DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species F in Figs. 49-51, in reply filed 01/07/2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11/21/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-14 and 19-24 are pending. Claims 10-14 and 22-24 are withdrawn because they are drawn to a non-elected species. Claims 15-18 are cancelled. Claims 1-5, 7, 9-10, 12-14, and 19-24 are amended. Claims 1-9 and 19-21 are examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-12, filed 11/21/2025, with respect to the rejections identified in the final office action dated 08/22/2025, have been fully considered. Applicant can amended the independent claims with newly added limitations. Such newly added amendments to the independent claims change the scope of the claims. Therefore, the rejections previously identified in the final office action dated 08/22/2025 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made below und 35 U.S.C. §103. Please see section 35 U.S.C. §103 for further explanation.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “one of more of the multiple joints” in lines 8-9. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “one or more of the multiple joints” to correct the typo.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “information of usage status of a specific mode” in lines 13-14. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “information on usage status of a specific mode” to maintain continuity with the rest of the claim set.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the process is configured to generate the usage status information” in line 5. However claim 4 indirectly depends from claim 1. Claim 1 previously introduces the processor configured to “generate a usage status information” in line 12. Therefore it is unclear whether the limitation in claim 4 is further limiting the usage information previously introduced in claim 1 or whether the limitation in claim 4 is creating a new and distinct usage status information from the previously identified usage status information in claim 1.
If the Applicant’ s intention is to further limit the same usage status information from claim 1,
then it is suggested to amend the limitation in claim 4 to state language similar to, but not limited to, “wherein the usage status information is based on the one or more modes inputted via the controller.”
Another option would be to clarify the relationship between the usage status information, the specific mode, and the controller by amending claim 4 with language similar to, but not limited to, “the endoscope system includes a controller configured to input the specific mode of the one or more modes, and the processor is configured to receive the input from the controller and output the usage status information.”
If the Applicant’s intention is to change the usage state information previously introduced in claim 1 after the usage status information from claim 1 is generated, then it is suggested to amend the limitation in claim 4 to state language similar to, but not limited to, “ the processor is configured to generate a second usage status information…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “information on usage status” in line 4. Claim 4 indirectly depends from claim 1. Claim 1 introduces the limitation “information of usage status” in lines 13-14. It is unclear whether the limitation in claim 4 is referencing the limitation in claim 1 or introducing separate “information on usage status.” It is suggested to amend the limitation in claim 1 to state, “information on usage status of a specific mode” to maintain continuity with the rest of the claim set. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the information on usage status" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the limitation in claim 1 to state, “information on usage status of a specific mode” to maintain continuity with the rest of the claim set. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the usage information" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to delete the last whole limitation in claim 5 as it is redundant to the newly added amendments in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amir Belson (US2007/0135803) hereinafter Belson in view of Buda et al. (US2018/0225420) hereinafter Buda.
Regarding Claim 1, Belson discloses an endoscope system ([0007] “In keeping with the foregoing discussion, the present invention takes the form of methods and apparatus for performing endoscopic colectomy that combine the advantages of the laparoscopic and endolumenal approaches.”) comprising:
an endoscope (Fig. 25 endoscope 20) comprising a bending portion (Fig. 25 controllable portion 28), the bending portion (Fig. 25 controllable portion 28) comprises multiple joints (Fig. 25 multiple segments 30 having hinged joints 506 and 508 as shown in Figs. 29B/29C) that is capable of bending ([0239] “The automatically controlled portion 28 is segmented, and each segment is capable of bending through a full range of steerable motion. The distal portion 24 is also a controllable segment.” And [0264]);
