DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on November 14, 2025 was received and has been entered. Claims 1-5 and 7-9 were amended. Claims 6, 10, 13-15, and 19-20 were cancelled. Claims 21-27 were added. Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are in the application and pending examination. Claims 11-12 and 16-18 were previously withdrawn. Claims 21-27 are withdrawn based on their dependence on a withdrawn claim. Replacement Specification was submitted to correct minor typographical errors. A replacement paragraph was submitted to amend the title. Replacement Figs. 3 and 6 were submitted to correct errors in the legends.
Drawings
The previous objections to the drawings are objected to because : the legend for middle graph in Fig. 3 reciting “Perse Fluid Flow” and reciting “Intmaity” in Fig. 6 are withdrawn based on the submission of Replacement Drawings Figs. 3 and 6.
Fig. 6 is objected to because the legend recites “m/2”. A suggested revision is “m/z” based on paragraph 78.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “receive the sensor signals indicative of a concentration of hydrogen ions in the exhaust fluid; generate thickness data indicative of a thickness of the gate dielectric layer based on the concentration of hydrogen ions; and adjust a flow of the HfCl4 responsive to the thickness data” in claim 1 and
Specification
The previous objection to the title of the invention for not being descriptive is withdrawn based on the submission of an amended title.
The previous objection to paragraph 15 for previously reciting the phrase “and the like” is withdrawn. However, the sentence in paragraph 15 is objected to for providing a series of items in a series and not including a conjunction before the last term and/or punctuation.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control system” in claim 1.
Claim Objections
The previous objection to claims 2-3 and 9 for reciting ” byproducts” is withdrawn based on the amendment to claims 2-3 and 9.
The previous objection to claim 4 for reciting “adjust flow rate” is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 4.
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
“the chamber” in lines 16 and 18 of claim 1 should be “the thin film deposition chamber”. Alternatively, claim 1, line 2 could be revised as follows :
“a chamber, said chamber is a thin film deposition chamber”. The revised terms should be used consistently based on whatever edit is selected. Appropriate correction is required.
“a second channel” in line 22 of claim 1 should be “the second channel”.
“the HfCl4” in line 20 of claim 1 and the last line of claim 1 should be “HfCl4”. The revised terms should be used consistently based on whatever edit is selected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The previous rejection of claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, and 8-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20040266011 A1 to Jae-cheol Lee et al (hereinafter Lee) in view of US 20180057937 A1 to Hak Joo Lee and Dae Youn Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1 and the cancellation of claims 6 and 10.
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20040266011 A1 to Jae-cheol Lee et al (hereinafter Lee) in view of US 20180057937 A1 to Hak Joo Lee and Dae Youn Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20080241423 A1 to Blackwell et al (hereinafter Blackwell) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190157096 A1 to Zhou et al (hereinafter Zhou) and US Pat. Num. 6,387,823 B1 to Sonderman et al (hereinafter Sonderman). (US Pat. Pub. No. 20180172729 A1 to Michael Kirst (hereinafter Kirst) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20140004022 A1 to Sagona et al (hereinafter Sagona) are being used as an evidentiary references.)
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a thin film deposition system, comprising: a thin film deposition chamber (31) ; a support (40a) configured to support a substrate (40b) within the thin film deposition chamber (31); a first fluid source ( source connected to 52) configured to flow H20 into the thin film deposition chamber (See Lee, Fig. 5, and paragraph 44) provide a first fluid (gas) into the thin film deposition chamber during a thin film deposition process; a second fluid source configured to flow HfCl4 into the thin film deposition chamber, a first channel corresponding to an exhaust channel (54) configured to pass an exhaust fluid (gas generated by a reaction from the reactor 31) from the thin film deposition chamber (31);
and a byproduct sensor (37) configured to sense byproducts (gases generated as by-product) in the exhaust fluid and to generate sensor signals (electric signals) indicative of the byproducts (gases generated as by-product). ( See Lee, Abstract, paragraph 9-10, 25, 29-30, 35, 37, 41, and 44, and Fig. 3.)
Additionally, regarding claim 1 (subject matter previously incorporated from claim 10), Lee does not explicitly teach a second channel; a byproduct sensor positioned in the second channel and configured to sense byproducts in the exhaust fluid and to generate sensor signals indicative of the byproducts.
