DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Amendments/Remarks filed on September 15, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 108511516 A to Shan et al. (“Shan”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2001/0048122 A1 to Tada et al. (“Tada”). As to claim 1, Shan in view of Tada discloses a power semiconductor device, comprising: an active region (at 102) configured to conduct a load current between a first load terminal (202) and a second load terminal (201); and an edge termination region (at 103, 104) surrounding the active region (at 102), wherein in the edge termination region (at 103, 104), a field plate structure (301/10) is arranged around the active region (at 102) and comprises at least one electrically conductive track (301/10) electrically connected to a first potential of the first load terminal (202) at a first joint and, at a second joint, electrically connected to a second potential of the second load terminal (201), wherein the at least one electrically conductive track (301/10) forms at least n crossings (FIG. 4/¶ 0083), wherein n is greater 5, with a straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’) that extends from the active region (at 102) towards an edge of the edge termination region (at 103, 104), wherein: the difference in potential (150V) between adjacent two of the n crossings (FIG. 4/¶ 0083) increases in at least 50% of the length of the straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’); and/or the difference in potential within, with respect to the active region (at 102), the first 20% of the length of straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’) is less than 10% of the total difference in potential along the straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’) (See Shan Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, Page 2, Page 3, Page 6, Page 7 and Tada Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 13, Fig. 24, Fig. 26, Fig. 27, ¶ 0018-¶ 0022, ¶ 0081-¶ 0085, ¶ 0095, ¶ 0097, ¶ 0100), such that the at least one electrically conductive track that is highly resistive provides almost uniform potential gradients across the depletion layer at high voltage and temperature to obtain a reliable device having a stable breakdown voltage. As to claim 2, Shan in view of Tada further discloses wherein the difference in potential (150V) within, with respect to the active region (at 102), the first 20% of the length of the straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’) is less than half of the difference in potential (750V) within the last 20% of the length of the straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’) (See Tada Fig. 13).
As to claim 3, Shan in view of Tada further discloses wherein both the difference in potential within, with respect to the active region (at 102), the first 20% of the length of the straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’), and the difference in potential within, with respect to the active region (at 102), the last 20% of the length of the straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’), are less than the difference in potential within another 20% of the length of the straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’) between the first 20% and the last 20% of the straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’) (See Tada ¶ 0082) (Notes: the diodes are selected within the length such that difference in potential is greater in the another 20%, where the length between the first and last 20% is longer to obtain a higher potential difference).
As to claim 4, Shan in view of Tada further discloses wherein an ohmic resistance between adjacent two of the n crossings (FIG. 4/¶ 0083) increases in at least 50% of the length of the straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’) (See Tada ¶ 0082) (Notes: the series of didoes increase the ohmic resistance). As to claim 6, Shan in view of Tada further discloses wherein an electric conductivity of the at least one track (301/10) decreases in a portion of the track (301/10) that forms the crossings (FIG. 4/¶ 0083) in a portion corresponding to at least 50% of the length of the straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’) (See Tada Fig. 27, ¶ 0100) (Notes: the different resistive materials have relatively lower and higher electric conductivity). As to claim 8, Shan in view of Tada further discloses wherein the first joint is arranged in proximity to the active region (at 102) or, respectively, in the active region (at 102), and wherein the second joint is arranged in proximity to the edge or, respectively, at the edge (See Shan Fig. 3, Fig. 8 and Tada Fig. 1, Fig. 2). As to claim 18, Shan in view of Tada further discloses wherein the field plate structure (301/10) arranged around the active region (at 102) comprises two or more electrically conductive tracks (73, 74) arranged in an interleaved manner with respect to each other (See Tada Fig. 24, ¶ 0095). As to claim 20, Shan in view of Tada further discloses wherein the resistance measured between the first joint and the second joint is at least 100, or at least 1000 times as great as a lowest sheet resistance of a material of the at least one track (301/10) (See Tada Fig. 27, ¶ 0101) (Notes: Silicon 6.40 x 102 and Aluminum 2.82 x 10-8 by https://cleanroom.byu.edu/resistivities). As to claim 21, Shan in view of Tada further discloses wherein the field plate structure (301/10) is coil-shaped (See Shen Fig. 4 and Tada Fig. 1).
As to claim 22, Shan in view of Tada further discloses wherein the straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’) is perpendicular to the edge (See Shan Fig. 3, Fig. 8 and Tada Fig. 1). As to claim 23, Shan in view of Tada discloses a method of producing a power semiconductor device, the method comprising: forming an active region (at 102) configured to conduct a load current between a first load terminal (202) and a second load terminal (201); and forming an edge termination region (at 103, 104) surrounding the active region (at 102), wherein in the edge termination region (at 103, 104), a field plate structure (301/10) is arranged around the active region (at 102) and comprises at least one electrically conductive track (301/10) electrically connected to a first potential of the first load terminal (202) at a first joint and, at a second joint, electrically connected to a second potential of the second load terminal (201), wherein the at least one electrically conductive track (301/10) forms at least n crossings (FIG. 4/¶ 0083), wherein n is greater 5, with a straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’) that extends from the active region (at 102) towards an edge of the edge termination region (at 103, 104), wherein the difference in potential (150V) between adjacent two of the n crossings (FIG. 4/¶ 0083) increases in at least 50% of the length of the straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’), and/or the difference in potential within, with respect to the active region (at 102), the first 20% of the length of straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’) is less than 10% of the total difference in potential along the straight line (FIG. 3, FIG. 8/A-A’) (See Shan Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 8, Page 2, Page 3, Page 6, Page 7 and Tada Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 13, Fig. 24, Fig. 26, Fig. 27, ¶ 0018-¶ 0022, ¶ 0081-¶ 0085, ¶ 0095, ¶ 0097, ¶ 0100), such that the at least one electrically conductive track that is highly resistive provides almost uniform potential gradients across the depletion layer at high voltage and temperature to obtain a reliable device having a stable breakdown voltage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 23 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815