Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Yang fails to teach a storage vessel outside of the light source section. This is not persuasive. As can be seen in Yang Fig. 2, the storage vessel (42) is well outside of the light source section, which is best understood as the plasma initiation location and the mirrors manipulating the broadband light emitted therefrom. It is unreasonable to interpret the light source section to include the entire vacuum chamber in which the actual source of light, i.e. the plasma, exists, since this would include numerous components and optical elements that one of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably consider to be part of a light source section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, 11, 13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et Al (US 10512147 B1).
As per claim 1, Yang discloses an EUV light source apparatus comprising;
A light source section in which plasma emitting extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light (12) is generated from plasma raw material containing metal (38 such as Tin), see fig 2 and 3;
A storage vessel (424) that is located outside the light source section and stores a debris material (38) containing the metal of the plasma raw material at a temperature at which the stored debris material is in a liquid-phase state, see fig. 2, the element 42 is located outside of light source section 40.
A drainage section including a drain pipe (426) including an inlet (the bent portion of fig 3) through which the stored debris material (38) flows in and on outlet through which the stored debris material drains away (42,collection portion from the bent in fig 3), the drain pipe being communicated with an interior of the stored vessel (it connects the bottom of bent portion to outside), see fig.3;
A temperature control elements (425) that adjusts a temperature of the drain pipe, and
A temperature controller that controls the temperature control element to switch the temperature of the drain pipe in a manner that the stored debris material in the drain pipe in either a liquid-phase state or a solid-phase state - the heating element 425 can be implemented by circulating a fluid, gas or liquid having the desired temperature through the space to control the temperature of the reservoir 424.
In Re. claim 2 Yang teaches the drainage section includes an aperture that is located in a channel of the drain pipe and that constitutes an aperture channel having a cross-sectional area smaller than the channel of the drain pipe. (Angle is formed between the inner bottom surface of the first pipe wall portion and the horizontal direction, the angle being between about 1 degree and about 30 degrees, claim 3)
In Re. claim 3 Yang teaches the drain pipe includes a bent portion at which the drain pipe is bent such that at least part of a lower end of a channel inner surface of the drain pipe is located higher than an upper end of the inlet. (Pipe wall further includes a second pipe wall portion disposed between the first pipe wall portion and the enclosed end, claim 6)
In Re. claim 4 Yang teaches the aperture is disposed between the inlet and the bent portion. (The gutter is extending through a second inner bottom surface of the second pipe wall portion, along the horizontal direction, claim 7)
In Re. claim 5 Yang teaches the drain pipe is connected to the storage vessel such that a lower end of the inlet is located higher than a bottom of the interior of the storage vessel by a predetermined distance. (Gutter has a depth lower than the inner bottom surface of the first pipe wall portion, claim 16)
In Re. claim 6 Yang teaches a temperature controller that controls the temperature of the drain pipe such that the stored material is in a liquid- phase state when a drainage operation in which the stored material is drained away is performed, and controls the temperature of the drain pipe such that the stored material is in a solid-phase state when a storage operation in which the stored material is stored without draining the stored material is performed. (a heating element thermally coupled to the second pipe wall portion, claim 8)
In Re. claim 10 Yang teaches a collection vessel that collects the stored material that has been drained away from the outlet of the drain pipe. (a plurality of gutters formed on the inner bottom surface, claim 12)
In Re. claim 11 Yang teaches a collection vessel is configured as an insulated vessel. (Enclosed end, claim 14)
In Re. claim 13 Yang teaches a drainage section includes a collection pipe (droplet catcher, claim 20) that connects the drain pipe to the collection vessel, (gutter form on inner bottom surface, claim 20) and the temperature control element adjusts a temperature of the collection pipe. (Heating element thermally coupled, claim 20)
As per claim 17, Yang’s debris capture section (424) is located along the path of the EUV light and located above the storage vessel for capturing debris, see figs 2 and 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9, 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al in view of Yabu et al (US 20130134326 A1).
In Re. claims 7-9, 12, 14 Yang fails to teach a volume sensor that detects the amount of stored material in a storage vessel, that works in tandem with a temperature control.
However, Yabu teaches a target collection device that contains a capacity adjuster configured to discharge the target material so the fluid level is maintained, and a temperature and pressure adjuster to adjust the temperature/pressure of pipes. The target material taught by Yabu also includes a nozzle at the end for the output of so it can remain in a liquid state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yang with the volume and temperature/pressure controllers of Yabu. For ideal conditions for the collection device to it would require efforts to ensure all pipe and storage functions are working as intended. The ability to control the temperature, volume or pressure of the device would be an important addition for the best method. It is also known that for any of the pipes to work in the first place the target material would have to be in a liquid state, so the temperature controller would assist in ensuring that the temperature of the device would not get too hot or cold to change the consistency of the material. The pressure would then stay the same and ensure that flow within the piping of the device is effective. It would also be obvious to include a nozzle at the end of collection pipe for the controlment of the liquid in the collection device, a nozzle is common device that is used to stop and maintain flow rates of different target materials, so the inclusion of it on the flow pipes would be obvious to include for an ideal flow rate of the liquid target.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al in view of Ahmad et al. (US20040145292A1), hereinafter Ahmad.
Regarding Claim 18:
Yang does not disclose the use of electrodes for generating EUV light. The use of electrodes for generating EUV light is well known in the art, as taught by Ahmed wherein the electrode arrangement is used to focus/manipulate the plasma (see para 26/47). One of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented any form of plasma manipulation means for generating EUV light. Thus, it would have a functionally equivalent modification/implementation of Yang’s device to control/focus the plasma/metal.
Regarding Claim 19:
Yang discloses an EUV light source apparatus comprising;
A light source section in which plasma emitting extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light (12) is generated from plasma raw material containing metal (38 such as Tin), see fig 2 and 3;
A storage vessel (424) that is located outside the light source section and stores a debris material (38) containing the metal of the plasma raw material at a temperature at which the stored debris material is in a liquid-phase state, see fig. 2, the element 42 is located outside of light source section 40.
A drainage section including a drain pipe (426) including an inlet (the bent portion of fig 3) through which the stored debris material (38) flows in and on outlet through which the stored debris material drains away (42,collection portion from the bent in fig 3), the drain pipe being communicated with an interior of the stored vessel (it connects the bottom of bent portion to outside), see fig.3;
A temperature control elements (425) that adjusts a temperature of the drain pipe, and
A temperature controller that controls the temperature control element to switch the temperature of the drain pipe in a manner that the stored debris material in the drain pipe in either a liquid-phase state or a solid-phase state - the heating element 425 can be implemented by circulating a fluid, gas or liquid having the desired temperature through the space to control the temperature of the reservoir 424.
Yang does not disclose the use of electrodes for generating EUV light. The use of electrodes for generating EUV light is well known in the art, as taught by Ahmed wherein the electrode arrangement is used to focus/manipulate the plasma (see para 26/47). One of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented any form of plasma manipulation means for generating EUV light. Thus, it would have a functionally equivalent modification/implementation of Yang’s device to control/focus the plasma/metal.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant’s arguments are noted but not persuasive. Applicant’s main argument is that the storage vessel is outside the light source. As seen in fig 2, the catch can (or storage vessel) is located outside the EUV light 40. For this reason, the current Yang reference teaches all the claimed elements.
Conclusion
/ROBERT H KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2881