DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The indicated allowability of claims 1-5, 9, 11-13, 15-16, 19-21, and 26-29 are withdrawn in view of the newly discovered references to Widhas (US 2023/0282546) and Elsherbini (US 2023/0207439). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2021/0366877) and Waidhas (US 2023/0282546).
With regards to claim 1, fig. 1 of Wu discloses an apparatus 100, comprising: plurality of first dielectric layers (top 107, 118), individual of the plurality of first dielectric layers (top 107 in fig. 1) positioned adjacent to another first dielectric layer (top 118); a plurality of first conductive contacts 105 located on a top dielectric layer 107 of the plurality of first dielectric layers (top 107), the plurality of first conductive contacts 105 comprising a first set of the plurality of first conductive contacts (left set of 105 in fig. 1) arranged at a first pitch P1 and a second set of the plurality of first conductive contacts (right set of 105); a plurality of second dielectric layers (119, bottom 107), individual of the plurality of second dielectric layers 119 positioned adjacent to another second dielectric layer 107, individual of the plurality of first dielectric layers 118 and individual of the plurality of second dielectric layers 119 comprising one or more conductive traces 109 and one or more vias 109; a plurality of second conductive contacts (bottommost 109) located on a bottom dielectric layer 119 of the plurality of second dielectric layers 119, the plurality of second conductive contacts (bottommost 109) arranged at a second pitch (pitch between bottommost 109), the second pitch greater (pitch between bottommost 109 greater than P1) than the first pitch P1; and a glass core 102 between the plurality of first dielectric layers 118 and the plurality of second dielectric layers 119, the glass core 102 comprising: a through-glass via 110, a layer of glass (“glass”, par [0016]).
Wu does not disclose one or more micro-channels, wherein at least one of the one or more micro-channels is oriented substantially parallel to a top surface of the glass core.
However, fig. 1A of Waidhas discloses one or more micro-channels 120, wherein at least one of the one or more micro-channels 120 is oriented substantially parallel to a top surface of the glass core (“core 108 comprises glass”, par [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the core substrate of Wu with the channel as taught in Waidhas in order to provide a transport mechanism to move heat from a hot source to a region where the heat can be dissipated. See par [0083] of Waidhas.
With regards to claim 2, fig. 1 of Wu discloses an electrically conductive path (108 connecting two 105) from a conductive contact 105 of the first set of the plurality of first conductive contacts (left set of 105) to a conductive contact of the second set of plurality of the first conductive contacts (right set of 105), the electrically conductive path (108 connecting two 105) comprising a conductive trace 108 of one of the plurality of first dielectric layers 107 and a via of one of the plurality of first dielectric layers 107.
With regards to claim 3, fig. 1 of Wu discloses an electrically conductive path from one of the plurality of first conductive contacts 105 to one of the plurality of second conductive contacts (bottommost 109), the electrically conductive path comprising at least one conductive trace 108 of one (top 107) of the plurality of first dielectric layers (top 107, 118), at least one via of one of the plurality of first dielectric layers (top 107), the through-glass 110 via of the glass (“glass”, par [0016]) core 102, at least one conductive trace 109 of one of the plurality of second dielectric layers 119, and at least one via 109 of one of the plurality of second dielectric layers 119.
With regards to claim 26, Wu does not disclose that the glass core further comprises a reservoir connected to at least one of the one or more micro-channels.
However, fig. 8 of Waidhas discloses that the glass core further comprises a reservoir 120A connected to at least one of the one 120B or more micro-channels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the core substrate of Wu with the wider channel as taught in Waidhas in order to provide channel of variable sizes. See par [0097] of Waidhas.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2021/0366877) (“Wu”), Waidhas (US 2023/0282546), and Gao (US 2021/0296282).
With regards to claim 4, Wu does not disclose that the first pitch is less than about 0.5 microns.
However, fig. 1A of Gao discloses that the first pitch P1 is less than about 0.5 microns (“0.5 microns”, par [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the pitch between the conductive pillars of Wu with the .5 microns pitch as taught in Gao in order to enable high density of pads. See par [0034] of Gao.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2021/0366877), Waidhas (US 2023/0282546), and Mayukh (US 2023/0367087).
With regard to claim 6, Wu and Waidhas do not disclose that the glass core further comprises a waveguide and the apparatus further comprises a photonic integrated circuit, the waveguide to provide a path for optical communication for optical signals to be generated or received by the photonic integrated circuit.
However, fig. 3 of Mayukh discloses that the glass core (“glass core 310”, par [0037]) further comprises a waveguide 330b and the apparatus 300 further comprises a photonic integrated circuit 320, the waveguide 330b to provide a path for optical communication for optical signals to be generated or received by the photonic integrated circuit 320.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the glass core of Wu with the PIC as taught in Mayukh in order to an optical module to transmit and receive optical signals. See abstract of Mayukh.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2021/0366877), Waidhas (US 2023/0282546), and Hsiao (US 11,410,910).
