Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are pending.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9, 11-12, and 15-20 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception, for at least the following reasons:
The limitations of “a controller configured to determine a thin film profile…” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a controller configured to,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “controller configured to” language, “determine a thin film profile” in the context of this claim encompasses a user manually and/or mentally performing the function but for the recitation of generic computer components. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claimed controller is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of determin[ing]) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, and/or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. In particular, the claims recite sensors, “big data”, and “deep learning”. These elements are well-understood, routine, and/or conventional in the CVD arts, as supported by at least the Guha (US 20180082826 A1) reference (Fig. 2, [0062]-[0065]). See MPEP 2106.05(d) and (f).
The claim(s) is/are, therefore, not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-12, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazawa (US 20080236492 A1) in view of Sato (US 20170004966 A1), Sakiyama (US 20170076921 A1), Lee (US 20210366693 A1), and Guha (US 20180082826 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamazawa teaches a plasma processing system (Yamazawa, Fig. 1, plasma processing apparatus), comprising:
a chamber providing a space for performing a plasma process on a substrate (Yamazawa, Fig. 1, [0046], chamber 10 with processing space S);
a substrate stage having a seating surface for supporting the substrate, the substrate stage having a circular electrode (Yamazawa, Fig. 1, [0049], electrostatic chuck 38 has central conductor 42 and peripheral conductor 44 which is annular);
an upper electrode provided over the substrate (Yamazawa, Fig. 1, [0056], showerhead 72, which serves as an upper electrode, above substrate W);
a power supply including a high frequency generator configured to supply source power to the upper electrode and a matcher configured to match an output impedance of an RF signal generated by the high frequency generator (Yamazawa, Fig. 7, [0086], RF power supply 100 supplies power to upper electrode 72 and matching unit 32A is connected between the power supply 100 and upper electrode 72);
a first capacitance variator configured to vary a capacitance of the circular electrode based on an inputted first control signal (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0062], controller 62 controls variable capacitor 90C via signal to step motor 98C);
a second capacitance variator configured to vary a capacitance of the annular electrode based on an inputted second control signal (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0065], controller 62 controls variable capacitor 90E via signal to step motor 98E);
a sensor connected to the first and second capacitance variators respectively (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0063], sensor 52 is connected to variable capacitor 90C, [0065], sensor 60 is connected to variable capacitor 90E), the sensor configured to acquire electrical signal data of the circular electrode (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0063], sensor 52 measures current MIc coming from central conductor 42), and the annular electrode (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0065], sensor 60 measures current MIe coming from peripheral conductor 44); and
a controller configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate having a correlation between the electrical signal data and a deposition rate of a film being deposited, in order to determine a thin film profile in first and second regions of the substrate corresponding to the circular electrode and the annular electrode respectively based on the electrical signal data obtained from the sensor (Yamazawa, Fig. 3, [0066]-[0068], plasma density profile PR’, comprised of central RF electron current RFIc and peripheral RF electron current RFIe, is generated based on values of currents MIc and MIe, which are transmitted to the controller 62 via sensors 52 and 60), the controller being further configured to output the first and second control signals respectively in order to obtain a desired thin film profile (Yamazawa, Fig. 3, [0069], controller 62 outputs signals to motors 98C and 98E to vary capacitance values in order to achieve a desired plasma density profile PR from initial plasma density profile PR’),
wherein the sensor includes a plurality of sensors including a first sensor connected to a first signal line connected between the first capacitance variator and the controller (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0051], sensor 52 is located between controller 62 and variable capacitor 90C, [0062]), a second sensor connected to a second signal line connected between the second capacitance variator and the controller (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0052], sensor 60 is located between controller 62 and variable capacitor 90E, [0064]),
wherein the controller determines whether the deposition process having the desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the sensors (Yamazawa, Fig. 3, [0066]-[0068], plasma density profile PR’, comprised of central RF electron current RFIc and peripheral RF electron current RFIe, is generated based on values of currents MIc and MIe, which are transmitted to the controller 62 via sensors 52 and 60), and
wherein the controller outputs the first control signal to vary the capacitance of the circular electrode and the second control signal to vary the capacitance of the annular electrode based on a result of the determination (Yamazawa, Fig. 3, [0069], controller 62 outputs signals to motors 98C and 98E to vary capacitance values in order to achieve a desired plasma density profile PR from initial plasma density profile PR’).
Yamazawa fails to teach a plurality of annular electrodes,
a sensor connected to the matcher, the sensor configured to acquire electrical signal data of the matcher,
a controller configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by using big data having a correlation between the electrical signal data and a deposition rate of a film being deposited,
a third sensor connected to a third signal line connected between the matcher and the controller,
wherein the big data includes data on a causal relationship between the circular electrode, the annular electrode, plasma being administered, the substrate, and the upper electrode,
wherein the circular electrode is vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a first distance and the plurality of annular electrodes are vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a second distance that is smaller than the first distance,
wherein the circular electrode is spaced apart from the plurality of annular electrodes in a plan view,
wherein the matcher is connected to the upper electrode by a fourth signal line and the third signal line is connected to the fourth signal line,
wherein the controller determines whether the deposition process having the desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the first to third sensors with the big data, and
wherein the controller outputs the second control signal to vary the capacitance of the plurality of annular electrodes based on a result of the determination.
However, Sato teaches a plurality of annular electrodes (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts where each electrode is attached to independent impedance adjusters),
wherein the circular electrode is spaced apart from the plurality of annular electrodes in a plan view (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts, where electrodes 52 and 53 are spaced apart), and
wherein the controller outputs the second control signal to vary the capacitance of the plurality of annular electrodes based on a result of the determination (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts where each electrode is attached to independent impedance adjusters, where the capacitance of the impedance adjusters are varied by controller 11 to control the film forming rate, [0031]-[0033]).
