DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
In this Office Action:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s argument (See pages 9-10), filed on January 30th, 2026, have been fully considered, and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as presented in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fieldman (Patent. No. US 11,463,499); in view of Akkerman (Pub. No. US 2023/0385768); and further in view of Marshall et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0394440), hereinafter Marshall.
Claim 1. Fieldman discloses a system comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable medium; a communications interface; and a processor communicatively coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium and the communications interface, the processor configured to execute processor- executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium (See Fig. 37 (“Processor, Memory”); See Col. 43 lines 21-29) to:
receive, from a first client device, a request to access a collaborative document (See Col. 8 lines 48-52 in association with FIG. 3A; a GoBoard sign-in page 305 that appears once a participant accesses application 101 (a video conference application). A participant may identify himself or herself by either entering a user name 306 and a password 308 or by using biometric information 309. The art teaches in Col. 11 lines 64-67 and Col. 12 lines 1-4 that FIG. 6 illustrates the video conference session 400 in which participant 410 has added whiteboard content to the shared, online whiteboard (i.e., collaborative document)…);
transmit, to the first client device, access to the collaborative document (See Col. 9 lines 1-7 in association with FIG. 3B; the GoBoard landing page 300 that appears once the participant has verified their identity above. A participant may enter an existing GoBoard room identifier at 302 in order to view an existing session (i.e., a session that has already been started by another participant) or may click upon button 304 in order to start a new session in which the participant will be the first one to join);
receive, from the first client device, a first video stream (See Col. 9 lines 62-67 and Col. 10 lines 1-7 in association with Fig. 4; participant may click upon 322 in order to enable any camera installed on his or her computing device. It is the video from this enabled camera that will be sent as a video stream to the devices of the other participants);
generate a first video bubble associated with the first video stream overlaid on the collaborative document (See Col. 11 lines 64-67 and Col. 12 lines 1-4; FIG. 6 illustrates the video conference session 400 in which participant 410 (i.e., First video bubble) has added whiteboard content to the shared, online whiteboard (i.e., collaborative document). As shown, the participant has added graph 431 which now appears on the shared, online whiteboard 430 and will appear on the display screen of each of the other participant's computers. In addition, participant 412 has added arrow 432 and participant 414 has added arrow 434 to the whiteboard (i.e., first video bubble (Carol 410) is associated with the first video stream overlaid on the shared online document));
generate a recording of the collaborative document comprising one or more edits being made to the collaborative document (See Col. 13 lines 1-9; FIG. 11 illustrates video conference session in which the host receives content and records a session. In this example, Carol has initiated a new session and invites Bob to participate. Initially, the session has no whiteboard content and no chat window content. Carol selects button 608 (“R”, Record) and application 101 responds by recording video, audio and the screen of the session. See also Col. 14 lines 5-15; allows the host to choose which information is saved in a saved session. Options include the shared whiteboard, the chat window and its contents, is the tools menu used with the whiteboard, any open windows that are displaying shared files, any recorded video or audio that had been recorded during session (or that is still being recorded), along with the settings for each participant that include the camera, microphone, speaker, virtual background, and video and audio mute settings… See also Col. 11 lines 18-29; a video conference with an online, shared, (currently) blank whiteboard region in the browser of the presenter computer during a session… options 428 to move to different pages within the session, or to draw on or otherwise manipulate a whiteboard within the session using a pencil tool (one or more edits being made)); and
provide, to a second client device, the collaborative document along with the recording of the collaborative document (See Col. 33 lines 7-19; any of the participants may initiate an audio or video recording of the session, in fact, multiple audio or video recording may be made during a session … permissions to access the recorded audio or video are granted to the group that was present when that audio or video recording was initiated. For example, if Carol, Thelma and Louise are in a session and they begin recording a video or audio, then a group of (Carol, Thelma, Louise) will be formed and that group will have access to that recording, even if Louise leaves early).
Fieldman doesn’t explicitly disclose: receive input from the first client device indicating a cursor position within the collaborative document; generate, outside of a virtual meeting, a visual recording of the collaborative document, the visual recording comprising a view of the collaborative document, placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document while the one or more edits are being made, wherein the first video bubble: is overlaid on the collaborative document based on updated cursor positions received from the first client device; and freely moves throughout the collaborative document based on the updated cursor positions received from the first client device.
However, Akkerman discloses:
receive input from the first client device indicating a cursor position within the collaborative document (See Parag. [0015]; document collaboration system comprises a workstation, the workstation comprising a display device, a content data interface, a presence manager, a presence manager interface, a media interface, and a processor. Using the display device, a workspace with a document and one or more video thumbnails can be displayed using the display device, one or more cursors having cursor positions are displayed. The content data interface is used for receiving content data from at least one content data source. The presence manager interface is used for receiving positional data from at least one positional data source);
the collaborative document comprising placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document while the one or more edits are being made (See Parag. [0015]; using the display device, a workspace with a document and one or more video thumbnails (video bubble) can be displayed using the display device, one or more cursors having cursor positions are displayed. The content data interface is used for receiving content data from at least one content data source. The presence manager interface is used for receiving positional data from at least one positional data source. The presence manager is configured to store the one or more cursor positions. The presence manager is configured via a presence manager interface. The presence manager is further configured to transmit to one or more further workstations at least positional data relating to the cursor positions of first ones of the one or more cursors … The positional data is indicative of the position of the video thumbnail in the workspace and is expressed in coordinates relative to the size of the document. See also Parag. [0020]; An output on the display device is generated from the received content data and the received audio-visual media stream using the method, wherein the audio-visual media stream is shown on the display in one or more video thumbnails positioned at the cursor positions of the second ones of the one or more cursors in the workspace.), wherein the first video bubble (See Fig. 4, “45”; See also Parag. [0032]; The video thumbnail 45 shows the video stream 77 of one of the collaborating users):
is overlaid on the collaborative document (See Fig. 4, “45”) based on updated cursor positions received from the first client device; and freely moves throughout the collaborative document based on the updated cursor positions received from the first client device (See Parag. [0030]; The positional data 78 comprises a cursor position 35 in the document 40. Cursor position 35 is calculated by processor 90 in coordinates relative to the position of the cursor in the document 40. The cursor is, for example, the cursor of a mouse or another pointing device being displayed on display device 20 of the workstation 28. The workstation 28 is configured to track the cursor position 35 as the cursor is moved relative to the document 40. This tracking uses horizontal and vertical coordinates within the document 40. See Parag. [0041]; the first workstation 28A can be configured in a so-called “follow mode” to follow the first video thumbnail 45A displayed on the first display device 20A. The first workstation 28A is configured to display a part of the first document 40A that is currently being viewed or edited by the further workstation 28B as indicated by the second cursor position 35B when in “follow mode”. The workstations 28 connected to the collaboration session 30 can be configured to follow different ones of the video thumbnails 45 when in “follow mode”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video feed taught by Fieldman to be overlaid on the collaborative document based on cursor positions, where the collaborative document comprising placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document, as taught by Akkerman. This would be convenient to provide systems or methods for the real time online collaboration of teams using at least one of content data sharing and a media sharing combined with real time cursor tracking (Akkerman, Parag. [0013]).
