DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed July 31, 2025 have been entered and considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2, Claims 1-2 and 5-20, Fig. 1-4 in the reply filed on February 25, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 25, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (KR 20160094755 A), in view of Kim et al. (CN 110249437 A), and Song (KR 20180024558 A).
Regarding claim 1, Lim et al. teaches:
a support substrate [200, paragraph [0027], Fig. 1-5];
a light emitting diode chip [100, paragraph [0027], Fig. 1-5] mounted on a surface of the support substrate [200, Fig. 1-5];
a wavelength conversion member [190, paragraph [0073], Fig. 5] formed on a light emitting surface [100L, paragraph [0043-0045], Fig. 5] of the light emitting diode chip [100, Fig. 1-5],
an electrode pad [171, 173, paragraph [0043], [0045], [0070-0071], Fig. 1-5] formed on a surface of the support substrate [200, Fig. 1-5] to be electrically connected with the light emitting diode chip [100, paragraph [0043], [0047], Fig. 1-5];
a conductive bonding material [“solder or process bonding”, paragraph [0070]] formed on one surface of the electrode pad [171, 173, Fig. 1-5]; and
a thermal expansion compensation layer [210 “first base”, paragraph [0035], Fig. 1-5] formed on one surface of the conductive bonding material [“solder or process bonding”, paragraph [0070]],
wherein the thermal expansion compensation layer [210 “first base”, Fig. 1-5] includes a conductive layer [223, 233, paragraph [0036-0037], Fig. 1-5] and an insulating layer [“insulating material”, Paragraph [0035], Fig. 1-5], and at least a portion of the insulating layer [“insulating material”, Fig. 1-5] is formed between portions of the conductive layer [223, 233, Fig. 1-5], and
wherein a portion of the conductive layer [223, 233, Fig. 1-5] is surrounded by the insulating layer [“insulating material”, Fig. 1-5].
Lim et al. does not teach:
a reflection member formed to surround a side surface of the wavelength conversion member.
Kim et al. teaches:
a reflection member [130, paragraph [0081], [0084-0085], Fig. 3-4] formed to surround a side surface of the wavelength conversion member [120, paragraph [0081], Fig. 3-4];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al. into the teachings of Lim et al. to include a reflection member formed to surround a side surface of the wavelength conversion member, for the purpose of preventing light blurring around the wavelength conversion member, preventing light leakage, and preventing light from passing through the blocking component. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Lim et al. and Kim et al. do not teach:
a light emitting diode chip mounted on a first surface of the support substrate;
an electrode pad formed on a second surface of the support substrate to be electrically connected with the light emitting diode chip;
and wherein the support substrate is disposed between the light emitting diode chip and the electrode pad.
Song teaches:
a light emitting diode chip [110, paragraph [0029], Fig. 1-3] mounted on a first surface of the support substrate [310, Fig. 1-3];
an electrode pad [221, 223, Fig. 1-3] formed on a second surface of the support substrate [310, Fig. 1-3] to be electrically connected with the light emitting diode chip [110, Fig. 1-3];
and wherein the support substrate [310, paragraph [0029-0031], Fig. 1-3] is disposed between the light emitting diode chip [110, paragraph [0059], Fig. 1-3] and the electrode pad [221, 223, paragraph [0036-0040], Fig. 1-3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Song into the teachings of Lim et al. and Kim et al. to include a light emitting diode chip mounted on a first surface of the support substrate; an electrode pad formed on a second surface of the support substrate to be electrically connected with the light emitting diode chip; and wherein the support substrate is disposed between the light emitting diode chip and the electrode pad, for the purpose of improving thermal conductivity, and electrically connect features. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 2, Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song teach the light emitting device according to claim 1.
Lim et al. further teaches:
wherein the support substrate [200, paragraph [0035], Fig. 1-5] is implemented with a ceramic material including AlN.
Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Lim et al. and Song do not teach:
the reflection member is implemented with a silicon material having a white color.