Sato is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have divided the conductors of Yamazawa into plural conductors in the manner taught by Sato as doing so would allow the impedance values to be more finely controlled, thereby making uniform the electrical potential distribution on the wafer, and improving film thickness uniformity (Sato, [0096]-[0097]).
Modified Yamazawa fails to teach a sensor connected to the matcher, the sensor configured to acquire electrical signal data of the matcher,
a controller configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by using big data having a correlation between the electrical signal data and a deposition rate of a film being deposited,
a third sensor connected to a third signal line connected between the matcher and the controller,
wherein the big data includes data on a causal relationship between the circular electrode, the annular electrode, plasma being administered, the substrate, and the upper electrode,
wherein the circular electrode is vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a first distance and the plurality of annular electrodes are vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a second distance that is smaller than the first distance,
wherein the matcher is connected to the upper electrode by a fourth signal line and the third signal line is connected to the fourth signal line, and
wherein the controller determines whether the deposition process having the desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the first to third sensors with the big data.
However, Lee teaches wherein the circular electrode is vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a first distance and the plurality of annular electrodes are vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a second distance that is smaller than the first distance (Lee, Fig. 8a, [0084]-[0085], second electrode 3 is spaced a distance d6 from top surface, first electrode 2 is spaced a distance d5 from top surface, where d6 is smaller than d5).
Lee is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have arranged the electrodes provided at the periphery of the electrostatic chuck of modified Yamazawa to be a smaller distance from the top surface vs the electrode provided at the center as taught by Lee as doing so would provide an additional mechanism to control plasma intensities at the periphery vs the center of a substrate (Lee, [0084]) in addition to the capacitance varying circuits.
Modified Yamazawa fails to teach a sensor connected to the matcher, the sensor configured to acquire electrical signal data of the matcher,
a controller configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by using big data having a correlation between the electrical signal data and a deposition rate of a film being deposited,
a third sensor connected to a third signal line connected between the matcher and the controller,
wherein the big data includes data on a causal relationship between the circular electrode, the annular electrode, plasma being administered, the substrate, and the upper electrode,
wherein the matcher is connected to the upper electrode by a fourth signal line and the third signal line is connected to the fourth signal line, and
wherein the controller determines whether the deposition process having the desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the first to third sensors with the big data.
However, Sakiyama teaches a sensor connected to the matcher, the sensor configured to acquire electrical signal data of the matcher (Sakiyama, Fig. 1, [0032], VI probe 152 is connected between the upper electrode 154 and RF power source 150 proximal to an RF input of the upper electrode 154, where the match network is unshown and coupled between the RF power source 150 and electrode 154, and where the VI probe 152 is coupled to the IOC 174, [0041]),
a third sensor connected to a third signal line connected between the matcher and the controller (Sakiyama, Fig. 1, [0032], VI probe 152 is connected between the upper electrode 154 and RF power source 150 proximal to an RF input of the upper electrode 154, where the match network is unshown and coupled between the RF power source 150 and electrode 154, and where the VI probe 152 is coupled to the IOC 174, [0041]),
wherein the matcher is connected to the upper electrode by a fourth signal line and the third signal line is connected to the fourth signal line (Sakiyama, Fig. 1, [0032], VI probe 152 is connected between the upper electrode 154 and RF power source 150 proximal to an RF input of the upper electrode 154, where the match network is unshown and coupled between the RF power source 150 and electrode 154, and where the VI probe 152 is coupled to the IOC 174, [0041]).
Sakiyama is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the VI probe between the matching network and upper electrode of modified Yamazawa as taught by Sakiyama as doing so would provide direct RF characteristic measurements of the power being applied to the process chamber, transmitting them to a controller and computing device for further use (Sakiyama, [0041]-[0042]).
Modified Yamazawa fails to teach a controller configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by using big data having a correlation between the electrical signal data and a deposition rate of a film being deposited,
wherein the big data includes data on a causal relationship between the circular electrode, the annular electrode, plasma being administered, the substrate, and the upper electrode, and
wherein the controller determines whether the deposition process having the desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the first to third sensors with the big data.
However, Guha teaches a controller configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by using big data having a correlation between the electrical signal data and a deposition rate of a film being deposited (Guha, Fig. 2, [0062]-[0065], big data streams from sensors 136 are fed into machine learning engine 180, and in conjunction with data from performance verification 174, build models to correlate relationship between sensor outputs and process results),
wherein the big data includes data on a causal relationship between the circular electrode, the annular electrode, plasma being administered, the substrate, and the upper electrode (Guha, Fig. 2, [0062]-[0065], big data streams from sensors 136 are fed into machine learning engine 180, and in conjunction with data from performance verification 174, build models to correlate relationship between sensor outputs and process results, where a plurality of sensors providing voltage/power/current/impedance are to be configured to the chamber as required by the specific types of data needed, [0049]-[0051], Table A), and
wherein the controller determines whether the deposition process having the desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the first to third sensors with the big data (Guha, Fig. 2, [0062]-[0065], big data streams from sensors 136 are fed into machine learning engine 180, and in conjunction with data from performance verification 174, build models to correlate relationship between sensor outputs and process results, where a plurality of sensors providing voltage/power/current/impedance are to be configured to the chamber as required by the specific types of data needed, [0049]-[0051], Table A).
Guha is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have utilized the multivariate processing and compensation processing modules of Guha in the controller of Yamazawa as doing so would enable for larger data sets to be analyzed and processed in real-time, allowing for modeling relationships between process parameters and process results to be refined more quickly (Guha, [0082]).
