DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 24 and 25 each recite the limitations “a first axis” and “the first axis that is parallel to a direction of gravity”. It is unclear whether these limitations refer to the same axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Li (CN 112847000).
1. Li teaches an ingot jig assembly comprising:
an end surface clamping jig comprising two opposite clamping parts (clamping parts 6 and 13, see Li fig. 1); and
an ingot positioning jig (combination of wheels 7, plate 8, and push rod 9, see Li fig. 1) located below the end surface clamping jig and comprising:
a first base (bottom of 9);
an adjusting base (8) located between the first base and the end surface clamping jig (8 is between bottom of 9 and 7) and movably disposed on the first base along a first axis to be close to or away from the end surface clamping jig (rod 9 moves 8 upwards, see Li translation [0032]); and
two rollers (7) rotatably disposed on the adjusting base (see Li fig. 2),
wherein when an ingot is disposed on the two rollers of the ingot positioning jig, the two rollers support an annular surface of the ingot in the first axis that is parallel to a direction of gravity (rollers 7 support outer surface of crystal, see Li Translation [0032]),
wherein the adjusting base is capable of moving relative to the first base to move the ingot in between the two clamping parts of the end surface clamping jig, the ingot comprises two end surfaces that are opposite to each other, and the two clamping parts of the end surface clamping jig move close to the two end surfaces of the ingot and abut the two end surfaces of the ingot to fix the ingot (wheels 7 on base 8 are capable of supporting two ends of a crystal at a position between clamping parts 6 and 13 which would necessarily move relative to the crystal to approach the two end surfaces of the crystal so as to hold and abut the crystal, see Li fig. 1 and Li Translation [0032]), and wherein the annular surface of the ingot is located between the two end surfaces and the annular surface is free from contact with the two clamping parts (an annular surface supported by wheels 7 on base 8 would be located between and at a position distant from clamping parts 6 and 13, and is therefore free from contact with the clamping parts, see Li fig. 1).
3. Li teaches the ingot jig assembly according to claim 1, wherein the jig assembly is capable of being used with an ingot positioned such that a center of the ingot is coaxial with a center of each of the clamping parts.
9. Li teaches the ingot jig assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a driving module (hand wheel 16, see Li Translation [0031]) disposed on a side of the end surface clamping jig (hand wheel 16 is disposed between the ends of the clamping jig, see Li fig. 1); and a polishing module (grinding wheel associated with wheel bracket 15, see Li fig. 1 and Li Translation [0032]) located between the driving module and the end surface clamping jig and linked to the driving module (the grinding wheel is below 16 and above a center line of the clamping jig, see Li fig. 1).
10. Li teaches the ingot jig assembly according to claim 9, further comprising:
a moving jig comprising a second base (sliding block 17) and a second screw rod (18) threadably engaged with the second base (17 is movable via threaded rod 18 when wheel 19 is turned, see Li translation [0031] and Li fig. 1), wherein the driving module is threadably engaged with the second screw rod and is movably disposed on the second base along with the second screw rod to move the polishing module close to or away from the end surface clamping jig (17 may be moved towards or away from the ends of the clamping jig, see Li Translation [0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Roh et al. (KR 20110065198).
4. Li teaches the ingot jig assembly according to claim 1, but does not teach that the first base comprises a main body and a cover fixed to the main body, and the ingot positioning jig further comprises:
a first screw rod extending along the first axis and being fixed to the adjusting base; and
a screw rod adjusting knob rotatably disposed between the main body and the cover, wherein the first screw rod is disposed through the cover, the screw rod adjusting knob, and the main body and is threadably engaged with the screw rod adjusting knob.
However, Roh teaches a support structure (80, see Roh fig. 3) for supporting a cylindrical member, comprising
a first base (combination of 104 and 111); an adjusting base (84) and movably disposed on the first base along a first axis to be close to or away from the object being supported (84 moves up or down relative to object 20, see Roh fig. 6); and two rollers (82); wherein
the first base comprises a main body (104) and a cover (111) fixed to the main body, and the support further comprises:
a first screw rod (108) extending along the first axis and being fixed to the adjusting base (see Roh fig. 5; and
a screw rod adjusting knob (109), wherein the first screw rod is disposed through the cover, the screw rod adjusting knob, and the main body (108 extends through 111, 109, and cylindrical part 106 of main body 104, see Roh fig. 5) and is threadably engaged with the screw rod adjusting knob (threaded rod 108 and nut 109 are engaged, see Roh figs. 5-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of a support structure from Roh into the assembly of Li such that the first base comprises a main body and a cover fixed to the main body, and the ingot positioning jig further comprised: a first screw rod extending along the first axis and being fixed to the adjusting base; and a screw rod adjusting knob, wherein the first screw rod is disposed through the cover, the screw rod adjusting knob, and the main body and is threadably engaged with the screw rod adjusting knob, as doing so represents the simple substitution of one sort of support structure for a cylindrical object for another, and the results of such a substitution would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill.