an actuator ([0242] “Each of the segments 30 has tendons mechanically connected to actuators to allow for the controlled motion of the segments 30 in space. The actuators driving the tendons may include a variety of different types of mechanisms capable of applying a force to a tendon, e.g., electromechanical motors, pneumatic and hydraulic cylinders, pneumatic and hydraulic motors, solenoids, shape memory alloy wires, electronic rotary actuators or other devices or methods as known in the art. If shape memory alloy wires are used, they are preferably configured into several wire bundles attached at a proximal end of each of the tendons within the controller. Segment articulation may be accomplished by applying energy, e.g., electrical current, heat, etc., to each of the bundles to actuate a linear motion in the wire bundles which in turn actuate the tendon movement. The linear translation of the actuators within the controller may be configured to move over a relatively short distance, e.g., within a few inches or less such as +/−0.1 inch, to accomplish effective articulation depending upon the desired degree of segment movement and articulation.”) that outputs a driving force for bending the bending portion (Fig. 25 controllable portion 28), the actuator ([0242]) configured to drive the multiple joints independently ([0242], [0247], And [0264]); and
a processor (Fig. 25 motion controller 25, [0246] “The motion controller 45 controls the movement of the segmented automatically controlled proximal portion 28 of the body 21. This controller 45 may be implemented using a motion control program running on a microcomputer or using an application-specific motion controller. Alternatively, the controller 45 may be implemented using, e.g., a neural network controller.”) comprising hardware ([0246 -0247] “The actuators applying force to the tendons may be included in the motion controller unit 45, as shown, or may be located separately and connected by a control cable.”), wherein the processor (Fig. 25 motion controller 25, [0246]) is configured to:
control the actuator ([0247] “The actuators applying force to the tendons may be included in the motion controller unit 45, as shown, or may be located separately and connected by a control cable.”) by switching one or more modes (one of the bias conditions “…a bias condition with a predetermined and desired shape or curve.” [0294-0300]) of controlling one of more of the multiple joints (Fig. 25 multiple segments 30 having hinged joints 506 and 508 as shown in Figs. 29B/29C), wherein the one or more of the multiple joints (Fig. 25 multiple segments 30 having hinged joints 506 and 508 as shown in Figs. 29B/29C), are bent differently under different modes (pre-bias condition “…a bias condition with a predetermined and desired shape or curve.” [0294-0300]) among the one or more modes ([0295-0300] “The use of pre-bias is also illustrated with articulating instrument 22 (FIGS. 35 e, 35 f).Articulating instrument 23 includes a plurality of segments (not shown for clarity) with selectively steerable distal portion 25 and an automatically controlled proximal portion 26. The articulating instrument 22 may be pre-biased into any desired curve. The curve may represent a typical pathway used, for example, in a surgical procedure such as an operation within the thoracic cavity, where the pre-bias shape is related to the likely shape of instrument when finally in position. The general pre-bias shape may be manipulated to fine tune the shape to patient specific anatomy. In another example, the pre-bias shape may relate to the pathway formed by vasculature or relate to the anatomy within an organ, such as the heart.”)
generate usage status information ([0578] “Position data such as location and/or orientation data from the tracking subsystem 20 is in turn relayed to the data processor 16. The data processor 16 is adapted to receive position/orientation data from the tracking subsystem 20 and operable to render a volumetric perspective image and/or a surface rendered image of the region of interest. The volumetric perspective and/or surface image is rendered 36 from the scan data 32 using rendering techniques well known in the art. The image data may be further manipulated 38 based on the position/orientation data for the surgical instrument 12 received from tracking subsystem 20. Specifically, the volumetric perspective or surface rendered image is rendered from a point of view which relates to position of the surgical instrument 12.”) indicating information of usage status of a specific mode (a specific pre-bias condition [0294-0300], similar to but not limited to, the example of a left hand pre-bias in paragraphs [0294-0300] and “The general pre-bias shape may be manipulated to fine tune the shape to patient specific anatomy. In another example, the pre-bias shape may relate to the pathway formed by vasculature or relate to the anatomy within an organ, such as the heart…pre-bias shape embodiments also include: a pre-bias shape is related to: a typical pathway used in a surgical procedure, a portion of the vasculature; a portion of the skeleton, the shape of an organ, including both internal and external organ shapes. In some embodiments, the pre-bias shape is related to the internal shape of a portion of a heart, a colon, a gut, or a throat. In some embodiments, the pre-bias shape is related to the external shape of a portion of a heart, a liver, or a kidney.” [0296-0300]) among the one or more modes (one of the bias conditions , “…a bias condition with a predetermined and desired shape or curve.” [0294-0300])
Belson is silent at explicitly describing whether the processor – the motion controller 45 on the neural network – is also configured to generate a first identifier, which is information for identifying a case in which the endoscope is used and output the first identifier associated with the usage status information.