Fieldman in view of Akkerman doesn’t explicitly disclose generate the recording of the collaborative document is a visual recording of the collaborative document outside of a virtual meeting comprising a view of the collaborative document.
However, Marshall discloses generate, outside of a virtual meeting, a visual recording of the collaborative document, the visual recording comprising a view of the collaborative document, one or more edits being made to the collaborative document, and placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document while the one or more edits are being made (See Parag. [0167]; receiving input via the collaborative document. The input may generally represent actions within the collaborative document, such as when content is being shared, messages that are communicated within the collaborative document, links that are posted to the collaborative document, applications that are accessed, who is presenting/sharing content, and so forth. In other words, the collaborative document that is created in association with the virtual meeting may track and record what is occurring within the virtual meeting. This allows, in part, a record of the virtual meeting to be created and archived for later use and access. As such, as users engage in audio and/or video communications, as well as share links, documents, screens (i.e., screen-sharing), and the like, such inputs may be received and recorded. See Parag. [0168]; when a user is interacting with the collaborative document, the users may benefit from updates indicating whether other users are also interacting with the collaborative document at the same time. For example, in a collaborative context, a user may want to be able to quickly determine which other users are currently interacting with the collaborative document. In addition, users may desire to know which content, files, links, and so forth of the collaborative document that others are interacting with. The collaborative document may include presence indicators that indicate to a user when another user is interacting with the collaborative document. See Parag. [0110]; documents that can be edited collaboratively. See also Parag. [0138] and Fig. 6-11).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify recording of the collaborative document comprising one or more edits being made to the collaborative document and placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document, taught by Fieldman in view of Akkerman, to be generated outside of a virtual meeting, as taught by Marshall. This would be convenient such that when accessed at a later instance, the collaborative document provides a quick and convenient reference as to the communications that previously transpired. In other words, by archiving the collaborative document, the content of the virtual meeting is saved for use at later instances in time (Marshall, Parag. [0138]).
Claim 2. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the system of claim 1,
Fieldman further discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to:
receive, from the second client device, a second video stream (See Col. 11 lines 51-55 in association with Fig. 5; also shown on the presenter computer are video images 412, 414 of other participants (i.e., a second video stream) in the video conference in a gallery view. Each of the other computers (i.e., second client device) being used by participants 412 and 414);
generate a second video bubble associated with the second video stream overlaid on the collaborative document (See Col. 11 lines 51-55; also shown on the presenter computer are video images 412, 414 of other participants (i.e., a second video stream) in the video conference in a gallery view. (i.e., second video bubble (Ted 412) associated with the second video stream overlaid on the shared online white board) (See Fig. 6)); and
Fieldman recording of the collaborative document (See Col. 13 lines 1-9; FIG. 11 illustrates video conference session in which the host receives content and records a session. In this example, Carol has initiated a new session and invites Bob to participate. Initially, the session has no whiteboard content and no chat window content. Carol selects button 608 (“R”, Record) and application 101 responds by recording video, audio and the screen of the session. See also Col. 14 lines 5-15; allows the host to choose which information is saved in a saved session. Options include the shared whiteboard, the chat window and its contents, is the tools menu used with the whiteboard, any open windows that are displaying shared files, any recorded video or audio that had been recorded during session (or that is still being recorded), along with the settings for each participant that include the camera, microphone, speaker, virtual background, and video and audio mute settings… See also Col. 11 lines 18-29; a video conference with an online, shared, (currently) blank whiteboard region in the browser of the presenter computer during a session… options 428 to move to different pages within the session, or to draw on or otherwise manipulate a whiteboard within the session using a pencil tool (one or more edits being made)); but Fieldman doesn’t explicitly disclose the collaborative document comprising placement of the second video bubble overlaid on the collaborative document based on input from the second client device.
However, Akkerman discloses the collaborative document comprising placement of the second video bubble overlaid on the collaborative document based on input from the second client device (See Parag. [0015]; using the display device, a workspace with a document and one or more video thumbnails (second video bubble) can be displayed using the display device, one or more cursors having cursor positions are displayed. The content data interface is used for receiving content data from at least one content data source. The presence manager interface is used for receiving positional data from at least one positional data source. The presence manager is configured to store the one or more cursor positions. The presence manager is configured via a presence manager interface. The presence manager is further configured to transmit to one or more further workstations at least positional data relating to the cursor positions of first ones of the one or more cursors … The positional data is indicative of the position of the video thumbnail in the workspace and is expressed in coordinates relative to the size of the document. See also Parag. [0020]; An output on the display device is generated from the received content data and the received audio-visual media stream using the method, wherein the audio-visual media stream is shown on the display in one or more video thumbnails positioned at the cursor positions of the second ones of the one or more cursors in the workspace).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video feed taught by Fieldman to be overlaid on the collaborative document based on cursor positions, where the collaborative document comprising placement of the second video bubble overlaid on the collaborative document based on input from the second client device, as taught by Akkerman. This would be convenient to provide systems or methods for the real time online collaboration of teams using at least one of content data sharing and a media sharing combined with real time cursor tracking (Akkerman, Parag. [0013]).
Claim 3. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the system of claim 2,
Fieldman further discloses the first video bubble overlaid on the collaborative document; and the second video bubble overlaid on the collaborative document (See Fig. 6 (410, 412)).
Akkerman further discloses wherein processor is configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium (See Parag. [0015]) to: modify, based on input from the first client device, the placement of the first video bubble; and modify, based on input from the second client device, the placement of the second video bubble (See Parag. [0030]; The positional data 78 comprises a cursor position 35 in the document 40. Cursor position 35 is calculated by processor 90 in coordinates relative to the position of the cursor in the document 40. The cursor is, for example, the cursor of a mouse or another pointing device being displayed on display device 20 of the workstation 28. The workstation 28 is configured to track the cursor position 35 as the cursor is moved relative to the document 40. This tracking uses horizontal and vertical coordinates within the document 40. See Parag. [0041]; the first workstation 28A can be configured in a so-called “follow mode” to follow the first video thumbnail 45A displayed on the first display device 20A. The first workstation 28A is configured to display a part of the first document 40A that is currently being viewed or edited by the further workstation 28B as indicated by the second cursor position 35B when in “follow mode”. The workstations 28 connected to the collaboration session 30 can be configured to follow different ones of the video thumbnails 45 when in “follow mode”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video feed taught by Fieldman to be overlaid on the collaborative document based on cursor positions, as taught by Akkerman. This would be convenient to provide systems or methods for the real time online collaboration of teams using at least one of content data sharing and a media sharing combined with real time cursor tracking (Akkerman, Parag. [0013]).
