Continued Examination under 37 CFR §1.114
2. A request for continued examination under 37 CFR §1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR §1.17(e), was filed on February 2, 2026 in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR §1.114 and the fee set forth in 37 CFR §1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action dated October 31, 2025 has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR §1.114 and the submission filed on February 2, 2026 has been entered. Claims 14 and 16 are newly cancelled by the applicant. Claims 28 and 29 are newly added by the applicant. Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15, 17, 18, 20, 21, 23-25, and 27-29 are pending. Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-12, 18, 20, 21, 23, and 24 are rejected. Claims 2, 8, 13, 15, 17, 25, and 27-29 are objected to.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 2, 8, 13, 15, 17, 25, and 27-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-12, 18, 20, 21, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20160227150) in view of Xie (U.S. Patent No. 10014967), Skobov (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20180192446), and Yun (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20150160731).
Claim 1
Regarding Claim 1, Sun teaches:
A computer-implemented method, comprising: identifying, by the processor [[and based on the first movement]], a particular target device of a plurality of target devices disposed in an environment (See at least Paragraph 97: Describes a process for controlling a home appliance [i.e., a target device] via interactions with a wearable device of the user. The wearable device [i.e., the control device] may directly communicate with the home appliance via a wireless connection, such as Wifi or Bluetooth. Examiner's Note: Sun does not explicitly teach that a particular home appliance may be identified based on a respective movement. However, this limitation is taught by Yun as described below);
determining by the processor, and based on second sensor data received from the sensor operably connected to the processor, a second movement of the control device (See at least Paragraphs 94 and 95: The wearable device collects motion data generated from a user motion. The motion data may be collected by a variety of sensors that detect motion of the user [See Paragraph 33]);
[[based on determining that the particular user is authorized to access the particular target device]]: generating, by the processor, and based on the second movement, a control signal including a first control command associated with the second movement (See at least Paragraph 94 and 95: The wearable device collects the motion data for transmission to the home appliance. In other words, the transmission of the motion data corresponds to the control signal. The "control signal" includes a control instruction that is identified based on the user motion [See Paragraphs 99 and 100]. Examiner's Note: Sun does not explicitly state that the command is identified in response to authenticating the user. However, this limitation is disclosed by Xie as described below); and
providing, by the processor, the control signal to the particular target device, the control signal causing the particular target device to perform an action in accordance with the first control command (See at least Paragraphs 96-101: The home appliance receives the motion data collected through the wearable device and executes the control instruction).
Regarding Claim 1, Sun does not explicitly teach, but Xie, however, does teach:
receiving, by the processor, first authentication information unique to a particular user of a plurality of users of the control device (See at least Col. 7, Lines 40-57: Describes a system for authenticating the identity of a user via a broadcast device [i.e., wearable device]. The authentication device generates second facial data by taking or scanning a picture of the user. The broadcast device may be associated with a plurality of users, each with their own associated facial data [See Col. 3, Line 47 – Col. 4, Line 17]);
determining, by the processor, that the first authentication information matches a second authentication information stored in a memory accessible by the processor (See at least Col. 7, Lines 58-67: The transaction station compares various facial feature data of the first facial data and the second facial data to determine whether the first facial data matches the second facial data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun and Xie in order to increase the speed and security of existing systems for authenticating a user via facial recognition (Xie: Col. 1, Lines 12-26)
Regarding Claim 1, the combination of Sun and Xie does not explicitly teach, but Skobov, however, does teach:
[[based on determining that the first authentication information matches the second authentication information]], retrieving, by the processor, access restrictions associated with the particular user (See at least Paragraph 87: Describes a method for automatically determining which of a plurality of target devices should be connected with a source device. The method can determine whether a user or process requesting the target device identifier has permission to access the target device. For example, the permission can be checked against a library. In other words, the system retrieves "access restrictions" to determine whether the user may access a target device. Examiner's Note: Skobov does not explicitly teach that the access restrictions are retrieved in response to authenticating the user. However, this limitation is disclosed by the combination of Sun and Xie as described above);
