DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 01/05/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 4-15, 17, 18, and 20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 8, and 13 are amended. No claims are added or cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “software-based signaling components implemented within simulated third generation partnership project protocol layers in the user device and configured to perform third generation partnership project authentication and mobility procedures” in claim 13 has been interpreted as a means plus function limitation. The combination of the non-structural element “software-based signaling components” and functional language “configured to perform third generation partnership project authentication and mobility procedures” with reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 13 recites “software-based signaling components implemented within simulated third generation partnership project protocol layers in the user device and configured to perform third generation partnership project authentication and mobility procedures”. Software signaling components are not disclosed in the specification. In addition, authentication and mobility procedures are not disclosed in the specification.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation 13 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Software-based signaling components are not disclosed in the specification. In addition, authentication and mobility procedures are not disclosed in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Wan (US 11902779 B1, hereinafter referred to as “Wan”) in view of Munafo et al. (US 20180287869 A1, hereinafter “Munafo”).
Regarding Claim 1, Wan discloses:
a method for connecting a user device to a telecommunication network (Techniques to authenticate a Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device, on a residential gateway with a 5G core, telecom, network. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53), the method comprising:
generating, by a core network management system communicatively coupled to at least one cell site (W-AGF, wireline-access gateway function and a cloud broker system, core management system, connects the residential gateway to a cellular network and a 5G core network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40. Fig. 1; W-AGF communication port is connected to a network using various protocols such as WiFi, Ethernet, or 3GPP access layer protocols. Col. 12, Ln. 52-65, Fig. 3; W-AGF in connection with the 5G core for management of N5GC device connections. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59), a unique identifier corresponding to a user device (W-AGF generates a registration request message including N5GC indication and device identifier, a unique identifier. Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53. W-AGF sends registration request including a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI), unique identifier, associated with the N5GC to the AMF. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59);
wherein the user device lacks native third generation partnership project functionality (Techniques to authenticate a Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device, on a residential gateway with a 5G core, telecom, network. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53);
based on a distribution of the virtual telecommunication network stack by the core network management function (W-AGF, wireline-access gateway function and a cloud broker system, core management system, connects the residential gateway to a cellular network and a 5G core network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40. Fig. 1; W-AGF communication port is connected to a network using various protocols such as WiFi, Ethernet, or 3GPP access layer protocols. Col. 12, Ln. 52-65, Fig. 3; W-AGF in connection with the 5G core for management of N5GC device connections. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59), causing the user device to connect to the telecommunication network (Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53; User devices connect to a wireline access network, W-AGF, which is connected to a cellular network, telecom network. Col. 5, Ln. 28-40, Fig.1: 108; W-AGF sends an Identity request message to the N5GC device. N5GC sends Identity response message to W-AGF. W-AGF sends device information to the 5G Core, telecom network, for device authentication of the N5GC. Col. 13, Ln. 25-50);
Wan does not explicitly disclose:
generating a virtual telecommunication network stack based on the unique identifier, the telecommunication network stack comprising the unique identifier;
determining a channel to distribute the virtual telecommunication network stack;
wherein the virtual telecommunication network stack is executed on the user device and causes the user device to become operable as a third generation partnership project device.
However, Munafo discloses:
generating a virtual telecommunication network stack based on the unique identifier, the telecommunication network stack comprising the unique identifier; (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077.)
determining a channel to distribute the virtual telecommunication network stack (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; To access specific network infrastructure, corresponding to a specific network access protocol and modem profile, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; A selection agent determines selecting/switching/adding/deleting model profiles and/or network access protocols, a distribution channel, based on resource utilization, network traffic, mode of operation and other like criteria. ¶0082. Fig. 5: 535);
wherein the virtual telecommunication network stack is executed on the user device and causes the user device to become operable as a third generation partnership project device (Computing Platform may be an IoT device, a user device. ¶0061, Fig. 5: 504; IoT device may be a WLAN or WIFI device. ¶0036, 0097-0099; NAPs, network access profiles, includes one or more elements defined by Global Platform Card specifications, GSMA, or other standards. NAP includes a network access application, NAA, referred to as “subscriber identity module”, “SIM”, “SIM applet”, and the like. ¶0075; NAPs with support such as GSM SIM and WIFI SIM. A first NAP includes an IMSI, security keys, and other credentials to authenticate to an LTE network, 3GPP network. ¶0077; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; Modem manager of the Computing Platform executes services of the loaded NAPs including network attachment procedure and authentication defined by the wireless protocol of the NAP. ¶¶0125, 0141;)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a 3GPP compatible protocol with a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device.
