Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the Election of Species Requirement mailed 04-24-2025, in the reply filed on 06-24-2025 was previously acknowledged in the action dated 9-29-25. The Restriction requirement was made final then, and remains final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP 2015059950, Hiroshi in view of USPN 5730232 Mixer.
Regarding Claims 1 and 4-5, Hiroshi discloses a power tool (drive unit of printing tool, powered by motor 80), comprising:
a motor 80 having a motor shaft 80b that is rotatable in two directions opposite to each other (“ a motor 80 serving as a drive source that can be rotated forward and backward by being controlled by the control unit 5”);
a speed reducer (combination of parts 80b, 93, 95, 78, 90 and 93b) that is operably coupled to the motor shaft and that includes planetary gear mechanisms (90-92 and 81-84) arranged in multiple stages (figure 6); and
a speed-reducing-ratio change mechanism (93-95) that is configured to change a speed reducing ratio of the speed reducer in response to a change of a rotating direction of the motor shaft (See abstract, where it is disclosed that, “When a driving shaft 80b is rotated forward, the connection of a holding member 93 to a driving-side plate 78 is released by a one-way clutch 95, the holding member 93 is connected to the driving shaft 80b by a one-way clutch 93b, and the driving shaft 80b, the holding member 93, a sun gear 90, and an output gear 81 whose internal gear 81a is engaged with a satellite gear 92 engaged with the sun gear 90 are integrally rotated at a constant speed. When the driving shaft 80b is rotated backward, the holding member 93 is connected to the driving-side plate 78 by the one-way clutch 95, the connection of the holding member 93 to the driving shaft 80b is released by the one-way clutch 93b, the holding member 93 is fixed, the driving shaft 80b and the sun gear 90 are integrally rotated at the constant speed, and the output gear 81 whose internal gear 81a is engaged with the satellite gear 92 engaged with the sun gear 90 is rotated at a reduced speed in a direction opposite to the rotational direction of the driving shaft 80b”; See fig. 6 as well), wherein:
at least two stages of the planetary gear mechanisms are configured such that an internal gear in each stage (90 and 81), selectively functions as a fixed element (see quoted passage above), and the speed-reducing-ratio change mechanism includes:
a one-way clutch (95) that is in a torque transmission path (left to right along the shaft 80b in fig 6), and that is configured to transmit rotation only when the motor shaft rotates in specific one of the two directions (see quoted passage above), and a lock mechanism (93) that is operably coupled to the one-way clutch (fig 6, and see quoted passage above) and to the internal gears of the at least two stages of the planetary gear mechanisms (fig 6 and see quoted passage above), and that is configured to non-rotatably lock the internal gears of the at least two stages when the one-way clutch does not transmit rotation, and to rotate the internal gears of the at least two stages when the one-way clutch transmits rotation (see quoted passage above),
and the at least two stages of the planetary gear mechanisms include: a direct drive planetary gear mechanism (90-92) (See Abstract: “When a driving shaft 80b is rotated forward, the connection of a holding member 93 to a driving-side plate 78 is released by a one-way clutch 95, the holding member 93 is connected to the driving shaft 80b by a one-way clutch 93b, and the driving shaft 80b, the holding member 93, a sun gear 90, and an output gear 81 whose internal gear 81a is engaged with a satellite
gear 92 engaged with the sun gear 90 are integrally rotated at a constant speed”);
and a speed-reducing planetary gear mechanism (81-84) configured to function as a speed-reducing mechanism (41 and 44)(see abstract “the holding member 93 is connected to the driving-side plate 78 by the one-way clutch 95, the connection of the holding member 93 to the driving shaft 80b is released by the one-way clutch 93b, the holding member 93 is fixed, the driving shaft 80b and the sun gear 90 are integrally rotated at the constant speed, and the output gear 81 whose internal gear 81a is engaged with the satellite gear 92 engaged with the sun gear 90 is rotated at a reduced speed in a direction opposite to the rotational direction of the driving shaft 80b”).
