DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to communications filed on 10/06/2025. Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 12-13, 16, 20 have been amended. Claims 3, 17, 19 canceled. Presently, Claims 1-2, 4-16, 18, 20 remain pending and are hereinafter examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Previous rejections under 35 USC § 112(b) are withdrawn in view of the amendments filed on 10/06/2025.
Previous claim objections are withdrawn in view of the amendments filed on 10/06/2025.
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections under 35 USC § 102 have been fully, considered, but are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, the Applicant argues Choi fails to disclose, “a handle structure disposed within at least one cutout along a cutout perimeter” asserting that the handle 570 of Choi is a separate handle attached to cover 520 and not disposed within a cutout of a flexible enclosure. This argument is not persuasive because it relies on a narrow interpretation of “cutout” and “disposed within” that is not supported by the claim language. Claim 1 does not require the cutout be formed solely in the flexible portion of the enclosure, not does it exclude rigid portions that are part of the enclosure. Choi expressly discloses handles formed in rigid units that are integrated into covers forming the enclosure. The opening defined by the handle structure in Choi constitute cutouts bounded by a perimeter, and the handle structure is disposed along that perimeter, as required by the claim. Applicant’s further imports additional requirements that the handle must formed only in a flexible region and most not be attached to or integrated with a rigid unit. Such limitations are not recited in claim 1, and therefore cannot be relied upon to distinguish Choi.
The Applicant further characterizes the handle of Choi as being “attached” rather than disposed within a cutout. However, the rejection does not rely on teaching a detachable or separate handle component. Instead, the rejection relies on Choi’s teachings of a handle formed in the enclosure itself, defining an opening through which the assembly may be carried.
The Applicant further argues that anticipation requires identical disclosure. While it is correct that all limitations must be disclosed, the Applicant arguments depend on reading unclaimed structure distinction into the claim. Choi discloses each structural limitation of claim 1 as written, including a flexible enclosure, an RF coil disposed therein, at least one cutout located outside the RF coil area, and a handle structure associate with that cutout for handling the assembly.
Accordingly, the rejection under 35 USC § 102 is maintained.
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections under 35 USC § 103 have been fully, considered, but are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 16, the Applicant argues the Choi and Gastle fail to teach handle structures “within cutouts of a flexible enclosure” and further contends that Gastle is non-analogous art because it relates to a patient support device rather than an RF coil assembly. These arguments are not persuasive. The rejection does not rely on Gastle to teach an RF coil or MRI specific structure, but rather to teach a concept of aligning handle openings when a flexible assembly is folded over to permit single hand carring. Gastle is properly analogous art because it address handling and transport of flexible structures using aligned cutouts and handles, which is address by the rejection below.
The Applicant asserts that modifying Choi in view of Gastle would not result in handle structures, “within cutouts” of a flexible enclosure. This argument relies on same unclaimed distinction rejected above with respect to claim 1. Choi discloses handles formed in opening of the enclosure. Gastle is applied solely for the folding and alignment feature, not for the basic placement of handles. Applicant arguments improperly assert Gastle for failing to disclose feature that are relied upon from Choi, and conversely assert Choi for failing to disclose alignment features that are relied upon from Gastle.
The Applicant further asserts that the Examined admitted Choi does not disclose the alignment of the handles when folded. The Examiner acknowledges this, which is why Gastle was applied. Applicant arguments do not explain why one of ordinary skill in the art would have not been motivated to apply Gastle well-known folding and nesting handle arrangement to Choi’s flexible coil assembly. Instead, the Applicant relies on field of use differences and on advantages allegedly specific to RF coils, neither of which are recited in claim 16.
The Applicant further argues the enabling “a single hand to hold” the assembly is structural distinction. However, as explain in the rejection, this language is directed to intended use or capability. The claim does recite any specific structural feature beyond the aligned cutouts and handle structures, which are taught by the combination. The ergonomic advantage of a single hand carrying is not recited as a structural limitation.
With respect to Claim 20, the Applicant argues that Lazzi is unrelated to MRI systems and does not disclose inductively charging an RF receiving coil assembly, This argument is not persuasive because claim 20 does not require that the inductively charging be specific to MRI RF performance or integrated into MRI system electronics beyond charging the assembly. Lazzi teaches inductive charging of wearable or flexible electronics assemblies using a receiver coil positioned within a structural element, and Lazzi is relied on solely for the inductive charging feature, not for MRI specific signal reception (which the claim does not require).
The Applicant’s arguments mischaracterize the rejection of Choi in view of Lazzi, by asserting Lazzi must disclose “a handle structure” within a cutout of a flexible enclosure of an RF receiving coil. The rejection did not and does not rely on Lazzi to teach the handle or cutout; those features are taught by Choi. Lazzi is relied upon only for the inductive charging configuration.
The Applicant’s further argue that Lazzi discloses a hanger rather than a handle. However, claim 20 does not exclude the handle structure from also having another form, nor does it require the handle to be manually grasped during charging. The claim merely requires that the handle structure be configured to inductively charge the assembly when disposed adjacent to a transmitting coil. Lazzi teaches structural integration of inductive charging between elements into a load-bearing or support structures, which renders the modification of Choi’s handle structure with an inductive charging elements obvious.