Claim 4. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the system of claim 1,
Fieldman further discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to: receive, from the first client device, one or more edits to the collaborative document (The art teaches in Col. 11 lines 64-67 that FIG. 6 illustrates the video conference session 400 in which participant 410 (i.e., associated with the first client device) has added whiteboard content to the shared, online whiteboard. As shown, the participant has added graph 431 which now appears on the shared, online whiteboard 430); track the one or more edits to the collaborative document with the first video bubble (The art teaches in Col. 11 lines 64-67 that the participant has added graph 431 which now appears on the shared, online whiteboard 430 (i.e., the modification made are being associated with the participant in first video bubble)); and update the collaborative document based on the one or more edits (The art teaches in Col. 11 lines 64-67 and Col. 12 lines 1-2 that as shown (i.e., in Fig. 6), the participant has added graph 431 which now appears on the shared, online whiteboard 430 and will appear on the display screen of each of the other participant's computers).
Claim 5. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the system of claim 1,
Fieldman further discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to: receive, from the first client device, a first audio stream; associate the first audio stream with the video bubble overlaid on the collaborative document; and record the first audio stream in the recording of the collaboration document along with the placement of the first video bubble with the collaborative document (The art teaches in Col. 9 lines 62-67 and Col. 10 lines 1-7 in association with Fig. 4 that the participant may also click upon 324 in order to enable any microphone on his or her computer (i.e., first audio stream), and click upon 326 in order to enable any speakers on his or her computer. The art teaches in Col. 11 lines 30-32 in association with Fig. 5 that button 422 allows the presenter to enable or disable his or her device camera, button 424 enables or disables the microphone, and button 426 enables or disables sharing. See Col. 13 lines 1-9; FIG. 11 illustrates video conference session in which the host receives content and records a session. In this example, Carol has initiated a new session and invites Bob to participate. Initially, the session has no whiteboard content and no chat window content. Carol selects button 608 (“R”, Record) and application 101 responds by recording video, audio and the screen of the session. See also Col. 14 lines 5-15).
Claim 6. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the system of claim 1,
Fieldman further discloses wherein: the processor is configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to: e
stablish a virtual meeting having a plurality of participants, wherein the plurality of participants comprises the first client device (The art teaches in Col. 7 lines 62-64 a video conference session is begun between multiple participants using the GoBoard service. The art teaches in Col. 8 lines 48-52 in association with FIG. 3A a GoBoard sign-in page 305 that appears once a participant (i.e., associated with the first client device) accesses application 101 (a video conference application). A participant may identify himself or herself by either entering a user name 306 and a password 308 or by using biometric information 309); and
receive, from at least a portion of the plurality of participants, a video stream (The art teaches in Col. 9 lines 62-67 and Col. 10 lines 1-7 in association with Fig. 4 that participant may click upon 322 in order to enable any camera installed on his or her computing device. It is the video from this enabled camera that will be sent as a video stream to the devices of the other participants. The participant may also click upon 324 in order to enable any microphone on his or her computer, and click upon 326 in order to enable any speakers on his or her computer); and
the instructions to receive, from the first client device, the request to access the collaborative document cause the processor to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to:
receive, from the first client device, a request to share the collaborative document with the plurality of participants during the virtual meeting (The art teaches in Col. 8 lines 48-52 in association with FIG. 3A a GoBoard sign-in page 305 that appears once a participant accesses application 101 (a video conference application). A participant may identify himself or herself by either entering a user name 306 and a password 308 or by using biometric information 309. FIG. 5 illustrates a view of a session of a video conference with an online, shared, (currently) blank display region (shared online white board) in the browser of the presenter computer during a session (i.e., collaborative document). The art teaches in Col. 11 lines 64-67 that FIG. 6 illustrates the video conference session 400 in which participant 410 (i.e., associated with the first client device) has added whiteboard content to the shared, online whiteboard. As shown, the participant has added graph 431 which now appears on the shared, online whiteboard 430); and
share the collaborative document with the plurality of participants during the virtual meeting (The art teaches in Col. 11 lines 64-67 and Col. 12 lines 1-2 that as shown (i.e., in Fig. 6), the participant has added graph 431 which now appears on the shared, online whiteboard 430 and will appear on the display screen of each of the other participant's computers).
Claim 7. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the system of claim 6,
Fieldman further discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to:
generate, overlaid on the collaborative document, a video bubble associated with each video stream received from the portion of the plurality of participants (The art teaches in Col. 11 lines 64-67 and Col. 12 lines 1-4 that FIG. 6 illustrates the video conference session 400 in which participant 410 (i.e., First video bubble) has added whiteboard content to the shared, online whiteboard (i.e., collaborative document). As shown, the participant has added graph 431 which now appears on the shared, online whiteboard 430 and will appear on the display screen of each of the other participant's computers. In addition, participant 412 (i.e., video bubble) has added arrow 432 and participant 414 (i.e., video bubble has added arrow 434 to the whiteboard (i.e., first video bubble (Carol 410) is associated with the first video stream overlaid on the shared online document. other video bubbles (412, 414) associated video streams received from participants)); and
record, in the recording of the collaborative document, placement the video bubble associated with each video stream received from the portion of the plurality of participants overlaid on the collaborative document (The art teaches that buttons 422-427 (once a user is logged in) appear on the left-hand side of the video box on the computer corresponding to the image captured by the camera of that computer. E.g, browser 404 shows the computer of person 410 (i.e., first video bubble) who is sitting in front of the computer with browser 404 (i.e., the video box 410 is placed in the upper right side of the shared online white board as the user (carol) being the presenter). The art teaches in Col. 11 lines 51-55 in association with Fig. 5 that also shown on the presenter computer are video images 412, 414 of other participants (i.e., a second video stream input from second client device) in the video conference in a gallery view (i.e., the second bubble is placed on the left side of the first bubble (Carol), and overlaid on the shared online white board). Each of the other computers being used by participants 412 and 414. See Col. 13 lines 1-9; FIG. 11 illustrates video conference session in which the host receives content and records a session. In this example, Carol has initiated a new session and invites Bob to participate. Initially, the session has no whiteboard content and no chat window content. Carol selects button 608 (“R”, Record) and application 101 responds by recording video, audio and the screen of the session. See also Col. 14 lines 5-15).
