DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 25, 27, 28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 25, an objection is made to the use of the word "if" on line 2. This word constitutes optional language that does not further limit this claim. Specifically, it is not known whether the limitations following this word are necessary or optional. It is recommended to clarify the claim language or remove the if statement. Similar problem exists in claims 27, 28.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 12-16, 18, 19, 21-23, 25-30, 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pezeshki et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0217724).
Regarding claim 1, Pezeshki et al. discloses a system (see UE computing system 1270 in fig. 12), comprising:
one or more processors (see processor 1284 in fig. 12) to:
receive an indication (receiving tone pattern in para. 0150) of a first non-uniform distribution comprising one or more unequal spacings between frequencies and a second non-uniform distribution comprising one or more unequal spacings between time slots, the frequencies and the time slots being selected to transmit reference signals (Pezeshki et al. see fig. 8b, REs 868-860 and 852-858; para. 0034, 0126, 0137, 0150; fig. 11, step 1110; At operation 1110, the process 1100 includes receiving, by a transmitting device, a tone pattern for a reference signal for use in wireless communications between the receiving device and a transmitting device). The transmitting device (e.g., UE) receives the tone pattern comprising; unequal distribution of reference signals (REs) in frequency and time domains. The tone pattern comprises REs (868 & 866) and REs (864 & 862) having unequal spacing in frequencies; while REs (868 & 866) and REs (868 & 864) having unequal spacing in time slots. The REs in the tone pattern are selected for UL reference signal transmissions by the UE; and
transmit the reference signals using a sequence of frequencies and a sequence of time slots, each sequence generated by repeating the respective non-uniform distribution two or more times (Pezeshki et al. see fig. 11, step 1130; para. 0119, 0154; In para. 0154, At operation 1130, the process 1100 includes transmitting, by the transmitting device and to the receiving device, the reference signal using the tone pattern and having one or more of the plurality of power levels. In para. 0119, …The periodicity of the tone pattern and/or EPRE value determination can depend on any number of factors including, but not limited to a configured periodicity for transmission of reference signals, e.g., every subframe or RB, every other subframe or RB, every frame, etc.). The UE transmits the reference signals using the tone pattern via a sequence of frequences and a sequence of time slots. The tone pattern including the sequences of frequencies and time slots may be repeated based on every subframe or RB.
Claims 9, 16, 23, 29 are rejected similarly to claim 1.
Regarding claims 3, 14, 21, 25, 30, Pezeshki et al. discloses the feature wherein the first non-uniform distribution and the second non-uniform distribution are to be tiled across a time and frequency resource grid (Pezeshki et al. see fig. 8b; para. 0033, 0084; Reference signals are predefined signals occupying specific resource elements within a time-frequency grid of a resource block and may be exchanged on one or both of downlink and uplink physical communication channels.). In fig. 8b, the first and second non-uniform distributions are to be tiled across a time-frequency resource grid.
Regarding claims 4, 13, 26, 33, Pezeshki et al. discloses the feature wherein the reference signals are sounding reference signals (Pezeshki et al. see para. 0034).
Regarding claim 5, 32, Pezeshki et al. discloses the feature wherein the one or more processors are to receive the indication from a wireless radio network base station (Pezeshki et al. see para. 0150).
Regarding claims 6, 15, 19, Pezeshki et al. discloses the feature wherein the indication is received with a radio resource control signal from a wireless radio network base station (Pezeshki et al. see para. 0150).
Regarding claim 7, Pezeshki et al. discloses the feature wherein the one or more processors are to generate reference signals to be transmitted to a wireless radio network base station (Pezeshki et al. see para. 0150-0154; In some aspects, the receiving device can determine the tone pattern as one of a set of pre-defined tone patterns for the reference signal. In some cases, the reference signal is one or more of a Channel State Information-Resource Element (CSI-RS), a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS), and a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS)., …At operation 1130, the process 1100 includes transmitting, by the transmitting device and to the receiving device, the reference signal using the tone pattern and having one or more of the plurality of power levels.).
Regarding claim 8, 22, 34, Pezeshki et al. discloses the feature wherein the reference signals are demodulation reference signals (Pezeshki et al. see para. 0034).
Regarding claim 12, Pezeshki et al. discloses the feature wherein the reference signals are wireless radio communication signals (Pezeshki et al. see para. 0034). The reference signals are wireless radio signals.
