Detailed Action
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on June 16th, 2026. Claims 1 and 3-25 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 17th, 2026, was filed after the mailing date of the most recent office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 16th, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pgs. 9-11, “Remarks”) that the combination of Bok and Ye doesn’t teach the limitations presented in amended claims 1, 12, and 21.
However, as seen below, amended Claims 1, 12, and 21 are now rejected by the combination of Bok, Ye, and Choi.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate that the corresponding limitations are addressed with a secondary reference/embodiment in an obviousness analysis.
Claims 1, 3, 7-9, 12-18, and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok et al. (2017/0213873 A1; hereinafter Bok) in view of another embodiment of Bok, Ye (2019/0056829 A1; hereinafter Ye), and Choi et al. (2019/0189717 A1; hereinafter Choi).
Regarding Claim 1, Bok (figs. 1-4) teaches a transparent display device ([0101], 100, see fig. 4) comprising:
a substrate ([0109], 110, see fig. 4) provided with a plurality of transmissive areas ([0101], 30) and a non-transmissive area ([0101], 35, 15, 20, 25, see fig. 1) including a plurality of light emission areas ([0101], 15, 20, 25, see fig. 1) disposed between the transmissive areas (30) adjacent to each other;
a plurality of light emitting elements ([0109], 290, 330, 340, see fig. 4) provided in each of the plurality of light emission areas (15, 20, 25) over the substrate (110);
a plurality of touch sensors ([0103], 360, see fig. 1) provided in each of the plurality of transmissive areas (30) over the substrate (110);
a plurality of touch lines ([0106], 260, see fig. 1) provided in the non-transmissive area (provided over 35 between adjacent transmissive areas 30; [0106]: “a touch sensor wiring 260 may be disposed in the transparent region 30 and the opaque region 35”) over the substrate (110) and extended in a first direction (D2, see fig. 2);
a plurality of bridge lines provided in the non-transmissive area over the substrate and extended in a second direction and electrically connecting at least two touch sensors disposed in the second direction with one of the plurality of touch lines;
a first electrode (290) provided in each of the light emission areas (15, 20, 25) over the substrate (110);
a light emitting layer (330) provided over the first electrode (290);
a second electrode (340) disposed over the light emitting layer (330);
an encapsulation layer ([0109], 350, see fig. 4) disposed over the second electrode (340);
a touch sensor electrode (360) provided in the plurality of transmissive areas (30) to constitute the plurality of touch sensors (360); and
a first undercut structure ([0109], region located above 360 where 310 is not deposited, labeled first undercut structure, see annotated fig. 4) disposed along an edge of the plurality of transmissive areas (30),
wherein the second electrode (340) includes a cathode electrode (340) provided in the non-transmissive area (15, 20, 25) to constitute the plurality of light emitting elements (290, 330, 340), wherein
the encapsulation layer contacts end portions of the cathode electrode and the touch sensor electrode, and
wherein an end portion of the cathode electrode and an end portion of the touch sensor electrode overlap each other with the first undercut structure interposed therebetween.
Bok doesn’t explicitly teach a plurality of bridge lines provided in the non-transmissive area over the substrate and extended in a second direction and electrically connecting at least two touch sensors disposed in the second direction with one of the plurality of touch lines.
However, Bok (fig. 24), in a different embodiment, teaches a plurality of bridge lines ([0189], 264, see fig. 24) provided in the non-transmissive area (35) over the substrate (110) and extended in a second direction (D1, see fig. 24) and electrically connecting at least two touch sensors ([0191], 362) disposed in the second direction (D1) with one of the plurality of touch lines (260). Bok also teaches that this reduces the number of touch sensor wiring and increases transmissivity of the OLED ([0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the bridge lines of Bok to increase transmissivity and reduce the number of touch wiring.
Bok doesn’t explicitly teach the encapsulation layer contacts end portions of the cathode electrode and the touch sensor electrode. Bok does mention that the encapsulation layer (350) may be disposed on the cathode (340).