Claim 8. Fieldman discloses a method comprising:
receiving, from a first client device, a request to access a collaborative document (See Col. 8 lines 48-52 in association with FIG. 3A; a GoBoard sign-in page 305 that appears once a participant accesses application 101 (a video conference application). A participant may identify himself or herself by either entering a user name 306 and a password 308 or by using biometric information 309. The art teaches in Col. 11 lines 64-67 and Col. 12 lines 1-4 that FIG. 6 illustrates the video conference session 400 in which participant 410 has added whiteboard content to the shared, online whiteboard (i.e., collaborative document)…);
providing, to the first client device, access to the collaborative document (See Col. 9 lines 1-7 in association with FIG. 3B; the GoBoard landing page 300 that appears once the participant has verified their identity above. A participant may enter an existing GoBoard room identifier at 302 in order to view an existing session (i.e., a session that has already been started by another participant) or may click upon button 304 in order to start a new session in which the participant will be the first one to join);
receiving, from the first client device, a first video stream (See Col. 9 lines 62-67 and Col. 10 lines 1-7 in association with Fig. 4; participant may click upon 322 in order to enable any camera installed on his or her computing device. It is the video from this enabled camera that will be sent as a video stream to the devices of the other participants);
generating a first video bubble associated with the first video stream overlaid on the collaborative document (See Col. 11 lines 64-67 and Col. 12 lines 1-4; FIG. 6 illustrates the video conference session 400 in which participant 410 (i.e., First video bubble) has added whiteboard content to the shared, online whiteboard (i.e., collaborative document). As shown, the participant has added graph 431 which now appears on the shared, online whiteboard 430 and will appear on the display screen of each of the other participant's computers. In addition, participant 412 has added arrow 432 and participant 414 has added arrow 434 to the whiteboard (i.e., first video bubble (Carol 410) is associated with the first video stream overlaid on the shared online document));
generating a recording of the collaborative document comprising one or more edits being made to the collaborative document (See Col. 13 lines 1-9; FIG. 11 illustrates video conference session in which the host receives content and records a session. In this example, Carol has initiated a new session and invites Bob to participate. Initially, the session has no whiteboard content and no chat window content. Carol selects button 608 (“R”, Record) and application 101 responds by recording video, audio and the screen of the session. See also Col. 14 lines 5-15; allows the host to choose which information is saved in a saved session. Options include the shared whiteboard, the chat window and its contents, is the tools menu used with the whiteboard, any open windows that are displaying shared files, any recorded video or audio that had been recorded during session (or that is still being recorded), along with the settings for each participant that include the camera, microphone, speaker, virtual background, and video and audio mute settings… See also Col. 11 lines 18-29; a video conference with an online, shared, (currently) blank whiteboard region in the browser of the presenter computer during a session… options 428 to move to different pages within the session, or to draw on or otherwise manipulate a whiteboard within the session using a pencil tool (one or more edits being made)); and
providing, to a second client device, the collaborative document along with the recording of the collaborative document (See Col. 33 lines 7-19; any of the participants may initiate an audio or video recording of the session, in fact, multiple audio or video recording may be made during a session … permissions to access the recorded audio or video are granted to the group that was present when that audio or video recording was initiated. For example, if Carol, Thelma and Louise are in a session and they begin recording a video or audio, then a group of (Carol, Thelma, Louise) will be formed and that group will have access to that recording, even if Louise leaves early ).
Fieldman doesn’t explicitly disclose: receiving input from the first client device indicating a cursor position within the collaborative document; generating, outside of a virtual meeting, a visual recording of the collaborative document, the visual recording comprising a view of the collaborative document, placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document while the one or more edits are being made, wherein the first video bubble: is overlaid on the collaborative document based on updated cursor positions received from the first client device; and freely moves throughout the collaborative document based on the updated cursor positions received from the first client device.
However, Akkerman discloses:
receiving input from the first client device indicating a cursor position within the collaborative document (See Parag. [0015]; document collaboration system comprises a workstation, the workstation comprising a display device, a content data interface, a presence manager, a presence manager interface, a media interface, and a processor. Using the display device, a workspace with a document and one or more video thumbnails can be displayed using the display device, one or more cursors having cursor positions are displayed. The content data interface is used for receiving content data from at least one content data source. The presence manager interface is used for receiving positional data from at least one positional data source);
the collaborative document comprising placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document while the one or more edits are being made (See Parag. [0015]; using the display device, a workspace with a document and one or more video thumbnails (video bubble) can be displayed using the display device, one or more cursors having cursor positions are displayed. The content data interface is used for receiving content data from at least one content data source. The presence manager interface is used for receiving positional data from at least one positional data source. The presence manager is configured to store the one or more cursor positions. The presence manager is configured via a presence manager interface. The presence manager is further configured to transmit to one or more further workstations at least positional data relating to the cursor positions of first ones of the one or more cursors … The positional data is indicative of the position of the video thumbnail in the workspace and is expressed in coordinates relative to the size of the document. See also Parag. [0020]; An output on the display device is generated from the received content data and the received audio-visual media stream using the method, wherein the audio-visual media stream is shown on the display in one or more video thumbnails positioned at the cursor positions of the second ones of the one or more cursors in the workspace), wherein the first video bubble (See Fig. 4, “45”; See also Parag. [0032]; The video thumbnail 45 shows the video stream 77 of one of the collaborating users):
is overlaid on the collaborative document based on updated cursor positions received from the first client device; and freely moves throughout the collaborative document based on the updated cursor positions received from the first client device (See Parag. [0030]; The positional data 78 comprises a cursor position 35 in the document 40. Cursor position 35 is calculated by processor 90 in coordinates relative to the position of the cursor in the document 40. The cursor is, for example, the cursor of a mouse or another pointing device being displayed on display device 20 of the workstation 28. The workstation 28 is configured to track the cursor position 35 as the cursor is moved relative to the document 40. This tracking uses horizontal and vertical coordinates within the document 40. See Parag. [0041]; the first workstation 28A can be configured in a so-called “follow mode” to follow the first video thumbnail 45A displayed on the first display device 20A. The first workstation 28A is configured to display a part of the first document 40A that is currently being viewed or edited by the further workstation 28B as indicated by the second cursor position 35B when in “follow mode”. The workstations 28 connected to the collaboration session 30 can be configured to follow different ones of the video thumbnails 45 when in “follow mode”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video feed taught by Fieldman to be overlaid on the collaborative document based on cursor positions, where the collaborative document comprising placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document, as taught by Akkerman. This would be convenient to provide systems or methods for the real time online collaboration of teams using at least one of content data sharing and a media sharing combined with real time cursor tracking (Akkerman, Parag. [0013]).
Fieldman in view of Akkerman doesn’t explicitly disclose generating the recording of the collaborative document is a visual recording of the collaborative document outside of a virtual meeting comprising a view of the collaborative document.
