DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea) without significantly more.
As per claim 1, in step 1 of the 101 analysis, the examiner has determined that the claim is directed to a system. Therefore, the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention.
In step 2A prong 1 of the 101 analysis, the examiner has determined that the claim recites a judicial exception. Specifically, the limitations “the periodic rate based on monitoring determined by analyzing temporal patterns of resource consumption over a threshold number of intervals” and “identify a second resource type related to the first resource type to replace or offset the first resource type at the periodic rate, a relationship between the first resource type and the second resource type defined by a modifier to determine an amount of the second resource type to provide based on an amount of the first resource type” recite mental processes. Determining a periodic rate based on consumption over time and determining how to replace/offset a first resource type with a second resource type based on a modifier constitutes a mental process of observation, evaluation, and judgement because a human with the aid of pen and paper can analyze data entries, identify relationships in data, determine relationships between resources to determine whether a replacement is a proper match and determine an amount of the second resource is needed to replace/offset the first resource.
In step 2A prong 2 of the 101 analysis, the examiner has determined that the additional elements, alone or in combination do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application for the following rationale:
The limitations “a computer server system”, “a communications module”, “a processor coupled with the communications module”, and “a memory coupled to the processor and storing processor-executable instructions” apply judicial exceptions on a generic computer. "Alappat 's rationale that an otherwise ineligible algorithm or software could be made patent-eligible by merely adding a generic computer to the claim was superseded by the Supreme Court's Bilski and Alice Corp. decisions" so therefore applying judicial exceptions on a management entity which are generic computers does not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(b)).
The limitation “monitor resource consumption data to identify a first resource type being provided at a periodic rate to a resource requester” represent insignificant, extra-solution activities. The term "extra-solution activity" can be understood as "activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim" (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The examiner has determined that the limitation “receiving, a plurality of first chunks of data” is directed to mere data gathering activities which is a category of insignificant extra-solution activities (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation “perform operations to automatically provide the second resource type to replace or offset the first resource type at the periodic rate” Merely reciting the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f).
In step 2B of the 101 analysis, the examiner has determined that the additional elements, alone or in combination do not recite significantly more than the abstract ideas identified above for the following rationale:
The limitations “a computer server system”, “a communications module”, “a processor coupled with the communications module”, and “a memory coupled to the processor and storing processor-executable instructions” apply judicial exceptions on a generic computer and therefore do not provide significantly more.
The limitation “monitor resource consumption data to identify a first resource type being provided at a periodic rate to a resource requester” represent insignificant, extra-solution activities and are well-understood, routine, or conventional because they are directed to "receiving or transmitting data" (MPEP 2106.05(d)). These are additional elements that the courts have recognized as well understood, routine, or conventional (MPEP 2106.05(d)). The citation of court cases in the MPEP meets the Berkheimer evidentiary burden since citation of a court case in the MPEP is one of the 4 types of evidentiary support that can be used to prove that the additional elements are well-understood, routine, or conventional (see 125 USPQ2d 1649 Berkheimer v. HP, Inc.). Thus, the limitations do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
The limitation “perform operations to automatically provide the second resource type to replace or offset the first resource type at the periodic rate” is not enough to qualify as “significantly more” because it is akin to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer.
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 11, it is a method claim of claim 1, so it is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1. Additionally, claim 11 recites “one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors” which recite generic computing components that do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and do not provide significantly more and recite intended use limitations that do not have patentable weight.
As per claim 20, it is a system type claim of claim 1, so it is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1. Additionally, claim 11 recites “one or more non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions which, when executed, configure a processor to” recite generic computing components that do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and do not provide significantly more and recite intended use limitations that do not have patentable weight.
As per claim 2 (and similarly for claim 12), it recites limitations that integrate into practical application and constitute significantly more than the abstract idea.
As per claim 3 (and similarly for claim 13), it recites limitations which further describes the modifier used to determine an equivalence between the first and second type of resources. This does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
As per claims 4-5 (and similarly for claims 14 and 15), it recites limitations which further describes the limitation identified as “Apply it” and does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
As per claims 6-7 (and similarly for claims 16 and 17), it recites limitations directed to obtaining usage data and signal indications which correspond with data gathering, analyzing usage data which similar to claim 1, correspond to the abstract idea, and sending signals which correspond to data transmission, which is extra solution activity. As such, these claims do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
As per claim 8 (and similarly for claim 18), it recites limitations which further describes the type of the obtained data and does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
As per claims 9-10 (and similarly for claim 19), they recite limitations which further describes extra solution activities such as sending and receiving signals and does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Further claim 10 describe the source of each of the different resource types which does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boss et al. (US 9,280,392 B1) in view of Sivak et al. (US 2020/0401456 A1).