The motivation in doing so would be to support connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data.
Regarding claim 2, Wan discloses:
wherein the channel comprises at least one of a control plane or user plane (5G core network sends messages back and forth between access network using the W-AGF. The AMF provide primary control plane functions for the 5G core network. EAP pass-through authenticator connects N5GC to AUSF. AUSF makes authentication decisions based on information received from N5GC device. Col. 5, Ln. 41-66);
Regarding claim 4, Wan discloses the method:
wherein the user device comprises at least one adapter (N5GC device, user device, connects to the local area network via wired or wireless networks. These may include WiFi or Ethernet, adapters, to connect to the network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40);
Regarding claim 5, Wan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the virtual telecommunication network stack comprises the unique identifier;
However, Munafo discloses:
wherein the virtual telecommunication network stack comprises the unique identifier (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device to identify the device for selection of communication protocols and for authentication.
The motivation in doing so would be to support connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data.
Regarding claim 6, Wan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the core network management system is structured to generate one or more virtual telecommunication network stacks;
However, Munafo discloses:
wherein the core network management system is structured to generate one or more virtual telecommunication network stacks (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; Gateway, located between devices and network is used to communicate with the cloud. ¶0048, Fig. 5: 310; The cloud is associated with telecom network operator which includes a core network. ¶0046, Fig. 5:302; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Any number of network protocols and communication standards may be used to address specific objectives. ¶0033; Each device may include other transceivers for communications using additional protocols. Wireless communication protocols may be any suitable set of standardizes rules or instructions to implement protocol stacks. ¶0036;) ;
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device to identify the device for selection of communication protocols and for authentication.
The motivation in doing so would be to support connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data.
Regarding claim 7, Wan discloses:
wherein the core network management system is structured to cause the user device to connect to an access network (N5GC device, user device, connects to the local area network via wired or wireless networks. These may include WiFi or Ethernet, adapters, to connect to an access network, residential gateway, which is connected to the W-AGF, core network management system. Col 5, Ln. 28-40);
Regarding claim 8, Wan discloses:
Non-transitory computer-readable storage media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed by one or more processors (Computer system, 300, forming at least a portion of the N5GC device. Col. 10, Ln. 53-56, Fig. 3; Processors capable of executing instructions and performing operations. Col. 10, Ln. 65 – Col. 11, Ln. 3. Non-transitory computer-readable media. Col. 11, Ln. 44-49), cause the processors to:
generate, by a core management system, a unique identifier corresponding to a user device (Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53; W-AGF, wireline-access gateway function and a cloud broker system, core management system, connects the residential gateway to a cellular network and a 5G core network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40. Fig. 1; W-AGF in connection with the 5G core for management of N5GC device connections. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59; W-AGF generates a registration request message including N5GC indication and device identifier, a unique identifier. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53; W-AGF sends registration request including a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI), unique identifier, associated with the N5GC to the AMF. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59), wherein the user device lacks native cellular hardware for third generation partnership project functionality (Techniques to authenticate a Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device, on a residential gateway with a 5G core, telecom, network. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53; The N5GC, non-5G-capable, device can lack other cellular capabilities such as 4G or LTE, Col. 6 Ln. 1-20, Col. 6 Ln 50-56.);
and based on a distribution of the virtual telecommunication network stack by the core network management system (W-AGF, wireline-access gateway function and a cloud broker system, core management system, connects the residential gateway to a cellular network and a 5G core network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40. Fig. 1; W-AGF communication port is connected to a network using various protocols such as WiFi, Ethernet, or 3GPP access layer protocols. Col. 12, Ln. 52-65, Fig. 3; W-AGF in connection with the 5G core for management of N5GC device connections. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59), cause the user device to connect to an access network and the telecommunication network, (User devices connect to a wireline access network, W-AGF, which is connected to a cellular network, telecom network. Col. 5, Ln. 28-40, Fig.1: 108; N5GC device, user device, connects to the local area network via wired or wireless networks. These may include WiFi or Ethernet, adapters, to connect to an access network, residential gateway, which is connected to the W-AGF, core network management system. Col 5, Ln. 28-40; W-AGF sends an Identity request message to the N5GC device. N5GC sends Identity response message to W-AGF. W-AGF sends device information to the 5G Core, telecom network, for device authentication of the N5GC. Col. 13, Ln. 25-50)
Wan does not explicitly disclose: generate a virtual telecommunication network stack based on the unique identifier, the virtual telecommunication network stack comprising the unique identifier;
determine a channel to distribute the virtual telecommunication network stack;
wherein the virtual telecommunication network stack causes the user device to become operable as a third generation partnership project device.