However, Marshall discloses generating, outside of a virtual meeting, a visual recording of the collaborative document, the visual recording comprising a view of the collaborative document, one or more edits being made to the collaborative document, and placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document while the one or more edits are being made (See Parag. [0167]; receiving input via the collaborative document. The input may generally represent actions within the collaborative document, such as when content is being shared, messages that are communicated within the collaborative document, links that are posted to the collaborative document, applications that are accessed, who is presenting/sharing content, and so forth. In other words, the collaborative document that is created in association with the virtual meeting may track and record what is occurring within the virtual meeting. This allows, in part, a record of the virtual meeting to be created and archived for later use and access. As such, as users engage in audio and/or video communications, as well as share links, documents, screens (i.e., screen-sharing), and the like, such inputs may be received and recorded. See Parag. [0168]; when a user is interacting with the collaborative document, the users may benefit from updates indicating whether other users are also interacting with the collaborative document at the same time. For example, in a collaborative context, a user may want to be able to quickly determine which other users are currently interacting with the collaborative document. In addition, users may desire to know which content, files, links, and so forth of the collaborative document that others are interacting with. The collaborative document may include presence indicators that indicate to a user when another user is interacting with the collaborative document. See Parag. [0110]; documents that can be edited collaboratively. See also Parag. [0138] and Fig. 6-11).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify recording of the collaborative document comprising one or more edits being made to the collaborative document and placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document, taught by Fieldman in view of Akkerman, to be generated outside of a virtual meeting, as taught by Marshall. This would be convenient such that when accessed at a later instance, the collaborative document provides a quick and convenient reference as to the communications that previously transpired. In other words, by archiving the collaborative document, the content of the virtual meeting is saved for use at later instances in time (Marshall, Parag. [0138]).
Claim 9 is taught by Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall as described for claim 5.
Claim 10. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the method of claim 8,
Akkerman further discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving, from the first client device, one or more edits to the collaborative document, wherein the one or more edits comprise input from the first client device; and modifying the placement of the first video bubble based on the one or more edits to the collaborative document (See Parag. [0030]; The positional data 78 comprises a cursor position 35 in the document 40. Cursor position 35 is calculated by processor 90 in coordinates relative to the position of the cursor in the document 40. The cursor is, for example, the cursor of a mouse or another pointing device being displayed on display device 20 of the workstation 28. The workstation 28 is configured to track the cursor position 35 as the cursor is moved relative to the document 40. This tracking uses horizontal and vertical coordinates within the document 40. See Parag. [0041]; the first workstation 28A can be configured in a so-called “follow mode” to follow the first video thumbnail 45A displayed on the first display device 20A. The first workstation 28A is configured to display a part of the first document 40A that is currently being viewed or edited by the further workstation 28B as indicated by the second cursor position 35B when in “follow mode”. The workstations 28 connected to the collaboration session 30 can be configured to follow different ones of the video thumbnails 45 when in “follow mode”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video feed taught by Fieldman to be overlaid on the collaborative document based on cursor positions, as taught by Akkerman. This would be convenient to provide systems or methods for the real time online collaboration of teams using at least one of content data sharing and a media sharing combined with real time cursor tracking (Akkerman, Parag. [0013]).
Claim 11. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the method of claim 8,
Fieldman further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, from the second client device, a second video stream (See Col. 11 lines 51-55 in association with Fig. 5; also shown on the presenter computer are video images 412, 414 of other participants (i.e., a second video stream) in the video conference in a gallery view. Each of the other computers (i.e., second client device) being used by participants 412 and 414);
generating a second video bubble associated with the second video stream overlaid on the collaborative document (See Col. 11 lines 51-55; also shown on the presenter computer are video images 412, 414 of other participants (i.e., a second video stream) in the video conference in a gallery view. (i.e., second video bubble (Ted 412) associated with the second video stream overlaid on the shared online white board) (See Fig. 6));
recording, in the recording of the collaborative document, the placement of the second video bubble overlaid on the collaborative document (The art teaches in Col. 11 lines 51-55 in association with Fig. 5 that also shown on the presenter computer are video images 412, 414 of other participants (i.e., a second video stream input from second client device) in the video conference in a gallery view (i.e., the second bubble is placed on the left side of the first bubble (Carol), and overlaid on the shared online white board). Each of the other computers being used by participants 412 and 414. See Col. 13 lines 1-9; FIG. 11 illustrates video conference session in which the host receives content and records a session. In this example, Carol has initiated a new session and invites Bob to participate. Initially, the session has no whiteboard content and no chat window content. Carol selects button 608 (“R”, Record) and application 101 responds by recording video, audio and the screen of the session. See also Col. 14 lines 5-15).
Akkerman further discloses determining placement of the second video bubble overlaid on the collaborative document based on input from the second client device; modifying the placement of the second video bubble overlaid on the collaborative document based on input from the second client device (See Parag. [0015]; using the display device, a workspace with a document and one or more video thumbnails (second video bubble) can be displayed using the display device, one or more cursors having cursor positions are displayed. The content data interface is used for receiving content data from at least one content data source. The presence manager interface is used for receiving positional data from at least one positional data source. The presence manager is configured to store the one or more cursor positions. The presence manager is configured via a presence manager interface. The presence manager is further configured to transmit to one or more further workstations at least positional data relating to the cursor positions of first ones of the one or more cursors … The positional data is indicative of the position of the video thumbnail in the workspace and is expressed in coordinates relative to the size of the document. See also Parag. [0020]; An output on the display device is generated from the received content data and the received audio-visual media stream using the method, wherein the audio-visual media stream is shown on the display in one or more video thumbnails positioned at the cursor positions of the second ones of the one or more cursors in the workspace).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video feed taught by Fieldman to be overlaid on the collaborative document based on cursor positions, as taught by Akkerman. This would be convenient to provide systems or methods for the real time online collaboration of teams using at least one of content data sharing and a media sharing combined with real time cursor tracking (Akkerman, Parag. [0013]).
Claim 12. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the method of claim 8,
Fieldman further discloses wherein the method further comprises: saving the collaborative document as a saved collaborative document, wherein the saved collaborative document comprises the one or more edits to the collaborative document and the recording of the collaborative document (See Col. 14 lines 5-15; allowing the host to choose which information is saved in a saved session. Options include the shared whiteboard, the chat window and its contents, is the tools menu used with the whiteboard, any open windows that are displaying shared files, any recorded video or audio that had been recorded during session (or that is still being recorded), along with the settings for each participant that include the camera, microphone, speaker, virtual background, and video and audio mute settings. Further, the settings for all of the participants may be saved at the same time and the host may also be prompted to name a session).
Fieldman in view of Akkerman doesn’t explicitly disclose the recording as visual recording.