Boss was cited in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Boss teaches the invention substantially as claimed including a computer server system (Fig. 7: computer system/server 12) comprising:
a communications module (Fig. 7, Network Adapter 20);
a processor coupled with the communications module (Fig. 7, Processing Unit 16 coupled to Network Adapter 20); and
a memory coupled to the processor (Fig. 7, Processing Unit 16 coupled to Memory 28) and storing processor-executable instructions which, when executed by the processor (Col. 12, lines 46-49: memory 28 may include at least one program product having a set (e.g., at least one) of program modules that are configured to carry out the functions of embodiments of the invention.; Col. 14, lines 26-29: a computer readable storage medium (or media) having computer readable program instructions thereon for causing a processor to carry out aspects of the present inventio), configure the processor to:
monitor resource consumption data to identify a first resource type being provided at a periodic rate to a resource requester (Col. 6, lines 56-63: Each monitoring client 312, 322, 332 may receive the request 352 from the resource manager 302 and, by reviewing the current resource usage and resource requirements of the application running on its respective virtual machine, may send a response 353 back to the host system 301 indicating the quantity of the scarce resource type that it can give up and the quantities of at least one of the one or more alternate resources that it would require in return; Col. 8, lines 21-25: For example, in some embodiments, the monitoring client may only provide to the host system with a list of the types of applications that are running on the machine and the resource usage (by type and quantity) by each application.; Col. 3, line 42 through Col. 4, line 3: Furthermore, in some embodiments, a quantity of a scarce resource type may be obtained from multiple applications that each make a different resource substitution or set of resource substitutions… In some embodiments where quantities of scarce resources are freed up in this manner, the users of the applications that free up the scarce resources may receive discounts on their monetary costs, for example, in the form a reduced monthly hosting charge. This cost reduction may be proportional to the quantity of scarce resources that are returned; wherein the “monthly hosting” reasonably teaches a periodic interval of a subscription based resource monthly allocation);
identify a second resource type related to the first resource type to replace or offset the first resource type, a relationship between the first resource type and the second resource type defined by a modifier to determine an amount of the second resource type to provide based on an amount of the first resource type (Col. 3, line 12 through Col. 4, line 3: There may be many options for resource substitution within a virtual computing environment. Turning now to FIG. 1, shown is a resource substitution matrix 100, which includes several of these potential resource substitutions. By using the resource substitutions shown in this matrix, it may be possible to effectively free up certain scarce resource types from applications so that these resources can be reallocated to elsewhere within a virtual computing environment. As used herein, a scarce resource type may refer to any resource type that a virtual machine (or application) has requested for which there may not be enough of that resource type freely available within the relevant virtual computing environment to fulfill the request or at least not enough freely available to fulfill the request without reducing the free quantity of that resource type to an unacceptable level. In the illustrated embodiment, a chart shows five resource types that may be available for trade-off to relieve the impact of a situation wherein one of the other of those five resource types is scarce. These resource types include central processing unit (CPU), for example as measured in gigahertz (GHz); memory, for example as measured in kilobytes (KB); network (i.e., network bandwidth), for example as measured in megabytes per second (MB/Sec); storage, for example as measured in gigabytes (GB); and graphics processing unit (GPU), for example as measured in gigahertz (GHz). In practice, resource substitutions may occur at the individual virtual machine or application level… In some embodiments, these resource substitutions may allow an application to use less of a scarce resource type by using more of other available resource types and/or changing the manner in which it uses these available resource types. For example, as depicted in substitution matrix 100, an application may be able to compensate for a reduction in CPU (i.e., a reallocation of some quantity of CPU from that application to another application) by reducing compression of stored to data, thereby increasing its use of storage. Furthermore, in some embodiments, a quantity of a scarce resource type may be obtained from multiple applications that each make a different resource substitution or set of resource substitutions.; Col. 3, lines 42-59; Col. 4, line 65 through Col. 5, line 6: For instance, if the first resource is CPU, then one virtual machine may indicate that it is running an application that could give up a quantity of CPU (e.g., where at least that quantity of CPU is currently allocated to it) in exchange for another quantity of memory (which may be done, as shown in the substitution matrix 100 of FIG. 1, by using the increased memory to increase the cache size for instructions or data, so as to decrease the application's need for CPU).; As shown above, CPU and storage are scarce types of resources and the modifier corresponds to a quantity of CPU given in exchange for quantity of memory); and
