DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 08/03/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 4-15, 17, 18, and 20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 12-14 are amended. No claims are added or cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) is withdrawn.
Rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) is withdrawn.
Rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. §112(f) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-15, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Wan (US 11902779 B1, hereinafter referred to as “Wan”) in view of Munafo et al. (US 20180287869 A1, hereinafter “Munafo”) in view of Munda et al. (US 20230292118 A1, hereinafter “Munda”).
Regarding Claim 1, Wan discloses:
a method for connecting a user device to a telecommunication network (Techniques to authenticate a non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device, on a residential gateway with a 5G core, telecom, network. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53), the method comprising:
generating, by a core network management system communicatively coupled to at least one cell site (W-AGF, wireline-access gateway function and a cloud broker system, core management system, connects the residential gateway to a cellular network and a 5G core network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40. Fig. 1; W-AGF communication port is connected to a network using various protocols such as WiFi, Ethernet, or 3GPP access layer protocols. Col. 12, Ln. 52-65, Fig. 3; W-AGF in connection with the 5G core for management of N5GC device connections. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59), a unique identifier corresponding to a user device (W-AGF generates a registration request message including N5GC indication and device identifier, a unique identifier. Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53. W-AGF sends registration request including a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI), unique identifier, associated with the N5GC to the AMF. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59);
wherein the unique identifier is SIM-free identification information and the user device lacks native third generation partnership project functionality (Techniques to authenticate a Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device, on a residential gateway with a 5G core, telecom, network. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53; System may use a Network Access Identifier, NAI, for the user device as the user device does not have 5G capabilities, Col. 7, ln. 20-48);
Wan does not explicitly disclose:
generating, by the core network management system, a virtual telecommunication network stack based on the unique identifier, the telecommunication network stack comprising the unique identifier;
determining, by the core network management system, a network distribution channel over which to deliver the virtual telecommunication network stack to the user device;
wherein the distributed virtual telecommunication network stack is executed on the user device and causes the user device to use a non-3GPP access network comprising a non-3GPP internetworking function (N3IWF).
However, Munafo discloses:
generating, by the core management system, a virtual telecommunication network stack based on the unique identifier, the telecommunication network stack comprising the unique identifier; (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077. Examiner interpretation: Given each NAP includes an element, a Network Access Application (NAA), that includes user data and credentials are identifying information for that user device. Therefore, for the cloud broker to provision a user device for network access by use of 3GPP protocols necessarily requires unique identification of the user device which are the user data and credentials. The network channel that is selected to distribute the stack is interpreted as the channel that the user device access the local gateway, 310, that provides cloud access to the cloud broker in order to receive provisioning.)
determining, by the core network management system, a network distribution channel over which to deliver the virtual telecommunication network stack to the user device; (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, corresponding to a specific network access protocol and modem profile, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Examiner interpretation: Given each NAP includes an element, a Network Access Application (NAA), that includes user data and credentials are identifying information for that user device. Therefore, for the cloud broker to provision a user device for network access by use of 3GPP protocols necessarily requires unique identification of the user device which are the user data and credentials. The network channel that is selected to distribute the stack is interpreted as the channel that the user device access the local gateway, 310, that provides cloud access to the cloud broker in order to receive provisioning.);
Wan and Munafo do not explicitly disclose, however Munda discloses:
wherein the distributed virtual telecommunication network stack is executed on the user device and causes the user device to use a non-3GPP access network comprising a non-3GPP internetworking function (N3IWF) to connect, as a 5G user equipment using the unique identifier, to the telecommunication network comprising a 5G core. (IoT device, a user device, does not comprise any in-built NAS stack nor a SIM card or credentials. ¶¶0024, 0041-0044, Fig. 1:106; IoT device is connected to a communication network that includes a server and database which may be a Wi-Fi network. ¶¶0038-0039, Fig. 1:112; The IoT gateway, server, comprises a pool of NAS stacks and determines whether the IoT device is compatible with 5G or non-5G. ¶0062, Fig. 3; IoT device is configured to download the NAS stack and SIM credential, a unique identifier, from the server. The NAS stack and SIM credential are installed on the IoT Device. ¶¶0051-00057, Fig. 2; The NAS stack enables the IoT device to communicate to the core network without using any RAN such as 4G or 5G RAN. ¶0053; Examiner interpretation: A person of ordinary skill at the time of invention would understand that access to a core without use of the RAN in a 3GPP network necessarily requires a N3IWF function. For a device to access the 3GPP network by way of N3IWF requires a NAS protocol and SIM identities. 3GPP released a specification for N3IWF with TS 23.501 Version 15.1.0, March 2018, that includes N3IWF requirements. The 3GPP specification would be available to a PHOSITA before the time of the invention.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a 3GPP compatible protocol with a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device, with the teachings of Munda, the downloaded telecommunication network stack is a NAS stack including SIM identity to communicate to a 3GPP core directly without the RAN, a NW3IF function.