However, Ye (annotated fig. 8) teaches the encapsulation layer ([0067], 16) contacts end portions of the cathode electrode ([0067], 16 touches the ends of cathode electrode from layer 15, see annotated fig. 8) and the touch sensor electrode ([0073], layer 15 may be patterned to also form touch sensor electrodes, see annotated fig. 8). Ye also teaches that the encapsulation layer is formed on the patterned cathode layer, so as to protect an OLED display from the effects of moisture and oxygen ([0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the encapsulation layer of Ye to protect an OLED from moisture and oxygen.
Bok doesn’t teach an end portion of the cathode electrode and an end portion of the touch sensor electrode overlap each other with the first undercut structure interposed therebetween.
However, Choi (fig. 12) teaches an end portion of the cathode electrode ([0049], left portion of CAT, referred to as cathode electrode, see annotated fig. 12) and an end portion of the touch sensor electrode (right portion of CAT, referred to as touch sensor electrode, see annotated fig. 12) overlap each other with the first undercut structure ([0067], BNK, PAS2) interposed therebetween. Choi teaches that this undercut structure disconnects the cathode and emitting layer at the location of the undercut structure ([0068]). This method simplifies the manufacturing process by removing the need to etch the cathode to provide a disconnect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the protruding undercut structure of Choi to simplify the manufacturing process and to disconnect a cathode from itself.
Annotated Figure 4
Annotated Figure 8
Annotated Figure 1
Regarding Claim 3, Bok (figs. 1-4) teaches the transparent display device of claim 1, wherein the cathode electrode (340) and the touch sensor electrode (360) are spaced apart from each other by the first undercut structure (first undercut structure).
Regarding Claim 4, Bok (figs. 1-4) teaches the transparent display device of claim 3, further comprising: a plurality of inorganic insulating layers provided ([0116], 150, [0118], 190, [0124], 270; see fig. 4) in the non-transmissive area (35, 15, 20, 25) over the substrate (110) and made of an inorganic material ([0116], 150, [0118], 190, [0124], 270); and a planarization layer (310) provided in the non-transmissive area (35) over the plurality of inorganic insulating layers (150, 190, 270) and made of an organic material ([0129]). Choi teaches the first undercut structure ([0067], BNK, PAS2) permits the planarization layer (BNK) to be more protruded (see fig. 13) toward the plurality of transmissive areas ([0056], EP) than the plurality of inorganic insulating layers (PAS2).
Regarding Claim 7, Bok (figs. 1-4) teaches the transparent display device of claim 1, further comprising: a touch contact portion (portion of touch line 260 above the touch electrode 360, labeled as touch contact portion, see annotated figs. 1 and 4) provided in the plurality of transmissive areas (30); and a touch connection line ([0124], portion of 360 in hole 269, see fig. 4) electrically connecting the touch contact portion (touch contact portion, see annotated figs. 1 and 4) with one of the plurality of bridge lines (264), wherein the touch electrode (360) is electrically connected to one of the plurality of touch lines (260) through the touch contact portion (touch contact portion).
Regarding Claim 8, Bok (figs. 1-4) teaches the transparent display device of claim , further comprising a third undercut structure ([0124], 269) that exposes at least a portion of the touch contact portion (touch contact portion, see annotated fig. 4), wherein the touch sensor electrode (360) is directly in contact with the touch contact portion (touch contact portion, see annotated fig. 4) exposed by the third undercut structure (269).
Annotated Figure 1
Regarding Claim 9, Bok (fig. 24) teaches the transparent display device of claim 7, wherein one bridge line (264) is electrically connected (264 is electrically connected to 260 through 360) to one of the plurality of touch lines (260), and is electrically connected to at least two touch connection lines (portion of 360 in holes 268 and 269, see fig. 24) electrically connected to each of at least two touch sensors (360) disposed in the second direction (D1).