perform operations to automatically provide the second resource type to replace or offset the first resource type at the periodic rate (Col. 8, line 1: method 400 may be done without user interaction; Col. 3, lines 42-67: Col. 4, line 65 through Col. 5, line 6: For instance, if the first resource is CPU, then one virtual machine may indicate that it is running an application that could give up a quantity of CPU (e.g., where at least that quantity of CPU is currently allocated to it) in exchange for another quantity of memory (which may be done, as shown in the substitution matrix 100 of FIG. 1, by using the increased memory to increase the cache size for instructions or data, so as to decrease the application's need for CPU).; Col. 5, lines 9-23: As used herein, a trade-off group may refer to a set of one or more applications running in the virtual computing environment that can together use quantities of one or more alternate resource types as a substitute for the desired quantity of a first (e.g., scarce) resource type. An example trade-off group might be a single application that can relinquish the desired quantity of the scarce resource type in exchange for a substituted quantity of a single alternate resource type. Another example trade-off group might be two applications that can each relinquish half of the desired quantity of the scarce resource type in exchange for a first substituted quantity of a first alternate resource type (to the first application) and a second substituted quantity of a second alternate resource type (to the second application).; Col. 3, line 42 through Col. 4, line 3: Furthermore, in some embodiments, a quantity of a scarce resource type may be obtained from multiple applications that each make a different resource substitution or set of resource substitutions… In some embodiments where quantities of scarce resources are freed up in this manner, the users of the applications that free up the scarce resources may receive discounts on their monetary costs, for example, in the form a reduced monthly hosting charge. This cost reduction may be proportional to the quantity of scarce resources that are returned; Col. 5, lines 39-48).
Boss teaches monitoring resource consumption, identifying a second resource type to replace or offset the first resource type, and provide the second resource type to replace or offset the first resource type on a monthly basis. Boss does not explicitly teaches the periodic rate determined by analyzing temporal patterns of resource consumption over a threshold number of intervals.
However, Sivak teaches a method for determining resource allocation to applications/VMs. Further, Sivak teaches monitor resource consumption data and determines the periodic rate determined by analyzing temporal patterns of resource consumption over a threshold number of intervals ([0018] Computing device 100 may monitor a resource usage of one or more resources for each VM 113 over a first time period. The first time period may be any time period that is long enough to obtain sufficient resource usage data from each of the VMs 113. For example, computing device 100 may monitor the resource usage of the VMs 113 for a period of a year, 6 months, 2 weeks, or any other appropriate time period. Computing device 100 may monitor one or more of the memory usage, processor usage, input/output operation usage (e.g., number of writes and reads from storage media), storage bandwidth usage (amount of data written/read), network bandwidth usage, and usage of any other appropriate resource for each VM 113 and store this resource usage information in a time series database 125. The pattern of (e.g., variations in) resource usage for a particular resource over the first time period may be referred to as a load pattern. For example, computing device 100 may obtain a memory usage load pattern for each VM 113, as well as processor and network bandwidth usage load patterns for each VM 113 as a result of monitoring the resource usages of each of the VMs 113.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sivak of utilizing monitored utilization of resources for previous time periods to determine usage patterns for each resource class (i.e., CPU, memory and bandwidth) to determine a future resource allocation that will be needed with the teachings of Boss of replacing or offsetting a resource of a first type for a resource of a second type. The modification would have been motivated by the desire of ensuring unused resource are reclaimed and redistributing the resource among other applications/VMs.
Regarding claim 2, Boss teaches wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further configure the processor to:
determine an amount of the first resource type provided to the resource requester at a periodic rate and provide an amount of the second resource type to replace or offset the first resource type at the periodic rate based on the amount of the first resource type provided to the resource requester (Col. 3, lines 42-59: In some embodiments, these resource substitutions may allow an application to use less of a scarce resource type by using more of other available resource types and/or changing the manner in which it uses these available resource types. For example, as depicted in substitution matrix 100, an application may be able to compensate for a reduction in CPU (i.e., a reallocation of some quantity of CPU from that application to another application) by reducing compression of stored to data, thereby increasing its use of storage. Furthermore, in some embodiments, a quantity of a scarce resource type may be obtained from multiple applications that each make a different resource substitution or set of resource substitutions. For example, if a given amount of storage needs to be freed up, then one application could free up half of that amount by using more CPU to increase the compression of stored data, and a second application could free up another half of that amount of storage by increasing its cache size (i.e., using more memory).; Col. 3, line 42 through Col. 4, line 3: monthly hosting/storage resource allocation).
