DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims in the submission dated 11/14/2025 in response to the office action mailed 08/21/2025 are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraph 2 on page 10 of 14 through paragraph 2 on page 11 of 14 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 11/14/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jang et al., US 2022/0171162 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Jang) in view of Hirano, US 2020/0241243 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Hirano), as evidenced by Gross, Handbook of Optical Systems (hereinafter referred to as Gross).
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraph 3 on page 11 of 14 through paragraph 3 on page 12 of 14 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 11/14/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 8-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kuo US 2020/0393652 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kuo) in view of Hirano, US 2020/0241243 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Hirano), as evidenced by Gross et al. “Handbook of Optical Systems” (hereinafter referred to as Gross).
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraph 4 on page 12 of 14 through paragraph 2 on page 13 of 14 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 11/14/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 15-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jang et al., US 2022/0171162 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Jang) in view of Kuo US 2020/0393652 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kuo), and further in view of Hirano, US 2020/0241243 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Hirano), as evidenced by Gross et al. “Handbook of Optical Systems” (hereinafter referred to as Gross).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al., US 2022/0171162 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Jang) in view of Hirano, US 2020/0241243 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Hirano), as evidenced by Gross, Handbook of Optical Systems (hereinafter referred to as Gross).
As to claim 1, Jang teaches an optical imaging lens (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, paragraph [0152], “optical imaging system”), comprising a first lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 310, paragraph [0152], “first lens 310”), a second lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 320, paragraph [0152], “second lens 320”), a third lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 330, paragraph [0152], “third lens 330”), a fourth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 340, paragraph [0152], “fourth lens 340”), a fifth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 350, paragraph [0152], “fifth lens 350”), a sixth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 360, paragraph [0152], “sixth lens 360”), a seventh lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 370, paragraph [0152], “seventh lens 370”), an eighth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 380, paragraph [0152], “eighth lens 380”), and a ninth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 390, paragraph [0152], “ninth lens 390”) disposed in sequence from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, paragraph [0009], “a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, a fifth lens, a sixth lens, a seventh lens, an eighth lens, and a ninth lens sequentially arranged from an object side”), wherein each of the first lens element to the ninth lens element comprises an object-side surface facing the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, paragraph [0056], “a first surface of each lens refers to a surface thereof closest to an object side (or an object-side surface)”) and an image-side surface facing the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, paragraph [0056], “a second surface of each lens refers to a surface thereof closest to an image side (or an image-side surface)”);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the second lens element is convex (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 320, paragraph [0156], “a first surface there may be convex”);
the fourth lens element has positive refracting power (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 340, paragraph [0158], “the fourth lens 340 may have positive refractive power”) and a periphery region of the image-side surface of the fourth lens element is concave (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 340, in the annotated figure 5 below the dashed arc shows the periphery region of the image-side surface of the fourth lens is concave, paragraph [0169], “respective surfaces of the first to ninth lenses 310 to 390 may have aspherical coefficients as represented in Table 6… all of object-side surfaces and image-side surfaces of the first to ninth lenses 310 to 390 may be aspherical,” thus the aspherical coefficients of the image-side of the fourth lens S8 shown in table 6 indicate the periphery region is concave);
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 350, figure 5 shows the periphery region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens is concave, paragraph [0169], “respective surfaces of the first to ninth lenses 310 to 390 may have aspherical coefficients as represented in Table 6… all of object-side surfaces and image-side surfaces of the first to ninth lenses 310 to 390 may be aspherical,” thus the aspherical coefficients of the object-side of the fifth lens S9 shown in table 6 indicate the periphery region is concave);
the seventh lens element has positive refracting power (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 370, paragraph [0163], “the seventh lens 370 may have positive refractive power”);
wherein lens elements of the optical imaging lens are only the nine lens elements described above (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 310-390, paragraph [0152], “The optical imaging system according to the third example embodiment may include a first lens 310, a second lens 320, a third lens 330, a fourth lens 340, a fifth lens 350, a sixth lens 360, a seventh lens 370, an eighth lens 380, and
a ninth lens 390”).
Jang does not teach the optical imaging lens wherein an optical axis region of the image-side surface of the seventh lens element is convex.
