Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasutake et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2001-183848 A), hereinafter Yasutake.
4. Regarding Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 12-14, Yasutake teaches (Claims 1 and 4, Paragraphs [0007 and 0023]) forming a photoresist, therein teaching a mask material such as a photoresist film, on a surface of a substrate, therein a base material or substrate. Yasutake teaches (Claims 1 and 4, Paragraphs [0014 and 0023]) patterning the photoresist to generate an opening, therein exposure and development of the photoresist mask material for generate an opening, the opening is configured to show the surface of the substrate, given in that the subsequent (metal) film layer covers both the undeveloped photoresist and the substrate base material where the photoresist mask material has been removed. Yasutake teaches (Claims 1 and 4, Paragraphs [0014 and 0023], Figs. 1-2) forming a film including a first portion and a second portion (See particularly Fig. 1(d)), the first portion is located on a top surface of the photoresist, the second portion is located on the surface of the substrate and visible through the opening (See particularly Fig. 1(d) wherein this second portion is apparent in the opening in the photoresist). Yasutake teaches (Claims 1 and 4, Paragraph [0024], Figs. 1-2) attaching a tape, therein an adhesive material or Icros (product name) tape, on the first portion of the film, a binding force between the first portion of the film and the tape is greater than a binding force between the first portion of the film and the photoresist, herein this difference in binding energy is evident as the film is removed with the tape while the photoresist remains on the substrate (See particularly Fig. 2(a)). Yasutake teaches (Claims 1 and 4, Paragraph [0024], Figs. 1-2) removing the tape and the first portion of the film to show the top surface of the photoresist (See particularly Figs. 2(a-b)). Yasutake teaches (Claims 1 and 4, Paragraph [0024], Figs. 1-2) contacting, therein immersed, the top surface and a lateral surface of the photoresist with a photoresist stripping solution, therein a 4% NaOH aqueous solution, the photoresist stripping solution is configured to strip the photoresist. Yasutake teaches (Claims 1 and 4, Paragraphs [0014 and 0023]) the film is a metal film, e.g. gold. Yasutake teaches (Claims 1 and 4, Paragraphs [0014 and 0023]) the metal film is made of gold. Yasutake teaches (Claims 1 and 4, Paragraphs [0014 and 0023]) the film is formed by sputtering deposition. Yasutake teaches (Claims 1 and 4, Paragraphs [0014 and 0023]) the photoresist is a negative photoresist. Yasutake teaches (Figs. 1-2) the opening has a narrow top and a wide bottom in cross-section. Yasutake teaches (Claims 1 and 4, Paragraph [0024], Figs. 1-2) the second portion of the film is configured to not contact the photoresist.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasutake et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2001-183848 A), hereinafter Yasutake.
8. Regarding Claims 11, Yasutake teaches all limitations of Claim 1 above. However, Yasutake doesn’t explicitly teach the photoresist is a positive photoresist in a working example.
9. Yasutake teaches (Paragraph [0016]) the photoresist is a positive or negative photoresist.
10. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yasutake wherein the photoresist is a positive photoresist. Said modification would be a simple substitution of one known element, i.e. a positive photoresist for a negative photoresist, as was using in the working examples of Yasutake. Yasutake teaches the use of either positive or negative photoresist. Yasutake teaches that the use of a positive photoresist is functional and predictable to achieve the prior art’s aim of providing a method of removing a metal film from a layer of photoresist which removes the metal film from the photoresist but leaves the photoresist film on the surface of the substrate (Paragraphs [0006-0007]).
11. Claims 4-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Yasutake et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2001-183848 A), hereinafter Yasutake, in view of Sakushima et al. (United States Patent No. US 6,256,437 B1), hereinafter Sakushima.
12. Regarding Claims 4-5 and 9-10, Yasutake teaches all limitations of Claim 1 above. However, Yasutake fails to explicitly teach the film is an optical film. Furthermore, Yasutake fails to explicitly teach the optical film is made of silicon oxide or silicon nitride. Furthermore, Yasutake fails to explicitly teach the optical film is formed by sputtering deposition or evaporation deposition.
13. Sakushima teaches (col. 6, line 12 to col. 7, line 30, Figs. 3-4) the film is an optical film, therein Sukishima teaches a film (elements 2 & 3 in Figs. 3-4) for an optical waveguide device. Sakushima teaches (col. 6, line 12 to col. 7, line 30, Figs. 3-4) optical film is made of silicon oxide or silicon nitride, therein Sukishima teaches a film (elements 2 & 3 in Figs. 3-4) for an optical waveguide device comprised of silicon oxide or silicon nitride. Sakushima teaches (col. 6, lines 26-33) the optical film is formed by sputtering deposition. Sakushima teaches (col. 6, lines 26-33) the method therein for manufacturing an optical waveguide device comprising optical film(s) which also has a more accurate positioning of optical elements in an optical device.
14. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yasutake to incorporate the teachings of Sakushima wherein the film is an optical film; the optical film is made of silicon oxide or silicon nitride; and the optical film is formed by sputtering deposition. Doing so would allow for a method of manufacturing an optical waveguide device comprising optical film(s) which also has a more accurate positioning of optical elements in an optical device, as recognized by Sakushima.
Conclusion
/RICHARD DAVID CHAMPION/Examiner, Art Unit 1737