DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8 May 2026 by the applicant has been considered and is included in the file.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3, 5-13 and 16-23 are pending.
Claim 19 has been amended by applicant’s amendments received 14 May 2026. Claims 21-23 have been newly added. No new matter has been introduced.
Claims 14-15 were canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 May 2026 (Remarks, pg. 8, “A” and pg. 10, “D”) regarding the use of Wang as primary art of reference (Wang et al., US 20190369215 A1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments note that Wang teaches a system where fibers carry emitted light from a laser array to a separate mounting or directional device, and therefore does not teach claim 1’s limitations as Wang requires fiber routing to a remote directional structure, and Wang does not disclose eliminating fiber pigtails in favor of substrate level integration. While the examiner agrees that Wang does not explicitly teach affixing a laser substrate structure directly to a mounting unit and therefore required combination with another system, Wang does explicitly mention directly fixing the fiber waveguides, emitters and the mounting unit in space with respect to one another or other components ([0046], [0114]) and that elements are coupled to the emitters ([0082]). This would describe an optically end-connected system where the optical adapter and the semiconductor device are attached, and maybe adjacent, but are not directly affixed. Wang describes that the length of the fibers/optical waveguides (120) are determined based on the needs of the system, and that the slots (145) in the mounting structure (130) act as directional guides and pass-throughs for the fiber/waveguides (120), and are not themselves additional waveguides/fibers. Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art it would be understood that, as taught by Wang, a fiber with a waveguide core could be readily shortened such to affix a laser array near or adjacent to the mounting structure without affecting the functionality of the system or requiring secondary/additional fibers.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pg. 9 (“B” and “C”), filed 14 May 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3 and 5-20 under 35 USC 103 as a combination of Tamaya et al. (US 20140233598 A1) with Wang have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art references (Ogawa, US 20230060689 A1). The rejections of claims 1 and 20 have been updated accordingly based on this reference teaching a light projection system, where a planar laser array (semiconductor device) is affixed to a waveguide structure which is used to direct emitted light into an environment in a fanned emission pattern. As such, the emission system of Ogawa is combinable with Wang without altering the functionality of Wang, as the waveguides in both act to direct emitted light in a fanned or angled emission pattern, and additionally as the fibers of Wang are taught to incorporate waveguide cores; the only change would be to the spatial separation between emitter and mounting unit, and Wang discusses that the fibers may be connected directly to the emitters and may take any form necessary (such as waveguides or an optical slab [0046], [0047]).
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 includes “wherein the first surface is..”, but for consistency with claim 1 this should read “wherein the first surface of the optical adapter…”.
Line 2 includes “along a main surface…”, which should read “along the main surface”, as the main surface of the semiconductor device was introduced previously in claim 1.
Line 7 includes “at the main surface of the semiconductor device.”, but for consistency with claim 1 this should read “ at the main surface of the substantially planar semiconductor device.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-10 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang ( US 20190369215 A1) in view of Ogawa (US 20230060689 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an apparatus comprising:
an array of lasers disposed along a substantially planar substrate ([0044], [0101]; Figs. 15, 21, where a plurality of light sources such as lasers (110) are mounted on an emission board (3) which is directed to optical fiber elements (120));
and an optical adapter having a first surface and an opposite second surface([0044], [0048] [0061]; Figs. 1,7, where optical fiber elements (120) which connect to emitters pass through mounting unit (130));
wherein the optical adapter includes a plurality of optical waveguides, each of the optical waveguides having a respective first end at the first surface and a respective second end at the second surface, the plurality of optical waveguides being optically end-connected to the array of lasers ([0044], [0048], [0061]; Figs. 1,7, where mounting unit (130) includes a directional structure (140) connected on a first surface to light sources (110) at a first end of waveguides and a second end situated at output surface which allows fiber waveguides (120) to be directed as they pass through the mounting structure (130));
wherein an end section of a first optical waveguide of the plurality of optical waveguides is oriented at a first nonzero angle with respect to a surface normal of the second surface, said end section of the first optical waveguide being adjacent to the respective second end thereof ([0064] - [066]; Fig. 7, where a first group of waveguide slots between (145-1) and (145-K) is angled with respect to the length direction);
and wherein an end section of a second optical waveguide of the plurality of optical waveguides is oriented at a different second nonzero angle with respect to the surface normal, said end section of the second optical waveguide being adjacent to the respective second end thereof ([0064] - [066]; Fig. 7, where a second group of waveguide slots (145- 1) is angled at a different angle than first group 145-1 with respect to the length direction).
