DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-8 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see amendment, filed 3/5/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Liu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (“Chemical Vapor Deposition Growth of Linked Carbon Monolayers with Acetylenic Scaffoldings on Silver Foil”, reference is made to the Applicant provided publication and the Supporting Information for that publication previously supplied).
Regarding claims 1-7, Liu teaches a method of preparing graphyne (last paragraph of first page and Figure 1) comprising: supplying a precursor, 1,3,5-triethynylbenzene
(first full paragraph, page 4) to a chamber using an inert gas (Figure 1a), comprising a first zone where the precursor is vaporized (Figure 1a and 2nd full paragraph, page 4) and then to a second zone where the precursor is deposited on a Ag substrate to form the graphyne by a surface-coupling reaction (Figure 1a and 2nd full paragraph, page 4). Liu teaches that forming the graphyne comprises binding the precursor to the metal substrate; performing a surface-coupling reaction between the precursors; and then separating atoms of the substrate bound to the precursor during the surface-coupling reaction (Figure 1b). Additionally, Liu teaches the first zone having a temperature of 60 ºC and the second zone having a higher temperature of 150 ºC. Liu fails to teach the temperature in the first zone is 30-50 ºC and the temperature in the second zone is 50-80 ºC.
However, adjusting the temperature will adjust the rate of vaporization as well as the rate the reaction occurs and the resultant structure and uniformity of the deposited graphyne. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
2. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Zhang et al. (“Nitrogen-Doped Graphdiyne Applied for Lithium-Ion Storage”).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach the graphyne being doped. However, Zhang teaches doping graphyne with nitrogen (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu’s process by treating the as prepared graphyne to dope it with nitrogen as disclosed by Zhang. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Zhang teaches the nitrogen doped graphyne yields enhanced electrochemical properties (abstract).
Conclusion
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Claims 1-8 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
March 22, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717