wherein the access restrictions identify at least one target device of the plurality of target devices that the particular user is prohibited from accessing (See at least Paragraph 72: The user may choose to make target devices available to other users, but may restrict access to particular users or groups of users. Permissions can be for a group of devices or for a single device, and may be for a limited duration, or can be for continuous/ongoing use. The method can determine whether a user or process requesting the target device identifier has permission to access the target device [See Paragraph 87]); and
determining, by the processor and based on the access restrictions, that the particular user is authorized to access the particular target device (See at least Paragraph 87: The method can determine whether a user or process requesting the target device identifier has permission to access the target device. If access to the target device is permitted, data is output to the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun, Xie, and Skobov in order to address shortcomings with existing methods for pairing devices which can require significant user interaction, may have specific hardware requirements or limitations, and may not be able to adequately determine which devices should be paired when multiple candidates exist (Skobov: Paragraphs 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 1, the combination of Sun, Xie, and Skobov does not explicitly teach, but Yun, however, does teach:
determining, by a processor, and based on first sensor data received from a sensor operably connected to the processor, a first movement of a control device (See at least Paragraph 119: A first electronic device [e.g., a control device] detects a first signal generated by a user's gesture [i.e., a first movement]. The electronic device may comprise a processor and sensor [See Paragraphs 46-48]); and
identifying, by the processor and based on the first movement, a particular target device of a plurality of target devices disposed in an environment (See at least Paragraph 120: In order to identify the type of user's gesture, the first electronic device analyzes a waveform of the detected first signal. Thereafter, the first electronic device identifies a type of second electronic device to be controlled based on the analyzed waveform. When the type of second electronic device is identified, the first electronic device may connect with the second electronic device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun, Xie, Skobov, and Yun in order to provide improved systems/methods for executing a function on an electronic device (Yun: Paragraphs 3-7). This is accomplished by conveniently detecting/analyzing a signal generated by a user gesture (Yun: Paragraphs 14 and 15).
Claim 3
Regarding Claim 3, Sun teaches:
wherein the control device includes the sensor, is configured to be worn by a user of the control device, and comprises one of: a watch, a necklace, smart glasses, or clothing with a built-in sensor (See at least Paragraph 64: The wearable device may be a smart watch [i.e., a device worn by the user]. The input indicative of a control the user wishes to perform on the home appliance is received via the wearable device [See Paragraphs 94 and 95]).
Claim 5
Regarding Claim 5, Sun teaches:
wherein the particular target device comprises one of: a smart home device, a home security device, a home entertainment device, or a remotely-operable vehicle (See at least Paragraph 36: The home appliance may be a smart TV [i.e., a home entertainment device]).
Claim 6
Regarding Claim 6, Sun does not explicitly teach, but Xie, however, does teach:
wherein the sensor comprises a camera configured to capture: a gesture of a user of the control device, the gesture indicative of the first movement or the second movement (See at least Col. 5, Lines 34-55: The authentication device may comprise a camera configured to collect gait data [i.e., a gesture indicative of a movement of the user]), and
a facial image of the user, the facial image indicative of the first authentication information (See at least Col. 5, Lines 34-55: The authentication device also captures facial data of the user [Also see Col. 7, Lines 40-57: The authentication device generates second facial data by taking or scanning a picture of the user]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun and Xie in order to increase the speed and security of existing systems for authenticating a user via facial recognition (Xie: Col. 1, Lines 12-26).
Claim 7
Regarding Claim 7, Sun teaches:
wherein the action comprises one of: a change in an operational state of the target device, a motion of the target device, or a change in a setting associated with the target device (See at least Paragraph 59: The control instructions may be used, for example, to increase the volume on a television [i.e., a change in a volume setting of the target device]).
