Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 16th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 21-40 remain pending in the application. Applicant's amendments to the Specification and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(d) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final office Action mailed September 19th, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 32-34, and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Doylend et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20170184450 A1), hereinafter Doylend in view of Chen et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20200249351 A1), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 21, Doylend teaches a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system for a vehicle ([title]) comprising:
an optical switch network configured to selectively provide coherent light to one or more of a plurality of output waveguides ([0057] Mux/demux 330 represents a waveguide demultiplexer for transmitted signals and a waveguide multiplexer for received signals. Mux/demux 330 could alternatively be referred to as a splitter/combiner. The optical signal is split into multiple different waveguides in phased array 332.);
a switchable coherent pixel array (SCPA) including coherent pixels (CPs) configured to emit coherent light provided by a corresponding output waveguide of the plurality of output waveguides ([0057] Mux/demux 330 represents a waveguide demultiplexer for transmitted signals and a waveguide multiplexer for received signals. Mux/demux 330 could alternatively be referred to as a splitter/combiner. The optical signal is split into multiple different waveguides in phased array 332; [0058] Phased array 332 conveys the signals to one or more emitter portions of emitter array 334 for transmission from photonic IC 320);
a monitoring assembly including a plurality of photodetectors configured to generate output signals responsive to a level of light detected from a corresponding output waveguide of the plurality of output waveguides ([0083] The waveguides transfer the phased array of signals to coupler(s) 534, which can also be referred to as emitters, to transmit the signals out of system 500. Thus, the light signal can be a steered beam emitted from the circuit or chip and monitoring hardware (e.g., photodetectors and processing hardware) can monitor a far field beam shape formed by the relative phases introduced into the individual components of the optical signal.);
Doylend fails to teach the system wherein the optical switch network is calibrated by adjusting a drive strength of switch drivers for the optical switch network based on output signals from the monitoring assembly.
However, Chen teaches a system wherein the optical switch network is calibrated by adjusting a drive strength of switch drivers for the optical switch network based on output signals from the monitoring assembly ([Fig. 1]; [0021] This electronic module may include an MCU 50, an LD driving circuit 51, a trans-impedance amplifier(TIA) 52, an echo cancelling circuit 53, a multi-line generation driving circuit 57, and a driving circuit 59. The first echo cancelling circuit 53 may include discrete elements in an example.; [0023] First, after I/Q detection in coherent receiving unit 34, currents may be computed in current mode computational circuits 531,532 arranged between the balanced detector 345, 346 and the TIAs 533, 534. Computed currents may then be amplified and sent to ADCs 55-1 and 55-2. Second, following the ADCs 55-1, 55-2 which are generally integrated in the MCU 50, an echo detection scheme 565 is implemented within the MCU 50 to generate feedback control signals.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Doylend to comprise the optical switch network, calibrating a drive strength based on output signals, similar to Chen, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of self-correcting the switch network to remain coherency in an evolving range of environments.
Regarding claim 22, Doylend, as modified, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 21, wherein the monitoring assembly comprises: a plurality of optical couplers that are configured to tap a portion of the coherent light provided to the plurality of output waveguides and provide the portion of light to the plurality of photodetectors ([0057] In one embodiment, photonics IC 320 includes monitor photodetector 336 to tap off optical power to feed back into beam control 350, to enable beam control 350 to appropriately adjust the beamsteering operation of phased array 332.).
Regarding claim 23, Doylend, as modified, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 22, wherein at least one of the optical couplers has a corresponding photodetector of the plurality of photodetectors to which the optical coupler provides a tapped portion of the coherent light ([0057] In one embodiment, photonics IC 320 includes monitor photodetector 336 to tap off optical power to feed back into beam control 350, to enable beam control 350 to appropriately adjust the beamsteering operation of phased array 332.).