Kim teaches a multiple exhaust channels (23,24); a byproduct sensor(exhaust gas analyzers) positioned in the second channel and configured to sense byproducts in the exhaust fluid and to generate sensor signals indicative of the byproducts. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraph 105, and Figs. 8-13.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a second channel; a byproduct sensor positioned in the second channel and configured to sense byproducts in the exhaust fluid and to generate sensor signals indicative of the byproducts, because Kim teaches this would allow the compositions of exhaust gases to be analyzed and the amount of remaining gases (gas byproducts) and gas supply conditions to be determined . ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 103-109, and Figs. 8-13.)
Lee does not explicitly teach a control system configured to control the first and second fluid source.
Zhou is directed to ALD deposition.
Zhou teaches a control system (108) configured to control the first and second fluid source. (See Zhou, Abstract, and paragraphs 34, 38, 45, 65, 68, 80-81, and 83.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a control system configured to control the first and second fluid source; because Zhou teaches this would enable the processes to be controlled. (See Zhou, Abstract, and paragraphs 34, 38, 45, 65, 68, 80-81, and 83.)
Lee does not explicitly teach … to control the first and second fluid source to form, in a plurality of deposition cycles, a gate oxide layer of a transistor on a seed layer including functionalized oxygen atoms.
Blackwell is directed to ALD deposition.
Blackwell teaches water first fluid may be provided to the surface followed by the HfCl4, second fluid in a plurality of deposition cycles (successive cycles), a gate oxide layer of a transistor on a seed layer including functionalized oxygen atoms. (See Blackwell, Abstract, paragraphs 4-7, 17, 20-29, and 30-34.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include to control the first and second fluid source to form, in a plurality of deposition cycles, a gate oxide layer of a transistor on a seed layer including functionalized oxygen atoms; because Blackwell teaches this would enable the processes to be controlled and quality layer to be formed. (See Blackwell, Abstract, paragraphs 4-7, 17, 20-29, and 30-34.)
Lee teaches the steps of control the first and second fluid source to form, in a plurality of deposition cycles, a gate oxide layer of a transistor on seed layer including functionalized oxygen atoms, each deposition cycle including
flowing a first material into the thin film deposition chamber;
purging the first material from the chamber in a first purging process including passing the exhaust fluid from the thin film deposition chamber,
flowing a second material into the chamber after purging the first material form the chamber; and purging the second material from the thin film deposition chamber in a second purging process. (See Lee, paragraphs 6, 10, 33).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include each deposition cycle including
flowing a first material into the thin film deposition chamber;
purging the first material from the chamber in a first purging process including passing the exhaust fluid from the thin film deposition chamber,
flowing a second material into the chamber after purging the first material form the chamber; and purging the second material from the thin film deposition chamber in a second purging process; because Lee teaches this would enable the desired composition to be deposited. (See Lee, paragraphs 6, 10, 33).
Lee does not explicitly teach each deposition cycle including
flowing H20 into the thin film deposition chamber;
purging the H20 from the chamber in a first purging process including passing the exhaust fluid from the thin film deposition chamber,
flowing HfCl4 into the chamber after purging the H20 from the chamber; and purging the HfCl4 from the thin film deposition chamber in a second purging process. (See Lee, paragraphs 6, 10, 33).
Blackwell teaches water may be provided to the surface followed by the HfCl4. (See Blackwell, Abstract, paragraphs 17, 30-34.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each deposition cycle including
flowing H20 into the thin film deposition chamber;
purging the H20 from the chamber in a first purging process including passing the exhaust fluid from the thin film deposition chamber,
flowing HfCl4 into the chamber after purging the H20 from the chamber; and purging the HfCl4 from the thin film deposition chamber in a second purging process; because Blackwell teaches this would enable the desired composition to be deposited. (See Blackwell, Abstract, paragraphs 17, 30-34.)
Lee does not teach a control system configured to receive the sensor signals and to adjust the thin film deposition process responsive to the sensor signals.
Kim is directed to thin film fabricating method and exhaust apparatus. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 69, 71, and 105. )
Kim teaches a control system configured to receive the sensor signals and to adjust the thin film deposition process responsive to the sensor signals. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 15-16, 69, 71, 73, 78, 80, 105, 143, and 150.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a control system configured to receive the sensor signals and to adjust the thin film deposition process responsive to the sensor signals, because Kim teaches the controller may communicate with the gas analysis unit and determine operation timing of the first and second opening/closing units. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 69, 71, and 105. )
Additionally regarding claim 1 (subject matter incorporated from claim 6), Lee does not explicitly teach a second fluid source configured to provide a second fluid into the thin film deposition chamber during the thin film deposition process.