Claim 9
Regarding Claim 9, Sun does not explicitly teach, but Xie, however, does teach:
wherein the first authentication information comprises biometric information unique to the particular user and captured by the sensor (See at least Col. 7, Lines 40-57: The authentication device generates second facial data [i.e., biometric data] by taking or scanning a picture of the user. The broadcast device may be associated with a plurality of users, each with their own associated facial data [See Col. 3, Line 47 – Col. 4, Line 17]. In other words, the facial data gathered corresponds to a particular user of the group of users associated with the broadcast device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun and Xie in order to increase the speed and security of existing systems for authenticating a user via facial recognition (Xie: Col. 1, Lines 12-26).
Claim 10
Regarding Claim 10, Sun teaches:
wherein the sensor is a first sensor (See at least Paragraph 33: The wearable device comprises a variety of sensors for receiving motion data. Examiner's Note: While Sun teaches the use of multiple sensors, Sun does not explicitly teach the use of a sensor to receive authentication information. However, this limitation is disclosed by Xie as described below).
Regarding Claim 10, Sun does not explicitly teach, but Xie, however, does teach:
wherein the first authentication information comprises biometric information unique to the particular user and captured by the sensor (See at least Col. 5, Lines 34-55: The authentication device also captures facial data of the user via a camera [i.e., a second sensor; Also see Col. 7, Lines 40-57].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun and Xie in order to increase the speed and security of existing systems for authenticating a user via facial recognition (Xie: Col. 1, Lines 12-26).
Claim 11
Regarding Claim 11, Sun teaches:
A system, comprising: a plurality of target devices; [[wherein each target device of the plurality of target devices is selectable based on a respective movement]]; and a control device configured to respond to a set of pre-defined motion signatures, the control device including a sensor and being configured to: (See at least Paragraph 97: Describes a process for controlling a home appliance [i.e., a target device] via interactions with a wearable device [i.e., a control device] of the user. The control instructions may be preset in the wearable device, or defined by the user [i.e., the control instructions are pre-defined; See Paragraphs 71 and 72]. Examiner's Note: Sun does not explicitly teach that a particular home appliance may be selected based on a respective movement. However, this limitation is taught by Yun as described below):
identify, based at least in part on second sensor data received from the sensor, a second movement of the control device, the second movement corresponding to a motion signature of the set of pre-defined motion signatures (See at least Paragraphs 94 and 95: The wearable device collects motion data generated from a user motion. The motion data is indicative of a control the user wishes to perform on the home appliance. The motion data may be collected by a variety of sensors that detect motion of the user [See Paragraph 33]);
[[based on determining that the particular user is authorized to access the particular target device]]: generate, based on the second movement, a control signal including a first control command associated with the second movement (See at least Paragraph 94 and 95: The wearable device collects the motion data for transmission to the home appliance. In other words, the transmission of the motion data corresponds to the control signal. The "control signal" includes a control instruction that is identified based on the user motion [See Paragraphs 99 and 100]. Examiner's Note: Sun does not explicitly state that the command is identified in response to authenticating the user. However, this limitation is disclosed by Xie as described below); and
transmit, via a wireless communication link, the control signal to the particular target device, wherein the control signal, when executed by the particular target device, causes the particular target device to perform an action in accordance with the first control command (See at least Paragraphs 96-101: The home appliance receives the motion data collected through the wearable device and executes the control instruction).