However, Marshall discloses saving the collaborative document as a saved collaborative document, wherein the saved collaborative document comprises the one or more edits to the collaborative document and the visual recording of the collaborative document (See Parag. [0167]; receiving input via the collaborative document. The input may generally represent actions within the collaborative document, such as when content is being shared, messages that are communicated within the collaborative document, links that are posted to the collaborative document, applications that are accessed, who is presenting/sharing content, and so forth. In other words, the collaborative document that is created in association with the virtual meeting may track and record what is occurring within the virtual meeting. This allows, in part, a record of the virtual meeting to be created and archived for later use and access. As such, as users engage in audio and/or video communications, as well as share links, documents, screens (i.e., screen-sharing), and the like, such inputs may be received and recorded. See Parag. [0168]; when a user is interacting with the collaborative document, the users may benefit from updates indicating whether other users are also interacting with the collaborative document at the same time. For example, in a collaborative context, a user may want to be able to quickly determine which other users are currently interacting with the collaborative document. In addition, users may desire to know which content, files, links, and so forth of the collaborative document that others are interacting with. The collaborative document may include presence indicators that indicate to a user when another user is interacting with the collaborative document. See Parag. [0110]; documents that can be edited collaboratively. See also Parag. [0138] and Fig. 6-11).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify recording of the collaborative document comprising one or more edits being made to the collaborative document and placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document, taught by Fieldman in view of Akkerman, to be generated outside of a virtual meeting, as taught by Marshall. This would be convenient such that when accessed at a later instance, the collaborative document provides a quick and convenient reference as to the communications that previously transpired. In other words, by archiving the collaborative document, the content of the virtual meeting is saved for use at later instances in time (Marshall, Parag. [0138]).
Claim 13. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the method of claim 8,
Fieldman further discloses the method further comprising:
establishing a virtual meeting comprising a plurality of participants, wherein the plurality of participants comprise the first client device and the second client device (See Col. 7 lines 62-64; a video conference session is begun between multiple participants (i.e., associated with the first client device and the second client device)using the GoBoard service. The art teaches in Col. 8 lines 48-52 in association with FIG. 3A a GoBoard sign-in page 305 that appears once a participant accesses application 101 (a video conference application). A participant may identify himself or herself by either entering a user name 306 and a password 308 or by using biometric information 309); and
wherein receiving, from the first client device, the request to access the collaborative document further comprises sharing the collaborative document with the plurality of participants during the virtual meeting (See in Col. 8 lines 48-52 in association with FIG. 3A; a GoBoard sign-in page 305 that appears once a participant accesses application 101 (a video conference application). A participant may identify himself or herself by either entering a user name 306 and a password 308 or by using biometric information 309. FIG. 5 illustrates a view of a session of a video conference with an online, shared, (currently) blank display region (shared online white board) in the browser of the presenter computer during a session (i.e., collaborative document)).
Claim 14. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the method of claim 13,
Fieldman further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
during sharing of the collaborative document with the plurality of participants during the virtual meeting, generating a video bubble for each of the plurality of participants in the collaborative document (See in Col. 11 lines 64-67 and Col. 12 lines 1-4; FIG. 6 illustrates the video conference session 400 in which participant 410 (i.e., First video bubble) has added whiteboard content to the shared, online whiteboard (i.e., collaborative document). As shown, the participant has added graph 431 which now appears on the shared, online whiteboard 430 and will appear on the display screen of each of the other participant's computers. In addition, participant 412 (i.e., video bubble) has added arrow 432 and participant 414 (i.e., video bubble has added arrow 434 to the whiteboard (i.e., first video bubble (Carol 410) is associated with the first video stream overlaid on the shared online document. other video bubbles (412, 414) associated video streams received from participants)).
Akkerman further discloses modifying placement of the video bubble for each of the plurality of participants in the collaborative document based on input from each of the plurality of participants; and recording in the recording the placement of the video bubble for each of the plurality of participants overlaid on the collaborative document (See Parag. [0030]; The positional data 78 comprises a cursor position 35 in the document 40. Cursor position 35 is calculated by processor 90 in coordinates relative to the position of the cursor in the document 40. The cursor is, for example, the cursor of a mouse or another pointing device being displayed on display device 20 of the workstation 28. The workstation 28 is configured to track the cursor position 35 as the cursor is moved relative to the document 40. This tracking uses horizontal and vertical coordinates within the document 40. See Parag. [0041]; the first workstation 28A can be configured in a so-called “follow mode” to follow the first video thumbnail 45A displayed on the first display device 20A. The first workstation 28A is configured to display a part of the first document 40A that is currently being viewed or edited by the further workstation 28B as indicated by the second cursor position 35B when in “follow mode”. The workstations 28 connected to the collaboration session 30 can be configured to follow different ones of the video thumbnails 45 when in “follow mode”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video feed taught by Fieldman to be overlaid on the collaborative document based on cursor positions, as taught by Akkerman. This would be convenient to provide systems or methods for the real time online collaboration of teams using at least one of content data sharing and a media sharing combined with real time cursor tracking (Akkerman, Parag. [0013]).
Claim 15. Fieldman discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising processor-executable instructions configured to cause one or more processors (See Fig. 37 (“Processor, Memory”); See Col. 43 lines 21-29) to:
receive, from a first client device, a request to access a collaborative document (See Col. 8 lines 48-52 in association with FIG. 3A; a GoBoard sign-in page 305 that appears once a participant accesses application 101 (a video conference application). A participant may identify himself or herself by either entering a user name 306 and a password 308 or by using biometric information 309. The art teaches in Col. 11 lines 64-67 and Col. 12 lines 1-4 that FIG. 6 illustrates the video conference session 400 in which participant 410 has added whiteboard content to the shared, online whiteboard (i.e., collaborative document)…);
transmit, to the first client device, access to the collaborative document (See Col. 9 lines 1-7 in association with FIG. 3B; the GoBoard landing page 300 that appears once the participant has verified their identity above. A participant may enter an existing GoBoard room identifier at 302 in order to view an existing session (i.e., a session that has already been started by another participant) or may click upon button 304 in order to start a new session in which the participant will be the first one to join);
receive, from the first client device, a first video stream (See Col. 9 lines 62-67 and Col. 10 lines 1-7 in association with Fig. 4; participant may click upon 322 in order to enable any camera installed on his or her computing device. It is the video from this enabled camera that will be sent as a video stream to the devices of the other participants);
generate a first video bubble associated with the first video stream overlaid on the collaborative document (See Col. 11 lines 64-67 and Col. 12 lines 1-4; FIG. 6 illustrates the video conference session 400 in which participant 410 (i.e., First video bubble) has added whiteboard content to the shared, online whiteboard (i.e., collaborative document). As shown, the participant has added graph 431 which now appears on the shared, online whiteboard 430 and will appear on the display screen of each of the other participant's computers. In addition, participant 412 has added arrow 432 and participant 414 has added arrow 434 to the whiteboard (i.e., first video bubble (Carol 410) is associated with the first video stream overlaid on the shared online document));
generate a recording of the collaborative document comprising one or more edits being made to the collaborative document (See Col. 13 lines 1-9; FIG. 11 illustrates video conference session in which the host receives content and records a session. In this example, Carol has initiated a new session and invites Bob to participate. Initially, the session has no whiteboard content and no chat window content. Carol selects button 608 (“R”, Record) and application 101 responds by recording video, audio and the screen of the session. See also Col. 14 lines 5-15; allows the host to choose which information is saved in a saved session. Options include the shared whiteboard, the chat window and its contents, is the tools menu used with the whiteboard, any open windows that are displaying shared files, any recorded video or audio that had been recorded during session (or that is still being recorded), along with the settings for each participant that include the camera, microphone, speaker, virtual background, and video and audio mute settings… See also Col. 11 lines 18-29; a video conference with an online, shared, (currently) blank whiteboard region in the browser of the presenter computer during a session… options 428 to move to different pages within the session, or to draw on or otherwise manipulate a whiteboard within the session using a pencil tool (one or more edits being made)); and
provide, to a second client device, the collaborative document along with the recording of the collaborative document (See Col. 33 lines 7-19; any of the participants may initiate an audio or video recording of the session, in fact, multiple audio or video recording may be made during a session … permissions to access the recorded audio or video are granted to the group that was present when that audio or video recording was initiated. For example, if Carol, Thelma and Louise are in a session and they begin recording a video or audio, then a group of (Carol, Thelma, Louise) will be formed and that group will have access to that recording, even if Louise leaves early ).