Hiroshi lacks: the two stages including a speed increasing planetary gear mechanism configured to function as a speed increasing mechanism (while the direct drive mode in Hiroshi increases the speed output relative to the speed of the drive at the speed reducing mode, this direct drive mode does not increase the speed relative to the input speed, and thus is not a speed increasing mechanism as disclosed in the present disclosure) (Claim 1) ), and wherein an entirety of the at least two stages of planetary gear mechanisms that are enabled are configured to function as a speed-increasing mechanism, such that an output rotational speed of the speed-reducing planetary gear mechanism is higher than an input rotational speed of the speed-increasing planetary gear mechanism (Claim 4) and wherein: the planetary gear mechanisms are arranged in at least three stages, and the planetary gear mechanism in each stage other than the at least two stages is configured to function as a speed-reducing mechanism (Claim 5).
Mixer discloses a two speed drive apparatus, in the same field of endeavor as the variable speed drive assembly of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes two stages of planetary gears (56 and 84, fig. 1) where one stage includes a speed increasing planetary gear mechanism (gearing 84, col. 4, 35-50) configured to function as a speed increasing mechanism engaged when a motor is driven in a first direction (col. 4, 35-50) and where the drive assembly also includes a speed reducing planetary gear assembly 56, which is engaged when the motor is driven in an opposite direction (col. 4, 50-65, and col 3, 25-50) (Claim 1), and wherein an entirety of the at least two stages of planetary gear mechanisms that are enabled are configured to function as a speed-increasing mechanism, such that an output rotational speed of the speed-reducing planetary gear mechanism is higher than an input rotational speed of the speed-increasing planetary gear mechanism (col 4. 35-60, since the output shaft is disclosed to be driven at a single speed in either a first or second reverse direction to engage either a high speed low torque gearing assembly or a low speed high torque gearing assembly, that change the output of the motor shaft when translated to the tool of the device) (Claim 4) and wherein: the planetary gear mechanisms are arranged in at least three stages (56, 58, and 84), and the planetary gear mechanism in each stage (58) other than the at least two stages (56 and 84) is configured to function as a speed-reducing mechanism (col. 3, lines 60-67, col. 4, line 1-15)(Claim 5), in order to provide an improved and more efficient driving tool which can run at high speed during low torque operation and then run at a low speed and high torque output as desired by a user (col. 1, 20-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hiroshi by replacing the 1 to 1 drive portion of the Hiroshi assembly with a speed increasing and decreasing planetary gear assembly as shown in Mixer (Claim 1), which includes and wherein an entirety of the at least two stages of planetary gear mechanisms that are enabled are configured to function as a speed-increasing mechanism, such that an output rotational speed of the speed-reducing planetary gear mechanism is higher than an input rotational speed of the speed-increasing planetary gear mechanism (Claim 4) and wherein: the planetary gear mechanisms are arranged in at least three stages, and the planetary gear mechanism in each stage other than the at least two stages is configured to function as a speed-reducing mechanism (Claim 5) as shown in Mixer, in order to provide an improved and more efficient driving tool which can run at high speed during low torque operation and then run at a low speed and high torque output as desired by a user as taught by Mixer.
Regarding Claim 2, in Hiroshi, the speed-increasing planetary gear mechanism is in a former stage of the speed-reducing planetary gear mechanism (relative to the speed decreasing mechanism).
Regarding Claim 3, in Hiroshi a sun gear 90 of the speed-increasing planetary gear mechanism that functions as an output element of the speed reducer (abstract, and fig 6) and a sun gear 81a of the speed-reducing planetary gear mechanism that functions as an input element (fig 6 and abstract) form a single member in the speed reducer (as they are both operatively connected to drive gear 81c).
Regarding Claim 7, in Hiroshi, the one-way clutch includes a clutch member (95) and second bearings (94 and 80) disposed on opposite sides of the clutch member in an axial direction of the one-way clutch (fig 6).
Claims 1, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
USPGPUB 20180325035, Chung, in view of Mixer and Hiroshi and in view of the teachings of USPN 4545537, Kimura.
