Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Pub No.2011/0045816 A1) in view of Qiu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2010/0034085 A1) in view of Irani et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0303175 A1)
1, Wang teaches a method comprising: detecting an incoming call that invokes a first application in a communication session [par 0007, For instance, during a voice call, the user of the telecommunications device may initiate a personal information manager (PIM) application on the telecommunications device for accessing a phone number of a third party to read the third party's phone number to the person on the other end the call];
detecting an indication that a second application is to be invoked by the first application in the communication session [par 0055, In order for parent 106 to read e- book 138 to child 108, either the parent or the child can initiate voice call 130. Either before or during voice call 130, parent 106 can launch or initiate parent application 134 and interact with parent application 134 to display a particular e-book 138 on display surface 112 of parent device 102. Parent application 134 establishes data communications 132 with child device 104 and/or with child application 136 that is executing on child device 104. In some implementations, child device 104 might be responsive to data communications from parent device 102 to launch or open child application 136];
Wang fail to show generating a Session Border Controller (SBC) carrier-generated internal communication leg within the communication session to handle an invocation of the second application while maintaining routing of the communication session; identifying a parameter that is dynamically generated during execution of the first application based on runtime conditions and user input; and passing the dynamically generated parameter to the second application via the SBC carrier generated internal communication leg.
In an analogous art Qiu show generating a Session Border Controller (SBC) carrier-generated internal communication leg within the communication session to handle an invocation of the second application while maintaining routing of the communication session [par 0023, show disclose generating a Session Border Controller (SBC) carrier-generated internal communication leg within the communication session to handle an invocation of the second application while maintaining routing of the communication session. The call originated by UE 121 traverses PE 116 and CE 141 to reach S/BC 143b. S/BC 143b bridges the call to the internal network and forwards the call to MGW 146 via CE 141, PE 116 (internal connections 133), internal network 112, PE 117 (internal connections 134) and CE 142. The MGW 146 may then forward the call to the PSTN endpoint 125 via the PSTN 113],
and passing the generated parameter to the second application via the SBC carrier generated internal communication leg[par 0021, 0025, If a call is between an IP based UE and a TDM based PSTN phone, the call is handled by the S/BC at which the UE is registered and the MGW handling calls to/from the PSTN phone number for the specific area code, i.e. NPA code. The re-homed UEs may continue originating and receiving calls to/from the PSTN phone numbers using the MGW in one access office, but another S/BC in a different access office. For example, if the UE was typically calling PSTN phone numbers with area code 212 and the MGW handling the area code 212 was located in a first access office as the S/BC at which the UE was originally registered].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang and Qiu because this provides a method and apparatus for controlling a call volume for an office that serves as a protecting site for another office in a packet network.[Qiu par 0004]
Wang and Qiu fail to show identifying a parameter that is dynamically generated during execution of the first application based on runtime conditions and user input
In an analogous art Irani show identifying a parameter that is dynamically generated during execution of the first application based on runtime conditions and user input [par 0052, 0069, FIG. 3A-3D show examples of graphical user interfaces for a network address manager (e.g., network address manager 106) that consumer application developers, provider application developers, and other users may utilize to author a network address schema (e.g., network address schema 200) for a provider application, retrieve information for a consumer application to construct a network address context to pass to a network address builder library (e.g., network address builder library 118) to build a network address to the provider application, Process 400 may begin at step 402 in which a computing system of the network may receive network address schema information for the provider application during a runtime of a consumer application executing on the computing system. The network address schema information can include a name/identifier (e.g., a high-level intent, such as View Item, View product, Browse, Search, Search Similar Items, Search Seller's Other Items, Events/Deals, etc.), a set of mapped namespaces for the provider application (e.g., flavors or specific types of the provider application, such as Search Similar Items and Search Seller's Other Items being specific types of a Search provider application)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, and Irani because a network can implement a network address management system for improving the addressing of resources of the network by ensuring that clients (e.g., consumer applications), that link to a server application or service (e.g., a provider application). [Irani, para 0024]
8. Wang, Qiu, and Irani display the method of claim 1, wherein the second application is a third-party application [Wang par 0006, Furthermore, many network service providers or telecommunications device manufacturers now provide a website or "store" from which users may purchase various applications (i.e., an "app store") to add various capabilities to their telecommunications devices. These network service providers or manufacturers also enable third parties to create third party applications that can be downloaded and used on the telecommunications devices. For example, an app store might make available for download a large number of applications written by third parties, in addition to applications provided by the network service provider or by the telecommunications device manufacturer].
