DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Species I, Subspecies III embodiment, encompassing claims 1-5, 11-14, and 16-20 in the reply filed on 24 February 2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 1, Applicant states:
For example, Min explicitly discloses that the bottommost row of light emitting elements 21/311 are connected in parallel to a single pixel circuit 4, even though that row includes light emitting elements in both the first display area 2 (corresponding to a round edge portion) and the second display area 3 (corresponding to a straight edge portion). In other words, Min teaches that a single pixel circuit drives light emitting elements spanning across both the round edge portion and the straight edge portion as a single combined group. Accordingly, the light emitting elements in the round edge portion of Min are not exclusively connected in parallel to form groups confined to that portion, but instead are mixed with light emitting elements from the straight edge portion within the same group.
Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 7 April 2026) at 12. The Examiner respectfully asserts that Applicant misinterprets the rejection under Min. Nowhere in the rejection of claim 1 does the Office Action assert that the first display area 2 of Min corresponds to a round edge portion and the second display area 3 of Min corresponds to a straight edge portion. The Office Action merely asserts that the topmost row of light emitting units are on a straight edge of the device, and thus may be considered to be on a “straight edge portion” of the device, which they are clearly shown to be in FIG. 1 of Min, an annotated version of which is reproduced for Applicant’s convenience, below. See Non-Final Rejection (mailed 8 January 2026) at 7-8. Other light emitting elements in the second display area 3 of Min, such as the bottommost row of light emitting units are not on the straight edge, and thus would not be on “a straight edge portion,” consistent with such an interpretation.
Annotated Min FIG. 1
Moreover, in response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that “the light emitting elements in the round edge portion of Min are not exclusively connected in parallel to form groups confined to that portion”) are not recited in claim 1. Currently amended independent claim 1 merely recites “a number of the second light emitting elements in the round edge portion, which are exclusively connected in parallel to form each light emitting element group in the round edge portion, is different from a number of the second light emitting elements in the straight edge portion, which are exclusively connected in parallel to form each light emitting element group in the straight edge portion,” and omits any mention of light emitting elements being “confined to those groups.” Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further states:
Additionally, referring to paragraphs [0046]-[0052] and FIG. 1 of Min, the connecting lines between sub-pixels (e.g., 21 and 311) merely connect sub-pixels of the same color, and do not extend to or include pixels positioned therebetween. Consequently, in Min, each pixel circuit (4) is connected to a fixed number of two pixels, which differs from the present invention in which each pixel circuit is connected to two or more light emitting elements forming a group.
Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 7 April 2026) at 13. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. [0059] of Applicant’s disclosure states: “The first pixel circuit PC1 may substantially represent a region (or a circuit) in which multiple first pixel circuits PC1 are disposed (or arranged) in the first direction DR1 and the second direction DR2. The second pixel circuit PC2 may substantially represent a region (or a circuit) in which multiple second pixel circuits PC2 are disposed (or arranged) in the first direction DR1 and the second direction DR2.”
Moreover, referring to Annotated Min FIG. 1, above, Min clearly depicts connecting lines between three light emitting elements.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Claim Objections
The previous objection to claim 20 is withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of claim 20.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 contains a typo and should read “wherein the first display area is a main display area and is substantially flat” (or similar).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 11, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0062720 (filed June 29, 2021) (hereinafter “Ma”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0217821 (filed Oct. 31, 2019) (hereinafter “Han”), and further in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. CN107819023B (published Mar. 20, 2018) (hereinafter “Min”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ma discloses: A display device (FIG. 1, depicting a display panel, [0008]) comprising:
a first display area (FIG. 1, second display area A2, [0058]) comprising first pixel circuits (FIG. 28, second pixel circuits PC2, [0058]), and first light emitting elements respectively connected to the first pixel circuits (FIG. 28, second light emitting elements L2, connected to the second pixel circuits PC2, [0065]);