Wang teaches a plurality of separate light sources connected to a surface of an optical adapter, but does not explicitly teach a planar semiconductor device with a laser array attached to the optical adapter.
Ogawa teaches a laser array, which is a substantially planar semiconductor device including an array of lasers disposed along a substantially planar common substrate; where
a first surface being attached to a main surface of the substantially planar semiconductor device such that the first surface is adjacent and along the array of lasers ([0102] - [0103], [0152] - [0157]; Fig. 6, wherein a projection device includes a planar semiconductor laser array (20) adjacent to an optical waveguide structure (1-6) via base (30), where emitters and ports/waveguides within the structure are optically connected).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Wang to incorporate the teachings of Ogawa to utilize a planar semiconductor laser array, which is adjacent to a surface of an optical adapter, which forms a mechanically fixed unit with a reasonable expectation of success. As noted, Wang teaches an array of individual light sources which may be a “laser emission plate” with multiple lasers on each, but is silent on what that specifically entails (Wang, [0160], Fig. 1) and how much, or little space exists between the laser emission plate and the mounting device. Use of semiconductor arrays of laser light sources is well known in the art of LIDAR, and integration of such an array as taught by Ogawa, where the waveguide block is directly affixed to the laser array, into the system of Wang would have a predictable result of aligning and securing the laser array with respect to a waveguide array, which forms a mechanically fixed unit. Further, as Ogawa teaches the direct connection allows for improved coupling efficiency and creates a system which is more robust against temperature fluctuations of the environment ([0095]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
an end section of a third optical waveguide of the plurality of optical waveguides adjacent to the respective second end thereof is orthogonal to the second surface ([0064] - [066]; Fig. 7, where a third group of waveguide slots 145-K is orthogonal with respect to the length direction).
Regarding claim 3, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein
at least one of the first and second optical waveguides is closer to a nearest perimeter portion of the optical adapter than the third optical waveguide ([0064] - [066]; Fig. 7, where a third group of waveguide slots 145-K is closer to center than first or second groups).
Regarding claim 5, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
an end section of at least a third optical waveguide of the plurality of optical waveguides adjacent to the respective second end thereof is oriented at a third nonzero angle with respect to the surface normal, the third nonzero angle being larger than the first nonzero angle and being smaller than the different second nonzero angle ([0064] - [066]; Fig. 7, where a third group of waveguide slots (145-X) is situated between the first group of waveguide slots (near 145-K) and second group of waveguide slots (145-1));
Regarding claim 6, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
each of the optical waveguides comprises a respective optical fiber ([0046] - [0048]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein
the respective optical fibers are fixedly attached to each other to form a monolithic structure of the optical adapter ([0046] - [0048]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the optical waveguides are arranged in the optical adapter such that each of the lasers is configured to emit light through a respective single one of the optical waveguides ([0083], [0134]; Fig. 15 where the number of light sources may be equal to or lesser than the number of optical fibers).
Regarding claim 10, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, however this embodiment does not explicitly teach wherein the optical waveguides are arranged in the optical adapter such that each of the lasers emits light through a respective set of the optical waveguides, each of the respective sets having an equal fixed number of the optical waveguides, the equal fixed number being in a range from 2 to 100.
Wang discloses that in some embodiments light sources may be coupled to one or more optical fiber elements (as see in Fig. 15) by a coupling element (111), and for example light from one laser may be split into two or more fiber elements by a 1xN splitter, such as (120-1) and (120-2) ([0085] – [0088]).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Wang to incorporate an embodiment where there is an upper limit on the number of N=100 of elements a given laser is set to emit through, as there is a physical limit to the size a LiDAR system can be. It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)) and therefore Wang’s embodiment where a laser is coupled to at least two waveguides, and up to N waveguides, teaches on the claimed limitation as it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to limit the number of fibers a given laser is split into both for beam power loss and space considerations.
