DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
An amendment filed on 02/23/2026 in response to the Office Action mailed on 11/25/2025 is
being acknowledged and entered into the record. The present Non-Final rejection is made by taking into
fully consideration all the amendments.
Response to Arguments
On pages 7-8 of the remarks filed on 02/23/2026, with regards to the rejection of independent Claims 1 and 17, Applicant argues that one skilled in the art would not have had any reasonable rationale to combine Taguchi III with Taguchi II in the way asserted in the Office Action to teach the limitation “none of the plurality of leads has any portion between the first end and the second thereof connected to another of the plurality of leads directly or indirectly”. In particular, Applicant argues that Taguchi II specifically requires that neighboring leads 3 be connected via portions of die pad 1. As such, combining Taguchi III with Taguchi II would result in a configuration in which the inner lead 2 in Fig. 5A of Taguchi III is added to connect the "second ends" of leads 3 in Fig. 3 of Taguchi II, still with the portions of die pad 1 connecting neighboring leads 3. These arguments are fully considered but is not persuasive. The secondary reference of Taguchi III is only relied upon to teach the above limitation and when modifying the primary reference of Taguchi II using the teachings of Taguchi II, the inner lead 2 in Fig. 5A of Taguchi III need not be added to connect the "second ends" of leads 3 in Fig. 3 of Taguchi II. Instead, to meet the above claim limitation, the leads 3 of Taguchi III can be made such that they are not connected to each other via the die pad 1. Such a modification is a matter of design choice executable to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Contrary to the Applicant’s statement, it is not required that that neighboring leads 3 of Taguchi II be connected via portions of die pad. While it is required that the heat dissipation inner leads 3a of Taguchi II be connected to the die pad 1 (see Fig. 3, paragraph 0022), there is no such requirement for the inner leads 3. Further, the physical connection between the leads 3 via the die pad 1 does not contribute to signal processing or the function of the electronic component but rather is a mechanical or manufacturing feature. Thus, physically isolating the leads is a predictable structural variation. Therefore, the rejection of Claims 1 and 17, in view of Taguchi II/Taguchi III is maintained.
On pages 8-9 of the remarks filed on 02/23/2026, with regards to the rejection of independent Claims 1 and 17, Applicant argues that when combining Taguchi III with Taguchi II, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have had any reasonable rationale to remove the portions of die pad 1 that connect neighboring leads 3 in Fig. 3 of Taguchi II as this connection is a required. Applicant further argues that removing portions of die pad 1 that connect neighboring leads 3 in Fig. 3 of Taguchi I would change Taguchi II's principle of operation and would render Taguchi II's modified configuration unsatisfactory for Taguchi II's intended purpose. These arguments are fully considered but is not persuasive. The principal of operation of the electronic component of Taguchi II is chip to lead electrical interconnection. As such, it is not required that that neighboring leads 3 of Taguchi II be connected via portions of die pad as the physical connection between the leads via the die pad does not contribute to signal processing or the function of the electronic component but rather is a mechanical or manufacturing feature. Thus, physically isolating the leads is a predictable structural variation. Therefore, the rejection of Claims 1 and 17, in view of Taguchi II/Taguchi III is maintained.
On page 9 of the remarks filed on 02/23/2026, with regards to the amended dependent Claim 2, Applicant argues that Taguchi II/Taguchi III fails to teach the limitation “at least one wire” which is used to connect the lead to the frame member. This argument is fully considered but is not persuasive. According to MPEP § 2145 (IV), “One cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986)”. As such, while Taguchi II/Taguchi III does not explicitly teach the above limitation, the combination of Taguchi II/Taguchi III/Tiu does as outlined in the rejection of Claim 2 below. Therefore, amended Claim 2 is rejected in view of Taguchi II/Taguchi III/Tiu.
On page 9 of the remarks filed on 02/23/2026, with regards to the amended dependent Claim 2, Applicant argues that the bond wires 115 are not intended to be removed during the manufacturing process unlike the “at least one wire” in claim 2. This argument is fully considered but is not persuasive. According to MPEP § 2145 (IV), “One cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986)”. As such, when the bond wire of Tiu et al. is disposed in the electronic component of Taguchi II to connect the lead 3 to the frame 1 of Taguchi II using the teachings of Tiu et al., a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a part of the at least one wire will be disposed in an area to be removed in a later manufacturing process of the electronic component of Taguchi II (See Fig. 4E — 4F, paragraphs 00037 and 0038). Therefore, amended Claim 2 is rejected in view of Taguchi II/Taguchi III/Tiu.