9. Wang, Qiu, and Irani illustrate the method of claim 1, wherein the incoming call is a Publication Switched Telephone Network (PSTN) call [Wang, par 0090, The communication system 700 and communication network 704 may include several types of circuit-switched telephone networks, such as a Public Switched Telephone Network (PSTN) 716 and packet-switched networks. Thus, communication network 704 is able to communicate with landline telephones via the PSTN 716, and may further include a plurality of wireless communication networks maintained by a plurality of different wireless network service providers.]
13. Wang discloses a system comprising: a memory storing instructions; and
one or more hardware processors communicatively coupled to the memory and configured by the instructions to perform operations [par 0096, Telecommunications device 800 is an example of a telecommunications device that may correspond to either of telecommunications devices 702, 708, or other telecommunications devices discussed herein. Telecommunications device 800 has one or more processors 810, a memory 812, a display 814, and a keypad 816. Memory 812 generally includes both volatile memory and non-volatile memory (e.g., RAM, ROM, Flash Memory, miniature hard drive, memory card, or the like). Telecommunications device 800 includes an operating system (OS) 818, which is resident in memory 812 and which is executed by processor 810],
comprising: detecting an incoming call that invokes a first application in a communication session[par 0007, For instance, during a voice call, the user of the telecommunications device may initiate a personal information manager (PIM) application on the telecommunications device for accessing a phone number of a third party to read the third party's phone number to the person on the other end the call];
detecting an indication that a second application is to be invoked by the first application in the communication session[par 0055, In order for parent 106 to read e- book 138 to child 108, either the parent or the child can initiate voice call 130. Either before or during voice call 130, parent 106 can launch or initiate parent application 134 and interact with parent application 134 to display a particular e-book 138 on display surface 112 of parent device 102. Parent application 134 establishes data communications 132 with child device 104 and/or with child application 136 that is executing on child device 104. In some implementations, child device 104 might be responsive to data communications from parent device 102 to launch or open child application 136];
Wang fail to show generating a Session Border Controller (SBC) carrier-generated internal communication leg within the communication session to handle an invocation of the second application while maintaining routing of the communication session; identifying a parameter that is dynamically generated during execution of the first application based on runtime conditions and user input; and passing the dynamically generated parameter to the second application via the SBC carrier-generated internal communication leg.
In an analogous art Qiu show generating a Session Border Controller (SBC) carrier-generated internal communication leg within the communication session to handle an invocation of the second application while maintaining routing of the communication session [par 0023, show disclose generating a Session Border Controller (SBC) carrier-generated internal communication leg within the communication session to handle an invocation of the second application while maintaining routing of the communication session. The call originated by UE 121 traverses PE 116 and CE 141 to reach S/BC 143b. S/BC 143b bridges the call to the internal network and forwards the call to MGW 146 via CE 141, PE 116 (internal connections 133), internal network 112, PE 117 (internal connections 134) and CE 142. The MGW 146 may then forward the call to the PSTN endpoint 125 via the PSTN 113],
and passing the generated parameter to the second application via the SBC carrier generated internal communication leg[par 0021, 0025, If a call is between an IP based UE and a TDM based PSTN phone, the call is handled by the S/BC at which the UE is registered and the MGW handling calls to/from the PSTN phone number for the specific area code, i.e. NPA code. The re-homed UEs may continue originating and receiving calls to/from the PSTN phone numbers using the MGW in one access office, but another S/BC in a different access office. For example, if the UE was typically calling PSTN phone numbers with area code 212 and the MGW handling the area code 212 was located in a first access office as the S/BC at which the UE was originally registered].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang and Qiu because this provides a method and apparatus for controlling a call volume for an office that serves as a protecting site for another office in a packet network.[Qiu par 0004]
Wang and Qiu fail to show identifying a parameter that is dynamically generated during execution of the first application based on runtime conditions and user input
In an analogous art Irani show identifying a parameter that is dynamically generated during execution of the first application based on runtime conditions and user input [par 0052, 0069, FIG. 3A-3D show examples of graphical user interfaces for a network address manager (e.g., network address manager 106) that consumer application developers, provider application developers, and other users may utilize to author a network address schema (e.g., network address schema 200) for a provider application, retrieve information for a consumer application to construct a network address context to pass to a network address builder library (e.g., network address builder library 118) to build a network address to the provider application, Process 400 may begin at step 402 in which a computing system of the network may receive network address schema information for the provider application during a runtime of a consumer application executing on the computing system. The network address schema information can include a name/identifier (e.g., a high-level intent, such as View Item, View product, Browse, Search, Search Similar Items, Search Seller's Other Items, Events/Deals, etc.), a set of mapped namespaces for the provider application (e.g., flavors or specific types of the provider application, such as Search Similar Items and Search Seller's Other Items being specific types of a Search provider application)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, and Irani because a network can implement a network address management system for improving the addressing of resources of the network by ensuring that clients (e.g., consumer applications), that link to a server application or service (e.g., a provider application). [Irani, para 0024]