Regarding claim 2, Yamazawa fails to teach wherein the number of the annular electrodes is within a range of 2 to 3.
However, Sato teaches wherein the number of the annular electrodes is within a range of 2 to 3 (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have divided the conductors of Yamazawa into plural conductors in the manner taught by Sato as doing so would allow the impedance values to be more finely controlled, thereby making uniform the electrical potential distribution on the wafer, and improving film thickness uniformity (Sato, [0096]-[0097]).
Regarding claim 5, Yamazawa teaches wherein the circular electrode and the annular electrode include a sheet type or a mesh type (Yamazawa, [0049], central conductor 42 and peripheral conductor 44 are formed of a mesh shape).
Yamazawa fails to teach a plurality of annular electrodes.
However, Sato teaches a plurality of annular electrodes (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have divided the conductors of Yamazawa into plural conductors in the manner taught by Sato as doing so would allow the impedance values to be more finely controlled, thereby making uniform the electrical potential distribution on the wafer, and improving film thickness uniformity (Sato, [0096]-[0097]).
Regarding claim 7, Yamazawa fails to teach wherein the sensor is connected to the power supply to acquire the electrical signal data.
However, Sakiyama teaches wherein the sensor is connected to the power supply to acquire the electrical signal data (Sakiyama, Fig. 1, [0032], VI probe 152 is connected between the upper electrode 154 and RF power source 150 proximal to an RF input of the upper electrode 154, where the match network is unshown and coupled between the RF power source 150 and electrode 154, and where the VI probe 152 is coupled to the IOC 174, [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the VI probe between the matching network and upper electrode of Yamazawa as taught by Sakiyama as doing so would provide direct RF characteristic measurements of the power being applied to the process chamber, transmitting them to a controller and computing device for further use (Sakiyama, [0041]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 9, Yamazawa fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to compare the electrical signal data, which is acquired using a deep learning technology, with the big data.
However, Guha teaches wherein the controller is configured to compare the electrical signal data, which is acquired using a deep learning technology, with the big data (Guha, Fig. 2, [0062]-[0065], big data streams from sensors 136 are fed into machine learning engine 180, and in conjunction with data from performance verification 174, build models to correlate relationship between sensor outputs and process results, where the learning engine algorithm may be deep learning, [0083]).
t would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have utilized the multivariate processing and compensation processing modules of Guha in the controller of Yamazawa as doing so would enable for larger data sets to be analyzed and processed in real-time, allowing for modeling relationships between process parameters and process results to be refined more quickly (Guha, [0082]).
Regarding claim 10, Yamazawa teaches wherein: a thin film on the first region has a first thin film thickness, a thin film on the second region has a second thin film thickness, and the controller is configured to output the first and second control signals such that a difference between the first thin film thickness and the second thin film thickness is within a preset range (Yamazawa, Fig. 3, [0069], controller 62 outputs signals to motors 98C and 98E to vary capacitance values to a set target value in order to achieve a desired plasma density profile PR from initial plasma density profile PR’, where initial plasma density PR’ differs from center-to-edge).
Regarding claim 11, Yamazawa teaches a plasma processing system (Yamazawa, Fig. 1, plasma processing apparatus), comprising:
a substrate stage having a seating surface for supporting a substrate having first and second regions (Yamazawa, Fig. 1, [0049], susceptor 12, having electrostatic chuck 38, where electrostatic chuck 38 has central conductor 42 and peripheral conductor 44), the substrate stage having a first electrode and a second electrode therein (Yamazawa, Fig. 1, [0049], susceptor 12, having electrostatic chuck 38, where electrostatic chuck 38 has central conductor 42 and peripheral conductor 44), the first electrode corresponding to the first region (Yamazawa, Fig. 1, [0049], where electrostatic chuck 38 has central conductor 42 corresponding to the center of the substrate W), and the second electrode corresponding to the second region (Yamazawa, Fig. 1, [0049], where electrostatic chuck 38 has peripheral conductor 44 corresponding to the area outside of the center of the substrate W);
an upper electrode provided over the substrate (Yamazawa, Fig. 1, [0056], showerhead 72, which serves as an upper electrode, above substrate W);
a power supply including a high frequency generator configured to supply source power to the upper electrode and a matcher configured to match an output impedance of an RF signal generated by the high frequency generator (Yamazawa, Fig. 7, [0086], RF power supply 100 supplies power to upper electrode 72 and matching unit 32A is connected between the power supply 100 and upper electrode 72);
a capacitance variator configured to independently vary capacitance of the first electrode and the second electrode (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0062]-[0065], controller 62 controls variable capacitor 90C via signal to step motor 98C, and controller 62 controls variable capacitor 90E via signal to step motor 98E);
a sensor configured to acquire electrical signal data of the first electrode and the second electrode to check deposition rates in the first and second regions (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0063], sensor 52 is connected to variable capacitor 90C, [0065], sensor 60 is connected to variable capacitor 90E); and
a controller configured to determine a thin film profile in each of the first and second regions of the substrate based on the electrical signal data obtained from the sensor (Yamazawa, Fig. 3, [0066]-[0068], plasma density profile PR’, comprised of central RF electron current RFIc and peripheral RF electron current RFIe, is generated based on values of currents MIc and MIe, which are transmitted to the controller 62 via sensors 52 and 60) through the capacitance variator in order to obtain a desired thin film profile (Yamazawa, Fig. 3, [0069], controller 62 outputs signals to motors 98C and 98E to vary capacitance values to a set target value in order to achieve a desired plasma density profile PR from initial plasma density profile PR’, where initial plasma density PR’ differs from center-to-edge),
wherein the sensor includes a plurality of sensors including a first sensor connected to a first signal line connected between the capacitance variator and the controller (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0051], sensor 52 is located between controller 62 and variable capacitor 90C, [0062]),
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the first and second sensors (Yamazawa, Fig. 3, [0066]-[0068], plasma density profile PR’, comprised of central RF electron current RFIc and peripheral RF electron current RFIe, is generated based on values of currents MIc and MIe, which are transmitted to the controller 62 via sensors 52 and 60), and
wherein the controller outputs a first control signal to vary the capacitance of the first electrode and a second control signal to vary the capacitance of the second electrode based on a result of the determination (Yamazawa, Fig. 3, [0069], controller 62 outputs signals to motors 98C and 98E to vary capacitance values in order to achieve a desired plasma density profile PR from initial plasma density profile PR’).