Kim teaches a second fluid source (150) configured to provide a second fluid (second gas) into the thin film deposition chamber during the thin film deposition process. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 15-16, 63-64, 69, 71, 73, 78, 80, 105, 143, and 150.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a second fluid source configured to provide a second fluid into the thin film deposition chamber during the thin film deposition process, because Kim teaches this would ensure the gas is selectively discharged to the appropriate region at the appropriate time. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 15-16, 69, 71, 73, 78, 80, 105, 143, and 150.)
Additionally regarding claim 1 (subject matter incorporated from claim 6), Lee does not explicitly teach a control system configured to draft a portion of the exhaust fluid into a second channel; receive the sensor signals indicative of a concentration of hydrogen ions in the exhaust fluid.
Kim teaches a control system (240) configured to draft a portion of the exhaust fluid into a second channel (23, 24); receive the sensor signals indicative of a concentration in the exhaust fluid. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 15-16, 63-64, 69, 71, 73, 78, 80, 105, 143, and 150.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include draft a portion of the exhaust fluid into a second channel; receive the sensor signals indicative of a concentration hydrogen ions in the exhaust fluid, because Kim teaches this would allow the operation timing of the first and second closing units to be determined. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 15-16, 69, 71, 73, 78- 80, 103-109, 143, and 150 and Figs. 3 and 8-13.) (Examiner is considering sensor signals indicative of concentration of hydrogen ions to be equivalent of analysis unit for gas concentration. See Kirst, paragraph 3.)
Additionally regarding claim 1 (subject matter incorporated from claim 6), Lee does not explicitly teach control system to generate thickness data indicative of a thickness of the gate dielectric layer based on the concentration of hydrogen ions; and adjust a flow the HCl4 responsive to the thickness data.
Sonderman is directed to method and apparatus for controlling deposition process using residual gas analysis.
Sonderman teaches control system to generate performance data based on performance of the deposition tool and the gas analyzer (10). (See Sonderman, Abstract, col. 4, lines 25-40; col. 5, lines 25-45; col. 7, lines 7-60.)
Segona teaches the thickness of a coating can be predicted based on hydrogen ion concentration. (See Segona, paragraph 328.)
The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. lnterchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, taking the references as a whole, it would have been obvious to have control system to generate thickness data indicative of a thickness of the gate dielectric layer based on the concentration of hydrogen ions; and adjust a flow the HCl4 responsive to the thickness data with a reasonable expectation of success, because Sonderman teaches using residual gas analysis endpoint determination would enable the operating variables of the deposition tool to be maximized. (See Sonderman, Abstract, col. 4, lines 25-40; col. 5, lines 25-45; col. 7, lines 7-60.)
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the byproduct sensor includes a mass spectrometer (37) configured to detect the byproducts in the exhaust fluid (residual gas). (See Lee, Abstract, paragraph 9-10, 25, 35-37, 41, and 44, and Fig. 5.)
Regarding claim 4, Lee does not explicitly teach the control system is configured to sense a flow rate of the H20 based on the sensor signals.
Kim teaches a control system configured to receive the sensor signals and to adjust the thin film deposition process responsive to the sensor signals. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 15-16, 69, 71, 73, 78, 80, 105, 143, and 150.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the control system is configured to sense a flow rate of the H20 based on the sensor signals , because Kim teaches the controller may communicate with the gas analysis unit and determine operation timing of the first and second opening/closing units to ensure the inside pressure of the reaction space is constantly maintained. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 15-16, 69, 71, 73, 78, 80, 105, 143, and 150.)
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches the thin film deposition process is an atomic layer deposition process. ( See Lee, Abstract, paragraph 3, 5, 6, 9, 17, 22-25, 27, 40, and 43-45 and Fig. 5.)
Regarding claim 8, Lee does not explicitly teach the control system controls alternating flow periods of the H20 and HfCl4 from the first and second fluid sources.
Kim teaches the control system (controller) controls alternating flow periods (first and second opening/closing units) of the first and second fluids from the first (first purge gas) and second fluid sources (second purge gas) . ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 15-16, 69, 73, 77-78,80, 90, 94, 99-100, 104, 147, 149-150, 152, 155-156, 158, 160-162.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the control system controls alternating flow periods of the H20 and HfCl4 from the first and second fluid sources, because Kim teaches this would allow the source gases from the gas supply unit to be selectively discharged. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 15-16, 69, 71, 73, 78, 80, 105, 143, and 150.)
