DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 6, 11, 15, 20, 24, and 25 have been amended.
Claims 1-25 have been examined.
The drawing and claim objections in the previous Office Action have been addressed and are withdrawn.
The § 112 rejections in the previous Office Action have been addressed and are withdrawn.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Appropriate correction is required. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11-20, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication No. 2020/0210199 by Ould-Ahmed-Vall (hereinafter referred to as “Ould”).
Regarding claims 1, 15, and 25, taking claim 1 as representative, Ould discloses:
an apparatus comprising: decoder circuitry to decode an instance of a single instruction, the instance of the single instruction to include at least one field for an opcode, one or more fields to reference a first source operand, and one or more fields to reference a destination operand, wherein the opcode is to indicate that execution circuitry is, in response to a decoded instance of the single instruction, to at least perform a horizontal reduction using at least one data element of a non-masked data element position of at least the first source operand and store a result of the horizontal reduction in a single data element position of the destination operand (Ould discloses, at Figure 8 and related description, a decoder, which discloses decoding an instance of a single instruction. Ould also discloses, e.g., at Figure 3 and related description, an instruction to perform an addition reduction using at least one unmasked element of a source, e.g., the values in element positions 0,3, and 7 of second source 103 and storing a result in a single data element position of the destination, e.g., element position 7 of second source updated 103’, and that the instruction includes at least one field for an opcode, one or more fields to reference a first source operand, and one or more fields to reference a destination operand, wherein the opcode is to indicate that execution circuitry is, in response to a decoded instance of the single instruction, to at least perform a horizontal reduction using at least one data element of a non-masked data element position of at least the first source operand and store a result of the horizontal reduction in a single data element position of the destination operand. Ould also discloses, e.g., at Figure 22 and related description, converting between instruction sets.); and
execution circuitry configured to execute the decoded instance of the single instruction according to the opcode (Ould discloses, at Figure 8 and related description, execution circuitry, which discloses executing the decoded instance of the single instruction according to the opcode.).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, taking claim 2 as representative, Ould discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Ould also discloses:
the horizontal reduction is one of addition, logical, or min/max (Ould discloses, e.g., at Figure 3 and related description, an instruction to perform an addition reduction.).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, taking claim 3 as representative, Ould discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Ould also discloses:
the one or more fields to reference the first source operand identify a vector register (Ould discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, the operands are in vector registers.).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, taking claim 4 as representative, Ould discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Ould also discloses:
the one or more fields to reference the first source operand identify a memory location (Ould discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, the operand fields are used to determine memory addresses.).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, taking claim 5 as representative, Ould discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Ould also discloses:
the instance of the single instruction further includes one or more fields to reference a second source operand (Ould discloses, e.g., at Figure 3 and related description, an instruction that includes two source operands.).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, taking claim 6 as representative, Ould discloses the elements of claim 5, as discussed above. Ould also discloses:
a single data element of the second source operand is used in the horizontal reduction (Ould discloses, e.g., at Figure 3 and related description, an instruction that includes two source operands, which discloses using a single element of the second source operand in the horizontal reduction operation.).
Regarding claims 11 and 24, taking claim 11 as representative, Ould discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Ould also discloses:
data elements of the first source operand are a size of 8-bit, 16-bit, 32-bit, 64-bit, 128-bit, or 256-bit (Ould discloses, e.g., at ¶ [0096], various data element sizes.).
Regarding claims 12, Ould discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Ould also discloses:
data elements of the first source operand are integers (Ould discloses, e.g., at Figure 15 and related description, operating on integer data elements.).
Regarding claims 13, Ould discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Ould also discloses:
data elements of the first source operand are floating points (Ould discloses, e.g., at Figure 15 and related description, operating on floating point data elements.).
Regarding claims 14, Ould discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Ould also discloses:
the instance of the single instruction includes a field for an immediate to determine a min/max operation to perform points (Ould discloses, e.g., at Figures 1 and 2 and related description, an immediate value that indicates min or max.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ould.
Regarding claims 7, 21, and 23, taking claim 7 as representative, Ould discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Ould does not explicitly disclose the instance of the single instruction further includes a field for a mask operand wherein a mask of the mask operand is to mask data element positions.
However, Ould discloses, e.g., at ¶ [0065] and at Figure 13A and related description, an instruction that includes a writemask field, which discloses a field for a mask operand wherein a mask of the mask operand is to mask and unmask data element positions of the operands.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instruction to include a field for a mask operand in order to selectively control which elements are used. See, e.g., Figure 6 and related description. Doing so improves performance by preventing unnecessary operations.