Regarding Claim 11, Sun does not explicitly teach, but Xie, however, does teach:
receive first authentication information unique to a particular user of the control device (See at least Col. 7, Lines 40-57: Describes a system for authenticating the identity of a user via a broadcast device [i.e., wearable device]. The authentication device generates second facial data by taking or scanning a picture of the user. The broadcast device may be associated with a plurality of users, each with their own associated facial data [See Col. 3, Line 47 – Col. 4, Line 17]);
determine that the first authentication information matches second authentication information stored in a memory accessible by the control device (See at least Col. 7, Lines 58-67: The transaction station compares various facial feature data of the first facial data and the second facial data to determine whether the first facial data matches the second facial data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun and Xie in order to increase the speed and security of existing systems for authenticating a user via facial recognition (Xie: Col. 1, Lines 12-26)
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Sun and Xie does not explicitly teach, but Skobov, however, does teach:
retrieve, [[based on determining that the first authentication information matches the second authentication information]], access restrictions associated with the particular user (See at least Paragraph 87: Describes a method for automatically determining which of a plurality of target devices should be connected with a source device. The method can determine whether a user or process requesting the target device identifier has permission to access the target device. For example, the permission can be checked against a library. In other words, the system retrieves "access restrictions" to determine whether the user may access a target device. Examiner's Note: Skobov does not explicitly teach that the access restrictions are retrieved in response to authenticating the user. However, this limitation is disclosed by the combination of Sun and Xie as described above);
wherein the access restrictions identify at least one target device of the plurality of target devices that the particular user is prohibited from accessing (See at least Paragraph 72: The user may choose to make target devices available to other users, but may restrict access to particular users or groups of users. Permissions can be for a group of devices or for a single device, and may be for a limited duration, or can be for continuous/ongoing use. The method can determine whether a user or process requesting the target device identifier has permission to access the target device [See Paragraph 87]); and
determine, based on the access restrictions, that the particular user is authorized to access the particular target device (See at least Paragraph 87: The method can determine whether a user or process requesting the target device identifier has permission to access the target device. If access to the target device is permitted, data is output to the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun, Xie, and Skobov in order to address shortcomings with existing methods for pairing devices which can require significant user interaction, may have specific hardware requirements or limitations, and may not be able to adequately determine which devices should be paired when multiple candidates exist (Skobov: Paragraphs 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Sun, Xie, and Skobov does not explicitly teach, but Yun, however, does teach:
determine, based at least in part on first sensor data received from the sensor, a first movement of the control device; identify, based on the first movement, a particular target device of the plurality of target devices (See at least Paragraphs 119 and 120: A first electronic device [e.g., a control device] detects a first signal generated by a user's gesture [i.e., a first movement]. The electronic device may comprise a processor and sensor [See Paragraphs 46-48]. In order to identify the type of user's gesture, the first electronic device analyzes a waveform of the detected first signal. Thereafter, the first electronic device identifies a type of second electronic device to be controlled based on the analyzed waveform. When the type of second electronic device is identified, the first electronic device may connect with the second electronic device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun, Xie, Skobov, and Yun in order to provide improved systems/methods for executing a function on an electronic device (Yun: Paragraphs 3-7). This is accomplished by conveniently detecting/analyzing a signal generated by a user gesture (Yun: Paragraphs 14 and 15).
Claim 12
Regarding Claim 12, Sun teaches:
wherein the plurality of target devices comprise at least one of: a home appliance, a home security device, a home entertainment device, or a vehicle (See at least Paragraph 36: The home appliance may be a smart TV [i.e., a home entertainment device]).
Claim 18
Regarding Claim 18, Sun teaches:
One or more non-transitory computer readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising (See at least Paragraph 143: Describes a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions, such as included in the memory, executable by the processor):
identifying, [[based on the first movement]], a particular target device of a plurality of target devices disposed in an environment (See at least Paragraph 97: Describes a process for controlling a home appliance [i.e., a target device] via interactions with a wearable device of the user. The wearable device [i.e., the control device] may directly communicate with the home appliance via a wireless connection, such as Wifi or Bluetooth. Examiner's Note: Sun does not explicitly teach that a particular home appliance may be identified based on a respective movement. However, this limitation is taught by Yun as described below);
determining, based at least in part on second sensor data received from the sensor, a second movement of the control device (See at least Paragraphs 94 and 95: The wearable device collects motion data generated from a user motion. The motion data may be collected by a variety of sensors that detect motion of the user [See Paragraph 33]);
based on determining that the particular user is authorized to access the particular target device: generating, based on the second movement, a control signal including a first control command associated with the second movement (See at least Paragraph 94 and 95: The wearable device collects the motion data for transmission to the home appliance. In other words, the transmission of the motion data corresponds to the control signal. The "control signal" includes a control instruction that is identified based on the user motion [See Paragraphs 99 and 100]. Examiner's Note: Sun does not explicitly state that the command is identified in response to authenticating the user. However, this limitation is disclosed by Xie as described below); and
transmitting, via the wireless communication link, the control signal to the particular target device, the control signal causing the particular target device to perform an action in accordance with the first control command (See at least Paragraphs 96-101: The home appliance receives the motion data collected through the wearable device and executes the control instruction).
