DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are amended. Claims 1 and 9 are independent claims. Claims 9-20 are withdrawn. Claims 21-23 are newly added. Claims 1-8 and 21-23 are currently examined on the merits.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “inclined gas holes” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “coarse” and “large” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “high” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The recited in claim 22 “…particles that are not more than 500 µm size … ultrafine metal particles…” constitutes an indefinite subject matter. It is not clear with respect to the relationship between “particles that are not more than 500 µm size” and “ultrafine metal particles”. Also, the term “ultrafine” in claim 22 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Thus, the metes and bounds of claim 22 are not readily ascertainable. Clarification and/or correction are/is required. Claims 23 are rejected because they depend on claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang Gemei (CN 109183144 A, machine translation, “Zhang”) and further in view of Sylvain et al (US 20190193164 A1, “Sylvain”) and Boswell et al (US 4915729 A, “Boswell”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a method for forming block crystals of a metal compound, comprising forming a liquid flow of a source metal (abstract, 0009, 0057, 0062, 0075, 0076, 0090, 0081, 0100, 0105, 0106, claim 1); fragmentating/crushing (breaking) the liquid flow in a fragmentation system (device) to generate droplets (particles) of the source metal (abstract, 0010, 0018, 0032, 0058, 0063, 0064, 0069, 0078, 0084, 0092, 0093, 0099, claim 1); superfine/ultra fine droplets/grain (particles) being processed/discharged/guided using ultra fine droplets/grains outlet/ports (particle selector) (0025, 0027-0029, 0071, 0072, 0087, 0102 and claim 4), and larger droplets (coarse particles) that are too large to pass through the outlet/ports (particle selector) pass to a bottom portion of the fragmentation chamber having an outlet for discharging coarse particles (large droplet/unfragmented) (0071 and 0078); introducing the selected super/ultra fine particles/ droplets/ grains into a reaction system (growth chamber) comprising a reactive gas that is reactive with the selected particles/ droplets/grains (abstract, 0011, 0032, 0059, 0065, 0069, 0079, 0094, 0099, 0109, 0110, claim 1), thereby forming grains (particles) of the metal compound and the block crystals of the metal compound in the growth chamber (abstract, 0011, 0012, 0032, 0060, 0067, 0069, 0081, 0082, 0084, 0096, 0097, 0099, 0111, 0112, claim 1).
Zhang teaches selecting particles as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach at least 85% of the particles that pass through the particle selector are not more than 500 μm in size. However, Sylvain teaches a method, wherein powders/particles are filtered/sieved/selected with a filter/sieve (selector), and 90% of the particles are less than 25 μm in size (0076, 0077, 0080, 0081, 0103, 0155 and table 2B). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Zhang per teachings of Sylvain in order to provide particles with suitable size for further application (Sylvain 0002 and 0006).
Zhang/Sylvain teaches the coarse particles being selected and discharged/ passed as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach a collection tank. However, Boswell teaches a method, wherein a collecting reservoir/tank is used to collect particles with difference sizes (col 6 lines 28-62; col 7 line 60 to col 8 line 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Zhang/Sylvain per teachings of Boswell in order to provide desired size for further application (Boswell abstract, col 1 lines 1-23; col 6 lines 28-62; col 7 line 60 to col 8 line 7). Furthermore, regarding the fragmentation device, particle selector and collection tank limitations, it is apparatus limitations in a process claim. Unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Tarczy-Hornoch 158 USPQ 141, 150; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang/Sylvain/Boswell teaches that the breaking comprises applying a high-pressure gas to said liquid flow (Zhang 0017, 0063, 0064).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang/Sylvain/Boswell teaches that an inert gas is argon (Zhang 0091).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang/Sylvain/Boswell teaches that said source metal is gallium (Zhang 0069).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang/Sylvain/Boswell teaches that said source metal is gallium (a single metal) (Zhang 0069).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang/Sylvain/Boswell teaches that source metal is a combination of metals (Zhang 0061, 0062); and forming the liquid metal comprises increasing the temperature of the combination of metals above a melting point of a metal with a highest melting point in the combination of metals (Zhang 0015, 0061, 0062).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang/Sylvain/Boswell teaches that said source metal is gallium, wherein said reactive gas is nitrogen or ammonia, and wherein said metal compound is gallium nitride (Zhang 0069-0073, 0079, 0080).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang/Sylvain/Boswell teaches that forming the liquid flow of the source metal comprises placing (introducing) the source metal into a container of a liquefaction system (smelting furnace) (Zhang abstract, 0009, 0014, claim 1); forming a vacuum in the smelting furnace and increasing a temperature of the smelting furnace above a melting point of the source metal to form the liquid flow of the source metal (Zhang abstract, 0009, 0057, 0062, 0075, 0076, 0090, 0081, 0100, 0105, 0106, claim 1);.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang/Sylvain/Boswell teaches that the breaking the liquid flow is performed without a solvent (Zhang abstract, 0063, 0069, 0071, 0084, 0099).
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Zhang/Sylvain/Boswell teaches passing the particles through the particle selector and selecting the particles that are not more than 500 µm size and the particles selector as addressed above, and further teaches an outlet for ultrafine metal particles (Zhang 0073), a plurality of inclined gas holes that point away from the atomization (fragmentation) device (Sylvain fig 2, 0078, 0083-0094; Boswell figs 1-5 col 5 lines 60-66; col 6 lines 15-65, col 8 lines 35-55); and when passing the particles through the particle selector, an inert gas/atomization gas is injected into the inclined gas holes (Sylvain fig 2, 0078, 0083-0094; Boswell figs 1-5 col 5 lines 60-66; col 6 lines 15-65, col 8 lines 35-55), similar way to create the pressure differential as instantly claimed. Therefore, it would have been reasonably expected to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the pressure differential would have been created in Zhang/Sylvain/Boswell. A rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 538, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson' s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equip. Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950). See MPEP 2143.02.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because the arguments do not apply to the new ground rejection provided above.
Conclusion
/HUA QI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714