Regarding claims 8 and 22, taking claim 8 as representative, Ould discloses the elements of claim 7, as discussed above. Ould does not explicitly disclose the execution circuitry is to use the mask operand to determine which data element positions of the first source operand to zero or replace with an identity value.
However, Ould discloses, e.g., at Figure 13A and related description, zeroing masks, which discloses the execution circuitry is to use the mask operand to determine which data element positions of the first source operand to zero or replace with an identity value.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instruction to include zeroing masking in order to improve performance by preventing unnecessary operations.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ould in view of US Publication No. 2020/0026515 by Valentine et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Valentine”).
Regarding claim 9, Ould discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Ould does not explicitly disclose data elements of the first source operand are sign extended.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., horizontal reduction) Valentine discloses:
sign extending (Valentine discloses, at Figure 9 and related description, sign extending operands.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ould to include sign extending, as disclosed by Valentine in order to improve performance by allowing various sizes of operands.
Regarding claim 10, Ould discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Ould does not explicitly disclose data elements of the first source operand are zero extended.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., horizontal reduction) Valentine discloses:
zero extending (Valentine discloses, at Figure 9 and related description, zero extending operands.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ould to include zero extending, as disclosed by Valentine in order to improve performance by allowing various sizes of operands.
Response to Arguments
On page 6 of the response filed December 29, 2025 (“response”), the Applicant argues, “The Office Action objects to the specification because the title of the invention is allegedly not descriptive. Applicant respectfully submits that the title is descriptive and literally describes what is being claimed.”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP § 606.01 states, “Where the title is not descriptive of the invention claimed, the examiner should require the substitution of a new title that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.” The title is meant to describe the invention.
It is not clear, based on the title, what the Applicant purports to have invented. The title is, “INSTRUCTIONS AND SUPPORT FOR HORIZONTAL REDUCTIONS.” Does the Applicant purport to have invented instructions and support? Or does the Applicant purport to have invented horizontal reductions? Neither of these seems plausible. Horizontal reductions became been well-known long before the instant application was filed. In fact, the Application describes reduction operations as “common” in the first paragraph. Instructions and support are likewise common. Performing any horizontal reduction ever performed likely included “instructions and support.” Perhaps the Applicant purports to have invented a single instruction to perform a horizontal reduction, contending that all prior horizontal reductions required multiple instructions? Or, more likely, the Applicant purports to have invented performing horizontal reduction on elements within a single vector, as described at ¶ [0042] of the application as filed. In any case, the title does not describe an invention, but instead vaguely describes an entire field of invention, like “Processor.” Accordingly, a title that is clearly indicative of the invention is required.
On page 7 of the response the Applicant argues, “The Office Action cites FIG. 3 for the horizontal reduction aspect. However, no actual discussion of that the claim language is provided. Applicant fails to grasp how the conflict mask reduction instruction is a horizontal reduction as a PHOSITA would understand horizontal reductions (and as described in the present application). The cited instruction is generating a mask and updating a second source from two sources and an immediate. None of that is required by the claim, nor does that appear to be a horizontal reduction.”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner regrets the Applicant’s failure to grasp the mapping between the operations disclosed at Ould’s Figure 3 and related discussion and the claimed horizontal reduction. To remedy this, the Examiner has added clarifying language to the rejection above and will explain further here.
A horizontal reduction is interpreted as performing an operation using at least one element of a vector and storing a result in another vector. For example, two or more elements of a vector can be added together, with the sum stored in another vector. The vector from which the at least one element is read is the source, and the vector to which the result is written is the destination. This interpretation is based, e.g., on ¶ [0049] of the application.
Ould describes, at Figure 3 and related description, reading at least one element from second source 103 (which discloses claimed first source operand), performing an addition, and storing the result in second source updated 103’ (which discloses claimed destination operand). For example, Ould explicitly describes, in the description of Figure 3, reading from second source 103 the elements at element positions 0, 3, and 7, i.e., 100, 2000, and 400. Ould’s instruction adds those elements together and stores the sum, i.e., 2500, in element position 7 of second source updated 103’, making second source updated 103’ the destination of this operation. Ould describes these steps as an addition reduction. The Examiner maintains that these teachings disclose the elements of Applicant’s claims. Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAWN DOMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183