Regarding Claim 12, Bok (figs. 1-4) teaches a transparent display device ([0101], 100, see fig. 4) comprising:
a substrate ([0109], 110, see fig. 4) provided with a display area ([0101],the plurality of pixels 10, see fig. 1) including a plurality of transmissive areas ([0101], 30, see fig. 1) and a non-transmissive area ([0101], 15, 20, 25, see fig. 1) including a plurality of light emission areas ([0101], 15, 20, 25, see fig. 1) disposed between the transmissive areas (30) adjacent to each other, and a non-display area ([0101], 35);
a plurality of touch blocks (a touch block being two adjacent pixels 10 in direction D1) including a plurality of pixels (sub pixels 15, 20, 25) provided in the non-transmissive area (15, 20, 25) and
a plurality of touch sensors ([0103], 360, see fig. 4) provided in each of the plurality of transmissive areas (30);
a plurality of touch lines ([0106], 260, see fig. 1) provided over the substrate (110), having one end electrically connected to a touch driver ([0120], 105, see fig. 6) and extended in the display area in a first direction (D2, see fig. 2);
a plurality of bridge lines provided over the substrate, having one end electrically connected to any one of the plurality of touch lines and extended in the display area in a second direction;
an encapsulation layer ([0109], 350, see fig. 4) provided over the substrate (110); and
a first undercut structure ([0109], region located above 360 where 310 is not deposited, labeled first undercut structure, see annotated fig. 4) disposed along an edge of the plurality of transmissive areas (30), wherein each of the plurality of pixels (sub pixels 15, 20, 25) includes;
an anode electrode (290) provided over the substrate (110);
a light emitting layer (330) provided over the anode electrode (290);
a second electrode (340) provided over the light emitting layer (330); and
a touch sensor electrode (360) provided in the plurality of transmissive areas (30) to constitute the plurality of touch sensors (360)
wherein the second electrode (340) includes a cathode electrode (340) provided in the non-transmissive area (15, 20, 25) wherein
the encapsulation layer contacts end portions of the cathode electrode and the touch sensor electrode, and
wherein an end portion of the cathode electrode and an end portion of the touch sensor electrode overlap each other with the first undercut structure interposed therebetween.
Bok doesn’t explicitly teach a plurality of bridge lines provided over the substrate, having one end electrically connected to any one of the plurality of touch lines and extended in the display area in a second direction.
However, Bok (fig. 24), in a different embodiment, teaches a plurality of bridge lines ([0189], 264) provided over the substrate (110), having one end electrically connected (264 is electrically connected to 260 through 360) to any one of the plurality of touch lines (260) and extended in the display area in a second direction (D1, see fig. 24). Bok also teaches that this reduces the number of touch sensor wiring and increases transmissivity of the OLED ([0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the bridge lines of Bok to increase transmissivity and reduce the number of touch wiring.
Bok doesn’t explicitly teach the encapsulation layer contacts end portions of the cathode electrode and the touch sensor electrode. Bok does mention that the encapsulation layer (350) may be disposed on the cathode (340).
However, Ye (annotated fig. 8) teaches the encapsulation layer ([0067], 16) contacts end portions of the cathode electrode ([0067], 16 touches the ends of cathode electrode from layer 15, see annotated fig. 8) and the touch sensor electrode ([0073], layer 15 may be patterned to also form touch sensor electrodes, see annotated fig. 8). Ye also teaches that the encapsulation layer is formed on the patterned cathode layer, so as to protect an OLED display from the effects of moisture and oxygen ([0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the encapsulation layer of Ye to protect an OLED from moisture and oxygen.
Bok doesn’t teach an end portion of the cathode electrode and an end portion of the touch sensor electrode overlap each other with the first undercut structure interposed therebetween.