a second display area disposed outside an edge of the first display area, the edge of the first display area extending between adjacent corners of the first display area (FIG. 1, first display area A1, which is not included as a part of the second display area A2 such that it is outside of the second display area A2 [0058]; see also FIG. 1, depicting wherein the edge of the first display area A1 extends between adjacent corners of the first display area A1), the second display area comprising second pixel circuits (FIG. 28, first pixel circuits PC1, [0058]) and second light emitting elements (FIG. 28, first light-emitting elements L1, [0058]); and
a driving circuit for generating scan signals, the driving circuit comprising at least one transistor (FIG. 28, scan lines SCAN configured to transmit scan signals to the first and second pixel circuits PC1/PC2, [0061]; see also, e.g., FIG. 7, depicting wherein the driving circuit includes transistors such as M7, M2, M5, etc., [0060]) and connected to the first pixel circuits and the second pixel circuits (FIG. 28, [0104]: “The first pixel circuit PC1 and the second pixel circuit PC2 located in the same row may be electrically connected to the same metal wire (such as the scan line) . . . .”) and overlapping at least one of the second light emitting elements in a plan view (FIG. 28, depicting wherein the scan lines SCAN overlap at least one of first light-emitting elements L1 in a plan view), wherein
each of the second pixel circuits (FIG. 28, first pixel circuits PC1) is connected to two or more of the second light emitting elements (FIGS. 5/28, depicting wherein a first pixel circuit PC1 is connected to at least two first light-emitting elements L1), the two or more of the second light emitting elements connected to each of the second pixel circuits being connected in parallel (FIGS. 5/28, depicting wherein the light emitting elements L1 are connected in parallel by co-drive connection line W1, and are connected to the same first pixel circuit PC1; compare FIG. 5, [0066]: “[T]he first light-emitting elements L1 electrically connected to the same first pixel circuit PC1 are connected through a co-drive connection line W1 to achieve the electrical connection to the same first pixel circuit PC1.” with Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 17 June 2025) at 14 (“Again, Applicant’s FIG. 3 showing different ones of light emitting elements ED2 in a same group being electrically conducted [sic] in parallel.”)),
the second display area comprises a plurality of light emitting element groups (FIG. 28, depicting wherein the first display area A1 comprises a plurality of groups of light emitting elements L1), each of the plurality of light emitting element groups comprises two or more of the second light emitting elements (FIG. 28, depicting wherein each of the groups of light emitting elements comprises two or more of the light emitting elements L1), and
each of the second light emitting elements (FIG. 28, first light-emitting elements L1) in each light emitting element group comprises an emission layer (FIG. 5, light emitting material layer 122 disposed between anode layer 121 and cathode layer 123, [0065]) between a pixel electrode (FIG. 5, anode layer 121, [0065]) and a common electrode (FIG. 5, cathode layer 123, [0065]).
Ma does not specifically disclose wherein the second display area comprises a straight edge portion extending along the edge of the first display area, and a round edge portion adjacent to a corner of the first display area.
In the same field of endeavor, Han discloses a display device (FIG. 6A, [0025]: “FIG. 6A to FIG. 6H are schematic structural diagrams of a first display area and a second display area . . . .”) including a first display area (FIG. 6A, display area aa, [0031]) and a second display area (FIG. 6A, display area bb, [0031]), wherein the second display area (FIG. 6A, display area bb, [0031]) includes a straight edge portion extending along the edge of the first display area and a round edge portion adjacent to a corner of the first display area (FIG. 6A, depicting wherein the display area bb has a round edge portion (i.e., the portion of the area bb forming the corner edge of the display area AA, which is adjacent to a corner of the display area aa) and a straight portion (i.e., the portion of the area bb extending along an edge of the display area aa and the display area AA forming the straight edge of the display area AA); [0038]: “Exemplarily, a shape of the second display area bb may be arranged to be a regular shape, for example, as shown in FIGS. 6A to 6C, and the second display area bb may be arranged to be a rectangle. The corner of the rectangle may be a right angle or an arc angle.”). Han further discloses wherein the second display area bb may be arranged in an upper left corner of the first display area aa, such that, as stated in [0039]: “In this way, sensors such as sensors for face recognition (such as infrared sensors) may also be arranged in an area where the second display area bb is located.” Aside from Han, Ma additionally discloses in [0059]: “Exemplarily, the first display area A1 may be located inside the second display area A2 (as shown in FIG. 1 ), or may be located at a corner of the second display area A2, such as an upper left corner or an upper right corner.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Ma with the display area configuration of Han by substituting the display area configuration of Ma with the display area configuration of Han wherein the second display area bb is arranged in a corner of the display panel, as such simple substitution of one known configuration for the other could have been accomplished by one of ordinary skill in the art, and the results of such substitution would have been predictable, providing the display area of Ma with an alternate (and contemplated) display area configuration. See Ma [0059]; Han [0039].