The motivation in doing so would be to enabling connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data by enabling a NAS stack with SIM identity via download. The enabled connection supports connection via a non-3GPP network for a non-3GPP device. The advantages are support of devices for core connectivity without the need for RAN specific modems and their associated costs, physical size, and power consumption. (Wan: Abstract, Col. 1 Ln 20-25, Col. 1 Ln. 50 – Col. 2 Ln. 20, Col. 4 Ln. 46-54; Munafo: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0014-0015, 0036, 0072, 077, 0117; Munda: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0003-0007, 0008-0012, 0022-0025, Figs. 1, 2, 3)
Regarding claim 2, Wan discloses:
wherein the network distribution channel comprises at least one of a control plane or user plane (5G core network sends messages back and forth between access network using the W-AGF. The AMF provide primary control plane functions for the 5G core network. EAP pass-through authenticator connects N5GC to AUSF. AUSF makes authentication decisions based on information received from N5GC device. Col. 5, Ln. 41-66);
Regarding claim 4, Wan discloses the method:
wherein the user device comprises at least one adapter (N5GC device, user device, connects to the local area network via wired or wireless networks. These may include WiFi or Ethernet, adapters, to connect to the network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40);
Regarding claim 5, Wan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the virtual telecommunication network stack comprises the unique identifier;
However, Munafo discloses:
wherein the virtual telecommunication network stack comprises the unique identifier (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device to identify the device for selection of communication protocols and for authentication.
The motivation in doing so would be to support connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data.
Regarding claim 6, Wan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the core network management system is structured to generate one or more virtual telecommunication network stacks;
However, Munafo discloses:
wherein the core network management system is structured to generate one or more virtual telecommunication network stacks (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; Gateway, located between devices and network is used to communicate with the cloud. ¶0048, Fig. 5: 310; The cloud is associated with telecom network operator which includes a core network. ¶0046, Fig. 5:302; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Any number of network protocols and communication standards may be used to address specific objectives. ¶0033; Each device may include other transceivers for communications using additional protocols. Wireless communication protocols may be any suitable set of standardizes rules or instructions to implement protocol stacks. ¶0036;);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device to identify the device for selection of communication protocols and for authentication.
The motivation in doing so would be to support connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data.