For these reasons, the rejections under 35 USC § 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7: line 4, “a respective handle”. It is unclear if “a respective handle” refers to the same handle structure recited in claim 1, or whether the phrase introduces additional handles that do not include the handle structure. In addition, it is unclear if the “handle structure [...] configured to provide a handle for handling the RF receiving coil assembly” is included with each cutout of the plurality of cutouts with respect to the respective handle. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes each cutout of the plurality of cutouts provides a respective handle including the handle structure for handling the RF receiving coil assembly. Appropriate correction is required.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claims are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities and should recite:
Claim 1: line 8, “along [[a]] at least one cutout perimeter”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10: ‘wherein the plurality of cutouts comprises the at least one cutout and a second cutout.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11: “wherein the RF receiving coil assembly is configured to be folded over so that the [[first]]at least one cutout and the second cutout align with each other to enable a single hand to hold the RF receiving coil assembly via the [[first]] at least one cutout and the second cutout.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12: “wherein the RF receiving coil assembly comprises the handle structure disposed within the [[first]] at least one cutout along the at least one cutout perimeter and a second handle structure disposed within the second cutout along a second cutout perimeter, and the [[first]] handle structure is configured to be coupled to the second handle structure to form a single handle for handling the RF receiving coil assembly via respective openings in the [[first]] handle structure and the second handle structure.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20: lines 9-10, “RF receiving coil assembly”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, & 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al (2017/0074955 A1).
Claim 1: Choi discloses, A radio frequency (RF) receiving coil assembly (FIG. 3) for a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system (¶Abstract, ‘An RF coil has an improved structure to prevent an excessive heat from being transferred to an object, and a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus includes the same. The MRI apparatus includes an RF coil configured to receive an RF signal, wherein the RF coil may include a first cover configured to allow thermal insulation material to be injected into the inside thereof, a second cover configured to allow thermal insulation material to be injected into the inside thereof and detachably coupled to the first cover to form an inner space with the first cover, and at least one circuit board disposed in the inner space and on which a circuit element configured to receive the RF signal is mounted.’), comprising:
a flexible enclosure; (FIG. 3, ¶0036, ‘The RF coil 500 may be used while being attached to a body, and thus the RF coil 500 may be formed to have a shape of part of body, e.g. head coil, neck coil, and waist coil.’; ¶0059, ‘The first cover 510 and the second cover 520 may be flexible to be bent or curved to fit the shape of an object, which is intended to be scanned.’)
an RF coil (RF Coil 500) disposed within the flexible enclosure, wherein the RF coil comprises a plurality of flexible loops having a malleable conductor; and (FIG. 4A-4B, ¶0036, ‘The RF coil 500 may be used while being attached to a body, and thus the RF coil 500 may be formed to have a shape of part of body, e.g. head coil, neck coil, and waist coil.’; ¶0059, ‘The first cover 510 and the second cover 520 may be flexible to be bent or curved to fit the shape of an object, which is intended to be scanned.’)
at least one cutout within the flexible enclosure located outside an area where the RF coil is disposed within the flexible enclosure; and (FIG. 3- handle(s) 570 are in the flexible enclosure located outside an area where the RF coil is disposed within the flexible enclosure, the openings of the handle(s) constitutes as the at least one cutout. ¶0074, ‘The RF coil 500 may further include the handle 570 so that the RF coil 500 may be easily moved. The handle 570 may be provided in the rigid unit 511 and 521 provided in at least one of the first cover 510 and the second cover 520. Particularly, the handle 570 may be provided in the second rigid unit 521.). The openings (i.e., cutout(s)) is an inner component incorporated into the structure of the flexible enclosure. Hence, the cutout(s) are indeed provided within the inside of the flexible enclosures.
a handle structure (FIG. 3 - (e.g., handle 570 structure)) disposed within the at least one cutout along a cutout perimeter (A part of the handle 570 is disposed within with the at least one cutout, wherein the cutout is along a cutout perimeter, see FIG. 3 Below), and the handle structure is configured to provide a handle for handling the RF receiving coil assembly via an opening in the handle structure. (¶0074, ‘The RF coil 500 may further include the handle 570 so that the RF coil 500 may be easily moved. The handle 570 may be provided in the rigid unit 511 and 521 provided in at least one of the first cover 510 and the second cover 520. Particularly, the handle 570 may be provided in the second rigid unit 521.). See FIG 3 highlighted below:
Claim 2: Choi discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Choi discloses, wherein the flexible enclosure comprises a main portion (first cover 510 including the first portion 564 and the second portion 563, FIGS. 3-5) defined by a perimeter that houses the RF coil (FIGS. 3-5), the flexible enclosure comprises an additional portion (rigid unit 521, FIG. 3) that extends in a direction away from the main portion beyond the perimeter (FIG. 3), and the at least one cutout is located on the additional portion (handles 570 is located on the additional portion (rigid unit 521), FIG. 3, ¶0074, ‘The RF coil 500 may further include the handle 570 so that the RF coil 500 may be easily moved. The handle 570 may be provided in the rigid unit 511 and 521 provided in at least one of the first cover 510 and the second cover 520. Particularly, the handle 570 may be provided in the second rigid unit 521.’).
Claim 7: Choi discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Choi discloses, wherein the RF receiving coil assembly comprises a plurality of cutouts including the at least one cutout within the flexible enclosure located outside the area where the RF coil is disposed within the flexible enclosure, and each cutout of the plurality of cutouts is configured to provide a respective handle for handling the RF receiving coil assembly. (FIG. 3- handle(s) 570 are in the flexible enclosure located outside an area where the RF coil is disposed within the flexible enclosure, the openings of the handle(s) constitutes as the plurality of cutouts in between the flexible enclosure. ¶0074, ‘The RF coil 500 may further include the handle 570 so that the RF coil 500 may be easily moved. The handle 570 may be provided in the rigid unit 511 and 521 provided in at least one of the first cover 510 and the second cover 520. Particularly, the handle 570 may be provided in the second rigid unit 521.). The openings (i.e., cutout(s)) is an inner component incorporated into the structure of the flexible enclosure. Hence, the cutout(s) are indeed provided within the inside of the flexible enclosures.