Yamazawa fails to teach a plurality of second electrodes therein, the plurality of second electrodes corresponding to the second region,
a capacitance variator configured to independently vary capacitance of the plurality of second electrodes,
a sensor configured to acquire electrical signal data of the matcher and connected to the upper electrode and the plurality of second electrodes; and
the controller being configured to vary the capacitances of the plurality of second electrodes through the capacitance variator in order to obtain a desired thin film profile,
wherein the sensor includes a plurality of sensors including a second sensor connected to a second signal line connected between the matcher and the controller,
wherein the first electrode is vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a first distance and the plurality of second electrodes are vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a second distance that is smaller than the first distance,
wherein the first electrode is spaced apart from the plurality of second electrodes in a plan view,
wherein the matcher is connected to the upper electrode by a third signal line and the second signal line is connected to the third signal line,
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the sensors with big data, and
wherein the controller outputs a first control signal to vary the capacitance of the plurality of second electrodes.
However, Sato teaches a plurality of second electrodes therein (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts), the plurality of second electrodes corresponding to the second region (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts where electrodes 52 and 53 correspond to a circumferential direction away from central electrode 51),
a capacitance variator configured to independently vary capacitance of the plurality of second electrodes (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts where each electrode is attached to independent impedance adjusters),
the controller being configured to vary the capacitances of the plurality of second electrodes (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts where each electrode is attached to independent impedance adjusters) through the capacitance variator in order to obtain a desired thin film profile (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts where each electrode is attached to independent impedance adjusters, where the capacitance of the impedance adjusters are varied by controller 11 to control the film forming rate, [0031]-[0033]),
wherein the first electrode is spaced apart from the plurality of second electrodes in a plan view (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts, where electrodes 52 and 53 are spaced apart), and
wherein the controller outputs a first control signal to vary the capacitance of the plurality of second electrodes (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts where each electrode is attached to independent impedance adjusters, where the capacitance of the impedance adjusters are varied by controller 11 to control the film forming rate, [0031]-[0033]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have divided the conductors of Yamazawa into plural conductors in the manner taught by Sato as doing so would allow the impedance values to be more finely controlled, thereby making uniform the electrical potential distribution on the wafer, and improving film thickness uniformity (Sato, [0096]-[0097]).
Modified Yamazawa fails to teach a sensor configured to acquire electrical signal data of the matcher and connected to the upper electrode and the plurality of second electrodes,
wherein the sensor includes a plurality of sensors including a second sensor connected to a second signal line connected between the matcher and the controller,
wherein the first electrode is vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a first distance and the plurality of second electrodes are vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a second distance that is smaller than the first distance,
wherein the matcher is connected to the upper electrode by a third signal line and the second signal line is connected to the third signal line, and
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the sensors with big data.
However, Lee teaches wherein the first electrode is vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a first distance and the plurality of second electrodes are vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a second distance that is smaller than the first distance (Lee, Fig. 8a, [0084]-[0085], second electrode 3 is spaced a distance d6 from top surface, first electrode 2 is spaced a distance d5 from top surface, where d6 is smaller than d5).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have arranged the electrodes provided at the periphery of the electrostatic chuck of modified Yamazawa to be a smaller distance from the top surface vs the electrode provided at the center as taught by Lee as doing so would provide an additional mechanism to control plasma intensities at the periphery vs the center of a substrate (Lee, [0084]) in addition to the capacitance varying circuits.
Modified Yamazawa fails to teach a sensor configured to acquire electrical signal data of the matcher and connected to the upper electrode and the plurality of second electrodes,
wherein the sensor includes a plurality of sensors including a second sensor connected to a second signal line connected between the matcher and the controller,
wherein the matcher is connected to the upper electrode by a third signal line and the second signal line is connected to the third signal line, and
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the sensors with big data.
However, Sakiyama teaches a sensor configured to acquire electrical signal data of the matcher and connected to the upper electrode (Sakiyama, Fig. 1, [0032], VI probe 152 is connected between the upper electrode 154 and RF power source 150 proximal to an RF input of the upper electrode 154, where the match network is unshown and coupled between the RF power source 150 and electrode 154, and where the VI probe 152 is coupled to the IOC 174, [0041]),
wherein the sensor includes a plurality of sensors including a second sensor connected to a second signal line connected between the matcher and the controller (Sakiyama, Fig. 1, [0032], VI probe 152 is connected between the upper electrode 154 and RF power source 150 proximal to an RF input of the upper electrode 154, where the match network is unshown and coupled between the RF power source 150 and electrode 154, and where the VI probe 152 is coupled to the IOC 174, [0041]),
wherein the matcher is connected to the upper electrode by a third signal line and the second signal line is connected to the third signal line (Sakiyama, Fig. 1, [0032], VI probe 152 is connected between the upper electrode 154 and RF power source 150 proximal to an RF input of the upper electrode 154, where the match network is unshown and coupled between the RF power source 150 and electrode 154, and where the VI probe 152 is coupled to the IOC 174, [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the VI probe between the matching network and upper electrode of Yamazawa as taught by Sakiyama as doing so would provide direct RF characteristic measurements of the power being applied to the process chamber, transmitting them to a controller and computing device for further use (Sakiyama, [0041]-[0042]).