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches the byproduct sensor is configured to generate sensor signals indicative of the byproducts of the first fluid and one or more other materials. ( See Lee, Abstract, paragraphs 13, 29, 36-37.)
The previous rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20040266011 A1 to Jae-cheol Lee et al (hereinafter Lee) in view of US 20180057937 A1 to Hak Joo Lee and Dae Youn Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US 20060219634 A1 to Parekh et al (hereinafter Parekh) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20040266011 A1 to Jae-cheol Lee et al (hereinafter Lee) in view of US 20180057937 A1 to Hak Joo Lee and Dae Youn Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20080241423 A1 to Blackwell et al (hereinafter Blackwell) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190157096 A1 to Zhou et al (hereinafter Zhou) and US Pat. Num. 6,387,823 B1 to Sonderman et al (hereinafter Sonderman) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US 20060219634 A1 to Parekh et al (hereinafter Parekh).
Regarding claim 2, Lee does not teach further comprising a pH sensor configured to measure a pH of the exhaust fluid.
Parekh is directed to method and apparatus for treating fluids which include placement before or after vacuum pumps on etch and PVD tools or an outlet of an CVD tool. ( See Parekh, Abstract, paragraphs 34, 37, 39-40, and 45. )
Parekh teaches the byproduct sensor includes a pH sensor configured to detect byproducts by measuring a pH of the exhaust fluid. ( See Parekh, Abstract, paragraphs 34, 37, 39-40, and 45. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a pH sensor configured to measure a pH of the exhaust fluid, because Parekh teaches the removal of an impurity fluid component so the fluid composition flow rate can be adjusted to maximize the mass transfer efficiency of the apparatus based upon measured the amount of impurity in the fluid composition. ( See Parekh, Abstract, paragraphs 34, 37, 39-40, and 45. )
The previous rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20040266011 A1 to Jae-cheol Lee et al (hereinafter Lee) in view of US 20180057937 A1 to Hak Joo Lee and Dae Youn Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US 20180204720 A1 to Tanaka et al (hereinafter Tanaka) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20040266011 A1 to Jae-cheol Lee et al (hereinafter Lee) in view of US 20180057937 A1 to Hak Joo Lee and Dae Youn Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20080241423 A1 to Blackwell et al (hereinafter Blackwell) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190157096 A1 to Zhou et al (hereinafter Zhou) and US Pat. Num. 6,387,823 B1 to Sonderman et al (hereinafter Sonderman) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US 20180204720 A1 to Tanaka et al (hereinafter Tanaka).
Regarding claim 5, Lee does not teach the control system is configured to estimate a remaining quantity of the HfCl4 in the second fluid source based on the sensor signals.
Tanaka is directed to a technique capable of acquiring, monitoring and recording the progress of the reaction between a substrate and a reactive gas contained in a process gas in a process chamber during the processing of a substrate. ( See Tanaka, Abstract.)
Tanaka teaches the gas concentration meter (600) measures the concentration of the exhaust gas flowing in the gas exhaust pipe (231) which is exhausted from the process chamber (201). ( See Tanaka, Abstract, paragraphs 11, 58 and 111.)
Tanaka teaches a controller configured to control the process gas supply system to supply the process gas to the substrate in the process chamber and acquire the first concentration detected by the first gas concentration sensor and the second concentration detected and calculate and record in a memory device an amount of the reactive gas consumed in the process chamber based on the first concentration a second concentration from the sensors. ( See Tanaka, Abstract, paragraphs 11, 58, 111, and 116.) Examiner is considering to estimate a remaining quantity of the first fluid in the first fluid source based on the sensor signals to be equivalent to determining a cumulative amount of fluid consumed based on sensor signals i.e. a controller which determines a fluid consumed is 50%, is equivalent to a controller configured to estimate a remaining quantity of a fluid remaining of 50%.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the control system is configured to estimate a remaining quantity of the HfCl4 in the second fluid based on the sensor signals, because Tanaka teaches the use of the sensor signals to approximate amount of raw reactive gas is useful to determine when to stop modifying step, so that processing time can be shortened and throughput improved. ( See Tanaka, Abstract, paragraphs 122, 124, and 126.)