Kim et al. teaches:
the reflection member [130, paragraph [0080], Fig. 3-4] is implemented with a silicon material having a white color.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al. into the teachings of Lim et al., and Song to include the reflection member is implemented with a silicon material having a white color, for the purpose of reducing the reflection of visible and near-infrared wavelengths that silicon can convert into electricity. The white color is inherent because white reflects light better than other colors.
Regarding claim 5, Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song teach the light emitting device according to claim 1.
Lim et al. further teaches:
wherein the electrode pad [171, 173, Fig. 1-5] includes a pair of first and second electrode pads [171, 173, Fig. 1-5] which are electrically connected with the light emitting diode chip [100, paragraph [0043], Fig. 1-5] corresponding to the electrode pad [171, 173, Fig. 1-5].
Regarding claim 12, Lim et al. teaches:
a light emitting diode chip [100, paragraph [0027], Fig. 1-5] mounted on a surface of a support substrate [200, paragraph [0027], Fig. 1-5];
a wavelength conversion member [190, paragraph [0073], Fig. 5] formed on a light emitting surface [100L, paragraph [0043-0045], Fig. 5] of the light emitting diode chip [100, Fig. 1-5],
an electrode pad [171, 173, paragraph [0043], [0045], [0070-0071], Fig. 1-5] formed on a surface of the support substrate [200, Fig. 1-5] to be electrically connected with the light emitting diode chip [100, Fig. 1-5];
a circuit board [300, paragraph [0027-0029], Fig. 1-5] formed with a circuit pattern [330, paragraph [0031], Fig. 1-5] which is electrically connected with the electrode pad [171, 173, Fig. 1-5]; and
a conductive bonding material [“solder or process bonding”, paragraph [0039], [0070]] formed between the electrode pad [171, 173, Fig. 1-5] and the circuit pattern [330, Fig. 1-5] to electrically connect the electrode pad [171, 173, Fig. 1-5] and the circuit pattern [330, Fig. 1-5].
Lim et al. does not teach:
a reflection member formed to surround a side surface of the wavelength conversion member.
Kim et al. teaches:
a reflection member [130, paragraph [0081], [0084-0085], Fig. 3-4] formed to surround a side surface of the wavelength conversion member [120, paragraph [0081], Fig. 3-4];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al. into the teachings of Lim et al. to include a reflection member formed to surround a side surface of the wavelength conversion member, for the purpose of preventing light blurring around the wavelength conversion member, preventing light leakage, and preventing light from passing through the blocking component. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Lim et al. and Kim et al. do not teach:
a light emitting diode chip mounted on a first surface of the support substrate;
an electrode pad formed on a second surface of the support substrate to be electrically connected with the light emitting diode chip;
and wherein the support substrate is disposed between the light emitting diode chip and the electrode pad.
Song teaches:
a light emitting diode chip [110, paragraph [0029], Fig. 1-3] mounted on a first surface of the support substrate [310, Fig. 1-3];
an electrode pad [221, 223, Fig. 1-3] formed on a second surface of the support substrate [310, Fig. 1-3] to be electrically connected with the light emitting diode chip [110, Fig. 1-3];
and wherein the support substrate [310, paragraph [0029-0031], Fig. 1-3] is disposed between the light emitting diode chip [110, paragraph [0059], Fig. 1-3] and the electrode pad [221, 223, paragraph [0036-0040], Fig. 1-3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Song into the teachings of Lim et al. and Kim et al. to include a light emitting diode chip mounted on a first surface of the support substrate; an electrode pad formed on a second surface of the support substrate to be electrically connected with the light emitting diode chip; and wherein the support substrate is disposed between the light emitting diode chip and the electrode pad, for the purpose of improving thermal conductivity, and electrically connect features. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Lim et al., Kim et al., and Song do not explicitly teach:
wherein coefficients of thermal expansion of the support substrate, the electrode pad and the conductive bonding material are different, and a coefficient of thermal expansion gradually increases from the support substrate to the circuit board.