20. Wang demonstrate a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations [par 0096, Telecommunications device 800 is an example of a telecommunications device that may correspond to either of telecommunications devices 702, 708, or other telecommunications devices discussed herein. Telecommunications device 800 has one or more processors 810, a memory 812, a display 814, and a keypad 816. Memory 812 generally includes both volatile memory and non-volatile memory (e.g., RAM, ROM, Flash Memory, miniature hard drive, memory card, or the like). Telecommunications device 800 includes an operating system (OS) 818, which is resident in memory 812 and which is executed by processor 810],
comprising: detecting an incoming call that invokes a first application in a communication session[par 0007, For instance, during a voice call, the user of the telecommunications device may initiate a personal information manager (PIM) application on the telecommunications device for accessing a phone number of a third party to read the third party's phone number to the person on the other end the call];
detecting an indication that a second application is to be invoked by the first application in the communication session[par 0055, In order for parent 106 to read e- book 138 to child 108, either the parent or the child can initiate voice call 130. Either before or during voice call 130, parent 106 can launch or initiate parent application 134 and interact with parent application 134 to display a particular e-book 138 on display surface 112 of parent device 102. Parent application 134 establishes data communications 132 with child device 104 and/or with child application 136 that is executing on child device 104. In some implementations, child device 104 might be responsive to data communications from parent device 102 to launch or open child application 136];
Wang fail to show generating a Session Border Controller (SBC) carrier-generated internal communication leg within the communication session to handle an invocation of the second application while maintaining routing of the communication session; identifying a parameter that is dynamically generated during execution of the first application based on runtime conditions and user input; and passing the dynamically generated parameter to the second application via the SBC carrier-generated internal communication leg.
In an analogous art Qiu show generating a Session Border Controller (SBC) carrier-generated internal communication leg within the communication session to handle an invocation of the second application while maintaining routing of the communication session [par 0023, show disclose generating a Session Border Controller (SBC) carrier-generated internal communication leg within the communication session to handle an invocation of the second application while maintaining routing of the communication session. The call originated by UE 121 traverses PE 116 and CE 141 to reach S/BC 143b. S/BC 143b bridges the call to the internal network and forwards the call to MGW 146 via CE 141, PE 116 (internal connections 133), internal network 112, PE 117 (internal connections 134) and CE 142. The MGW 146 may then forward the call to the PSTN endpoint 125 via the PSTN 113],
and passing the generated parameter to the second application via the SBC carrier generated internal communication leg[par 0021, 0025, If a call is between an IP based UE and a TDM based PSTN phone, the call is handled by the S/BC at which the UE is registered and the MGW handling calls to/from the PSTN phone number for the specific area code, i.e. NPA code. The re-homed UEs may continue originating and receiving calls to/from the PSTN phone numbers using the MGW in one access office, but another S/BC in a different access office. For example, if the UE was typically calling PSTN phone numbers with area code 212 and the MGW handling the area code 212 was located in a first access office as the S/BC at which the UE was originally registered].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang and Qiu because this provides a method and apparatus for controlling a call volume for an office that serves as a protecting site for another office in a packet network.[Qiu par 0004]
Wang and Qiu fail to show identifying a parameter that is dynamically generated during execution of the first application based on runtime conditions and user input
In an analogous art Irani show identifying a parameter that is dynamically generated during execution of the first application based on runtime conditions and user input [par 0052, 0069, FIG. 3A-3D show examples of graphical user interfaces for a network address manager (e.g., network address manager 106) that consumer application developers, provider application developers, and other users may utilize to author a network address schema (e.g., network address schema 200) for a provider application, retrieve information for a consumer application to construct a network address context to pass to a network address builder library (e.g., network address builder library 118) to build a network address to the provider application, Process 400 may begin at step 402 in which a computing system of the network may receive network address schema information for the provider application during a runtime of a consumer application executing on the computing system. The network address schema information can include a name/identifier (e.g., a high-level intent, such as View Item, View product, Browse, Search, Search Similar Items, Search Seller's Other Items, Events/Deals, etc.), a set of mapped namespaces for the provider application (e.g., flavors or specific types of the provider application, such as Search Similar Items and Search Seller's Other Items being specific types of a Search provider application)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, and Irani because a network can implement a network address management system for improving the addressing of resources of the network by ensuring that clients (e.g., consumer applications), that link to a server application or service (e.g., a provider application). [Irani, para 0024]
Claim(s) 2, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Pub No.2011/0045816 A1) in view of Qiu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2010/0034085 A1), Irani et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/03030175 A1)in further view of Ranganath (U.S. Pub No. 2017/011662 A1)
2, Wang, Qiu, and Irani create the method of claim 1, Wang, Qiu, and Irani fail to show further comprising: receiving, at the first application, a return value from the second application via an incoming internal communication leg.
