DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but were not found persuasive over the prior art rejection of record for the reasons set forth below. See claims 1–4, 7–9, 11–18, and 21–22 rejections below.
Applicant argues that “Sheng and Gon fail to disclose or suggest the claimed thickness relationship, including that a thickness of the second internal active material portion is equal to a total thickness of the first internal active material portion and the first conductive portion” (see e.g. page 12 of applicant’s argument):
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In light of the amendments a new search was conducted and thus the present rejection of claims 1–4, 7–9, 11–18, and 21–22 is not based on Gon, but rather on Sheng in view of Lin. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments directed to Gon do not traverse the actual grounds of rejection. Lin expressly teaches that active material layer thicknesses and functional layer thicknesses are result-effective variables that may be selected within disclosed ranges to achieve predictable improvements in energy density. Lin further teaches overlapping thickness ranges and ratios that encompass configurations in which the thickness of a second active material layer corresponds to the combined thickness of a first active material layer and a functional (conductive) layer when optimized within the disclosed ranges. Therefore, the claimed thickness relationship would have been obvious over Sheng in view of Lin. For the above reason, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
In conclusion, the arguments and amendments filed were not found to be persuasive over the prior art rejection of record. The rejections of the claims have been updated to reflect Sheng in view of Lin where appropriate. See claims 1–4, 7–9, 11–18, and 21–22 rejections below.
Summary
This is a continued examination non-final office action for application 17/875,163 in response to the amendments filed on 01/21/2026. Claims 1-4, 7-17 and 21-22 are under examination. Claims 18-20 remain withdrawn.
Priority
Applicant's claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or
under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. The certified copy has been filed
in parent Application No. PCT/CN2021/088914 filed on 04/22/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS)s submitted on 08/01/2022 and 09/06/2023
are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11-18 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Sheng et al. (CN-210805919-U), US-20220123443-A1 has been used as equivalent translation and is referenced below and further in view of Lin (US-20200144595-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sheng discloses an electrode assembly (see e.g. FIGs. 1 and 3), comprising a negative pole piece (see e.g. "positive electrode" in paragraph [0060]) and a positive pole piece (see e.g. "negative electrode" in paragraph [0060]), the negative pole piece and the positive pole piece being wound in a winding direction to form a winding structure see e.g. "belt-like structure" in paragraph [0061] and FIG. 1) comprising a bending region and a straight region connected to the bending region (see e.g. annotated figure below);
both the negative pole piece and the positive pole piece comprising a plurality of bent portions located in the bending region and a plurality of straight portions located in the straight region (see e.g. "the positive electrode member, the separator 2, and the negative electrode member are sequentially stacked and wound for more than two turns to form the electrode assembly" in paragraph [0061] and annotated figure below);
wherein:
at least one of the plurality of bent portions of the positive pole piece is a first bent portion, and at least one of the plurality of straight portions of the positive pole piece is a first straight portion connected to the first bent portion (see e.g. annotated figure below).
Sheng does not explicitly state that the capacity of an active material per unit area inside the first bent portion is lower than that of an active material per unit area inside the first straight portion or that the capacity of an active material per unit area outside the second bent portion is higher than that of an active material per unit area outside the second straight portion. However, Sheng discloses an electrode assembly structure that has no structural distinction to the electrode assembly claimed in the instant application. Thus, the capacity of an active material per unit area inside the first bent portion must be inherently lower than that of an active material per unit area inside the first straight portion and the capacity of an active material per unit area outside the second bent portion must be inherently higher than that of an active material per unit area outside the second straight portion. Because of this, the property would be inherent and thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2112 (III) and MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Sheng further discloses that the first bent portion comprises a first current collecting portion (see e.g. "insulating substrate 111" in paragraph [0068] and part number 111 in FIG. 3), a first internal active material portion arranged inside the first current collecting portion (see e.g. "active material layer 12" in paragraph [0068] and part number 12 in FIG. 3), and a first conductive portion connected between the first current collecting portion and the first internal active material portion (see e.g. "first conductive layer 112" in paragraph [0068] and part number 112 in FIG. 3);
a material of the first conductive portion is different from a material of the first internal active material portion (see e.g. paragraphs [0070] and [0072]; conductive layer materials and active materials are listed, these materials are different from each other furthermore the conductive layer and active material layer are two distinct different materials), the first conductive portion is coated on an inner surface of the first current collecting portion, and the first internal active material portion coated on a surface of the first conductive portion that is away from the first current collecting portion (see e.g. part numbers 111, 112 and 12 in FIG. 3); and
the first straight portion comprises a second current collecting portion (see e.g. part number 111 in FIG. 3 and FIG. 1) and a second internal active material portion arranged inside the second current collecting portion (see e.g. part number 12 in FIG. 3 and FIG. 1).