Additionally, although Roh does not teach that a screw rod adjusting knob is rotatably disposed between the main body and the cover (knob 109 is located above cover 111, see Roh figs. 5-7), it has been held that the simple rearrangement of parts without changing the principle of operation of a device is an obvious matter of design choice. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). It would therefore have been obvious for one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to, when integrating the support of Roh into the assembly of Li, move the screw adjusting knob from a position associated with the adjusting base to a position between the main body and the cover, as such a change represents the simple rearrangement of parts.
5. Li as modified teaches the ingot jig assembly according to claim 4, wherein an extension direction of the first screw rod passes through a connecting line between two centers of the two clamping parts (Roh teaches that the support is centered on the tube such that its direction of extension is aligned with the center of the cylinder, see Roh figs. 6-7; integrating it into Li would not change this).
6. Li teaches the ingot jig assembly according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach the ingot positioning jig further comprises a guide rod extending along the first axis and being disposed through the first base and the adjusting base. However, Roh teaches a support structure (80, see Roh fig. 3) for supporting a cylindrical member, comprising
a first base (combination of 104 and 111); an adjusting base (84) and movably disposed on the first base along a first axis to be close to or away from the object being supported (84 moves up or down relative to object 20, see Roh fig. 6); and two rollers (82); wherein the support further comprises a guide rod (112) extending along the first axis and being disposed through the first base and the adjusting base (112 extends through adjusting base 84 and portions 111 and 116 of the first base, see Roh figs. 5-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of a support structure from Roh into the assembly of Li such that the ingot positioning jig further comprises a guide rod extending along the first axis and being disposed through the first base and the adjusting base, as doing so represents the simple substitution of one sort of support structure for a cylindrical object for another, and the results of such a substitution would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Moffatt et al. (US 4773951, "Moffatt").
11. Li teaches the ingot jig assembly according to claim 9, and further teaches that the polishing module comprises a grinding disk (polishing module includes a grinding wheel, see Li Translation [0032]), but does not teach that the grinding disk comprises diamond. However, Moffatt teaches that the use of diamond grinding disks in ingot processing is conventional (Moffatt 10:1-39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the additional teachings from Moffatt regarding the use of diamond in a grinding disk with the device of Li such that the polishing module used a diamond grinding disk, as doing so represents the combination of known prior art elements according to known methods, the results of such a combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill.
Claims 7-8 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP S63166334 ("’334").
7. Li teaches the ingot jig assembly according to claim 1, but does not teach that the first base is movably disposed below the end surface clamping jig along a second axis perpendicular to the first axis.
However, '334 teaches a device for clamping an ingot comprising a first base (frame 4, see '334 figs. 1-4) wherein the
the first base is movably disposed below the end surface clamping jig along a second axis perpendicular to the first axis (frame 4 is movable along rails 5 and 5' in a direction perpendicular to a clamping direction defined along threaded rods 10 and 11; see '334 figs. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings from '334 regarding movement along a second axis for the first base with the assembly of Li such that the first base was movably disposed below the end surface clamping jig along a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, as doing so represents the combination of known prior art elements according to known methods, and the results of such a combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill.
8. Li as modified teaches the ingot jig assembly according to claim 7, but does not explicitly teach that the ingot positioning jig further comprises an adjusting screw extending along the second axis, being disposed through the first base, and being adapted to abut an outer shell to adjust a position of the first base relative to the end surface clamping jig on the second axis.
However, '334 further teaches the use of threaded shafts (10 and 11) to adjust the position of elements (6, 7, 12, and 13) on rails (14 and 15, see '334 figs. 1-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the additional teachings from '334 regarding a mechanism for providing movement along a rail for the first base with the assembly of Li as modified such that the ingot positioning jig further comprised an adjusting screw extending along the second axis, being disposed through the first base, and being adapted to abut an outer shell to adjust a position of the first base relative to the end surface clamping jig on the second axis, as doing so represents the combination of known prior art elements according to known methods, the results of such a combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill.