However Buda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a processor configured to generate a first identifier, which is information for identifying a case in which the endoscope is used, (Buda -[0037] “Procedural departments 132 and assets may include, but are not limited to, procedural specialists, surgical cameras, angiographic imaging devices, hemodynamic monitors, and endoscopes.” [0039] “The server 102 may be configured to add data from each domain 114, 120, 122, 124, 130, 136 to the patient EMR 144 and allow direct access to the patient EMR 144 by appropriate assets within each domain 114, 120, 122, 124, 130, 136. Furthermore, the server 102 may include a collaborator resource monitor 146 to monitor which assets, domains 114, 120, 122, 124, 130, 136, or other resources are being accessed by a healthcare provider at any given time, including tagging particular resource allocations with an identifier corresponding to a collaborating healthcare provider such that any collaborations added to the patient EMR 144 or electronic medical record are associated with the healthcare provider.” [0043] “ Data from client device 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160, or the client devices 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160 themselves, may be tagged with patient 116, 118 identifiers or other metrics. Similar tags may also be added to EMRs 144 to facilitate searching.”), and
output the first identifier associated with the usage status information (Buda - [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Belson to include the teachings of Buda to have configured to generate a first identifier, which is information for identifying a case in which the endoscope is used, and output the first identifier associated with the usage status information for the benefit of “…coordinating and facilitating communication and data sharing between healthcare providers and patients includes a computer system that establishes data communication with separate healthcare systems and monitoring instruments” (Buda – abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Belson in view of Buda teaches the endoscope system according to claim 1, further discloses wherein the endoscope system communicates with a first server (Buda - [0037-0041] remote servers), the first server (Buda - [0037-0041] remote servers) acquires the first identifier and the usage status information, and the first server outputs a billing amount based on the usage status (Buda -[0038] “A systems domain 136 allows server 102 access to administrative systems 138, 140, 142 within the hospital 100 such as a scheduling system 138, a billing system 140, and a hospital record system 142. Each system 138, 140, 142 may include plugins to facilitate data communication with the server 102.”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Belson with the teachings of Buda to include wherein the endoscope system can communicate with a first server to acquire the first identifier and the usage status information, and outputs a billing amount for use of the mode based on the usage status information for the benefit of “…coordinating and facilitating collaborative communication, education, and data access between healthcare providers and patients” [0006].
Regarding claim 3, Belson in view of Buda teach the endoscope system according to claim 2, wherein the processor (Buda - [0033-0053] and claim 1 processor) acquires the second identifier (Buda - Fig. 9 step 902 necessary personnel and physical assets associated with event) from a second server (Buda - Fig. 1A server 102) or the endoscope and wherein the first identifier (Buda - Fig. 9 step 900 scheduled event), is a hash value based on the second identifier (Buda - Fig. 9 step 902 necessary personnel and physical assets associated with event).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to Belson with Buda to include wherein the processor acquires a second identifier, and generates the first identifier which is has value generated based on the acquired second identifier for the benefit of “…coordinating and facilitating collaborative communication, education, and data access between healthcare providers and patients” [0006] because “the server system may identify an independent hospital system useful for managing the allocation of different classes of assets; and then interacting with each system as necessary” [0071].
Regarding Claim 4, Belson in view of Buda teaches the endoscope system according to claim 2, wherein the endoscope system includes a controller (Belson - Fig. 25 steering controller 47) configured to input the one or more modes (Belson - one of the bias conditions , “…a bias condition with a predetermined and desired shape or curve.” [0294-0300]), and the processor is configured to generate the usage status information using information on usage status of the one or more modes inputted via the controller (Belson – [0297] “… once the desired curve (24) has been selected with the selectively steerable distal portion 25, as the articulating instrument 22 advances distally, the selected curve 24 is propagated proximally along the automatically controlled proximal portion 26 using an electronic motion controller. As is common in “follow the leader” techniques (described below) the curve 24 remains fixed in space while the articulating instrument 22 advances distally through the sigmoid colon.”).