Claim 8: Choi discloses all the elements above in claim 7, Choi discloses, wherein the plurality of cutouts are located on different sides of the flexible enclosure. (handle(s) 570, FIG. 3-handles are located on different sides of the flexible enclosure. The claim does not further define the term different sides of the flexible enclosure.)
Claim 9: Choi discloses all the elements above in claim 7, Choi discloses, wherein the plurality of cutouts are located on a same side of the flexible enclosure. (handle(s) 570, FIG. 3-handles are located on same side of the flexible enclosure. The claim does not further define the term “same side” of the flexible enclosure.)
Claim 10: Choi discloses all the elements above in claim 7, Choi discloses, wherein the plurality of cutouts comprises a first cutout and a second cutout. (handle(s) 570, FIG. 3-handles 570 define spaces that constitutes as a first cutout and a second cutout).)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (2017/0074955 A1), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Takagi (US 2016/0025798 A1).
Claim 4: Choi discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Choi fails to disclose, wherein the RF receiving coil assembly is configured to be utilized wirelessly with the MRI system during an MRI scan.
However, Takagi in the context of RF coil devices discloses, wherein the RF receiving coil assembly is configured to be utilized wirelessly with the MRI system during an MRI scan. (¶0021, ‘FIG. 13 is a flowchart showing an example of operation of the RF coil storage device, while storing an RF coil device configured to wirelessly transmit received MR signals to an MRI apparatus without being connected to a connection port;’; ¶0140, ‘FIG. 13 is a flowchart illustrating an example of operation of the RF coil storage device 200A, while storing an RF coil device configured to wirelessly transmit received MR signals to the MRI apparatus 10 without being connected to the connection port 264.’; ¶0055, ‘The charger 262 charges a rechargeable battery BA of a wireless type RF coil device (FIG. 7 described below), via an induced magnetic field.’, see also ¶0080-0081, ¶0101-0102)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cable type RF coil device of Choi such that it is configured to be utilized wirelessly with the MRI system during an MRI scan as taught by Takagi for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus with such an apparatus being able to wirelessly transmit and receive MR signals to the MRI apparatus without being connected to a connection port, as suggested by Takagi, ¶0140.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (2017/0074955 A1) in view of Takagi (US 2016/0025798 A1), as applied to claim 4, in further view of Lazzi et al (US 2018/0289189 A1).
Claim 5: Modified Choi discloses all the elements above in claim 4, Choi fails to disclose, wherein the receiving coil assembly is configured to be inductively charged via the handle structure.
However, Lazzi in the context of hanger recharger systems discloses, wherein the receiving coil assembly is configured to be inductively charged via the handle structure. (power receiving element 205- ¶0020, ‘The power receiver element 205 may connect to a power source 215 of the smart garment, which powers circuits and electronic components (e.g., 220) provided on or within the smart garment to provide various enhanced functionality. In some cases, wires connecting the power receiver element 205, battery 215, and/or electronic components (e.g., 220)’)
-This power receiver element 205 is configured for “inductive [...] charging”, ¶0013. Energy is “transferred inductively from the power transmitter element to the power receiver element”-Claim 18.
-The physical act of hanging the hanger device “causes the power transmitter element to be physically aligned with the power receiver element; and”, enables the inductive transfer. The hanger’s structure supports and positions these transmitter elements to interact with the garment when hung, ¶0015, ¶0019-0020. Hence, the receiving coil assembly is configured to be inductively charged via the handle structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handle structure (e.g., the hanger structure) of modified Choi such that it includes the power receiver element 205 configured to be inductively charged via the handle structure as taught by Lazzi. The motivation do this yields predictable results such as providing convenient and seamless recharging, as suggested by Lazzi, ¶0015, ¶0020. The modified combination would disclose wherein the RF receiving coil assembly of modified Choi is configured to be inductively charged of Lazzi via the structure of modified Choi.
Claim 6: Modified Choi discloses all the elements above in claim 5, Choi fails to disclose, wherein the RF receiving coil assembly is configured to be inductively charged via the handle structure when the RF receiving coil assembly is hung on a hanger via the handle structure, and the hanger comprises a transmitter coil or the hanger is disposed adjacent to the transmitter coil configured to inductively charge the RF receiving coil assembly.
However, Lazzi in the context of hanger recharger systems discloses, wherein the receiving coil assembly is configured to be inductively charged via the handle structure (power receiving element 205- ¶0020, ‘The power receiver element 205 may connect to a power source 215 of the smart garment, which powers circuits and electronic components (e.g., 220) provided on or within the smart garment to provide various enhanced functionality. In some cases, wires connecting the power receiver element 205, battery 215, and/or electronic components (e.g., 220)’)
-This power receiver element 205 is configured for “inductive [...] charging”, ¶0013. Energy is “transferred inductively from the power transmitter element to the power receiver element”-Claim 18.