On page 10 of the remarks filed on 02/23/2026, with regards to the new Claim 20, Applicant argues that in Fig. 5A of Taguchi III, the second end is directly connected to the inner lead 2 and therefore Taguchi III does not disclose "none of the second ends is directly connected to another lead of the frame member" recited in claim 20. This argument is fully considered but is not persuasive. The primary reference of Taguchi II already teaches “none of the second ends is directly connected to another lead of the frame member 1 (see annotated Fig. 3). Therefore, Taguchi III is not relied upon to teach this limitation. Therefore, new Claim 20 is rejected in view of Taguchi II/Taguchi III/Tiu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 13 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over second reference Taguchi (US 20170221804 A1), herein referred to as Taguchi II, in view of Tiu et al. (US 20150262924 A1) and third reference Taguchi (US 20150255378 A1), herein referred to as Taguchi III.
Regarding Claim 1, Taguchi II teaches a lead frame for an electronic component, comprising
a die pad 1 (annotated Fig. 3: 1, paragraph 0028);
a plurality of leads 3 (annotated Fig. 3: 3, paragraph 0028);
Note that the leads 3 and 2 are continuously formed and extend in the second direction X and is interpreted as the specific lead 3 (see shaded area in annotated Fig. 3) with inner portion 3 and outer portion 2 that corresponds to the exposed portion not covered by the encapsulating resin 8 in Fig. 4B.
a frame member 11 configured to surround the die pad 1 and the plurality of leads 3 (annotated Fig. 3: 11, 1, 3, paragraph 0028);
and at least one wire 5 (see Fig. 4A: 5, paragraph 0032),
wherein the frame member 11 includes a first connection bar extending in a first direction Y and a second connection bar extending in a second direction X (annotated Fig. 3: 11, first connection bar, second connection bar),
the plurality of leads 3 include a plurality of specific leads 3’ arranged along the first connection bar (see annotated Fig. 3: 3, 3’, paragraph 0028),
Note: Of the four leads 3 arranged along the first connection bar in Fig. 3 of Taguchi II, the lead 3 located at the end in the -Y direction and the lead 3 adjacent to this lead 3 at the end are interpreted as the specific leads 3’ consistent with Fig. 5 and paragraph 00531 of the originally filed disclosure.
the plurality of specific leads 3’ are each connected to the first connection bar (see annotated Fig. 3),
the at least one of the specific leads 3’ extends in the second direction X (see annotated Fig. 3),
the lead frame 11 does not include a lead that extends in a direction Y intersecting the second direction X and that is connected to the at least one of the specific leads 3’ (see annotated Fig. 3).
each of the plurality of leads 3’ has a first end connected to the first connection bar and a second end distal from the first connection bar (see annotated Fig. 3),
Taguchi II fails to explicitly teach the at least one of the specific leads 3’ is connected to the second connection bar via the at least one wire 5, and none of the plurality of leads 3 has any portion between the first end and the second thereof connected to another of the plurality of leads 3 directly or indirectly.
However, Tiu et al. discloses a lead frame 101 for an electronic component, comprising at least one wire 115 (See annotated Fig. 1 of Tiu et al. below, paragraph 0030), and at least one of the specific leads 102 is connected to a second connection bar 112 via the at least one wire 115 (See annotated Fig. 1 of Tiu et al. below for electrical connection highlighted by dotted circle, paragraph 0030).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Tiu et al. with the teachings of Taguchi in order to come up with the claimed invention. Doing so would enable the electronic die to interface with power connections external to the semiconductor package as recognized by Tiu et al. (paragraph 0028).
Taguchi III teaches a lead frame for an electronic component comprising a plurality of leads 5 having a first end and a second end, and none of the plurality of leads 5 has any portion between the first end and the second thereof connected to another of the plurality of leads 5 directly or indirectly (see annotated Fig. 5A, paragraph 0030).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Taguchi II and Taguchi III in order to have none of the plurality of leads have any portion between the first end and the second thereof connected to another of the plurality of leads directly or indirectly. Doing so would electrically isolate the leads from each other enabling them to be used as independent pins.