Regarding Claim 18, Sun does not explicitly teach, but Xie, however, does teach:
receiving first authentication information unique to a particular user of the control device (See at least Col. 7, Lines 40-57: Describes a system for authenticating the identity of a user via a broadcast device [i.e., wearable device]. The authentication device generates second facial data by taking or scanning a picture of the user. The broadcast device may be associated with a plurality of users, each with their own associated facial data [See Col. 3, Line 47 – Col. 4, Line 17]);
determining that the first authentication information matches second authentication information stored in a memory accessible by the processor (See at least Col. 7, Lines 58-67: The transaction station compares various facial feature data of the first facial data and the second facial data to determine whether the first facial data matches the second facial data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun and Xie in order to increase the speed and security of existing systems for authenticating a user via facial recognition (Xie: Col. 1, Lines 12-26)
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Sun and Xie does not explicitly teach, but Skobov, however, does teach:
[[based on determining that the first authentication information matches the second authentication information]], retrieving access restrictions associated with the particular user (See at least Paragraph 87: Describes a method for automatically determining which of a plurality of target devices should be connected with a source device. The method can determine whether a user or process requesting the target device identifier has permission to access the target device. For example, the permission can be checked against a library. In other words, the system retrieves "access restrictions" to determine whether the user may access a target device. Examiner's Note: Skobov does not explicitly teach that the access restrictions are retrieved in response to authenticating the user. However, this limitation is disclosed by the combination of Sun and Xie as described above);
wherein the access restrictions identify at least one target device of the plurality of target devices that the particular user is prohibited from accessing (See at least Paragraph 72: The user may choose to make target devices available to other users, but may restrict access to particular users or groups of users. Permissions can be for a group of devices or for a single device, and may be for a limited duration, or can be for continuous/ongoing use. The method can determine whether a user or process requesting the target device identifier has permission to access the target device [See Paragraph 87]); and
determining, based on the access restrictions, that the particular user is authorized to access the particular target device (See at least Paragraph 87: The method can determine whether a user or process requesting the target device identifier has permission to access the target device. If access to the target device is permitted, data is output to the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun, Xie, and Skobov in order to address shortcomings with existing methods for pairing devices which can require significant user interaction, may have specific hardware requirements or limitations, and may not be able to adequately determine which devices should be paired when multiple candidates exist (Skobov: Paragraphs 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Sun, Xie, and Skobov does not explicitly teach, but Yun, however, does teach:
determining, based at least in part on first sensor data received from a sensor operably connected to the processor, a first movement of a control device (See at least Paragraph 119: A first electronic device [e.g., a control device] detects a first signal generated by a user's gesture [i.e., a first movement]. The electronic device may comprise a processor and sensor [See Paragraphs 46-48]); and
identifying, based on the first movement, a particular target device of a plurality of target devices disposed in an environment (See at least Paragraph 120: In order to identify the type of user's gesture, the first electronic device analyzes a waveform of the detected first signal. Thereafter, the first electronic device identifies a type of second electronic device to be controlled based on the analyzed waveform. When the type of second electronic device is identified, the first electronic device may connect with the second electronic device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun, Xie, Skobov, and Yun in order to provide improved systems/methods for executing a function on an electronic device (Yun: Paragraphs 3-7). This is accomplished by conveniently detecting/analyzing a signal generated by a user gesture (Yun: Paragraphs 14 and 15).