Regarding claim 18, Pezeshki et al. discloses the feature wherein the indication indicates a set of non-uniformly distributed frequencies and time slots (Pezeshki et al. see para. 0033, 0126, 0150). The tone pattern indicates a set of non-uniform distributed frequencies and time slots.
Regarding claim 27, Pezeshki et al. discloses the feature to process a wireless radio communications signal to identify the indication (Pezeshki et al. see para. 0150). The UE receives and processes the tone pattern.
Regarding claim 28, Pezeshki et al. discloses the feature wherein the reference signals are sounding reference signals (Pezeshki et al. see para. 0034), and the instructions, which if performed by the one or more processors, are to cause the one or more processors to generate the sounding reference signals based, at least in part, on the first non-uniform distribution and the second non-uniform distribution (Pezeshki et al. see para. 0150-0154; In some aspects, the receiving device can determine the tone pattern as one of a set of pre-defined tone patterns for the reference signal. In some cases, the reference signal is one or more of a Channel State Information-Resource Element (CSI-RS), a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS), and a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS)., …At operation 1130, the process 1100 includes transmitting, by the transmitting device and to the receiving device, the reference signal using the tone pattern and having one or more of the plurality of power levels.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10, 11, 17, 20, 24, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0217724) in view of Wang et al. (Pub No.: 2023/0030823).
Regarding claims 2, 10, 17, 24, 31, Pezeshki et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein the indication is an index corresponding to a base pattern comprising the first non-uniform distribution and the second non-uniform distribution.
Wang et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the indication is an index corresponding to a base pattern comprising the first non-uniform distribution and the second non-uniform distribution (Wang et al. see para. 0099-0101; To more effectively utilize SRS resources and increase SRS flexibility, a base station 105 may configure a UE to support more flexible SRS configurations and parameters. As such base station 105-a may transmit an indication of a set of parameters (e.g., one or more bit values, one or more fields including an indication, information associated with an index or value stored at the UE that points to one or more SRS parameters), the set of parameters themselves, or both) to UE 115-a.). The base station may configure a UE with SRS resource configurations and parameters based on one or more bit values.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Pezeshki et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Wang et al. to configure the UE to support SRS resource configurations (e.g., REs distributions) based on bit values.
The motivation would be to improve transmission throughput.
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al. discloses the feature wherein the indication indicates a base set of non-uniformly distributed frequencies or time slots that is to be used to identify additional non-uniformly distributed frequencies or time slots of corresponding reference signals to be transmitted (Wang et al. see para. 0099-0101; table 1; To more effectively utilize SRS resources and increase SRS flexibility, a base station 105 may configure a UE to support more flexible SRS configurations and parameters. As such base station 105-a may transmit an indication of a set of parameters (e.g., one or more bit values, one or more fields including an indication, information associated with an index or value stored at the UE that points to one or more SRS parameters), the set of parameters themselves, or both) to UE 115-a.). The base station may transmit indication of a set of parameters and information associated with an index that points to one or more SRS parameters.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Pezeshki et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Wang et al. to configure the UE with information associated with an index that points to one or more SRS parameters.
The motivation would be to improve transmission efficiency.
Regarding claim 20, Wang et al. discloses the feature wherein the method further includes identifying two or more additional non-uniformly distributed frequencies and time slots based, at least in part, on the indication (Wang et al. see para. 0099-0100; table 1; To more effectively utilize SRS resources and increase SRS flexibility, a base station 105 may configure a UE to support more flexible SRS configurations and parameters. As such base station 105-a may transmit an indication of a set of parameters (e.g., one or more bit values, one or more fields including an indication, information associated with an index or value stored at the UE that points to one or more SRS parameters), the set of parameters themselves, or both) to UE 115-a.). The base station may transmit indication of a set of parameters and information associated with an index that points to one or more SRS parameters.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Pezeshki et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Wang et al. to configure the UE with information associated with an index that points to additional SRS parameters.
The motivation would be to improve transmission efficiency.
Examiner's Note
The Applicant is welcome to request a telephonic interview if the Applicant has any questions or requires any additional information that would further or expedite the prosecution of the application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu et al. (Pub No.: 2023/0067551) discloses systems and methods for sounding reference signal (SRS) time bundling. A wireless communication device may receive a configuration to determine a first frequency location of an aperiodic SRS from a wireless communication node. The first frequency location may be determined according to a second frequency location of at least one occasion of a non-aperiodic SRS. The wireless communication device may receive a downlink control information (DCI) transmission. The wireless communication device may transmit, responsive to the DCI transmission, the aperiodic SRS using the first frequency location.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAN YUEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464