Regarding Claim 1, Chung discloses A power tool (abstract; figs. 7-11), comprising: a motor 130 having a motor shaft 173; a speed reducer (164, 168) that is operably coupled to the motor shaft and that includes planetary gear mechanisms (160 and 172) arranged in multiple stages (fig 10);
and the at least two stages of the planetary gear mechanisms include: a speed-increasing planetary gear mechanism 160 configured to function as a speed-increasing mechanism (0056); and a speed-reducing planetary gear mechanism 172 configured to function as a speed-reducing mechanism (par 0056).
Regarding Claim 9, in Chung, the power tool is a cutting tool that includes a body (121/122) to which a first blade and a second blade (cutter bars) are removably attachable (par 0051).
Chung lacks the motor shaft that is rotatable in two directions opposite to each other, and a speed-reducing-ratio change mechanism that is configured to change a speed reducing ratio of the speed reducer in response to a change of a rotating direction of the motor shaft, wherein: at least two stages of the planetary gear mechanisms are configured such that an internal gear in each stage selectively functions as a fixed element, and the speed-reducing-ratio change mechanism includes: a one-way clutch that is in a torque transmission path, and that is configured to transmit rotation only when the motor shaft rotates in specific one of the two directions, and a lock mechanism that is operably coupled to the one-way clutch and to the internal gears of the at least two stages of the planetary gear mechanisms, and that is configured to non-rotatably lock the internal gears of the at least two stages when the one-way clutch does not transmit rotation, and to rotate the internal gears of the at least two stages when the one-way clutch transmits rotation, and the at least two stages of the planetary gear mechanisms include: a speed-increasing planetary gear mechanism configured to function as a speed-increasing mechanism; and a speed-reducing planetary gear mechanism configured to function as a speed-reducing mechanism (claim 1), and that is configured to linearly reciprocate the first blade and the second blade relative to each other, and thereby cut an object in a forward stroke in which the first blade moves forward relative to the second blade and a backward stroke in which the first blade moves backward relative to the second blade (Claim 9).
Hiroshi discloses a power tool drive unit for a two directional power tool, in the same field of endeavor as the two directional cutter drive unit tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes: A motor 80, having a motor shaft (80b) that is rotatable in two directions opposite to each other (“ a motor 80 serving as a drive source that can be rotated forward and backward by being controlled by the control unit 5”), a speed-reducing-ratio change mechanism (93-95) that is configured to change a speed reducing ratio of the speed reducer in response to a change of a rotating direction of the motor shaft (See abstract, where it is disclosed that, “When a driving shaft 80b is rotated forward, the connection of a holding member 93 to a driving-side plate 78 is released by a one-way clutch 95, the holding member 93 is connected to the driving shaft 80b by a one-way clutch 93b, and the driving shaft 80b, the holding member 93, a sun gear 90, and an output gear 81 whose internal gear 81a is engaged with a satellite gear 92 engaged with the sun gear 90 are integrally rotated at a constant speed. When the driving shaft 80b is rotated backward, the holding member 93 is connected to the driving-side plate 78 by the one-way clutch 95, the connection of the holding member 93 to the driving shaft 80b is released by the one-way clutch 93b, the holding member 93 is fixed, the driving shaft 80b and the sun gear 90 are integrally rotated at the constant speed, and the output gear 81 whose internal gear 81a is engaged with the satellite gear 92 engaged with the sun gear 90 is rotated at a reduced speed in a direction opposite to the rotational direction of the driving shaft 80b”; See fig. 6 as well), wherein: at least two stages of the planetary gear mechanisms are configured such that an internal gear in each stage (90 and 81), selectively functions as a fixed element (see quoted passage above), and the speed-reducing-ratio change mechanism includes: a one-way clutch (95) that is in a torque transmission path (left to right along the shaft 80b in fig 6), and that is configured to transmit rotation only when the motor shaft rotates in specific one of the two directions (see quoted passage above), and a lock mechanism (93) that is operably coupled to the one-way clutch (fig 6, and see quoted passage above) and to the internal gears of the at least two stages of the planetary gear mechanisms (fig 6 and see quoted passage above), and that is configured to non-rotatably lock the internal gears of the at least two stages when the one-way clutch does not transmit rotation, and to rotate the internal gears of the at least two stages when the one-way clutch transmits rotation (see quoted passage above), and the at least two stages of the planetary gear mechanisms include: a speed-increasing planetary gear mechanism (90-92) configured to function as a one to one speed driving mechanism (see quoted passage above); and a speed-reducing planetary gear mechanism (81-84) configured to function as a speed-reducing mechanism (41 and 44)( see quoted passage above), (claim 1).