However, in the same field of endeavor Hirano teaches an optical imaging lens (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, paragraph [0112], “imaging lens”), comprising a first lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L1, paragraph [0112], “a first lens L1”), a second lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L2, paragraph [0112], “a second lens L2”), a third lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L3, paragraph [0112], “a third lens L3”), a fourth lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L4, paragraph [0112], “a fourth lens L4”), a fifth lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L5, paragraph [0112], “a fifth lens L5”), a sixth lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L6, paragraph [0112], “a sixth lens L6”), a seventh lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L7, paragraph [0112], “a seventh lens L7”), an eighth lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L8, paragraph [0112], “an eighth lens L8”), and a ninth lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L9, paragraph [0112], “a ninth lens L9”) disposed in sequence from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, paragraph [0112], “arranged in the order from an object side to an image plane side”), wherein each of the first lens element to the ninth lens element comprises an object-side surface facing the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, paragraph [0112], the imaging lens has an object side, thus the surface of the lenses facing the object side is the object-side of each lens) and an image-side surface facing the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, IM, paragraph [0112], the imaging lens has an image plane side, thus the surface of the lenses facing the image plane side is the image-side of each lens);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the second lens element is convex (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L2, paragraph [0115], a curvature radius r3 of a surface on the object-side is positive thus “the second lens L2 has a shape of a meniscus lens directing a convex surface thereof to the object side near the optical axis,” paragraph [0158], Table 5, r column gives r3=4.679 thus the object-side surface of the second lens element is convex);
the fourth lens element has positive refracting power (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L4, paragraph [0112], “a fourth lens L4 having positive refractive power,” paragraph [0158], Table 5 gives f4=34.003);
an optical axis region of the image-side surface of the seventh lens element is convex (Hirano Example 3, Fig. 7, L7, paragraph [0123], the seventh lens L7 is formed in a shape, such that a curvature radius r14 of a surface thereof on the image plane side is negative… “the seventh lens L7 has a shape of a meniscus lens directing a concave surface thereof to the object side near the optical axis,” paragraph [0158], Table 5, r column gives r14=-2.730 thus the image-side surface of the seventh lens element is convex), and the seventh lens element has positive refracting power (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L7, paragraph [0122], Example 3 is an example of a lens configuration in which the seventh lens L7 has positive refractive power,” paragraph [0158], Table 5 gives f7=27.690);
wherein lens elements of the optical imaging lens are only the nine lens elements described above (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L1-L9, paragraph [0112], the imaging lens includes a first lens L1, a second lens L2, a third lens L3, a fourth lens L4, a fifth lens L5, a sixth lens L6, a seventh lens L7, an eighth lens L8, and a ninth lens L9).
NOTE: Hirano’s paragraph [0111] explains the imaging lenses in the Numerical Data Examples 1 to 13 have the same basic configuration, and the lens configuration of the embodiment will be described with reference to Numerical Data Example 1. Thus, reference is made to paragraphs [0112]-[0127], which describe the first embodiment, and to Table 5 in paragraph [0158], which provides the numerical data for the third embodiment.
Gross teaches (page 378 section 33.1.4) that bending a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance. Bending a lens involves modifying the curvatures of the two surfaces while keeping the focal power of the lens the same (“zero power operations”, “do not introduce any refractive power”). Gross teaches that bending a lens can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup.
Note that the seventh lens 370 of Jang and the seventh lens L7 of Hirano are both positive. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical imaging lens of Jang wherein an optical axis region of the image-side surface of the seventh lens element is convex of Hirano, because Gross teaches that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Gross teaches that bending a lens does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4).
As to claim 2, Jang in view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Jang further teaches the optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets (V3+V4+V5+V6)/V2≤6.900 (Jang, third embodiment, given the values that follow (V3+V4+V5+V6)/V2=6.56), where V2 is an Abbe number of the second lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Abbe Number column, Surface Number row S3, V2=23.5), V3 is an Abbe number of the third lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Abbe Number column, Surface Number row S5, V3=18.4), V4 is an Abbe number of the fourth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Abbe Number column, Surface Number row S7, V4=56.1), V5 is an Abbe number of the fifth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Abbe Number column, Surface Number row S9, V5=56.1), and V6 is an Abbe number of the sixth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Abbe Number column, Surface Number row S11, V6=23.5).
As to claim 3, Jang in view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Jang further teaches the optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein the optical imaging lens meets (TTL+EPD)/D21t52≥5.200 (Jang, third embodiment, given the values that follow (TTL+EPD)/D21t52=5.57), where TTL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element to an image plane on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, the sum of Surface Number rows S1-S20 gives TTL=7.001), EPD is an entrance pupil diameter of the optical imaging lens (Jang, third embodiment, paragraph [0154], EPD is given by f/Fno=2.94), D21t52 is a distance from the object-side surface of the second lens element to the image-side surface of the fifth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, the sum of Surface Numbers S3-S9 gives D21t52=1.786).
As to claim 4, Jang in view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Jang further teaches the optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets (ALT16+BFL)/D71t82≤3.600 (Jang, third embodiment, given the values that follow (ALT16+BFL)/D71t82=2.38), where ALT16 is a sum of six thicknesses of the first lens element to the sixth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, the sum of Surface Number rows S1, S3, S4, S5, and S6 gives ALT16=2.282), BFL is a distance from the image-side surface of the ninth lens element to an image plane on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, the sum of Surface Number rows S18-S20 gives BFL=1.031), and D71t82 is a distance from the object-side surface of the seventh lens element to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, the sum of Surface Number rows S13-SS15 gives D71t82=1.391).
As to claim 5, Jang in view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jang does not teach the optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets Fno*(AA14+T6+G78)/T1≤3.500 (Jang, third embodiment, given the following values Fno*(AA14+T6+G78)/T1=4.19), where Fno is an F-number of the optical imaging lens (Jang, third embodiment, paragraph [0154], “Fno thereof may be 2.00), AA14 is a sum of four air gaps from the first lens element to the fifth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, the sum of Surface Number rows S2, S4, S6, and S8 gives AA14=0.655), T1 is a thickness of the first lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, Surface Number S1=0.686), T6 is a thickness of the sixth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, Surface Number S11=0.340), and G78 is an air gap between the seventh lens element and the eighth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, Surface Number S14=0.441).