Regarding claim 5, Belson in view of Buda teach the endoscope system according to claim 1, wherein the processor (Belson -Fig. 25 motion controller 25, [0246])
detects the one or more modes (Belson - one of the bias conditions , “…a bias condition with a predetermined and desired shape or curve.” [0294-0300]) used in a case based on the information on usage status, and
generates the usage information when the a specific mode(a specific pre-bias condition [0294-0300], similar to but not limited to, the example of a left hand pre-bias in paragraphs [0294-0300] is included in the one or more modes (Belson - one of the bias conditions , “…a bias condition with a predetermined and desired shape or curve.” [0294-0300]) used in the case, (Belson -[0297] ( “The control signals from the steering control to the selectively steerable distal portion 25 are monitored by an electronic motion controller. Once the correct curve of the selectively steerable distal portion 25 for advancing the distal end of the instrument 22 into the sigmoid colon has been selected, the curve is logged into the memory of the electronic motion controller as a reference. Whether operated in manual mode or automatic mode, once the desired curve (24) has been selected with the selectively steerable distal portion 25, as the articulating instrument 22 advances distally, the selected curve 24 is propagated proximally along the automatically controlled proximal portion 26 using an electronic motion controller.”).
Regarding claim 6, Belson in view of Buda teach the endoscope system according to claim 5, wherein the processor (Belson -Fig. 25 motion controller 25, [0246]) generates, as the usage status information, information indicating that the specific mode has been used, the number of times the specific mode has been used, or a usage time of the specific mode (Belson -[0391] “The methods of embodiments of the invention are not so limited. For example, a single system could be used as an integrated indication, imaging, endoscope controller that receives endoscope position feedback in real time. In an alternative example, the physiological indication and image/mapping functions may be combined into a single unit. As such, while the above steps have been described as happening only once or in a serial fashion, it is to be appreciated that the steps may be conducted in as different order or multiple times. Other physiological indication detection and localization systems may be used and will correspond to an appropriate system useful in the treatment being performed. In addition, alternative image and mapping systems may also be employed and may also be selected depending upon the treatment being facilitated through the use of a steerable controllable endoscope of the present invention. The system may also control the movement of the endoscope automatically based on inputs from the user, pre-surgical planning data, or other indications of desired pathways or pathways to avoid. Alternatively, or in addition, a user may input additional guidance or control information into the system for furthering the guidance or desired placement of the endoscope.”)
Regarding claim 7, Belson in view of Buda teach the endoscope system according to claim 6, wherein the processor (Belson -Fig. 25 motion controller 25, [0246]) when the specific mode (Belson -manual or automatic mode) is used, records the first identifier in a memory when the specific mode is used, determines whether or not the first identifier already recorded in the memory and the first identifier recorded at this time are the same, in a case where the first identifier already recorded in the memory and the first identifier recorded at this time are the same, does not generates the usage status information, and in a case where the first identifier already recorded in the memory and the first identifier recorded at this time are different, generates the usage status information and records it in the memory (Belson – [0297] “The control signals from the steering control to the selectively steerable distal portion 25 are monitored by an electronic motion controller. Once the correct curve of the selectively steerable distal portion 25 for advancing the distal end of the instrument 22 into the sigmoid colon has been selected, the curve is logged into the memory of the electronic motion controller as a reference. Whether operated in manual mode or automatic mode, once the desired curve (24) has been selected with the selectively steerable distal portion 25, as the articulating instrument 22 advances distally, the selected curve 24 is propagated proximally along the automatically controlled proximal portion 26 using an electronic motion controller. “)
Regarding claim 8, Belson in view of Buda teach the endoscope system according to claim 4, wherein the processor (Buda – server 102) obtains the second identifier for identifying at least one of patient date of implementation of the case, an examination, and the endoscope ([Buda – [0043] “Data from client device 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160, or the client devices 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160 themselves, may be tagged with patient 116, 118 identifiers or other metrics. Similar tags may also be added to EMRs 144 to facilitate searching.”).