-The physical act of hanging the hanger device “causes the power transmitter element to be physically aligned with the power receiver element; and”, enables the inductive transfer. The hanger’s structure supports and positions these transmitter elements to interact with the garment when hung, ¶0015, ¶0019-0020. Hence, the receiving coil assembly is configured to be inductively charged via the handle structure.
when the receiving coil assembly is hung on a hanger via the handle structure,
-The charging/recharging of the battery-equipped garment, ‘[...] may thus take place while the garment is being hung (e.g. in a closet) using the charging hanger.’-¶0015. When the garment is ‘is hung on an example charging hanger, the receiving coil 210 of the garment may be aligned with a transmitting coil (or other power transfer element) 105 provided on the charging hanger 100, allowing power from the power supply of the hanger device 100 to be transmitted to the receiving coil 205 for use in charging a battery or other power store integrated with the garment (or other textile article) 200.’-¶0019. ‘the power receiver element 205 within an example smart textile device, such as the smart garment 200 shown in the illustration of FIG. 2B, may be positioned within the garment so that it corresponds with (and is more likely to align with) a known location of a power transmitter element 105 of a charging hanger device 100 when the garment 200 is hung on the hanger device 100.’-¶0020.
and the hanger comprises a transmitter coil or the hanger is disposed adjacent to the transmitter coil configured to inductively charge the receiving coil assembly.
-The clothes hanger device, ‘include one or more power transmitter elements’-¶Abstract. The power transfer or transmitting element 105, ‘such as a transmitting coil provided within the body of or on the face of the clothes hanger device 100.’, ¶0016. In addition, the charging hanger ‘[...] may be provided with multiple power transfer elements (e.g., 105 a-c), such as transmitting coils, antennas (e.g., to work at higher frequencies (e.g., dipoles or patch), such as to support data transmission), or other power transmitter elements located in different positions using the handle structure of the charging hanger.’, ¶0022.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handle structure (e.g., the hanger structure) of modified Choi such that it includes the power receiver element 205 configured to be inductively charged via the handle structure as taught by Lazzi. The motivation do this yields predictable results such as providing convenient and seamless recharging, as suggested by Lazzi, ¶0015, ¶0020. The modified combination would disclose wherein the RF receiving coil assembly of modified Choi is configured to be inductively charged of Lazzi via the handle structure of modified Choi.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RF coil assembly of modified Choi such that includes a hanger comprising a transmitter/disposed adjacent to the transmitter coil configured to inductively charge the assembly as taught by Lazzi. The motivation do this yields predictable results such as providing convenient and seamless recharging, as suggested by Lazzi, ¶0015, ¶0020. The modified combination would disclose when the RF receiving coil assembly is hung on a hanger of Lazzi via the handle structure of modified Choi, the hanger comprises a transmitter coil or the hanger is disposed adjacent to the transmitter coil configured to inductively charge of Lazzi the RF receiving coil assembly of modified Choi.
Regarding the limitations of claim 6 “is hung on a hanger." directed to the intended use of the invention. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Therefore, as taught, the invention of modified Choi is capable of performing the functions as set forth by applicant. Also, see MPEP 2114.
Claims 11-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (2017/0074955 A1), as applied to claim 10, in further view of Gastle et al (US 5,214,813).
Claim 11: Modified Choi discloses all the elements above in claim 10, Choi discloses, wherein the RF receiving coil assembly is configured to be folded over (¶0059, ‘The first cover 510 and the second cover 520 may be flexible to be bent or curved to fit the shape of an object, which is intended to be scanned.’)
Choi fails to disclose: the first and second cutout directly on the first and second portions (563, 564, FIG. 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Modified Choi such that the handles (i.e., first and second cutouts) are provided on the first and second portions (563, 564) of the first and second cover (510) because it appears to be an arbitrary design choice consideration because it has been held that In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice) MPEP 2144.04 VI C., which fails to patentable distinguish over the cited reference. Further the applicant has not disclosed that the claim configurations of the elements solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose or improvement. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to obtain such a configuration through routine experimentation.
Modified Choi fails to disclose so that the first cutout and the second cutout align with each other to enable a single hand to hold the RF receiving coil assembly via the first cutout and the second cutout.
However, Gastle in the context of patient flexible support means discloses: an assembly is configured to be folded over so the first cutout and the second cutout align with each other. (FIG. 6A-B; ¶Abstract, ‘Each of the cut outs is aligned with a respective cutout so that, during use, the hand holds may be nested together to form an integral handle with overlapping flaps.’; [Col 3 l.6-15], ‘the stretcher 140 may be used so that the hand holds can be nested with one another to permit the rescue personnel to carry the stretcher with one hand while using the other hand to negotiate stair wells and the like. The nesting feature can be seen in FIGS. 6a, 6b and forms a snug integral fit for the rescue personnel. In fact, the nesting tends to increase the strength of the hand hold by doubling the thickness of material that is folded, the fold forming a structure that resists collapse.’)
-The nested configuration of the first and second cutouts align with each other via the nesting feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second cutouts of modified Choi such that each align as taught by Gastle. The motivation to do this yields predictable results such as providing an increase strength of holding the folded material, as suggested by Gastle, [Col 3 l.6-15]. The modified combination would disclose wherein the RF receiving coil assembly is configured to be folded over so that the first cutout and the second cutout align with each other.
Regarding the limitations of claim 11 “to enable a single hand to hold the RF receiving coil assembly via the first cutout and the second cutout." directed to the intended use of the invention. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Therefore, as taught, the invention of modified Choi is capable of performing the functions as set forth by applicant. Also, see MPEP 2114.
Claim 12: Modified Choi discloses all the elements above in claim 11, Choi discloses, wherein the RF receiving coil assembly comprises a first handle structure disposed within the first cutout along a first cutout perimeter and a second handle structure disposed within the second cutout along a second cutout perimeter,
-FIG. 3 - a handle (e.g., handle 570 structure). One handle creates a space that constitutes as the first cutout along a first cutout perimeter while the another handle creates another space that constitutes as the second cutout along a second cutout perimeter. The structures of the handles have a portion disposed within the cutouts.