Fieldman doesn’t explicitly disclose:
receive input from the first client device indicating a cursor position within the collaborative document; generate, outside of a virtual meeting, a visual recording of the collaborative document, the visual recording comprising a view of the collaborative document, placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document while the one or more edits are being made, wherein the first video bubble: is overlaid on the collaborative document based on updated cursor positions received from the first client device; and freely moves throughout the collaborative document based on the updated cursor positions received from the first client device.
However, Akkerman discloses:
receive input from the first client device indicating a cursor position within the collaborative document (See Parag. [0015]; document collaboration system comprises a workstation, the workstation comprising a display device, a content data interface, a presence manager, a presence manager interface, a media interface, and a processor. Using the display device, a workspace with a document and one or more video thumbnails can be displayed using the display device, one or more cursors having cursor positions are displayed. The content data interface is used for receiving content data from at least one content data source. The presence manager interface is used for receiving positional data from at least one positional data source);
the collaborative document comprising placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document while the one or more edits are being made (See Parag. [0015]; using the display device, a workspace with a document and one or more video thumbnails (video bubble) can be displayed using the display device, one or more cursors having cursor positions are displayed. The content data interface is used for receiving content data from at least one content data source. The presence manager interface is used for receiving positional data from at least one positional data source. The presence manager is configured to store the one or more cursor positions. The presence manager is configured via a presence manager interface. The presence manager is further configured to transmit to one or more further workstations at least positional data relating to the cursor positions of first ones of the one or more cursors … The positional data is indicative of the position of the video thumbnail in the workspace and is expressed in coordinates relative to the size of the document. See also Parag. [0020]; An output on the display device is generated from the received content data and the received audio-visual media stream using the method, wherein the audio-visual media stream is shown on the display in one or more video thumbnails positioned at the cursor positions of the second ones of the one or more cursors in the workspace), wherein the first video bubble (See Fig. 4, “45”; See also Parag. [0032]; The video thumbnail 45 shows the video stream 77 of one of the collaborating users):
is overlaid on the collaborative document (See Fig. 4, “45”) based on updated cursor positions received from the first client device; and freely moves throughout the collaborative document based on the updated cursor positions received from the first client device (See Parag. [0030]; The positional data 78 comprises a cursor position 35 in the document 40. Cursor position 35 is calculated by processor 90 in coordinates relative to the position of the cursor in the document 40. The cursor is, for example, the cursor of a mouse or another pointing device being displayed on display device 20 of the workstation 28. The workstation 28 is configured to track the cursor position 35 as the cursor is moved relative to the document 40. This tracking uses horizontal and vertical coordinates within the document 40. See Parag. [0041]; the first workstation 28A can be configured in a so-called “follow mode” to follow the first video thumbnail 45A displayed on the first display device 20A. The first workstation 28A is configured to display a part of the first document 40A that is currently being viewed or edited by the further workstation 28B as indicated by the second cursor position 35B when in “follow mode”. The workstations 28 connected to the collaboration session 30 can be configured to follow different ones of the video thumbnails 45 when in “follow mode”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video feed taught by Fieldman to be overlaid on the collaborative document based on cursor positions, where the collaborative document comprising placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document, as taught by Akkerman. This would be convenient to provide systems or methods for the real time online collaboration of teams using at least one of content data sharing and a media sharing combined with real time cursor tracking (Akkerman, Parag. [0013]).
Fieldman in view of Akkerman doesn’t explicitly disclose generate the recording of the collaborative document is a visual recording of the collaborative document outside of a virtual meeting comprising a view of the collaborative document.
However, Marshall discloses generate, outside of a virtual meeting, a visual recording of the collaborative document, the visual recording comprising a view of the collaborative document, one or more edits being made to the collaborative document, and placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document while the one or more edits are being made (See Parag. [0167]; receiving input via the collaborative document. The input may generally represent actions within the collaborative document, such as when content is being shared, messages that are communicated within the collaborative document, links that are posted to the collaborative document, applications that are accessed, who is presenting/sharing content, and so forth. In other words, the collaborative document that is created in association with the virtual meeting may track and record what is occurring within the virtual meeting. This allows, in part, a record of the virtual meeting to be created and archived for later use and access. As such, as users engage in audio and/or video communications, as well as share links, documents, screens (i.e., screen-sharing), and the like, such inputs may be received and recorded. See Parag. [0168]; when a user is interacting with the collaborative document, the users may benefit from updates indicating whether other users are also interacting with the collaborative document at the same time. For example, in a collaborative context, a user may want to be able to quickly determine which other users are currently interacting with the collaborative document. In addition, users may desire to know which content, files, links, and so forth of the collaborative document that others are interacting with. The collaborative document may include presence indicators that indicate to a user when another user is interacting with the collaborative document. See Parag. [0110]; documents that can be edited collaboratively. See also Parag. [0138] and Fig. 6-11).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify recording of the collaborative document comprising one or more edits being made to the collaborative document and placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document, taught by Fieldman in view of Akkerman, to be generated outside of a virtual meeting, as taught by Marshall. This would be convenient such that when accessed at a later instance, the collaborative document provides a quick and convenient reference as to the communications that previously transpired. In other words, by archiving the collaborative document, the content of the virtual meeting is saved for use at later instances in time (Marshall, Parag. [0138]).