Given the finite number of materials that can meet all cited limitations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the features out of materials with an increasing coefficient of thermal expansion for the purpose of lowering the occurrences of thermal expansion in regions close to the light emitting diode chip and improve heat dissipation. Known properties of materials can be found at matweb.com or any other credible source.
Regarding claim 13, Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song teach the light emitting device according to claim 12.
Lim et al. further teaches:
wherein the support substrate [200, paragraph [0035], Fig. 1-5] is implemented with a ceramic material including AlN.
Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Lim et al. and Song do not teach:
the reflection member is implemented with a silicon material having a white color.
Kim et al. teaches:
the reflection member [130, paragraph [0080], Fig. 3-4] is implemented with a silicon material having a white color.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al. into the teachings of Lim et al., and Song to include the reflection member is implemented with a silicon material having a white color, for the purpose of reducing the reflection of visible and near-infrared wavelengths that silicon can convert into electricity. The white color is inherent because white reflects light better than other colors.
Regarding claim 14, Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song teach the light emitting device according to claim 12.
Lim et al. further teaches:
wherein the electrode pad [171, 173, Fig. 1-5] includes a pair of first and second electrode pads [171, 173, Fig. 1-5] which are electrically connected with the light emitting diode chip [100, paragraph [0043], Fig. 1-5] corresponding to the electrode pad [171, 173, Fig. 1-5].
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (KR 20160094755 A), in view of Kim et al. (CN 110249437 A) and Song (KR 20180024558 A) as applied to claim 5 and 12 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20140078823 A), hereby referred to as Kim et al. ‘823.
Regarding claim 6, Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song teach the light emitting device according to claim 5.
Lim et al. further teaches:
wherein the first and second electrode pads [171, 173, Fig. 1-5] are formed on the surface of the support substrate [200, Fig. 1-5] to be vertically or horizontally symmetrical to each other.
Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song teach the above claimed subject matter.
However, Lim et al. and Kim et al. do not teach:
wherein the first and second electrode pads are formed on the second surface of the support substrate.
Song teaches:
wherein the first and second electrode pads [221, 223, Fig. 1-3] are formed on a second surface of the support substrate [310, Fig. 1-3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Song into the teachings of Lim et al. and Kim et al. to include wherein the first and second electrode pads are formed on the second surface of the support substrate, for the purpose of improving thermal conductivity, and electrically connect features. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song do not teach:
first and second electrode pads are pads of a same polarity.
Kim et al. ‘823 teaches:
first and second electrode pads are pads of a same polarity [250, paragraph [0104], Fig. 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al. ‘823 into the teachings of Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song to include the first and second electrode pads are pads of a same polarity, for the purpose of continuous function of the device even when a poor contact occurs in one of the electrode pads.
Regarding claim 15, Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song teach the light emitting device according to claim 12.
Lim et al. teaches:
wherein the first and second electrode pads [171, 173, Fig. 1-5] are formed on the surface of the support substrate [200, Fig. 1-5] to be vertically or horizontally symmetrical to each other.
Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song teach the above claimed subject matter.
However, Lim et al. and Kim et al. do not teach:
wherein the first and second electrode pads are formed on the second surface of the support substrate.
Song teaches:
wherein the first and second electrode pads [221, 223, Fig. 1-3] are formed on a second surface of the support substrate [310, Fig. 1-3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Song into the teachings of Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song to include wherein the first and second electrode pads are formed on the second surface of the support substrate, for the purpose of improving thermal conductivity, and electrically connect features. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song do not teach:
first and second electrode pads have a same polarity.
Kim et al. ‘823 teaches:
first and second electrode pads have a same polarity [250, paragraph [0104], Fig. 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al. ‘823 into the teachings of Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song to include the first and second electrode pads have a same polarity, for the purpose of continuous function of the device even when a poor contact occurs in one of the electrode pads.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (KR 20160094755 A), in view of Kim et al. (CN 110249437 A) and Song (KR 20180024558 A) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (KR 20190061908 A).