Sheng does not disclose that a thickness of the second internal active material portion is equal to a total thickness of the first internal active material portion and the first conductive portion.
Lin, however, in the same field of endeavor, wound electrode assemblies, discloses active material layer thicknesses and functional layer thickness relationships and the effect of such thickness relationships on battery performance (see e.g. paragraphs [0005], [0012]-[0013], and [0052] of Lin). Specifically, Lin discloses a first cathode active material layer having a thickness of from about 0.5 μm to about 15 μm and a second cathode active material layer having a thickness of from about 30 μm to about 1000 μm (see e.g. paragraph [0012] of Lin). Lin further discloses that a ratio of the thickness of the first cathode active material layer to the thickness of a functional layer (i.e. an insulating layer disposed on the current collector) is from about 0.2 to about 10 (see e.g. paragraph [0013] of Lin).
From these disclosures, Lin teaches that the relative thicknesses of the first active material layer and the functional layer are result-effective variables that may be selected within the disclosed ranges. For example, where the first active material layer has a thickness of about 15 μm and the ratio of the first active material layer thickness to the functional layer thickness is about 1:1 (a value explicitly encompassed within Lin’s disclosed range of 0.2 to 10), the functional layer would likewise have a thickness of about 15 μm, resulting in a combined total thickness of about 30 μm. Lin further discloses that the second active material layer may have a thickness of about 30 μm at the lower end of its disclosed range (see e.g. paragraph [0012] of Lin). Thus, Lin discloses thickness values that correspond to a configuration in which the thickness of the second active material layer is equal to the combined thickness of the first active material layer and the functional layer.
Accordingly, Lin discloses a point that lies within the range of thickness relationships claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Lin further teaches that in order to achieve a high energy density of the lithium ion battery, the thickness of the second active material layer is increased, and thus the thicker the second active material layer is, the higher the energy density of the lithium ion battery can be made (see e.g. paragraph [0052] of Lin). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thickness of the second active material layer of Sheng et al. such that it is equal to a total thickness of the first internal active material portion and the first conductive portion as taught by Lin in order to have a high energy density lithium ion battery as suggested by Lin.
(Sheng, figure 1, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 2, Sheng in view of Lin discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Sheng further discloses that at least one of the plurality of bent portions of the positive pole piece is the first bent portion, at least one of the plurality of bent portions of the negative pole piece is a second bent portion, and the first bent portion adjacent to the second bent portion is arranged outside the second bent portion (see e.g. annotated figure below).
(Sheng, figure 1, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 3, Sheng in view of Lin discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Sheng further discloses that at least one of the plurality of bent portions of the positive pole piece is the first bent portion; a bent portion adjacent to the first bent portion of the negative pole piece is a third bent portion, and at least one of the plurality of straight portions of the negative pole piece is a third straight portion connected to the third bent portion (see e.g. annotated figure below).
Sheng does not explicitly state that the capacity of an active material per unit area outside the third bent portion is equal to a capacity of an active material per unit area outside the third straight portion. However, Sheng discloses an electrode assembly structure that has no structural distinction to the electrode assembly claimed in the instant application. Thus, the capacity of an active material per unit area outside the third bent portion must inherently be equal to a capacity of an active material per unit area outside the third straight portion. Because of this, the property would be inherent and thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2112 (III) and MPEP 2112.01 (I).
(Sheng, figure 1, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 4, Sheng in view of Lin discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above). Sheng further discloses that at least one of the plurality of bent portions of the negative pole piece is a second bent portion; a bent portion adjacent to the second bent portion of the positive pole piece is a fourth bent portion, and at least one of the plurality of straight portions of the positive pole piece is a fourth straight portion connected to the fourth bent portion (see e.g. annotated figure above).
Sheng does not explicitly state that the capacity of an active material per unit area inside the fourth bent portion is equal to a capacity of an active material per unit area inside the fourth straight portion. However, Sheng discloses an electrode assembly structure that has no structural distinction to the electrode assembly claimed in the instant application. Thus, the capacity of an active material per unit area inside the fourth bent portion must inherently be equal to a capacity of an active material per unit area inside the fourth straight portion. Because of this, the inherent property and thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2112 (III) and MPEP 2112.01 (I).