However, in the same field of endeavor Hirano teaches the optical imaging lens, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets Fno*(AA14+T6+G78)/T1≤3.500 (Hirano, Example 3, given the following values Fno*(AA14+T6+G78)/T1=3.506), where Fno is an F-number of the optical imaging lens (Hirano, Example 3, paragraph [0158], Table 5, Fno=2.00), AA14 is a sum of four air gaps from the first lens element to the fifth lens element on the optical axis (Hirano, Example 3, Table 5, d column, the sum of rows 2, 4, 6, and 8 gives AA14=0.688), T1 is a thickness of the first lens element on the optical axis (Hirano, Example 3, Table 5, d column, row 1 gives T1=0.817), T6 is a thickness of the sixth lens element on the optical axis (Hirano, Example 3, Table 5, d column, row 11 gives T6=0.676), and G78 is an air gap between the seventh lens element and the eighth lens element on the optical axis (Hirano, Example 3, Table 5, d column, row 14 gives G78=0.068).
The Examiner contends that the prior art, Hirano’s value of 3.506 for Fno*(AA14+T6+G78)/T1 is sufficiently close to the claimed range of Fno*(AA14+T6+G78)/T1≤3.500 to render it obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium, with the court opining that "[t]he proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.").
Here, the difference between 3.506 and the endpoint of 3.500 is insubstantial, representing only a 0.18% difference while the difference in nickel content between the claimed invention and the prior art in Titanium Metals was 6.25%. Here, the calculated Fno*(AA14+T6+G78)/T1 value from the prior art is substantially closer to Applicant’s claimed range than was the case in the Titanium Metals decision. Moreover, the present record does not demonstrate any substantial difference in operation, or any superior and unexpected effect, attributable to the claimed range of Fno*(AA14+T6+G78)/T1≤3.500.
In view of the above facts, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would have reasonably concluded that the value of 3.506 for Fno*(AA14+T6+G78)/T1, calculated from the prior art disclosure, is sufficiently close to the claimed range of Fno*(AA14+T6+G78)/T1≤3.500 to render it obvious because the difference between 3.506 and the endpoint of 3.500 is insubstantial, a value of 3.506 is reasonably expected to have the same effect as if it were the endpoint of the range for Fno*(AA14+T6+G78)/T1≤3.500, and because there is no evidence to suggest criticality of the endpoint of the claimed range and/or that the endpoint of the claimed range is related to any superior and/or unexpected result.
As to claim 6, Jang in view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Jang further teaches the optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets ALT/(T7+T8)≤4.200 (Jang, third embodiment, given the values that follow ALT/(T7+T8)=3.93), where ALT is a sum of nine thicknesses of the first lens element to the ninth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, the sum of Surface Number rows S1, S3, S5, S7, S9, S11, S13, S15, and S17 gives ALT=3.732), T7 is a thickness of the seventh lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, Surface Number row S13 gives T7=0.450), and T8 is a thickness of the eighth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, Surface Number row S15 gives T8=0.500).
As to claim 7, Jang in view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Jang further teaches the optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets (EPD+D42t92)/D11t42≥3.100 (Jung, third embodiment, given the values that follow (EPD+D42t92)/D11t42=3.39), where EPD is an entrance pupil diameter of the optical imaging lens (Jang, third embodiment, paragraph [0154], EPD is given by f/Fno=2.94), D42t92 is a distance from the image-side surface of the fourth lens element to the image-side surface of the ninth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, the sum of Surface Number rows S8-S17 gives D42t92=3.941), and D11t42 is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element to the image-side surface of the fourth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, the sum of Surface Number rows S1-S7 gives D11t42=2.029).
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo US 2020/0393652 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kuo) in view of Hirano, US 2020/0241243 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Hirano), as evidenced by Gross et al. “Handbook of Optical Systems” (hereinafter referred to as Gross).
As to claim 8, Kuo teaches an optical imaging lens (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, paragraph [0226], “optical photographing lens”), comprising a first lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 510, paragraph [0226], “a first lens element 510”), a second lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 520, paragraph [0226], “a second lens element 520”), a third lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 530, paragraph [0226], “a third lens element 530”), a fourth lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 540, paragraph [0226], “a fourth lens element 540”), a fifth lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 550, paragraph [0226], “a fifth lens element 550”), a sixth lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 560, paragraph [0226], “a sixth lens element 560”), a seventh lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 570, paragraph [0226], “a seventh lens element 570”), an eighth lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 580, paragraph [0226], “a eighth lens element 580”), and a ninth lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 590, paragraph [0226], “a ninth lens element 590”) disposed in sequence from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 510-590, paragraph [0226], “in order from an object side to an image side”), wherein each of the first lens element to the ninth lens element comprises an object-side surface facing the object side (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 511, 521, 531, 541, 551, 561, 571, 581, and 591 are the object-side surfaces of the first lens element 510 to the ninth lens element 590) and allowing imaging rays to pass through and an image-side surface facing the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 512, 522, 532, 542, 552, 562, 572, 582, and 592 are the image-side surfaces of the first lens element 510 to the ninth lens element 590);
a periphery region of the image-side surface of the fourth lens element is concave (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 540, figure 9 shows the periphery region of the image-side surface of the fourth lens is concave);
an optical axis region of the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 561, paragraph [0232], “image-side surface 562 being concave in a paraxial region thereof”), and a periphery region of the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is convex (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 562, figure 9 shows the periphery region of the image-side surface of the sixth lens is convex);
an optical axis region of the image-side surface of the seventh lens element is convex (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 572, paragraph [0233], “image-side surface 572 being convex in a paraxial region thereof”);
wherein lens elements of the optical imaging lens are only the nine lens elements described above (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 510-590, paragraph [0228], “the optical photographing lens assembly includes nine lens elements (510, 520, 530, 540, 550, 560, 570, 580 and 590) with no additional lens element disposed between each of the adjacent nine lens elements”).