12. Li teaches the ingot jig assembly according to claim 1, but does not teach that it further comprises:
an auxiliary positioning jig movably disposed beside the end surface clamping jig along a second axis and comprising two positioning rollers, wherein a connecting line between the two positioning rollers is parallel to the first axis.
However, '334 teaches the use of multiple independently movable opposed centering structures located at different longitudinal positions along an ingot (jaws 6, 7, 12, and 13 grasp ingot I, see '334 figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to provide a supplemental positioning jig positioned at a different longitudinal position relative to the ingot as taught by '334 in the assembly of Li such that the assembly comprised an auxiliary positioning jig movably disposed beside the end surface clamping jig along a second axis (the jig would include additional positioning elements 10' and 10 provided such that they extend along an axis parallel to the first axis, see, e.g. '334 figs. 1-3) and comprising two positioning rollers (Li teaches the use of rollers as contact), wherein a connecting line between the two positioning rollers is parallel to the first axis (a connecting line between two opposed positioning rollers 7 located on a same side of the center line of the ingot would be parallel to the first axis), as doing so represents the combination of known prior art elements according to known methods, and the results of such a combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill.
13. Li as modified by '334 teaches the ingot jig assembly according to claim 12, wherein the auxiliary positioning jig comprises a positioning rod extending along the second axis, and an extension direction of the positioning rod passes through a connecting line of two centers of the two clamping parts (positioning rods 9 located on top and bottom sides of the mechanism would extend along an axis passing through the center of the ingot, which is coaxial with a line connecting the centers of the clamping parts, see Li fig. 1).
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of ’334.
24. Li teaches an ingot jig assembly comprising:
an end surface clamping jig comprising two opposite clamping parts (clamping parts 6 and 13, see Li fig. 1); and
an ingot positioning jig (combination of wheels 7, plate 8, and push rod 9, see Li fig. 1) located below the end surface clamping jig and comprising:
a first base (bottom of 9);
an adjusting base (8) located between the first base and the end surface clamping jig (8 is between bottom of 9 and 7) and movably disposed on the first base along a first axis to be close to or away from the end surface clamping jig (rod 9 moves 8 upwards, see Li translation [0032]); and
two rollers (7) rotatably disposed on the adjusting base (see Li fig. 2),
wherein when an ingot is disposed on the two rollers of the ingot positioning jig, the two rollers support an annular surface of the ingot in the first axis that is parallel to a direction of gravity (rollers 7 support outer surface of crystal, see Li Translation [0032]),
a driving module (hand wheel 16, see Li Translation [0031]) disposed on a side of the end surface clamping jig (hand wheel 16 is disposed between the ends of the clamping jig, see Li fig. 1);
a polishing module (grinding wheel associated with wheel bracket 15, see Li fig. 1 and Li Translation [0032]) located between the driving module and the end surface clamping jig and linked to the driving module (the grinding wheel is below 16 and above a center line of the clamping jig, see Li fig. 1); and
a moving jig comprising a second base (sliding block 17) and a second screw rod (18) threadably engaged with the second base (17 is movable via threaded rod 18 when wheel 19 is turned, see Li translation [0031] and Li fig. 1), wherein the driving module is threadably engaged with the second screw rod and is movably disposed on the second base along with the second screw rod to move the polishing module close to or away from the end surface clamping jig (17 may be moved towards or away from the ends of the clamping jig, see Li Translation [0032]).
Li but does not teach that the ingot jig assembly further comprises:
an auxiliary positioning jig movably disposed beside the end surface clamping jig along a second axis and comprising two positioning rollers, wherein a connecting line between the two positioning rollers is parallel to the first axis.
However, '334 teaches the use of multiple independently movable opposed centering structures located at different longitudinal positions along an ingot (jaws 6, 7, 12, and 13 grasp ingot I, see '334 figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to provide a supplemental positioning jig positioned at a different longitudinal position relative to the ingot as taught by '334 in the assembly of Li such that the assembly comprised an auxiliary positioning jig movably disposed beside the end surface clamping jig along a second axis (the jig would include additional positioning elements 10' and 10 provided such that they extend along an axis parallel to the first axis, see, e.g. '334 figs. 1-3) and comprising two positioning rollers (Li teaches the use of rollers as contact), wherein a connecting line between the two positioning rollers is parallel to the first axis (a connecting line between two opposed positioning rollers 7 located on a same side of the center line of the ingot would be parallel to the first axis), as doing so represents the combination of known prior art elements according to known methods, and the results of such a combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill.