Modified Yamazawa fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the sensors with big data.
However, Guha teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the sensors with big data (Guha, Fig. 2, [0062]-[0065], big data streams from sensors 136 are fed into machine learning engine 180, and in conjunction with data from performance verification 174, build models to correlate relationship between sensor outputs and process results, where a plurality of sensors providing voltage/power/current/impedance are to be configured to the chamber as required by the specific types of data needed, [0049]-[0051], Table A).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have utilized the multivariate processing and compensation processing modules of Guha in the controller of Yamazawa as doing so would enable for larger data sets to be analyzed and processed in real-time, allowing for modeling relationships between process parameters and process results to be refined more quickly (Guha, [0082]).
Regarding claim 12, Yamazawa teaches wherein the first electrode has a circular shape and the second electrode has an annular shape surrounding the first electrode (Yamazawa, Fig. 1, [0049], electrostatic chuck 38 has central conductor 42 and peripheral conductor 44 which is annular and surrounds central conductor 42).
Yamazawa fails to teach wherein the plurality of second electrodes each have an annular shape surrounding the first electrode.
However, Sato teaches wherein the plurality of second electrodes each have an annular shape surrounding the first electrode (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts where electrodes 52 and 53 correspond to a circumferential direction away from central electrode 51).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have divided the conductors of Yamazawa into plural conductors in the manner taught by Sato as doing so would allow the impedance values to be more finely controlled, thereby making uniform the electrical potential distribution on the wafer, and improving film thickness uniformity (Sato, [0096]-[0097]).
Regarding claim 15, Yamazawa teaches a first capacitor variator configured to vary a capacitance of the first electrode based on an inputted first control signal (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0062], controller 62 controls variable capacitor 90C via signal to step motor 98C), and a second capacitor variator configured to vary a capacitance of the second electrode based on an inputted second control signal (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0065], controller 62 controls variable capacitor 90E via signal to step motor 98E); and
the controller is configured to respectively output the first and second control signals based on the determined thin film profiles (Yamazawa, Fig. 3, [0069], controller 62 outputs signals to motors 98C and 98E to vary capacitance values to a set target value in order to achieve a desired plasma density profile PR from initial plasma density profile PR’, where initial plasma density PR’ differs from center-to-edge).
Yamazawa fails to teach a second capacitor variator configured to vary a capacitance of the plurality of second electrodes.
However, Sato teaches a second capacitor variator configured to vary a capacitance of the plurality of second electrodes (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts where each electrode is attached to independent impedance adjusters, where the capacitance of the impedance adjusters are varied by controller 11 to control the film forming rate, [0031]-[0033]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have divided the conductors of Yamazawa into plural conductors in the manner taught by Sato as doing so would allow the impedance values to be more finely controlled, thereby making uniform the electrical potential distribution on the wafer, and improving film thickness uniformity (Sato, [0096]-[0097]).
Regarding claim 17, Yamazawa fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to use the big data having a correlation between the electrical signal data and the thin film profile, and to output the first and second control signals using the big data, respectively.
However, Guha teaches wherein the controller is configured to use the big data having a correlation between the electrical signal data and the thin film profile (Guha, Fig. 2, [0062]-[0065], big data streams from sensors 136 are fed into machine learning engine 180, and in conjunction with data from performance verification 174, build models to correlate relationship between sensor outputs and process results), and to output the first and second control signals using the big data, respectively (Guha, Fig. 2, [0072], machine learning engine 180 feeds data to compensation processing 190, which in turn adjusts tuning knobs 134 of plasma reactor 100).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have utilized the multivariate processing and compensation processing modules of Guha in the controller of Yamazawa as doing so would enable for larger data sets to be analyzed and processed in real-time, allowing for modeling relationships between process parameters and process results to be refined more quickly (Guha, [0082]).
Regarding claim 18, Yamazawa fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to compare the electric signal data acquired using a deep learning technology with the big data.
However, Guha teaches wherein the controller is configured to compare the electric signal data acquired using a deep learning technology with the big data (Guha, Fig. 2, [0062]-[0065], big data streams from sensors 136 are fed into machine learning engine 180, and in conjunction with data from performance verification 174, build models to correlate relationship between sensor outputs and process results, where the learning engine algorithm may be deep learning, [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have utilized the multivariate processing and compensation processing modules of Guha in the controller of Yamazawa as doing so would enable for larger data sets to be analyzed and processed in real-time, allowing for modeling relationships between process parameters and process results to be refined more quickly (Guha, [0082]).
Regarding claim 19, Yamazawa teaches wherein: a thin film on the first region has a first thin film thickness, a thin film on the second region has a second thin film thickness, the controller is configured to output the first and second control signals such that a difference between the first thin film thickness and the second thin film thickness is within a preset range (Yamazawa, Fig. 3, [0069], controller 62 outputs signals to motors 98C and 98E to vary capacitance values to a set target value in order to achieve a desired plasma density profile PR from initial plasma density profile PR’, where initial plasma density PR’ differs from center-to-edge).
