DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
2. Claims 57-77 are pending under examination. Claims 1-56 were canceled. The Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and found persuasive for the following reasons.
Response to Arguments:
3. The rejection of claims under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maples et al. has been withdrawn in view of the persuasive arguments.
4. The rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 over Maples et al. in view of Ismagilov et al. has been withdrawn in view of the persuasive arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 57, 67 and 72-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi et al. (US 2006/0252058).
Hayashi et al. teach a method of claim 57, 67, comprising: providing a volume suspected of containing target nucleic acids; and conducting an isothermal nucleic acid amplification reaction in said volume in the presence of a modulator comprising an engineered or non-natural sequence-specific nuclease (engineered sequence specific mismatch binding protein), wherein said modulator modulates said isothermal amplification of said target nucleic acids by acting on said target nucleic acid within a region located between amplification primers of said isothermal amplification (para 0081-0085, 0089, 0075-0076, 0107-0114, 0130).
With reference to claim 61-66, Hayashi et al. teach providing comprises providing a first volume comprising a first nucleic acid and a second volume comprising a second nucleic acid, wherein dispensing said first volume among a plurality of first areas and dispensing said second volume among plurality of second areas and performing amplification in said areas and detecting the amplification differences in said first and second target nucleic acid, said difference is diagnostic of said nucleic acids (para 0106-0110, 0120-0130, 0008-0011 indicating chip with plurality of reaction areas).
With reference to claim 67, Hayashi et al. teach that the said modulation comprises producing a difference in amplification efficiency (para 0084-0085).
With reference to claim 72, Hayashi et al. teach that the method further comprises comparing results of said isothermal amplification to results of a control isothermal amplification in (para 0114, 0130).
With reference to claim 73-74, Hayashi et al. teach that the isothermal amplification is a LAMP, NASBA or SDA (para 0050). For all the above the claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 57-74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (US 2006/0252058) in view of Ismagilov et al. (WO 2010/111265).
Hayashi et al. teach a method for isothermal amplification in the presence of a modulator as discussed above. However, Hayashi et al. did not teach distributing or partitioning a volume comprising a target nucleic acid into plurality of areas capable of generating digital nucleic acid amplification signals.
Ismagilov et al. teach a digital amplification method comprising a slipchip comprising multiple areas on a chip, wherein a volume suspected of containing target nucleic acids is dispensed in said areas (para 0359-0360, 0366-0368, 0427-0433, 0513-0514); and conducting an isothermal nucleic acid amplification reaction in said volume (para 0406, 0417, 0427-0433, 0515-0519, 0359-0360, 0366) wherein providing comprises dispensing said volume among a plurality of areas and conducting is performed in the dispended volume in said plurality of areas, wherein providing comprises comprise a first volume comprising a first nucleic acid and a second volume comprising a second nucleic acid at most one target and detecting a difference in said first and second target amplification and digitally detecting positive and negative amplification signals using positive and negative control for comparison (para 0427-0446, 0513-0519, 0175). With reference to claims 70-71, Ismagilov teach that the target nucleic acid comprises HCV nucleic acid and the method determining a detection signal of HCV genotype (para 0544, 0640).
It would have been prime facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as taught by Hayashi et al. with a digital amplification method as taught by Ismagilov et al. to develop an improved sensitive method for detecting a target nucleic acid in a sample. The ordinary person skilled in the art would have motivated to modify the method of Hayashi et al. with the digital amplification as taught by Ismagilov et al. and have a reasonable expectation of success that the modification would result in an improved sensitivity of the amplification method because Ismagilov et al. explicitly taught that the method provides analysis of multiple samples in small- volume samples using multiple analysis methods with digital read out of results (para 0267, 0359, 0406, 0417) and such a modification of the method is considered obvious over the cited prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 75-77 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Suryaprabha Chunduru
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1681
/SURYAPRABHA CHUNDURU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681