Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 09/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts:
a) Wong and Cho, either alone or in combination, do not show, disclose, teach, or
suggest indicating that the telecommunication identifiers in the list should not originate a telecommunication message as recited by independent claim 1, or the similar recitations of independent claims 10, 18, 21, 24 and 26.
b) However, the Examiner very kindly directs applicant to Wong reference where teaches CR contains both customer administrative data and call routing information for a customer's toll-free service. In particular, it defines important aspects of the service, including the originating Area of Service (AOS), the geographic area from which calls to the toll-free number can be allowed, and the rules for translation of the toll-free number to call routing instructions. The call routing instructions may include Destination Telephone Number(s) to which the toll-free calls may be routed, the Carrier Identification Code (CICs) of telecommunications carriers whose networks may be used for IntraLATA and InterLATA calls, and call announcement treatment instructions for those cases in which the toll-free calls should not be routed further (¶0816). Also, top-level routing information, in the form of a toll-free service provider identifier (TSPID), used by the texting ecosystem to send messages to the proper toll-free subscriber. Since a letter of agency is required for each toll-free number that is enabled in the TSS, the TSPID may become a centralized and authoritative source identifier and may be used in the provisioning of additional services associated with toll-free numbers such as, but not limited to MMS, video conferencing, and streaming data. Furthermore, since part of the enablement process includes Responsible Organization authorization and/or notification, coupled with the direct connection to a voice telecommunications platform associated with the TFMP, the TSPID may also serve to validate the authority of a call routing table (¶0510). Also, a set of rules that specifies different routing based on criteria like time of day and area from where the call originated (¶0255).
c) Applicant further asserts: Cho does not explicitly teach wherein generating the list comprises removing the assigned telecommunication identifiers and the in-use telecommunication identifiers from the available telecommunication identifiers.
d) However, the Examiner very kindly directs applicant to remove the CSG ID allocated to the enterprise zone 10 from the CSG whitelist of the mobile terminal 500 (or mobile terminals 500 included in the list of the permitted terminals) included in the enterprise zone 10, the CSG management server 400 transmits a terminal CSG ID deletion request message to the MME 200 (S260) The MME 200 requests the mobile terminals 500 included in the list of the permitted terminals to delete the CSG ID allocated to the enterprise zone 10 from the CSG whitelist (S270). In detail, the MME 200 may transmit the NAS message requesting the deletion of the CSG ID to the mobile terminal 500 (¶0077-78). Also, MME 200 performs the authentication of the mobile terminal 500 using the information received from the CSG management server 400 (S370). In detail, the MME 200 may perform the authentication of the mobile terminal 500 using the CSG ID included in the terminal authentication request message and the CSG information on the mobile terminal 500 which is received from the CSG management server 400. Further, when the terminal authentication is completed, the MME 200 transmits the response message to the terminal authentication to the small cell base station 600 (S380) (¶0088).
e) Applicant further asserts: Wong does not explicitly teach wherein generating the list comprises removing the assigned telecommunication identifiers and the in-use telecommunication identifiers from the available telecommunication identifiers
and instead cites [0077-78] and [0088] of Cho. Office Action, page 4. Applicant respectfully submits that these portions of Cho concern CSG IDs, terminal whitelists, and permitted terminals - not available telecommunication identifiers, assigned
telecommunication identifiers, in-use telecommunication identifiers, reserved telecommunication identifiers, or disconnected telecommunication identifiers. Nor do the cited Cho passages disclose removing assigned/in-use or assigned/reserved telecommunication identifiers from available telecommunication identifiers as required by independent claims 1, 10, 18, 21, 24, and 26.
f) However, the Examiner very kindly point out to providing or generating the list including remove the CSG ID allocated/assigned to terminal and using the CSG ID (therefore in-use) from the permitted terminals (Cho, ¶0077-78 and ¶0088).
g) In response to applicant's argument that there is no suggestion or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness can only be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988) and In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, both inventions, Wong and Cho, are directed allowed/permitted and disallowed or not permitted lists (see Wong, table 37, and Cho, paragraph 6-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cho into Wong’s managing toll-free numbers, with a motivation to manage an enterprise zone, and a method and an apparatus for controlling an access of a terminal. Thus, the advantages of the systems of Wong and Cho could have been easily combinable with more than reasonable expectation of success and the combination is efficient and proper.
h) Applicant's arguments with regards to dependent claims are based on the deficiency of the references to support the limitations of independent claims. The arguments are respectfully traversed for the same reason(s) as stated above for rejection of independent claims.
