DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathai et al. (hereinafter Mathai) (US 20180175587 A1) in view of Maros et al. (hereinafter Maros) (US 20200052137 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Mathai discloses in Fig. 2,
A semiconductor device [200] (Para. [0020]), comprising:
a substrate [204] (Para. [0020]);
a first reflector [208] (Para. [0022]) on the substrate [204];
a light emission layer [212] (Para. [0022]) on the first reflector [208], wherein the light emission layer [212] comprises active regions [216] (Para. [0023]), and
wherein each of the active regions [216] comprises a primary emission wavelength different from each other [216 in each VCSEL 202a-202d] (Para. [0020]);
second reflectors [214] (Para. [0025]) on corresponding active regions [216]; and
apertures [602 Fig. 6] (Para. [0052,0068]) on corresponding active regions [216].
Mathai fails to disclose,
wherein the light emission layer comprises a Ill-V compound semiconductor material with a nitrogen atom concentration between 0 % and 5 % of the group V materials.
Maros discloses,
A dilute nitride active layer comprising GaInNAsSb with a nitrogen atom concentration between 0% and 5% of the group V materials (Para. [0027])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the active layer material disclosed in Maros as the active layer material of Mathai for the purpose of producing a high-quality active layer lattice matched to a GaAs substrate. (Maros Para. [0027])
Regarding claim 3, Mathai in view of Maros as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Maros,
wherein the light emission layer comprises a Ill-V compound semiconductor material with an indium atom concentration between 0 % and 20 % of the group Ill materials (Para. [0027]).
Examiner notes that lines 21-26 of the left column on page 3 discloses Ga1-xInxNyAs1-y-zSbz with the composition ranges of 0.08≤x≤0.18, 0.025≤y≤0.04 and 0.001≤z≤0.03.
Regarding claim 5, Mathai in view of Maros as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Maros,
wherein the light emission layer comprises gallium indium nitride arsenide antimonide (GalnNAsSb) with a nitrogen atom concentration between % and 5 % of the group V materials, an indium atom concentration between 0 % and 20 % of the group Ill materials, and an antimony atom concentration between 0 % and 6 % of the group V materials (Para. [0027]).
Examiner notes that lines 21-26 of the left column on page 3 discloses Ga1-xInxNyAs1-y-zSbz with the composition ranges of 0.08≤x≤0.18, 0.025≤y≤0.04 and 0.001≤z≤0.03.
Regarding claim 6, Mathai in view of Maros as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Fig. 2 of Mathai
wherein each of the second reflectors [214] comprises a stack of dielectric layers (Para [0025]); and wherein the stack of dielectric layers comprises a metal oxide, a metal sulfide, a metal halide, an oxynitride, or a combination thereof (Para. [0025]).
Examiner notes the term “or” used in line 4 of claim 6. For the purposes of examination in the instant application, the limitation “wherein the stack of dielectric layers comprises a metal oxide, a metal sulfide, a metal halide, oxynitrides, or a combination thereof” will be understood to read, “wherein the stack of dielectric layers comprises a metal oxide.”
Regarding claim 7, Mathai in view of Maros as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Fig. 6 of Mathai
wherein each of the apertures [602] (Para. [0068]) comprises a Ill-V compound semiconductor material with an aluminum atom concentration between 80 % and 100 % of the group Ill materials (Para. [0069]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathai in in view of Maros as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Naone et al. (hereinafter Naone) (US 20020150135 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Mathai in view of Maros discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 and further discloses in Maros,
A light emission layer comprising a semiconductor material with a nitrogen atom concentration between 0% and 5% of the group V materials (Para. [0027])
Examiner notes that lines 21-26 of the left column on page 3 discloses Ga1-xInxNyAs1-y-zSbz with the composition ranges of 0.08≤x≤0.18, 0.025≤y≤0.04 and 0.001≤z≤0.03.
Mathai in view of Maros fails to disclose,
wherein the light emission layer comprises a gallium arsenide-based dilute nitride semiconductor material with a nitrogen atom concentration between 0% and 5% of the group V materials, an indium phosphide-based dilute nitride semiconductor material with a nitrogen atom concentration between 0% and 5% of the group V materials, or a gallium phosphide-based dilute nitride semiconductor material with a nitrogen atom concentration between 0% and 5% of the group V materials; and
wherein the gallium arsenide-based dilute nitride semiconductor material comprises gallium arsenide nitride (GaAsN), indium gallium arsenide nitride (InGaAsN), or aluminum gallium antimonide phosphide nitride (AIGaSbPN).
Naone discloses in Fig. 2,
wherein the light emission layer [108] (Para. [0054]) comprises a gallium arsenide-based dilute nitride semiconductor material [110] (Para. [0054]), an indium phosphide-based dilute nitride semiconductor material, or a gallium phosphide-based dilute nitride semiconductor material; and
wherein the gallium arsenide-based dilute nitride semiconductor material [110] comprises gallium arsenide nitride (GaAsN), indium gallium arsenide nitride (InGaAsN) (Para. [0056]), or aluminum gallium antimonide phosphide nitride (AIGaSbPN).
Examiner notes the term “or” used in lines 3 and 6 of claim 4. For the purpose of examination in the instant application, the interpretation used for claim 4 will be “wherein the light emission layer comprises a gallium arsenide-based dilute nitride semiconductor material; and
Wherein the gallium arsenide-based dilute nitride semiconductor material comprises indium gallium arsenide nitride (InGaAsN)”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the quantum well structure of Naone in place of the active layer of the modified device of Mathai for the purpose of providing substantially defect free, high optical quality material. (Naone Para. [0056])
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathai in view of Maros as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kwak (US 20040120376 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Mathai in view of Maros discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
further comprising insulating structures on corresponding second reflectors, wherein the insulating structures are substantially aligned with corresponding apertures.
Kwak discloses in Fig. 4,
an insulating structure [160] on a second reflector [140] (Para. [0039]), wherein the insulating structures [160] are substantially aligned with corresponding apertures [150] (Para. [0038,0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the insulation film as shown in Kwak into the modified device of Mathai for the purpose of providing protection to the reflector layer while allowing a window for light emission. (Kwak Para. [0038])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner particularly notes US 20210111539 A1 which discloses the use of dilute nitride based lasers comprising InGaAsNSb. See PTO-892 form.
/H.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828