Kuo’s 5th Embodiment does not teach the optical imaging lens wherein a periphery region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave; and an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the seventh lens element is concave.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kuo’s 3rd Embodiment teaches an optical imaging lens (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, paragraph [0199], “optical photographing lens”), comprising a first lens element (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 310, paragraph [0199], “a first lens element 310”), a second lens element (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 320, paragraph [0199], “a second lens element 320”), a third lens element (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 330, paragraph [0199], “a third lens element 330”), a fourth lens element (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 340, paragraph [0199], “a fourth lens element 340”), a fifth lens element (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 350, paragraph [0199], “a fifth lens element 350”), a sixth lens element (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 360, paragraph [0199], “a sixth lens element 360”), a seventh lens element (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 370, paragraph [0199], “a seventh lens element 370”), an eighth lens element (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 380, paragraph [0199], “a eighth lens element 380”), and a ninth lens element (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 390, paragraph [0199], “a ninth lens element 390”) disposed in sequence from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 310-390, paragraph [0199], “in order from an object side to an image side”), wherein each of the first lens element to the ninth lens element comprises an object-side surface facing the object side (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 311, 321, 331, 341, 351, 361, 371, 381, and 391 are the object-side surfaces of the first lens element 310 to the ninth lens element 390) and allowing imaging rays to pass through and an image-side surface facing the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 312, 322, 332, 342, 352, 362, 372, 382, and 392 are the image-side surfaces of the first lens element 310 to the ninth lens element 390);
a periphery region of the image-side surface of the fourth lens element is concave (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 340, figure 5 shows the periphery region of the image-side surface of the fourth lens is concave);
wherein a periphery region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 350, figure 5 shows the periphery region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens is concave);
an optical axis region of the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 561, paragraph [0204], “image-side surface 362 being concave in a paraxial region thereof”);
wherein lens elements of the optical imaging lens are only the nine lens elements described above (Kuo, 3rd Embodiment, Fig. 5, 310-390, paragraph [0199], “the optical photographing lens assembly includes nine lens elements (310, 320, 330, 340, 350, 360, 370, 380 and 390) with no additional lens element disposed between each of the adjacent nine lens elements”).
However, in the same field of endeavor Hirano teaches an optical imaging lens (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, paragraph [0112], “imaging lens”), comprising a first lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L1, paragraph [0112], “a first lens L1”), a second lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L2, paragraph [0112], “a second lens L2”), a third lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L3, paragraph [0112], “a third lens L3”), a fourth lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L4, paragraph [0112], “a fourth lens L4”), a fifth lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L5, paragraph [0112], “a fifth lens L5”), a sixth lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L6, paragraph [0112], “a sixth lens L6”), a seventh lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L7, paragraph [0112], “a seventh lens L7”), an eighth lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L8, paragraph [0112], “an eighth lens L8”), and a ninth lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L9, paragraph [0112], “a ninth lens L9”) disposed in sequence from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, paragraph [0112], “arranged in the order from an object side to an image plane side”), wherein each of the first lens element to the ninth lens element comprises an object-side surface facing the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, paragraph [0112], the imaging lens has an object side, thus the surface of the lenses facing the object side is the object-side of each lens) and an image-side surface facing the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, IM, paragraph [0112], the imaging lens has an image plane side, thus the surface of the lenses facing the image plane side is the image-side of each lens);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the seventh lens element is concave (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L7, paragraph [0123], the seventh lens L7 is formed in a shape such that a curvature radius r13 of a surface on the object-side is negative… “the seventh lens L7 has a shape of a meniscus lens directing a concave surface thereof to the object side near the optical axis,” paragraph [0158], Table 5, r column gives r13=-3.080 thus the object-side surface of the seventh lens element is concave), and an optical axis region of the image-side surface of the seventh lens element is convex (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L7, paragraph [0123], the seventh lens L7 is formed in a shape such that a curvature radius r14 of a surface thereof on the image plane side is negative… “the seventh lens L7 has a shape of a meniscus lens directing a concave surface thereof to the object side near the optical axis,” paragraph [0158], Table 5, r column gives r14=-2.730 thus the image-side surface of the seventh lens element is convex);
wherein lens elements of the optical imaging lens are only the nine lens elements described above (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L1-L9, paragraph [0112], the imaging lens includes a first lens L1, a second lens L2, a third lens L3, a fourth lens L4, a fifth lens L5, a sixth lens L6, a seventh lens L7, an eighth lens L8, and a ninth lens L9).
NOTE: Hirano’s paragraph [0111] explains the imaging lenses in the Numerical Data Examples 1 to 13 have the same basic configuration, and the lens configuration of the embodiment will be described with reference to Numerical Data Example 1. Thus, reference is made to paragraphs [0112]-[0127], which describe the first embodiment, and to Table 5 in paragraph [0158], which provides the numerical data for the third embodiment.
Gross teaches (page 378 section 33.1.4) that bending a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance. Bending a lens involves modifying the curvatures of the two surfaces while keeping the focal power of the lens the same (“zero power operations”, “do not introduce any refractive power”). Gross teaches that bending a lens can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup.