(Sheng, figure 1, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 7, Sheng in view of Lin discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Sheng further discloses that the first straight portion further comprises a third internal active material portion and a second conductive portion, the third internal active material portion being arranged inside the second current collecting portion, and the second conductive portion being connected between the second current collecting portion and the third internal active material portion (see e.g. annotated figure below); the second conductive portion being connected between the first conductive portion and the second internal active material portion (see e.g. annotated figure below; the second conductive portion is directly connect to the first conductive portion in the bent region as it is the same conductive layer in both regions furthermore it is also directly connected to the second internal active material portion as seen below in the annotated figure), and the third internal active material portion being connected between the first internal active material portion and the second internal active material portion (see e.g. annotated figure below; the third internal active material portion is connected to the first internal active material in the bent region and the second internal active material portion directly through the first and second conductive regions).
(Sheng, figure 19, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 8, Sheng in view of Lin discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 7 (see e.g. claim 7 rejection above).
Sheng further discloses that the first conductive portion contains an active material (see e.g. "The material of the first conductive layer 112 and the second conductive layer 113 is selected from at least one of metal conductive materials and carbon-based conductive materials. The metal conductive materials are, for example, at least one of aluminum, copper, nickel, titanium, silver, nickel-copper alloy and aluminum-zirconium alloy, and the carbon-based conductive materials are, for example, at least one of graphite, acetylene black, graphene and carbon nanotubes." in paragraph [0070]).
Sheng in view of Lin does not disclose that a gram capacity of the active material of the first conductive portion is lower than a gram capacity of the active material of the first internal active material portion; or a weight ratio of the active material of the first conductive portion to the first conductive portion is less than a weight ratio of the active material of the first internal active material portion to the first internal active material portion. Sheng in view of Lin, however, discloses an electrode assembly structure that has no structural distinction to the electrode assembly claimed in the instant application. Thus, a gram capacity of the active material of the first conductive portion is lower than a gram capacity of the active material of the first internal active material portion or a weight ratio of the active material of the first conductive portion to the first conductive portion is less than a weight ratio of the active material of the first internal active material portion to the first internal active material portion would be inherent and thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2112 (III) and MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding Claim 9, Sheng in view of Lin discloses the electrode assembly of claim 2 (see e.g. claim 2 rejection above).
Sheng further discloses that the second bent portion comprises a third current collecting portion (see e.g. part number 111 in FIG. 9) and a first external active material portion arranged outside the third current collecting portion (see e.g. 12 in FIG. 9; bottom part number 12 is outside the third current collection portion), and the second straight portion comprises a fourth current collecting portion (see e.g. part number 111 in FIG. 3) and a second external active material portion arranged outside the fourth current collecting portion (see e.g. 12 in FIG. 9; bottom part number 12 is outside the third current collection portion).
Regarding Claim 11, Sheng in view of Lin discloses the electrode assembly of claim 9 (see e.g. claim 9 rejection above).
Sheng in view of Lin does not disclose that a gram capacity of an active material in the first external active material portion is higher than a gram capacity of an active material in the second external active material portion; or a weight ratio of the active material of the first external active material portion to the first external active material portion is greater than a weight ratio of the active material in the second external active material portion to the second external active material portion.
Sheng in view of Lin, however, discloses an electrode assembly structure that has no structural distinction to the electrode assembly claimed in the instant application. Therefore, the property that a gram capacity of an active material in the first external active material portion is higher than a gram capacity of an active material in the second external active material portion; or a weight ratio of the active material of the first external active material portion to the first external active material portion is greater than a weight ratio of the active material in the second external active material portion to the second external active material portion is inherent and thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2112 (III) and MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding Claim 12, Sheng in view of Lin discloses the electrode assembly of claim 9 (see e.g. claim 9 rejection above).
Sheng further discloses that the second bent portion comprises a third conductive portion connected between the third current collecting portion and the first external active material portion (see e.g. part number 112 in FIG. 6), and the third conductive portion contains an active material (see e.g. "The material of the first conductive layer 112 and the second conductive layer 113 is selected from at least one of metal conductive materials and carbon-based conductive materials. The metal conductive materials are, for example, at least one of aluminum, copper, nickel, titanium, silver, nickel-copper alloy and aluminum-zirconium alloy, and the carbon-based conductive materials are, for example, at least one of graphite, acetylene black, graphene and carbon nanotubes." in paragraph [0070]).