Regarding claim 7, Wan discloses:
wherein the core network management system is structured to cause the user device to connect to an access network (N5GC device, user device, connects to the local area network via wired or wireless networks. These may include WiFi or Ethernet, adapters, to connect to an access network, residential gateway, which is connected to the W-AGF, core network management system. Col 5, Ln. 28-40);
Regarding claim 8, Wan discloses:
Non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a core management system communicatively coupled to a user device, (Computer system, 300, forming at least a portion of the N5GC device. Col. 10, Ln. 53-56, Fig. 3; Processors capable of executing instructions and performing operations. Col. 10, Ln. 65 – Col. 11, Ln. 3. Non-transitory computer-readable media. Col. 11, Ln. 44-49; Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53; W-AGF, wireline-access gateway function and a cloud broker system, core management system, connects the residential gateway to a cellular network and a 5G core network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40. Fig. 1; W-AGF in connection with the 5G core for management of N5GC device connections. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59;), cause the core network management system to:
generate a unique identifier corresponding to a user device (non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53; W-AGF, wireline-access gateway function and a cloud broker system, core management system, connects the residential gateway to a cellular network and a 5G core network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40. Fig. 1; W-AGF in connection with the 5G core for management of N5GC device connections. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59; W-AGF generates a registration request message including N5GC indication and device identifier, a unique identifier. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53; W-AGF sends registration request including a Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI), unique identifier, associated with the N5GC to the AMF. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59), wherein the unique identifier is SIM-free identification information and the user device lacks native cellular hardware for third generation partnership project functionality (Techniques to authenticate a Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device, on a residential gateway with a 5G core, telecom, network. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53; The N5GC, non-5G-capable, device can lack other cellular capabilities such as 4G or LTE, Col. 6 Ln. 1-20, Col. 6 Ln 50-56.; System may use a Network Access Identifier, NAI, for the user device as the user device does not have 5G capabilities, Col. 7, ln. 20-48);
Wan does not explicitly disclose: generate a virtual telecommunication network stack based on the unique identifier, the virtual telecommunication network stack comprising the unique identifier;
determine a network distribution channel over which to deliver the virtual telecommunication network stack to the user device;
wherein the distributed virtual telecommunication network stack is executed on the user device and causes the user device to use a non-3GPP access network comprising a non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF) to connect, as a 5G user equipment using the unique identifier, to a telecommunication network comprising a 5G core.
However, Munafo discloses:
generate a virtual telecommunication network stack based on the unique identifier, the virtual telecommunication network stack comprising the unique identifier; (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077.)
determine a network distribution channel over which to deliver the virtual telecommunication network stack to the user device; (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; To access specific network infrastructure, corresponding to a specific network access protocol and modem profile, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Given each NAP includes an element, a Network Access Application (NAA), that includes user data and credentials are identifying information for that user device. Therefore, for the cloud broker to provision a user device for network access by use of 3GPP protocols necessarily requires unique identification of the user device which are the user data and credentials. The network channel that is selected to distribute the stack is interpreted as the channel that the user device access the local gateway, 310, that provides cloud access to the cloud broker in order to receive provisioning.)
Wan and Munafo do not explicitly disclose, however Munda discloses:
wherein the distributed virtual telecommunication network stack is executed on the user device and causes the user device to use a non-3GPP access network comprising a non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF) to connect, as a 5G user equipment using the unique identifier, to a telecommunication network comprising a 5G core. (IoT device, a user device, does not comprise any in-built NAS stack nor a SIM card or credentials. ¶¶0024, 0041-0044, Fig. 1:106; IoT device is connected to a communication network that includes a server and database which may be a Wi-Fi network. ¶¶0038-0039, Fig. 1:112; The IoT gateway, server, comprises a pool of NAS stacks and determines whether the IoT device is compatible with 5G or non-5G. ¶0062, Fig. 3; IoT device is configured to download the NAS stack and SIM credential, a unique identifier, from the server. The NAS stack and SIM credential are installed on the IoT Device. ¶¶0051-00057, Fig. 2; The NAS stack enables the IoT device to communicate to the core network without using any RAN such as 4G or 5G RAN. ¶0053; Examiner interpretation: A person of ordinary skill at the time of invention would understand that access to a core without use of the RAN in a 3GPP network necessarily requires a N3IWF function. For a device to access the 3GPP network by way of N3IWF requires a NAS protocol and SIM identities. 3GPP released a specification for N3IWF with TS 23.501 Version 15.1.0, March 2018, that includes N3IWF requirements. The 3GPP specification would be available to a PHOSITA before the time of the invention.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a 3GPP compatible protocol with a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device, with the teachings of Munda, the downloaded telecommunication network stack is a NAS stack including SIM identity to communicate to a 3GPP core directly without the RAN, a NW3IF function.