In an analogous art Ranganath show further comprising: receiving, at the first application, a return value from the second application via an incoming internal communication leg [par 0117, 0121, 0125, As shown in step 212, a first application, i.e., application A, invokes a URL for a second application, i.e., Application B, including a returnURL parameter that acts as a “continuation”. when Application B is done performing the dictated processing (as dictated by the URL from application A), Application B invokes the returnURL, that was provided from Application A, and attaches any additional information, e.g. such as information generated from the processing performed by application B and information regarding whether the order was completed. In other words, application B prepares the return URL (and associated information) for retrieval by the customer's application A. Application A retrieves the returnURL, restoring the “continuation” of the processing. When the CoffeePlace web page re-launches with the requested URL].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, Irani and Ranganath because this provide for remote payment and ordering solutions for people on the go. [Ranganath par 0033]
14. Wang, Qiu, and Irani disclose the method of claim 1, Wang, Qiu, and Irani fail to show further comprising: receiving, at the first application, a return value from the second application via an incoming internal communication leg.
In an analogous art Ranganath show further comprising: receiving, at the first application, a return value from the second application via an incoming internal communication leg[par 0117, 0121, 0125, As shown in step 212, a first application, i.e., application A, invokes a URL for a second application, i.e., Application B, including a returnURL parameter that acts as a “continuation”. when Application B is done performing the dictated processing (as dictated by the URL from application A), Application B invokes the returnURL, that was provided from Application A, and attaches any additional information, e.g. such as information generated from the processing performed by application B and information regarding whether the order was completed. In other words, application B prepares the return URL (and associated information) for retrieval by the customer's application A. Application A retrieves the returnURL, restoring the “continuation” of the processing. When the CoffeePlace web page re-launches with the requested URL].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, Irani and Ranganath because this provide for remote payment and ordering solutions for people on the go. [Ranganath par 0033]
5. Claim(s) 3, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Pub No.2011/0045816 A1),Qiu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2010/0034085 A1), Irani et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/03030175 A1) in view of Ranganath (U.S. Pub No. 2017/011662 A1) in further view of Edamadaka et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2014/0095576 A1)
3, Wang, Qiu, Irani and Ranganath illustrate the method of claim 2, Wang, Qiu, Irani and Ranganath fail to show wherein the return value is associated with a post-call survey.
In an analogous art Edamadaka show wherein the return value is associated with a post-call survey [par 0008, For example, in the case of a post-call survey, an application must currently monitor a call path, ahead of an endpoint in a processing sequence, and monitor for an indication that the call is disconnected. Upon end of the call, the call is intercepted before it can be disconnected. Instead of allowing the call to be disconnected, the application then transfers the call to a survey Interactive Voice Response announcement]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, Irani, Ranganath, and Edamadaka because this provides a system and method to perform a directive by a first SIP User Agent (UA) engaged in a peer-to-peer communication session with a second SIP User Agent (UA).
15. Wang, Qiu, Irani and Ranganath reveal the method of claim 14, Wang, Qiu, Irani, and Ranganath fail to show wherein the return value is associated with a post-call survey,
In an analogous art Edamadaka show wherein the return value is associated with a post-call survey[par 0008, For example, in the case of a post-call survey, an application must currently monitor a call path, ahead of an endpoint in a processing sequence, and monitor for an indication that the call is disconnected. Upon end of the call, the call is intercepted before it can be disconnected. Instead of allowing the call to be disconnected, the application then transfers the call to a survey Interactive Voice Response announcement]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, Irani, Ranganath, and Edamadaka because this provides a system and method to perform a directive by a first SIP User Agent (UA) engaged in a peer-to-peer communication session with a second SIP User Agent (UA).
