DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 3-5, 9-11, 13 and 14 are amended. Claims 1 and 9 are independent claims. Claims 9-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1-8 are currently examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “high” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang Gemei (CN 109183144 A, machine translation, “Zhang”), or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a method for forming block crystals of a metal compound, comprising placing (introducing) a source metal into a container of a liquefaction system (smelting furnace) (abstract, 0009, 0014, claim 1); forming a vacuum in said smelting furnace and increasing a temperature of said smelting furnace above a melting point of said source metal to form a liquid flow of said source metal (abstract, 0009, 0057, 0062, 0075, 0076, 0090, 0081, 0100, 0105, 0106, claim 1); fragmentating/crushing (breaking) said liquid flow to generate droplets (particles) of said source metal (abstract, 0010, 0018, 0032, 0058, 0063, 0064, 0069, 0078, 0084, 0092, 0093, 0099, claim 1); superfine/ultra fine droplets/grain (particles) being processed/ discharged/guided using ultra fine droplets/grains outlet/ports (0025, 0027-0029, 0071, 0072, 0087, 0102 and claim 4); and introducing said selected super/ultra fine particles/ droplets/ grains into a reaction system (growth chamber) comprising a reactive gas that is reactive with said selected particles/droplets/grains (abstract, 0011, 0032, 0059, 0065, 0069, 0079, 0094, 0099, 0109, 0110, claim 1), thereby forming said block crystals of said metal compound (abstract, 0011, 0012, 0032, 0060, 0067, 0069, 0081, 0082, 0084, 0096, 0097, 0099, 0111, 0112, claim 1).
Zhang teaches the superfine/ultra fine droplets/grain (particles) being processed/ discharged/guided using ultra fine droplets/grains outlet/ports as addressed above, Even if it is not clearly envisaged that the outlet/ports is a particle selector, it still would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date that outlet/ ports could be considered as a particle selector selecting particles using the particle selector are within the teachings of Zhang, because only superfine/ultra fine droplets/grain/particles can be discharged/guided into the reaction system through the fine droplets/grains outlet/ports for further forming the block crystals of said metal compound as described in Zhang. Furthermore, regarding the particle selector limitation, it is an apparatus limitation in a process claim. Unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Tarczy-Hornoch 158 USPQ 141, 150; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches applying a high-pressure gas to said liquid flow (0017, 0063, 0064).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches that the breaking said liquid flow is performed without a solvent (abstract, 0063, 0069, 0071, 0084, 0099).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches that an inert gas is argon (0091).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches that said source metal is gallium (0069).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches that said source metal is gallium (a single metal) (0069).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches increasing said temperature of said smelting furnace above a melting point of a metal with a highest melting point in a combination of metals (0015, 0061, 0062).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches that said source metal is gallium, wherein said reactive gas is nitrogen or ammonia, and wherein said metal compound is gallium nitride (0069-0073, 0079, 0080).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because the arguments do not apply to the new ground rejection provided above.
Applicant' s arguments with respect to the term “high” under 35 U.S.C. l 12(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph have been considered, but not found persuasive, because the term “high” is not defined by [0047] as applicant asserted, e.g., the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 2 are not readily ascertainable, and the rejection is maintained.
Applicant' s arguments that Zhang fails to teach or suggest "selecting particles of step (c) using a particle selector” have been considered, but not found persuasive. As addressed above, Zhang teaches the superfine/ultra fine droplets/grain (particles) being processed/ discharged/guided using ultra fine droplets/grains outlet/ports as addressed above, Even if it is not clearly envisaged that the outlet/ports is a particle selector, it still would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date that outlet/ports could be considered as a particle selector selecting particles using the particle selector are within the teachings of Zhang, because superfine/ ultra fine droplets/grain/particles (particles with size being selected) can be discharged/ guided into the reaction system through the fine droplets/grains outlet/ports for further forming the block crystals of said metal compound as described in Zhang. Furthermore, regarding the particle selector limitation, it is an apparatus limitation in a process claim. Unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Tarczy-Hornoch 158 USPQ 141, 150; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
In response to applicant' s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it is examiner' s position that a prima facie case of obviousness is well-established per teachings of the instantly cited reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUA QI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714