The motivation in doing so would be to enabling connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data by enabling a NAS stack with SIM identity via download. The enabled connection supports connection via a non-3GPP network for a non-3GPP device. The advantages are support of devices for core connectivity without the need for RAN specific modems and their associated costs, physical size, and power consumption. (Wan: Abstract, Col. 1 Ln 20-25, Col. 1 Ln. 50 – Col. 2 Ln. 20, Col. 4 Ln. 46-54; Munafo: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0014-0015, 0036, 0072, 077, 0117; Munda: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0003-0007, 0008-0012, 0022-0025, Figs. 1, 2, 3)
Regarding claim 9, Wan discloses:
the computer-readable storage media:
wherein the network distribution channel comprises at least one of a control plane or user plane; (5G core network sends messages back and forth between access network using the W-AGF. The AMF provide primary control plane functions for the 5G core network. EAP pass-through authenticator connects N5GC to AUSF. AUSF makes authentication decisions based on information received from N5GC device., Col. 5, Ln. 41-66)
Regarding claim 10, Wan does not explicitly disclose:
the computer-readable storage media:
wherein the virtual telecommunication network stack comprises the unique identifier
However, Munafo discloses:
the computer-readable storage media:
wherein the virtual telecommunication network stack comprises the unique identifier (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a 3GPP compatible protocol with a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device.
The motivation in doing so would be to support connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data.
Regarding claim 11, Wan does not explicitly disclose:
the computer-readable storage media:
wherein the core network management system is to provide the unique identifier with the telecommunication network stack
However, Munafo discloses:
the computer-readable storage media:
wherein the core network management system is to provide the unique identifier with the telecommunication network stack (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; Gateway, located between devices and network, is used to communicate with the cloud. ¶0048, Fig. 5: 310; The cloud is associated with telecom network operator which includes a core network. ¶0046, Fig. 5:302; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a 3GPP compatible protocol with a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device.
The motivation in doing so would be to support connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data.
Regarding claim 12, Wan and Munafo do not explicitly disclose, however Munda discloses:
wherein the non-3GPP access network provides access to the 5G core through the N3IWF
(IoT device, a user device, does not comprise any in-built NAS stack nor a SIM card or credentials. ¶¶0024, 0041-0044, Fig. 1:106; IoT device is connected to a communication network that includes a server and database which may be a Wi-Fi network. ¶¶0038-0039, Fig. 1:112; The IoT gateway, server, comprises a pool of NAS stacks and determines whether the IoT device is compatible with 5G or non-5G. ¶0062, Fig. 3; IoT device is configured to download the NAS stack and SIM credential, a unique identifier, from the server. The NAS stack and SIM credential are installed on the IoT Device. ¶¶0051-00057, Fig. 2; The NAS stack enables the IoT device to communicate to the core network without using any RAN such as 4G or 5G RAN. ¶0053; Examiner interpretation: A person of ordinary skill at the time of invention would understand that access to a core without use of the RAN in a 3GPP network necessarily requires a N3IWF function. For a device to access the 3GPP network by way of N3IWF requires a NAS protocol and SIM identities. 3GPP released a specification for N3IWF with TS 23.501 Version 15.1.0, March 2018, that includes N3IWF requirements. The 3GPP specification would be available to a PHOSITA before the time of the invention. )
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a 3GPP compatible protocol with a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device, with the teachings of Munda, the downloaded telecommunication network stack is a NAS stack including SIM identity to communicate to a 3GPP core directly without the RAN, a NW3IF function.
