Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 02/09/2026 (“ANE.I”), in which: claims 1 – 3 and 9 are amended; no claims are cancelled; no new claims are added; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1 – 20, wherein claims 10 – 20 are withdrawn from consideration due to a restriction requirement, are currently pending an Office Action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 – 9 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanaya (US 20180151834 A1), and further in view of Choi et al. (US 20200161582 A1; hereafter Choi1), and Choi et al. (US 20170148856 A1; hereafter Choi2).
Regarding independent Claim 1, Kanaya teaches a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 7; second substrate 112) comprising an opening area (Fig. 7; through hole 110), a display area (Fig. 3; display region 103) surrounding at least a portion of the opening area (Fig. 3), and an intermediate area (Fig. 7; moisture blocking region 111) between the opening area and the display area (Figs. 3 and 7);
an inorganic layer on the substrate (Fig. 7; interlayer insulating film 122. See [0039]);
an organic insulating layer (Fig. 7; first insulating layer 126. See [0045]) on the inorganic layer in the display area (Fig. 7);
a display element (Fig. 3; pixel 109, specifically the light-emitting diode of pixel 109. Also, see Fig. 7; dummy pixel D) on the organic insulating layer (Fig. 7) and comprising a pixel electrode (Fig. 7; pixel electrode 125), an opposite electrode on the pixel electrode (Fig. 7; counter electrode 128), and an intermediate layer (Fig. 7; organic layer 127) between the pixel electrode and the opposite electrode (Fig. 7);
an inorganic encapsulation layer (Kanaya teaches in [0065] that a first inorganic insulating layer 131, an organic insulating layer 132, and a second inorganic insulating layer 133 function as a sealing film, i.e., an encapsulation layer) on the display element (Fig. 7);
a partition layer (Fig. 7; convex parts 145 and 143) in the intermediate area (Fig. 7) and comprising a first partition (Fig. 7; convex part 145) and a second partition (Fig. 7; convex part 143),
wherein the intermediate layer comprises an organic layer (Kanaya teaches [0046] that the organic layer 127 may include a plurality of organic layers) extending toward the intermediate area from the display area (Fig. 7), and …
wherein the opposite electrode extends toward the intermediate area from the display area (Figs. 2 and 7 shows the opposite electrode, i.e., counter electrode 128, as disposed continuously in the display area) and comprises an electrode opening (Fig. 7; opening between counter electrode 128 in the left region PX and the right region PX) …
However, Kanaya remains silent regarding:
… the organic layer is separated by a plurality of first openings in an area between the organic insulating layer and the first partition and by a plurality of second openings in an area between the first partition and the second partition, …
the opposite electrode includes an electrode opening … overlapping the plurality of first openings and the plurality of second openings,
the inorganic encapsulation layer is in continuous contact with the inorganic layer within the plurality of first openings and the plurality of second openings.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi et al. (US 20200161582 A1; hereafter Choi1) discloses a similar display device (Fig. 12), including first barrier wall 510 and a second barrier wall 520, considered by the examiner to be a first partition and a second partition. Further, between the first partition and an organic insulating layer, e.g., planarized insulating layer 209, there is a groove G that includes a plurality of first openings. Additionally,Choi1 teaches a plurality of second openings (openings between the grooves of the first and second partitions) in an area between the first partition and the second partition (Fig. 12). Further, Choi1 teaches that the grooves G have an undercut, which is a useful structural design for moisture blocking structures known within the field of endeavor.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Choi et al. (US 20170148856 A1; hereafter Choi2) teaches a similar display device (Fig. 5) that includes stepped portions (e.g., first and second stepped portion 500A and 500B) having an undercut structure to block a path through which moisture infiltrates from a lateral direction ([0197]). Examiner considers the openings around second stepped portion 500B to be analogous to Choi1’s grooves G. Further, the examiner asserts that Choi2’s teaching of how undercut structures aid in blocking moisture from penetrating the device would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that such an undercut structure, as disclosed by Choi1 and Choi2, would be successful in blocking moisture when implemented into a device such as Kanaya’s; wherein these undercut structure may be provided between the first partition and the second partition of Kanaya in the form of a plurality of first openings and a plurality of second openings, which may be implemented in a way similar to what is shown in Choi1’s Fig. 12. Thus, the display apparatus of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, wherein the organic layer is separated by a plurality of first openings in an area between the organic insulating layer and the first partition and by a plurality of second openings in an area between the first partition and the second partition would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kanaya’s display apparatus to include a plurality of first openings in an area between the organic insulating layer and the first partition and by a plurality of second openings in an area between the first partition and the second partition, as disclosed by Choi1 and Choi2, because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Choi1s grooves have a shame that permits the blocking of moisture in the lateral direction (Choi2: [0197]). This known benefit in Choi1’s disclosure is applicable to Kanaya’s display apparatus as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to display devise with opening areas that are susceptible to moisture. