DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 14-23 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons the claims to the different species recite the mutually exclusive characteristics of such species including the requirement of a compound G0 that is distinct from G1 in that it requires a central unsubstituted pyridine whereas G1 requires a substituted triazine, the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification and the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 14-23 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8, and 11-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, and 9-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,404,656. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant and patented claims are drawn to overlapping subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP 2004/022334) (Matsuura).
In reference to claims 1, 4-5, and 11-13, Matsuura teaches the compound 1-5 as shown below that reads on the instant claimed compound (p. 13) in a device example 2-4 (Matsuura Table 2) comprising compound 1-5 and Alq3 in an electron transporting/electron injecting layer and an emission layer between electrodes as claimed and an example of a display device comprising the same (example 3). While Matsuura calls the layer an electron transporting/electron injecting layers (Matsuura [0083]) and not just an electron injection layer, the composition requirements are the same (a compound of claim 1 and a metal). It is further noted that the instant claims allow for the metal and the compound of formula 1 to be at variable concentrations within the ‘layer’ and that in the art it is common for a ‘layer’ to comprise multiple sublayers (Matsuura [0077]).
Matsuura further teaches that alternative metal materials can be used in the electron transport layer including copper materials (Matsuura [0076]).
While Matsuura does not exemplify a device with such alternate materials selected, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have selected taught functional equivalents for the electron transport layer materials as taught by Matsuura with the anticipation of providing a similarly functional device, in the absence of unexpected results.
For Claim 1: Reads on a device with the claimed structure including a first electrode, a second electrode, a light e mitting layer and the electron transport layer comprising a compound of formula G1 wherein X4 is N, X5 is N, X3 is CH, X6 is CH, R3 and R4 are each a phenyl group, Ar is a pyrimidine substituted with an aryl group.
For Claim 4: Reads on wherein the other is CH.
For Claims 5: Reads on pyrimidine substituted with phenyl.
For Claim 11: Reads on a Cu.
For Claims 12-13: Reads on an electronic or lighting device.
In reference to claims 2-3 and 8, Matsuura teaches a compound of formula (1) as shown below.
for example, wherein in the formula (1), each of Ar1, Ar2 and Ar3 are a pyrimidine, and each of Ar11 to Ar13 are phenyl (Matsuura [0042]).
Matsuura discloses the compound of formula (1) that encompasses the presently claimed compound of formula G1, including wherein in the formula (1), each of Ar1, Ar2 and Ar3 are a pyrimidine, and each of Ar11 to Ar13 are phenyl. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Matsuura are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula (1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula (1) to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Matsuura and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Matsuura further teaches example device structures such as 2-4 (Matsuura Table 2) comprising these compounds and metals such as Alq3 in an electron transporting/electron injecting layer and an emission layer between electrodes as claimed and an example of a display device comprising the same (example 3). While Matsuura calls the layer an electron transporting/electron injecting layers (Matsuura [0083]) and not just an electron injection layer, the composition requirements are the same (a compound of claim 1 and a metal). It is further noted that the instant claims allow for the metal and the compound of formula 1 to be at variable concentrations within the ‘layer’ and that in the art it is common for a ‘layer’ to comprise multiple sublayers (Matsuura [0077]).
Matsuura further teaches that alternative metal materials can be used in the electron transport layer including copper materials (Matsuura [0076]).
While Matsuura does not exemplify a device with such alternate materials selected, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have selected taught functional equivalents for the electron transport layer materials as taught by Matsuura with the anticipation of providing a similarly functional device, in the absence of unexpected results.
For Claim 2: Reads on X3 is N and X6 is N.
For Claim 3: Reads on X4 is C bonded to phenyl, X5 is C bonded to phenyl, X3 is N and X6 is N.
For Claim 8: Reads on compound 105.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claims as amended are not taught by the prior art of record. This argument has been fully considered but not found convincing for at least the following reasons. Applicant argues that Matsuura does not disclose a metal belonging to any one of group 34 to group 13 of the periodic table. However, Matsuura teaches materials such as copper complexes for use in the electron transport layer of the devices thereof (Matsuura [0076]). Applicant points to claim 10, however Applicant has canceled this claim and significantly amended the independent claim and therefore any remarks regarding claim 10 is moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786