The motivation in doing so would be to enabling connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data by enabling a NAS stack with SIM identity via download. The enabled connection supports connection via a non-3GPP network for a non-3GPP device. The advantages are support of devices for core connectivity without the need for RAN specific modems and their associated costs, physical size, and power consumption. (Wan: Abstract, Col. 1 Ln 20-25, Col. 1 Ln. 50 – Col. 2 Ln. 20, Col. 4 Ln. 46-54; Munafo: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0014-0015, 0036, 0072, 077, 0117; Munda: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0003-0007, 0008-0012, 0022-0025, Figs. 1, 2, 3)
Regarding claim 13, Wan discloses:
a system for connecting a user device to a telecommunication network; (non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53; W-AGF, wireline-access gateway function and a cloud broker system, core management system, connects the residential gateway to a cellular network and a 5G core network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40. Fig. 1; W-AGF communication port is connected to a network using various protocols such as WiFi, Ethernet, or 3GPP access layer protocols. Col. 12, Ln. 52-65, Fig. 3; W-AGF in connection with the 5G core for management of N5GC device connections. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59) the system comprising:
a user device comprising at least one device processor and device memory, wherein the user device lacks a 5G radio, a subscriber identity module card reader, a physical subscriber identity module card, and an embedded subscriber identity module (Techniques to authenticate a Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device, on a residential gateway with a 5G core , telecom, network. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53; System may use a Network Access Identifier, NAI, for the user device as the user device does not have 5G capabilities, Col. 7, ln. 20-48); and
a core network management system communicatively coupled to at least one cell site and the user device (Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53; W-AGF, wireline-access gateway function and a cloud broker system, core management system, connects the residential gateway to a cellular network and a 5G core network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40. Fig. 1; W-AGF communication port is connected to a network using various protocols such as WiFi, Ethernet, or 3GPP access layer protocols. Col. 12, Ln. 52-65, Fig. 3; W-AGF in connection with the 5G core for management of N5GC device connections. Col. 2, Ln. 36-59),
wherein the unique identifier is SIM-free identification information and the user device lacks native third generation partnership project functionality (Techniques to authenticate a Non-5G capable device, N5GC and user device, on a residential gateway with a 5G core , telecom, network. Col. 1, Ln. 50-53; System may use a Network Access Identifier, NAI, for the user device as the user device does not have 5G capabilities, Col. 7, ln. 20-48);
Wan does not explicitly disclose:
the core management system comprising at least one system processor and system memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one system processor, cause the core network management system to:
generate a unique identifier corresponding to the user device,
generate a virtual telecommunication network stack based on the unique identifier, the virtual telecommunication network stack comprising the unique identifier,
determine a network distribution channel over which to deliver the virtual telecommunication network stack to the user device; and
distribute, via the network distribution channel, the virtual telecommunication network stack to the user device,
wherein the device memory stores the distributed virtual telecommunication network stack, and the at least one device processor executes the distributed virtual telecommunication network stack to cause the user device, via a non-3GPP access network comprising a non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF), to connect, as a 5G user equipment using the unique identifier, to the telecommunication network comprising a 5G core.
However, Munafo discloses:
the core management system comprising at least one system processor and system memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one system processor, cause the core network management system (The handling of requests and responses, (e.g., requests for information/content and the information/content provided in response) may be handled by the web server (not shown). In various embodiments, the server(s) 304 may be implemented as a broker system (also referred to as a “cloud broker”, “cloud service provider”, “cloud SIM broker”, and the like) that provides users/customers with the ability to log-in and manage an array of NAPs 575 across one or more devices, such as the computing platform 504 and one or more other IoT device 404, using a dashboard or other like user interface. ¶0084. A cloud broker system, a core management system, consisting of the cloud and servers would be understood to have at least one processor and system memory.) to:
generate a unique identifier corresponding to the user device (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077.),
generate a virtual telecommunication network stack based on the unique identifier, the virtual telecommunication network stack comprising the unique identifier (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077.),
determine a network distribution channel over which to deliver the virtual telecommunication network stack to the user device; and
(Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; To access specific network infrastructure, corresponding to a specific network access protocol and modem profile, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Given each NAP includes an element, a Network Access Application (NAA), that includes user data and credentials are identifying information for that user device. Therefore, for the cloud broker to provision a user device for network access by use of 3GPP protocols necessarily requires unique identification of the user device which are the user data and credentials. The network channel that is selected to distribute the stack is interpreted as the channel that the user device access the local gateway, 310, that provides cloud access to the cloud broker in order to receive provisioning.)
Wan and Munafo do not explicitly disclose, however Munda discloses:
wherein the device memory stores the distributed virtual telecommunication network stack, and the at least one device processor executes the distributed virtual telecommunication network stack to cause the user device, via a non-3GPP access network comprising a non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF), to connect, as a 5G user equipment using the unique identifier, to the telecommunication network comprising a 5G core.