Note that the fifth lens 350 of the 3rd Embodiment of Kuo and the fifth lens 550 of the 5th Embodiment of Kuo are both negative (see paragraphs [0203] and [0231]). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the optical imaging lens of Kuo’s 5th Embodiment wherein the periphery region of the object-side surface of the negative fifth lens element is concave of Kuo’s 3rd Embodiment, because Gross teaches that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Gross teaches that bending a lens does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4).
Note that the seventh lens 570 of the 5th Embodiment of Kuo and the seventh lens L7 of Hirano are both positive. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the optical imaging lens of Kuo’s 5th Embodiment wherein an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the seventh lens element is concave of Hirano, because Gross teaches that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Gross teaches that bending a lens does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4).
As to claim 9, Kuo in view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8. Kuo’s 5th Embodiment does not teach the optical imaging lens according to claim 8, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets V1+V3≤100.000 (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, given the values that follow V1+V3=112.10), where V1 is an Abbe number of the first lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Abbe # column, Surface # 2 gives V1=56.1), and V3 is an Abbe number of the third lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Abbe # column, Surface # 6 gives V3=56.0).
However, in the same field of endeavor Kuo’s 9th Embodiment teaches an optical imaging lens (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Fig. 17, paragraph [0282], “optical photography lens assembly”), comprising a first lens element (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Fig. 17, 910, paragraph [0282], “a first lens element 910”), a second lens element (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Fig. 17, 920, paragraph [0282], “a second lens element 920”), a third lens element (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Fig. 17, 930, paragraph [0282], “a third lens element 930”), a fourth lens element (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Fig. 17, 940, paragraph [0282], “a fourth lens element 940”), a fifth lens element (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Fig. 17, 950, paragraph [0282], “a fifth lens element 950”), a sixth lens element (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Fig. 17, 960, paragraph [0282], “a sixth lens element 960”), a seventh lens element (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Fig. 17, 970, paragraph [0282], “a seventh lens element 970”), an eighth lens element (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Fig. 17, 980, paragraph [0282], “an eighth lens element 980”), and a ninth lens element (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Fig. 17, 990, paragraph [0282], “a ninth lens element 990”) disposed in sequence from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Fig. 17, 910-990, paragraph [0282], “in order from an object side to an image side”), wherein each of the first lens element to the ninth lens element comprises an object-side surface facing the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Fig. 17, 911, 921, 931, 941, 951, 961, 971, 981, and 991 are the object-side surfaces of the first lens element 910 to the ninth lens element 990) and an image-side surface facing the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Fig. 17, 912, 922, 932, 942, 952, 962, 972, 982, and 992 are the image-side surfaces of the first lens element 910 to the ninth lens element 990);
an optical axis region of the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Fig. 17, 962, paragraph [0288], “image-side surface 962 being concave in a paraxial region thereof”);
wherein lens elements of the optical imaging lens are only the nine lens elements described above (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Fig. 17, 910-990, paragraph [0282], “the optical photographing lens assembly includes nine lens elements (910, 920, 930, 940, 950, 960, 970, 980 and 990) with no additional lens element disposed between each of the adjacent nine lens elements”), and
wherein the optical imaging lens further meets V1+V3≤100.000 (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, given the values that follow V1+V3=75.6), where V1 is an Abbe number of the first lens element (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Table 17, Abbe # column, Surface # 2 gives V1=56.1), and V3 is an Abbe number of the third lens element (Kuo, 9th Embodiment, Table 17, Abbe # column, Surface # 6 gives V3=19.5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose an optical imaging lens of the 5th Embodiment of Kuo wherein the optical imaging lens further meets V1+V3≤100.000 of the 9th Embodiment of Kuo, because doing so is favorable for selecting proper materials for manufacturing the lens elements in the optical photography lens assembly so as to correct aberrations such as chromatic aberration (Kuo, paragraph [0056]).
As to claim 10, Kuo in view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8, and Kuo further teaches the optical imaging lens according to claim 8, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets (TL+EPD)/D11t42≥4.100 (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, given the values that follow (TL+EPD)/D11t42=5.58), where TL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element to the image-side surface of the ninth lens element on the optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, paragraph [0239], 5th Embodiment table, TL=6.05), EPD is an entrance pupil diameter of the optical imaging lens (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, paragraph [0239], 5th Embodiment table, EPD=2.80 is calculated using the values TL=6.05 and TL/EPD=2.16), and D11t42 is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element to the image-side surface of the fourth lens element on the optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Thickness column, the sum of Surface # rows 2-8 gives D11t42=1.585).
As to claim 11, Kuo in view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8, and Kuo further teaches the optical imaging lens according to claim 8, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets D21t42/G45≤4.100 (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, given the values that follow D21t42/G45=2.42), where D21t42 is a distance from the object-side surface of the second lens element to the image-side surface of the fourth lens element on the optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Thickness column, the sum of Surface # rows 4-8 gives D21t42=0.601), and G45 is an air gap between the fourth lens element and the fifth lens element on the optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Thickness column, Surface # 9 gives G45=0.248).
As to claim 12, Kuo in view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8, and Kuo further teaches the optical imaging lens according to claim 8, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets Fno*ALT16/ALT79≤3.800 (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, given the values that follow Fno*ALT16/ALT79=2.98), where Fno is an F-number of the optical imaging lens (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Fno=2.20), ALT16 is a sum of six thicknesses of the first lens element to the sixth lens element on the optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Thickness column, the sum of Surface # rows 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 13 gives ALT16=1.897), and ALT79 is a sum of three thicknesses of the seventh lens element to the ninth lens element on the optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Thickness column, the sum of Surface # rows 15, 17, 19 gives ALT79=1.402).