Sheng in view of Lin does not disclose a gram capacity of the active material of the third conductive portion is higher than a gram capacity of an active material of the first external active material portion; or a weight ratio of the active material of the third conductive portion to the third conductive portion is greater than a weight ratio of the active material of the first external active material portion to the first external active material portion. Sheng in view of Lin, however, discloses an electrode assembly structure that has no structural distinction to the electrode assembly claimed in the instant application. Therefore, the property that a gram capacity of the active material of the third conductive portion is higher than a gram capacity of an active material of the first external active material portion; or a weight ratio of the active material of the third conductive portion to the third conductive portion is greater than a weight ratio of the active material of the first external active material portion to the first external active material portion is inherent and thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2112 (III) and MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding Claim 13, Sheng in view of Lin discloses the electrode assembly of claim 12 (see e.g. claim 12 rejection above).
Sheng further discloses that the second straight portion further comprises a third external active material portion (see e.g. part number 12 in FIG. 6; bottom part number 12) and a fourth conductive portion (see e.g. part number 113 in FIG. 6), the third external active material portion being arranged outside the fourth current collecting portion (see e.g. bottom coated portion in FIG. 6), and the fourth conductive portion being connected between the fourth current collecting portion and the third external active material portion (see e.g. FIG. 6); the fourth conductive portion being connected between the third conductive portion and the second external active material portion (see e.g. FIGs. 6 and 1; the fourth conductive portion runs into the third conductive portion), and the third external active material portion being connected between the first external active material portion and the second external active material portion (see e.g. FIGs. 6 and 1).
Regarding Claim 14, Sheng in view of Lin discloses the electrode assembly of claim 13 (see e.g. claim 13 rejection above).
Sheng further discloses that at least one innermost bent portion of the positive pole piece is the first bent portion (see e.g. annotated figure below).
(Sheng, figure 1, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 15, Sheng in view of Lin discloses the electrode assembly of claim 14 (see e.g. claim 14 rejection above).
Sheng further discloses that at least one innermost bent portion of the negative pole piece is the second bent portion (see e.g. annotated figure below).
(Sheng, figure 1, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 16, Sheng in view of Lin discloses a battery cell (see e.g. "secondary battery" and part number 7 in FIG. 30 of Sheng), comprising a case (see e.g. "housing" in paragraph [0064] and part number 3 in FIG. 30 of Sheng) and an electrode assembly according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above), wherein the electrode assembly is accommodated in the case (see e.g. FIG. 30). Regarding Claim 17, Sheng in view of Lin discloses a battery (see e.g. "secondary battery" and part number 7 in FIG. 30 of Sheng), comprising a box (see e.g. FIG. 31 of Sheng) and a battery cell according to claim 16 (see e.g. claim 16 rejection above), wherein the battery cell is accommodated in the box (see e.g. FIG. 31 of Sheng). Regarding Claim 18, Sheng in view of Lin discloses an electric device (see e.g. "vehicle is a new energy vehicle" in paragraph [0058] and FIG. 32 of Sheng), comprising a battery according to claim 17 (see e.g. claim 17 rejection above), the battery being configured to provide electrical energy (see e.g. "he driving motor is electrically connected to a secondary battery 7 and the secondary battery 7 provides electric energy. " in paragraph [0058] of Sheng).
Regarding Claim 21, Sheng discloses an electrode assembly (see e.g. FIGs. 1 and 3), comprising a negative pole piece (see e.g. "positive electrode" in paragraph [0060]) and a positive pole piece (see e.g. "negative electrode" in paragraph [0060]), the negative pole piece and the positive pole piece being wound in a winding direction to form a winding structure (see e.g. "belt-like structure" in paragraph [0061] and FIG. 1) comprising a bending region and a straight region connected to the bending region (see e.g. annotated figure below);
both the negative pole piece and the positive pole piece comprising a plurality of bent portions located in the bending region and a plurality of straight portions located in the straight region (see e.g. "the positive electrode member, the separator 2, and the negative electrode member are sequentially stacked and wound for more than two turns to form the electrode assembly" in paragraph [0061] and annotated figure below);
wherein:
at least one of the plurality of bent portions of the positive pole piece is a first bent portion, and two of the plurality of straight portions of the positive pole piece are two first straight portions connected to two ends of the first bent portion (see e.g. annotated figure below).