See both of the Highlighted FIG. 3’s Below:
Modified Choi fails to disclose: the first handle structure and handle second structure (i.e., the handle 570 structures) is directly on the first and second portions, (563, 564, FIG. 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Modified Choi such that the handles (i.e., first and second handle structures) are provided on the first and second portions (563, 564) of the first and second cover (510) because it appears to be an arbitrary design choice consideration because it has been held that In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice) MPEP 2144.04 VI C., which fails to patentable distinguish over the cited reference. Further the applicant has not disclosed that the claim
Modified Choi fails to disclose: and the first handle structure is configured to be coupled to the second handle structure to form a single handle for handling the RF receiving coil assembly via respective opening in the first handle structure and the second handle structure.
However, Gastle in the context of patient flexible support means discloses: an assembly is configured with a first handle structure is configured to be coupled to the second handle structure to form a single handle via respective opening in the first handle structure and the second handle structure. (FIG. 6A-B; ¶Abstract, ‘Each of the cut outs is aligned with a respective cutout so that, during use, the hand holds may be nested together to form an integral handle with overlapping flaps.’; [Col 3 l.6-15], ‘the stretcher 140 may be used so that the hand holds can be nested with one another to permit the rescue personnel to carry the stretcher with one hand while using the other hand to negotiate stair wells and the like. The nesting feature can be seen in FIGS. 6a, 6b and forms a snug integral fit for the rescue personnel. In fact, the nesting tends to increase the strength of the hand hold by doubling the thickness of material that is folded, the fold forming a structure that resists collapse.’)
-The nested configuration of the flaps (i.e., the first and second handle structures) of the first and second cutouts align with each other via the nesting feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second handle structures of modified Choi such that the first handle structure is configured to be coupled to the second handle structure to form a single handle via respective opening in the first handle structure and the second handle structure as taught by Gastle. The motivation to do this yields predictable results such as providing an increase strength of holding the folded material, as suggested by Gastle, [Col 3 l.6-15].
Regarding the limitations of claim 12 “for handling the RF receiving coil assembly.." directed to the intended use of the invention. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Therefore, as taught, the invention of modified Choi is capable of performing the functions as set forth by applicant. Also, see MPEP 2114.
Claim 14: Choi as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 11, Choi discloses, wherein the RF receiving coil assembly is configured to be utilized via a wired connection (cable 581, 582) with the MRI system during an MRI scan. (¶0075, ‘The RF coil 500 may further include a cable 581 and 582. Particularly, the cable 581 and 582 may include a first cable 581 electrically connecting the RF coil 500 to power source and a second cable 582 electrically connecting the RF coil 500 to the image processor 160 (refer to FIG. 1). The second cable 582 may be configured to transmit a signal of the image processor 160 (refer to FIG. 1) to the RF coil 500. A connector 590 may be provided on an end portion of the cable 581 and 582. The connector 590 may be detachably placed in the connector compartment 600. The connector compartment 600 may be provided in the second rigid unit 521, but the position of the connector compartment 600 is not limited thereto.’, see also , ¶0033-0037, ¶0041-0042, )
Claim 15: Choi as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 14, Choi discloses, wherein the RF receiving coil assembly comprises interface circuitry (circuit element 551 mounted to circuit board 550, FIGS 3-5) disposed within the flexible enclosure and coupled to both the RF coil and the wired connection (FIGS 3-5, ¶0062, ‘A circuit element 551 receiving an RF signal may be mounted to the circuit board 550. The circuit element 551 receiving an RF signal may include an inductor, and a capacitor.’; ¶0075, ‘The RF coil 500 may further include a cable 581 and 582. Particularly, the cable 581 and 582 may include a first cable 581 electrically connecting the RF coil 500 to power source and a second cable 582 electrically connecting the RF coil 500 to the image processor 160 (refer to FIG. 1). The second cable 582 may be configured to transmit a signal of the image processor 160 (refer to FIG. 1) to the RF coil 500. A connector 590 may be provided on an end portion of the cable 581 and 582. The connector 590 may be detachably placed in the connector compartment 600. The connector compartment 600 may be provided in the second rigid unit 521, but the position of the connector compartment 600 is not limited thereto.’), and the first cutout and the second cutout flank the interface circuitry. (¶Abstract, ‘and at least one circuit board disposed in the inner space and on which a circuit element configured to receive the RF signal is mounted.’, FIGS. 3-5- the handles flank the interface circuitry.)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (2017/0074955 A1) in view of Gastle et al (US 5,214,813).
Claim 16: Choi discloses, A radio frequency (RF) receiving coil assembly for a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system, comprising: (¶Abstract, ‘An RF coil has an improved structure to prevent an excessive heat from being transferred to an object, and a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus includes the same. The MRI apparatus includes an RF coil configured to receive an RF signal, wherein the RF coil may include a first cover configured to allow thermal insulation material to be injected into the inside thereof, a second cover configured to allow thermal insulation material to be injected into the inside thereof and detachably coupled to the first cover to form an inner space with the first cover, and at least one circuit board disposed in the inner space and on which a circuit element configured to receive the RF signal is mounted.’)
a flexible enclosure; (FIG. 3, ¶0036, ‘The RF coil 500 may be used while being attached to a body, and thus the RF coil 500 may be formed to have a shape of part of body, e.g. head coil, neck coil, and waist coil.’; ¶0059, ‘The first cover 510 and the second cover 520 may be flexible to be bent or curved to fit the shape of an object, which is intended to be scanned.’)