Regarding claim 7, Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song teach the light emitting device according to claim 1.
Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song do not teach:
wherein the electrode pad is implemented in a pattern shape in which a corner portion has a predetermined curvature.
Lee et al. teaches:
wherein the electrode pad [230 (231, 232), paragraph [0047], [0128-0130], [0135-0138], Fig. 3] is implemented in a pattern shape in which a corner portion has a predetermined curvature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee et al. into the teachings of Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song to include wherein the electrode pad is implemented in a pattern shape in which a corner portion has a predetermined curvature, for the purpose of preventing damage to the resin layer, thereby improving reliability of the semiconductor device package, preventing stress concentration at a corner, and securing yield of the semiconductor device package manufacturing process.
Regarding claim 16, Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song teach the light emitting device according to claim 12.
Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song do not teach:
wherein the electrode pad is implemented in a pattern shape in which a corner portion has a predetermined curvature.
Lee et al. teaches:
wherein the electrode pad [230 (231, 232), paragraph [0047], [0128-0130], [0135-0138], Fig. 3] is implemented in a pattern shape in which a corner portion has a predetermined curvature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee et al. into the teachings of Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song to include wherein the electrode pad is implemented in a pattern shape in which a corner portion has a predetermined curvature, for the purpose of preventing damage to the resin layer, thereby improving reliability of the semiconductor device package, preventing stress concentration at a corner, and securing yield of the semiconductor device package manufacturing process.
Claims 8-10 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (KR 20160094755 A), in view of Kim et al. (CN 110249437 A) and Song (KR 20180024558 A) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Baftiri et al. (US 10653009 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song teach the light emitting device according to claim 1.
Lim et al. further teaches:
the thermal expansion compensation layer [210, paragraph [0035], Fig. 1-2] is formed between the electrode pad [171, 173, Fig. 1-2] and the conductive bonding material [“solder” paragraph [0034], Fig. 5].
Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song do not teach:
the thermal expansion compensation layer includes the insulating layer which has at least one via hole, a first conductive layer which is formed on a first surface of the insulating layer and a second conductive layer which is formed on a second surface of the insulating layer, and the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are electrically connected through a via hole.
Baftiri et al. teaches:
the thermal expansion compensation layer [101 “a stack”, Fig. 1-6] includes the insulating layer [102, Col. 10, Lines 25-34, Fig. 1-6] which has at least one via hole [106 “conductive connections”, Col. 6, Lines 60-65, Fig. 1-6], a first conductive layer [104 (top), Col. 10, Lines 25-34, Fig. 1-6] which is formed on a first surface [(top)] of the insulating layer [102, Fig. 1-6] and a second conductive layer [104 (bottom), Fig. 1-6] which is formed on a second surface [(bottom)] of the insulating layer [102, Fig. 1-6], and the first conductive layer [104 (top), Fig. 1-6] and the second conductive layer [104 (bottom), Fig. 1-6] are electrically connected through a via hole [106 “conductive connections”, Fig. 1-6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Baftiri et al. into the teachings of Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song to include the thermal expansion compensation layer includes the insulating layer which has at least one via hole, a first conductive layer which is formed on a first surface of the insulating layer and a second conductive layer which is formed on a second surface of the insulating layer, and the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are electrically connected through a via hole, for the purpose of improving thermal conductance, thereby decreasing stress within the device.
Regarding claim 9, Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. teach the light emitting device according to claim 8.
Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Lim et al., Kim et al., and Song do not teach:
wherein the insulating layer is implemented with a polyimide material whose coefficient of thermal expansion is relatively small as compared to the electrode pad and conductive bonding material.
Baftiri et al. teaches:
wherein the insulating layer [102, Fig. 1-6] is implemented with a polyimide material [Col. 7, Lines 27-36, Fig. 1-6] whose coefficient of thermal expansion is relatively small [Col. 4, Lines 54-63, Fig. 1-6] as compared to the electrode pad and conductive bonding material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Baftiri et al. into the teachings of Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. to include wherein the insulating layer is implemented with a polyimide material whose coefficient of thermal expansion is relatively small as compared to the electrode pad and conductive bonding material, for the purpose of efficient thermal expansion, thereby decreasing stress within the device.