Sheng does not explicitly state that the capacity of an active material per unit area inside the first bent portion is lower than that of an active material per unit area inside the first straight portion or that the capacity of an active material per unit area outside the second bent portion is higher than that of an active material per unit area outside the second straight portion. However, Sheng discloses an electrode assembly structure that has no structural distinction to the electrode assembly claimed in the instant application. Thus, the capacity of an active material per unit area inside the first bent portion must be inherently lower than that of an active material per unit area inside the first straight portion and the capacity of an active material per unit area outside the second bent portion must be inherently higher than that of an active material per unit area outside the second straight portion. Because of this, the property would be inherent and thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2112 (III) and MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Sheng further discloses that the first bent portion comprises a first current collecting portion (see e.g. part number 111 in FIG. 6) and a first internal active material portion arranged inside the first current collecting portion (see e.g. part number 12 in FIG. 6), each of the two first straight portions comprises a second current collecting portion and a second internal active material portion arranged inside the second current collecting portion (see e.g. part number 111 and 12 in FIG. 6; the second current collection portion and second internal active material portion are the same in both the bending and straight region as they are connected), and
each of the two first straight portions comprises a second current collecting portion (see e.g. part number 111 in FIG. 3 and FIG. 1) and a second internal active material portion arranged inside the second current collecting portion (see e.g. part number 12 in FIG. 3 and FIG. 1).
Sheng does not disclose that a thickness of the second internal active material portion of each of the two first straight portions is greater than a thickness of the first internal active material portion; and a thickness of the second internal active material portion is equal to a total thickness of the first internal active material portion and the first conductive portion.
Lin, however, discloses specific thickness relationships between a first cathode active material layer, a second cathode active material layer, and an insulating (functional) layer (see e.g. paragraphs [0012]–[0013] and [0052]–[0053] of Lin). In particular, Lin discloses that the thickness of the first cathode active material layer is from about 0.5 μm to about 15 μm, while the thickness of the second cathode active material layer is from about 30 μm to about 1000 μm (see e.g. paragraph [0012]). Thus, Lin explicitly teaches that the second active material layer is thicker than the first active material layer.
Lin further discloses that a ratio of the thickness of the first cathode active material layer to the thickness of a functional layer (i.e. an insulating layer disposed on the current collector) is from about 0.2 to about 10 (see e.g. paragraph [0013] of Lin). Thus Lin teaches that the relative thicknesses of the first active material layer and the functional layer are result-effective variables that may be selected within the disclosed ranges. For example, where the first active material layer has a thickness of about 15 μm and the ratio of the first active material layer thickness to the functional layer thickness is about 1:1 (a value explicitly encompassed within Lin’s disclosed range of 0.2 to 10), the functional layer would likewise have a thickness of about 15 μm, resulting in a combined total thickness of about 30 μm. Lin further discloses that the second active material layer may have a thickness of about 30 μm at the lower end of its disclosed range (see e.g. paragraph [0012] of Lin). Thus, Lin discloses thickness values that correspond to a configuration in which the thickness of the second active material layer is equal to the combined thickness of the first active material layer and the functional layer.
Accordingly, Lin discloses a point that lies within the range of thickness relationships claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Lin further teaches that in order to achieve a high energy density of the lithium ion battery, the thickness of the second active material layer is increased, and thus the thicker the second active material layer is, the higher the energy density of the lithium ion battery can be made (see e.g. paragraph [0052] of Lin). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thickness of the second active material layer of Sheng et al. such that the second internal active material portion of each of the two first straight portions is greater than a thickness of the first internal active material portion and the second internal active material portion is equal to a total thickness of the first internal active material portion and the first conductive portion as taught by Lin in order to have a high energy density lithium ion battery as suggested by Lin.
(Sheng, figure 1, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 22, Sheng discloses an electrode assembly (see e.g. FIGs. 1 and 3), comprising a negative pole piece (see e.g. "positive electrode" in paragraph [0060]) and a positive pole piece (see e.g. "negative electrode" in paragraph [0060]), the negative pole piece and the positive pole piece being wound in a winding direction to form a winding structure (see e.g. "belt-like structure" in paragraph [0061] and FIG. 1) comprising a bending region and a straight region connected to the bending region (see e.g. annotated figure below);
both the negative pole piece and the positive pole piece comprising a plurality of bent portions located in the bending region and a plurality of straight portions located in the straight region (see e.g. "the positive electrode member, the separator 2, and the negative electrode member are sequentially stacked and wound for more than two turns to form the electrode assembly" in paragraph [0061] and annotated figure below);
wherein:
at least one of the plurality of bent portions of the positive pole piece is a first bent portion (see e.g. annotated figure below), and at least one of the plurality of straight portions of the positive pole piece is a first straight portion connected to the first bent portion (see e.g. annotated figure below).