Annotated Fig. 3 of Taguchi II (US 20150262924 A1)
Annotated Fig. 1 of Tiu et al. (US 20150262924 A1)
Annotated Fig. 5A of Taguchi III (US 20150255378 A1)
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Taguchi II and Tui et al. teaches the lead frame according to claim 1,
wherein the at least one wire 115 connects at least one of the plurality of leads 102 and the frame member (as taught by Tiu et al., see annotated Fig. 1: 115, 112 and Taguchi II, see annotated Fig. 3: 1)
Note that when the wire 115 of Tiu et al. is disposed on the electronic component of Taguchi II according to the teachings of Tiu et al. (see annotated Fig. 1 of Tiu et al.), the wire will connect at least one of the plurality of leads 3’ and the second connection bar which is part of the lead frame member 1 (see annotated Fig. 3 of Taguchi II).
at least one of the plurality of specific leads 102 is directly connected to the at least one wire 115 (as taught by Tiu et al., See annotated Fig. 1 of Tiu et al. above for electrical connection highlighted by dotted circle).
The combination fails to explicitly teach the lead frame according to claim 1, wherein a part of the at least one wire is disposed in an area to be removed in a manufacturing process of the electronic component.
However, Taguchi II teaches that an area of the lead frame overlapping the first and the second connection bars are removed in a manufacturing process of the electronic component (See Fig. 4E — 4F, paragraphs 00037 and 0038). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that when the at least one wire of Tiu et al. when disposed in the lead frame of Taguchi II, a part of the at least one wire will be disposed in an area to be removed in a manufacturing process of the electronic component.
Regarding Claim 4, Tiu et al. teaches the lead frame according to claim 1, wherein the at least one wire 115 is directly connected to the second connection bar 112 (See annotated Fig. 1 of Tiu et al. above for electrical connection highlighted by dotted circle).
Regarding Claim 13, Taguchi II teaches an electronic component manufactured using the lead frame according to claim 1, the electronic component comprising:
a chip 7 mounted on the die pad 1 (Fig 4A: 7, 1, paragraph 0022)
and an encapsulating resin 8 that encapsulates the die pad 1, and the chip 7 (Fig 4B: 8, 1, 7, paragraph 0007),
wherein each of the leads 3 has an exposed surface 2 that is not covered with the encapsulating resin 8 (see Fig. 4B: 3, 2, 8, paragraph 0007)
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Taguchi II and Tiu et al. fails to explicitly teach the electronic component according to claim 13, further comprising a plating layer configured to cover the exposed surface (paragraph 0035, 0039).
Note that while Taguchi II teaches a plating layer configured to cover the exposed surface 9a of the lead 9 (see Fig. 4G, paragraph 0039), it fails to teach a plating layer configured to cover the exposed surface 2 of specific lead 3.
However, Taguchi III teaches an electronic component manufactured using a lead frame, the electronic component comprising a plating layer 5a configured to cover the exposed surface of specific lead 5 exposed from the encapsulant resin 10 (Fig. 5E: 5, 5a, paragraph 0026).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Taguchi II, Tiu et al. and Taguchi III in order to have a plating layer configured to cover the exposed surface. Doing so would prevent oxidation of the exposed surface of the specific leads.
Regarding Claim 15, Taguchi II teaches the lead frame according to claim 1, wherein the at least one of the specific leads 3’ is located between the first connection bar and the die pad 1 in the second direction X (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Taguchi II and Tiu et al. teaches the lead frame according to claim 15, wherein the at least one of the specific leads 3’/102 is connected to the second connection bar via the at least one wire 115 (as taught by Tiu et al., see annotated Fig. 1 of Tiu et al. above, paragraph 0030) while extending in parallel with the second connection bar (as taught by Taguchi II, see annotated Fig. 3 above).