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying [[Kanaya’s display apparatus to include a plurality of first openings in an area between the organic insulating layer and the first partition and by a plurality of second openings in an area between the first partition and the second partition, as disclosed by Choi1 and Choi2, would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate the organic layer is separated by a plurality of first openings in an area between the organic insulating layer and the first partition and by a plurality of second openings in an area between the first partition and the second partition in display devices, such as Kanaya’s, and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Additionally, in the modification of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, as part of Choi1’s groove G, Choi1 teaches how second barrier layer 104 has protruding portions toward the center of groove G which forms a pair of eaves ([0142] and Fig. 12); wherein eaves are a known structure in the art characterized by the overhanging and undercut design allow for moisture blocking and termination of layers in bezel/side/boarder areas of display panels. Examiner asserts that when modifying the display apparatus of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include the eaves structure in Kanaya’s display device while forming grooves/ a plurality of first and second openings between the markers of the organic layer, first partition, and second partition. Examiner asserts that Kanaya’s while forming grooves in the interlayer insulating film 122, the protective film 124 may removed in such a way to form eaves similar to what is shown in Choi1’s Fig. 12. This additional modification yields the display apparatus structure wherein the inorganic encapsulation layer is in continuous contact with the inorganic layer within the plurality of first openings and the plurality of second openings, because Kanaya’s inorganic encapsulation layer, i.e., first inorganic insulating layer 131, would extend through the pair of eaves (formed by protective film 124) and making direct and continuous contact with the inorganic layer, i.e., interlayer insulating film 122.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display apparatus of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, to include Choi1’s eave structure at the plurality of openings, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Choi1’s second barrier layer 104 is comparable to Kanaya’s protective film 124 because they are similar layers with protective qualities. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, to include Choi1’s eave structure at the plurality of openings, with the predictable result of the inorganic encapsulation layer is in continuous contact with the inorganic layer within the plurality of first openings and the plurality of second openings.
Examiner asserts that in the display apparatus of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, the claimed structure features of the instant invention, wherein:
the opposite electrode includes an electrode opening overlapping the plurality of first openings and the plurality of second openings, …
are naturally yielded in the combination of Kanaya, Choi1, and Choi2, and are therefore obvious. The plurality of first and second openings are located in the blocking region 111 of Kanaya; wherein Kanaya’s opposition electrode’s opening overlaps the blocking region and therefore overlapping the plurality of first openings and the plurality of second openings.
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, teach the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a thin film transistor (Kanaya: Fig. 2; transistor 120) in the display area (Kanaya: Figs. 1 and 2) and comprising a semiconductor layer (Kanaya: [0038] discloses a semiconductor layer 114) and a gate electrode (Kanaya: [0038] discloses a gate electrode 116) overlapping at least a portion of the semiconductor layer (Kanaya: Fig. 2); and
a first interlayer insulating layer (Kanaya: Fig. 7; protective film 124) on the thin film transistor (Kanaya: Fig. 2),
wherein the inorganic layer is under the first interlayer insulating layer (Yielded through the modification of Kanaya’s display apparatus and Choi1’s eave structures), and the first interlayer insulating layer further comprises a first inorganic layer (Kanaya: [0043] teaches that the protective film 124 may include inorganic insulating material) extending toward the intermediate area from the display area (Kanaya discloses in [0089] that in the moisture blocking region 111, i.e., the intermediate area, an end portion of protective film 124 is disposed),
the first inorganic layer comprises a plurality of first through holes (Yielded through the modification of Kanaya’s display apparatus and Choi1’s eave structures), overlapping the plurality of first openings and the plurality of second openings (Yielded through the modification of Kanaya’s display apparatus and Choi1’s eave structures).
Regarding dependent Claim 3, Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, teach the display apparatus of claim 2, further comprising:
a second interlayer insulating layer (Kanaya teaches in [0041] that planarization film 123 may include (stated not shown) an inorganic layer. Kanaya’s planarization film 123 is being interpreted by the examiner as a second interlayer insulating layer), wherein
the second interlayer insulating layer comprises a second inorganic layer (Kanaya teaches in [0041] that planarization film 123 may include (stated not shown) an inorganic layer. This inorganic layer is being interpreted by the examiner as second inorganic layer) extending toward the intermediate area from the display area (Fig. 7), and
the second inorganic layer comprises a plurality of second through holes overlapping the plurality of first openings and the plurality of second openings (Kanaya shows in Fig. 7 that planarization film 123 extends from the display area to the moisture blocking region 111; wherein through holes are formed in the blocking region, which overlap the plurality of first openings and the plurality of second openings in the display apparatus of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1, and Choi2).
Regarding dependent Claim 4, Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, teach the display apparatus of claim 1; however, Kanaya remains silent on the display apparatus further comprising
a stopper layer under the organic layer and in contact with the organic layer, and comprising a plurality of third through holes corresponding to the plurality of first openings and the plurality of second openings.