3. Therefore, the limitations of the claims are met, and the rejection is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13, 15-16, 18-19, 21-22, 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (US 2016/0127808 A1) in view of CHO (US 2015/0289199 A1).
As per claim 1, Wong teaches a method comprising: interpreting, via at least one processor, telecommunications data (¶0828 and ¶1091, interpreting by the processor data (i.e. telecommunication data, ¶1008)) comprising:
available telecommunication identifiers (¶0463, availability of certain numbers (i.e. telecommunication identifiers)), assigned telecommunication identifiers (¶0507, assigning numbers or telecommunication identifiers), in-use telecommunication identifiers (¶0507, currently deployed (i.e. in-use) numbers), and disconnected telecommunication identifiers (¶0752, number has been disconnected);
generating a list based at least in part on the telecommunications data, wherein the list includes telecommunication identifiers that are a subset of the available telecommunication identifiers (¶0372, ¶0390 and ¶0585, populate or generate desired subset list or inventory of phone numbers including the available numbers or telecommunication identifiers); indicating that the telecommunication identifiers in the list should not originate a telecommunication message (¶0466, ¶0510 and ¶0816, data indicating texting (i.e. telecommunication message) capability and an originating status for an announcement should not be routed (therefore should not originate) and using the texting ecosystem to send messages to the proper toll-free subscriber; therefore not sending or originating to the improper subscriber); and transmitting the list (¶0196-197 and ¶0585, receiving or sending the list or inventory).
However, Wong does not explicitly teach wherein generating the list comprises removing the assigned telecommunication identifiers and the in-use telecommunication identifiers from the available telecommunication identifiers.
In the same field of endeavor, CHO teaches wherein generating the list comprises removing the assigned telecommunication identifiers and the in-use telecommunication identifiers from the available telecommunication identifiers (¶0077-78 and ¶0088, providing or generating the list including remove the CSG ID allocated/assigned to terminal and using the CSG ID (therefore in-use) from the permitted terminals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated CHO into
invention of Wong in order for managing an enterprise zone, and a method and an apparatus for controlling an access of a terminal to an enterprise zone.
As per claim 2 as applied to claim 1 above, Wong further teaches wherein the telecommunication identifiers in the list are local telephone numbers (¶0491, local 10-digit numbers).
As per claim 4 as applied to claim 1 above, Wong further teaches, wherein indicating that the telecommunication identifiers in the list should not originate a telecommunication message comprises at least one of: setting a data field associated with the list; or generating a message apart from the list (¶0464 and ¶0466, providing and delivering (i.e. generating) letter/notification/message after identifying the numbers from the list (therefore apart from the list)).
As per claim 5 as applied to claim 4 above, Wong further teaches, wherein the telecommunication message is at least one of: a text message; a voice call; a video call; or an e-mail (¶0464, SMS (text) messaging, MMS messaging, and content streaming, including but not limited to video content as well as future services).
As per claim 7 as applied to claim 1 above, Wong further teaches, wherein generating a list based at least in part on the telecommunications data further comprises: including the disconnected telecommunication identifiers (¶0197 and ¶0794, list including the disconnected numbers or identifiers).
As per claim 8 as applied to claim 1 above, Wong further teaches, wherein the list includes: a first difference between the available telecommunication identifiers and the assigned telecommunication identifiers (¶0743-747, status changes (i.e. first difference) between number is available and the number is assigned); a second difference between the available telecommunication identifiers and the in-use telecommunication identifiers (¶0743-748, status changes (i.e. second difference) between the number is available and the number is working (i.e. in-use)); and the disconnected telecommunication identifiers (¶0752, number has been disconnected).