However, Munafo discloses:
generate a virtual telecommunication network stack based on the unique identifier, the virtual telecommunication network stack comprising the unique identifier; (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077.)
determine a channel to distribute the virtual telecommunication network stack; (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; To access specific network infrastructure, corresponding to a specific network access protocol and modem profile, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; A selection agent determines selecting/switching/adding/deleting model profiles and/or network access protocols, a distribution channel, based on resource utilization, network traffic, mode of operation and other like criteria. ¶0082. Fig. 5: 535)
wherein the virtual telecommunication network stack causes the user device to become operable as a third generation partnership project device (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575;).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a 3GPP compatible protocol with a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device.
The motivation in doing so would be to support connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data.
Regarding claim 9, Wan discloses:
the computer-readable storage media:
wherein the channel comprises at least one of a control plane or user plane; (5G core network sends messages back and forth between access network using the W-AGF. The AMF provide primary control plane functions for the 5G core network. EAP pass-through authenticator connects N5GC to AUSF. AUSF makes authentication decisions based on information received from N5GC device., Col. 5, Ln. 41-66)
Regarding claim 10, Wan does not explicitly disclose:
the computer-readable storage media:
wherein the virtual telecommunication network stack comprises the unique identifier
However, Munafo discloses:
the computer-readable storage media:
wherein the virtual telecommunication network stack comprises the unique identifier (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a 3GPP compatible protocol with a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device.
The motivation in doing so would be to support connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data.
Regarding claim 11, Wan does not explicitly disclose:
the computer-readable storage media:
wherein the core network management system is to provide the unique identifier with the telecommunication network stack
However, Munafo discloses:
the computer-readable storage media:
wherein the core network management system is to provide the unique identifier with the telecommunication network stack (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; Gateway, located between devices and network, is used to communicate with the cloud. ¶0048, Fig. 5: 310; The cloud is associated with telecom network operator which includes a core network. ¶0046, Fig. 5:302; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a 3GPP compatible protocol with a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device.
The motivation in doing so would be to support connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data.
Regarding claim 12, Wan discloses:
wherein the access network comprises a 5G access network, and wherein the telecom network comprises a 5G core (W-AGF, wireline-access gateway function and a cloud broker system, core management system, connects the residential gateway to a cellular network and a 5G core network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40. Fig. 1; The computer system 300 depicted in FIG. 3 can represent the N5GC device 102 and/or hardware components such as the wireline access network 108 (e.g., the RG 104 and/or the W-AGF 106). Col. 10, Ln. 28-30; W-AGF communication ports are connected to networks. Examples of such networks or connections include, without limitation, the 4G, LTE, and/or 5G 3GPP standards-based interfaces, Universal Serial Bus (USB), Ethernet, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth®, Near Field Communication (NFC) and so on. Further, the communication port 308 may communicate with an antenna or other link for electromagnetic signal transmission and/or reception, a 5G access network. Col. 12, Ln. 52-65, Fig. 3; W-AGF in connection with the 5G core for management of N5GC device connections. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59; User devices connect to a wireline access network, W-AGF, which is connected to a cellular network, telecom network, such as the 5G core. Col. 5, Ln. 28-40, Fig.1: 108; N5GC device, user device, connects to the local area network via wired or wireless networks. These may include WiFi or Ethernet, adapters, to connect to the network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40; W-AGF sends an Identity request message to the N5GC device. N5GC sends Identity response message to W-AGF. W-AGF sends device information to the 5G Core, telecom network, for device authentication of the N5GC. Col. 13, Ln. 25-50).
Claims 13-15, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Wan , in view of Munafo, in view of Salmela et al. (US 20220201479 A1, hereinafter “Salmela”).