Regarding claim 32, Doylend, as modified, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 21, further comprising: a first splitter on the LiDAR chip, the first splitter configured to split the coherent light into a first portion and a second portion, wherein the coherent light is chirped according to a waveform and the second portion of coherent light is the coherent light that the optical switch network selectively provides to the one or more of the plurality of output waveguides; and an interferometer on the LiDAR chip, the interferometer configured to generate signals using the first portion of the coherent light; wherein a shape of the waveform is controlled based in part on the I and Q signals in order to compensate for deviations in laser frequency ([0047] Modulator 224 can be a high speed modulator. In one embodiment, modulator 224 can be a Mach-Zehnder modulator using either carrier depletion, carrier injection, or an applied electrical field to apply phase tuning to the two arms of an interferometer, thus creating constructive and destructive interference between the optical beams propagating in the two arms to induce amplitude modulation.).
Regarding claim 33, Doylend teaches a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system for a vehicle ([title]), the LiDAR system comprising:
a first splitter configured to split coherent light into a first portion and a second portion, wherein the coherent light is chirped according to a waveform; an interferometer configured to generate an in-phase (I) signal and a quadrature(Q) signal using the first portion of the coherent light ([0047] Modulator 224 can be a high speed modulator. In one embodiment, modulator 224 can be a Mach-Zehnder modulator using either carrier depletion, carrier injection, or an applied electrical field to apply phase tuning to the two arms of an interferometer, thus creating constructive and destructive interference between the optical beams propagating in the two arms to induce amplitude modulation.);
an optical switch network configured to selectively provide the second portion of the coherent light to one or more of a plurality of output waveguides ([0057] Mux/demux 330 represents a waveguide demultiplexer for transmitted signals and a waveguide multiplexer for received signals. Mux/demux 330 could alternatively be referred to as a splitter/combiner. The optical signal is split into multiple different waveguides in phased array 332.);
a switchable coherent pixel array (SCPA) including coherent pixels (CPs) configured to emit coherent light provided by a corresponding output waveguide of the plurality of output waveguides ([0057] Mux/demux 330 represents a waveguide demultiplexer for transmitted signals and a waveguide multiplexer for received signals. Mux/demux 330 could alternatively be referred to as a splitter/combiner. The optical signal is split into multiple different waveguides in phased array 332; [0058] Phased array 332 conveys the signals to one or more emitter portions of emitter array 334 for transmission from photonic IC 320);
Doylend fails to teach the system wherein the optical switch network is calibrated by adjusting a drive strength of switch drivers for the optical switch network based on output signals from the monitoring assembly.
However, Chen teaches a system wherein the optical switch network is calibrated by adjusting a drive strength of switch drivers for the optical switch network based on output signals from the monitoring assembly ([Fig. 1]; [0021] This electronic module may include an MCU 50, an LD driving circuit 51, a trans-impedance amplifier(TIA) 52, an echo cancelling circuit 53, a multi-line generation driving circuit 57, and a driving circuit 59. The first echo cancelling circuit 53 may include discrete elements in an example.; [0023] First, after I/Q detection in coherent receiving unit 34, currents may be computed in current mode computational circuits 531,532 arranged between the balanced detector 345, 346 and the TIAs 533, 534. Computed currents may then be amplified and sent to ADCs 55-1 and 55-2. Second, following the ADCs 55-1, 55-2 which are generally integrated in the MCU 50, an echo detection scheme 565 is implemented within the MCU 50 to generate feedback control signals.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Doylend to comprise the optical switch network, calibrating a drive strength based on output signals, similar to Chen, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of self-correcting the switch network to remain coherency in an evolving range of environments.
Regarding claim 34, Doylend, as modified, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 33, further comprising: a temperature sensor configured to monitor a temperature of a delay arm of the interferometer, wherein the controller uses the monitored temperature to compensate for temperature induced deviations in refractive index of the delay arm ([0031] Control logic applies a current to the resistive heaters to create more or less heat. Based on the change in temperature, the phase of signals in the waveguides will vary. Control over the heating can control the phase of the signals and steer the beam.).