Ma in view of Han does not specifically disclose wherein a number of the second light emitting elements in the round edge portion, which are exclusively connected in parallel to form each light emitting element group in the round edge portion, is different from a number of the second light emitting elements in the straight edge portion, which are exclusively connected in parallel to form each light emitting element group in the straight edge portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Min discloses a display device including a corner display region (FIG. 1, depicting the rounded edge of a display area, Translation of CN107819023B at 3), wherein a number of the second light emitting elements in the round edge portion, which are exclusively connected in parallel to form each light emitting element group in the round edge portion (FIG. 1, depicting, e.g., the bottommost row of light emitting elements 21/311 that is on a “round edge portion,” with 9 light emitting elements 21/311 connected and various light emitting elements 21/311 connected in parallel) is greater than a number of the second light emitting elements in the straight edge portion, which are exclusively connected in parallel to form each light emitting element group in the straight edge portion (FIG. 1, depicting, e.g., the topmost row of light emitting elements 21/311 that is on a “straight edge portion,” with 6 light emitting elements 21/311 connected and various light emitting elements 21/311 connected in parallel). Regarding the configuration of the light emitting element groups, Min states: “Therefore, the pixel circuit 4 is not provided in the first display area 2, and the first sub-pixel 21 can also be provided to reduce the stepped structure of the pixel unit 31 at the irregular edge 1 of the organic light emitting display panel, and weaken the jaggedness of the irregular edge 1. sense. In addition, one pixel circuit 4 drives the first sub-pixel 21 and the second sub-pixel 311 at the same time. The above-mentioned first sub-pixel 21 and the second sub-pixel 311 shunt the corresponding pixel circuit 4, resulting in the display panel near the irregular edge. If the light-emitting brightness is low, the jagged feeling of the irregular edge 1 of the display panel can be further reduced. Therefore, this solution can improve the display effect of the organic light-emitting display panel.” Translation of CN107819023B at 4.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Ma by adding the round and straight edge light emitting unit group configuration of Min, such that the number of second light emitting elements in the round edge portion of the display device of Ma is different from the number of second light emitting elements in the straight edge portion of the display device of Ma in order to reduce the jaggy feeling phenomenon of the round (irregular) edge. See Translation of CN107819023B at 4.
Regarding claim 2, Ma in view of Han and Min further discloses wherein the round edge portion comprises an off area that does not emit light (FIG. 28, depicting areas under and between the light emitting elements L1 that do not emit light, and are thus off areas), and wherein the second light emitting elements (FIG. 28, first light-emitting elements L1) comprise: a first sub-light emitting element (FIG. 28, light emitting elements L11, which may emit red light, [0110]) that emits a first color; a second sub-light emitting element (FIG. 28, light emitting elements L13, which may emit blue light, [0110]) that emits a second color; and a third sub-light emitting element (FIG. 28, light emitting elements L12, which may emit green light, [0110]) and a fourth sub-light emitting element (FIG. 28, light emitting elements L12, which may emit green light) that emit a third color.
Regarding claim 4 Ma in view of Han and Min further discloses wherein each light emitting element group (FIG. 28, depicting wherein the first display area A1 comprises a plurality of groups of light emitting elements L1) comprises: first sub-light emitting elements (FIG. 28, light emitting elements L11, which may emit red light, [0110]), wherein a pixel electrode of each of the first sub-light emitting elements in each light emitting element group are connected (FIGS. 5/28, depicting wherein the anode layers 121 are connected by co-drive connection line W1), the common electrode (FIGS. 5/28, cathode layer 123) of each of the first sub-light emitting elements in each light emitting element group are connected (FIGS. 5/28, depicting wherein the cathode layer 123 is formed commonly on each of the light-emitting elements L1), and the first sub-light emitting elements are spaced apart in a plan view (FIG. 28, depicting wherein the light emitting elements L11 are spaced apart from each other in a plan view); second sub-light emitting elements (FIG. 28, light emitting elements L13, which may emit blue light, [0110]); third sub-light emitting elements (FIG. 28, light emitting elements L12, which may emit green light, [0110]); and fourth sub-light emitting elements (FIG. 28, light emitting elements L12, which may emit green light, [0110]).