Regarding claim 10, Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. teach the light emitting device according to claim 8.
Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Lim et al., Kim et al., and Song do not teach:
wherein the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are implemented with a same material as the electrode pad, and each is implemented in a pattern shape which has a same width and shape as the electrode pad.
Baftiri et al. teaches:
wherein the first conductive layer [104 (top), Fig. 1-6] and the second conductive layer [104 (bottom), Fig. 1-6] are implemented with a same material [Col. 7, Lines 47-53, Fig. 1-6] as the electrode pad, and each is implemented in a pattern shape which has a same width and shape as the electrode pad.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Baftiri et al. into the teachings of Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. to include wherein the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are implemented with a same material as the electrode pad, and each is implemented in a pattern shape which has a same width and shape as the electrode pad, for the purpose of Copper is a cheap and effective conductor. Being the same width and shape as electrode pad will increase density and symmetry within the device, and decrease parasitic capacitance.
Regarding claim 17, Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song teach the light emitting device according to claim 12.
Lim et al. further teaches:
a thermal expansion compensation layer [210, paragraph [0035], Fig. 1-2] is additionally included between the electrode pad [171, 173, Fig. 1-2] and the conductive bonding material [“solder” paragraph [0034], Fig. 5].
Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song do not teach:
the thermal expansion compensation layer includes an insulating layer which has at least one via hole, a first conductive layer which is formed on a first surface of the insulating layer and a second conductive layer which is formed on a second surface of the insulating layer, and the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are electrically connected through a via hole.
Baftiri et al. teaches:
the thermal expansion compensation layer [101 “a stack”, Fig. 1-6] includes an insulating layer [102, Col. 10, Lines 25-34, Fig. 1-6] which has at least one via hole [106 “conductive connections”, Col. 6, Lines 60-65, Fig. 1-6], a first conductive layer [104 (top), Col. 10, Lines 25-34, Fig. 1-6] which is formed on a first surface [(top)] of the insulating layer [102, Fig. 1-6] and a second conductive layer [104 (bottom), Fig. 1-6] which is formed on a second surface [(bottom)] of the insulating layer [102, Fig. 1-6], and the first conductive layer [104 (top), Fig. 1-6] and the second conductive layer [104 (bottom), Fig. 1-6] are electrically connected through a via hole [106 “conductive connections”, Fig. 1-6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Baftiri et al. into the teachings of Lim et al., Kim et al. and Song to include the thermal expansion compensation layer includes an insulating layer which has at least one via hole, a first conductive layer which is formed on a first surface of the insulating layer and a second conductive layer which is formed on a second surface of the insulating layer, and the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are electrically connected through a via hole, for the purpose of improving thermal conductance, thereby decreasing stress within the device.
Regarding claim 18, Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. teach the light emitting device according to claim 17.
Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Lim et al., Kim et al., and Song do not teach:
wherein the insulating layer is implemented with a polyimide material whose coefficient of thermal expansion is relatively small as compared to the electrode pad and conductive bonding material.
Baftiri et al. teaches:
wherein the insulating layer [102, Fig. 1-6] is implemented with a polyimide material [Col. 7, Lines 27-36, Fig. 1-6] whose coefficient of thermal expansion is relatively small [Col. 4, Lines 54-63, Fig. 1-6] as compared to the electrode pad and conductive bonding material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Baftiri et al. into the teachings of Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. to include wherein the insulating layer is implemented with a polyimide material whose coefficient of thermal expansion is relatively small as compared to the electrode pad and conductive bonding material, for the purpose of efficient thermal expansion, thereby decreasing stress within the device.
Regarding claim 19, Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. teach the light emitting device according to claim 17.
Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Lim et al., Kim et al., and Song do not teach:
wherein the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are implemented with a same material as the electrode pad, and each is implemented in a pattern shape which has a same width and shape as the electrode pad.