Double Patenting
The previous rejection of claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20240376605 A1 to Chung-Liang Cheng (hereinafter Cheng) in view of US 20040266011 A1 to Jae-cheol Lee et al (hereinafter Lee) in view of US 20180057937 A1 to Hak Joo Lee and Dae Youn Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20240376605 A1 to Chung-Liang Cheng (hereinafter Cheng) in view of US 20040266011 A1 to Jae-cheol Lee et al (hereinafter Lee) in view of US 20180057937 A1 to Hak Joo Lee and Dae Youn Kim et al (hereinafter Kim) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20080241423 A1 to Blackwell et al (hereinafter Blackwell) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190157096 A1 to Zhou et al (hereinafter Zhou) and US Pat. Num. 6,387,823 B1 to Sonderman et al (hereinafter Sonderman).
Regarding claim 1 of the current application, claim 18 of Cheng recites a thin film deposition system, comprising: a thin film deposition chamber (a thin film deposition chamber) ; a fluid source ( source connected to 52) configured to provide a first fluid (gas) into the thin film deposition chamber during a thin film deposition process;); and, a support configured to support a substrate within the thin film deposition chamber ( a support configured to support a substrate within the thin film deposition chamber).
Claim 18 of Cheng does not explicitly recite:
an exhaust channel configured to pass an exhaust fluid from the thin film deposition chamber; and a byproduct sensor configured to sense byproducts in the exhaust fluid and to generate sensor signals indicative of the byproducts.
Lee teaches an exhaust channel (54) configured to pass an exhaust fluid (gas generated by a reaction from the reactor 31) from the thin film deposition chamber (31); and a byproduct sensor (37) configured to sense byproducts (gases generated as by-product) in the exhaust fluid and to generate sensor signals (electric signals) indicative of the byproducts. ( See Lee, Abstract, paragraph 9-10, 25, 35, 37, 41, and 44, and Fig. 5.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include
an exhaust channel configured to pass an exhaust fluid from the thin film deposition chamber; and a byproduct sensor configured to sense byproducts in the exhaust fluid and to generate sensor signals indicative of the byproducts, because Lee teaches the controller provides analysis of the wafer in real time which decreases failure and the cost for additional analysis. ( See Lee, Abstract, paragraph 9-10, 25, 35, 37, 41, and 44, and Fig. 5.)
Claim 18 of Cheng does not teach a control system configured to receive the sensor signals and to adjust the thin film deposition process responsive to the sensor signals.
Kim is directed to thin film fabricating method and exhaust apparatus. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 69, 71, and 105. )
Kim teaches a control system configured to receive the sensor signals and to adjust the thin film deposition process responsive to the sensor signals. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 15-16, 69, 71, 73, 78, 80, 105, 143, and 150.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a control system configured to receive the sensor signals and to adjust the thin film deposition process responsive to the sensor signals, because Kim teaches the controller may communicate with the gas analysis unit and determine operation timing of the first and second opening/closing units. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 69, 71, and 105. )
a first fluid source ( source connected to 52) configured to flow H20 into the thin film deposition chamber (See Lee, Fig. 5, and paragraph 44) provide a first fluid (gas) into the thin film deposition chamber during a thin film deposition process; a second fluid source configured to flow HfCl4 into the thin film deposition chamber, a first channel corresponding to an exhaust channel (54) configured to pass an exhaust fluid (gas generated by a reaction from the reactor 31) from the thin film deposition chamber (31);
and a byproduct sensor (37) configured to sense byproducts (gases generated as by-product) in the exhaust fluid and to generate sensor signals (electric signals) indicative of the byproducts (gases generated as by-product). ( See Lee, Abstract, paragraph 9-10, 25, 29-30, 35, 37, 41, and 44, and Fig. 3.)
Lee teaches a first fluid source ( source connected to 52) configured to flow H20 into the thin film deposition chamber (See Lee, Fig. 5, and paragraph 44) provide a first fluid (gas) into the thin film deposition chamber during a thin film deposition process; a second fluid source configured to flow HfCl4 into the thin film deposition chamber, a first channel corresponding to an exhaust channel (54) configured to pass an exhaust fluid (gas generated by a reaction from the reactor 31) from the thin film deposition chamber (31). ( See Lee, Abstract, paragraph 9-10, 25, 29-30, 35, 37, 41, and 44, and Fig. 3.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include
a first fluid source configured to flow H20 into the thin film deposition chamber provide a first fluid into the thin film deposition chamber during a thin film deposition process; a second fluid source configured to flow HfCl4 into the thin film deposition chamber, a first channel corresponding to an exhaust channel configured to pass an exhaust fluid from the thin film deposition chamber, because Lee teaches this structure teaches this enable the wafer to be made precisely ( See Lee, Abstract, paragraph 9-10, 25, 35, 37, 41, and 44, and Fig. 5.)