Regarding claim 5, Ma in view of Han and Min further discloses wherein
the first sub-light emitting elements in each light emitting element group (FIG. 28, depicting wherein the first display area A1 comprises a plurality of groups of light emitting elements L1 including light emitting elements L11) are spaced apart in a plan view and are connected by being connected in parallel (FIGS. 5/28, depicting wherein the light emitting elements L11 are spaced apart in a plan view and are connected by co-drive connection line W1),
the second sub-light emitting elements in each light emitting element group (FIG. 28, depicting wherein the first display area A1 comprises a plurality of groups of light emitting elements L1 including light emitting elements L13) are spaced apart in a plan view and are connected by being connected in parallel (FIGS. 5/28, depicting wherein the light emitting elements L13 are spaced apart in a plan view and are connected by co-drive connection line W1),
the third sub-light emitting elements in each light emitting element group (FIG. 28, depicting wherein the first display area A1 comprises a plurality of groups of light emitting elements L1 including light emitting elements L12) are spaced apart in a plan view and are connected by being connected in parallel (FIGS. 5/28, depicting wherein the light emitting elements L12 are spaced apart in a plan view and are connected by co-drive connection line W1), and
the fourth sub-light emitting elements in each light emitting element group (FIG. 28, depicting wherein the first display area A1 comprises a plurality of groups of light emitting elements L1 including light emitting elements L12) are spaced apart in a plan view and are connected by being connected in parallel (FIGS. 5/28, depicting wherein the light emitting elements L12 are spaced apart in a plan view and are connected by co-drive connection line W1).
Regarding claim 11, Ma in view of Han and Min further discloses wherein the number of the second light emitting elements configuring each light emitting element group (FIG. 28, depicting wherein the first display area A1 comprises a plurality of groups of light emitting elements L1) on the round edge portion is greater than the number of the second light emitting elements configuring each light emitting element group (FIG. 28, depicting wherein the first display area A1 comprises a plurality of groups of light emitting elements L1) on the straight edge portion (Ma FIG. 28; Han FIG. 6A; Min FIG. 1; depicting wherein there are more light emitting elements 21/311 on the round edge portion (i.e., bottommost portion) than the straight edge portion (i.e., topmost portion) of Min, such that the light emitting element number configuration of Min, added to the display device of Ma and Han, would result in a configuration wherein there are more light emitting elements L1 in the group of light emitting elements L1 on the round edge portion of the display device of Ma and Han than in the group of light emitting elements L1 on the straight edge portion of the display device of Ma, just as in Min).
Regarding claim 16, Ma in view of Han and Min further discloses wherein each light emitting element group comprises:
first sub-light emitting elements (FIG. 28, light emitting elements L11, which may emit red light, [0110]);
second sub-light emitting elements (FIG. 28, light emitting elements L13, which may emit blue light, [0110]);
third sub-light emitting elements (FIG. 28, light emitting elements L12, which may emit green light, [0110]); and
fourth sub-light emitting elements (FIG. 28, light emitting elements L12, which may emit green light, [0110]),
the first sub-light emitting elements in each light emitting element group are connected (FIGS. 5/28, depicting wherein the light emitting elements L11 are spaced apart in a plan view and are connected by co-drive connection line W1),
the second sub-light emitting elements in each light emitting element group are connected (FIGS. 5/28, depicting wherein the light emitting elements L13 are spaced apart in a plan view and are connected by co-drive connection line W1),
the third sub-light emitting elements in each light emitting element group are connected (FIGS. 5/28, depicting wherein the light emitting elements L12 are spaced apart in a plan view and are connected by co-drive connection line W1),
the fourth sub-light emitting elements in each light emitting element group are connected (FIGS. 5/28, depicting wherein the light emitting elements L12 are spaced apart in a plan view and are connected by co-drive connection line W1),
the first sub-light emitting elements in each light emitting element group have a same luminance (FIG. 28, [0077]: “The light-emitting elements of the same color electrically connected with the same first pixel circuit PC1 have the same light-emitting brightness.”),
the second sub-light emitting elements in each light emitting element group have a same luminance (FIG. 28, [0077]: “The light-emitting elements of the same color electrically connected with the same first pixel circuit PC1 have the same light-emitting brightness.”),
the third sub-light emitting elements in each light emitting element group have a same luminance (FIG. 28, [0077]: “The light-emitting elements of the same color electrically connected with the same first pixel circuit PC1 have the same light-emitting brightness.”), and
the fourth sub-light emitting elements in each light emitting element group have a same luminance (FIG. 28, [0077]: “The light-emitting elements of the same color electrically connected with the same first pixel circuit PC1 have the same light-emitting brightness.”).