Regarding claim 39, Doylend, as modified, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 33, further comprising: a monitoring assembly that is on the LiDAR chip, the monitoring assembly including a plurality of photodetectors, and each of the plurality of photodetectors is configured to generate an output signal responsive to a level of light detected from a corresponding output waveguide of the plurality of output waveguides ([0057] In one embodiment, photonics IC 320 includes monitor photodetector 336 to tap off optical power to feed back into beam control 350, to enable beam control 350 to appropriately adjust the beamsteering operation of phased array 332.),
wherein the optical switch network is calibrated by adjusting a drive strength of switch drivers for the optical switch network based on output signals from the monitoring assembly ([0064] Photonic IC 380 integrates optical/photonic components that enable modulating a bit sequence onto a steerable beam to transmit to a target. Photonic IC 380 is separate from detection components to receive signal reflections, as illustrated by separate lens 380 and high bandwidth photodetector 384; [0065] DC source 312, laser 322, modulator 324, code generator 314, coupler 326, POA 328, mux 330, phased array 332, emitter array 334, monitor PD 336, and beam control 350 of photonic IC 380 can be the same as similar components in photonic IC 320 of system 302).
Regarding claim 40, Doylend teaches a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system ([title]) comprising:
a first splitter configured to split coherent light into a first portion and a second portion, wherein the coherent light is chirped according to a waveform; an interferometer configured to generate an in-phase (I) signal and a quadrature (Q) signal using the first portion of the coherent light ([0047] Modulator 224 can be a high speed modulator. In one embodiment, modulator 224 can be a Mach-Zehnder modulator using either carrier depletion, carrier injection, or an applied electrical field to apply phase tuning to the two arms of an interferometer, thus creating constructive and destructive interference between the optical beams propagating in the two arms to induce amplitude modulation.);
an optical switch network configured to selectively provide the second portion of the coherent light to one or more of a plurality of output waveguides ([0057] Mux/demux 330 represents a waveguide demultiplexer for transmitted signals and a waveguide multiplexer for received signals. Mux/demux 330 could alternatively be referred to as a splitter/combiner. The optical signal is split into multiple different waveguides in phased array 332.);
a switchable coherent pixel array (SCPA) including coherent pixels (CPs) configured to emit coherent light provided by a corresponding output waveguide of the plurality of output waveguides ([0057] Mux/demux 330 represents a waveguide demultiplexer for transmitted signals and a waveguide multiplexer for received signals. Mux/demux 330 could alternatively be referred to as a splitter/combiner. The optical signal is split into multiple different waveguides in phased array 332; [0058] Phased array 332 conveys the signals to one or more emitter portions of emitter array 334 for transmission from photonic IC 320); and
a monitoring assembly including a plurality of photodetectors configured to generate an output signal responsive to a level of light detected from a corresponding output waveguide of the plurality of output waveguides; ([0057] In one embodiment, photonics IC 320 includes monitor photodetector 336 to tap off optical power to feed back into beam control 350, to enable beam control 350 to appropriately adjust the beamsteering operation of phased array 332.);
a lens system that is positioned to direct coherent light emitted from the SCPA into an environment as one or more light beams ([0058] Emitter array 334 outputs steered beam 342 via lens 340 toward the target.),
Doylend fails to teach the system wherein the optical switch network is calibrated by adjusting a drive strength of switch drivers for the optical switch network based on output signals from the monitoring assembly.
However, Chen teaches a system wherein the optical switch network is calibrated by adjusting a drive strength of switch drivers for the optical switch network based on output signals from the monitoring assembly ([Fig. 1]; [0021] This electronic module may include an MCU 50, an LD driving circuit 51, a trans-impedance amplifier(TIA) 52, an echo cancelling circuit 53, a multi-line generation driving circuit 57, and a driving circuit 59. The first echo cancelling circuit 53 may include discrete elements in an example.; [0023] First, after I/Q detection in coherent receiving unit 34, currents may be computed in current mode computational circuits 531,532 arranged between the balanced detector 345, 346 and the TIAs 533, 534. Computed currents may then be amplified and sent to ADCs 55-1 and 55-2. Second, following the ADCs 55-1, 55-2 which are generally integrated in the MCU 50, an echo detection scheme 565 is implemented within the MCU 50 to generate feedback control signals.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Doylend to comprise the optical switch network, calibrating a drive strength based on output signals, similar to Chen, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of self-correcting the switch network to remain coherency in an evolving range of environments.