Baftiri et al. teaches:
wherein the first conductive layer [104 (top), Fig. 1-6] and the second conductive layer [104 (bottom), Fig. 1-6] are implemented with a same material [Col. 7, Lines 47-53, Fig. 1-6] as the electrode pad, and each is implemented in a pattern shape which has a same width and shape as the electrode pad.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Baftiri et al. into the teachings of Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. to include wherein the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are implemented with a same material as the electrode pad, and each is implemented in a pattern shape which has a same width and shape as the electrode pad, for the purpose of Copper is a cheap and effective conductor. Being the same width and shape as electrode pad will increase density and symmetry within the device, and decrease parasitic capacitance.
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (KR 20160094755 A), in view of Kim et al. (CN 110249437 A), Song (KR 20180024558 A) and Baftiri et al. (US 10653009 B1) as applied to claim 8 and 18 above, and further in view of Sakamoto et al. (US 6562660 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. teach the light emitting device according to claim 8.
Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. do not teach:
wherein the insulating layer is implemented in a pattern of a shape which protrudes by a predetermined distance out of the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer when viewed on a cross-section.
Sakamoto et al. teaches:
wherein the insulating layer [5 “glass epoxy”, Col. 1, Lines 38-44, Fig. 26A-26D] is implemented in a pattern of a shape which protrudes by a predetermined distance out of the first conductive layer [20 and 7/8, Col. 2, Lines 3-12, Fig. 26A-26D] and the second conductive layer [21 and 10/11, Col. 2, Lines 3-12, Fig. 26A-26D] when viewed on a cross-section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sakamoto et al. into the teachings of Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. to include wherein the insulating layer is implemented in a pattern of a shape which protrudes by a predetermined distance out of the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer when viewed on a cross-section, for the purpose of compensating more efficiently for different degrees of expansion.
Regarding claim 20, Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. teach the light emitting device according to claim 18.
Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. do not teach:
wherein the insulating layer is implemented in a pattern of a shape which protrudes by a predetermined distance out of the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer when viewed on a cross-section.
Sakamoto et al. teaches:
wherein the insulating layer [5 “glass epoxy”, Col. 1, Lines 38-44, Fig. 26A-26D] is implemented in a pattern of a shape which protrudes by a predetermined distance out of the first conductive layer [20 and 7/8, Col. 2, Lines 3-12, Fig. 26A-26D] and the second conductive layer [21 and 10/11, Col. 2, Lines 3-12, Fig. 26A-26D] when viewed on a cross-section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sakamoto et al. into the teachings of Lim et al., Kim et al., Song and Baftiri et al. to include wherein the insulating layer is implemented in a pattern of a shape which protrudes by a predetermined distance out of the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer when viewed on a cross-section, for the purpose of compensating more efficiently for different degrees of expansion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues on pages 2-4, Section: Amended Claims Patentable under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed July 31, 2025 that the current prior art of record does not teach the amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 12. Examiner agrees with Applicant; However, after a new line of search and consideration the amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 12 can be overcome by newly cited source Song (KR 20180024558 A).
Applicant argues on page 4, Section: Amended Claims Patentable under 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed July 31, 2025 that dependent claims 2, 5-11 and 13-20 are dependent on independent claims 1 and 12 and therefore should be in condition for allowance. Examiner disagree with Applicant for at least the reasons mentioned above.
Applicant argues on page 4, Section: Withdrawn Claims 3 and 4 Should Be Rejoined and Be Allowed, in remarks filed July 31, 2025 that currently withdrawn claims 3-4 should be rejoined and allowable. Examiner disagrees with Applicant for at least the reasons mentioned above.
In summary, the amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 12 can be overcome by newly cited source Song (KR 20180024558 A). Claims directly or indirectly dependent on independent claims 1 and 12 are rejected for at least the reasons mentioned above. Currently withdrawn claims 3 and 4 will not be rejoined.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 2815 02/11/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815