DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20, 24-25, 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al (US Publication No. 2021/0050289) in view of Loxley et al (US Patent No. 6,355,587), Kim et al (US Publication No. 2023/0402337) and Navet et al (US Publication No. 2019/0092683).
Regarding claim 1, Kong discloses a substrate, comprising: one or more glass layers Fig 1A-2B; and a plurality of dielectric layers Fig 1A-2B, 212, wherein the dielectric layers include a first dielectric layer above the glass core and a second dielectric layer below the glass core Fig 1A-2B. Kong discloses all the limitations but silent of the glass layer having nitrogen. Whereas Loxley discloses wherein nitrogen is distributed throughout the one or more glass layers Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51. Kong and Loxley are analogous art because they are directed to glass substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kong because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glass substrate of Kong and incorporate the teachings of Loxley to improve the glass layers properties. Kong and Loxley disclose all the limitations but silent on the glass cored having no intervening adhesive layer. Whereas Kim discloses a glass core comprising one or more glass layers, wherein nitrogen is distributed throughout the one or more glass layers, and wherein the glass core comprises no intervening adhesive layers between the respective glass layers ¶0088-0091, 0100, 0112-0116. Kong and Kim are analogous art because they are directed to glass laminate structure and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kong because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glass substrate of Kong and incorporate the teachings of Kim to improve the glass layers properties. Kong, Loxley and Kim disclose all the limitations but silent on the type of dielectric layer. Whereas Navet discloses a dielectric layer made of organic dielectric material ¶0049. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material composition of the dielectric layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (1960).
Regarding claim 2, Kong and Loxley discloses all the limitations but silent on the glass layers arrangement. Whereas Navet in view of Kong disclose wherein the one or more glass layers comprise: a first glass layer, wherein the first glass layer comprises nitrogen; and a plurality of second glass layers, wherein the plurality of second glass layers comprise nitrogen, wherein at least one of the second glass layers is above the first glass layer and at least one of the second glass layers is below the first glass layer ¶0040-0046. Kong and Navet are analogous art because they are directed to glass substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kong because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glass substrate of Kong and incorporate the teachings of Navet to device performance.
Regarding claim 3, Loxley in view of Kong discloses wherein the one or more of the glass layers collectively comprises a top glass region, a middle glass region and a bottom glass region, wherein the top glass region, the middle glass region and the bottom glass region comprise nitrogen, ¶0040-0046 Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51.
Regarding claim 4, Loxley in view of Kong discloses wherein the one or more glass layers comprise a nitride glass layer, wherein the nitride glass layer comprises nitrogen atoms within glass Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51.
Regarding claim 5, Loxley in view of Kong discloses wherein the nitrogen atoms are distributed throughout the one or more nitride glass layers Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51.
Regarding claim 6, Kong discloses a plurality of conductive layers, wherein at least one of the conductive layers is above the plurality of dielectric layers and at least one of the conductive layers is below the plurality of dielectric layers Fig 1A-1B.
Regarding claim 7, Kong discloses wherein the plurality of conductive layers comprise titanium or copper ¶0033.
Regarding claim 8, Kong discloses one or more through-hole vias through the substrate Fig 1A-2B.
Regarding claim 9, Kong discloses an integrated circuit package, comprising: an integrated circuit die Fig 6; and a package substrate electrically coupled to the integrated circuit die Fig 6, the package substrate comprising: one or more glass layers Fig 6, 600 ¶0059-0060; a plurality of dielectric layers Fig 1A-2B, 212, wherein at least one of the dielectric layers is above the one or more glass layers and at least one of the dielectric layers is below the one or more glass layers Fig 1A-2B; and one or more conductive traces through the package substrate Fig 1A-2B, Fig 6 ¶0062. Kong discloses all the limitations but silent of the glass layer having nitrogen. Whereas Loxley discloses wherein nitrogen is distributed throughout the one or more glass layers Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51. Kong and Loxley are analogous art because they are directed to glass substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kong because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glass substrate of Kong and incorporate the teachings of Loxley to improve the glass layers properties. Kong and Loxley disclose all the limitations but silent on the glass cored having no intervening adhesive layer. Whereas Kim discloses a glass core comprising one or more glass layers, wherein nitrogen is distributed throughout the one or more glass layers, and wherein the glass core comprises no intervening adhesive layers between the respective glass layers ¶0088-0091, 0100, 0112-0116. Kong and Kim are analogous art because they are directed to glass laminate structure and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kong because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glass substrate of Kong and incorporate the teachings of Kim to improve the glass layers properties. Kong, Loxley and Kim disclose all the limitations but silent on the type of dielectric layer. Whereas Navet discloses a dielectric layer made of organic dielectric material ¶0049. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material composition of the dielectric layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (1960).
Regarding claim 10, Kong discloses one or more conductive contacts on a surface of the package substrate Fig 6 ¶0089-0092.
Regarding claim 11, Kong discloses, wherein the one or more conductive traces comprise one or more through-hole vias through the package substrate Fig 1A-2B, Fig 6.
Regarding claim 12, Kong and Loxley discloses all the limitations but silent on the glass layers arrangement. Whereas Navet in view of Kong discloses wherein the one or more glass layers comprise: a first glass layer, wherein the first glass layer comprises nitrogen; and a plurality of second glass layers, wherein the plurality of second glass layers comprise nitrogen, wherein at least one of the second glass layers is above the first glass layer and at least one of the second glass layers is below the first glass layer ¶0040-0046. Kong and Navet are analogous art because they are directed to glass substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kong because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glass substrate of Kong and incorporate the teachings of Navet to device performance.