Claims 24-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doylend in view of Chen, further in view of Skirlo et al. (United States Patent No. 10261389 B2), hereinafter Skirlo.
Regarding claim 24, Doylend, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 21,
Doylend fails to teach the system wherein the LiDAR system includes n channels, and each channel includes a respective optical switch network, a respective SCPA that includes N coherent pixels, and a respective monitoring assembly, the optical switch network, the SCPA, and the monitoring assembly are part of a first channel, and n and N are integers, and each photodetector of each of the monitoring assemblies has a corresponding row value that ranges from 1 to N and has a corresponding channel value that ranges from 1 to n.
However, Skirlo teaches the system wherein the LiDAR system includes n channels, and each channel includes a respective optical switch network, a respective SCPA that includes N coherent pixels, and a respective monitoring assembly ([Col. 12, lines 60-66] FIG. 9 shows an integrated optical beamforming system 900 that scales the basic design to add functionality for N independently controllable beams. A seed from a tunable source 980 is split into 16 waveguides with a 1 by 16 power splitter 910a. Each of these 16 power splitter outputs feeds into its own preamplifier 982 and heterodyne detection unit 990, [Col. 13, lines 3-9] A planar dielectric lens 920 collimates the outputs of the amplifier array 912 for diffraction by an output coupler 930, such as a 1D grating or 2D photonic crystal. Here, 128 independent beams with scanning ranges limited to 128 non-overlapping subsectors of the far field can be realized by turning on and off amplifiers connected to a given heterodyne detector.),
the optical switch network, the SCPA, and the monitoring assembly are part of a first channel, and n and N are integers ([Col. 12, lines 64-65] Each of these 16 power splitter outputs feeds into its own preamplifier 982 and heterodyne detection unit 990), and
each photodetector of each of the monitoring assemblies has a corresponding row value that ranges from 1 to N and has a corresponding channel value that ranges from 1 to n ([Col. 12, lines 62-64] A seed from a tunable source 980 is split into 16 waveguides with a 1 by 16 power splitter 910a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Doylend to comprise the n channel optical switch network with N pixels similar to Skirlo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of compartmentalizing each beam dedicated to specific waveguide and pixel, thus reducing the dependency of one beam on another and deploying greater control over individual components of the system.
Regarding claim 25, Doylend, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 24,
Doylend fails to teach the system wherein first electrodes of photodetectors having a same channel value are coupled together to form respective first nodes, such that there are n first nodes.
However, Skirlo teaches the system wherein first electrodes of photodetectors having a same channel value are coupled together to form respective first nodes, such that there are n first nodes (Fig. 9; [Col. 12, lines 62-64] A seed from a tunable source 980 is split into 16 waveguides with a 1 by 16 power splitter 910a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Doylend to comprise the n nodes similar to Skirlo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of implementing the system of n waveguides in a configuration known in the art.
Regarding claim 26, Doylend, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 25,
Doylend fails to teach the system wherein second electrodes of photodetectors having a same row value and different channel values are coupled together to form respective second nodes, such that there are N second nodes.
However, Skirlo teaches the system wherein second electrodes of photodetectors having a same row value and different channel values are coupled together to form respective second nodes, such that there are N second nodes ([Col. 12, line 67 - Col. 13, line 3] In turn, these feed 16 separate sections of the array with a power splitter 910b coupled to an array of 30 dB amplifiers 912 (here, 128 amplifiers) actuated by digital control electronics 970).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Doylend to comprise the N nodes similar to Skirlo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of implementing the system of n waveguides with N pixels in a configuration known in the art.
Regarding claim 27, Doylend, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 26,
Doylend fails to teach the system wherein the first electrodes are anodes, and the second electrodes are cathodes.