Regarding claim 20, Yamazawa teaches a plasma processing system (Yamazawa, Fig. 1, plasma processing apparatus), comprising:
a chamber providing a space for performing a plasma process on a substrate (Yamazawa, Fig. 1, [0046], chamber 10 with processing space S);
a substrate stage having a seating surface for supporting the substrate, the substrate stage having a circular electrode and an annular electrode therein (Yamazawa, Fig. 1, [0049], electrostatic chuck 38 has central conductor 42 and peripheral conductor 44 which is annular);
a power supply including a high frequency generator configured to supply source power to an upper electrode provided above the substrate and a matcher configured to match an output impedance of a RF signal generated by the high frequency generator (Yamazawa, Fig. 7, [0086], RF power supply 100 supplies power to upper electrode 72 and matching unit 32A is connected between the power supply 100 and upper electrode 72);
a first impedance variator configured to vary an impedance of the circular electrode (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0062], controller 62 controls variable capacitor 90C via signal to step motor 98C);
a second impedance variator configured to vary an impedance of the annular electrode (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0065], controller 62 controls variable capacitor 90E via signal to step motor 98E);
a sensor connected to the first and second impedance variators (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0063], sensor 52 is connected to variable capacitor 90C, [0065], sensor 60 is connected to variable capacitor 90E) respectively, the sensor configured to acquire electrical signal data of the circular electrode (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0063], sensor 52 measures current MIc coming from central conductor 42) and the annular electrode (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0065], sensor 60 measures current MIe coming from peripheral conductor 44); and
a controller configured to determine a thin film profile based on the electrical signal data obtained from the sensor in first and second regions of the substrate respectively corresponding to the circular electrode and the annular electrode (Yamazawa, Fig. 3, [0066]-[0068], plasma density profile PR’, comprised of central RF electron current RFIc and peripheral RF electron current RFIe, is generated based on values of currents MIc and MIe, which are transmitted to the controller 62 via sensors 52 and 60), the controller being configured to output first and second control signals respectively in order to obtain a desired thin film profile (Yamazawa, Fig. 3, [0069], controller 62 outputs signals to motors 98C and 98E to vary capacitance values in order to achieve a desired plasma density profile PR from initial plasma density profile PR’),
wherein the sensor includes a plurality of sensors including a first sensor connected to a first signal line connected between the first impedance variator and the controller (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0051], sensor 52 is located between controller 62 and variable capacitor 90C, [0062]), and a second sensor connected to a second signal line connected between the second impedance variator and the controller (Yamazawa, Fig. 2, [0052], sensor 60 is located between controller 62 and variable capacitor 90E, [0064]),
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the sensors (Yamazawa, Fig. 3, [0066]-[0068], plasma density profile PR’, comprised of central RF electron current RFIc and peripheral RF electron current RFIe, is generated based on values of currents MIc and MIe, which are transmitted to the controller 62 via sensors 52 and 60), and
wherein the controller outputs the first control signal to vary the capacitance of the circular electrode and the second control signal to vary the capacitance of the annular electrode based on a result of the determination (Yamazawa, Fig. 3, [0069], controller 62 outputs signals to motors 98C and 98E to vary capacitance values in order to achieve a desired plasma density profile PR from initial plasma density profile PR’).
Yamazawa fails to teach a plurality of annular electrodes,
a second impedance variator configured to vary an impedance of the plurality of annular electrodes,
a sensor connected to the matcher, the sensor configured to acquire electrical signal data of the matcher,
a controller using big data having a correlation between the electrical signal data and a deposition rate of the substrate,
wherein the sensor includes a plurality of sensors including a third sensor connected to a third signal line connected between the matcher and the controller,
wherein the big data includes data on a causal relationship between the circular electrode, the plurality of annular electrodes, plasma being administered, the substrate, and the upper electrode,
wherein the circular electrode is vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a first distance and the plurality of annular electrodes are vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a second distance that is smaller than the first distance,
wherein the circular electrode is spaced apart from the plurality of annular electrodes in a plan view,
wherein the matcher is connected to the upper electrode by a fourth signal line and the third signal line is connected to the fourth signal line, and
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the first to third sensors with the big data.
However, Sato teaches a plurality of annular electrodes (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts),
a second impedance variator configured to vary an impedance of the plurality of annular electrodes (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts where each electrode is attached to independent impedance adjusters), and
wherein the circular electrode is spaced apart from the plurality of annular electrodes in a plan view (Sato, Fig. 6A, [0097], electrode 51 can be divided into two, three, or more parts, where electrodes 52 and 53 are spaced apart).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have divided the conductors of Yamazawa into plural conductors in the manner taught by Sato as doing so would allow the impedance values to be more finely controlled, thereby making uniform the electrical potential distribution on the wafer, and improving film thickness uniformity (Sato, [0096]-[0097]).
Modified Yamazawa fails to teach a sensor connected to the matcher, the sensor configured to acquire electrical signal data of the matcher,
a controller using big data having a correlation between the electrical signal data and a deposition rate of the substrate,
wherein the sensor includes a plurality of sensors including a third sensor connected to a third signal line connected between the matcher and the controller,
wherein the big data includes data on a causal relationship between the circular electrode, the plurality of annular electrodes, plasma being administered, the substrate, and the upper electrode,
wherein the circular electrode is vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a first distance and the plurality of annular electrodes are vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a second distance that is smaller than the first distance,
wherein the matcher is connected to the upper electrode by a fourth signal line and the third signal line is connected to the fourth signal line, and
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the first to third sensors with the big data.