Regarding claim 13, Wan discloses:
a system for connecting a user device to a telecommunication network; (Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53; W-AGF, wireline-access gateway function and a cloud broker system, core management system, connects the residential gateway to a cellular network and a 5G core network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40. Fig. 1; W-AGF communication port is connected to a network using various protocols such as WiFi, Ethernet, or 3GPP access layer protocols. Col. 12, Ln. 52-65, Fig. 3; W-AGF in connection with the 5G core for management of N5GC device connections. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59) the system comprising:
a user device (Techniques to authenticate a Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device, on a residential gateway with a 5G core , telecom, network. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53);
and a core network management system communicatively coupled to at least one cell site and the user device (Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53; W-AGF, wireline-access gateway function and a cloud broker system, core management system, connects the residential gateway to a cellular network and a 5G core network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40. Fig. 1; W-AGF communication port is connected to a network using various protocols such as WiFi, Ethernet, or 3GPP access layer protocols. Col. 12, Ln. 52-65, Fig. 3; W-AGF in connection with the 5G core for management of N5GC device connections. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59), wherein the user device lacks native third generation partnership project functionality (Techniques to authenticate a Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device, on a residential gateway with a 5G core , telecom, network. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53);
and based on a distribution of the virtual telecommunication network stack by the core network management system, cause the user device to connect to an access network and the telecommunication network; (W-AGF, wireline-access gateway function and a cloud broker system, core management system, connects the residential gateway to a cellular network and a 5G core network. ¶0010. Fig. 1; W-AGF communication port is connected to a network using various protocols such as WiFi, Ethernet, or 3GPP access layer protocols. Col. 12, Ln. 52-65, Fig. 3; W-AGF in connection with the 5G core for management of N5GC device connections. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59; User devices connect to a wireline access network, W-AGF, which is connected to a cellular network, telecom network. Col. 5, Ln. 28-40, Fig.1: 108; N5GC device, user device, connects to the local area network via wired or wireless networks. These may include WiFi or Ethernet, adapters, to connect to the network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40; W-AGF sends an Identity request message to the N5GC device. N5GC sends Identity response message to W-AGF. W-AGF sends device information to the 5G Core, telecom network, for device authentication of the N5GC. Col. 13, Ln. 25-50)
Wan does not explicitly disclose:
the core management system structured to: generate, by the core management system , a unique identifier corresponding to the user device,
generate a virtual telecommunication network stack based on the unique identifier, the virtual telecommunication network stack comprising the unique identifier,
a virtual subscriber identity module, software-based signaling components implemented within simulated third generation partnership project protocol layers in the user device and configured to perform third generation partnership project authentication and mobility procedures, and software-based components simulating third generation partnership project-compliant user equipment protocol layers;
determine a channel to distribute the virtual telecommunication network stack;
wherein the virtual telecommunication network stack causes the user device to become operable as a third generation partnership project device
However, Munafo discloses:
the core management system structured to: generate, by the core management system, a unique identifier corresponding to the user device (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077.),
generate a virtual telecommunication network stack based on the unique identifier, the virtual telecommunication network stack comprising the unique identifier (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077.),
determine a channel to distribute the virtual telecommunication network stack; (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; To access specific network infrastructure, corresponding to a specific network access protocol and modem profile, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; A selection agent determines selecting/switching/adding/deleting model profiles and/or network access protocols, a distribution channel, based on resource utilization, network traffic, mode of operation and other like criteria. ¶0082. Fig. 5: 535)
wherein the virtual telecommunication network stack causes the user device to become operable as a third generation partnership project device (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575;).
Wan and Munafo do not explicitly disclose:
a virtual subscriber identity module, software-based signaling components implemented within simulated third generation partnership project protocol layers in the user device and configured to perform third generation partnership project authentication and mobility procedures, and software-based components simulating third generation partnership project-compliant user equipment protocol layers;
However, Salmela discloses:
a virtual subscriber identity module, software-based signaling components implemented within simulated third generation partnership project protocol layers in the user device and configured to perform third generation partnership project authentication and mobility procedures, and software-based components simulating third generation partnership project-compliant user equipment protocol layers (An object of embodiments herein is to provide mechanisms that enable a non-3GPP enabled radio communication device to be enabled for 3GPP services, without being reliant on the radio communication device needing specific hardware. ¶0034; The first radio communication device obtains network connectivity in order to download needed software components. The network connectivity could be achieved through the second radio communication device, through a wireless local area network (WLAN) connection. ¶0113; eSIM provisioning to user device. ¶0114, Fig. 7; eSIM profile and radio protocol stacks, including partial 3GPP, are downloaded to user device. Download may include RaaS, 3GPP radio as a service application. This could also be provided from the eSIM provisioning server together with the eSIM profile download, or it could be from another server providing these types of software components. ¶0115, Fig. 7; User device is authenticated. ¶0122, Fig. 7; User plane and control plane traffic to support traffic and radio resources. ¶0127, Fig. 7);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a 3GPP compatible protocol with a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device, with the teachings of Salmela, download and provision user device with 3GPP eSIM, authentication, and mobility protocols.
