DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 13 July 2026.
Claims 1 and 16 were amended. Claim 13 was previously cancelled. New claims 19-21 were added. Therefore, claims 1-12 and 14-21 are currently pending in the current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10 of the Remarks, filed 13 July 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of de Mersseman et al., US 20170343652 A1 in view of Chaborski et al., US 4521107 A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-12, 14, 16, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Mersseman et al., US 20170343652 A1 (“de Mersseman”) in view of Chaborski et al., US 4521107 A (“Chaborski”).
Regarding claim 1, de Mersseman discloses an optical distance measurement system, comprising:
a transmission circuit configured to generate narrowband light transmission signals over a first band of frequencies and direct the narrowband light transmission signals toward a target object (Fig. 5, light emitter 66, laser modulator 64, Paragraph [0049]; See also Figs. 1-3 which show narrowband modulated carriers); and
a receive circuit configured to:
receive light and convert, by a photodiode of the receive circuit, the received light into a current signal proportional to an intensity of the received light (Fig. 5, light detector 56, transimpedance amplifiers 58, LPF 60, ADC 62, Paragraph [0049]);
filter, by a tuning network of the receive circuit, frequencies outside a second band of frequencies from the current signal to create a filtered current signal, the second band of frequencies corresponding with the first band of frequencies (Fig. 5, LPF 60, Paragraph [0049]); and
convert, by a transimpedance circuit of the receive circuit, the filtered current signal into a voltage signal (Fig. 5, transimpedance amplifiers 58, Paragraph [0049]).
de Mersseman does not teach filtering the frequencies before converting the current signal to a voltage signal and wherein the tuning network is coupled between an anode of the photodiode and a ground terminal, and the tuning network and the photodiode form a circuit having a resonance frequency within the second band of frequencies.
However, Chaborski teaches an apparatus that measures the distance to a target. The receiving channel of the apparatus receives light through a photodiode, filters the frequencies of the received light through a resonance system, and then converts the signal using an impedance converter (Fig. 1, photodiode 17, resonance system 18, amplifier 20, Col. 7 lines 15-53; Fig. 2, amplifier 20, impedance converter 83, Col. 15 lines 54-58). Chaborski also teaches a resonance system that is a circuit made up of an inductor, a resistor, and a capacitor that are coupled in parallel between an anode of a photodiode and a ground terminal (Fig. 2, photodiode 17, resonance system 18, coil 80, capacitance 81, resistance 82, Col. 15 lines 21-32)
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified de Mersseman’s receiving circuitry by adding Chaborski’s resonance circuit between the light detector and transimpedance amplifiers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to amplify only signals corresponding to the reference and reflected light signals, as suggested by Chaborski (Col. 7 lines 54-58).
Regarding claim 2, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 1, wherein the transmission circuit includes: a modulation signal generator configured to generate modulated narrowband carrier signals in the first band of frequencies (de Mersseman, Fig. 5 digital signal processor and control (DSPC) 68, Paragraph [0049]); and a transmission driver coupled to a light-emitting circuit, the transmission driver optimized for narrowband modulation of current (de Mersseman, Fig. 5, laser modulator 64, Paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 3, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 2, wherein the modulated narrowband carrier signals are single tone signals (de Mersseman, Fig. 2, pulse burst envelope modulated carrier, Paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 5, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 2, wherein the modulated narrowband carrier signals are single tone signals with amplitude modulation (de Mersseman, Fig. 1, envelope modulated carrier, Paragraph [0042], Equation 1).
Regarding claim 6, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 2, wherein the modulated narrowband carrier signals are multiple tone signals with fixed frequencies (de Mersseman, Fig. 3, linear frequency envelope modulated carrier, Paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 7, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 2, wherein the modulated narrowband carrier signals are signals with frequency modulation over a narrowband frequency range (de Mersseman, Fig. 3, linear frequency envelope modulated carrier, Paragraph [0045]; See also: Paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 8, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 2, wherein the modulated narrowband carrier signals are signals with pulse position modulation over a narrow frequency range (de Mersseman, Fig. 2, pulse burst envelope modulated carrier, Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 9, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 2, wherein the receive circuit is further configured to determine a distance from the optical distance measurement system to the target object based on an estimated phase shift between the modulated narrowband carrier signals and the voltage signal (de Mersseman, Fig. 5, ADC 62, signal processor and control 68, Paragraph [0049]-[0050], Equation 20).
Regarding claim 10, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 1.
de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, does not teach: wherein the receive circuit is further configured to determine a distance from the optical distance measurement system to the target object based on a direct time of flight of the narrowband light transmission signals.
However, Chaborski teaches an apparatus that measures the distance to a target using direct time of flight from transmitted light. (Fig. 1, first comparison circuit 22, Col. 7 lines 61-68).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified de Mersseman’s receiving circuitry by calculating the time of flight directly, which is disclosed by Chaborski. One of ordinary skill in the art could have used this known distance measuring technique to improve de Mersseman’s device in a same way, and the results would have been predictable (MPEP 2143 I KSR Rationale C).