Regarding claim 16, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising
an optical receiver configured to receive reflected light from a field of view of the optical adapter, the reflected light being produced by reflections, from one or more objects in the field of view, of light emitted by the array of lasers through the optical adapter ([0113], [0192]).
Regarding claim 17, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 16, further comprising
circuitry to perform time-of-flight measurements based on timing of the reflected light received by the optical receiver ([0002], [0040]).
Regarding claim 18, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the optical waveguides are arranged in the optical adapter such that: a first portion of a field of view of the optical adapter has a first average density of optical beams emitted through the optical adapter;
and a second portion of the field of view has a different second average density of optical beams emitted through the optical adapter ([0064] - [0065], [0098]; Fig. 7, where groups of slots may be separated by uneven spacing, and the number of waveguide slots in a group may differ to give more or less beam density in a specific region of the FoV).
Regarding claims 21-23, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but is silent on the optical adapter being directly affixed to the semiconductor device which houses the light sources.
Ogawa teaches a planar semiconductor laser array and an optical adapter which operates as a waveguide structure, wherein
the first surface of the optical adapter is directly attached to the main surface of the substantially planar semiconductor device such that each laser of the array is optically end-connected to at least a corresponding one of the plurality of optical waveguides at the main surface of the substantially planar semiconductor device,
the optical adapter and the substantially planar semiconductor device form a mechanically fixed, unitary emitter assembly configured to scan a field of view without moving parts,
and the first surface is directly bonded to and extending continuously along a main surface of the substantially planar semiconductor device such that the optical adapter overlies the array of lasers without intervening optical fibers, fiber pigtails, or free space coupling elements ([0102] - [0103], [0152] - [0157]; Fig. 6, wherein a projection device includes a semiconductor laser array (20) bonded to an input surface of an optical waveguide structure (1-6) via base (30), with no further/intervening components, where emitters and ports/waveguides within the structure are optically end-connected and the combination is used for projected light which may be scanned/emitted into an environment).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Wang to incorporate the teachings of Ogawa to utilize a planar semiconductor laser array, which is in direct contact with, and adjacent to a surface of an optical adapter, which forms a mechanically fixed unit with a reasonable expectation of success. As noted, Wang teaches an array of individual light sources which may be a “laser emission plate” with multiple lasers on each, but is silent on what that specifically entails (Wang, [0160], Fig. 1) and how much, or little space exists between the laser emission plate and the mounting device. Use of semiconductor arrays of laser light sources is well known in the art of LIDAR, and integration of such an array as taught by Ogawa, where the waveguide block is directly affixed to the laser array, into the system of Wang would have a predictable result of aligning and securing the laser array with respect to a waveguide array, which forms a mechanically fixed unit. Further, as Ogawa teaches the direct connection allows for improved coupling efficiency and creates a system which is more robust against temperature fluctuations of the environment ([0095]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20190369215 A1) in view of Ogawa (US 20230060689 A1), as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of Evans ( US 20020131744 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 6, but does not explicitly teach that the fibers which are part of the waveguides are tapered.
Evans teaches an optical waveguide structure which is formed on an optical chip, where at least some of the respective optical fibers are tapered ([0018]; Fig. 1, where connections between fibers, waveguides or other components at entry end (1A) may couple via tapered waveguide (3)).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Wang to incorporate the teachings of Evans to utilize tapered connections as taught by Evans where the fiber component of a waveguide with other components, or optical entry point, is coupled via tapered end in the system of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. As Evans notes, points where waveguides connect to other optical components can add bulk to an integrated system, and the system of Evans, which utilizes a specific structure and tapering, can help to minimize that ([0001] – [0004]). This would have a predictable result if used in the system of Wang of helping to reduce size and losses at interfaces of the waveguides.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20190369215 A1) in view of Ogawa (US 20230060689 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Pruneri ( US 20200310103 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but is silent on the surface areas of respective first and second surfaces of the optical adapter.