Regarding claim 9, Belson in view of Buda teach the endoscope system according to claim 8, wherein the processor (Buda – server 102) while observation or treatment of the case corresponding to the first identifier is continued, does not output the first identifier and the usage status information to the first server, and when the observation or treatment of the case is completed, outputs the first identifier and the usage status information to the first server ([Buda – [0041-0043] “The server 102 may authenticate all remote connections from remote hospitals 162 and remote healthcare providers 164, and facilitate connections to one or more client devices 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160, or one or more domains 114, 120, 122, 124, 130, 136. A connection between the server 102 and a remote server in an enabled hospital 168 may include specialized data connections to allow client devices 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160 access to the remote server, and assets connected to the remote server, as though they were locally connected. Devices may be members of more than one functional domain 114, 120, 122, 124, 130, 136 based on the functions of the device. In some embodiments, communications between all client devices 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160 and domains 114, 120, 122, 124, 130, 136 may utilize Health Level-7 protocols and standards, such as Clinical Object Workgroup (CCOW) or Digital Imaging and Communications in Medicine (DICOM).Data from client device 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160, or the client devices 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160 themselves, may be tagged with patient 116, 118 identifiers or other metrics. Similar tags may also be added to EMRs 144 to facilitate searching.”).
Regarding Claim 19, Belson in view of Buda teach the endoscope system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more modes (Belson -manual or automatic mode) comprise at least one of the following a first mode to control only a distal end side joint of the multiple joints a second mode to control only a proximal end side joint of the multiple joints (Belson – [0242] “Each of the segments 30 has tendons mechanically connected to actuators to allow for the controlled motion of the segments 30 in space. [0247] “The tendons controlling the steerable distal portion 24 and the controllable segments 30 extend down the length of the endoscope body 21 and connect to the actuators. FIG. 25 shows a variation in which the tendons pass through the handle 32 and connect directly to the motion controller 45 via a quick-release connector 60. In this variation, the tendons are part of the control cable 46, although they could independently connect to the actuators, so long as the actuators are in communication with the controller 45.”, and a third mode to control the multiple joints independently (Belson - [0313-0314] “a plurality of individually controllable regions (FIG. 39A). In this embodiment, the articulating instrument 90 includes 6 hinged segments covered by activated polymer material 92, 94.”).
Regarding Claim 20, Belson in view of Buda teach the endoscope system according to claim 19, wherein the third mode (Belson - [0313-0314] “a plurality of individually controllable regions (FIG. 39A). In this embodiment, the articulating instrument 90 includes 6 hinged segments covered by activated polymer material 92, 94.”). comprises at least one of the following a fourth mode to control the multiple joints as a one long joint (Belson – [0313] “…segment may be made to be longer in length so that it extends over several, i.e., over at least two, hinges or universal joints, as shown in FIG. 39A. It may be made in a single continuous piece and may be made to cover a portion of the length or even the entire length of the flexible endoscope structure.”), and a fifth mode to control each of the multiple joints (Belson - [0313-0314] “a plurality of individually controllable regions (FIG. 39A). In this embodiment, the articulating instrument 90 includes 6 hinged segments covered by activated polymer material 92, 94.”). .
Regarding Claim 21, Belson in view of Buda teach the endoscope system according to claim 1, wherein the specific mode comprises at least one of the following:
a first mode to control only a distal end side joint of the multiple joints a second mode to control only a proximal end side joint of the multiple joints (Belson – [0242] “Each of the segments 30 has tendons mechanically connected to actuators to allow for the controlled motion of the segments 30 in space. [0247] “The tendons controlling the steerable distal portion 24 and the controllable segments 30 extend down the length of the endoscope body 21 and connect to the actuators. FIG. 25 shows a variation in which the tendons pass through the handle 32 and connect directly to the motion controller 45 via a quick-release connector 60. In this variation, the tendons are part of the control cable 46, although they could independently connect to the actuators, so long as the actuators are in communication with the controller 45.”, and a third mode to control the multiple joints independently (Belson - [0313-0314] “a plurality of individually controllable regions (FIG. 39A). In this embodiment, the articulating instrument 90 includes 6 hinged segments covered by activated polymer material 92, 94.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Banik et al. (US2005/0197536);
Obata et al. (US2004/0225185); and
James F. Moore (US2007/0106754).
/MEGAN ELIZABETH MONAHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3795