Regarding Claim 17, Taguchi II teaches a lead frame for an electronic component, comprising
a die pad 1 (annotated Fig. 3: 1, paragraph 0028);
a plurality of leads 3 (annotated Fig. 3: 3, 9, paragraph 0028);
Note that the leads 3 and 2 are continuously formed and extend in the second direction X and is interpreted as the specific lead 3 (see shaded area in annotated Fig. 3) with inner portion 3 and outer portion 2 that corresponds to the exposed portion not covered by the encapsulating resin 8 in Fig. 4B.
a frame member 11 configured to surround the die pad 1 and the plurality of leads 3, 9 (annotated Fig. 3: 11, 1, 3, 9, paragraph 0028);
and at least one wire 5 (see Fig. 4A: 5, paragraph 0032),
wherein the frame member 11 includes a first connection bar extending in a first direction Y and a second connection bar extending in a second direction X (annotated Fig. 3: 11, first connection bar, second connection bar),
the plurality of leads 3 include a plurality of specific leads 3’ arranged along the first connection bar (see shaded area in annotated Fig. 3: 3,3’, paragraph 0028),
Of the four leads 3 arranged along the first connection bar in Fig. 3 of Taguchi II, the lead 3 located at the end in the -Y direction and the lead 3 adjacent to this lead 3 at the end are interpreted as the specific leads 3’ consistent with Fig. 5 and paragraph 00531 of the originally filed disclosure.
the plurality of specific leads 3’ are each connected to the first connection bar (see annotated Fig. 3),
at least one of the specific leads 3’ is located between the first connection bar and the die pad 1 in the second direction X and (see annotated Fig. 3)
each of the plurality of leads 3’ has a first end connected to the first connection bar and a second end distal from the first connection bar (see annotated Fig. 3),
Taguchi II fails to explicitly teach the at least one of the specific leads 3’ is connected to the second connection bar via the at least one wire 5, and none of the plurality of leads 3 has any portion between the first end and the second thereof connected to another of the plurality of leads 3 directly or indirectly.
However, Tiu et al. discloses a lead frame 101 for an electronic component, comprising at least one wire 115 (See annotated Fig. 1 of Tiu et al. below, paragraph 0030), and at least one of the specific leads 102 is connected to a second connection bar 112 via the at least one wire 115 (See annotated Fig. 1 of Tiu et al. below for electrical connection highlighted by dotted circle, paragraph 0030).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Tiu et al. with the teachings of Taguchi in order to come up with the claimed invention. Doing so would enable the electronic die to interface with power connections external to the semiconductor package as recognized by Tiu et al. (paragraph 0028).
Taguchi III teaches a lead frame for an electronic component comprising a plurality of leads 5 having a first end and a second end, and none of the plurality of leads 5 has any portion between the first end and the second thereof connected to another of the plurality of leads 5 directly or indirectly (see annotated Fig. 5A, paragraph 0030).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Taguchi II and Taguchi III in order to have none of the plurality of leads have any portion between the first end and the second thereof connected to another of the plurality of leads directly or indirectly. Doing so would electrically isolate the leads from each other enabling them to be used as independent pins.
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Taguchi II and Tiu et al. teaches the lead frame according to claim 17, wherein the at least one of the specific leads 3’/102 is connected to the second connection bar via the at least one wire 115 (as taught by Tiu et al., see annotated Fig. 1 of Tiu et al. above, paragraph 0030) while extending in parallel with the second connection bar (as taught by Taguchi II, see annotated Fig. 3 above).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Taguchi II and Tiu et al. teaches the lead frame according to claim 17,
wherein the at least one wire 115 connects at least one of the plurality of leads 102 and the frame member (as taught by Tiu et al., see annotated Fig. 1: 115, 112 and Taguchi II, see annotated Fig. 3: 1)
Note that when the wire 115 of Tiu et al. is disposed on the electronic component of Taguchi II according to the teachings of Tiu et al. (see annotated Fig. 1 of Tiu et al.), the wire will connect at least one of the plurality of leads 3’ and the second connection bar which is part of the lead frame member 1 (see annotated Fig. 3 of Taguchi II).
at least one of the plurality of specific leads 102 is directly connected to the at least one wire 115 (as taught by Tiu et al., See annotated Fig. 1 of Tiu et al. above for electrical connection highlighted by dotted circle).
The combination fails to explicitly teach the lead frame according to claim 1, wherein a part of the at least one wire is disposed in an area to be removed in a manufacturing process of the electronic component.
However, Taguchi II teaches that an area of the lead frame overlapping the first and the second connection bars are removed in a manufacturing process of the electronic component (See Fig. 4E — 4F, paragraphs 00037 and 0038). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that when the at least one wire of Tiu et al. when disposed in the lead frame of Taguchi II, a part of the at least one wire will be disposed in an area to be removed in a manufacturing process of the electronic component.