(IoT device, a user device, does not comprise any in-built NAS stack nor a SIM card or credentials. ¶¶0024, 0041-0044, Fig. 1:106; IoT device is connected to a communication network that includes a server and database which may be a Wi-Fi network. ¶¶0038-0039, Fig. 1:112; The IoT gateway, server, comprises a pool of NAS stacks and determines whether the IoT device is compatible with 5G or non-5G. ¶0062, Fig. 3; IoT device is configured to download the NAS stack and SIM credential, a unique identifier, from the server. The NAS stack and SIM credential are installed on the IoT Device. ¶¶0051-00057, Fig. 2; The NAS stack enables the IoT device to communicate to the core network without using any RAN such as 4G or 5G RAN. ¶0053; Examiner interpretation: A person of ordinary skill at the time of invention would understand that access to a core without use of the RAN in a 3GPP network necessarily requires a N3IWF function. For a device to access the 3GPP network by way of N3IWF requires a NAS protocol and SIM identities. 3GPP released a specification for N3IWF with TS 23.501 Version 15.1.0, March 2018, that includes N3IWF requirements. The 3GPP specification would be available to a PHOSITA before the time of the invention. )
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a 3GPP compatible protocol with a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device, with the teachings of Munda, the downloaded telecommunication network stack is a NAS stack including SIM identity to communicate to a 3GPP core directly without the RAN, a NW3IF function.
The motivation in doing so would be to enabling connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data by enabling a NAS stack with SIM identity via download. The enabled connection supports connection via a non-3GPP network for a non-3GPP device. The advantages are support of devices for core connectivity without the need for RAN specific modems and their associated costs, physical size, and power consumption. (Wan: Abstract, Col. 1 Ln 20-25, Col. 1 Ln. 50 – Col. 2 Ln. 20, Col. 4 Ln. 46-54; Munafo: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0014-0015, 0036, 0072, 077, 0117; Munda: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0003-0007, 0008-0012, 0022-0025, Figs. 1, 2, 3)
Regarding claim 14, Wan discloses:
wherein the network distribution channel comprises at least one of a control plane or user plane; (5G core network sends messages back and forth between access network using the W-AGF. The AMF provide primary control plane functions for the 5G core network. EAP pass-through authenticator connects N5GC to AUSF. AUSF makes authentication decisions based on information received from N5GC device., Col. 5, Ln. 41-66)
Regarding claim 15, Wan discloses:
wherein the user device comprises at least one of a generic device or radio-free device; (N5GC device, user device, connects to the local area network via wired or wireless networks. These may include WiFi or Ethernet, adapters, to connect to the network. Col 5, Ln. 28-40)
Regarding claim 17, Wan does not explicitly disclose:
the system:
wherein the core network management system is structured to generate one or more virtual telecommunication network stacks;
However, Munafo discloses:
the system:
wherein the core network management system is structured to generate one or more virtual telecommunication network stacks; (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; Gateway, located between devices and network is used to communicate with the cloud. ¶0048, Fig. 5: 310; The cloud is associated with telecom network operator which includes a core network. ¶0046, Fig. 5:302; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Any number of network protocols and communication standards may be used to address specific objectives. ¶0033; Each device may include other transceivers for communications using additional protocols. Wireless communication protocols may be any suitable set of standardizes rules or instructions to implement protocol stacks. ¶0036;)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision one or more 3GPP compatible protocol with a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device.
The motivation in doing so would be to support connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data.
Regarding claim 18, Wan discloses the system:
wherein the core network management system is structured to cause the user device to connect to an access network; (N5GC device, user device, connects to the local area network via wired or wireless networks. These may include WiFi or Ethernet, adapters, to connect to an access network, residential gateway, which is connected to the W-AGF, core network management system. Col 5, Ln. 28-40)
Regarding claim 20, Wan does not explicitly disclose:
the system:
wherein the core network management system is to provide the unique identifier with the virtual telecommunication network stack;
However, Munafo discloses:
the system:
wherein the core network management system is to provide the unique identifier with the virtual telecommunication network stack; (Munafo et al. US 20180287869 A1; Gateway, located between devices and network, is used to communicate with the cloud located between devices and network. ¶0048, Fig. 5: 310; The cloud is associated with telecom network operator which includes a core network. ¶0046, Fig. 5:302; A modem configuration message indicates to add/delete/update modem profiles. ¶0081; Configuration message obtained from a cloud broker system, a core management system, that include modem profiles, network access protocols. ¶¶0118, 0135; Provisioning and implementing the modem manager with network access profiles and modem profiles by a cloud broker. ¶0116, Fig. 8; Network Access Protocols, NAPs, provisioned to user device and includes various 3GPP technical standards supporting authentication, network attachment, and the like, network stacks. ¶0078. Fig. 5: 575; To access specific network infrastructure, some of the NAPs operate in conjunction with one of the Modem Profiles, MP. ¶0079. Fig. 5:577; Each NAP includes an element for security, a Network Access Application NAA, that includes user data, credentials, and access policy, unique identifiers. ¶0076. NAAs store keys and credentials to authenticate the device and network services. ¶0077.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Wan, enable non-3GPP device to communicate to a telecom network by a core management system, with the teachings of Munafo, provision a 3GPP compatible protocol with a unique identifier to a non-3GPP device.