Claim 20
Regarding Claim 20, Sun teaches:
wherein the action comprises one of: a change in an operational state of the target device, a motion of the target device, or a change in a setting associated with the target device (See at least Paragraph 59: The control instructions may be used, for example, to increase the volume on a television [i.e., a change in a volume setting of the target device]).
Claim 21
Regarding Claim 21, Sun teaches:
A system, comprising: a plurality of means for performing action within an environment; a means for sensing; and a means for controlling configured to respond to a set of pre-defined motion signatures, the means for controlling being configured to (See at least Paragraph 97: Describes a process for controlling a home appliance [i.e., a means for performing an action] via interactions with a wearable device [i.e., a means for controlling] of the user. The control instructions may be preset in the wearable device, or defined by the user [i.e., the control instructions are pre-defined; See Paragraphs 71 and 72]. The motion data may be collected by a variety of sensors [i.e., a first sensor] that detect motion of the user [See Paragraph 33]):
identify, based at least in part on second sensor data received from the means for sensing, a second movement of the means for controlling, the second movement corresponding to a motion signature of the set of pre-defined motion signatures (See at least Paragraphs 94 and 95: The wearable device collects motion data generated from a user motion. The motion data is indicative of a control the user wishes to perform on the home appliance. The motion data may be collected by a variety of sensors that detect motion of the user [See Paragraph 33]);
based on determining that the particular user is authorized to access the particular means for performing action: generate, based on the second movement, a control signal including a first control command (See at least Paragraph 94 and 95: The wearable device collects the motion data for transmission to the home appliance. In other words, the transmission of the motion data corresponds to the control signal); and
transmit, via a wireless communication link, the control signal to the particular means for performing action, wherein the control signal, when executed by the particular means for performing action, causes the particular means for performing action to perform an action in accordance with the first control command (See at least Paragraphs 96-101: The home appliance receives the motion data collected through the wearable device and executes the control instruction).
Regarding Claim 21, Sun does not explicitly teach, but Xie, however, does teach:
receive first authentication information unique to a particular user of a plurality of users of the means for controlling (See at least Col. 7, Lines 40-57: Describes a system for authenticating the identity of a user via a broadcast device [i.e., wearable device]. The authentication device generates second facial data by taking or scanning a picture of the user. The broadcast device may be associated with a plurality of users, each with their own associated facial data [See Col. 3, Line 47 – Col. 4, Line 17]);
determine that the first authentication information matches second authentication information stored in a memory accessible by the means for controlling (See at least Col. 7, Lines 58-67: The transaction station compares various facial feature data of the first facial data and the second facial data to determine whether the first facial data matches the second facial data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun and Xie in order to increase the speed and security of existing systems for authenticating a user via facial recognition (Xie: Col. 1, Lines 12-26)
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Sun and Xie does not explicitly teach, but Skobov, however, does teach:
retrieve, [[based on determining that the first authentication information matches the second authentication information]], access restrictions associated with the particular user (See at least Paragraph 87: Describes a method for automatically determining which of a plurality of target devices should be connected with a source device. The method can determine whether a user or process requesting the target device identifier has permission to access the target device. For example, the permission can be checked against a library. In other words, the system retrieves "access restrictions" to determine whether the user may access a target device. Examiner's Note: Skobov does not explicitly teach that the access restrictions are retrieved in response to authenticating the user. However, this limitation is disclosed by the combination of Sun and Xie as described above);
wherein the access restrictions identify at least one means for performing an action of the plurality of means for performing action that the particular user is prohibited from accessing (See at least Paragraph 72: The user may choose to make target devices available to other users, but may restrict access to particular users or groups of users. Permissions can be for a group of devices or for a single device, and may be for a limited duration, or can be for continuous/ongoing use. The method can determine whether a user or process requesting the target device identifier has permission to access the target device [See Paragraph 87]); and