As to claim 13, Kuo in view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8, and Kuo further teaches the optical imaging lens according to claim 8, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets (D21t52+BFL)/(G56+G67)≤4.300 (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, given the values that follow (D21t52+BFL)/(G56+G67)=0.46), where D21t52 is a distance from the object-side surface of the second lens element to the image-side surface of the fifth lens element on the optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Thickness column, the sum of Surface # rows 4-10 gives D21t52=1.236), BFL is a distance from the image-side surface of the ninth lens element to an image plane on the optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Thickness column, the sum of Surface # rows 20-22 gives BFL=0.938), G56 is an air gap between the fifth lens element and the sixth lens element on the optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Thickness column, the sum of Surface # rows 11-12 gives G56=0.606), and G67 is an air gap between the sixth lens element and the seventh lens element on the optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Thickness column, Surface # 14 gives G67=0.070).
As to claim 14, Kuo in view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8, and Kuo further teaches the optical imaging lens according to claim 8, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets (ImgH+D71t92)/D21t52≥3.300 (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, given the values that follow (ImgH+D71t92)/D21t52=4.14), where ImgH is an image height of the optical imaging lens (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, paragraph [0239], 5th Embodiment Table, ImgH=2.937 is calculated from the given values of TL=6.05 and TL/ImgH=2.06), D71t92 is a distance from the object-side surface of the seventh lens element to the image-side surface of the ninth lens element on the optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Thickness column, the sum of Surface # rows 15-19 gives D71t92=2.183), and D21t52 is a distance from the object-side surface of the second lens element to the image-side surface of the fifth lens element on the optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Thickness column, the sum of Surface # rows 4-10 gives D21t52=1.236).
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al., US 2022/0171162 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Jang) in view of Kuo US 2020/0393652 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kuo), and further in view of Hirano, US 2020/0241243 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Hirano), as evidenced by Gross et al. “Handbook of Optical Systems” (hereinafter referred to as Gross).
As to claim 15, Jang teaches an optical imaging lens (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, paragraph [0152], “optical imaging system”), comprising a first lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 310, paragraph [0152], “first lens 310”), a second lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 320, paragraph [0152], “second lens 320”), a third lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 330, paragraph [0152], “third lens 330”), a fourth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 340, paragraph [0152], “fourth lens 340”), a fifth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 350, paragraph [0152], “fifth lens 350”), a sixth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 360, paragraph [0152], “sixth lens 360”), a seventh lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 370, paragraph [0152], “seventh lens 370”), an eighth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 380, paragraph [0152], “eighth lens 380”), and a ninth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 390, paragraph [0152], “ninth lens 390”) disposed in sequence from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, paragraph [0009], “a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, a fifth lens, a sixth lens, a seventh lens, an eighth lens, and a ninth lens sequentially arranged from an object side”), wherein each of the first lens element to the ninth lens element comprises an object-side surface facing the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, paragraph [0056], “a first surface of each lens refers to a surface thereof closest to an object side (or an object-side surface)”) and an image-side surface facing the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, paragraph [0056], “a second surface of each lens refers to a surface thereof closest to an image side (or an image-side surface)”);
a periphery region of the image-side surface of the third lens element is concave (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 330, figure 5 shows the periphery region of the image-side surface of the third lens is concave);
a periphery region of the image-side surface of the fourth lens element is concave (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 340, in the annotated figure 5 as addressed in claim 1 above the dashed arc shows the periphery region of the image-side surface of the fourth lens is concave, paragraph [0169], “respective surfaces of the first to ninth lenses 310 to 390 may have aspherical coefficients as represented in Table 6… all of object-side surfaces and image-side surfaces of the first to ninth lenses 310 to 390 may be aspherical,” thus the aspherical coefficients of the image-side of the fourth lens S8 shown in table 6 indicate the periphery region is concave);
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 350, figure 5 shows the periphery region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens is concave, paragraph [0169], “respective surfaces of the first to ninth lenses 310 to 390 may have aspherical coefficients as represented in Table 6… all of object-side surfaces and image-side surfaces of the first to ninth lenses 310 to 390 may be aspherical,” thus the aspherical coefficients of the object-side of the fifth lens S9 shown in table 6 indicate the periphery region is concave), and a periphery region of the image-side surface of the fifth lens element is convex (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 350, figure 5 shows the periphery region of the image-side surface of the fifth lens is convex);
wherein lens elements of the optical imaging lens are only the nine lens elements described above (Jang, third embodiment, Fig. 5, 310-390, paragraph [0152], “The optical imaging system according to the third example embodiment may include a first lens 310, a second lens 320, a third lens 330, a fourth lens 340, a fifth lens 350, a sixth lens 360, a seventh lens 370, an eighth lens 380, and
a ninth lens 390”); and
wherein the optical imaging lens further meets (V3+V4+V5+V6)/V2≤6.900 (Jang, third embodiment, given the values that follow (V3+V4+V5+V6)/V2=6.56), where V2 is an Abbe number of the second lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Abbe Number column, Surface Number row S3, V2=23.5), V3 is an Abbe number of the third lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Abbe Number column, Surface Number row S5, V3=18.4), V4 is an Abbe number of the fourth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Abbe Number column, Surface Number row S7, V4=56.1), V5 is an Abbe number of the fifth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Abbe Number column, Surface Number row S9, V5=56.1), and V6 is an Abbe number of the sixth lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Abbe Number column, Surface Number row S11, V6=23.5).
