DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 & 12- 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claims 9 and claim 12, the limitation of “wherein a portion of the gradual refractive layer relatively closed to the light emitting surface has a first refractive index, and a portion of the gradual refractive layer relatively far from the light emitting surface has a second refractive index” is ambiguous. The terms ”relatively closed”(examiner interprets this to mean relatively close) and “relatively far” does not clearly define the metes and the bounds of the claim. It is unclear where the portions of the gradual refractive layer begins and ends. Appropriate correction is required.
With regards to claim 13, the limitation of “ a gradual
refractive layer having a plurality of gradual refraction units provided independently of each other on the light emitting surfaces of the optical component” is unclear. Are there more than one light emitting surfaces on one optical component or is the claim referring to each optical component? Appropriate correction is required.
With regards to claim 14 , the limitation of “ the gradual refraction unit provides protruding from the top surface of the optical adhesive layer” is unclear. The limitation is awkwardly written and is unclear what is meant by” provides protruding”. Furthermore, it is unclear if the gradual refraction unit is of the plurality of gradual refraction units ,only a portion of the plurality of gradual refraction units(meaning one or two of the gradual refraction units or “each” of the gradual refraction units ), or if it is an additional refraction unit. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US Pub no 2021/0231984 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al discloses A display device comprising: a substrate(10)[0053]; and a light source array (11)having a plurality of light light-emitting units arranged on the substrate(10) [0053], each of the light-emitting units(11) comprises: a light source provided on the substrate(10), and a side of light source opposite to the substrate(10) having a light source luminous surface(surface of 11)[0059];and an optical component (20)provided on the light source, each of the optical component(20) having a light receiving surface and a light emitting surface[0059] fig. 2, and the light receiving surface is connected to the light source luminous surface(surface of 11) fig.2 , wherein the optical component(20) has a side surface connecting the light receiving surface and the light emitting surface fig. 1/ fig. 2, the side surface and the light receiving surface have an included angle therebetween within the optical component(20) [0062-0063], the included angle ranges from 100 degree to 130 degree(the first slope angle of 201 is equal to the light emitting angle of the corresponding light emitting unit 11(120 degrees) [0062-0063]; and an optical adhesive layer (21)arranged to cover the sides of the optical component(20), wherein the optical adhesive layer(21) has an adhesive layer refractive index, the optical component(20) has an optical component (20)refractive index, and the adhesive layer(21) refractive index is less than the optical component refractive index[0054].
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al discloses wherein, the included angle further
ranges from 105 degree to 125 degree(the first slope angle of 201 is equal to the light emitting angle of the corresponding light emitting unit 11(120 degrees) [0062-0063].
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al discloses wherein, the included angle further
ranges from 115 degree to 120 degree(the first slope angle of 201 is equal to the light emitting angle of the corresponding light emitting unit 11(120 degrees) [0062-0063].
.
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al discloses wherein, a top surface of the optical adhesive layer (21) is aligned with the light emitting surface of the optical component(20), and light leaving from the light emitting surface of the optical component(20) is outwardly emitted after passing through the optical adhesive layer(21)[0056-0057] fig. 1.
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al discloses the reflectivity of the optical
adhesive layer (21)is higher than 50 %[0057](light is totally reflected).
Claim(s) 9 -12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Pub no. 2021/0231984 A1) in view of Li (US Pub no. 2020/0124780 A1)
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al discloses all the claim limitations of claim 8 but fails to teach further comprising a gradual refractive layer provided opposite to the light emitting surface of the optical component; wherein a portion of the gradual refractive layer relatively closed to the light emitting surface has a first refractive index, and a portion of the gradual refractive layer relatively far from the light emitting surface has a second refractive index, wherein the first refractive index ranges between the second refractive index and an optical component refractive index of the optical component.
However, Li et al teaches a light guide plate including a gradual
refractive layer (14/14a)provided opposite to the light emitting surface of the optical component[0077]; wherein a portion of the gradual refractive layer (14a)relatively close to the light emitting surface has a first refractive index[0077], and a portion of the gradual refractive layer(14a) relatively far from the light emitting surface has a second refractive index[0076-0077], wherein the first refractive index ranges between the second refractive index and an optical component(151) refractive index of the optical component[0075]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wang et al with the teachings of Li et al. since waves having different wavelengths from the light source may be reflected or refracted by using the gradual manner, thereby improving a utilization rate of the light source.
Regarding claim 10, Li et al discloses wherein, the gradual refractive layer (14a)has a first layer and a second layer overlapped with each other, the first layer is closer to the light emitting surface than the second layer, the first layer has the first refractive index; the second layer has the second refractive index[0076-0079].
Regarding claim 11, Li et al discloses wherein, the gradual refractive layer(14)
has an intermediate layer (14a)between the first layer and the second layer, the intermediate layer(14a) has a third refractive index, and the third refractive index ranges between the first refractive index and the second refractive index[0075].
Regarding claim 12, Wang et al discloses all the claim limitations of claim 8 and further teaches the optical adhesive layer(21) is configured to cover and is aligned with the light emitting surface of the optical component (20 ) fig. 1 but fails to teach wherein a portion of the gradual refractive layer relatively closed to the light emitting surface has a first refractive index, and a portion of the gradual refractive layer relatively far from the light emitting surface has a second refractive index, the first refractive index ranges between the second refractive index and the adhesive layer refractive index.
However, Li et al a light guide plate including a gradual refractive layer (14/14a)provided the gradual refractive layer is provided extending above the light emitting surface[0077],wherein a portion of the gradual refractive layer (14a)relatively close to the light emitting surface has a first refractive index[0077], and a portion of the gradual refractive layer(14a) relatively far from the light emitting surface has a second refractive index[0076-0077], the first refractive index ranges between the second refractive index and the adhesive layer (152)refractive index[0064]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wang et al with the teachings of Li et al. since waves having different wavelengths from the light source may be reflected or refracted by using the gradual manner, thereby improving a utilization rate of the light source.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Pub no. 2021/0231984 A1) in view of Zhang (CN 2108281092 A) as applied to claim 8 and further in view of Li (US Pub no. 2020/0124780 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Wang et al discloses all the claim limitations of claim 8 but fails to teach wherein, the gradual refractive layer having a plurality of gradual refraction units provided independently of each other on the light emitting surfaces of the optical component.
However, Zhang et al. discloses refractive layer having a plurality of refraction units(15) provided independently of each other on the light emitting surfaces of the optical component(14/122)(pp. 11, lines 3-7fig. 5/fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wang et al with the teachings of Zhang et al strengthen the intensity of the emergent light, so as to improve micron-grade LED display luminous efficiency.
Wang et al in view of Zhang et al discloses the limitations above but fails to teach the refraction layer is gradual.
However, Li et al discloses a light guide plate including a gradual
refractive layer(14/14a)[0075]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Wang et al & Zhang et al with the teachings of Li et al to improve the utilization rate of the light source.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks , filed 12/29/2025, with respect to claim 4 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 4 of Chang (US Pub no 20220216381 A1) in view of Wang (US Pub no. 2021/0231984 A1) has been withdrawn. However, Wang (US Pub no 2021/0231984 A1), already of record , is found to teach all the claim limitations of claim 1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/LATANYA N CRAWFORD EASON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813