Pruneri teaches a system with an optical waveguide block with two or more waveguides formed within, where the first surface of the optical adapter has a smaller surface area than the opposite second surface ([0090]; Fig. 7, where optical waveguide block (6) has waveguides (7b) running through where entrance surface (left side) has smaller surface area than exit surface (adjacent to 15)).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Wang to incorporate the teachings of Pruneri to utilize a waveguide block with differing surface areas on different surfaces with a reasonable expectation of success. In addition to an embodiment where the exit surface has a larger surface area than the entry, Pruneri teaches embodiments of waveguide blocks where both the optical waveguides fan out as they approach the exit surface (Figs. 3-11), and additionally have non-zero angles with respect to the exit surface’s normal (Figs. 4, 5, 7, 8). Integration of a waveguide block such as this, with a larger exit surface area than the entrance surface area, into the system of Wang would have a predictable result of arranging the waveguides as necessary for the desired field of view (Wang, [0067]) without additional material.
Claim(s) 12-13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20190369215 A1) in view of Ogawa (US 20230060689 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Qiu (US 20220342211 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, which may include lasers as light sources, but is silent on the emission control and pattern of the lasers/light emitters in addition to their circuitry.
Qiu teaches a time-of-flight (ToF) depth sensing module which includes an array light source, and method for operation, where individual ones of the lasers are individually addressable using routing circuitry of the substantially planar semiconductor device via which individual lasers of the array of lasers are selectively connected to electrical lines supplying one or more electrical signals that cause the connected lasers to emit light. ([0196] - [0200], [0205] - [0206], [0227] - [0228]; Fig. 5, where the controller may control some or all light emitting regions, which may be independent, by electrodes for control of each light emitting unit (111, 112, etc.) which are individually controlled via a controller).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Wang to incorporate the teachings of Qiu to utilize an array of lasers where individual light sources can be controlled to emit light with a reasonable expectation of success. Individually controlling emission of one or more light sources via routing circuitry where certain connections are controlled within a LiDAR system is known in the art, and use of a method and system of emission as taught by Qiu within the ranging system of Wang would have a predictable result of controlling scans at different times to have different FOVs or different spatial resolutions, for example, as discussed by Qiu ([0006], [0024]).
Regarding claim 13, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 12, but is silent on the emission control and pattern of the lasers/light emitters.
Qiu teaches a time-of-flight (ToF) depth sensing module which includes and array light source, and method for operation, where the routing circuitry is configurable to cause different subarrays of the array of lasers to emit respective optical pulses at different respective times ([0205] - [0206], [0324]; Fig. 16, where the controller may control some or all light emitting regions at different moments, where light emitting regions may include a plurality of light emitting units).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Wang to incorporate the teachings of Qiu to control subsets, or sub-arrays, of emitters in a specific timing pattern within a ranging system with a reasonable expectation of success. Controlling emission of sub-groups of one or more light sources within a LiDAR system is known in the art, and use of a method and system of emission as taught by Qiu within the ranging system of Wang would have a predictable result of controlling scans at different times to have different FOVs or different spatial resolutions, for example, as discussed by Qiu ([0006], [0024]).
Regarding claim 19, Wang as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the array of lasers has at least ten lasers ([0160]), but is silent on the specific type of laser in the array.
