DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 11/04/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/04/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the line" in line 6. It is unclear if this is a new line or if it is referring to the previously introduce metallization line? For the purpose of expediting prosecution, the Office is going to interpret the claim as intending to refer back to the metallization line.
Note: all dependent claims necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (PG Pub 2020/0411402) and Zhao et al. (PG Pub 2015/0380310; hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 1, refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of 11a of Fig. 3 provided above, Huang teaches an integrated circuit (IC) device package, comprising:
a substrate (annotated “sub” in Fig. 3 above) comprising a dielectric material 11b; and
one or more metallization lines (annotated “metal-1” and “metal-2”) extending over the dielectric material, wherein the metallization lines comprise Cu (para [0025]; “copper”).
Huang does not explicitly teach the material composition of the metallization lines as comprising both Cu and N.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhao teaches, refer to Fig. 3h-provided above, Zhao teaches a “Conductive layer 178 can be one or more layers of Al, Cu, Sn, Ni, Au, Ag, Ti, W, titanium tungsten (TiW), titanium copper (TiCu), titanium tungsten copper (TiWCu), tantalum nitrogen copper (TaNCu); which are equivalently recognized conductive material compositions.
According to MPEP 2144.06 (II), "In order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art" In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958); wherein an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). (see also Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980 and 209 USPQ at 759.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to substitute the copper metallization (“metal-1” and “metal-2”) for another conductive material (i.e. TaNCu) material, as taught by Zhao, to achieve the same desired electrical properties.
Regarding claim 4, refer to the figures provided above, in the combination of Huang and Zhao, Huang teaches the metallization lines (“metal-1” and “metal-2”) comprise a surface layer (annotated “surface” in Fig. 3) of predominantly Cu and N (see claim 1) and a bulk (annotated “bulk” in Fig. 3) under the surface layer (the top surface being the bottom of metal-1), the bulk comprising predominantly Cu and having less N than the surface layer (all copper).
Regarding claim 10, refer to the figures provided above, in the combination of Huang and Zhao, Huang teaches one or more metallization vias in direct contact with the metallization lines, wherein the surface layer is substantially absent from a sidewall of the metallization vias.
Regarding claim 11, refer to the figures provided above, in the combination of Huang and Zhao, Huang teaches the bulk (“bulk”) has a thickness of at least 3 µm (para [0025]).
Prior Art
3. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
a. Bruce et al. (US Patent No. 10,727,114) teaches an interconnect structure.
b. Lin et al. (US Patent No. 10,446,489) teaches an interconnect structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 2-3, 6-9 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-16 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 2, the metallization lines comprise predominantly Cu and wherein the N has a first concentration proximal to a sidewall surface of the lines that is higher than a second concentration within an interior of the metallization line, distal from the sidewall surface. Claim 3 would be allowable, because it depends on allowable claim 2.
Claim 6 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 6, the surface layer has a thickness of 2 nm - 1 µm. Claim 7 would be allowable, because it depends on allowable claim 6.
Claim 8 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 8, t one or more metallization vias in direct contact with the metallization lines, wherein the metallization vias also comprise the surface layer of predominantly Cu and N. Claim 9 would be allowable, because it depends on allowable claim 8.
Claim 12 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 12, the one or more metallization lines comprise a first metallization line; the first metallization line comprises a surface layer of predominantly Cu and N and a bulk under the surface layer, the bulk comprising predominantly Cu and having less N than the surface layer; the substrate further comprises a second metallization line under the dielectric material; and the surface layer is absent from the second metallization line. Claims 13-14 would be allowable, because they depend on allowable claim 12.
Claim 15 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 15, a first integrated circuit (IC) die; a second IC die; and an integrated circuit (IC) device package, comprising: a metallization line interconnecting the first IC die to the second IC die, wherein the metallization line comprises predominantly Cu, and a first amount of N proximal to a sidewall surface of the line that is greater than a second amount of N within an interior of the metallization line, distal from the sidewall surface. Claim 16 would be allowable, because it depends on allowable claim 15.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A SYLVIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817