Regarding claim 17, Ma in view of Han and Min further discloses wherein the number of the second light emitting elements configuring each light emitting element group (FIG. 28, depicting wherein the first display area A1 comprises a plurality of groups of light emitting elements L1) on the round edge portion is different from the number of the second light emitting elements configuring each light emitting element group further inside than each light emitting element group on the round edge portion (Ma FIG. 28; Han FIG. 6A; Min FIG. 1; depicting wherein there are more light emitting elements 21/311 on the round edge portion (i.e., bottommost portion) than the straight edge portion (i.e., topmost portion) of Min, which may be considered a light emitting element group further inside than the light emitting element group on the round portion, such that the light emitting element number configuration of Min, added to the display device of Ma and Han, would result in a configuration wherein there are more light emitting elements L1 in the group of light emitting elements L1 on the round edge portion of the display device of Ma and Han than in the group of light emitting elements L1 on the straight edge portion of the display device of Ma, which may be considered a light emitting element group further inside than the light emitting element group on the round portion, just as in Min).
Regarding claim 18, Ma in view of Han and Min further discloses wherein the number of the second light emitting elements configuring each light emitting element group (FIG. 28, depicting wherein the first display area A1 comprises a plurality of groups of light emitting elements L1) on the round edge portion is greater than the number of the second light emitting elements configuring each light emitting element group further inside than each light emitting element group on the round edge portion (Ma FIG. 28; Han FIG. 6A; Min FIG. 1; depicting wherein there are more light emitting elements 21/311 on the round edge portion (i.e., bottommost portion) than the straight edge portion (i.e., topmost portion) of Min, which may be considered a light emitting element group further inside than the light emitting element group on the round portion, such that the light emitting element number configuration of Min, added to the display device of Ma and Han, would result in a configuration wherein there are more light emitting elements L1 in the group of light emitting elements L1 on the round edge portion of the display device of Ma and Han than in the group of light emitting elements L1 on the straight edge portion of the display device of Ma, which may be considered a light emitting element group further inside than the light emitting element group on the round portion, just as in Min).
Regarding claim 19, Ma in view of Han and Min further discloses a peripheral area (FIG. 1, non-display area NA, [0059]) surrounding the first and second display areas that displays an image (FIG. 1, display area AA; [0059]: “The display area AA is configured to display pictures.”), wherein the first display area is a main display area substantially flat (FIGS. 5/28, depicting wherein the display area A2 has a surface that is substantially flat between adjacent light emitting elements L1/L2), wherein the second display area is a bending display area outside the main display area (FIGS. 5/28, depicting wherein the display area A1 has a surface that bends over the light emitting elements L1), and wherein the second display area is between the first display area and the peripheral area (See Han FIG. 6A/Ma FIG. 1, depicting wherein when the second display area bb (i.e., first display area A1 when implemented in Ma), located in the top left corner of the display panel, would be disposed between the first display are aa (i.e., second display area A2 when implemented in Ma) and the non-display area NA).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 12-14, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art known to the Examiner is listed on the PTO 892 forms of record.
Regarding claim 3: the cited prior art does not anticipate or make obvious, inter alia: “wherein the second light emitting elements on the off area do not comprise at least one of the emission layer and a pixel opening.”
Regarding claim 12: the cited prior art does not anticipate or make obvious, inter alia: “wherein the number of the second light emitting elements configuring each light emitting element group on the straight edge portion is sixteen, and the number of the second light emitting elements configuring each light emitting element group on the round edge portion is twenty.” Claims 13 and 14, which depend from claim 12, contain allowable subject matter for the same reasons as claim 12.
Regarding claim 20: the cited prior art does not anticipate or make obvious, inter alia: “wherein the first part of the driving circuit comprises a driving transistor overlapping at least one second light emitting element, the driving transistor being adjacent to a pixel transistor of the second pixel circuit at a same level.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813