However, Choi (fig. 12) teaches an end portion of the cathode electrode ([0049], left portion of CAT, referred to as cathode electrode, see annotated fig. 12) and an end portion of the touch sensor electrode (right portion of CAT, referred to as touch sensor electrode, see annotated fig. 12) overlap each other with the first undercut structure ([0067], BNK, PAS2) interposed therebetween. Choi teaches that this undercut structure disconnects the cathode and emitting layer at the location of the undercut structure ([0068]). This method simplifies the manufacturing process by removing the need to etch the cathode to provide a disconnect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the protruding undercut structure of Choi to simplify the manufacturing process and to disconnect a cathode from itself.
Regarding Claim 13, Bok (fig. 24) teaches the transparent display device of claim 12, wherein the number of the touch lines (260) provided over the substrate (110) is a same (three touch lines 260 and three touch blocks as defined in claim 1, see fig. 24) as the number of touch blocks (two adjacent pixels 10) provided over the substrate (110).
Regarding Claim 14, Bok (fig. 24) teaches the transparent display device of claim 12, wherein one bridge line (264) is disposed between the adjacent transmissive areas (30).
Bok (fig. 13), in a different embodiment, teaches at least two touch lines ([0161], 263) are disposed between the transmissive areas (30) adjacent to each other. Bok also teaches this reduces resistance and increases the transmissivity of the transparent region ([0166]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the touch lines of Bok to increase transmissivity and reduce resistance.
Regarding Claim 15, Bok (fig. 24) teaches the transparent display device of claim 14, wherein one bridge line (264) is electrically connected to one of the plurality of touch lines (260), and is connected to at least two touch sensors (362) disposed in the second direction (D1, see fig. 24).
Regarding Claim 16, Bok (figs. 1-4) teaches the transparent display device of claim 12, wherein the cathode electrode (340) of the plurality of pixels (15, 20, 25) and the touch sensor electrode (360) of the plurality of touch sensors (360) are formed of a same material in a same layer ([0127]-[0128], [0131], both 360 and 340 may be made of transparent conductive materials).
Regarding Claim 17, Bok (figs. 1-4) teaches the transparent display device of claim 16, wherein the touch sensor electrode (360) is disposed in the plurality of transmissive areas (30), and the cathode electrode (340) is disposed in an area except an area in which the touch sensor electrode (360) is disposed, and wherein the touch sensor electrode (360) and the cathode electrode (340) are spaced apart from each other.
Regarding Claim 18, Bok (figs. 1-4) teaches the transparent display device of claim 16, wherein the first undercut structure ([0109], region located above 360 where 310 is not deposited, labeled first undercut structure, see annotated fig. 4) has a planar closed shape (flat sidewall on both sides of the transmissive area, see fig 4), and wherein the touch sensor electrode (360) and the cathode electrode (340) are separated from each other by the first undercut structure (first undercut structure).
Regarding Claim 20, Bok (figs. 1-4) teaches the transparent display device of claim 18, further comprising: a touch contact portion (portion of touch line 260 above the touch electrode 360, labeled as touch contact portion, see annotated figs. 1 and 4) provided in the planar closed shape of the first undercut structure (first undercut structure) to contact the touch sensor electrode (360); and a touch connection line ([0124], portion of 360 formed in 269, see fig. 4) electrically connecting (touch contact portion is electrically connected to 264 through 360) the touch contact portion (touch contact portion) with one of the bridge lines (264).