As per claim 10, Wong teaches a method comprising: interpreting, via at least one processor, telecommunications data (¶0828 and ¶1091, interpreting by the processor data (i.e. telecommunication data, ¶1008)) comprising:
available telecommunication identifiers (¶0463, availability of certain numbers (i.e. telecommunication identifiers)), assigned telecommunication identifiers (¶0507, assigning numbers or telecommunication identifiers), reserved telecommunication identifiers (¶0507, reserved numbers or telecommunication identifiers), and disconnected telecommunication identifiers (¶0752, number has been disconnected); generating a list based at least in part on the telecommunications data, wherein the list includes telecommunication identifiers that are a subset of the available telecommunication identifiers (¶0372, ¶0390 and ¶0585, populate or generate desired subset list or inventory of phone numbers including the available numbers or telecommunication identifiers); indicating that the telecommunication identifiers in the list should not originate a telecommunication message (¶0466, ¶0510 and ¶0816, data indicating texting (i.e. telecommunication message) capability and an originating status for an announcement should not be routed (therefore should not originate) and using the texting ecosystem to send messages to the proper toll-free subscriber; therefore not sending or originating to the improper subscriber); and transmitting the list (¶0196-197 and ¶0585, receiving or sending the list or inventory).
However, Wong does not explicitly teach wherein generating the list comprises removing the assigned telecommunication identifiers and the in-use telecommunication identifiers from the available telecommunication identifiers.
In the same field of endeavor, CHO teaches wherein generating the list comprises removing the assigned telecommunication identifiers and the in-use telecommunication identifiers from the available telecommunication identifiers (¶0077-78 and ¶0088, providing or generating the list including remove the CSG ID allocated/assigned to terminal and using the CSG ID (therefore in-use) from the permitted terminals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated CHO into
invention of Wong in order for managing an enterprise zone, and a method and an apparatus for controlling an access of a terminal to an enterprise zone.
As per claim 11 as applied to claim 10 above, Wong further teaches wherein the telecommunication identifiers in the list are toll-free numbers (¶0372, toll free numbers).
As per claim 13 as applied to claim 10 above, Wong further teaches, wherein indicating that the telecommunication identifiers in the list should not originate a telecommunication message comprises at least one of: setting a data field associated with the list; or generating a message apart from the list (¶0464 and ¶0466, providing and delivering (i.e. generating) letter/notification/message after identifying the numbers from the list (therefore apart from the list)).
As per claim 15 as applied to claim 10 above, Wong further teaches wherein generating a list based at least in part on the telecommunications data further comprises: including the disconnected telecommunication identifiers (¶0197 and ¶0794, list including the disconnected numbers or identifiers).
As per claim 16 as applied to claim 10 above, Wong further teaches wherein the list includes: a first difference between the available telecommunication identifiers and the assigned telecommunication identifiers (¶0743-747, status changes (i.e. first difference) between number is available and the number is assigned); a second difference between the available telecommunication identifiers and the reserved telecommunication identifiers (¶0743-748, status changes (i.e. second difference) between the number is available and the number is reserved); and the disconnected telecommunication identifiers (¶0752, number has been disconnected).
As per claim 18, Wong teaches an apparatus comprising: a telecommunication data processing circuit structured to interpret telecommunications data (¶0828 and ¶1091, interpret by the processor data (i.e. telecommunication data, ¶1008)) comprising: available telecommunication identifiers (¶0463, availability of certain numbers (i.e. telecommunication identifiers)), assigned telecommunication identifiers (¶0507, assigning numbers or telecommunication identifiers), in-use telecommunication identifiers (¶0507, currently deployed (i.e. in-use) numbers), and disconnected telecommunication identifiers (¶0752, number has been disconnected);
a list generating circuit structed (¶1090, circuit structured) to generate a list based at least in part on the telecommunications data, wherein the list includes telecommunication identifiers that are a subset of the available telecommunication identifiers (¶0372, ¶0390 and ¶0585, populate or generate desired subset list or inventory of phone numbers including the available numbers or telecommunication identifiers) that should not originate a telecommunication message (¶0466, ¶0510 and ¶0816, data indicating texting (i.e. telecommunication message) capability and an originating status for an announcement should not be routed (therefore should not originate) and using the texting ecosystem to send messages to the proper toll-free subscriber; therefore not sending or originating to the improper subscriber); and a list provisioning circuit structured (¶1090, circuit structured) to transmit the list (¶0196-197 and ¶0585, receiving or sending the list or inventory).