Regarding claim 3, Boss teaches wherein the modifier defines an equivalence between the first resource type and the second resource type (Col. 3, lines 42-59; Col. 4, line 65 through Col. 5, line 6: For instance, if the first resource is CPU, then one virtual machine may indicate that it is running an application that could give up a quantity of CPU (e.g., where at least that quantity of CPU is currently allocated to it) in exchange for another quantity of memory (which may be done, as shown in the substitution matrix 100 of FIG. 1, by using the increased memory to increase the cache size for instructions or data, so as to decrease the application's need for CPU).; Col. 3, line 42 through Col. 4, line 3).
Regarding claim 4, Boss teaches wherein the second resource type is provided to replace the first resource type at the periodic rate and the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further configure the processor to: automatically provide the second resource type to the resource requester to replace the first resource type (Col. 5, lines 9-23: As used herein, a trade-off group may refer to a set of one or more applications running in the virtual computing environment that can together use quantities of one or more alternate resource types as a substitute for the desired quantity of a first (e.g., scarce) resource type. An example trade-off group might be a single application that can relinquish the desired quantity of the scarce resource type in exchange for a substituted quantity of a single alternate resource type. Another example trade-off group might be two applications that can each relinquish half of the desired quantity of the scarce resource type in exchange for a first substituted quantity of a first alternate resource type (to the first application) and a second substituted quantity of a second alternate resource type (to the second application); Col. 3, line 42 through Col. 4, line 3: monthly hosting/storage resource allocation).
Regarding claim 5, Boss teaches wherein the second resource type is provided to offset the first resource type at the periodic rate and the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further configure the processor to: automatically provide the second resource type to a resource account associated with the first resource type to offset the first resource type (Fig. 1 resource accounts; Col. 5, lines 13-17: An example trade-off group might be a single application that can relinquish the desired quantity of the scarce resource type in exchange for a substituted quantity of a single alternate resource type.; Col. 3, line 42 through Col. 4, line 3: monthly hosting/storage resource allocation).
Regarding claim 9, Boss teaches wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further configure the processor to:
send, via the communications module and to a computing device, a signal causing the computing device to display a user interface that includes a recommendation for providing the second resource type to replace or offset the first resource type at the periodic rate and a selectable interface element for accepting the recommendation; and receive, via the communications module and from the computing device, a signal indicating selection of the selectable interface element for accepting the recommendation (Col. 8, lines 1-19: in some embodiments, user input may be used in determining whether a potential resource substitution will be acceptable. For example, in some embodiments, feedback from a user of a virtual machine may be used to determine whether a potential substitution may be made. This may be done in situations where the users may want more control over their experiences. Such an ability to control whether a potential resource substitution is acceptable may be significant to a user in a case where a potential resource substitution may be technically feasible but is still not acceptable to the user based on the user's preferences or characteristics of the application.; Col. 3, line 64; Col. 3, line 42 through Col. 4, line 3: monthly hosting/storage resource allocation).
Regarding claim 10, Boss teaches wherein the first resource type is provided from a first resource account and the second resource type is provided from a second resource account (Fig. 1; Col. 3, line 13-41: Turning now to FIG. 1, shown is a resource substitution matrix 100, which includes several of these potential resource substitutions. By using the resource substitutions shown in this matrix, it may be possible to effectively free up certain scarce resource types from applications so that these resources can be reallocated to elsewhere within a virtual computing environment. As used herein, a scarce resource type may refer to any resource type that a virtual machine (or application) has requested for which there may not be enough of that resource type freely available within the relevant virtual computing environment to fulfill the request or at least not enough freely available to fulfill the request without reducing the free quantity of that resource type to an unacceptable level. In the illustrated embodiment, a chart shows five resource types that may be available for trade-off to relieve the impact of a situation wherein one of the other of those five resource types is scarce. These resource types include central processing unit (CPU), for example as measured in gigahertz (GHz); memory, for example as measured in kilobytes (KB); network (i.e., network bandwidth), for example as measured in megabytes per second (MB/Sec); storage, for example as measured in gigabytes (GB); and graphics processing unit (GPU), for example as measured in gigahertz (GHz). In practice, resource substitutions may occur at the individual virtual machine or application level and may be hardcoded into an application or coded in a more flexible manner so as to allow the application to respond appropriately to the conditions of the virtual computing environment.).