However, Skirlo teaches the system wherein the first electrodes are anodes, and the second electrodes are cathodes (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Doylend to comprise the anodes and cathodes similar to Skirlo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of maintaining continuity in the electrical system as known in the art.
Regarding claim 28, Doylend, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 26,
Doylend fails to teach the system wherein the n first nodes are electrically coupled to a first switch, and the N second nodes are electrically coupled to a second switch, and the first switch and the second switch are configured to selectively read out any photodetector of any of the monitoring assemblies.
However, Skirlo teaches the system wherein the n first nodes are electrically coupled to a first switch, and the N second nodes are electrically coupled to a second switch, and the first switch and the second switch are configured to selectively read out any photodetector of any of the monitoring assemblies (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Doylend to comprise the electrical coupling similar to Skirlo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of implementing the waveguide configuration in a solid state lidar system.
Regarding claim 29, Doylend, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 23,
Doylend fails to teach the system further comprising a plurality of optical switch cells, and the plurality of optical switch cells, the plurality of optical couplers, and the plurality of photodetectors are positioned to form a binary tree having a plurality of levels.
However, Skirlo teaches the system further comprising a plurality of optical switch cells, and the plurality of optical switch cells, the plurality of optical couplers, and the plurality of photodetectors are positioned to form a binary tree having a plurality of levels ([Col. 13, lines 41-45] The system 100 in FIG. 1A includes a 1-to-N optical matrix 110. In the embodiments shown in FIGS. 8, 9 and 10A, the switch matrix is replaced by one or two passive 1-to-N splitter trees coupled to an array of N semiconductor amplifier switches).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Doylend to comprise the binary tree similar to Skirlo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of configuring the system as described into a logically organized branching system of optical waveguides.
Regarding claim 30, Doylend, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 29,
Doylend fails to teach the system wherein for a first level of the plurality of levels, outputs of the photodetectors with odd indices are connected together to form a first node that is coupled to a first receiver, and outputs of the photodetectors with even indices are connected together to form a second node that is coupled to a second receiver; for a second level of the plurality of levels, outputs of the photodetectors with odd indices are connected together to form a third node that is coupled to a third receiver, and outputs of the photodetectors with even indices are connected together to form a fourth node that is coupled to a fourth receiver.
However, Skirlo teaches the system wherein for a first level of the plurality of levels, outputs of the photodetectors with odd indices are connected together to form a first node that is coupled to a first receiver, and outputs of the photodetectors with even indices are connected together to form a second node that is coupled to a second receiver (Fig. 9; [Col. 12, lines 64-66] Each of these 16 power splitter outputs feeds into its own preamplifier 982 and heterodyne detection unit 990, which are coupled to signal processing electronics 992);
for a second level of the plurality of levels ([Col. 14, lines 1-2] Thus a 1-to-128 splitter tree has 7 levels of splitting),
outputs of the photodetectors with odd indices are connected together to form a third node that is coupled to a third receiver, and outputs of the photodetectors with even indices are connected together to form a fourth node that is coupled to a fourth receiver (Fig. 9; [Col. 12, lines 64-66] Each of these 16 power splitter outputs feeds into its own preamplifier 982 and heterodyne detection unit 990, which are coupled to signal processing electronics 992).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Doylend to comprise the indexed output to photodetectors and receivers at two levels similar to Skirlo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of routinely checking and configuring the outgoing signal at two junctions for calibration purposes.
Regarding claim 31, Doylend, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 30, wherein, the LiDAR system includes n channels, and each channel includes a respective optical switch network, a respective SCPA, and a respective monitoring assembly, the optical switch network, the SCPA, and the monitoring assembly are part of a first channel, and n is an integer ([0057] Mux/demux 330 represents a waveguide demultiplexer for transmitted signals and a waveguide multiplexer for received signals. Mux/demux 330 could alternatively be referred to as a splitter/combiner. The optical signal is split into multiple different waveguides in phased array 332; [0058] Phased array 332 conveys the signals to one or more emitter portions of emitter array 334 for transmission from photonic IC 320)
Doylend fails to teach the system wherein each channel includes a plurality of optical switch cells, a plurality of optical couplers, and a plurality of photodetectors that are positioned to form a binary tree having a plurality of levels; and for each of the n channels, outputs of the photodetectors, at a same level of the plurality of levels, that have odd indices are connected to the first receiver, and that have even indices are connected to the second receiver.