With regards to claim 9, Wu and Waidhas do not disclose a plurality of integrated circuit dies, individual of the plurality of integrated circuit dies attached to one or more of the plurality of first conductive contacts.
However, fig. 13A of Hsiao discloses a plurality of integrated circuit dies (118, 120), individual of the plurality of integrated circuit dies 118 attached to one 116 or more of the plurality of first conductive contacts 116.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the redistribution structure of Wu with the first and second integrated circuit dies as taught in Hsaio in order to provide interconnect between multiple dies. See col. 3 ll. 30-31 of Hsaio.
Claims 11-13, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2021/0366877) and Elsherbini (US 2023/0207439).
With regard to claim 11, fig. 1 of Wu discloses an apparatus 100, comprising: a plurality of first dielectric layers (top 107, 118), individual of the plurality of first dielectric layers (top 107 in fig. 1) positioned adjacent to another first dielectric layer (top 118); a plurality of first conductive contacts 105 located on a top dielectric layer 107 of the plurality of first dielectric layers (top 107), the plurality of first conductive contacts 105 comprising a first set of the plurality of first conductive contacts (left set of 105 in fig. 1) arranged at a first pitch P1 and a second set of the plurality of first conductive contacts (right set of 105); a plurality of second dielectric layers (119, bottom 107), individual of the plurality of second dielectric layers 119 positioned adjacent to another second dielectric layer 107, individual of the first dielectric layers 118 and individual of the second dielectric layers 119 comprising one or more conductive traces 109 and one or more vias 109; a plurality of second conductive contacts (bottommost 109) located on a bottom dielectric layer 119 of the plurality of second dielectric layers 119, the plurality of second conductive contacts (bottommost 109) arranged at a second pitch (pitch between bottommost 109), the second pitch greater (pitch between bottommost 109 greater than P1) than the first pitch P1; and a glass core 102 comprising a layer of glass (“glass”, par [0016]), the glass core 102 positioned between the plurality of first dielectric layers 118 and the plurality of second dielectric layers 119, the glass core 102 comprising a through-glass via 110.
Wu does not disclose a bridge located in the glass core, wherein the bridge comprises silicon, a first conductive trace, a second conductive trace, and a via connecting the first conductive trace to the second conductive trace, and wherein glass material of the glass core is disposed beneath the bridge.
However, fig. 6A of Elsherbini discloses a bridge (“first die 665 may be a bridge die”, par [0056]) located in the glass core (“glass substrate 660”, par [0056]), wherein the bridge 665 comprises silicon (“silicon based”, par [0029]), a first conductive trace (conductive line on 116 connected to left 120), a second conductive trace (conductive line on 116 connected to right 120), and a via (via in 666 connected to left 620) connecting the first conductive trace (conductive line on 116 connected to left 620) to the second conductive trace (conductive line on 116 connected to right 620), and wherein glass material (“glass substrate 660”, par [0056]) of the glass core 660 is disposed beneath the bridge 665.
There, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the core substrate of Wu with the embedded dies as taught in Elsherbini in order to provide a bridge die that couples together the top dies. See par [0056] of Elsherbini.
With regard to claim 12, fig. 1 of Wu discloses an electrically conductive path (108 connecting two 105) from a conductive contact 105 of the first set of the plurality of first conductive contacts (left set of 105) to a conductive contact of the second set of the plurality of first conductive contacts (right set of 105), the electrically conductive path (108 connecting two 105) comprising a conductive trace of the bridge (108 connecting two 105).
Wu does not disclose a via of the bridge.
However, fig. 1 of Ganesan discloses a via 70 of the bridge (70, 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the redistribution structure of Wu with the bridge as taught in Ganesan in order to connect two dies together. See par [0015] of Ganesan.
With regard to claim 13, fig. 1 of Wu discloses an electrically conductive path from a first conductive contacts 105 to a second conductive contacts (bottommost 109), the electrically conductive path comprising at least one conductive trace 108 of one (top 107) of the plurality of first dielectric layers (top 107, 118), at least one via of one of the plurality of first dielectric layers (top 107), the through-glass 110 via of the glass (“glass”, par [0016]) core 102, at least one conductive trace 109 of one of the plurality of second dielectric layers 119, and at least one via 109 of one of the plurality of second dielectric layers 119.
With regards to claim 21, figs. 1 and 9 of Wu discloses a housing 224, the housing 224 containing the plurality of first dielectric layers 118 and the plurality of second dielectric layers 119.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2021/0366877), Elsherbini (US 2023/0207439), and Gao (US 2021/0296282).
With regard to claim 15, Wu and Elsherbini do not disclose that the first pitch is less than about 0.5 microns.
