CTNF 17/856,969 CTNF 86192 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 3/16/2026 has been entered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3-11, 13-20, 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al (US Publication No. 2021/0050289) in view of Loxley et al (US Patent No. 6,355,587) . Regarding claim 1, Kong discloses a substrate, comprising: one or more glass layers Fig 1A-2B ; and a plurality of dielectric layers Fig 1A-2B, 212 , wherein at least one of the dielectric layers is above the one or more glass layers and at least one of the dielectric layers is below the one or more glass layers Fig 1A-2B . Kong discloses all the limitations but silent of the glass layer having nitrogen. Whereas Loxley discloses wherein nitrogen is distributed throughout the one or more glass layers Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51. Kong and Loxley are analogous art because they are directed to glass substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kong because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glass substrate of Kong and incorporate the teachings of Loxley to improve the glass layers properties. Regarding claim 3, Loxley in view of Kong discloses wherein the one or more of the glass layers collectively comprises a top glass region, a middle glass region and a bottom glass region, wherein the top glass region, the middle glass region and the bottom glass region comprise nitrogen, ¶0040-0046 Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51. Regarding claim 4, Loxley in view of Kong discloses wherein the one or more glass layers comprise a nitride glass layer, wherein the nitride glass layer comprises nitrogen atoms within glass Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51. Regarding claim 5, Loxley in view of Kong discloses wherein the nitrogen atoms are distributed throughout the one or more nitride glass layers Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51. Regarding claim 6, Kong discloses a plurality of conductive layers, wherein at least one of the conductive layers is above the plurality of dielectric layers and at least one of the conductive layers is below the plurality of dielectric layers Fig 1A-1B. Regarding claim 7, Kong discloses wherein the plurality of conductive layers comprise titanium or copper ¶0033. Regarding claim 8, Kong discloses one or more through-hole vias through the substrate Fig 1A-2B . Regarding claim 9, Kong discloses an integrated circuit package, comprising: an integrated circuit die Fig 6 ; and a package substrate electrically coupled to the integrated circuit die Fig 6 , the package substrate comprising: one or more glass layers Fig 6, 600 ¶0059-0060; a plurality of dielectric layers Fig 1A-2B, 212 , wherein at least one of the dielectric layers is above the one or more glass layers and at least one of the dielectric layers is below the one or more glass layers Fig 1A-2B ; and one or more conductive traces through the package substrate Fig 1A-2B, Fig 6 ¶0062. Kong discloses all the limitations but silent of the glass layer having nitrogen. Whereas Loxley discloses wherein nitrogen is distributed throughout the one or more glass layers Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51. Kong and Loxley are analogous art because they are directed to glass substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kong because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glass substrate of Kong and incorporate the teachings of Loxley to improve the glass layers properties. Regarding claim 10, Kong discloses one or more conductive contacts on a surface of the package substrate Fig 6 ¶0089-0092. Regarding claim 11, Kong discloses, wherein the one or more conductive traces comprise one or more through-hole vias through the package substrate Fig 1A-2B, Fig 6 . Regarding claim 13, Loxley in view of Kong discloses wherein the one or more of the glass layers collectively comprises a top glass region, a middle glass region and a bottom glass region, wherein the top glass region, the middle glass region and the bottom glass region comprise nitrogen, ¶0040-0046 Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51. Regarding claim 14, Loxley in view of Kong discloses wherein the one or more glass layers comprise one or more nitride glass layers, wherein the one or more nitride glass layer comprises nitrogen atoms within glass¶0040-0046. Regarding claim 15, Kong discloses a plurality of conductive layers, wherein at least one of the conductive layers is above the plurality of dielectric layers and at least one of the conductive layers is below the plurality of dielectric layers Fig 1A-1B. Regarding claim 16, Kong discloses an electronic device, comprising: a board; and an integrated circuit package coupled to the board Fig 7 , wherein the integrated circuit package comprises: an integrated circuit die Fig 6 ; and a package substrate electrically coupled to the integrated circuit die Fig 6 , the package substrate comprising: one or more glass layers Fig 6, 600 ¶0059-0060, a plurality of dielectric layers, wherein at least one of the dielectric layers is above the one or more glass layers and at least one of the dielectric layers is below the one or more glass layers Fig 6 ¶0059-0060; and one or more conductive traces through the package substrate ¶0062. Kong discloses all the limitations but silent of the glass layer having nitrogen. Whereas Loxley discloses wherein nitrogen is distributed throughout the one or more glass layers Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51. Kong and Loxley are analogous art because they are directed to glass substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kong because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glass substrate of Kong and incorporate the teachings of Loxley to improve the glass layers properties. Regarding claim 18, Kong discloses the integrated circuit die comprises processing circuitry, communication circuitry, or memory circuitry ¶0063-0068. Regarding claim 19, Kong discloses wherein the electronic device is a cell phone, a wearable device, a computer, a server, a camera, a video playback device, a video game console, a display device, a vehicle control unit, or an appliance¶0063-0068. Regarding claim 20, Kong discloses a method of forming a substrate, comprising: forming a glass core Fig 1A-2B ; forming a plurality of dielectric layers above and below the glass core Fig 1A-2B ; and forming a plurality of conductive seed layers above and below the plurality of dielectric layers Fig 1A-2B . Kong discloses all the limitations but silent of the glass core having nitrogen. Kong discloses all the limitations but silent of the glass layer having nitrogen. Whereas Loxley discloses wherein nitrogen is distributed throughout the one or more glass layers Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51. Kong and Loxley are analogous art because they are directed to glass substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kong because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glass substrate of Kong and incorporate the teachings of Loxley to improve the glass layers properties. Regarding claim 24, Loxley discloses wherein forming the nitride glass core comprises: joining a glass material with a nitrogen material Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51. Regarding claim 25, Kong in view of Loxley discloses further comprising: forming one or more through-hole vias through the nitride glass core Fig 1A-2B. Regarding claim 26, Loxley in view of Kong discloses wherein all of the one or more glass layers comprise nitrogen Column 5, lines 20-34; Column 12, lines 38-51 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al (US Publication No. 2021/0050289) in view of Loxley et al (US Patent No. 6,355,587) in further view of Navet et al (US Publication No. 2019/0092683) . Regarding claims 2 and 12, Kong and Loxley discloses all the limitations but silent on the glass layers arrangement. Whereas Navet in view of Kong discloses wherein the one or more glass layers comprise: a first glass layer, wherein the first glass layer comprises nitrogen; and a plurality of second glass layers, wherein the plurality of second glass layers comprise nitrogen, wherein at least one of the second glass layers is above the first glass layer and at least one of the second glass layers is below the first glass layer ¶0040-0046. Kong and Navet are analogous art because they are directed to glass substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kong because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glass substrate of Kong and incorporate the teachings of Navet to device performance. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20, 24-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTINE A ENAD whose telephone number is (571)270-7891. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7:30 am -4:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lynne Gurley can be reached at 571 272 1670. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTINE A ENAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811 Application/Control Number: 17/856,969 Page 2 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 17/856,969 Page 3 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 17/856,969 Page 4 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 17/856,969 Page 5 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 17/856,969 Page 6 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 17/856,969 Page 7 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 17/856,969 Page 8 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 17/856,969 Page 9 Art Unit: 2811