The motivation in doing so would be to support connection methods of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data. (Wan: Col. 4 Ln. 10-24; Munafo: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0014-0015; Salmela: ¶¶0033, 0034, 0045)
Regarding claim 14, Wan discloses:
wherein the channel comprises at least one of a control plane or user plane; (5G core network sends messages back and forth between access network using the W-AGF. The AMF provide primary control plane functions for the 5G core network. EAP pass-through authenticator connects N5GC to AUSF. AUSF makes authentication decisions based on information received from N5GC device., Col. 5, Ln. 41-66)
Regarding claim 15, Wan discloses:
wherein the user device comprises at least one of a generic device or radio-free device; (N5GC device, user device, connects to the local area network via wired or wireless networks. These may include WiFi or Ethernet, adapters, to connect to the network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40)
Regarding claim 17, Wan does not explicitly disclose:
the system:
wherein the core network management system is structured to generate one or more virtual telecommunication network stacks;
However, Munafo discloses:
the system:
wherein the core network management system is structured to generate one or more virtual telecommunication network stacks; (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; Gateway, located between devices and network is used to communicate with the cloud. ¶0048, Fig. 5: 310; The cloud is associated with telecom network operator which includes a core network. ¶0046, Fig. 5:302; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Any number of network protocols and communication standards may be used to address specific objectives. ¶0033; Each device may include other transceivers for communications using additional protocols. Wireless communication protocols may be any suitable set of standardizes rules or instructions to implement protocol stacks. ¶0036;)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision one or more 3GPP compatible protocol with a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device.
The motivation in doing so would be to support connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data.
Regarding claim 18, Wan discloses the system:
wherein the core network management system is structured to cause the user device to connect to an access network; (N5GC device, user device, connects to the local area network via wired or wireless networks. These may include WiFi or Ethernet, adapters, to connect to an access network, residential gateway, which is connected to the W-AGF, core network management system. Col 5, Ln. 28-40)
Regarding claim 20, Wan does not explicitly disclose:
the system:
wherein the core network management system is to provide the unique identifier with the virtual telecommunication network stack;
However, Munafo discloses:
the system:
wherein the core network management system is to provide the unique identifier with the virtual telecommunication network stack; (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; Gateway, located between devices and network, is used to communicate with the cloud located between devices and network. ¶0048, Fig. 5: 310; The cloud is associated with telecom network operator which includes a core network. ¶0046, Fig. 5:302; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a 3GPP compatible protocol with a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device.
The motivation in doing so would be to support connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s first argument is directed to claim 13 and 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) and 112(f) rejection. Applicant submits that claim 13, as now amended, does not fall under a 112(f) interpretation nor a 112(a) rejection for enablement.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitation, as now amended, recites “software-based signaling components implemented within simulated third generation partnership project protocol layers in the user device and configured to perform third generation partnership project authentication and mobility procedures,” does not resolve the issues. See prior section of this office action under Claim Interpretation and Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112.
Applicant’s second argument is directed to claim 13 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection. Applicant submits that ‘For at least the reasons discussed above with regard to 112(a) enablement rejection, withdrawal of the present 112(b) indefinites rejection is also respectfully requested. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitation, as now amended, recites “software-based signaling components implemented within simulated third generation partnership project protocol layers in the user device and configured to perform third generation partnership project authentication and mobility procedures,” does not resolve the issues. See prior section of this office action under Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112.
Applicant’s third argument is directed to claim 1 and 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection. Applicant submits the following numbered list:
“1. Wan does not disclose or suggest generating or executing a virtual 3GPP telecommunication network stack on a device lacking native cellular functionality, as required by claim 1.”,
“2. Munafo likewise fails to teach or suggest the claimed virtual telecommunication network stack or its execution on a device that lacks native 3GPP hardware.”
“3. Because neither reference teaches or suggests transforming a non-3GPP device into a functioning 3GPP UE through execution of a virtual stack, the combination cannot meet the core limitations of claim 1.”