an RF coil disposed within the flexible enclosure, wherein the RF coil comprises a plurality of flexible loops having a malleable conductor; and (FIG. 4A-4B, ¶0036, ‘The RF coil 500 may be used while being attached to a body, and thus the RF coil 500 may be formed to have a shape of part of body, e.g. head coil, neck coil, and waist coil.’; ¶0059, ‘The first cover 510 and the second cover 520 may be flexible to be bent or curved to fit the shape of an object, which is intended to be scanned.’)
a first cutout and a second cutout within the flexible enclosure located outside an area where the RF coil is disposed within the flexible enclosure, (FIG. 3- handle(s) 570 are in the flexible enclosure located outside an area where the RF coil is disposed within the flexible enclosure, the openings of the handle(s) (i.e., the space of the structure of the handles) constitutes as the first and second cutout. ¶0074, ‘The RF coil 500 may further include the handle 570 so that the RF coil 500 may be easily moved. The handle 570 may be provided in the rigid unit 511 and 521 provided in at least one of the first cover 510 and the second cover 520. Particularly, the handle 570 may be provided in the second rigid unit 521.).
- The openings (i.e., cutout(s)) is an inner component incorporated into the structure of the flexible enclosure. Hence, the cutout(s) are indeed provided within the inside of the flexible enclosures.
wherein the RF receiving coil assembly comprises a first handle structure disposed within the first cutout along a first cutout perimeter and a second handle structure disposed within the second cutout along a second cutout perimeter, (SEE each of the highlighted FIG. 3s’ Below)
and wherein the RF receiving coil assembly is configured to be folded over (¶0059, ‘The first cover 510 and the second cover 520 may be flexible to be bent or curved to fit the shape of an object, which is intended to be scanned.’)
Choi fails to disclose: the first and second handle structures are directly on the first and second portions (563, 564, FIG. 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Choi of the first and second handle structure to be provided on the first and second portions (563, 564) of the first and second cover (510) because it appears to be an arbitrary design choice consideration because it has been held that In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice) MPEP 2144.04 VI C., which fails to patentable distinguish over the cited reference. Further the applicant has not disclosed that the claim configurations of the elements solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose or improvement. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to obtain such a configuration through routine experimentation.
Choi fails to disclose: wherein the RF receiving coil assembly is configured to be folded over so that the first handle structure and the second handle structure align with each other to enable a single hand to hold the RF receiving coil assembly via respective openings in the first handle structure and the second handle structure.
However, Gastle in the context of patient flexible support means discloses: wherein an assembly is configured to be folded over so the first handle structure and the second handle structure align with each other to enable a single hand to hold the assembly via respective opening in the first handle structure and the second handle structure. (FIG. 6A-B; ¶Abstract, ‘Each of the cut outs is aligned with a respective cutout so that, during use, the hand holds may be nested together to form an integral handle with overlapping flaps.’; [Col 3 l.6-15], ‘the stretcher 140 may be used so that the hand holds can be nested with one another to permit the rescue personnel to carry the stretcher with one hand while using the other hand to negotiate stair wells and the like. The nesting feature can be seen in FIGS. 6a, 6b and forms a snug integral fit for the rescue personnel. In fact, the nesting tends to increase the strength of the hand hold by doubling the thickness of material that is folded, the fold forming a structure that resists collapse.’)
-The nested configuration of the first and second handle structures align with each other via the nesting feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second handle structures of Choi such that each align as taught by Gastle. The motivation to do this yields predictable results such as providing an increase strength of holding the folded material, as suggested by Gastle, [Col 3 l.6-15]. The modified combination would disclose wherein the RF receiving coil assembly is configured to be folded over so that the first handle structure and the second handle structure align with each other.
Regarding the limitations of claim 16 “to enable a single hand to hold the RF receiving coil assembly via respective openings in the first handle structure and the second handle structure" directed to the intended use of the invention. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Therefore, as taught, the invention of modified Choi is capable of performing the functions as set forth by applicant. Also, see MPEP 2114.
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (2017/0074955 A1) in view of Gastle et al (US 5,214,813), as applied to claim 12, in further of Bale (US 5,409,282).
Claim 13: Choi as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 12, the modification of Choi in view of Gastle fails to disclose: wherein the first handle structure is configured to be coupled to the second handle structure via a snap fit.
However, Bale in the context of securing handles discloses, a ring snap (36) releasably coupleable to join handles (i.e., a first and second handle structure), [Col 4 l.6-7], ‘For ease of grasping and transporting, a handle 14 is fixedly attached to each end edge. A ring strap 36 is also provided to releasably couple and join the handles 14.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second handle structure of modified Choi in view of Gastle such that it includes a snap fit to couple the second handle structure to the first handle structure as taught by Bale for the advantage of easing the grasping and transporting via a provided ring strap to join the handles, as suggested by Bale, [Col 4 l.6-7].
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (2017/0074955 A1) in view of Gastle et al (US 5,214,813), as applied to claim 16, in further view of Takagi (US 2016/0025798 A1) in view of Lazzi et al (US 2018/0289189 A1).