determine, based on the access restrictions, that the particular user is authorized to access the particular means for performing action (See at least Paragraph 87: The method can determine whether a user or process requesting the target device identifier has permission to access the target device. If access to the target device is permitted, data is output to the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun, Xie, and Skobov in order to address shortcomings with existing methods for pairing devices which can require significant user interaction, may have specific hardware requirements or limitations, and may not be able to adequately determine which devices should be paired when multiple candidates exist (Skobov: Paragraphs 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Sun, Xie, and Skobov does not explicitly teach, but Yun, however, does teach:
determine, based at least in part on first sensor data received from the means for sensing, a first movement of the means for controlling; identify, based on the first movement, a particular means for performing an action of the plurality of means for performing action (See at least Paragraphs 119 and 120: A first electronic device [e.g., a control device] detects a first signal generated by a user's gesture [i.e., a first movement]. The electronic device may comprise a processor and sensor [See Paragraphs 46-48]. In order to identify the type of user's gesture, the first electronic device analyzes a waveform of the detected first signal. Thereafter, the first electronic device identifies a type of second electronic device to be controlled based on the analyzed waveform. When the type of second electronic device is identified, the first electronic device may connect with the second electronic device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun, Xie, Skobov, and Yun in order to provide improved systems/methods for executing a function on an electronic device (Yun: Paragraphs 3-7). This is accomplished by conveniently detecting/analyzing a signal generated by a user gesture (Yun: Paragraphs 14 and 15).
Claim 23
Regarding Claim 23, Sun teaches:
wherein the means for sensing is a first means for sensing (See at least Paragraph 33: The motion data may be collected by a variety of sensors [i.e., a first sensor] that detect motion of the user).
Regarding Claim 23, Sun does not explicitly teach, but Xie, however, does teach:
the means for controlling is further configured to: determine, using a second means for sensing associated with the means for controlling, first biometric information unique to the particular user (See at least Col. 5, Lines 34-55: The authentication device also captures facial data of the user via a camera [i.e., a second sensor; Also see Col. 7, Lines 40-57]);
wherein the first authentication information comprises the first biometric information and the second authentication information comprises second biometric information of an authorized user of the means for controlling (See at least Col. 7, Lines 40-67: The authentication device generates second facial data [i.e., biometric data] by taking or scanning a picture of the user. The transaction station compares various facial feature data of the first facial data and the second facial data to determine whether the first facial data matches the second facial data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the teachings of Sun and Xie in order to increase the speed and security of existing systems for authenticating a user via facial recognition (Xie: Col. 1, Lines 12-26).
Claim 24
Regarding Claim 24, Sun teaches:
wherein: the control device is configured to respond to a set of pre-defined motion signatures, and the second movement corresponds to a motion signature of the set of pre-defined motion signatures (See at least Paragraphs 71-72 and Table 2: The control instruction corresponding to the user motion may be identified from a table, such as the table shown in Table 2. The control instructions may be preset in the wearable device, or defined by the user [i.e., the control instructions are pre-defined]).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art rejections are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s claim amendments. However, the examiner notes that the prior art rejections applied to claims 2, 8, 13, 15, 17, 25, and 27-29 have been withdrawn in response to the applicant’s claim amendments. A suitable combination of prior art references could not be identified to reasonably cover the limitations of these claims in combination with the newly amended independent claims. Therefore, these claims have been objected to as being dependent on a rejected claim. However, these claims would be allowable if rewritten in independent form.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hojsik (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20160337359): Describes a method for creating an access control list which allows a user to determine which users, device identities, or functions (or combination thereof) are allowed to create a session, communicate with a device, or trigger some result within another device and/or connected machine. For example, a user may have access to a target device, but the controlling device identity has not been given permissions to the target device on the access control list.
Musabeyoglu (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20190035181): Describes a system and universal access control device that may be installed in proximity to, or within, an access control system to enable a user to use a user device to gain access to a secure area or resource.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM D NEWLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3696
/MATTHEW S GART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3696