However, Skirlo teaches the system wherein each channel includes a plurality of optical switch cells, a plurality of optical couplers, and a plurality of photodetectors that are positioned to form a binary tree having a plurality of levels ([Col. 13, lines 41-45] The system 100 in FIG. 1A includes a 1-to-N optical matrix 110. In the embodiments shown in FIGS. 8, 9 and 10A, the switch matrix is replaced by one or two passive 1-to-N splitter trees coupled to an array of N semiconductor amplifier switches); and
for each of the n channels, outputs of the photodetectors, at a same level of the plurality of levels, that have odd indices are connected to the first receiver, and that have even indices are connected to the second receiver (Fig. 9; [Col. 12, lines 64-66] Each of these 16 power splitter outputs feeds into its own preamplifier 982 and heterodyne detection unit 990, which are coupled to signal processing electronics 992).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Doylend to comprise the binary tree and indexing of receivers similar to Skirlo, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of organizing the waveguides in such a way as to be predictable and organized within a solid state lidar system, as is known in the art.
Claims 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doylend in view of Chen, further in view of Crouch et al. (United States Patent No. 10838061 B1), hereinafter Crouch.
Regarding claim 35, Doylend, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 33, wherein the interferometer comprises: a second splitter configured to split the first portion of coherent light into a first arm and a second arm, wherein the second arm introduces delay ([0047] Modulator 224 can be a high speed modulator. In one embodiment, modulator 224 can be a Mach-Zehnder modulator using either carrier depletion, carrier injection, or an applied electrical field to apply phase tuning to the two arms of an interferometer, thus creating constructive and destructive interference between the optical beams propagating in the two arms to induce amplitude modulation.);
Doylend fails to teach the system wherein an optical hybrid combiner configured to receive light output from the first arm and the second arm, and output light that is optically phase shifted relative to each other across a first output, a second output, a third output, and a fourth output; a first balanced photodetector configured to generate the I signal using the first output and the third output; and a second balanced photodetector configured to generate the Q signal using the second output and the fourth output.
However, Crouch teaches the system wherein an optical hybrid combiner configured to receive light output from the first arm and the second arm, and output light that is optically phase shifted relative to each other across a first output, a second output, a third output, and a fourth output (Fig. 3B; [Col. 14, lines 6-7] The Hybrid mixer outputs four optical signals, termed I+, I−, Q+, and Q−, respectively);
a first balanced photodetector configured to generate the I signal using the first output and the third output ([Col. 13, line 50] balanced photodetectors 331; [Col. 14, lines 51-55] The two in-phase components I+ and I− are combined at a balanced detector pair to produce the RF electrical signal I on channel 1 (Ch1) and the two quadrature components Q+ and Q− are combined at a second balanced detector pair to produce the RF electrical signal Q on channel 2 (Ch2)); and
a second balanced photodetector configured to generate the Q signal using the second output and the fourth output ([Col. 13, line 50] balanced photodetectors 331; [Col. 14, lines 51-55] The two in-phase components I+ and I− are combined at a balanced detector pair to produce the RF electrical signal I on channel 1 (Ch1) and the two quadrature components Q+ and Q− are combined at a second balanced detector pair to produce the RF electrical signal Q on channel 2 (Ch2)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Doylend to comprise the optical hybrid outputting structure I and Q channels similar to Crouch, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of generating a full phase and frequency information from the incoming signals.
Regarding claim 36, Doylend, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 33,
Doylend fails to teach the system wherein a controller is configured to: identify deviations in frequency of the coherent light based in part on the I and Q signals, and control a shape of the waveform based in part on to compensate for the identified deviations.
