DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 & Claims’ Status
Claims 1-6 and 9-20 are currently pending, with Claims 1-6, 9-17, and 19-20 being examined (claim 18 was withdrawn due to restriction requirement). Claims 1 and 19 have been amended. No claims have been newly added or newly cancelled.
Specification
The new title submitted 1/7/2026 is accepted by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 9, 14-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dheeraj et al (US 2018/0204977 A1, hereafter Dheeraj).
Re Claim 1, Dheeraj discloses a method for manufacturing a semiconductor structure (FIG. 1; [0204]-[0212]) comprising a III-V semiconductor device in a first region (“Region 1”, see FIG. Z1 below) of a base substrate (8; [0210]) and at least part of a further device in a second region (“Region 2”, see FIG. Z1 below) of the base substrate (8; [0210]), the method comprising:
a) obtaining a base substrate (8; [0210]) comprising the first region (“Region 1”) and the second region (“Region 2”; [0210]), the second region (“Region 2”) being spatially separated from the first region (“Region 1”; [0210]);
b) providing a buffer layer (3, specifically monolayer closest to support 1, under the “thicker” configuration; [0206]) over a surface of the base substrate (8; [0210]) at least in the first region (“Region 1”; [0210]), wherein the buffer layer (3, specifically monolayer closest to support 1) comprises at least one monolayer of a first two-dimensional layered crystal material ([0206]);
c) forming, over the buffer layer (3, specifically monolayer closest to support 1) in the first region (“Region 1”), and not in the second region (“Region 2”), a III-V semiconductor material (4; [0207]); and
d) forming, in the second region (“Region 2”), at least part of the further device having at least one monolayer of a second two-dimensional layered crystal material (3, specifically monolayer closest to submount 8; [0206]).
FIG. Z1: Annotated version of FIG. 1 of Dheeraj
Re Claim 2, Dheeraj discloses the method according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein the III-V semiconductor material (4) comprises a III-N semiconductor material ([0207]).
Re Claim 3, Dheeraj discloses the method according to Claim 2, while further disclosing wherein the III-N semiconductor material is selected from the group consisting of GaN, AlN, InN, AlGaN, InGaN, InAlN, and GaInAlN ([0207]).
Re Claim 6, Dheeraj discloses the method according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein providing the buffer layer (3, specifically monolayer closest to support 1) comprises providing the buffer layer (3, specifically monolayer closest to support 1) over a surface of the base substrate (8) in the first region (“Region 1”) and in the second region (“Region 2”; [0210]).
Re Claim 9, Dheeraj discloses the method according to Claim 6, while further disclosing wherein the at least part of the further device (see FIG. Z1) comprises the buffer layer (3, specifically monolayer closest to support 1) in the second region (“Region 2”; [0210]).
Re Claim 14, Dheeraj discloses the method according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein the buffer layer (3, specifically monolayer closest to support 1) comprises from 1 to 100 monolayers of the first two-dimensional layered crystal material ([0206]).
Re Claim 15, Dheeraj discloses the method according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein the at least one monolayer of the first two-dimensional layered crystal material comprises graphene ([0206]), silicene, borophene, germanene, black phosphorus, hexagonal boron nitride, or a transition metal dichalcogenide monolayer.
Re Claim 19, Dheeraj discloses a method for manufacturing a semiconductor structure (FIG. 1; [0204]-[0212]) comprising a III-V semiconductor device in a first region (“Region 1”, see FIG. Z1) of a base substrate (8; [0210]) and at least part of a further device in a second region (“Region 2”, see FIG. Z1) of the base substrate (8; [0210]), the method comprising:
a) obtaining a base substrate (8; [0210]) comprising the first region (“Region 1”) and the second region (“Region 2”; [0210]), the second region (“Region 2”) being spatially separated from the first region (“Region 1”; [0210]);
b) providing a buffer layer (3, specifically monolayer closest to support 1, under the “thicker” configuration; [0206]) over a surface of the base substrate (8; [0210]) at least in the first region (“Region 1”; [0210]), wherein the buffer layer (3, specifically monolayer closest to support 1) comprises at least one monolayer of a first two-dimensional layered crystal material ([0206]);
c) forming, over the buffer layer (3, specifically monolayer closest to support 1) in the first region (“Region 1”), and not in the second region (“Region 2”), a III-V semiconductor material (4; [0207]) having a III-N semiconductor material selected from the group consisting of AlN, InN, AlGaN, InGaN, InAlN, and GaInAlN ([0207]); and
d) forming, in the second region (“Region 2”), at least part of the further device ([0210]).
Re Claim 20, Dheeraj discloses the method according to Claim 19, while further disclosing wherein the at least part of the further device (see FIG. Z1) comprises a silicon semiconductor material or at least one monolayer of a second two-dimensional layered crystal material (3, specifically monolayer closest to submount 8; [0206]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dheeraj, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Nakanishi et al (US 2004/0071411 A1, hereafter Nakanishi).
Re Claim 4, Dheeraj discloses the method according to Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the base substrate (8) comprises crystalline silicon.
However, Nakanishi teaches a method (FIGS. 10A-B; [0031]) wherein the base substrate (“submount”; [0031]) comprises crystalline silicon ([0031]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as discussed for Claim 1 with the limitations taught by Nakanishi to use crystalline silicon for the submount (Dheeraj: 8) due its ability to be processed with high precision by photolithographic technology as taught by Nakanishi ([0031]).