Regarding Claim 21, Bok (figs. 1-3 and 11) teaches a transparent display device ([0101], 100) comprising:
a substrate ([0109], 110, see fig. 11) provided with a plurality of transmissive areas ([0101], 30, see fig. 1) and a non-transmissive area ([0101], 35, see fig. 1) including a plurality of light emission areas ([0101], 15, 20, 25, see fig. 1) disposed between the plurality of transmissive areas (30) adjacent to each other;
a plurality of light emitting elements ([0109], 290, 330, 340, see fig. 11) disposed in each of the plurality of light emission areas (15, 20, 25) over the substrate (110);
a plurality of touch sensors ([0146], 460, see fig. 11) disposed to overlap at least one transmissive area (30);
a plurality of touch lines ([0150], 470 connected to 465, see fig. 11, referred to as 260 in fig. 2) disposed in the non-transmissive area (35) that extended in a first direction (D3, see fig. 11);
a plurality of bridge lines disposed in the non-transmissive area that extended in a second direction transverse to the first direction, at least one bridge line of the plurality including a sub bridge line that extends from a bridge line in the first direction to electrically connect a touch sensor of the plurality with one of the plurality of touch lines;
an encapsulation layer ([0109], 350, see fig. 11) disposed on the substrate (110); and
at least one undercut structure ([0155],region located above 360 where 310 is not deposited, labeled first undercut structure, see annotated fig. 12) disposed along an edge of the plurality of transmissive areas (30), wherein each of the plurality of light emitting elements (290, 330, 340) includes;
a first electrode (290) disposed in each of the light emission areas (15, 20, 25) over the substrate (110);
a light emitting layer (330) on the first electrode (290);
a second electrode (340) on the light emitting layer (330); and
a touch sensor electrode (460) provided in the plurality of transmissive areas (30) to constitute the plurality of touch sensors (460)
wherein the second electrode (340) includes a cathode electrode (340) provided in the non-transmissive area (15, 20, 25) to constitute the plurality of light emitting elements (290, 330, 340), wherein
the encapsulation layer covers end portions of the cathode electrode and the touch sensor electrode, and
wherein an end portion of the cathode electrode and an end portion of the touch sensor electrode overlap each other with the first undercut structure interposed therebetween.
Bok doesn’t explicitly teach a plurality of bridge lines disposed in the non-transmissive area that extended in a second direction transverse to the first direction, at least one bridge line of the plurality including a sub bridge line that extends from a bridge line in the first direction to electrically connect a touch sensor of the plurality with one of the plurality of touch lines.
However, Bok (fig. 24), in a different embodiment, teaches a plurality of bridge lines ([0189], 264, see fig. 24) disposed in the non-transmissive area (35) that extended in a second direction (D2, see fig. 24) transverse to the first direction (D3), at least one bridge line (264) of the plurality including a sub bridge line ([0195], 269 connected to 264, see figs. 4 and 24) that extends from a bridge line (264) in the first direction (D3) to electrically connect a touch sensor ([0171], 361) of the plurality with one of the plurality of touch lines ([0161], 263). Bok also teaches that this reduces the number of touch sensor wiring and increases transmissivity of the OLED ([0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the bridge lines of Bok to increase transmissivity and reduce the number of touch wiring.
Bok doesn’t explicitly teach the encapsulation layer contacts end portions of the cathode electrode and the touch sensor electrode. Bok does mention that the encapsulation layer (350) may be disposed on the cathode (340).
However, Ye (annotated fig. 8) teaches the encapsulation layer ([0067], 16) contacts end portions of the cathode electrode ([0067], 16 touches the ends of cathode electrode from layer 15, see annotated fig. 8) and the touch sensor electrode ([0073], layer 15 may be patterned to also form touch sensor electrodes, see annotated fig. 8). Ye also teaches that the encapsulation layer is formed on the patterned cathode layer, so as to protect an OLED display from the effects of moisture and oxygen ([0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the encapsulation layer of Ye to protect an OLED from moisture and oxygen.
Bok doesn’t teach an end portion of the cathode electrode and an end portion of the touch sensor electrode overlap each other with the first undercut structure interposed therebetween.
However, Choi (fig. 12) teaches an end portion of the cathode electrode ([0049], left portion of CAT, referred to as cathode electrode, see annotated fig. 12) and an end portion of the touch sensor electrode (right portion of CAT, referred to as touch sensor electrode, see annotated fig. 12) overlap each other with the first undercut structure ([0067], BNK, PAS2) interposed therebetween. Choi teaches that this undercut structure disconnects the cathode and emitting layer at the location of the undercut structure ([0068]). This method simplifies the manufacturing process by removing the need to etch the cathode to provide a disconnect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the protruding undercut structure of Choi to simplify the manufacturing process and to disconnect a cathode from itself.