Regarding claim 11, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 12, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 13, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 14, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 15, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 5 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 19, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 9 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 20, it is a media/product type claim having similar limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Claims 6-7 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boss and Sivak, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Kernick et al. (US 2021/0049128 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Boss teaches wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further configure the processor to:
obtain, via the communications module, usage data (Col. 8, lines 21-25: For example, in some embodiments, the monitoring client may only provide to the host system with a list of the types of applications that are running on the machine and the resource usage (by type and quantity) by each application);
analyze the usage data to determine that a service provided by the resource requester is not being used (Col. 2 lines 51-61: For example, in determining the total quantity of each resource type that is made available to applications running in a given virtual computing environment, a balance may need to be struck between a desire to avoid waste by minimizing the quantity of free resources within the virtual computing environment (i.e., to maximize the percentage of each resource type that is currently allocated to applications) and a competing desire to ensure that there is not overutilization of resources (i.e., to avoid running out of one or more resource types and thereby causing a failure in one or more applications)).
Boss teaches in at least Col. 8, lines 1-19 a display for receiving confirmation from a user regarding a resource substitution but Boss nor Sivak do not explicitly teach responsive to determining that the service provided by the resource requester is not being used, send, via the communications module and to a computing device, a signal causing the computing device to display a user interface that includes a recommendation for cancelling the service provided by the resource requester and a selectable interface element for accepting the recommendation.
However, Kernick teaches responsive to determining that the service provided by the resource requester is not being used, send, via the communications module and to a computing device, a signal causing the computing device to display a user interface that includes a recommendation for cancelling the service provided by the resource requester and a selectable interface element for accepting the recommendation ([0058] the GUI can present a prompt recommending that the user delete their account and/or cancel their subscription applications identified to be uninstalled and/or confirmed by the user to be uninstalled.; [0140] In various embodiments, the subset of the set of deletion candidate data includes an entirety of application data for one of the plurality of applications. Facilitating deletion of the subset of the set of deletion candidate data includes facilitating uninstalling of the one of the plurality of applications. In various embodiments, the deletion criteria data includes an unused application condition. The entirety of application data for the one of the plurality of applications is included in the subset of the set of deletion candidate data in response to determining the one of the plurality of applications has not been opened for at least a threshold amount of time.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kernick of offering suggestions to a user to terminate idle applications to free resources with the teachings of Boss and Sivak to relinquish resources needed by other applications. The modification would have been motivated by the desire of optimizing resource utilization.
Regarding claim 7, Kernick teaches wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further configure the processor to:
receive, via the communications module and from the computing device, a signal indicating selection of the selectable interface element for accepting the recommendation (Fig. 2A User Input; [0037] A deletion confirmation prompt 244 can be presented to the user, prompting the user to select which ones of the deletion data file subset should be deleted and/or archived.); and send, via the communications module and to a third party server associated with the resource requester, a signal requesting cancellation of the service provided by the resource requester (Fig. 2A: Confirmed deletion data file subset to Deletion Module 230).
Regarding claim 8, Boss teaches wherein the usage data includes at least one of network data obtained from a third party server associated with the resource requester or location data obtained from the computing device (Col. 7, lines 39-44: For example, if the scarce resource type is storage, then the monitoring client might determine that an application running on the virtual machine can either free up 2 GB of storage by modifying the manner in which it is using its current allocation of memory or free up 3 GB of storage by obtaining an extra 20 MB/Sec of the host system's free network bandwidth.; Col. 11, lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 16, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 17, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 7 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 18, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 8 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Remarks Applicant states:
(I) Applicant's claims instead require detection of a recurring provisioning relationship between the system and a requester, which is a different data object serving a different technical purpose. The distinction is dispositive: Applicant's claimed subject matter is directed to detecting a recurring provisioning relationships, whereas Sivak is directed to internal consumption behavior for forecasting purposes.
In view of the above, examiner submits the following.
As to point (I)
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., claims instead require detection of a recurring provisioning relationship between the system and a requester, which is a different data object serving a different technical purpose. The distinction is dispositive: Applicant's claimed subject matter is directed to detecting a recurring provisioning relationships) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
/JORGE A CHU JOY-DAVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195