Regarding claim 13, Loxley in view of Kong discloses wherein the one or more of the glass layers collectively comprises a top glass region, a middle glass region and a bottom glass region, wherein the top glass region, the middle glass region and the bottom glass region comprise nitrogen, ¶0040-0046 Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51.
Regarding claim 14, Loxley in view of Kong discloses wherein the one or more glass layers comprise one or more nitride glass layers, wherein the one or more nitride glass layer comprises nitrogen atoms within glass¶0040-0046.
Regarding claim 15, Kong discloses a plurality of conductive layers, wherein at least one of the conductive layers is above the plurality of dielectric layers and at least one of the conductive layers is below the plurality of dielectric layers Fig 1A-1B.
Regarding claim 16, Kong discloses an electronic device, comprising: a board; and an integrated circuit package coupled to the board Fig 7, wherein the integrated circuit package comprises: an integrated circuit die Fig 6; and a package substrate electrically coupled to the integrated circuit die Fig 6, the package substrate comprising: one or more glass layers Fig 6, 600 ¶0059-0060, a plurality of dielectric layers, wherein at least one of the dielectric layers is above the one or more glass layers and at least one of the dielectric layers is below the one or more glass layers Fig 6 ¶0059-0060; and one or more conductive traces through the package substrate ¶0062. Kong discloses all the limitations but silent of the glass layer having nitrogen. Whereas Loxley discloses wherein nitrogen is distributed throughout the one or more glass layers Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51. Kong and Loxley are analogous art because they are directed to glass substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kong because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glass substrate of Kong and incorporate the teachings of Loxley to improve the glass layers properties. Kong and Loxley disclose all the limitations but silent on the glass cored having no intervening adhesive layer. Whereas Kim discloses a glass core comprising one or more glass layers, wherein nitrogen is distributed throughout the one or more glass layers, and wherein the glass core comprises no intervening adhesive layers between the respective glass layers ¶0088-0091, 0100, 0112-0116. Kong and Kim are analogous art because they are directed to glass laminate structure and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kong because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glass substrate of Kong and incorporate the teachings of Kim to improve the glass layers properties. Kong, Loxley and Kim disclose all the limitations but silent on the type of dielectric layer. Whereas Navet discloses a dielectric layer made of organic dielectric material ¶0049. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material composition of the dielectric layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (1960).
Regarding claim 17, Loxley in view of Kong discloses wherein the one or more glass layers comprise a nitride glass layer, wherein the nitride glass layer comprises nitrogen atoms within glass Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51.
Regarding claim 18, Kong discloses the integrated circuit die comprises processing circuitry, communication circuitry, or memory circuitry ¶0063-0068.
Regarding claim 19, Kong discloses wherein the electronic device is a cell phone, a wearable device, a computer, a server, a camera, a video playback device, a video game console, a display device, a vehicle control unit, or an appliance¶0063-0068.
Regarding claim 20, Kong discloses a method of forming a substrate, comprising: forming a glass core Fig 1A-2B; forming a plurality of dielectric layers above and below the glass core Fig 1A-2B; and forming a plurality of conductive seed layers above and below the plurality of dielectric layers Fig 1A-2B. Kong discloses all the limitations but silent of the glass core having nitrogen. Kong discloses all the limitations but silent of the glass layer having nitrogen. Whereas Loxley discloses wherein nitrogen is distributed throughout the one or more glass layers Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51. Kong and Loxley are analogous art because they are directed to glass substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kong because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glass substrate of Kong and incorporate the teachings of Loxley to improve the glass layers properties. Kong and Loxley disclose all the limitations but silent on the glass cored having no intervening adhesive layer. Whereas Kim discloses a glass core comprising one or more glass layers, wherein nitrogen is distributed throughout the one or more glass layers, and wherein the glass core comprises no intervening adhesive layers between the respective glass layers ¶0088-0091, 0100, 0112-0116. Kong and Kim are analogous art because they are directed to glass laminate structure and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kong because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glass substrate of Kong and incorporate the teachings of Kim to improve the glass layers properties. Kong, Loxley and Kim disclose all the limitations but silent on the type of dielectric layer. Whereas Navet discloses a dielectric layer made of organic dielectric material ¶0049. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material composition of the dielectric layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (1960).
Regarding claim 24, Loxley discloses wherein forming the nitride glass core comprises: joining a glass material with a nitrogen material Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51.
Regarding claim 25, Kong in view of Loxley discloses further comprising: forming one or more through-hole vias through the nitride glass core Fig 1A-2B.
Regarding claim 27, Kim discloses wherein the first and second dielectric layers are on respective surfaces of the glass core, wherein no intervening adhesive layers are disposed between the glass core and each of the first and second dielectric layers¶0088-0091, 0100, 0112-0116.
Regarding claim 28, Kong discloses wherein the first and second dielectric layers are in direct contact with respective surfaces of the glass core Fig 1A-2B.
Regarding claim 29, Kong and Kim disclose wherein the one or more glass layers consist of a single glass layer Kim-¶0088-0091, 0100, 0112-0116 and Kong Fig 1A-2B.
Regarding claim 30, Loxley in view of Kong discloses wherein the nitrogen is present in an amount effective to promote adhesion between the glass core and each of the first and second dielectric layers Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20, 24-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE A ENAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811