Regarding Claim 20, Taguchi II teaches a lead frame for an electronic component, comprising
a die pad 1 (annotated Fig. 3: 1, paragraph 0028);
a plurality of leads 3 (annotated Fig. 3: 3, paragraph 0028);
Note that the leads 3 and 2 are continuously formed and extend in the second direction X and is interpreted as the specific lead 3 (see shaded area in annotated Fig. 3) with inner portion 3 and outer portion 2 that corresponds to the exposed portion not covered by the encapsulating resin 8 in Fig. 4B.
a frame member 11 configured to surround the die pad 1 and the plurality of leads 3 (annotated Fig. 3: 11, 1, 3, paragraph 0028);
and at least one wire 5 (see Fig. 4A: 5, paragraph 0032),
wherein the frame member 11 includes a first connection bar extending in a first direction Y and a second connection bar extending in a second direction X (annotated Fig. 3: 11, first connection bar, second connection bar),
the plurality of leads 3 include a plurality of specific leads 3’ arranged along the first connection bar (see shaded area in annotated Fig. 3: 3, paragraph 0028),
Of the four leads 3 arranged along the first connection bar in Fig. 3 of Taguchi II, the lead 3 located at the end in the -Y direction and the lead 3 adjacent to this lead 3 at the end are interpreted as the specific leads 3’ consistent with Fig. 5 and paragraph 00531 of the originally filed disclosure.
the plurality of specific leads 3’ are each connected to the first connection bar (see annotated Fig. 3),
the at least one of the specific leads 3’ extends in the second direction X (see annotated Fig. 3),
the lead frame 11 does not include a lead that extends in a direction Y intersecting the second direction X and that is connected to the at least one of the specific leads 3’ (see annotated Fig. 3).
each of the plurality of leads 3’ has a first end connected to the first connection bar and a second end distal from the first connection bar (see annotated Fig. 3),
none of the second ends is directly connected to another lead of the frame member 1 (see annotated Fig. 3),
Taguchi II fails to explicitly teach the at least one of the specific leads 3’ is connected to the second connection bar via the at least one wire 5, and none of the plurality of leads 3 has any portion between the first end and the second thereof connected to another of the plurality of leads 3 directly or indirectly.
However, Tiu et al. discloses a lead frame 101 for an electronic component, comprising at least one wire 115 (See annotated Fig. 1 of Tiu et al. below, paragraph 0030), and at least one of the specific leads 102 is connected to a second connection bar 112 via the at least one wire 115 (See annotated Fig. 1 of Tiu et al. below for electrical connection highlighted by dotted circle, paragraph 0030).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Tiu et al. with the teachings of Taguchi in order to come up with the claimed invention. Doing so would enable the electronic die to interface with power connections external to the semiconductor package as recognized by Tiu et al. (paragraph 0028).
Taguchi III teaches a lead frame for an electronic component comprising a plurality of leads 5 having a first end and a second end, and none of the plurality of leads 5 has any portion between the first end and the second thereof connected to another of the plurality of leads 5 directly or indirectly (see annotated Fig. 5A, paragraph 0030).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Taguchi II and Taguchi III in order to have none of the plurality of leads have any portion between the first end and the second thereof connected to another of the plurality of leads directly or indirectly. Doing so would electrically isolate the leads from each other enabling them to be used as independent pins.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi II (US 20170221804 A1), in view of Tiu et al. (US 2015262924 A1) and Taguchi III (US 20150255378 A1), as applied to Claim 4 above, further in view of Lee et al. (US 6469386 B1).
The combination of Taguchi and Tiu et al. fails to teach wherein the second connection bar is plated with Au, Ag, Cu, Ni, or Pd-PPF.
However, Lee at al. discloses a lead frame for an electronic component, comprising wherein the lead frame is plated with Au, Ni, or Pd-PFF (Abstract). Note that, in the present disclosure, the Applicant defines Pd-PFF as a plurality of plating layers of Ni, Pd, and Au (see paragraph 0012 of originally filed disclosure) and Lee et al. also teaches a plurality of plating layers of Ni, Pd, and Au (Abstract).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Lee et al. with the teachings of Taguchi II and Tiu et al. in order to come up with the claimed invention. Doing so would improve the solderability, wire bond strength, and adhesion with the encapsulating resin of the lead frame in semiconductor packaging, as recognized by Lee et al. (Column 3, Lines 20-25).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMNA FATHIMA IQBAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2817 04/10/2026
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 April 17, 2026