Also, Kimura discloses a two directional cutter assembly, in the same field of endeavor as the two directional cutter assembly tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes: A motor 16, having a motor shaft 25 that is rotatable in two directions opposite to each other (col 4, 50-65 and col 5, 1-20), which in turn rotates the blades thereof in corresponding directions (see previously cited passages) and a speed-reducing-ratio change mechanism (17) that is configured to change a speed reducing ratio of the speed reducer in response to a change of a rotating direction of the motor shaft (col 4, 50-65 and col 5, 1-20), and discloses that in a bi directional cutter assembly such as in Chung and Kimura that is beneficial to include the drive thereof designed to generate a larger torque during the reverse rotation than that during the normal rotation of the motor (col 4, 50-65 and col 5, 1-20), in order to allow material to be released by the blades when a material is detected to be bound between the blades when the blades move in their normal direction. (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chung by having the speed reducing drive and dual direction motor thereof include the motor shaft that is rotatable in two directions opposite to each other, and a speed-reducing-ratio change mechanism that is configured to change a speed reducing ratio of the speed reducer in response to a change of a rotating direction of the motor shaft, wherein: at least two stages of the planetary gear mechanisms are configured such that an internal gear in each stage selectively functions as a fixed element, and the speed-reducing-ratio change mechanism includes: a one-way clutch that is in a torque transmission path, and that is configured to transmit rotation only when the motor shaft rotates in specific one of the two directions, and a lock mechanism that is operably coupled to the one-way clutch and to the internal gears of the at least two stages of the planetary gear mechanisms, and that is configured to non-rotatably lock the internal gears of the at least two stages when the one-way clutch does not transmit rotation, and to rotate the internal gears of the at least two stages when the one-way clutch transmits rotation, and the at least two stages of the planetary gear mechanisms include: a one to one speed planetary gear mechanism configured to function as a one to one driving mechanism; and a speed-reducing planetary gear mechanism configured to function as a speed-reducing mechanism in order to allow material to be released by the blades when a material is detected to be bound between the blades when the blades move in their normal direction as taught to be beneficial in such an assembly via Kimura.
As modified above, Chung still lacks lacks: the two stages including a speed increasing planetary gear mechanism configured to function as a speed increasing mechanism (while the direct drive mode in Hiroshi increases the speed output relative to the speed of the drive at the speed reducing mode, this direct drive mode does not increase the speed relative to the input speed, and thus is not a speed increasing mechanism as disclosed in the present disclosure).
Mixer discloses a two speed drive apparatus, in the same field of endeavor as the variable speed drive assembly of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes two stages of planetary gears (56 and 84, fig. 1) where one stage includes a speed increasing planetary gear mechanism (gearing 84, col. 4, 35-50) configured to function as a speed increasing mechanism engaged when a motor is driven in a first direction (col. 4, 35-50) and where the drive assembly also includes a speed reducing planetary gear assembly 56, which is engaged when the motor is driven in an opposite direction (col. 4, 50-65, and col 3, 25-50), in order to provide an improved and more efficient driving tool which can run at high speed during low torque operation and then run at a low speed and high torque output as desired by a user (col. 1, 20-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Chung by replacing the 1 to 1 drive portion of the Hiroshi assembly with a speed increasing planetary gear portion as shown in Mixer, in order to provide an improved and more efficient driving tool which can run at high speed during low torque operation and then run at a low speed and high torque output as desired by a user as taught by Mixer.