Re Claim 5, Dheeraj and Nakanishi teach the method according to Claim 4, while Nakanishi further teaches wherein the crystalline silicon is Si(100) ([0069]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as discussed for Claim 4 with the limitations taught by Nakanishi to use {100} crystalline silicon for the submount (Dheeraj: 8) due its ability to be processed with high precision by photolithographic technology as taught by Nakanishi ([0031]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dheeraj, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Heilmann et al (DE 102019111225 A1, of record, hereafter Heilmann).
Re Claim 11, Dheeraj discloses the method according to Claim 1, but does not not explicitly disclose the method comprising a step b' after step b and before step c of:
b') introducing crystallographic defects in the buffer layer (3, specifically monolayer closest to support 1) in the first region (“Region 1”) and not in the second region (“Region 2”).
However, Heilmann, teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor structure (FIG. 1, pg. 5), comprising a step b' of:
b') introducing crystallographic defects (12; pg. 5, paragraph 4) in the buffer layer (11; pg. 5, paragraph 3) in the first region (section of device covered by mask 41; pg. 5, paragraph 12) and not in the second region (section of device not covered by mask 41; pg. 5, paragraph 12).
Heilmann does not explicitly disclose whether the described step b’ occurs after step b and before step c, specifically when in combination with Dheeraj. However, the difference between multiple sequential steps of formation and incorporation of defects and a simultaneous deposition and incorporation of defects reflects a trivial alteration in a change of sequence that introduces no distinguishable or unexpected difference to the finished product – as the buffer layer would still have the described limitations of introduced defects corresponding to the claimed sequence (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, C).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method discussed for Claim 1 with the limitations taught by Heilmann to introduce crystallographic defects in the buffer layer (Dheeraj: 3, specifically monolayer closest to support 1) prior to the addition of further layers to alter the electrical or optical properties of the buffer layer (Dheeraj: 3, specifically monolayer closest to support 1) as taught by Heilmann (pg. 5, paragraph 6).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dheeraj, as applied to Claim 1.
Re Claim 13, Dheeraj discloses the method according to Claim 1, while further disclosing a step c’’ of forming a protective layer (5; [0208]) over the III-V semiconductor material (4; [0208], “over” the side of).
Heilmann does not explicitly disclose whether the described step c’’ occurs after step c and before step d. However, the difference between multiple sequential steps of layer formation and a simultaneous layer formation reflects a trivial alteration in a change of sequence that introduces no distinguishable or unexpected difference to the finished product – as the protective layer would still have the described positional limitations relative to the III-V semiconductor material corresponding to the claimed sequence (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, C).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dheeraj, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Kim et al (US 2018/0226242 A1, of record, hereafter Kim).
Re Claim 16, Dheeraj discloses the method according to Claim 1, does not explicitly disclose the method comprising wherein step c of forming the III-V semiconductor material (4) comprises the steps of:
c1) depositing buffer III-V material at a temperature ranging from 1000 to 1200 C; and
c2) depositing an active III-V material on the buffer III-V material at a temperature ranging from 1210 to 1300°C.
However, Kim teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor structure (FIG. 1A; [0135]) comprising wherein step c of forming the III-V semiconductor material (“thin buffer layer” and “nanowire”; [0135]) comprises the steps of:
c1) depositing buffer III-V material (“thin buffer layer”; [0135]) at a temperature ranging from 1000 to 1200 C ([0135]); and
c2) depositing an active III-V material (“nanowire”; [0135]) on the buffer III-V material (“buffer layer”; [0135]) at a temperature ranging from 1210 to 1300°C ([0135]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method discussed for Claim 1 with the limitations taught by Kim to deposit a buffer III-V material (Kim: “thin buffer layer”) prior to deposition of an active III-V material (Kim: “nanowire”) to influence the density, polarity, and alignment of nanowires as taught by Kim ([0135]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dheeraj and Kim, as applied to Claim 16, further in view of Fimland et al (US 2020/0161504 A1, of record, hereafter Fimland).
Re Claim 17, Dheeraj and Kim teach the method according to Claim 16, but they do not explicitly disclose the method comprising wherein, in step cl, less than 1000 nm of buffer III-V material (Kim: “thin buffer layer”) is deposited.
However, Fimland teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor structure (FIG. 8c; [0161]) comprising wherein, in step cl, less than 1000 nm of buffer III-V material (“buffer layer”; [0161]) is deposited ([0161]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method discussed for Claim 16 with the limitations taught by Fimland to specify the buffer III-V material’s (Kim: “thin buffer layer”) thickness as stated to provide an appropriate surface for the above nanostructure to grow as taught by Fimland ([0086]-[0088]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re Claim 10, the prior art cannot anticipate or render obvious the limitations of: a step a' after step a, and before step c of: a') forming a dielectric mask layer over the surface of the base substrate in the second region and not in the first region, in combination with the additionally claimed features of Claim 10.
Re Claim 12, the prior art cannot anticipate or render obvious the limitations of: a step c' after step c of: c') reducing an interface area between the surface of the base substrate in the first region and a surface of the buffer layer in the first region, in combination with the additionally claimed features of Claim 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 1/7/2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Dheeraj under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 and 19 have been reconsidered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/COLIN RUSSELL MCCUTCHEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892