Additionally, regarding claim 1 claim 18 of Cheng does not explicitly teach a second channel; a byproduct sensor positioned in the second channel and configured to sense byproducts in the exhaust fluid and to generate sensor signals indicative of the byproducts.
Kim teaches a multiple exhaust channels (23,24); a byproduct sensor(exhaust gas analyzers) positioned in the second channel and configured to sense byproducts in the exhaust fluid and to generate sensor signals indicative of the byproducts. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraph 105, and Figs. 8-13.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a second channel; a byproduct sensor positioned in the second channel and configured to sense byproducts in the exhaust fluid and to generate sensor signals indicative of the byproducts, because Kim teaches this would allow the compositions of exhaust gases to be analyzed and the amount of remaining gases (gas byproducts) and gas supply conditions to be determined . ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 103-109, and Figs. 8-13.)
Claim 18 of Cheng does not explicitly teach a control system configured to control the first and second fluid source.
Zhou teaches a control system (108) configured to control the first and second fluid source. (See Zhou, Abstract, and paragraphs 34, 38, 45, 65, 68, 80-81, and 83.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a control system configured to control the first and second fluid source; because Zhou teaches this would enable the processes to be controlled. (See Zhou, Abstract, and paragraphs 34, 38, 45, 65, 68, 80-81, and 83.)
Claim 18 of Cheng does not explicitly teach … to control the first and second fluid source to form, in a plurality of deposition cycles, a gate oxide layer of a transistor on a seed layer including functionalized oxygen atoms.
Blackwell teaches water first fluid may be provided to the surface followed by the HfCl4, second fluid in a plurality of deposition cycles (successive cycles), a gate oxide layer of a transistor on a seed layer including functionalized oxygen atoms. (See Blackwell, Abstract, paragraphs 4-7, 17, 20-29, and 30-34.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include to control the first and second fluid source to form, in a plurality of deposition cycles, a gate oxide layer of a transistor on a seed layer including functionalized oxygen atoms; because Blackwell teaches this would enable the processes to be controlled and quality layer to be formed. (See Blackwell, Abstract, paragraphs 4-7, 17, 20-29, and 30-34.)
Claim 18 of Cheng does not explicitly teacthe steps of control the first and second fluid source to form, in a plurality of deposition cycles, a gate oxide layer of a transistor on seed layer including functionalized oxygen atoms, each deposition cycle including
flowing a first material into the thin film deposition chamber;
purging the first material from the chamber in a first purging process including passing the exhaust fluid from the thin film deposition chamber,
flowing a second material into the chamber after purging the first material form the chamber; and purging the second material from the thin film deposition chamber in a second purging process.
Lee teaches the steps of control the first and second fluid source to form, in a plurality of deposition cycles, a gate oxide layer of a transistor on seed layer including functionalized oxygen atoms, each deposition cycle including
flowing a first material into the thin film deposition chamber;
purging the first material from the chamber in a first purging process including passing the exhaust fluid from the thin film deposition chamber,
flowing a second material into the chamber after purging the first material form the chamber; and purging the second material from the thin film deposition chamber in a second purging process. (See Lee, paragraphs 6, 10, 33).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include each deposition cycle including
flowing a first material into the thin film deposition chamber;
purging the first material from the chamber in a first purging process including passing the exhaust fluid from the thin film deposition chamber,
flowing a second material into the chamber after purging the first material form the chamber; and purging the second material from the thin film deposition chamber in a second purging process; because Lee teaches this would enable the desired composition to be deposited. (See Lee, paragraphs 6, 10, 33).
Claim 18 of Cheng does not explicitly teach each deposition cycle including
flowing H20 into the thin film deposition chamber;
purging the H20 from the chamber in a first purging process including passing the exhaust fluid from the thin film deposition chamber,
flowing HfCl4 into the chamber after purging the H20 from the chamber; and purging the HfCl4 from the thin film deposition chamber in a second purging process. (See Lee, paragraphs 6, 10, 33).