“4. The Office Action does not articulate any reasoned rationale that would have prompted a skilled artisan to modify Wan or Munafo in the manner required to arrive at the claimed invention.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the follow response to each item.
In response to Item 1, Wan is cited to selected limitations of claim 1. The selected limitations, as written, are disclosed by Wan for a method for a non-5G-capable device connecting to a 5G network. The limitation “wherein the virtual telecommunication network stack is executed on the user device and causes the user device to become operable as a third generation partnership project device.” is cited to Munafo, not Wan.
In response to Item 2, Munafo discloses a non-5G-capable device such a WLAN or WiFi device, ¶0036. Computing platform supporting a modem manager is an IoT device or similar, ¶0061, Fig. 5. A modem manager configures the communication circuitry by executing applications associated with one or more network access profiles, NAPs, ¶0072. Each of the NAPs belong to a network operator and/or service provider. Each of the NAPS may include one or more elements including a network access application, NAA, which is also referred to as a subscriber identity module and one or more applications for network/service access, ¶0076. Each of NAAs may be an application such as a UMTS SIM, GSM SIM, CDMA SIM, WiMAX SIM, or WiFi SIM which are telecom network protocols, ¶0077. The NAPs and elements therein are provisioned and perform various functions like authentication, network attachment, and the like as defined by various technical standards. These technical standards may include 3GPP standards such as 31.101, 31.116, 31.121, 31.220, 31.828 as well as GSMA Remote Provisioning architecture for embedded UICC, ¶0078. Therefore, a non-5G-capable device receives a network access application to enable functionality, a telecom network stack, to execute at the modem manager to become operable as a 3GPP device by implementing 3GPP standard functionality such as authentication and access.
In response to Items 3 and 4, both Wan and Munafo disclose the need for a solution to authenticate and connect a device lacking a specific connectivity due to lack of hardware to connect directly to a network. Wan discloses ‘Many devices, including those outside the mobile device category, are designed without 5G connectivity (e.g., desktop computers, laptop computers, Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices, legacy UEs, etc.). These devices lack the hardware and software components to perform access network registration and authentication procedures with the 5G network and, therefore, cannot realize the benefits of 5G deployments.’, Col. 1 Ln. 29-46. Munafo discloses ‘Communication modules in most IoT devices are fixed function devices, which communicate using a specific communications protocol (e.g., a WiFi, Bluetooth, etc.). In most cases, an IoT device may include one communication module to communicate using a single communication protocol (e.g., a WiFi module to communicate using WiFi signaling, a Bluetooth module to communicate using Bluetooth or BLE signaling, etc.). These IoT devices may connect to a backend service (e.g., application server(s), cloud service, etc.) via gateways devices (e.g., routers, hubs, etc.). In many cases, the gateway devices may be configured to communicate with the IoT devices using a single communication protocol.’, ¶¶0014, 0092, Fig. 5, 6.
Applicant’s fourth argument is directed to claim 8 and 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection. Applicant submits that “Wan does not disclose or suggest enabling a device lacking native 3GPP hardware to execute 3GPP protocol layers or operate as a 3GPP UE.” Additionally, “Munafo likewise fails to teach or suggest generating or executing a virtual telecommunication network stack on a device that lacks cellular hardware.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). See prior response to the third argument.
Applicant’s fifth argument is directed to claim 13 and 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection. Applicant submits that “1. Wan does not disclose or suggest a virtualized 3GPP user-equipment architecture, nor does it describe software-based signaling components, a virtual SIM, or simulated UE protocol layers as required by claim 13.” Additionally, “2. Munafo likewise does not disclose or suggest the virtualized UE stack recited in claim 13, including the virtual SIM, software signaling components, or simulated 3GPP protocol layers.”, “3. Because neither reference teaches nor suggests replacing native 3GPP hardware with a virtualized UE stack executed on the device, the combination cannot meet the core limitations of claim 13.”, and “4. The Office Action provides no articulated reasoning to modify Wan or Munafo to produce the claimed virtualized UE architecture.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 13 rejection is made in view of Wan, Munafo, and Salmela. Applicant does not provide further argument regarding citations to Salmela. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210329461 A1 Bernsen et al., “NON-3GPP DEVICE ACCESS TO CORE NETWORK”,
Application downloaded to a user device that does not have a 3GPP transceiver in order to obtain a certificate to authenticate the non-3GPP device on a 3GPP network through an AP or residential gateway connected to a 3GPP network.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419