Claim 16. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15,
Fieldman further discloses wherein instructions to provide, to the second client device, the collaborative document along with the visual recording of the collaborative document causes the processor to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to: responsive to the second client device accessing the collaborative document, generate a second video bubble corresponding to the second client device (See Col. 11 lines 51-55; also shown on the presenter computer are video images 412, 414 of other participants (i.e., a second video stream) in the video conference in a gallery view. (i.e., second video bubble (Ted 412) associated with the second video stream overlaid on the shared online white board when the second participant associated with the second client device access the shared online white board in the videoconference) (See Fig. 6)).
Fieldman in view of Akkerman doesn’t explicitly disclose the recording as visual recording.
However, Marshall discloses the visual recording of the collaborative document (See Parag. [0167]; receiving input via the collaborative document. The input may generally represent actions within the collaborative document, such as when content is being shared, messages that are communicated within the collaborative document, links that are posted to the collaborative document, applications that are accessed, who is presenting/sharing content, and so forth. In other words, the collaborative document that is created in association with the virtual meeting may track and record what is occurring within the virtual meeting. This allows, in part, a record of the virtual meeting to be created and archived for later use and access. As such, as users engage in audio and/or video communications, as well as share links, documents, screens (i.e., screen-sharing), and the like, such inputs may be received and recorded. See Parag. [0168]; when a user is interacting with the collaborative document, the users may benefit from updates indicating whether other users are also interacting with the collaborative document at the same time. For example, in a collaborative context, a user may want to be able to quickly determine which other users are currently interacting with the collaborative document. In addition, users may desire to know which content, files, links, and so forth of the collaborative document that others are interacting with. The collaborative document may include presence indicators that indicate to a user when another user is interacting with the collaborative document. See Parag. [0110]; documents that can be edited collaboratively. See also Parag. [0138] and Fig. 6-11).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify recording of the collaborative document comprising one or more edits being made to the collaborative document and placement of the first video bubble as the first video bubble moves throughout the collaborative document, taught by Fieldman in view of Akkerman, to be a visual recording generated outside of a virtual meeting, as taught by Marshall. This would be convenient such that when accessed at a later instance, the collaborative document provides a quick and convenient reference as to the communications that previously transpired. In other words, by archiving the collaborative document, the content of the virtual meeting is saved for use at later instances in time (Marshall, Parag. [0138]).
Claim 17. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16,
Fieldman further discloses wherein the second video bubble comprises a picture or logo corresponding to the second client device (See Col. 11 lines 27-29; video image 410 of the presenter may also be a still image, as may any of the other video images (i.e., corresponding to other participants (second video bubble) See Fig. 6)).
Claim 18. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16,
Akkerman further discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to: determine an interaction level for each of the first video bubble and the second video bubble; and determine, based on the interaction level, placement for the first video bubble and the second video bubble overlaid on the collaborative document (See Parag. [0030]; The positional data 78 comprises a cursor position 35 in the document 40. Cursor position 35 is calculated by processor 90 in coordinates relative to the position of the cursor in the document 40. The cursor is, for example, the cursor of a mouse or another pointing device being displayed on display device 20 of the workstation 28. The workstation 28 is configured to track the cursor position 35 as the cursor is moved relative to the document 40. This tracking uses horizontal and vertical coordinates within the document 40. See Parag. [0041]; the first workstation 28A can be configured in a so-called “follow mode” to follow the first video thumbnail 45A displayed on the first display device 20A. The first workstation 28A is configured to display a part of the first document 40A that is currently being viewed or edited by the further workstation 28B as indicated by the second cursor position 35B when in “follow mode”. The workstations 28 connected to the collaboration session 30 can be configured to follow different ones of the video thumbnails 45 when in “follow mode”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video feed taught by Fieldman to be overlaid on the collaborative document based on cursor positions, as taught by Akkerman. This would be convenient to provide systems or methods for the real time online collaboration of teams using at least one of content data sharing and a media sharing combined with real time cursor tracking (Akkerman, Parag. [0013]).
Claim 19. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18,
Akkerman further discloses wherein the interaction level for the second video bubble is determined to be low and the processor is configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to: modify the placement of the second video bubble to a margin of the collaborative document (See Parag. [0030]; The positional data 78 comprises a cursor position 35 in the document 40. Cursor position 35 is calculated by processor 90 in coordinates relative to the position of the cursor in the document 40. The cursor is, for example, the cursor of a mouse or another pointing device being displayed on display device 20 of the workstation 28. The workstation 28 is configured to track the cursor position 35 as the cursor is moved relative to the document 40. This tracking uses horizontal and vertical coordinates within the document 40).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video feed taught by Fieldman to be overlaid on the collaborative document based on cursor positions, as taught by Akkerman. This would be convenient to provide systems or methods for the real time online collaboration of teams using at least one of content data sharing and a media sharing combined with real time cursor tracking (Akkerman, Parag. [0013]).
Claim 20. Fieldman in view of Akkerman and Marshall discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16,
Fieldman further discloses the first video bubble overlaid on the collaborative document; and the second video bubble overlaid on the collaborative document (See Fig. 6 (410, 412)).
Akkerman further discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute further processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to: determine an interaction level for each of the first video bubble and the second video bubble; and modify, based on the interaction level, a size of the first video bubble and a size of the second video bubble (See Parag. [0032]; The video thumbnail 45 shows the video stream 77 of one of the collaborating users and, in one aspect, an audio level indicator 89. The audio level indicator 89 is configured to be indicative of a volume level of the audio stream 88 and can, for example, change in at least one of a size, shape, color, or opacity depending on the volume level, as well as being an avatar or an icon).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video feed taught by Fieldman to be overlaid on the collaborative document based on cursor positions, as taught by Akkerman. This would be convenient to provide systems or methods for the real time online collaboration of teams using at least one of content data sharing and a media sharing combined with real time cursor tracking (Akkerman, Parag. [0013]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hellman et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0407732) – Related art in the area of a platform for processing online interactions between users, including techniques that mimic interactions that would occur between users in an in-person setting, (Abstract; Techniques are disclosed for automatically executing scripts for event in response to user activity within the event. A server executing a video conferencing service, receives meeting scheduling information and a set of user-specified scripting information from a user requesting to generate an event. In response to receiving a request from user device to access the event, the server causes display of an event interface to the device, the displayed interface including indications of sub-groups of a group of users accessing the conferencing service via a plurality of user devices and an indication of a video feed of a user in the group of users that is currently active. In response to one or more triggers corresponding to the event, one or more scripts are executed for the event, where executing the one or more scripts includes altering the displayed interface).
/Abdelbasst Talioua/Examiner, Art Unit 2445