Claim(s) 4-7, 12, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Pub No.2011/0045816 A1) in view of Qiu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2010/0034085 A1), Irani et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/03030175 A1) in further view of Malatack et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2014/0376543 A1)
4, Wang, Qiu, and Irani provide the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that the incoming call is initiated by a customer for the communication session [Wang, par 0007, Thus, the user is then able to view a user interface presented by an application while carrying on a conversation. For instance, during a voice call, the user of the telecommunications device may initiate a personal information manager (PIM) application on the telecommunications device for accessing a phone number of a third party to read the third party's phone number to the person on the other end the call]
Wang, Qiu, and Irani fail to show generating a communication flow to associate the first application with the second application, the communication flow at least including the SBC carrier-generated internal communication leg.
In an analogous art Malatack show generating a communication flow to associate the first application with the second application, the communication flow at least including the SBC carrier-generated internal communication leg [fig 4, par 0026, 0030, A communication endpoint preferably has a record stored in a database or distributed through several database tables. An endpoint record may include various properties of a communication endpoint such as a unique identifier of the telephony endpoint, the direct inbound address (e.g., the phone number or short code), carrier, origin properties, a cleanliness/quality score, capability properties (e.g., SMS, MMS, Fax, etc.), status (e.g., mobile, landline, client application type, toll free, etc.), screen resolution and display capabilities, language, service plan (e.g., do they get free SMS/MMS messages), activity patterns (e.g., when is the communication, who does the endpoint communicate with, what does the endpoint communicate, etc.) and/or other suitable properties of a telephony endpoint. The communication event can include attempting to make an outgoing communication from the communication endpoint, when receiving an inbound communication directed at the communication platform, merging a communication endpoint with a communication session (e.g., adding to a conference call), when asynchronously querying information of the communication endpoint, and other various steps in operation of the communication platform. An eventing system may be used to inspect and respond to various types of API calls. Other components (i.e., capture modules) may be integrated into other portions of the system so that information can be reported back to the records of the communication endpoint repository].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, Irani, and Malatack because this provides a system function to enable information of communication endpoints to be collected, accessed, and used in operational logic of a communication platform. [Malatack par 0016]
5, Wang, Qiu, Irani and Malatack convey the method of claim 4, Wang, Qiu, and Irani fail to show further comprising: generating an account identifier to associate with both the first application and second application.
In an analogous art Malatack show further comprising: generating an account identifier to associate with both the first application and second application [fig5, par 0029, Furthermore, an endpoint may be associated with multiple devices and/or applications as shown in FIG. 5. Accordingly, the method may comprise obtaining device information of an endpoint across multiple devices used with the endpoint. Endpoint information can additionally be obtained across multiple applications. Capabilities, usage patterns, and other endpoint information properties are preferably tracked for each device/application in a set of possible endpoint devices/applications. For example, the preference of a user to use one device over another device can be tracked per endpoint].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, Irani and Malatack because this provides a system function to enable information of communication endpoints to be collected, accessed, and used in operational logic of a communication platform. [Malatack par 0016].
6. Wang, Qiu, Irani and Malatack disclose a method of claim 4, Wang, Qiu, and Irani fail to show wherein the communication flow can be configured via an Application Programming Interface (API), and wherein the SBC carrier-generated internal communication leg can be configured using the APL
In an analogous art Malatack show wherein the communication flow can be configured via an Application Programming Interface (API) [par 0019, The interface service preferably includes an application programming interface (API) that can be used by other components for interacting with records of telephony endpoints. The API interface acts as an intermediary abstraction layer between stored endpoint information and various services of the communication platform]
and wherein the SBC carrier-generated internal communication leg can be configured using the API [par 0030, The communication event can include attempting to make an outgoing communication from the communication endpoint, when receiving an inbound communication directed at the communication platform, merging a communication endpoint with a communication session (e.g., adding to a conference call), when asynchronously querying information of the communication endpoint, and other various steps in operation of the communication platform. The communication endpoint interface service, as described above, is preferably an intermediary layer used by other services of a platform. API calls are preferably made to inspect various aspects like routing information, application URI's, and other information. The interface service preferably uses inspecting of the API calls to trigger some events. An eventing system may be used to inspect and respond to various types of API calls. Other components (i.e., capture modules) may be integrated into other portions of the system so that information can be reported back to the records of the communication endpoint repository]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, Irani and Malatack because this provides a system function to enable information of communication endpoints to be collected, accessed, and used in operational logic of a communication platform. [Malatack par 0016].