Annotated Figure 12
Regarding Claim 22, Bok (figs. 1-3 and 11) teaches the transparent display device of claim 21, wherein the second electrode (340) of the plurality of light emitting elements (290, 330, 340) and the touch sensor electrode (460) of the touch sensor (460) are made of a same material ([0127]-[0128], [0131], both 460, referred to as 360, and 340 may be made of transparent conductive materials).
Regarding Claim 23, Bok (fig. 17), in a different embodiment, teaches the transparent display device of claim 22, wherein the second electrode (340) of the light emitting element (290, 330, 340) and the touch sensor electrode ([0171], 361) of the touch sensor are made from a same process ([0175]). The simultaneous formation of Bok simplifies the manufacturing process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the process of Bok to simplify the manufacturing process.
Additionally, Claim 23 is a product-by-process claim. A product-by-process claim is a product claim. Applicant has merely chosen to define the claimed product by the process by which it was made. It has been well established that process limitations do not impart patentability to an old/obvious product. Process limitations are significant only to the extent that they distinguish the claimed product over the prior art product. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir.1985). Once the Examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983).
Regarding Claim 24, Bok (figs. 1-3 and 12) teaches the transparent display device of claim 22, wherein the second electrode (340) of the light emitting element (290, 330, 340) and the touch sensor electrode (360) of the touch sensor (360) are spaced apart from each other through the at least one undercut structure (first undercut structure).
Claims 5-6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok, Ye, and Choi as applied to Claims 1 and 18 above, respectively, and further in view of Kim et al. (2019/0198800 A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding Claim 5, Bok doesn’t teach the transparent display device of claim 1, further comprising: a common power line provided in the non-transmissive area over the substrate and extended in the first direction; a cathode contact portion provided between the common power line and the plurality of transmissive areas; and a power connection line electrically connecting the cathode contact portion with the common power line, wherein the cathode electrode is electrically connected to the common power line through the cathode contact portion.
However, Kim (fig. 3) teaches a common power line ([0024], VSS) provided in the non-transmissive area (provided under the OLED, see fig. 3) over the substrate ([0022], SUB) and extended in the first direction (in and out of the page, see fig. 3); a cathode contact portion ([0034], AE) provided between the common power line (VSS) and the transmissive area (portion outside of the OLED, see fig. 3); and a power connection line ([0029], CN2) electrically connecting the cathode contact portion (AE) with the common power line (VSS), wherein the cathode electrode ([0038], CAT) is electrically connected to the common power line (VSS) through the cathode contact portion (AE). Kim teaches that the low-level voltage received through the low-level voltage line can help address brightness nonuniformity ([0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the power line connection of Kim to address brightness nonuniformity.
Regarding Claim 6, Kim (fig. 3) teaches the transparent display device of claim 5, further comprising a second undercut structure ([0033], OC, [0036], BN) that exposes at least a portion of the cathode contact portion (AE), wherein the cathode electrode (CAT) is directly in contact with the cathode contact portion (AE) exposed by the second undercut structure (BN, OC).
Regarding Claim 19, Bok doesn’t teach the transparent display device of claim 18, further comprising: a common power line provided in the non-transmissive area over the substrate and extended in the first direction; a cathode contact portion provided between the common power line and the first undercut structure to contact the cathode electrode; and a power connection line connecting the cathode contact portion with the common power line.
However, Kim (fig. 3) teaches a common power line ([0024], VSS) provided in the non-transmissive area (provided under the OLED, see fig. 3) over the substrate ([0022], SUB) and extended in the first direction (in and out of the page, see fig. 3); a cathode contact portion ([0034], AE) provided between the common power line (VSS) and the first undercut structure ([0033], OC, [0036], BN) to contact the cathode electrode ([0038], CAT); and a power connection line ([0029], CN2) connecting the cathode contact portion (AE) with the common power line (VSS). Kim teaches that the low-level voltage received through the low-level voltage line can help address brightness nonuniformity ([0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the power line connection of Kim to address brightness nonuniformity.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok, Ye, and Choi, as applied to the alternative Claim 7 below, and further in view of Baek et al. (2022/0020842 A1; hereinafter Baek).
