DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bechtel et al. (US 5,182,632; hereinafter “Bechtel”).
Regarding claim 22, Bechtel teaches a multi-cavity package, comprising: a single metal flange having first and second opposing main surfaces (a heatsink 104 formed of metal having top and bottom main surfaces) (Fig. 3A and cols. 6-7); and a dielectric material (an interconnect structure 114 including a dielectric material) attached to the first main surface of the single metal flange (Fig. 3A and cols. 6-7); wherein the dielectric material comprises a main portion (a center portion of 114 including apertures 116), a lateral extension protruding out from the main portion (a lateral left-side portion of 114 including left-side corners 88 protruding out from the center portion of 114) and a further lateral extension protruding out from the main portion away from the lateral extension (a lateral right-side portion of 114 including right-side corners 88 protruding out from the center portion of 114) (Fig. 3A and col. 6); and wherein the main portion comprises: a first surface facing the single metal flange (a bottom surface of 114 facing 104) (Fig. 3A); a second surface facing away from the first surface (a top surface of 114 facing away from 104) (Fig. 3A); and a plurality of openings exposing respective regions of the first main surface of the single metal flange (apertures 116 exposing regions of 104A for placing 110A-110D therein) (Fig. 3A and col. 6).
Regarding claim 23, Bechtel teaches further comprising a metal trace (a portion of metallization 202 and/or 210 on the top surface of 114) disposed on the second surface of the single dielectric material and configured to provide an input or output electrical pathway for the region of the first main surface exposed by one of the openings (202 and/or 210 providing input/output to and from the chips 110A-110D with wirings 118) (Figs. 3A-3C and cols. 6-8).
Regarding claim 24, Bechtel teaches further comprising a semiconductor die (one of 110A-110D) and a further semiconductor die (another one of 110A-110D) disposed in respective ones of the openings and attached to the first main surface of the single metal flange (Figs. 3A-3C and col. 6).
Regarding claim 26, Bechtel teaches wherein: the dielectric material supports a further metal trace (another portion of 202/210) configured to electrically interconnect the semiconductor dies to form a circuit (110A-110D with interconnects/traces including 202/210); and the metal trace and further metal trace are comprised in a single layer (204/208) disposed on the second surface of the dielectric material (Figs. 3A-3B and cols. 6-7).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuzaki et al. (US 5,754,402; hereinafter “Matsuzaki”).
Regarding claim 22, Matsuzaki teaches a multi-cavity package, comprising: a single metal flange having first and second opposing main surfaces (a stem 30 formed of metal having top and bottom main surfaces) (Figs. 1-3 and cols. 4-6); and a dielectric material (a wiring substrate 50 including a dielectric material) attached to the first main surface of the single metal flange (Figs. 1-3 and cols. 4-6); wherein the dielectric material comprises a main portion (a center portion of 50 including through holes 52a and 52b), a lateral extension protruding out from the main portion (a lateral left-side portion of 50 protruding out from the center portion of 50 in a x-axis as shown in Fig. 1) and a further lateral extension protruding out from the main portion away from the lateral extension (a lateral right-side portion of 50 protruding out from the center portion of 50 in the x-axis as shown in Fig. 1) (Fig. 1 and cols. 4-6); and wherein the main portion comprises: a first surface facing the single metal flange (a bottom surface of 50 facing 30) (Figs. 1-3); a second surface facing away from the first surface (a top surface of 50 facing away from 30) (Figs. 1-3); and a plurality of openings exposing respective regions of the first main surface of the single metal flange (through holes 52a and 52b exposing regions of 30 for placing semiconductor chips 70a and 70b therein) (Figs. 1-3 and cols. 4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bechtel.
Regarding claim 25, While Bechtel does not explicitly teach that at least one of the semiconductor dies (one of 110A-110D) is an amplifier die, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the at least one of the semiconductor dies (110A-110D) from Bechtel as the amplifier die in order to obtain the package having multiple semiconductor IC chips from Bechtel with desired functional characteristics such as amplifying the signal, etc.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 5-11, 14-15, 18-19, 27, 30-32, and 34-37 are allowable over the cited prior arts. Reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter is discussed in the Office Action dated 12/08/2025. Withdrawn claims 3-4, 12-13, and 16, which depend from allowable claim 1, would be rejoined when the instant application is in condition for allowance since these claims require all the limitations of allowable claim 1. See MPEP § 804.01.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 22 has been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejections by previously cited prior arts Matsuzaki et al. (US 5,754,402) and Bechtel et al. (US 5,182,632) as set forth above in this Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL WHALEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893