Regarding Claim 9, In modifying Chung in view of Kimura to have the motor reversal include a speed reduction of the drive in view of the teachings of Chung, it would also have been obvious to modify Chung to include the blades also reverse in direction of movement when the motor is changed in such a direction in order to derive the benefits taught in Chung, and thus such an artisan would be motivated to include the device configured to linearly reciprocate the first blade and the second blade relative to each other, and thereby cut an object in a forward stroke in which the first blade moves forward relative to the second blade and a backward stroke in which the first blade moves backward relative to the second blade, when the motor is changed to a reverse direction, in order to allow material to be released by the blades when a material is detected to be bound between the blades when the blades move in their normal direction as taught to be beneficial in such an assembly via Kimura.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi, in view of 20090091199, Lee.
Regarding Claims 6 and 8, Hiroshi lacks the speed reducer is configured to operate in a high-speed and low-torque mode when the lock mechanism non-rotatably locks the internal gears of the at least two stages, and to operate in a low-speed and high-torque mode when the lock mechanism rotates the internal gears of the at least two stages (claim 6), and wherein a speed reducing ratio of the speed reducer when the motor shaft rotates in one of the two directions is less than 2.5 times the speed reducing ratio of the speed reducer when the motor shaft rotates in the other of the two directions (claim 8).
Lee discloses a variable speed drive assembly for a power tool, in the same field of endeavor as the variable speed drive assembly for a power tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes the speed reducer par. 0006 configured to operate in a high-speed and low-torque mode when device is driven at one speed, and to operate in a low-speed and high-torque mode when device rotates at a second speed (claim 6), and wherein a speed reducing ratio of the speed reducer is less than 2.5 times the speed reducing ratio of the speed reducer when the motor shaft rotates in the other of the two directions (claim 8), par 0025 and claim 1 of Lee, in order to control the power tool to include a wide range of speeds (abstract and par 0004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hiroshi by including the speed reducer is configured to operate in a high-speed and low-torque mode when the lock mechanism non-rotatably locks the internal gears of the at least two stages, and to operate in a low-speed and high-torque mode when the lock mechanism rotates the internal gears of the at least two stages (claim 6), and wherein a speed reducing ratio of the speed reducer when the motor shaft rotates in one of the two directions is less than 2.5 times the speed reducing ratio of the speed reducer when the motor shaft rotates in the other of the two directions (claim 8) in order to control the power tool to include a wide range of speeds for an end user as taught by Lee.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record are USPGPUB Hiroshi, Chung, and Mixer, which teach various aspects of a power tool with a speed reducing function, and having the features as set forth in the claims and noted Above. Each of these references also include a housing that houses the speed reducer, wherein: the internal gears of the at least two stages are configured to selectively rotate integrally around a first axis relative to the housing.
However, none of the references include the lock mechanism including :a roller that is movable between a lock position and an unlock position in a circumferential direction around the first axis; a retainer that is configured to retain the roller to be movable between the lock position and the unlock position, and to selectively rotate integrally with the one-way clutch around the first axis relative to the housing; a lock cam that is configured to rotate integrally with the internal gears of the at least two stages around the first axis and operably coupled to the retainer; and a lock sleeve that is non-rotatable around the first axis relative to the housing, and that is at least partially disposed around the roller, the retainer and the lock cam, when the one-way clutch does not transmit rotation, the roller is held between the lock sleeve and the lock cam at the lock position and non-rotatably locks the lock cam and the internal gears of the at least two stages relative to the housing, and when the one-way clutch transmits rotation, the roller is loosely disposed between the lock sleeve and the lock cam at the unlock position, and the retainer rotates integrally with the one-way clutch and causes the lock cam and the internal gears of the at least two stages to rotate.
As such Claim 10 would be allowed if written in independent form.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 12/24/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of prior art rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mixer.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 12/24/2025, with respect to the claim interpretations under 35 USC 112f have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant’s amendments have rendered interpretations under that statute moot.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 12/24/2025, with respect to the claim objections, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have rendered these objections moot. Therefore, the claim objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 12/24/2025, with respect to the 35 USC 112b rejection(s), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant’s amendments to Claim 4 have rendered these rejections moot. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPNs/USPGPUBs 20130000938 6527671 3590658 20060156572 4019404 and 4137798 each disclose one way clutch assemblies, and thus disclose elements of the present invention.
/FERNANDO AYALA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724