on the drain region 82 (right); and the second cap layer (liner, Para. 45) is above the source region 82 and the drain region 82, wherein the second cap layer includes a second source cap (liner, Para. 45, left) and a second drain cap (liner, Para. 45, right), wherein the second source cap (liner, Para. 45) is on the first source cap 84 (left) and the second drain cap (liner, Para. 45) is on the first drain cap 84 (right).
Regarding claim 4, More discloses the semiconductor die of Claim 3, further comprising: a first conductive contact 120 (Para. 52) on the second source cap (liner, Para. 45); and a second conductive contact 120 (right) on the second drain cap (liner, Para. 45).
Regarding claim 5, More discloses the semiconductor die of Claim 1, wherein the gate structure includes: a gate electrode 94 (Para. 53); a first dielectric sidewall spacer 86 (Fig. 10B, Para. 27) on a first side of the gate electrode 94; and a second dielectric sidewall spacer 86 on a second side of the gate electrode 94.
Regarding claim 6, More discloses the semiconductor die of Claim 1, wherein the source region 82 and the drain region 82 are p-type doped with boron (Para. 30) or gallium.
Regarding claim 7, More discloses the semiconductor die of Claim 1, wherein the channel layer 50, 56 comprises silicon (Para. 14).
Regarding claim 8, More discloses the semiconductor die of Claim 1, further comprising a transistor (Fig. 21B), wherein the transistor includes the channel layer 56, the gate structure 94, the source region 82, the drain region 82, the first cap layer 84, and the second cap layer 84.
Regarding claim 9, More discloses the semiconductor die of Claim 8, wherein the transistor is a P-type transistor (Para. 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over More et al (US 2018/0174913 A1) in view of Monchiero et al (US 2010/0194470 A1).
Regarding claim 10, More discloses an integrated circuit (Figs. 16 and 21), comprising: the integrated circuit die (Figs. 16 and 21) includes one or more transistors, wherein at least one transistor (Figs. 16B, 21B) includes: a channel layer 56 (Para. 19); a gate electrode 94 (Para. 53) over the channel layer 56; a source region 82 (Para. 30, left) and a drain region 82 (right), the source region 82 coupled to the channel layer 56 on a first side of the gate electrode 94 and the drain region 82 (right) coupled to the channel layer 56 on a second side of the gate electrode 94, the source region 82 and the drain region 82 comprising silicon and germanium (Para. 30); a first source cap 84 (Paras. 30, 33, left) and a first drain cap 84 (right), wherein the first source cap 84 (left) is on the source region 82 and the first drain cap 84 (right) is on the drain region 82, wherein the first source cap 84 and the first drain cap 84 comprise germanium and boron (Paras. 30, 3); a second source cap (liner, Para. 45) and a second drain cap (liner, Para. 45), wherein the second source cap (liner is on 84) is on the first source cap 84 (left) and the second drain cap (liner is on 84) is on the first drain cap 84 (right), wherein the second source cap and the second drain cap comprise a refractory metal (liner, Para. 45).
More does not explicitly disclose a package substrate; and an integrated circuit die coupled to the package substrate.
However, Monchiero discloses a package substrate 415 (Fig. 4, Para. 41) ; and an integrated circuit die 405 (Para. 38) coupled to the package substrate 415. Monchiero teaches the above modification is used to make package and reduce current leak of the device (Fig. 4, Para. 44). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine More structure with Monchiero Package substrate as suggested above to make package and reduce current leak of the device (Fig. 4, Para. 44).
Regarding claim 11, More discloses the integrated circuit of Claim 10, wherein the refractory metal comprises molybdenum, niobium, rhenium, tantalum, or tungsten (liner, Para. 45).
Regarding claim 12, More discloses the integrated circuit of Claim 10, further comprising: a first conductive contact 120 on the second source cap (liner, Para. 45); and a second conductive contact (liner, Para. 45) on the second drain cap (liner, Para. 45).
Regarding claim 13, More discloses the integrated circuit of Claim 10, wherein the source region 82 and the drain region 82 are p-type doped with boron (Para. 30) or gallium.
Regarding claim 14, More discloses the integrated circuit of Claim 10, wherein the channel layer 56, 50 comprises silicon (Para. 14).
Regarding claim 15, More discloses the integrated circuit of Claim 10, wherein the at least one transistor is a p-channel metal–oxide–semiconductor transistor (Para. 15).
Regarding claim 16, More discloses an electronic device (Figs. 16 and 21), comprising: the integrated circuit includes one or more transistors, wherein at least one transistor (Figs. 16B, 21B) includes: a channel layer 56 (Para. 19); a gate electrode 94 (Para. 53) over the channel layer 56; a source region 82 (Para. 30, left) and a drain region 82 (Para. 30, right), the source region 82 coupled to the channel layer 56 on a first side of the gate electrode 94 and the drain region 82 coupled to the channel layer 56 on a second side of the gate electrode 94, the source region 82 and the drain region 82 comprising silicon and germanium (Para. 30); a first source cap 84 (Paras. 30, 33, left) and a first drain cap 84 (Paras. 30, 33, right), wherein the first source cap 84 is on the source region 82 and the first drain cap 84 is on the drain region 82, wherein the first source cap 84 and the first drain cap 84 comprise germanium and boron (Paras. 30, 33, 84 may form as the 82); a second source cap (liner, Para. 45, left) and a second drain cap (liner, Para. 45, right), wherein the second source cap (liner, Para. 45, left) is on the first source cap 84 (left) and the second drain cap (liner, Para. 45, right) is on the first drain cap 84 (right), wherein the second source cap and the second drain cap comprise a refractory metal ((liner, Para. 45).
More does not explicitly disclose a board 415 (Fig. 4, Paras. 41, 19, 25); and an integrated circuit 405 (Para. 38) coupled to the board 415.
Monchiero teaches the above modification is used to make package and reduce current leak of the device (Fig. 4, Para. 44). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine More structure with Monchiero board as suggested above to make package and reduce current leak of the device (Fig. 4, Para. 44).
Regarding claim 17, More discloses the electronic device of Claim 16, wherein the refractory metal comprises molybdenum, niobium, rhenium, tantalum, or tungsten (liner, Para. 45).
Regarding claim 18, More discloses the electronic device of Claim 16, wherein the at least one transistor further includes: a first conductive contact 120 (left) on the second source cap (liner, Para. 45); and a second conductive contact 120 (right) on the second drain cap (liner, Para. 45).
Regarding claim 19, Monchiero discloses the electronic device of Claim 16, wherein the integrated circuit further includes processing circuitry, communications circuitry, or memory circuitry (Para. 25), wherein the at least one transistor is included in the processing circuitry, the communications circuitry, or the memory circuitry (Para. 22).
Regarding claim 20, Monchiero discloses the electronic device of Claim 16, wherein the electronic device is a mobile device, a wearable device, a computer (Para. 13), a server, a video playback device, a video game console, a display device, a camera, or an appliance.
Conclusion
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817