7. Wang, Qiu, Irani and Malatack create the method of claim 4, Wang, Qiu, and Irani fail to show wherein the associating of the first application with the second application is not handled using chaining of phone numbers.
In an analogous art Malatack show wherein the associating of the first application with the second application is not handled using chaining of phone numbers[par 0035, The platform-hosted resource is preferably linked or referenced such that a second application is used to open the link. There are various ways of using a platform-hosted resource to result in second application access from which information may be obtained. In a first variation, a link shortening service is provided by the communication platform. Accordingly, synchronizing resource access of messages can include transforming the resource reference into a tracking link (i.e., a trackable resource reference); and in obtaining device information, inspecting endpoint device information during access of the tracking link and redirecting to the resource reference. Any SMS or MMS messages that pass through the communication platform can be detected and converted into controlled links to unique proxy tracking URI's. The tracking URI (i.e., redirection URI) is preferably unique to the particular destination endpoint so that any access of the link can be correlated with the particular destination endpoint or even communication message. When a user accesses the URI (e.g., activating the link displayed in a text messaging app), a browser can opens up the shortened link on the device. During a browser session, the user agent, screen size, location information, and other information from the HTTP headers, JavaScript or other suitable techniques can be collected].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, Irani and Malatack because this provides a system function to enable information of communication endpoints to be collected, accessed, and used in operational logic of a communication platform. [Malatack par 0016].
12. Wang, Qiu, and Irani disclose the method of claim 1, Wang, Qiu, and Irani fail to show wherein the second application is not invoked using chaining of phone numbers.
In an analogous art Malatack show wherein the second application is not invoked using chaining of phone numbers[par 0035, The platform-hosted resource is preferably linked or referenced such that a second application is used to open the link. There are various ways of using a platform-hosted resource to result in second application access from which information may be obtained. In a first variation, a link shortening service is provided by the communication platform. Accordingly, synchronizing resource access of messages can include transforming the resource reference into a tracking link (i.e., a trackable resource reference); and in obtaining device information, inspecting endpoint device information during access of the tracking link and redirecting to the resource reference. Any SMS or MMS messages that pass through the communication platform can be detected and converted into controlled links to unique proxy tracking URI's. The tracking URI (i.e., redirection URI) is preferably unique to the particular destination endpoint so that any access of the link can be correlated with the particular destination endpoint or even communication message. When a user accesses the URI (e.g., activating the link displayed in a text messaging app), a browser can opens up the shortened link on the device. During a browser session, the user agent, screen size, location information, and other information from the HTTP headers, JavaScript or other suitable techniques can be collected].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, Irani and Malatack because this provides a system function to enable information of communication endpoints to be collected, accessed, and used in operational logic of a communication platform. [Malatack par 0016].
16. Wang, Qiu, and Irani provides the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that the incoming call is initiated by a customer for the communication session[Wang, par 0007, Thus, the user is then able to view a user interface presented by an application while carrying on a conversation. For instance, during a voice call, the user of the telecommunications device may initiate a personal information manager (PIM) application on the telecommunications device for accessing a phone number of a third party to read the third party's phone number to the person on the other end the call]
Wang, Qiu, and Irani fail to show generating a communication flow to associate the first application with the second application, the communication flow at least including the SBC carrier-generated internal communication leg.
In an analogous art Malatack show generating a communication flow to associate the first application with the second application, the communication flow at least including the SBC carrier-generated internal communication leg [fig 4, par 0026, 0030, A communication endpoint preferably has a record stored in a database or distributed through several database tables. An endpoint record may include various properties of a communication endpoint such as a unique identifier of the telephony endpoint, the direct inbound address (e.g., the phone number or short code), carrier, origin properties, a cleanliness/quality score, capability properties (e.g., SMS, MMS, Fax, etc.), status (e.g., mobile, landline, client application type, toll free, etc.), screen resolution and display capabilities, language, service plan (e.g., do they get free SMS/MMS messages), activity patterns (e.g., when is the communication, who does the endpoint communicate with, what does the endpoint communicate, etc.) and/or other suitable properties of a telephony endpoint. The communication event can include attempting to make an outgoing communication from the communication endpoint, when receiving an inbound communication directed at the communication platform, merging a communication endpoint with a communication session (e.g., adding to a conference call), when asynchronously querying information of the communication endpoint, and other various steps in operation of the communication platform. An eventing system may be used to inspect and respond to various types of API calls. Other components (i.e., capture modules) may be integrated into other portions of the system so that information can be reported back to the records of the communication endpoint repository].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, Irani and Malatack because this provides a system function to enable information of communication endpoints to be collected, accessed, and used in operational logic of a communication platform. [Malatack par 0016]
17, Wang, Qiu, Irani and Malatack convey the method of claim 16, Wang, Qiu, and Irani fail to show further comprising: generating an account identifier to associate with both the first application and second application.