Qiu teaches a time-of-flight (ToF) depth sensing module which includes and array light source, and method for operation, where each of the lasers comprises a respective vertical cavity surface-emitting laser ([0218]; where the light source (110) is an array of VCSEL).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Wang to incorporate the teachings of Qiu to utilize a planar array of VCSELs with a reasonable expectation of success. As use of VCSELs is known in the art of LiDAR for ranging systems for having smaller power consumption, and individually controllable emission for each point in an array (Qiu, [0218] - [0219]), integration into the system of Wang as the individual laser emitters would have a predictable result of controlling scans at different times to have different FOVs or different spatial resolutions, which further may allow control of power consumption of the system (Qiu, [0006], [0024], [0055])
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20190369215 A1) in view of Ogawa (US 20230060689 A1) and Qiu (US 20220342211 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches an optical method, comprising
a system with a set of light sources which are coupled through a respective set of one or more optical waveguides of an optical adapter having a first surface and an opposite second surface, the first surface being adjacent and along the array of lasers ([0044], [0048], [0061]; Figs. 1,7, where optical fiber elements (120) and mounting unit (130) are adjacent to light sources (110) at a first surface and mounting unit (130) includes a directional structure (140) connected on a first surface to light sources (110) at a first end of waveguides and a second end situated at output surface);
wherein the optical adapter includes a plurality of optical waveguides, each of the optical waveguides having a respective first end at the first surface and a respective second end at the second surface, the plurality of optical waveguides being optically end-connected to the array of lasers ([0044], [0048], [0061]; Figs. 1,7, where mounting unit (130) includes a directional structure (140) connected on a first surface to light sources (110) at a first end of waveguides and a second end situated at output surface);
wherein an end section of a first optical waveguide of the plurality of optical waveguides is oriented at a first nonzero angle with respect to a surface normal of the second surface, said end section of the first optical waveguide being adjacent to the respective second end thereof ([0064] - [066]; Fig. 7, where a first group of waveguides between (145-1) and (145-K) is angled with respect to the length direction);
and wherein an end section of a second optical waveguide of the plurality of optical waveguides is oriented at a different second nonzero angle with respect to the surface normal, said end section of the second optical waveguide being adjacent to the respective second end thereof ([0064] - [066]; Fig. 7, where a second group of waveguides (145- 1) is angled at a different angle than first group (145-1) with respect to the length direction).
Wang is silent on the emission control and pattern of the lasers/light emission. Wang also does not explicitly teach a planar semiconductor device with a laser array.
Qiu teaches a method of operation of a depth sensing module, which comprises
determining, via an electronic controller, a next laser to emit light in an array of lasers ([0340]; Fig. 18 where M of N light emitting regions are controlled to emit);
routing, via a driver circuit, one or more firing voltages to the next laser to cause the next laser to emit an optical pulse ([0067], [0200]);
and repeating said determining and said routing to cause different ones of the lasers in the array of lasers to emit respective optical pulses at different respective times ([0340] - [0345]; Fig. 18 where M of N light emitting regions are controlled to emit such that emitting regions emit at different times).
Ogawa teaches a laser array, which is a substantially planar semiconductor device including an array of lasers disposed along a substantially planar common substrate; where
a first surface being attached to a main surface of the substantially planar semiconductor device such that the first surface is adjacent and along the array of lasers ([0102] - [0103], [0152] - [0157]; Fig. 6, wherein a laser projection device includes a planar semiconductor laser array (20) adjacent to an optical waveguide structure (1-6) via base (30), where emitters and ports/waveguides within the structure are optically connected).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Wang to incorporate the teachings of Qiu to utilize an array of lasers where individual light sources can be controlled to emit light in a specific timing pattern and the teachings of Ogawa to utilize a planar semiconductor laser array, which is in contact with and adjacent to a surface of an optical adapter with a reasonable expectation of success. Individually controlling emission of individual light sources within a LiDAR system is known in the art, and use of a method and system of emission as taught by Qiu within the ranging system of Wang would have a predictable result of controlling scans at different times to have different FOVs or different spatial resolutions, which further may allow control of power consumption of the system (Qiu, [0006], [0024], [0055]). Wang teaches an array of individual light sources which may be a “laser emission plate” with multiple lasers on each, but is silent on what that specifically entails (Wang, [0160], Fig. 1). Use of semiconductor arrays of laser light sources is well known in the art of LIDAR, and integration of such an array as taught by Ogawa, into the system of Wang would have a predictable result of aligning and securing the laser array with respect to a waveguide array, which is important within optical systems to maintain alignment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hasegawa et al. (US 20030223685 A1) teaches an optical waveguide device which allows for redirection of incident laser beams by decreasing propagation angles of laser beams and may include a fiber bundle.
Yoo et al. (US 20200200877 A1) teaches a LiDAR system which includes a transmitter array configured to scan a field of view, where subsets of the laser sources are operated to emit at differing times, either independently or in array subsets.
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645