DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in Group I in the reply filed on 12/01/2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
Claims 10-19 have been cancelled; claim 9 has been amended; and claims 1-9 are
currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 07/28/2022 and 12/01/2025 have been acknowledged and signed copies of the PTO-1449 are attached herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda et al. (US 2003/0022403 A1, hereinafter “Shimoda”).
In regards to claim 1, Shimoda discloses (See, for example, Fig. 13) a transfer system, comprising:
first (UV Light, See Fig. 13B) and second (Laser light, See, for example, Par [0238]) optical energy sources operable to provide a respective first optical energy and second optical energy at a respective first wavelength and a second wavelength;
chiplet (12a, See, for example, Pars [0154], [0160]) having a bonding feature (54) configured to interface with a corresponding bonding feature of a target substrate (14), at least one of the bonding feature and the corresponding bonding feature (54) absorbing at the first wavelength (UV Light, See, for example, Fig. 13B) such that applying the first optical energy bonds the chiplet to the target substrate (14) or removes a bond between the chiplet and the target substrate (14);
However, Shimoda second embodiment is silent about a transfer layer formed of a thermally switchable material that undergoes a phase change when heated, the transfer layer being placed in contact with the chiplet during a transfer operation; and an optical absorber material on at least one of the transfer layer and the chiplet, the optical absorber material absorbing at the second wavelength such that applying the second optical energy heats a region of the transfer layer that corresponds to a location of the chiplet causing the region to adhere to the chiplet when removing the chiplet from a source substrate during the transfer operation, the transfer layer being reusable for repeated transfer operations.
However, Shimoda’s seventh embodiment teaches a transfer layer (15c, See Fig. 19A) formed of a thermally switchable material that undergoes a phase change when heated (See, for example, Par [0286]),
the transfer layer (15c) being placed in contact with the chiplet during a transfer operation; and
an optical absorber material (15b) on at least one of the transfer layer (15c) and the
chiplet, the optical absorber material (15b) absorbing at the second wavelength such that
applying the second optical energy heats a region of the transfer layer that corresponds to a
location of the chiplet causing the region to adhere to the chiplet (See, for example, Pars [0296]-[0299]) when removing the chiplet from a source substrate (14) during the transfer operation, the transfer layer (15c) being reusable for repeated transfer operations (See, for
example, Fig. 19E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shimoda’s second embodiment by its seventh embodiment because this would help reduce the amount materials used and a transfer target
substrate with a large number of circuits is manufactured efficiently and cheap.
In regards to claim 2, Shimoda (See, for example, Fig. 13) the optical absorber material (15b) blocks transmission at the second wavelength and is transparent at the first wavelength (See, for example, Figs. 19B and 19D).
In regards to claim 3, Shimoda discloses (See, for example, Figs. 13 and 19) the optical material comprises an optical absorber layer (15b) on a side of the transfer layer (15c) facing away from
the chiplet (12), the optical absorber layer (15b) blocking transmission at the second wavelength and being transparent at the first wavelength (See, for example, Figs. 19B and 19D).
In regards to claim 4, Shimoda as modified above discloses (See, for example, Figs. 13 and 19) the optical absorber layer (15b) comprises a semiconductor (See, for example, Par [0285]) that
is absorptive of the second optical energy (See, for example, Par [0297]) at the second wavelength above a bandgap energy of the semiconductor, the semiconductor being transparent
to the first optical energy at the first wavelength below the bandgap energy
(See, for example, “…light L used may be any that is received by the light absorbing layer ..of the multi-layer
film ,,, generating heat…” Par [0297]).
In regards to claim 5, Shimoda as modified discloses all limitation of claim 1 except that wherein constituents of the optical absorber material are mixed into the transfer layer.
However, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used
for the very same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069,
1072 (CCPA 1980)
In regards to claim 6, Shimoda as modified above discloses (See, for example, Figs. 13 and 19) that device (12a) and the substrate (24, Fig. 19E) claim 1.
However, Shimod is silent that the bonding of the chiplet to the target substrate or surface comprises welding or soldering electrical connections therebetween.
It is well known in the art that soldering connections between devices/chips and substrates for the purpose of packaging and electronics assembly. Solder bump interconnects, ball grid arrays (BGA), and flip-chip solder joints represent conventional bonding techniques for establishing electrical and mechanical connections between devices and substrates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to bond the chiplet and the target substrate using soldering connection because it is well known in the art that soldering connections between devices/chips and substrates for the purpose of packaging and electronics assembly. Solder bump interconnects, ball grid arrays (BGA), and flip-chip solder joints represent conventional bonding techniques for establishing electrical and mechanical connections between devices and substrates. In re Ahlert, 424 F.2d 1088, 1091, 165 USPQ 418, 420 (CCPA 1970)
In regards to claim 7, Shimoda as modified above (See, for example, Figs. 13 and 19) the first and second optical energy sources comprise first and second scanned laser beams that provide overlapping coverage of the transfer layer (See, for example, Figs. 19B and 19D) .
In regards to claim 8, Shimoda discloses (See, for example, Figs. 13 and 19) the first wavelength is a light (See Par [00288]) and the second wavelength selected from a list of light waves in (Par [0297]). Shimoda explicitly listed candidate light energies for the second wavelength in Par [0297], several of which possesses wavelengths shorter that visible light of the first wavelength (See, Par [0288]). Selecting one of these shorter-wavelength options to serve as the sec on dlight energy constitutes a routine selection from a finite list of disclosed alternatives. Such selection yields predictable results and requires no inventive insight. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); See also Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
In regards to claim 9, Shimoda as modified above discloses all limitations of claim 1 except that
the transfer layer is thermally cycled above and below a glass transition temperature after the transfer operation to smooth out surface features formed on transfer layer by the chiplet.
However, it is a conventionally and a commonly applied technique to thermally cycle a desired layer in order to ensure a smooth surface. A smooth surface would allow for a more secure transfer of chiplets/devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to thermally cycling the transfer layer above and below a glass transition temperature after a transfer operation because this would help allow for a more secure transfer of chiplets/device.
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893