However, fig. 1A of Gao discloses that the first pitch P1 is less than about 0.5 microns (“0.5 microns”, par [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the pitch between the conductive pillars of Wu with the .5 microns pitch as taught in Gao in order to enable high density of pads. See par [0034] of Gao.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2021/0366877), Elsherbini (US 2023/0207439), and Mayukh (US 2023/0367087).
With regards to claim 16, Wu and Elsherbini do not disclose that the glass core further comprises: a waveguide; and a photonic integrated circuit, the waveguide to provide a path for optical communication for optical signals to be generated or received by the photonic integrated circuit.
However, fig. 3 of Mayukh discloses that the glass core (“glass core 310”, par [0037]) further comprises: a waveguide 330b; and a photonic integrated circuit 320, the waveguide 330b to provide a path for optical communication for optical signals to be generated or received by the photonic integrated circuit 320.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the glass core of Wu with the PIC as taught in Mayukh in order to an optical module to transmit and receive optical signals. See abstract of Mayukh.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2021/0366877), Elsherbini (US 2023/0207439), and Hsiao (US 11,410,910).
With regards to claim 19, Wu and Elsherbini do not disclose a plurality of integrated circuit dies, individual of the plurality of integrated circuit dies attached to one or more of the plurality of first conductive contacts.
However, fig. 13A of Hsiao discloses a plurality of integrated circuit dies (118, 120), individual of the integrated circuit dies 118 attached to one 116 or more of the first conductive contacts 116.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the redistribution structure of Wu with the first and second integrated circuit dies as taught in Hsaio in order to provide interconnect between multiple dies. See col. 3 ll. 30-31 of Hsaio.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2021/0366877), Elsherbini (US 2023/0207439), and Sowwan (US 2023/0187222).
With regards to claim 20, Wu and Elsherbini do not discloses that the glass core has a lateral dimension of at least 250 mm.
However, fig. 1 of Sowwan that the glass core 102 has a lateral dimension of at least 250 mm (“300 mm”, par [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the glass core of Wu with the lateral dimensions as taught in Sowwan in order to provide space for surface-mounted devices mounted thereon. See par [0019] of Sowwan.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2021/0366877), Elsherbini (US 2023/0207439), and Yu (US 2022/0223530).
With regard to claim 27, Wu and Elsherbini do not disclose that the bridge further comprises a trench capacitor, the trench capacitor comprising a first capacitor conductive trace, a second capacitor conductive trace, and a capacitor dielectric positioned between the first capacitor conductive trace and the second capacitor conductive trace, the first capacitor conductive trace and the second capacitor conductive trace oriented substantially perpendicular to a surface of the top dielectric layer of the plurality of first dielectric layers.
However, figs. 1F and 26 of Yu discloses that the bridge BD further comprises a trench capacitor 42, the trench capacitor BD comprising a first capacitor conductive trace 42B, a second capacitor conductive trace 42B, and a capacitor dielectric 42A positioned between the first capacitor conductive trace 42B and the second capacitor conductive trace 42B, the first capacitor conductive trace 42B and the second capacitor conductive trace 42B oriented substantially perpendicular to a surface of the top dielectric layer 126A of the plurality of first dielectric layers 126A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the substrate core of Wu with the bridge dies as taught in Yu in order to provide the advantageous feature of high scalability by allowing co-operation of multiple dies. See par [0026] of Yu.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2021/0366877), Elsherbini (US 2023/0207439), and Park (US 2023/0207189).
With regards to claim 28, Wu and Eisherbini do not disclose that the bridge further comprises a conductive trace surrounded by a ferromagnetic material comprising iron.
However, fig. 4 of Park discloses that the bridge 100 further comprises a conductive trace 122 surrounded by a ferromagnetic material 110 comprising iron (“iron”, par [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the substrate core of Wu with the inductor component as taught in Park in order to provide a magnetic inductor array with a plurality of conductor traces for use in a microprocessor. See par [0003] of Park.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2021/0366877), Elsherbini (US 2023/0207439), and Pietambaram (US 2022/0189880).
With regards to claim 29, Wu and Eisherbini do not disclose that the bridge further comprises transistor.
However, fig. 1 of Pietambaram discloses that the bridge 104 further comprises transistor (‘transistors”, par [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the core of Wu with the bridge component as taught in Pietambaram in order to provide a greater density of interconnects than the metallization regions. See par [0020] of Pietambaram.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-25 and 30-32 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the allowance of claim 22 is that Wu et al. (US 2021/0366877) (“Wu”), Liu et al. (US 2023/0063304) (“Liu”), and Elsherbini (US 2023/0207439) do not disclose an electrically conductive path from one of the second conductive contacts to one or the fourth conductive contacts comprising a conductive trace of one of the fifth dielectric layers and a via of one of the fifth dielectric layers. Claims 23-25, 30-32 depend on claim 22 and are also allowed.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN TZU-HUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893