Jang does not teach the optical imaging lens wherein a periphery region of the object-side surface of the fourth lens element is convex, an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the sixth lens element is convex, and an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the seventh lens element is concave.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kuo teaches an optical imaging lens (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, paragraph [0226], “optical photographing lens”), comprising a first lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 510, paragraph [0226], “a first lens element 510”), a second lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 520, paragraph [0226], “a second lens element 520”), a third lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 530, paragraph [0226], “a third lens element 530”), a fourth lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 540, paragraph [0226], “a fourth lens element 540”), a fifth lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 550, paragraph [0226], “a fifth lens element 550”), a sixth lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 560, paragraph [0226], “a sixth lens element 560”), a seventh lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 570, paragraph [0226], “a seventh lens element 570”), an eighth lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 580, paragraph [0226], “a eighth lens element 580”), and a ninth lens element (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 590, paragraph [0226], “a ninth lens element 590”) disposed in sequence from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 510-590, paragraph [0226], “in order from an object side to an image side”), wherein each of the first lens element to the ninth lens element comprises an object-side surface facing the object side (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 511, 521, 531, 541, 551, 561, 571, 581, and 591 are the object-side surfaces of the first lens element 510 to the ninth lens element 590) and allowing imaging rays to pass through and an image-side surface facing the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 512, 522, 532, 542, 552, 562, 572, 582, and 592 are the image-side surfaces of the first lens element 510 to the ninth lens element 590);
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the fourth lens element is convex (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 540, figure 9 shows the periphery region of the object-side surface of the fourth lens is convex), and a periphery region of the image-side surface of the fourth lens element is concave (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 540, figure 9 shows the periphery region of the image-side surface of the fourth lens is concave);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the sixth lens element is convex (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 561, paragraph [0232], “object-side surface 561 being convex in a paraxial region thereof”);
wherein lens elements of the optical imaging lens are only the nine lens elements described above (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Fig. 9, 510-590, paragraph [0228], “the optical photographing lens assembly includes nine lens elements (510, 520, 530, 540, 550, 560, 570, 580 and 590) with no additional lens element disposed between each of the adjacent nine lens elements”).
However, in the same field of endeavor Hirano teaches an optical imaging lens (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, paragraph [0112], “imaging lens”), comprising a first lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L1, paragraph [0112], “a first lens L1”), a second lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L2, paragraph [0112], “a second lens L2”), a third lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L3, paragraph [0112], “a third lens L3”), a fourth lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L4, paragraph [0112], “a fourth lens L4”), a fifth lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L5, paragraph [0112], “a fifth lens L5”), a sixth lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L6, paragraph [0112], “a sixth lens L6”), a seventh lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L7, paragraph [0112], “a seventh lens L7”), an eighth lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L8, paragraph [0112], “an eighth lens L8”), and a ninth lens element (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L9, paragraph [0112], “a ninth lens L9”) disposed in sequence from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, paragraph [0112], “arranged in the order from an object side to an image plane side”), wherein each of the first lens element to the ninth lens element comprises an object-side surface facing the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, paragraph [0112], the imaging lens has an object side, thus the surface of the lenses facing the object side is the object-side of each lens) and an image-side surface facing the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, IM, paragraph [0112], the imaging lens has an image plane side, thus the surface of the lenses facing the image plane side is the image-side of each lens);
a periphery region of the image-side surface of the third lens element is concave (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L3, paragraph [0116], “the third lens L3 has a shape of a meniscus lens directing a convex surface thereof to the object side near the optical axis,” thus the image-side surface of the third lens element is concave and as can be seen in figure 7 the periphery of the image-side surface of the third lens element is concave);
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L5, paragraph [0119], “the fifth lens L5 has a shape of a meniscus lens directing a concave surface thereof to the object side near the optical axis,” thus the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave and as can be seen in figure 7 the periphery of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave), and a periphery region of the image-side surface of the fifth lens element is convex (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L5, paragraph [0119], “the fifth lens L5 has a shape of a meniscus lens directing a concave surface thereof to the object side near the optical axis,” thus the image-side surface of the fifth lens element is convex and as can be seen in figure 7 the periphery of the image-side surface of the fifth lens element is convex);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the seventh lens element is concave (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L7, paragraph [0123], the seventh lens L7 is formed in a shape such that a curvature radius r13 of a surface on the object-side is negative… “the seventh lens L7 has a shape of a meniscus lens directing a concave surface thereof to the object side near the optical axis,” paragraph [0158], Table 5, r column gives r13=-3.080 thus the object-side surface of the seventh lens element is concave),
wherein lens elements of the optical imaging lens are only the nine lens elements described above (Hirano, Example 3, Fig. 7, L1-L9, paragraph [0112], the imaging lens includes a first lens L1, a second lens L2, a third lens L3, a fourth lens L4, a fifth lens L5, a sixth lens L6, a seventh lens L7, an eighth lens L8, and a ninth lens L9).
NOTE: Hirano’s paragraph [0111] explains the imaging lenses in the Numerical Data Examples 1 to 13 have the same basic configuration, and the lens configuration of the embodiment will be described with reference to Numerical Data Example 1. Thus, reference is made to paragraphs [0112]-[0127], which describe the first embodiment, and to Table 5 in paragraph [0158], which provides the numerical data for the third embodiment.