Regarding claim 11, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 1, wherein the received light is light reflected off the target object (de Mersseman, Paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 12, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 2, wherein the light-emitting circuit is a laser diode circuit (de Mersseman, light emitter 66, laser modulator 64, Paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 14, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 1, wherein the tuning network is configured to tune the receive circuit to a resonant frequency of the light transmission signals (Chaborski, Fig. 1, photodiode 17, resonance system 18, amplifier 20, Col. 7 lines 54-60).
Regarding claim 16, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 1, wherein: the transimpedance circuit includes a transimpedance amplifier (de Mersseman, Fig. 5, transimpedance amplifiers 58, Paragraph [0049]); and the anode of the photodiode is coupled to an input of the transimpedance amplifier (Chaborski, Fig. 2, photodiode 17, impedance converter 83, Col. 15 lines 54-58).
Regarding claim 19, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses The optical distance measurement system of claim 1, wherein the tuning network includes an inductor coupled between the anode of the photodiode and the ground terminal (Chaborski, Fig. 2, photodiode 17, resonance system 18, coil 80, ground, Col. 15 lines 21-32).
Regarding claim 20, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses The optical distance measurement system of claim 19, wherein the inductor and a capacitance of the photodiode form a parallel LC tank circuit having the resonance frequency (Chaborski, Fig. 2, photodiode 17, resonance system 18, coil 80, capacitance 81, resistance 82, Col. 15 lines 21-32).
Regarding claim 21, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses The optical distance measurement system of claim 20, wherein an inductance of the inductor is determined by the first band of frequencies and the capacitance of the photodiode (Chaborski, Fig. 2, photodiode 17, resonance system 18, coil 80, capacitance 81, resistance 82, Col. 15 lines 21-32).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Mersseman in view of Chaborski in further view of Crouch et al., US 20180224547 A1 (“Crouch”).
Regarding claim 4, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 2.
de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, does not teach: wherein the modulated narrowband carrier signals are single tone signals with phase modulation.
However, Crouch teaches a phase modulator that modulates a carrier wave. (Fig. 2, laser source phase 212, carrier wave 201, modulator 282, phase coded optical signal 203, Paragraph [0053]; See also Paragraph [0043]: carrier signal frequency is fc).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the de Mersseman’s modulator circuit to only include a phase modulated signal with a single tone carrier signal, which is disclosed by Crouch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve excellent range accuracy, as suggested by Crouch (Paragraph [0002]).
Claims 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Mersseman in view of Chaborski in further view of Stutz et al., US 20140333918 A1 (“Stutz”).
Regarding claim 15, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 1.
de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, does not teach: wherein the tuning network includes a bandpass filter.
However, Stutz teaches a filter, which may be a low-pass or band-pass filter, that is placed along the received signal processing circuit. (Fig. 2a, filter 3, Paragraph [0097]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted de Mersseman’s low-pass filter with Stutz’s bandpass filter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the accuracy of the measured distance, as suggested by Stutz (Paragraph [0052]).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Mersseman in view of Chaborski in further view of Duan et al., CN 104020460 A (“Duan”).
Regarding claim 17, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 16, […] the (Chaborski, Fig. 1, photodiode 17, resonance system 18, amplifier 20, Col. 7 lines 15-53).
de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski, does not teach: wherein: the transimpedance amplifier has a negative input and an output, the negative input of the transimpedance amplifier is coupled to the tuning network; and the transimpedance amplifier includes a feedback circuit coupled between the negative input and the output of the transimpedance amplifier.
However, Duan teaches a transimpedance amplifier circuit with a first amplifier that contains a negative and positive input pin. The amplifier also connects a resistor and capacitor in parallel to the negative input of the amplifier. (Fig. 2, resistor R2, capacitor C2, first amplifier, Paragraph [0016]; See also Paragraph [0020], [0025]). Duan also teaches a high pass filter connected to a second amplifier circuit (Fig. 2, capacitor c7, resistor R4, second amplifier, Paragraph [0017]). While the high pass filter is not explicitly connected to the transimpedance amplifier, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the high pass filter could be connected before a transimpedance amplifier in the same way.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified de Mersseman’s TIA by a capacitor and resistor in parallel for a feedback circuit, which is disclosed by Duan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “[reduce] the need for a digital-to-analog converter and other circuits for adjusting the input compared to a gain-adjustable amplifier”, as suggested by Duan (Paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 18, de Mersseman, as modified in view of Chaborski and Duan, discloses the optical distance measurement system of claim 17, wherein the feedback circuit includes at least a resistor and at least a capacitor that are connected in parallel (Duan, Fig. 2, resistor R2, capacitor C2, first amplifier, Paragraph [0016]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified de Mersseman’s TIA by a capacitor and resistor in parallel for a feedback circuit, which is disclosed by Duan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “[reduce] the need for a digital-to-analog converter and other circuits for adjusting the input compared to a gain-adjustable amplifier”, as suggested by Duan (Paragraph [0009]).
Conclusion
/RACHEL NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645