However, Lee teaches wherein the circular electrode is vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a first distance and the plurality of annular electrodes are vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a second distance that is smaller than the first distance (Lee, Fig. 8a, [0084]-[0085], second electrode 3 is spaced a distance d6 from top surface, first electrode 2 is spaced a distance d5 from top surface, where d6 is smaller than d5).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have arranged the electrodes provided at the periphery of the electrostatic chuck of modified Yamazawa to be a smaller distance from the top surface vs the electrode provided at the center as taught by Lee as doing so would provide an additional mechanism to control plasma intensities at the periphery vs the center of a substrate (Lee, [0084]) in addition to the capacitance varying circuits.
Modified Yamazawa fails to teach a sensor connected to the matcher, the sensor configured to acquire electrical signal data of the matcher,
a controller using big data having a correlation between the electrical signal data and a deposition rate of the substrate,
wherein the sensor includes a plurality of sensors including a third sensor connected to a third signal line connected between the matcher and the controller,
wherein the big data includes data on a causal relationship between the circular electrode, the plurality of annular electrodes, plasma being administered, the substrate, and the upper electrode,
wherein the matcher is connected to the upper electrode by a fourth signal line and the third signal line is connected to the fourth signal line, and
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the first to third sensors with the big data.
However, Sakiyama teaches a sensor connected to the matcher (Sakiyama, Fig. 1, [0032], VI probe 152 is connected between the upper electrode 154 and RF power source 150 proximal to an RF input of the upper electrode 154, where the match network is unshown and coupled between the RF power source 150 and electrode 154, and where the VI probe 152 is coupled to the IOC 174, [0041]), the sensor configured to acquire electrical signal data of the matcher (Sakiyama, Fig. 1, [0032], VI probe 152 is connected between the upper electrode 154 and RF power source 150 proximal to an RF input of the upper electrode 154, where the match network is unshown and coupled between the RF power source 150 and electrode 154, and where the VI probe 152 is coupled to the IOC 174, [0041]),
wherein the sensor includes a plurality of sensors including a third sensor connected to a third signal line connected between the matcher and the controller (Sakiyama, Fig. 1, [0032], VI probe 152 is connected between the upper electrode 154 and RF power source 150 proximal to an RF input of the upper electrode 154, where the match network is unshown and coupled between the RF power source 150 and electrode 154, and where the VI probe 152 is coupled to the IOC 174, [0041]), and
wherein the matcher is connected to the upper electrode by a fourth signal line and the third signal line is connected to the fourth signal line (Sakiyama, Fig. 1, [0032], VI probe 152 is connected between the upper electrode 154 and RF power source 150 proximal to an RF input of the upper electrode 154, where the match network is unshown and coupled between the RF power source 150 and electrode 154, and where the VI probe 152 is coupled to the IOC 174, [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the VI probe between the matching network and upper electrode of Yamazawa as taught by Sakiyama as doing so would provide direct RF characteristic measurements of the power being applied to the process chamber, transmitting them to a controller and computing device for further use (Sakiyama, [0041]-[0042]).
Modified Yamazawa fails to teach a controller using big data having a correlation between the electrical signal data and a deposition rate of the substrate,
wherein the big data includes data on a causal relationship between the circular electrode, the plurality of annular electrodes, plasma being administered, the substrate, and the upper electrode, and
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the first to third sensors with the big data.
However, Guha teaches a controller using big data having a correlation between the electrical signal data and a deposition rate of the substrate (Guha, Fig. 2, [0062]-[0065], big data streams from sensors 136 are fed into machine learning engine 180, and in conjunction with data from performance verification 174, build models to correlate relationship between sensor outputs and process results),
wherein the big data includes data on a causal relationship between the circular electrode, the plurality of annular electrodes, plasma being administered, the substrate, and the upper electrode (Guha, Fig. 2, [0062]-[0065], big data streams from sensors 136 are fed into machine learning engine 180, and in conjunction with data from performance verification 174, build models to correlate relationship between sensor outputs and process results, where a plurality of sensors providing voltage/power/current/impedance are to be configured to the chamber as required by the specific types of data needed, [0049]-[0051], Table A), and
wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a deposition process having a desired distribution is being performed on the substrate by comparing collected data collected by the first to third sensors with the big data (Guha, Fig. 2, [0062]-[0065], big data streams from sensors 136 are fed into machine learning engine 180, and in conjunction with data from performance verification 174, build models to correlate relationship between sensor outputs and process results, where a plurality of sensors providing voltage/power/current/impedance are to be configured to the chamber as required by the specific types of data needed, [0049]-[0051], Table A).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have utilized the multivariate processing and compensation processing modules of Guha in the controller of Yamazawa as doing so would enable for larger data sets to be analyzed and processed in real-time, allowing for modeling relationships between process parameters and process results to be refined more quickly (Guha, [0082]).
Claims 3-4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazawa (US 20080236492 A1) in view of Sato (US 20170004966 A1), Sakiyama (US 20170076921 A1), Lee (US 20210366693 A1), and Guha (US 20180082826 A1) as applied in claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-12, 15, and 17-20, and further in view of Rangineni (US 20180175819 A1).
The limitations of claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-12, 15, and 17-20 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 3, Yamazawa fails to teach wherein the electrical signal data includes values for power, current, voltage, phase, and micro arcing.
However, Rangineni teaches wherein the electrical signal data includes values for power, current, voltage, phase, and micro arcing (Rangineni, Fig. 1A, [0037], VI probe 110, coupled to impedance matching circuit 106, measures voltage, current, phase, power, etc).
Rangineni is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have replaced the sensor of Yamazawa with the VI sensor of Rangineni as doing so would enable the controller to use additional data inputs besides current, such as voltage, power, frequency, etc to determine the needed capacitance adjustments (Rangineni, [0149]).