25. Li teaches an ingot jig assembly comprising:
an end surface clamping jig comprising two opposite clamping parts (clamping parts 6 and 13, see Li fig. 1); and
an ingot positioning jig (combination of wheels 7, plate 8, and push rod 9, see Li fig. 1) located below the end surface clamping jig and comprising:
a first base (bottom of 9);
an adjusting base (8) located between the first base and the end surface clamping jig (8 is between bottom of 9 and 7) and movably disposed on the first base along a first axis to be close to or away from the end surface clamping jig (rod 9 moves 8 upwards, see Li translation [0032]); and
two rollers (7) rotatably disposed on the adjusting base (see Li fig. 2),
wherein when an ingot is disposed on the two rollers of the ingot positioning jig, the two rollers support an annular surface of the ingot in the first axis that is parallel to a direction of gravity (rollers 7 support outer surface of crystal, see Li Translation [0032]),
wherein the adjusting base is capable of moving relative to the first base to move the ingot in between the two clamping parts of the end surface clamping jig, the ingot comprises two end surfaces that are opposite to each other, and the two clamping parts of the end surface clamping jig move close to the two end surfaces of the ingot and abut the two end surfaces of the ingot to fix the ingot (wheels 7 on base 8 are capable of supporting two ends of a crystal at a position between clamping parts 6 and 13 which would necessarily move relative to the crystal to approach the two end surfaces of the crystal so as to hold and abut the crystal, see Li fig. 1 and Li Translation [0032]), and wherein the annular surface of the ingot is located between the two end surfaces and the annular surface is free from contact with the two clamping parts (an annular surface supported by wheels 7 on base 8 would be located between and at a position distant from clamping parts 6 and 13, and is therefore free from contact with the clamping parts, see Li fig. 1).
Li does not teach that the ingot jig assembly further comprises: an auxiliary positioning jig movably disposed beside the end surface clamping jig along a second axis and comprising two positioning rollers, wherein a connecting line between the two positioning rollers is parallel to the first axis and passes through a connecting line of two centers of the two clamping parts.
However, '334 teaches the use of multiple independently movable opposed centering structures located at different longitudinal positions along an ingot (jaws 6, 7, 12, and 13 grasp ingot I, see '334 figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to provide a supplemental positioning jig positioned at a different longitudinal position relative to the ingot as taught by '334 in the assembly of Li such that the assembly comprised an auxiliary positioning jig movably disposed beside the end surface clamping jig along a second axis (the jig would include additional positioning elements 10' and 10 provided such that they extend along an axis parallel to the first axis, see, e.g. '334 figs. 1-3) and comprising two positioning rollers (Li teaches the use of rollers as contact elements), wherein a connecting line between the two positioning rollers is parallel to the first axis (a connecting line between two opposed positioning rollers 7 located on a same side of the center line of the ingot would be parallel to the first axis) and is capable of being passing through a connecting line of two centers of the two clamping parts (rollers would be capable of being positioned such that a connecting line between the rollers passed through a connecting line of two centers of the two clamping parts, such positioning would be possible in the absence of an ingot or in the presence of a very small diameter ingot), as doing so represents the combination of known prior art elements according to known methods, and the results of such a combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 November, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the clamping parts of Li are not able to move towards the end faces of the ingot as recited. However, the act of clamping an ingot in the device of Li would result in at least a portion of each of the end surface clamping jigs moving towards the ingot, and consequently towards the end surfaces of the ingot. Applicant is also advised that the specification as filed does not appear to explicitly disclose that the clamping parts move towards the end surfaces of the ingot. The comparatively narrow interpretation of this limitation relied on in the arguments would, if claimed, result in the claim being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as containing new matter that failed to comply with the written description requirement. Because claims should be interpreted in a manner consistent with the disclosure, and the only interpretation implicitly supported by the disclosure is a very broad one, the apparatus of Li is capable of performing the claimed motion and therefore teaches the limitation.
Similarly, Applicant argues that Li does not teach an annular surface supported by the rollers that is free from contact by the clamping parts. However, Li clearly shows that the roller is located distant the clamping chucks such that an annular surface of an ingot supported by the roller at any given time and located between the end parts is substantially free from contact with the clamping parts. Although there is an annular surface that is contacted by the clamping parts of Li, it is not the portion supported by the roller, and furthermore, would not be support by the roller, as the roller and chuck would interfere with each other. The claim does not recite an entire outer surface of the ingot between the two end faces. For these reasons, Li teaches amended claim 1.
Applicant is further reminded that in order to comply with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, the claims must only contain subject matter which is described in the original disclosure in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 24 and 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.R.Z./ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723