In an analogous art Malatack show further comprising: generating an account identifier to associate with both the first application and second application [fig5, par 0029, Furthermore, an endpoint may be associated with multiple devices and/or applications as shown in FIG. 5. Accordingly, the method may comprise obtaining device information of an endpoint across multiple devices used with the endpoint. Endpoint information can additionally be obtained across multiple applications. Capabilities, usage patterns, and other endpoint information properties are preferably tracked for each device/application in a set of possible endpoint devices/applications. For example, the preference of a user to use one device over another device can be tracked per endpoint].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, Irani and Malatack because this provides a system function to enable information of communication endpoints to be collected, accessed, and used in operational logic of a communication platform. [Malatack par 0016].
18. Wang, Qiu, Irani and Malatack disclose a method of claim 16, Wang, Qiu, and Irani fail to show wherein the communication flow can be configured via an Application Programming Interface (API), and wherein the SBC carrier-generated internal communication leg can be configured using the APL
In an analogous art Malatack show wherein the communication flow can be configured via an Application Programming Interface (API) [par 0019, The interface service preferably includes an application programming interface (API) that can be used by other components for interacting with records of telephony endpoints. The API interface acts as an intermediary abstraction layer between stored endpoint information and various services of the communication platform]
and wherein the SBC carrier-generated internal communication leg can be configured using the API [par 0030, The communication event can include attempting to make an outgoing communication from the communication endpoint, when receiving an inbound communication directed at the communication platform, merging a communication endpoint with a communication session (e.g., adding to a conference call), when asynchronously querying information of the communication endpoint, and other various steps in operation of the communication platform. The communication endpoint interface service, as described above, is preferably an intermediary layer used by other services of a platform. API calls are preferably made to inspect various aspects like routing information, application URI's, and other information. The interface service preferably uses inspecting of the API calls to trigger some events. An eventing system may be used to inspect and respond to various types of API calls. Other components (i.e., capture modules) may be integrated into other portions of the system so that information can be reported back to the records of the communication endpoint repository]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, Irani and Malatack because this provides a system function to enable information of communication endpoints to be collected, accessed, and used in operational logic of a communication platform. [Malatack par 0016].
19. Wang, Qiu, and Malatack create the method of claim 16, Wang and Qiu fail to show wherein the associating of the first application with the second application is not handled using chaining of phone numbers.
In an analogous art Malatack show wherein the associating of the first application with the second application is not handled using chaining of phone numbers[par 0035, The platform-hosted resource is preferably linked or referenced such that a second application is used to open the link. There are various ways of using a platform-hosted resource to result in second application access from which information may be obtained. In a first variation, a link shortening service is provided by the communication platform. Accordingly, synchronizing resource access of messages can include transforming the resource reference into a tracking link (i.e., a trackable resource reference); and in obtaining device information, inspecting endpoint device information during access of the tracking link and redirecting to the resource reference. Any SMS or MMS messages that pass through the communication platform can be detected and converted into controlled links to unique proxy tracking URI's. The tracking URI (i.e., redirection URI) is preferably unique to the particular destination endpoint so that any access of the link can be correlated with the particular destination endpoint or even communication message. When a user accesses the URI (e.g., activating the link displayed in a text messaging app), a browser can opens up the shortened link on the device. During a browser session, the user agent, screen size, location information, and other information from the HTTP headers, JavaScript or other suitable techniques can be collected].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, Irani and Malatack because this provides a system function to enable information of communication endpoints to be collected, accessed, and used in operational logic of a communication platform. [Malatack par 0016].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Pub No.2011/0045816 A1) in view of Qiu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2010/0034085 A1), Irani et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/03030175 A1) in further view of Acosta (U.S. Patent No. 9,516,101 A1).