The motivation in doing so would be to support connection of a non-3GPP device to a 3GPP telecom network for authentication and transfer of data.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ first two arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument is directed to Munafo’s selection agent and referring to ¶0082, ¶0118, and Fig. 5. Applicant submits that “That passage does not tie the broker to the selection agent's local profile criteria or identify the broker as determining the network channel over which the alleged identifier-based stack is delivered.” Applicant further refers to Munafo ¶¶0072, 0079-0080, and 0125.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Munafo discloses a non-5G-capable device such a WLAN or WiFi device, ¶0036. Computing platform supporting a modem manager is an IoT device or similar, ¶0061, Fig. 5. A modem manager configures the communication circuitry by executing applications associated with one or more network access profiles, NAPs, ¶0072. Munafo discloses the following subject matter and as cited in the last office action. The cloud broker system, a core management system, sends configuration message included modem profiles and network access protocols, ¶0118. The profiles and protocols are provisioned to the modem manager of the device. ¶0116. The Network Access Protocols, NAPs, are provisioned to the user device. ¶0078. NAPs work in conjunction with the modem profiles. ¶0079. Examiner interpretation: Given each NAP includes an element, a Network Access Application (NAA), that includes user data and credentials are identifying information for that user device. Therefore, for the cloud broker to provision a user device for network access by use of 3GPP protocols necessarily requires unique identification of the user device which are the user data and credentials. The network channel that is selected to distribute the stack is interpreted as the channel that the user device access the local gateway, 310, that provides cloud access to the cloud broker in order to receive provisioning.
Applicant’s second argument is directed to Munafo and Wan. Applicant submits that “the proposed mapping does not establish the claimed relationship among the core-generated identifier, the stack, and the 5G connection.“ Applicant further argues “Neither reference, nor the stated combination, teaches that a core network management system generates a SIM-free identifier and then generates a virtual telecommunication network stack based on and containing that same identifier.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wan discloses the amended limitation “wherein the unique identifier is SIM-free identification information and the user device lacks native third generation partnership project functionality” by use of a Network Access Identifier, NAI, for the user device as the user device does not have 5G capabilities, Col. 7, ln. 20-48.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to amended claim(s), 1, 8, 12, and 13 with limitations that include ‘N3IWF’ have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210329461 A1 Bernsen et al.
“NON-3GPP DEVICE ACCESS TO CORE NETWORK”,
Application downloaded to a user device that does not have a 3GPP transceiver in order to obtain a certificate to authenticate the non-3GPP device on a 3GPP network through an AP or residential gateway connected to a 3GPP network.
US 20220201479 A1 Salmela et al. “Authentication Of A Radio Communication Device To A Network”
There is provided mechanisms for authenticating a first radio communication device with a network. A method is performed by the first radio communication device. The method comprises obtaining credentials for a network subscription to the network. The method comprises obtaining an upper part of a radio protocol stack, according to which radio protocol stack the first radio communication device is configured to communicate with the network. The method comprises authenticating with the network. The method comprises providing, to a second radio communication device, at least one key, as derived from the credentials during the authenticating, for use by the second radio communication device when executing the remaining part of the radio protocol stack for communication between the second radio communication device and the network.
3GPP, "3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; System Architecture for the 5G System; Stage 2 (Release 15); 3GPP TS 23.501 V15.1.0 (2018-03);
Section 4.2.8 – “Support of non-3GPP access”
Section 6.3.6 – “N3IWF selection”
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419