Claim 18: Choi as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 16, Choi fails to disclose: wherein the RF receiving coil assembly is configured to be utilized wirelessly with the MRI system during an MRI scan,
However, Takagi in the context of RF coil devices discloses, wherein the RF receiving coil assembly is configured to be utilized wirelessly with the MRI system during an MRI scan. (¶0021, ‘FIG. 13 is a flowchart showing an example of operation of the RF coil storage device, while storing an RF coil device configured to wirelessly transmit received MR signals to an MRI apparatus without being connected to a connection port;’; ¶0140, ‘FIG. 13 is a flowchart illustrating an example of operation of the RF coil storage device 200A, while storing an RF coil device configured to wirelessly transmit received MR signals to the MRI apparatus 10 without being connected to the connection port 264.’; ¶0055, ‘The charger 262 charges a rechargeable battery BA of a wireless type RF coil device (FIG. 7 described below), via an induced magnetic field.’, see also ¶0080-0081, ¶0101-0102)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cable type RF coil device of modified Choi such that it is configured to be utilized wirelessly with the MRI system during an MRI scan as taught by Takagi for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus with such an apparatus being able to wirelessly transmit and receive MR signals to the MRI apparatus without being connected to a connection port, as suggested by Takagi, ¶0140.
Modified Choi fails to disclose: and wherein at least one of the first handle structure and the second handle structure is configured to inductively charge the RF receiving coil assembly when the RF receiving coil assembly is disposed adjacent to a transmitting coil configured for inductive charging.
However, Lazzi in the context of hanger recharger systems discloses, wherein at least one of a handle structure is configured to inductively charge the RF receiving coil assembly (power receiving element 205- ¶0020, ‘The power receiver element 205 may connect to a power source 215 of the smart garment, which powers circuits and electronic components (e.g., 220) provided on or within the smart garment to provide various enhanced functionality. In some cases, wires connecting the power receiver element 205, battery 215, and/or electronic components (e.g., 220)’, see also ¶0014 & ¶0019 regarding the electromagnetic field) when the RF receiving coil assembly is disposed adjacent a transmitting coil configured for inductive charging.
-This power receiver element 205 is configured for “inductive [...] charging”, ¶0013. Energy is “transferred inductively from the power transmitter element to the power receiver element”-Claim 18.
-The physical act of hanging the hanger device “causes the power transmitter element to be physically aligned with the power receiver element; and”, enables the inductive transfer. The hanger’s structure supports and positions these transmitter elements to interact with the garment when hung, ¶0015, ¶0019-0020. Hence, the RF receiving coil assembly is configured to be inductively charged via the handle structure.
-The charging/recharging of the battery-equipped garment, ‘[...] may thus take place while the garment is being hung (e.g. in a closet) using the charging hanger.’-¶0015. When the garment is ‘is hung on an example charging hanger, the receiving coil 210 of the garment may be aligned with a transmitting coil (or other power transfer element) 105 provided on the charging hanger 100, allowing power from the power supply of the hanger device 100 to be transmitted to the receiving coil 205 for use in charging a battery or other power store integrated with the garment (or other textile article) 200.’-¶0019. ‘the power receiver element 205 within an example smart textile device, such as the smart garment 200 shown in the illustration of FIG. 2B, may be positioned within the garment so that it corresponds with (and is more likely to align with) a known location of a power transmitter element 105 of a charging hanger device 100 when the garment 200 is hung on the hanger device 100.’-¶0020.
-The clothes hanger device, ‘include one or more power transmitter elements’-¶Abstract. The power transfer or transmitting element 105, ‘such as a transmitting coil provided within the body of or on the face of the clothes hanger device 100.’, ¶0016. In addition, the charging hanger ‘[...] may be provided with multiple power transfer elements (e.g., 105 a-c), such as transmitting coils, antennas (e.g., to work at higher frequencies (e.g., dipoles or patch), such as to support data transmission), or other power transmitter elements located in different positions using the structure of the charging hanger.’, ¶0022.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first handle structure of modified Choi such that it includes the power receiver element 205 configured to be inductively charged via the handle structure as taught by Lazzi. The motivation do this yields predictable results such as providing convenient and seamless recharging, as suggested by Lazzi, ¶0015, ¶0020. The modified combination would disclose wherein the handle structure of modified Choi is configured to inductively charge the RF receiving coil assembly of modified Choi in view of Lazzi.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RF receiving coil assembly of modified Choi such that includes a hanger comprising a transmitter/disposed adjacent to the transmitter coil configured to inductively charge the assembly as taught by Lazzi. The motivation do this yields predictable results such as providing convenient and seamless recharging, as suggested by Lazzi, ¶0015, ¶0020. The modified combination would disclose when the RF receiving coil assembly of modified Choi in view of Lazzi is disposed adjacent to a transmitting coil configured for inductive charging of Lazzi.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (2017/0074955 A1) in view of Lazzi et al (US 2018/0289189 A1).
Claim 20: Choi discloses, A radio frequency (RF) receiving coil assembly for a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system (¶Abstract, ‘An RF coil has an improved structure to prevent an excessive heat from being transferred to an object, and a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus includes the same. The MRI apparatus includes an RF coil configured to receive an RF signal, wherein the RF coil may include a first cover configured to allow thermal insulation material to be injected into the inside thereof, a second cover configured to allow thermal insulation material to be injected into the inside thereof and detachably coupled to the first cover to form an inner space with the first cover, and at least one circuit board disposed in the inner space and on which a circuit element configured to receive the RF signal is mounted.’), comprising:
a flexible enclosure; (FIG. 3, ¶0036, ‘The RF coil 500 may be used while being attached to a body, and thus the RF coil 500 may be formed to have a shape of part of body, e.g. head coil, neck coil, and waist coil.’; ¶0059, ‘The first cover 510 and the second cover 520 may be flexible to be bent or curved to fit the shape of an object, which is intended to be scanned.’)
an RF coil disposed within the flexible enclosure, wherein the RF coil comprises a plurality of flexible loops having a malleable conductor; and (FIG. 4A-4B, ¶0036, ‘The RF coil 500 may be used while being attached to a body, and thus the RF coil 500 may be formed to have a shape of part of body, e.g. head coil, neck coil, and waist coil.’; ¶0059, ‘The first cover 510 and the second cover 520 may be flexible to be bent or curved to fit the shape of an object, which is intended to be scanned.’)