10, Wang, Qiu, Irani define the method of claim 1, Wang, Qiu, Irani fail to show wherein the first application is associated with a first user account of a customer, and wherein the second application is associated with a second user account of the customer.
In an analogous art Acosta show wherein the first application is associated with a first user account of a customer [col 2, In 41-55, For example, an account (e.g, “Account A”, “Account B”, and “Account C” of FIG. 1) may build a call center application that uses the communication platform 110 to direct customers to customer service representatives. Alternatively, the account may be end users of an endpoint (e.g., phone number or SIP address) that use the communication platform 110 to provide some service. For example, an end user may use the communication platform 110 to
dynamically direct incoming calls to ring multiple destinations until the first device picks up],
and wherein the second application is associated with a second user account of the customer [col 12, In 63-67, col 13, 1-10, col 14, 21-36 Thus, external systems (e.g., 681-684) can provide feedback to the communication platform system 600 that alters the communication infrastructure. For example, feedback provided by users of a first application of a first account of the communication platform 610 can alter communication routing for a second application of a second account of the communication platform. the system 600 initiates a second communication (e.g., the communication 686 of FIG. 6) with a second communication route (process S740), the system 600 initiates the second communication on behalf of a second account (e.g., “Account C” of FIG. 6) of the system 600, the second account is an account of a second external system (e.g., the external system 683 of FIG. 1), and the system 600 routes communication of the second external system based on the feedback message (e.g., 688) of the first account.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, Irani and Acosta because this can provide communication routing engine functions to manage the determination and establishment of communication routes.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Pub No.2011/0045816 A1) in view of Qiu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2010/0034085 A1) Irani et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/03030175 A1) in further view of Wang (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0258374 A1) hereinafter JIansong
11. Wang, Qiu, Irani disclose the method of claim 1, Wang, Qiu, and Irani fail to show wherein the first application is associated with a first application server in a first geographical region, and wherein the second application is associated with a second application server in a second geographical region.
In an analogous art JIasong show wherein the first application is associated with a first application server in a first geographical region [par 0026, The CMC can determine a first anchor network component (e.g., first PGW or first UPF) and first serving network component (e.g., first SGW, or the first UPF, which can include serving gateway functionality) that are located in proximity to the first location and can provide coverage (e.g., wireless coverage) for the first location (e.g., coverage for a first region comprising the first location). The CMC can connect or facilitate connecting the communication device to the first serving network component and first anchor network component. The first anchor network component can be associated with (e.g., communicatively connected to) a first data network (e.g., first packet data network), and a first application server associated with the application can be associated with the first data network. The communication device can access and utilize the application by communicating with the first application server via the first data network, first anchor network component],
and wherein the second application is associated with a second application server in a second geographical region [par 0029, If the CMC determines that such an interruption of the data session is not permitted, the CMC can determine whether there is a second (e.g., local) serving network component in proximity to the second location that can serve the communication device with regard to the data session with the application. In this regard, the CMC also can determine whether there is a second data network and second application server associated with the application in proximity (e.g., relative proximity) to the second location, wherein the second data network can be associated with the second serving network component and the second application server].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wang, Qiu, Irani and Jiasong because this can provide improve application resource allocation for wireless services, improve communication of information between wireless communication devices and a communication network, and improve network efficiency associated with the communication network.[Jiasong par 0015]
Response to Arguments
However, Qiu discusses static call routing parameters (e.g., area codes, NPA codes) that are inherent to the call setup, rather than parameters dynamically generated during execution of applications based on runtime conditions and user input. Qiu also fails to discuss passing the dynamically generated parameter to a second application via an SBC carrier-generated internal communication leg. Accordingly, Qiu fails to teach and suggest "identifying a parameter that is dynamically generated during execution of the first application based on runtime conditions and user input; and passing the dynamically generated parameter to the second application via the SBC carrier-generated internal communication leg."
Accordingly, the scope and content of the cited references do not teach or suggest each and every claim element or support rational inferences that one skilled in the art reasonably would be expected to draw to reach all claimed elements of claim 1. It is therefore respectfully submitted that claim 1 is allowable. Further, in light of the remarks presented above, independent claims 13 and 20 are also allowable. The dependent claims each depend from independent claim 1, 13, or 20 and are likewise allowable for at least the same reasons set forth above with respect to the applicable independent claims. Moreover, the dependent claims each are allowable based on elements recited therein. Therefore, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections and allowance of the pending claims.
The applicant’s arguments are moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468