However, Choi1 teaches a display apparatus including:
a stopper layer (Choi1: Fig. 12; buffer layer 201) under the organic layer and in contact with the organic layer (Choi (US 20200161582 A1): Fig. 12), and comprising a plurality of third through holes (Choi (US 20200161582 A1): Fig. 12; plurality of through holes in buffer layer 201) corresponding to the plurality of first openings and the plurality of second openings (Choi (US 20200161582 A1): Fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, to include Choi1’s stopper layer, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display device of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, as modified by C Choi1’s stopper layer can yield a predictable result of preventing diffusion of material to or from the organic layer of the display element since Choi1’s stopper layer stopper layer is made from materials that prevent the diffusion of impurities (Choi1: [0091]). Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 5, Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, teach the display apparatus of claim 1; however, Kanaya remains silent wherein
the organic layer is separated by a plurality of third openings in an area between the second partition and the opening area, and
a width of each of the plurality of third openings is a same as a width of each of the plurality of first openings.
However, Choi1 teaches an area between the opening area OA and their second partition (Fig. 12; second barrier wall 520) that includes grooves G, i.e., a plurality of third openings in an area between the second partition and the opening area. Further, Choi1 shows in Fig. 6 that the widths of the three sets of grooves G, understood by the examiner to be representative the plurality of first through third openings, to be the same, i.e., a width of each of the plurality of third openings is a same as a width of each of the plurality of first openings. Examiner asserts that such a structure would be obvious in the modification of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, to include a width of each of the plurality of third openings is a same as a width of each of the plurality of first openings, as implied by Choi1, because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the display device of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, to include a width of each of the plurality of third openings is a same as a width of each of the plurality of first openings, as implied by Choi1, is implicitly provided by Choi1’s Fig. 6, showing that the widths of the three sets of grooves G, understood by the examiner to be representative the plurality of first through third openings, to be the same, i.e., a width of each of the plurality of third openings is a same as a width of each of the plurality of first openings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, to include a width of each of the plurality of third openings is a same as a width of each of the plurality of first openings, as implied by Choi1, with the motivation of combining the grooves of Choi1 to the display apparatus of Kanaya, which were combined to improve moisture blocking in the display apparatus of Kanaya. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of Choi1’s grooves for their moisture blocking ability.
Regarding dependent Claim 6, Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, teach the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the plurality of first openings comprise at least two openings (Two openings yielded through the contributions of Choi1 and Choi2 with the display apparatus of Kanaya, as outlined in the rejection of Claim 1) having a closed-loop shape (Choi1; Fig. 15), the at least two openings having a same center and different diameters (Choi1; Fig. 15).
Regarding dependent Claim 7, Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, teach the display apparatus of claim 6, wherein
the plurality of second openings comprise at least two openings having a closed-loop shape, the at least two openings having a same center and different diameters.
Choi1 shows in Figs. 12 & 15 that their plurality of second openings comprise at least two openings having a closed-loop shape, the at least two openings having a same center and different diameters.
Regarding dependent Claim 8, Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, teach the display apparatus of claim 1; however, Kanaya remains silent wherein
an edge portion of the opposite electrode, which defines an outline of the electrode opening, is in an area between the organic insulating layer and the first partition.
However, Choi1 teaches an edge portion of the opposite electrode (Fig. 12; opposite electrode 223), which defines an outline of the electrode opening (Fig. 12), is in an area between the organic insulating layer and the first partition (Fig. 12). Examiner asserts that such a structure would be obvious to implement into the display apparatus of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, in order to continuously form the sealing/encapsulation layers in the plurality of openings, which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display apparatus of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, to include Choi1’s teaching of an edge portion of the opposite electrode (Fig. 12; opposite electrode 223), which defines an outline of the electrode opening (Fig. 12), is in an area between the organic insulating layer and the first partition (Fig. 12), because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Choi1’s opposite electrode structure is comparable to Kanaya’s opposite electrode structure because both are formed to extend from a display area towards an opening area and both include electrode openings. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, to include Choi1’s opposite electrode structure with the predictable result of an edge portion of the opposite electrode, which defines an outline of the electrode opening, is in an area between the organic insulating layer and the first partition.
Regarding dependent Claim 9, Kanaya, further in view of Choi1 and Choi2, teach the display apparatus of claim 8, further comprising
an organic encapsulation layer (Kanaya: Fig. 7; organic insulating layer 132) on the inorganic encapsulation layer (Kanaya: Fig. 7; organic insulating layer 132),
wherein the edge portion of the opposite electrode overlaps the organic encapsulation layer (Kanaya: Fig. 7).
Conclusion
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure:
US 11683950 B2 – teaches a similar display device.
US 11793051 B2 – teaches a similar display device.
US 11925054 B2 – teaches a similar display device.
US 11930659 B2 – teaches a similar display device.
US 12156422 B2 – teaches a similar display device.
US 11723228 B2 – See Fig. 5.
US 11600800 B2 – teaches similar openings/grooves, e.g., Fig. 2.
US 20200127231 A1 – previously relied on.
US 20200303677 A1 – previously relied on.
US 20140183479 A1 – teaches a similar display device.
US 10541380 B1 – teaches a similar display device.
MARIO A. AUTORE JR.
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/MARIO ANDRES AUTORE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897