Regarding claim 4, Yamazawa fails to teach wherein the sensor includes a voltage current sensor (VI sensor).
However, Rangineni teaches wherein the sensor includes a voltage current sensor (VI sensor) (Rangineni, Fig. 1A, [0037], VI probe 110, coupled to impedance matching circuit 106, measures voltage, current, phase, power, etc).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have replaced the sensor of Yamazawa with the VI sensor of Rangineni as doing so would enable the controller to use additional data inputs besides current, such as voltage, power, frequency, etc to determine the needed capacitance adjustments (Rangineni, [0149]).
Regarding claim 13, Yamazawa fails to teach wherein the electrical signal data includes values for power, current, voltage, phase, and micro arcing.
However, Rangineni teaches wherein the electrical signal data includes values for power, current, voltage, phase, and micro arcing (Rangineni, Fig. 1A, [0037], VI probe 110, coupled to impedance matching circuit 106, measures voltage, current, phase, power, etc).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have replaced the sensor of Yamazawa with the VI sensor of Rangineni as doing so would enable the controller to use additional data inputs besides current, such as voltage, power, frequency, etc to determine the needed capacitance adjustments (Rangineni, [0149]).
Regarding claim 14, Yamazawa fails to teach wherein the sensor includes a voltage current sensor (VI sensor).
However, Rangineni teaches wherein the sensor includes a voltage current sensor (VI sensor) (Rangineni, Fig. 1A, [0037], VI probe 110, coupled to impedance matching circuit 106, measures voltage, current, phase, power, etc).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have replaced the sensor of Yamazawa with the VI sensor of Rangineni as doing so would enable the controller to use additional data inputs besides current, such as voltage, power, frequency, etc to determine the needed capacitance adjustments (Rangineni, [0149]).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazawa (US 20080236492 A1) in view of Sato (US 20170004966 A1), Sakiyama (US 20170076921 A1), Lee (US 20210366693 A1), and Guha (US 20180082826 A1) as applied in claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-12, 15, and 17-20, and further in view of Yoshikawa (US 20110096461 A1).
The limitations of claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-12, 15, and 17-20 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 6, modified Yamazawa fails to teach wherein a difference between the first distance and the second distance is within a range of 0.1 mm to 2.0 mm.
However, Yoshikawa teaches wherein a difference between the first distance and the second distance is within a range of 0.1 mm to 2.0 mm (Yoshikawa, Fig. 5A, [0071], electrode 16 is 2 mm away from attraction surface 10S, electrode 17 is 1.5 mm away from attraction surface 10S, electrode 18 is 1 mm away from attraction surface 10S, where the electrode layers do not necessarily have to overlap, [0075]).
Yoshikawa is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 16, modified Yamazawa fails to teach wherein a difference between the first distance and the second distance is within a range of 0.1 mm to 2.0 mm.
However, Yoshikawa teaches wherein a difference between the first distance and the second distance is within a range of 0.1 mm to 2.0 mm (Yoshikawa, Fig. 5A, [0071], electrode 16 is 2 mm away from attraction surface 10S, electrode 17 is 1.5 mm away from attraction surface 10S, electrode 18 is 1 mm away from attraction surface 10S, where the electrode layers do not necessarily have to overlap, [0075]).
Yoshikawa is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Response to Arguments
In the Applicant’s response filed 11/07/2025, the Applicant traverses the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections of claims 1, 11, and 20, asserting that the rationale wherein a user could manually or mentally perform the claimed recitation of “determine a thin film profile” in place of the claimed controller is not valid because it would be impossible for a human to determine such a thin film profile without the aid of a specialized machine configured to perform the process. The Examiner has carefully considered the arguments but does not find them persuasive. The limitation “determine a thin film profile” is recited at a high level of generality and the claims do not positively recite what elements constitute the thin film profile, or how such a profile is determined.
Therefore, in lieu of recitation of additional elements which detail a manner of determination a human could not achieve, the rejections would be maintained. Similarly, the limitation “electrical signal data” is recited at a high level of generality and the claims do not positively recite what elements constitute the electrical signal data. Therefore, in lieu of recitation of additional elements which detail a manner of measurement a human could not achieve, the rejections would be maintained. For instance, as an example of additional elements which detail a manner of measurement a human could not achieve, claims 3 and 13 state wherein the electrical signal data includes certain values that could not reasonably be measured by a human without the aid of a tool.
In the Applicant’s response filed 11/07/2025, the Applicant asserts that none of the cited prior art, particularly Yoshikawa, teach the claim limitations “wherein the circular electrode is spaced apart from the plurality of annular electrodes in a plan view,” and “the circular electrode is vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a first distance and the plurality of annular electrodes are vertically spaced apart from the seating surface by a second distance that is smaller than the first distance,” as amended in claim 1, and similarly claims 11 and 20. In response to the amendments, the Examiner has newly rejected the claims in the “Claims Rejections” sections above, thereby rendering the arguments moot.
In the Applicant’s response filed 11/07/2025, the Applicant asserts that none of the cited prior art, particularly French, teach the claim limitations “wherein the matcher is connected to the upper electrode by a fourth signal line and the third signal line [connected to a third sensor and between the matcher and the controller] is connected to the fourth signal line” as amended in claim 1, and similarly claims 11 and 20. In response to the amendments, the Examiner has newly rejected the claims in the “Claims Rejections” sections above, thereby rendering the arguments moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lin (US 20170040198 A1) teaches inner and outer annular electrode and benefits of different locations in relation to each other
/TODD M SEOANE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1718 /GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718