Blackwell teaches water may be provided to the surface followed by the HfCl4. (See Blackwell, Abstract, paragraphs 17, 30-34.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each deposition cycle including
flowing H20 into the thin film deposition chamber;
purging the H20 from the chamber in a first purging process including passing the exhaust fluid from the thin film deposition chamber,
flowing HfCl4 into the chamber after purging the H20 from the chamber; and purging the HfCl4 from the thin film deposition chamber in a second purging process; because Blackwell teaches this would enable the desired composition to be deposited. (See Blackwell, Abstract, paragraphs 17, 30-34.)
Claim 18 of Cheng does not teach a control system configured to receive the sensor signals and to adjust the thin film deposition process responsive to the sensor signals.
Kim is directed to thin film fabricating method and exhaust apparatus. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 69, 71, and 105. )
Kim teaches a control system configured to receive the sensor signals and to adjust the thin film deposition process responsive to the sensor signals. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 15-16, 69, 71, 73, 78, 80, 105, 143, and 150.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a control system configured to receive the sensor signals and to adjust the thin film deposition process responsive to the sensor signals, because Kim teaches the controller may communicate with the gas analysis unit and determine operation timing of the first and second opening/closing units. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 69, 71, and 105. )
Additionally regarding claim 1, claim 18 of Cheng does not explicitly teach a second fluid source configured to provide a second fluid into the thin film deposition chamber during the thin film deposition process.
Kim teaches a second fluid source (150) configured to provide a second fluid (second gas) into the thin film deposition chamber during the thin film deposition process. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 15-16, 63-64, 69, 71, 73, 78, 80, 105, 143, and 150.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a second fluid source configured to provide a second fluid into the thin film deposition chamber during the thin film deposition process, because Kim teaches this would ensure the gas is selectively discharged to the appropriate region at the appropriate time. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 15-16, 69, 71, 73, 78, 80, 105, 143, and 150.)
Additionally regarding claim 1, Claim 18 of Cheng does not explicitly teach a control system configured to draft a portion of the exhaust fluid into a second channel; receive the sensor signals indicative of a concentration of hydrogen ions in the exhaust fluid.
Kim teaches a control system (240) configured to draft a portion of the exhaust fluid into a second channel (23, 24); receive the sensor signals indicative of a concentration in the exhaust fluid. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 15-16, 63-64, 69, 71, 73, 78, 80, 105, 143, and 150.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include draft a portion of the exhaust fluid into a second channel; receive the sensor signals indicative of a concentration hydrogen ions in the exhaust fluid, because Kim teaches this would allow the operation timing of the first and second closing units to be determined. ( See Kim, Abstract, paragraphs 4-5, 15-16, 69, 71, 73, 78- 80, 103-109, 143, and 150 and Figs. 3 and 8-13.) (Examiner is considering sensor signals indicative of concentration of hydrogen ions to be equivalent of analysis unit for gas concentration. See Kirst, paragraph 3.)
Additionally regarding claim 1, Claim 18 of Cheng does not explicitly teach control system to generate thickness data indicative of a thickness of the gate dielectric layer based on the concentration of hydrogen ions; and adjust a flow the HCl4 responsive to the thickness data.
Sonderman is directed to method and apparatus for controlling deposition process using residual gas analysis.
Sonderman teaches control system to generate performance data based on performance of the deposition tool and the gas analyzer (10). (See Sonderman, Abstract, col. 4, lines 25-40; col. 5, lines 25-45; col. 7, lines 7-60.)
Segona teaches the thickness of a coating can be predicted based on hydrogen ion concentration. (See Segona, paragraph 328.)
The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. lnterchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, taking the references as a whole, it would have been obvious to have control system to generate thickness data indicative of a thickness of the gate dielectric layer based on the concentration of hydrogen ions; and adjust a flow the HCl4 responsive to the thickness data with a reasonable expectation of success, because Sonderman teaches using residual gas analysis endpoint determination would enable the operating variables of the deposition tool to be maximized. (See Sonderman, Abstract, col. 4, lines 25-40; col. 5, lines 25-45; col. 7, lines 7-60.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and 7-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Terminal Disclaimer submitted 11/20/2025 has not been accepted for the following reason: “ The applicant name is incomplete on the TD form. To resolve disapproval please resubmit and type the applicant name above the line/space on the form or send attachment on a separate page. No additional fee is required with the resubmission.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARL KURPLE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717