Sheng does not explicitly state that the capacity of an active material per unit area inside the first bent portion is lower than that of an active material per unit area inside the first straight portion or that the capacity of an active material per unit area outside the second bent portion is higher than that of an active material per unit area outside the second straight portion. However, Sheng discloses an electrode assembly structure that has no structural distinction to the electrode assembly claimed in the instant application. Thus, the capacity of an active material per unit area inside the first bent portion must be inherently lower than that of an active material per unit area inside the first straight portion and the capacity of an active material per unit area outside the second bent portion must be inherently higher than that of an active material per unit area outside the second straight portion. Because of this, the property would be inherent and thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2112 (III) and MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Sheng further discloses that the first bent portion comprises a first current collecting portion (see e.g. part number 111 in FIG. 6), a first conductive portion arranged inside the first current collecting portion (see e.g. part number 113 in FIG. 3), and a first internal active material portion connected between the first current collecting portion and the first conductive portion (see e.g. part number 12 in FIG. 3; the first internal active material portion is connected between the first current collecting portion and the first conductive portion via direct contact to the first conductive portion); and
a material of the first conductive portion is different from a material of the first internal active material portion (see e.g. paragraphs [0070] and [0072]; conductive layer materials and active materials are listed, these materials are different from each other furthermore the conductive layer and active material layer are two distinct different materials), the first internal active material portion is coated on an inner surface of the first current collecting portion (see e.g. part number 12 in FIG. 3).
Sheng does not disclose that the conductive portion is coated on a surface of the first internal active material portion that is away from the first current collecting portion.
Lin, however, discloses multilayer electrode configurations in which conductive functional layers and active material layers are sequentially stacked on opposite surfaces of a current collector, and further teaches that the conductive portion is coated on a surface of the first internal active material portion that is away from the first current collecting portion (see e.g. pat numbers 12 and 13 in FIG. 4A; part number 12 is the internal active material and part number 13 is the conductive portion the conductive portion is coated on the internal active material on a surface that is away from the current collecting portion part number 11 in FIG. 4A of Lin).
Lin further teaches that by combining active material layers can improve the contact resistance and thus further improve safety of the lithium ion battery (see e.g. paragraph [0037] of Lin). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the active material layer structure of Sheng et al. such that the conductive portion is coated on a surface of the first internal active material portion that is away from the first current collecting portion as taught by Lin in order to improve the safety of the battery as suggested by Lin.
(Sheng, figure 1, annotated for illustration)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Sheng et al. (CN-210805919-U), US-20220123443-A1 has been used as equivalent translation and is referenced below in view of Lin (US-20200144595-A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Gon (KR 10-1639209 B1).
Regarding Claim 10, Sheng in view of Lin discloses the electrode assembly of claim 9 (see e.g. claim 9 rejection above).
Sheng in view of Lin does not disclose that the first external active material portion is greater than a thickness of the second external active material portion.
Gon, however, in the same field of endeavor, electrode structures for wind up or jelly-roll type batteries, discloses a current collector (see e.g. "positive electrode current collector" in paragraph [23] on page 3 of Gon and part number 121 in FIG. 5) with an external active material portion (see e.g. "positive electrode active material coating" in paragraph [23] on page 3 of Gon and part number 122 in FIG. 5) where the thickness of the first external active material portion (the portion further towards the center of the battery) is thicker than the second external active material portion (see e.g. "the positive electrode active material... is gradually or stepwise increased from the end portion to the other end portion" in paragraph [23] on page 3 of Gon and FIG. 5).
Gon further teaches that this is done to prevent the bending of the jell-roll battery by eliminating the stress when the electrode active material is loaded in the center portion of the electrode assembly and in doing so performance deterioration due to breakage of the electrode can be prevented (see e.g. Abstract of Gon). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thickness of the first external active material portion of Sheng et al. in view of Lin such that it is greater than a thickness of the second external active material portion as taught by Gon in order to prevent performance deterioration dur to breakage as suggested by Gon.
Conclusion
/J.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723