However, Crouch teaches the system wherein a controller is configured to: identify deviations in frequency of the coherent light based in part on the I and Q signals ([Col. 15, lines 5-8] The Doppler compensation module 371 then uses the signals I and Q to determine, over a time period of a first duration that is at least the duration of one block of code, one or more Doppler shifts ω.sub.D, with corresponding speeds.), and
control a shape of the waveform based in part on to compensate for the identified deviations ([Col. 13, lines 58-63] The digital code module 372 in the processing system 350 sends an electrical signal that indicates a digital code (e.g. M blocks, each block with the phase code duration N*τ) of symbols to be imposed as phase changes on the optical carrier. The phase modulator 320 imposes the phase changes on the optical carrier, as described above.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Doylend to comprise the frequency identification and beam calibration based on that information similar to Crouch, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of calibrating the whole system based on real-time target information in the environment.
Regarding claim 37, Doylend, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 36,
Doylend fails to teach the system wherein the coherent light is generated using a seed laser and a laser modulator, and the laser modular is driven by a modulator driver, and the controller controls the shape of the waveform by controlling the modulator driver.
However, Crouch teaches the system wherein the coherent light is generated using a seed laser and a laser modulator, and the laser modular is driven by a modulator driver, and the controller controls the shape of the waveform by controlling the modulator driver ([Col. 13, lines 58-65] The digital code module 372 in the processing system 350 sends an electrical signal that indicates a digital code (e.g. M blocks, each block with the phase code duration N*τ) of symbols to be imposed as phase changes on the optical carrier. The phase modulator 320 imposes the phase changes on the optical carrier, as described above. The phase-encoded optical signal output by the phase modulator 320 is transmitted through some optical couplers,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Doylend to comprise the seed laser and laser modulator driven and controlled by the driver similar to Crouch, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of calibrating and forming a desired beam frequency and intensity for a variety of real-world environments.
Regarding claim 38, Doylend, as modified above, teaches the LiDAR system of claim 36,
Doylend fails to teach the system wherein the I and Q signals are processed, and the controller is configured to: determine phases of the processed I and Q signals; determine an instantaneous frequency of the coherent light using the phases of the I and Q signals; and identify the deviations in frequency of the coherent light using the determined instantaneous frequency.
However, Crouch teaches the system wherein the I and Q signals are processed, and the controller is configured to: determine phases of the processed I and Q signals ([Col. 13, lines 58-63] The digital code module 372 in the processing system 350 sends an electrical signal that indicates a digital code (e.g. M blocks, each block with the phase code duration N*τ) of symbols to be imposed as phase changes on the optical carrier. The phase modulator 320 imposes the phase changes on the optical carrier, as described above.);
determine an instantaneous frequency of the coherent light using the phases of the I and Q signals ([Col. 13, lines 11-13] In some implementations, the raw signals are processed to find the Doppler peak and that frequency, ω.sub.D, is used to correct the correlation computation and determine the correct range); and
identify the deviations in frequency of the coherent light using the determined instantaneous frequency ([Col. 15, lines 5-8] The Doppler compensation module 371 then uses the signals I and Q to determine, over a time period of a first duration that is at least the duration of one block of code, one or more Doppler shifts ω.sub.D, with corresponding speeds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Doylend to comprise the instantaneous frequency detection and determination similar to Crouch, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of providing real world comparison data for calibration and refinement of the lidar system in a real-time practical application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12 and 13, filed December 16, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21-23, 32-34, and 39-40 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen.
As stated above, the new prior art, necessitated by the amendments made by the applicant, teaches the new limitation in which the optical switch network is calibrated by an adjustment of the drive strength, or current, based on the output signal of the monitoring assembly. Reasons for obviousness to combine have been provided accordingly and the relevant citations within the specification of the publication of Chen have been provided. This new rejection, under 35 U.S.C. 103, has been reflected in the claims dependent on the independent claims above, and necessary modifications to the rejections have been made in this Final Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645