Regarding Claim 7, Bok (figs. 1-4) alternatively teaches the transparent display device of claim 1, further comprising: a touch contact portion ([0124], portion of 360 in hole 269, see fig. 4) provided in the plurality of transmissive areas (30); and a touch connection line (portion of touch line 260 above the touch electrode 360, labeled as touch contact portion, see annotated figs. 1 and 4) electrically connecting (269 is electrically connected to 264 through 360) the touch contact portion (269) with one of the plurality of bridge lines (264), wherein the touch electrode (360) is electrically connected to one of the plurality of touch lines (260) through the touch contact portion (269).
Regarding Claim 10, Bok (figs. 1-4) teaches the transparent display device of claim 7, further comprising: a driving transistor ([0109], 250, see fig. 4) provided between the substrate (110) and the first electrode (290). Bok doesn’t teach a light shielding layer provided between the substrate and the driving transistor, wherein the touch connection line is provided in a same layer as the light shielding layer.
However, Baek (fig. 3) teaches a light shielding layer ([0075], 175) provided between the substrate ([0075], 110) and the driving transistor ([0076], T1), wherein the connection line ([0077], any one of 171, 172, 173, 174) is provided in a same layer as the light shielding layer (175). Baek also teaches that the light shielding layer controls the leakage current of the transistor ([0076]). While Baek doesn’t explicitly teach that the connection line relates to the function of touch, Baek does show numerous lines leading to numerous features may be formed on the same layer as the light shielding layer to reduce the number of needed photomasks ([0078]). It would have been obvious to extend this benefit to the touch connection line of Bok.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the light shielding layer in the same layer as a connection line of Baek to control transistor leakage current and simplify the method of manufacture.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok, Ye, and Choi, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Baek.
Regarding Claim 11, Bok (figs. 1-4) teaches the transparent display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of touch lines (260) are provided to at least partially overlap the plurality of light emission areas between the substrate (110) and the first electrode (290). Bok doesn’t explicitly teach the plurality of touch lines are provided to at least partially overlap the plurality of light emission areas.
Bok (fig. 13), in a different embodiment, teaches at least two touch lines (260) are disposed between the transmissive areas (30) adjacent to each other. Bok also teaches this reduces resistance and increases the transmissivity of the transparent region ([0166]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the touch lines of Bok to increase transmissivity and reduce resistance.
Furthermore, Baek (fig. 3) teaches numerous lines ([0077], any one of 171, 172, 173, 174) leading to numerous features may be provided to at least partially overlap the plurality of light emission areas ([0054], LED) while maintaining the increased transmissivity as taught by Bok.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the adjusted touch lines of the other embodiment of Bok and Baek to improve transmissivity
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok, Ye, and Choi, as applied to Claim 22 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (2022/0399405 A1; hereinafter Lee)
Regarding Claim 25, Bok (figs. 1-3 and 12) teaches the transparent display device of claim 22, further comprising: a bank layer (310) disposed between a light emission area (15, 20, 25) and each of the plurality of transmissive areas (30); a color filter on the light emitting element; and a black matrix ([0154], 370, see fig. 12) disposed adjacent to the color filter, wherein the black matrix (370) overlaps with the at least one undercut structure ([0155], region located above 360 where 310 is not deposited, labeled first undercut structure, see annotated fig. 12).
Bok doesn’t teach a color filter on the light emitting element.
However, Lee (fig. 11) teaches a color filter ([0147], 622, 623) on the light emitting element ([0134], 222b). Lee also teaches that the color filters correspond certain pixels to certain colors ([0147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Bok to include the color filters of Lee to correspond certain pixels to certain colors.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bok et al. (2021/0200366 A1) teaches a display device with touch sensors. See figs. 4-8 and [0439].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ANTONIO B CRITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817