However, Wong does not explicitly teach wherein the list generating removes the assigned telecommunication identifiers and the in-use telecommunication identifiers from the available telecommunication identifiers.
In the same field of endeavor, CHO teaches wherein the list generating removes the assigned telecommunication identifiers and the in-use telecommunication identifiers from the available telecommunication identifiers (¶0077-78 and ¶0088, providing or generating the list including remove the CSG ID allocated/assigned to terminal and using the CSG ID (therefore in-use) from the permitted terminals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated CHO into
invention of Wong in order for managing an enterprise zone, and a method and an apparatus for controlling an access of a terminal to an enterprise zone.
As per claim 19 as applied to claim 18 above, Wong further teaches wherein the list includes: a first difference between the available telecommunication identifiers and the assigned telecommunication identifiers (¶0743-747, status changes (i.e. first difference) between number is available and the number is assigned); a second difference between the available telecommunication identifiers and the in-use telecommunication identifiers (¶0743-748, status changes (i.e. second difference) between the number is available and the number is working (i.e. in-use)); and the disconnected telecommunication identifiers (¶0752, number has been disconnected).
As per claim 21, Wong teaches an apparatus comprising: a telecommunication data processing circuit structured to interpret telecommunications data (¶0828 and ¶1091, interpret by the processor data (i.e. telecommunication data, ¶1008)) comprising: available telecommunication identifiers (¶0463, availability of certain numbers (i.e. telecommunication identifiers)), assigned telecommunication identifiers (¶0507, assigning numbers or telecommunication identifiers), reserved telecommunication identifiers (¶0507, reserved numbers or telecommunication identifiers), and disconnected telecommunication identifiers (¶0752, number has been disconnected); a list generating circuit structed (¶1090, circuit structured) to generate a list based at least in part on the telecommunications data, wherein the list includes telecommunication identifiers that are a subset of the available telecommunication identifiers (¶0372, ¶0390 and ¶0585, populate or generate desired subset list or inventory of phone numbers including the available numbers or telecommunication identifiers) that should not originate a telecommunication message (¶0466, ¶0510 and ¶0816, data indicating texting (i.e. telecommunication message) capability and an originating status for an announcement should not be routed (therefore should not originate) and using the texting ecosystem to send messages to the proper toll-free subscriber; therefore not sending or originating to the improper subscriber); and a list provisioning circuit structured (¶1090, circuit structured) to transmit the list (¶0196-197 and ¶0585, receiving or sending the list or inventory).
However, Wong does not explicitly teach wherein the list generating circuit removes the assigned telecommunication identifiers and the in-use telecommunication identifiers from the available telecommunication identifiers.
In the same field of endeavor, CHO teaches wherein the list generating circuit removes the assigned telecommunication identifiers and the in-use telecommunication identifiers from the available telecommunication identifiers (¶0077-78 and ¶0088, providing or generating the list including remove the CSG ID allocated/assigned to terminal and using the CSG ID (therefore in-use) from the permitted terminals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated CHO into
invention of Wong in order for managing an enterprise zone, and a method and an apparatus for controlling an access of a terminal to an enterprise zone.
As per claim 22 as applied to claim 21 above, Wong further teaches wherein the list includes: a first difference between the available telecommunication identifiers and the assigned telecommunication identifiers (¶0743-747, status changes (i.e. first difference) between number is available and the number is assigned); a second difference between the available telecommunication identifiers and the reserved telecommunication identifiers (¶0743-748, status changes (i.e. second difference) between the number is available and the number is reserved); and the disconnected telecommunication identifiers (¶0752, number has been disconnected).