a cutout within the flexible enclosure that is located outside an area where the RF coil is disposed within the flexible enclosure; and (FIG. 3- handle(s) 570 are in the flexible enclosure located outside an area where the RF coil is disposed within the flexible enclosure, the openings of the handle(s) constitutes as the at least one cutout. ¶0074, ‘The RF coil 500 may further include the handle 570 so that the RF coil 500 may be easily moved. The handle 570 may be provided in the rigid unit 511 and 521 provided in at least one of the first cover 510 and the second cover 520. Particularly, the handle 570 may be provided in the second rigid unit 521.). The openings (i.e., cutout(s)) is an inner component incorporated into the structure of the flexible enclosure. Hence, the cutout(s) are indeed provided within the inside of the flexible enclosures.
a handle structure (FIG. 3 - (e.g., handle 570 structure)) disposed within the cutout along a cutout perimeter (A part of the handle 570 is disposed within with the at least one cutout, wherein the cutout is along a cutout perimeter, see FIG. 3 Below), and wherein the handle structure within the cutout is configured to provide a handle for handling the RF receiving coil assembly. (¶0074, ‘The RF coil 500 may further include the handle 570 so that the RF coil 500 may be easily moved. The handle 570 may be provided in the rigid unit 511 and 521 provided in at least one of the first cover 510 and the second cover 520. Particularly, the handle 570 may be provided in the second rigid unit 521.). See FIG 3 highlighted below:
Choi fails to disclose: wherein the handle structure is configured to inductively charge the RF receiving coil assembly when the RF receiving coil is disposed adjacent to a transmitting coil configured for inductive charging
However, Lazzi in the context of hanger recharger systems discloses, wherein the handle structure is configured to inductively charge the RF receiving coil assembly (power receiving element 205- ¶0020, ‘The power receiver element 205 may connect to a power source 215 of the smart garment, which powers circuits and electronic components (e.g., 220) provided on or within the smart garment to provide various enhanced functionality. In some cases, wires connecting the power receiver element 205, battery 215, and/or electronic components (e.g., 220)’, see also ¶0014 & ¶0019 regarding the electromagnetic field)) when the RF receiving coil is disposed adjacent to a transmitting coil configured for inductive charging.
-This power receiver element 205 is configured for “inductive [...] charging”, ¶0013. Energy is “transferred inductively from the power transmitter element to the power receiver element”-Claim 18.
-The physical act of hanging the hanger device “causes the power transmitter element to be physically aligned with the power receiver element; and”, enables the inductive transfer. The hanger’s structure supports and positions these transmitter elements to interact with the garment when hung, ¶0015, ¶0019-0020. Hence, the RF receiving coil assembly is configured to be inductively charged via the handle structure.
-The charging/recharging of the battery-equipped garment, ‘[...] may thus take place while the garment is being hung (e.g. in a closet) using the charging hanger.’-¶0015. When the garment is ‘is hung on an example charging hanger, the receiving coil 210 of the garment may be aligned with a transmitting coil (or other power transfer element) 105 provided on the charging hanger 100, allowing power from the power supply of the hanger device 100 to be transmitted to the receiving coil 205 for use in charging a battery or other power store integrated with the garment (or other textile article) 200.’-¶0019. ‘the power receiver element 205 within an example smart textile device, such as the smart garment 200 shown in the illustration of FIG. 2B, may be positioned within the garment so that it corresponds with (and is more likely to align with) a known location of a power transmitter element 105 of a charging hanger device 100 when the garment 200 is hung on the hanger device 100.’-¶0020.
-The clothes hanger device, ‘include one or more power transmitter elements’-¶Abstract. The power transfer or transmitting element 105, ‘such as a transmitting coil provided within the body of or on the face of the clothes hanger device 100.’, ¶0016. In addition, the charging hanger ‘[...] may be provided with multiple power transfer elements (e.g., 105 a-c), such as transmitting coils, antennas (e.g., to work at higher frequencies (e.g., dipoles or patch), such as to support data transmission), or other power transmitter elements located in different positions using the structure of the charging hanger.’, ¶0022.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handle structure of Choi such that it includes the power receiver element 205 configured to be inductively charged via the handle structure as taught by Lazzi. The motivation do this yields predictable results such as providing convenient and seamless recharging, as suggested by Lazzi, ¶0015, ¶0020. The modified combination would disclose wherein the handle structure of modified Choi is configured to inductively charge the RF receiving coil assembly of Lazzi.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RF coil assembly of modified Choi such that includes a hanger comprising a transmitter/disposed adjacent to the transmitter coil configured to inductively charge the assembly as taught by Lazzi. The motivation do this yields predictable results such as providing convenient and seamless recharging, as suggested by Lazzi, ¶0015, ¶0020. The modified combination would disclose when the RF receiving coil assembly of modified Choi in view of Lazzi is disposed adjacent to a transmitting coil configured for inductive charging of Lazzi.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fischer et al (US 2012/0126814 A1) discloses, a radio frequency (RF) receiving coil assembly for a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system, comprising: a flexible enclosure; an RF coil disposed within the flexible enclosure, wherein the RF coil comprises a plurality of flexible loops having a malleable conductor; and at least one cutout in the flexible enclosure located outside an area where the RF coil is disposed within the flexible enclosure, wherein the at least one cutout is configured to provide a handle for handling the RF receiving coil assembly.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798