Gross teaches (page 378 section 33.1.4) that bending a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance. Bending a lens involves modifying the curvatures of the two surfaces while keeping the focal power of the lens the same (“zero power operations”, “do not introduce any refractive power”). Gross teaches that bending a lens can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical imaging lens of Jang wherein a periphery region of the object-side surface of the fourth lens element is convex of Kuo, because Gross teaches that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Gross teaches that bending a lens does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4).
Note that the sixth lens 360 of Jang and the sixth lens 560 of Kuo are both negative meniscus lenses. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical imaging lens of Jang wherein an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the sixth lens element is convex of Kuo, because Gross teaches that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Gross teaches that bending a lens does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4).
Note that the seventh lens 370 of Jang and the seventh lens L7 of Hirano are both positive. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical imaging lens of Jang wherein an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the seventh lens element is concave of Hirano, because Gross teaches that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Gross teaches that bending a lens does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross page 378, section 33.1.4).
As to claim 16, Jang in view of Kuo in further view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15, and Jang further teaches the optical imaging lens according to claim 15, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets V3+V7≤100.000 (Jang, third embodiment, given the following values V3+V7=56.4), where [V3 is an Abbe number of the third lens element and] (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Abbe Number column, Surface Number row S5 gives V3=18.4), V7 is an Abbe number of the seventh lens element (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Abbe Number column, Surface Number row S13 gives V7=38.0).
As to claim 17, Jang in view of Kuo in further view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15, and Jang further teaches the optical imaging lens according to claim 15, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets (EFL+EPD)/(G12+D21t52)≥3.200 (Jang, third embodiment, given the following values (EFL+EPD)/(G12+D21t52)=4.62), where EFL is an effective focal length of the optical imaging lens (Jang, third embodiment, paragraph [0154], f=5.88), EPD is an entrance pupil diameter of the optical imaging lens (Jang, third embodiment, paragraph [0154], EPD is given by f/Fno=2.94), G12 is an air gap between the first lens element and the second lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, Surface Number row S2 gives G12=0.125), and D21t52 is a distance from the object-side surface of the second lens element to the image-side surface of the fifth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, the sum of Surface Numbers S3 through S9 gives D21t52=1.786).
As to claim 18, Jang in view of Kuo in further view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15. Jang does not teach the optical imaging lens according to claim 15, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets D11t42/(G56+G67)≤3.500 (Jang, third embodiment, given the following values D11t42/(G56+G67)=7.51), where D11t42 is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element to the image-side surface of the fourth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, the sum of Surface Numbers S1-S7 gives D11t42=2.029), G56 is an air gap between the fifth lens element and the sixth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, Surface Number S10 gives G56=0.185), and G67 is an air gap between the sixth lens element and the seventh lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, Surface Number S12 gives G67=0.085).
However, in the same field of endeavor Kuo teaches the optical imaging lens wherein the optical imaging lens further meets D11t42/(G56+G67)≤3.500 (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, given the following values D11t42/(G56+G67)=2.34), where D11t42 is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element to the image-side surface of the fourth lens element on the optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Thickness column, the sum of Surface # 2-8 gives D11t42=1.585), G56 is an air gap between the fifth lens element and the sixth lens element on the optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Thickness column, the sum of Surface # 11-12 gives G56=0.606), and G67 is an air gap between the sixth lens element and the seventh lens element on the optical axis (Kuo, 5th Embodiment, Table 9, Thickness column, Surface # 14 gives G67=0.070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical imaging lens of Jang wherein the optical imaging lens further meets D11t42/(G56+G67)≤3.500, where D11t42 is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element to the image-side surface of the fourth lens element on the optical axis, G56 is an air gap between the fifth lens element and the sixth lens element on the optical axis, and G67 is an air gap between the sixth lens element and the seventh lens element on the optical axis of Kuo, because doing so is favorable for adjusting the distribution of the lens elements so as to reduce the size of the optical photographing lens assembly (Kuo, paragraph [0055]).
As to claim 19, Jang in view of Kuo in further view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15, and Jang further teaches the optical imaging lens according to claim 15, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets Fno*D11t52/(G89+T9)≤3.800 (Jang, third embodiment, given the following values Fno*D11t52/(G89+T9)=3.79), where Fno is an F-number of the optical imaging lens (Jang, third embodiment, paragraph [0154], Fno=2.00), D11t52 is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element to the image-side surface of the fifth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, the sum of Surface Number rows S1-S9 gives D11t52=2.597), G89 is an air gap between the eighth lens element and the ninth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, Surface Number S16 gives G89=0.872), and T9 is a thickness of the ninth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, Surface Number S17 gives T9=0.500).
As to claim 20, Jang in view of Kuo in further view of Hirano as evidenced by Gross teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15, and Jang further teaches the optical imaging lens according to claim 15, wherein the optical imaging lens further meets D11t71/D71t82≤2.500 (Jang, third embodiment, given the following values D11t71/D71t82=2.31), where D11t71 is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element to the object-side surface of the seventh lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, the sum of Surface Number rows S1-S12 gives D11t71=3.207), and D71t82 is a distance from the object-side surface of the seventh lens element to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element on the optical axis (Jang, third embodiment, Table 5, Thickness column, the sum of Surface Number rows S13-S15 gives D71t82=1.391).
Conclusion
JENNIFER A JONES
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/JENNIFER A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872