As per claim 24, Wong teaches a method comprising: interpreting, via at least one processor (¶0828 and ¶1091, interpreting by the processor), a list generated based at least in part on the telecommunications data (¶0372, ¶0390 and ¶0585, populate or generate desired subset list or inventory of phone numbers including the available numbers or telecommunication identifiers) comprising: available telecommunication identifiers (¶0463, availability of certain numbers (i.e. telecommunication identifiers)), assigned telecommunication identifiers (¶0507, assigning numbers or telecommunication identifiers), in-use telecommunication identifiers (¶0507, currently deployed (i.e. in-use) numbers), and disconnected telecommunication identifiers (¶0752, number has been disconnected); the list includes telecommunication identifiers that are a subset of the available telecommunication identifiers (¶0372, ¶0390 and ¶0585, desired subset list or inventory of phone numbers including the available numbers or telecommunication identifiers) that should not originate a telecommunication message (¶0466, ¶0510 and ¶0816, data indicating texting (i.e. telecommunication message) capability and an originating status for an announcement should not be routed (therefore should not originate) and using the texting ecosystem to send messages to the proper toll-free subscriber; therefore not sending or originating to the improper subscriber); and determining whether to route a telecommunications message based at least in part on the list (¶0053, ¶0390-391 and ¶0585, determine to send/route an alert/letter/recommendation (i.e. telecommunications message) indicating telephone numbers based on the list obtained in the previous search).
However, Wong does not explicitly teach wherein the assigned telecommunication identifiers and the in-use telecommunication identifiers are removed from the available telecommunication identifiers in the list.
In the same field of endeavor, CHO teaches wherein the assigned telecommunication identifiers and the in-use telecommunication identifiers are removed from the available telecommunication identifiers in the list (¶0077-78 and ¶0088, providing or generating the list including remove the CSG ID allocated/assigned to terminal and using the CSG ID (therefore in-use) from the permitted terminals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated CHO into
invention of Wong in order for managing an enterprise zone, and a method and an apparatus for controlling an access of a terminal to an enterprise zone.
As per claim 25 as applied to claim 24 above, Wong further teaches wherein the telecommunication identifiers in the list are local telephone numbers (¶0491, local 10-digit numbers).
As per claim 26, Wong teaches a method comprising: interpreting, via at least one processor (¶0828 and ¶1091, interpreting by the processor), a list generated based at least in part on the telecommunications data (¶0372, ¶0390 and ¶0585, populate or generate desired subset list or inventory of phone numbers including the available numbers or telecommunication identifiers) comprising:
available telecommunication identifiers (¶0463, availability of certain numbers (i.e. telecommunication identifiers)), assigned telecommunication identifiers (¶0507, assigning numbers or telecommunication identifiers), reserved telecommunication identifiers (¶0507, reserved numbers or telecommunication identifiers), and disconnected telecommunication identifiers (¶0752, number has been disconnected);
the list includes telecommunication identifiers that are a do not originate subset of the available telecommunication identifiers (¶0372, ¶0390, ¶0510, and ¶0585, desired subset list or inventory of phone numbers including the available numbers or telecommunication identifiers and using the texting ecosystem to send messages to the proper toll-free subscriber; therefore not sending or originating to the improper subset); and determining whether to route a telecommunications message based at least in part on the list (¶0053, ¶0390-391 and ¶0585, determine to send/route an alert/letter/recommendation (i.e. telecommunications message) indicating telephone numbers based on the list obtained in the previous search).
However, Wong does not explicitly teach wherein the assigned telecommunication identifiers and the reserved telecommunication identifiers are removed from the available telecommunication identifiers in the list.
In the same field of endeavor, CHO teaches wherein the assigned telecommunication identifiers and the reserved telecommunication identifiers are removed from the available telecommunication identifiers in the list (¶0077-78 and ¶0088, providing or generating the list including remove the CSG ID allocated/assigned to terminal and using the CSG ID (therefore in-use) from the permitted terminals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated CHO into
invention of Wong in order for managing an enterprise zone, and a method and an apparatus for controlling an access of a terminal to an enterprise zone.
As per claim 27 as applied to claim 26 above, Wong further teaches wherein the telecommunication identifiers in the list are toll-free numbers (¶0372, toll free numbers).
Conclusion
5. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643